Compare Holiday Money Logo

Avanti reviews

Good 3.2 / 5

Based on 18 reviews Write Review

5th November 2015

We had a year policy with Avanti but when we had our suitcase stolen and tried to claim they brought out every excuse in the book to not pay out. We had a police report, crime number and CCTV but nothing would help. Excuse after excuse as to why Avanti would not pay our claim. They seem to offer a good price for a policy but it is not worth it if they do not pay out. Be careful. I would not recommend.

30th September 2015

i had full cover with Avanti, we had some property lost/stolen whilst away and even with a police report they are refusing to pay out.

25th September 2015

I would never use this Company again!!!!!! In short this Company cancelled my Father's travel insurance 10 hours before we were due to fly at 6am this morning giving me only 3 hours to make alternative arrangements due to being honest about awaiting results for one of his medical conditions as we had not received them before we went on holiday. I spoke to my solicitor who was shocked at this as he would have thought they would have still insured him for all his medical conditions apart from the awaiting results one. This policy cost my father £342.37 for a single trip which we paid. My 82 year old parents are now in Ibiza with no insurance as no alternative arrangements could be made. This Company has no compassion STAY WELL CLEAR !!!!!!!

4th September 2015

My husband and I had multi trip Travel Insurance with Avanti costing us £111. When I phoned them to inform them that I had a small breast cancer tumour removed and a course of Radiotherapy they said I would have to pay another £294.43. to still be insured. How can they ask for so much especially as there is only 6 months of the policy left. When I questioned this the lady said 'well the cancer may return'. Thanks for making me feel great!!!!

19th August 2015

I had a stomach related illness whilst on holiday in America and had to go into hospital for examination. I was only in 45 minutes during which time they gave me a full body scan and then charged 6000 dollars. Avanti, whilst requesting an expalnation from the hospital, paid in full and I was highly dlighted with them

14th August 2015

have used Avanti a couple of times. If you don't need to use the insurance great! I had to make a cancellation claim and boy do they make it difficult. Had to fight to get a partial payment. I'm now massivly out of pocket and they are just not interested. you cannot talk to your claims handler either. NEVER USE AVANTI

4th August 2015

So impressed with the friendly efficient chap, Matthew, who spoke to me to set up the policy for my 85 year old mother in law's trip to day. What a pity that less than 5 minutes later the customer services lady I rang to advise that there was an error in the policy document which had just been emailed to me was so officious and difficult to deal with. No good claiming you specialise in policies for the elderly when you can't answer a simple question from the relative who is insuring an older person - I sincerely hope we don't have to contact you after the trip to make a claim, it will be a nightmare if I get you at the end of the phone. You need to go on a customer service training course lady, you really let your team down!

4th August 2015

I was taken ill in Feb 2015 in Jamaica and had to go to Hospital and was advised by Avanti to pay and claim when I get home. What a dirty trick to play on someone really ill because its now August and all I get is delaying tactics and have not seen a penny of my money and the communication from Avanti is zero. Avoid this company like the [plague

3rd June 2015

I took ill before my holiday and had to cancel. My claim was dealt with very promptly. Money was returned within 2 weeks pf returning paperwork.

31st January 2015

My husband had a sudden heart attack some weeks before our cruise holiday. Avanti staff were very efficient , pleasant and easy to deal with, and our cancellation process went through very smoothly with the required monies returned quite speedily.

19th August 2014

We got a good deal and a good price on our annual insurance cover and everything was good and rosy until we had to make a claim. The Insurance cover is not good. They will quibble, play with words and use any and every trick they can in order to not pay you a penny if you have the misfortune to need a claim. I will not insure with them again. It may be cheap but if they don't pay then it isn't worth the paper it is written on. Good luck in getting any money if you do need to claim.

17th July 2014

Very disappointed with Avanti's handling of our claim. First of all I was disappointed to discover the excess was per person, so we did not get back any of the £1,000 we lost on our holiday. I am now trying to get back other costs and they are being obtuse and unhelpful. I would avoid this company, and Global Claims Services, in the future.

19th June 2013

The only company (I tried 18 others) who would provide me with World Wide ( including USA, Canada & the Caribbean) Annual Travel Insurance at a reasonable cost with my Heart condition at age 72.

6th May 2013

Have just rang Avanti to get a quote for worldwide travel for next year,Ben was so helpful, helping with pre-existing medical conditions.Other ones i've rang wouldn't give me a quote for next year.The price was good,so now i know i can go ahead a choose my holiday for 2014.Thank you Ben will ring in the new year

1st May 2013

I was having trouble finding travel insurance because a pre-existing medical condition, but Avanti provided a policy with no problems and their customer service on the phone was great.

28th March 2013

Avanti Travel Insurance is the BEST. My husband has high cholesterol and high blood pressure and he got a really good policyat a really good price with no problems whatsoever

23rd August 2011

If I hadn’t contacted Avanti Travel Insurance I would not have been able to go on my cruise. I found the other companies in the marketplace difficult to deal with and my pre-existing medical conditions meant that they were unable to insure me. The majority of the people on the cruise ship were aged between 65 and 90 and it was surprising how many had experienced similar difficulties with purchasing insurance. I cannot recommend Avanti Travel Insurance highly enough. I fully intend to take another policy out with them later on in the year.

23rd August 2011

Avanti Travel Insurance offers a level of customer service that is unrivalled in the marketplace. As an insurance intermediary myself, I feel completely confident recommending that my clients use Avanti for their travel insurance requirements. They are helpful and quick to respond to enquiries and any claims processes my clients have are managed seamlessly. I would not hesitate to recommend them.

Write a review of Avanti

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Avanti Travel Insurance specialise in pre-existing medical conditions and over 50s travel insurance. There is no upper age limit on their policies and each of their policies are tailored around each individual's circumstances.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Tunisian Tourism

Tunisian Tourism

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 25th May 2016

We all remember the news reports of the 39 people killed in the terrorist attacks in Tunisia last year. Ever since that time the Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO) has had the same warning that was posted read more

Treasurey ‘Brexit’ Analysis

Treasurey ‘Brexit’ Analysis

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 24th May 2016

Yesterday the Treasury published an analysis coverng different scenarios for a ‘Brexit’ the most pessimistic of which predicted a year long recession and the loss of 83,000 jobs. BBC’s Kamal A read more