Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.5 / 5

Based on 116 reviews Write Review

5th February 2016

Went to the Taunton branch and was told that they didn't have enough US Dollars. Just like that. No apology, no suggestion of whether they'd get more or not. Just, "Can't do it. We haven't got that much" When I pressed for an answer about what to do next, the idiot started questioning why I needed to take so much money on holiday. It was only £2k and as I pointed out to him: it's a business trip and it's none of your business! Went elsewhere after speaking to an equally idiotic supervisor.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th January 2016

Debenhams Travel Money offer a brilliant service. I went in to my local store and got a fantastic rate, excellent service and would definetley recommend.

  • Ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th January 2016

I went to Bradford Debenhams before Christmas. the staff called Simon was very helpful and provided me with the top rate that was on line, and gave me a £5 off voucher (£20 min spend), to be used on same day, but no problem with that , I was very satisfied and would recommend them highly

24th January 2016

Finished a long days work and before going home called into Manchesters Market St store and asked for £1000 into dollars and shown my passport for my ID but they wanted proof of address which I don't carry around with me. Why would I tell somebody my address who then knows I will be away from home, WHY? The customer service was horrendous, didn't explain that it was a company policy for large amounts (laughable, nearly 3 weeks wages)!! just spoke to me like I was some sort of criminal. I complained and was told this was the policy. Well they've got a stupid out dated policy I told them. I went to the Arndale where the lady in the money exchange give me a better rate and most importantly was polite and even smiled. I will only recommend NOT to use Debenhams to others.

  • Ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

16th January 2016

This site gave Debenhams as the best rate of exchange for mexican pesos. However this is not a currency that is definitely in stock so it advises to phone first. I spent over two hours trying to get through to Debenhams Croydon, after 6 minutes of holding the line went dead each time. I live in Ashford but was planning on going to Croydon so this would be the most convenient store - the Ashford store does not do foreign exchange. I then tried the on-line help on the Debenhams web site, eventually she managed to get in touch with the Croydon store only to be told that as it is not a currency held in stock I would need to travel to Croydon to go in to the store to order and pay a 10% deposit and then return to Croydon to pick up the currency at a later date. This would be a two and a half hour round trip each time plus parking - and would turn out to be the most expensive way to buy £50 worth of pesos imaginable!!! It seems incredible that it is not possible to order and pay in advance by phone or on-line.

  • Ordered £50 worth of Mexican Pesos
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

22nd December 2015

Took my driving licence,, when I arrived they asked for two pieces of ID,, although on there web site and on there desk it still said,, they would not give me my currency with just one ID,, I'd driven 30 miles,, for this reason I would ever use them again,, the cashier was also arrogant in Taunton Somerset.

  • Ordered £2000 worth of US Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

22nd December 2015

Checked the rate online and went in to buy Australian Dollars. the rate in shop was different but the girl gave me the rate as i had printed out the voucher. Great Service, very friendly staff. Would use Debenhams again.

  • Ordered £1500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

20th December 2015

Debenhams did not honour the rate that was displayed on the site even after I provided them with a printed copy of the voucher. They gave the excuse that rates change throughout the day, which I think we are all aware of and I think that is the purpose of the voucher - so that you know what you are paying for!!! Did not expect this from Debenhams.

  • Ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

24th November 2015

Brilliant. Got 500 Euros at the best exchange rate of the day with absolutely no hassle and they gave me a £5 off voucher (£20 min spend), to be used on same day, but no probs with that - it was black friday week, so bagged a bargain as well. No-one else could offer such a deal. Thank you Debs and compare holiday money. Will def use this site again

  • Ordered £360 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

22nd November 2015

Looked on line saw the rate Called the store, they advised to screen shot and bring in Honoured the rate and asked what notes I wanted . What more could I ask for??

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

29th October 2015

Ordered online for the first time, really easy to do. Printed off voucher and took to Debenhams in Salisbury. Young guy behind the counter was very polite and helpful. This was a great service no problems small notes given to us as requested. Would definitely recommend for the best rate around and quality of service. Well done.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2015

Having wondered around the the High Street shops checking the low exchange rates I stubble on to this site thought a Google Web search.....so glad I had. I compared the best rate for £441. Where were a few bad reviews but I thought I'd try Debenhams....so glad I had as I saved money just buy showing the exchange rate on my phone screen in my local Bromley branch. No problems with them agreeing with exchange rate and we'll stocked with euros.

  • Ordered £441 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2015

Made a great saving using this site. So easy to use. No problem collecting my euros from the Bromley, Kent branch.

  • Ordered £441 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

6th October 2015

I looked online first and noticed Debenhams were the best rate around. Went into store and saw it was a different rate. I asked why this was, and the lady said the online rates are different than in store. because I mentioned the site I had seen it she gave me that rate. if I hadn't I would have gotten the slightly lower rate, I didn't mind either way. I was going to pay on credit card but the lady told me that there would be charge because of being a cash withdrawal, so I would have to pay my banks cash withdrawal rate. So I switched to a debit card. No charges even for the large amount! Amazing! Reading these reviews I think we expect too much from them! not everyone will have everything in, and if they are busy they will have sold through what they have!

  • Ordered £2000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

4th October 2015

I went in too the store in glasgow to see that the actual rate was 1.31 euro for the pound so dont know why it says 1.33

  • Ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th September 2015

Went in my local shop and got my money no problem.

  • Ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

23rd September 2015

Been to Colchester branch to change £ to euros 3 times. Each time very efficent & good rate given. Will go again soon.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

9th September 2015

When returning unused Nok they told me that a 500 Nok note was a forged tnformed them that they gave me that note in the first place Refused to take it.

  • Ordered £600 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

5th September 2015

Phoned Deb Leicester to order USD and Jamaican dollars, told I would have to come into the shop, and leave a 10% deposit, that means a 30 mile drive to leave the deposit and a 30 mile drive to pick up the money, why didn't their rep ask if I was a Debenhams Card holder (which I am) and it would be a pleasure to arrange the transaction, very negative customer experience......never again

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

4th September 2015

rang store in Liverpool 1 after being put on hold for 15mins on a 0845 using a mobile was informed rate was different than net was told they do match but have to I print of a copy take it to store where I was told they didn't have any dollars left couldn't they have said that on the phone also was not told I needed id I have never been asked before not s happy customer

  • Ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th August 2015

Went into Princes Street, Edinburgh Branch today for Euros (£650 worth which I had in cash). Girl told me I needed ID. Showed her I had my Debenhams Gold card which I used in April this year to buy Euros. She told me I still needed ID like passport etc. I understand about money laundering but had never been asked for a passport before. She told me I could have a smaller amount but she would not tell me how much I could have £500 - no - £400 - no so I gave up on the guessing game and went elsewhere where they did not ask for ID for £650 worth of Euros. Saw no sign at the desk to say ID was required for a certain amount. This was after waiting in a queue for 20 mins. Get a sign up Debenhams - if ID is required let the customer know. Will never return there again.

  • Ordered £650 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th August 2015

I went to plymouths Debenhams they were very efficient and provided me with the top rate that was on line I was very satisfied and would recommend them highly There were four in the queue But they were very quick and helpful.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th August 2015

brilliant!! great staff in leeds! :)

  • Ordered £305 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th August 2015

Hopeless. Took my voucher to Debhams at 10am to receive my Euros and was informed that they hadn't many notes Left and could I come back in the afternoon. Surely they should stock up on currency first thing at the start of the business day. Went to Thomas Cook.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th August 2015

Got the exact rate that was advertised, quick and efficient service. Was charged % on my debit card but this is the way they process their transactions and when I rang my bank this was refunded ( so please check your bank doesn't charge cash transactions in the UK).

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

You can answer some, all, or none of these optional questions and we'll show them under your review to give a quick snapshot of your experience:

I ordered £ worth of

  • This was my first time using this supplier Yes No
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date Yes No
  • I received a good mix of notes Yes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to others Yes No

Debenhams offer a competitive travel money service with zero commission and preferential rates for cardholders. COLLECTION ONLY: Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Euro Exchange Rate Flatlines

Euro Exchange Rate Flatlines

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 9th February 2016

“No News is Good News” is the old cliché but with the Euro exchange rate currently flatlining a bit of good economic news would be welcome! The two sides of the IN/OUT referendum are only just sett read more

Currencies Harmed as Global Fears Remain Strong

Currencies Harmed as Global Fears Remain Strong

Posted by Rewan on 4th February 2016

‘Brexit’ Concerns Keep Pound Sterling Weak  David Cameron’s attempts to renegotiate Britain’s membership in the EU have been the main driver of Pound Sterling exchange rates over the past seven days. O read more