Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 262 reviews Write Review

Medwyn Ellinson

21st September 2017

Not given the rate advertised online. Did not have smaller notes either.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

John Tester

20th September 2017

Went to Debenhams, Guildford, given a quote for Euros,different to online quote The Lady did check and gave me a new quote

  • I ordered £302 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Colin

18th September 2017

Advertised rate was good so tried to order. First problem was you can't order online or by phone, you have to visit. OK, there's a convenient branch so I did that, and was told when I could collect my order. Then, on the day before, I got a call to say they'd made a mistake and they didn't have my money. Tried to phone around for an alternative supplier to discover that everyone needed 3 days notice and I was too late. Gloom and depression. Then Debenhams phoned back to say they'd found some money after all. Apparently another customer had ordered for later delivery than me, they'd give me that and reorder for him. Hooray. Fast forward a week, we're back from our trip and I'm in my local branch of Eurochange selling back some unused Korunas. Just done that transaction when another customer arrived in a hurry desperately wanting to buy some Korunas (shame I'd already sold mine). Turned out his story was exactly the same as mine, he'd ordered from Debenhams and they'd failed to provide at the last minute leaving him in the lurch. Once could have been a genuine mistake, twice starts to look like incompetence. I won't use Debenhams again.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Czech Koruna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Judi Gibbs

11th September 2017

Got better rate than anyone else on high street plus £5 voucher. No problem with ordering just walked in.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Eddie B

7th September 2017

Very pleased with ordering and collecting. Good rates for card holders, and £5 voucher to spend. Would recommend.

  • I ordered £1940 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jay waygood

3rd September 2017

Rate online was better than In-store even though it says collection from store only. But they honoured it so as far as I'm concerned brilliant service. Would use for travel money again. Jay

  • I ordered £3000 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Claire

29th August 2017

Went down to branch to buy Euros at the rate advertised online but was disappointed. Went the same day so those here saying that the rate will differ from day to day are wrong in this instant. The rate was NOT as advertised. Not even for their card holders who get the best rate. Went to a nearby exchange bureau on the high street and got a much better rate.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

burns

25th August 2017

Really tricky to try and find number for local Debenhams to find out whether they have currency in stock as website appeared to send me around in circles (no phone number for Taunton). Best rate shown but couldn't actually find out whether they had the money. Tried phoning a central number and was on hold for 10 minutes which probably cost us the same as the difference. Gave up! Had used Debenhams in the past but would no longer recommend.

  • I ordered £[X] worth of [Y]
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Brian Milligan

17th August 2017

Terrible. I got there, only to find out they didn't have the currency I wanted. And couldn't get it for 5 days!!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Chilean Pesos
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Ian Haskell

5th August 2017

Not the same rate as advertised

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jamie wong

20th July 2017

Excellent service,got same rate as online.Didn't have a Debenhams card to get the online rate but gave me it anyway.Money came the day they said it would.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Hong Kong Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Mary Applebury

19th July 2017

What a waste of time got to store and rate offered was nothing like what was shown on line.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Claudia Moore

17th July 2017

Fabulous. I always call ahead to make sure they have plenty of the currency I require in stock (who wouldn't do this???) Have used the Brighton store 4 times and each time the charming couple who run the BDC have been more than helpful. Extremely good rates and Debs voucher to boot. What's not to like, as the saying goes !

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Gary Spencer

14th July 2017

Always a better rate than others, don't listen to these idiots who complain thatt the rate is not as per the website, if you search one day and go the day after of course it'sa not the same, no currency house would guarantee a rate unless you buy immediately online .Always been excellent and had currency I needed.

  • I ordered £125 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

sam

12th July 2017

followed instructions as per website printed rate off screen walked into store and nothing. Rates are not the same as shown and in store they had no currency in stock. pointless wasted my time they should stick to selling clothes as they clearly dont have a clue when it comes to exchanging holiday money. Avoid dont waste your time.

  • I ordered £4000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Pam

11th July 2017

I bought £600 worth of euros yesterday the rate advertised was 1.1176 not the rate I got from Debenhams, Aberdeen.....1.107. No reason given ......

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Janet Wickett

11th July 2017

I was in the cafe and was looking at rates online. Saw that you get a slightly better rate if you have a Debenhams card. Went to the desk in Plymouth, asked and showed my card he said i do. Asked for £500 in Euros ...got home and the rate was the same as on the screen.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Pam

10th July 2017

Rate not as advertised on website

  • I ordered £668 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Timmy P

5th July 2017

Mixed. Visited the Norwich branch on Orford Place. I wanted £280 of Danish Kr only to be told that they had only around £150 in stock! They were prepared to order Danish Kr for me - but only on requests £300+! I ordered £300 of Kroner to be told that it would take 5 days before I could collect it! However, I received a better rate than I was expecting. My advice, if you want currencies other than Euros or US$ order well in advance of your departure.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Danish Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Lee

30th June 2017

Rates are not same as on this website. Only realised after changing several hundreds of pounds and getting home. Could have got a well better deal else where.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Bulgarian Lev
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Dave Evans

28th June 2017

First time I've used Debenhams, saw a few moans on here and decided they were pretty minor. Thought I could order online, not the case. Rang my store and they were most helpful. As well as getting a good rate, also got a £5 voucher to use in store. But they're only valid on the day!!! Would definitely use again.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kerry

26th June 2017

Always come here for holiday money do the best rates and good customer care.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Julian

25th June 2017

Read the dodgy reviews so I called in at Meadowhall. The gentleman was most helpful. He asked if I had a Debenhams. I told him I had but that I was paying cash. He told me that didn't matter but that I would get a better rate. He also told me when it was the best times to go and I could be sure that they would have enough. Went the following day, straight in, straight out. Excellent!

  • I ordered £540 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Mike

16th June 2017

Bristol branch would not accept online rate shown on my phone as she wanted a printed version, been in lots of times and never had an issue before. Went elsewhere.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kate

14th June 2017

Again, Purchased £200 Euros, No problem... Rate had dropped, but I was honoured the rate of this website. REMEMBER, TO SHOW THEM THE RATE ON HERE WHEN YOU BUY!! - They are reasonable when it comes to different rates!! I have used several different branches in the past and they ALL let you have the best rate.. Quit Winging and enjoy your holidays!!!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. Collect your currency from 99 stores nationwide, or have it delivered to your door.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Posted by Matthew Weston on 24th September 2017

The number of people going self-employed in the creative and business sectors is increasing at a faster rate than ever before. As a journalism student, I was told that nearly everybody in my class will have to read more

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

Posted by Holly Burgess on 23rd September 2017

When planning your travels, the most important thing to decide is where in the world you want to go. But wouldn’t it be great if you could select the specific room you wanted to stay in? Thomas Cook ha read more