Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 252 reviews Write Review

Jamie wong

20th July 2017

Excellent service,got same rate as online.Didn't have a Debenhams card to get the online rate but gave me it anyway.Money came the day they said it would.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Hong Kong Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Mary Applebury

19th July 2017

What a waste of time got to store and rate offered was nothing like what was shown on line.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Claudia Moore

17th July 2017

Fabulous. I always call ahead to make sure they have plenty of the currency I require in stock (who wouldn't do this???) Have used the Brighton store 4 times and each time the charming couple who run the BDC have been more than helpful. Extremely good rates and Debs voucher to boot. What's not to like, as the saying goes !

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Gary Spencer

14th July 2017

Always a better rate than others, don't listen to these idiots who complain thatt the rate is not as per the website, if you search one day and go the day after of course it'sa not the same, no currency house would guarantee a rate unless you buy immediately online .Always been excellent and had currency I needed.

  • I ordered £125 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

sam

12th July 2017

followed instructions as per website printed rate off screen walked into store and nothing. Rates are not the same as shown and in store they had no currency in stock. pointless wasted my time they should stick to selling clothes as they clearly dont have a clue when it comes to exchanging holiday money. Avoid dont waste your time.

  • I ordered £4000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Pam

11th July 2017

I bought £600 worth of euros yesterday the rate advertised was 1.1176 not the rate I got from Debenhams, Aberdeen.....1.107. No reason given ......

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Janet Wickett

11th July 2017

I was in the cafe and was looking at rates online. Saw that you get a slightly better rate if you have a Debenhams card. Went to the desk in Plymouth, asked and showed my card he said i do. Asked for £500 in Euros ...got home and the rate was the same as on the screen.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Pam

10th July 2017

Rate not as advertised on website

  • I ordered £668 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Timmy P

5th July 2017

Mixed. Visited the Norwich branch on Orford Place. I wanted £280 of Danish Kr only to be told that they had only around £150 in stock! They were prepared to order Danish Kr for me - but only on requests £300+! I ordered £300 of Kroner to be told that it would take 5 days before I could collect it! However, I received a better rate than I was expecting. My advice, if you want currencies other than Euros or US$ order well in advance of your departure.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Danish Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Lee

30th June 2017

Rates are not same as on this website. Only realised after changing several hundreds of pounds and getting home. Could have got a well better deal else where.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Bulgarian Lev
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Dave Evans

28th June 2017

First time I've used Debenhams, saw a few moans on here and decided they were pretty minor. Thought I could order online, not the case. Rang my store and they were most helpful. As well as getting a good rate, also got a £5 voucher to use in store. But they're only valid on the day!!! Would definitely use again.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kerry

26th June 2017

Always come here for holiday money do the best rates and good customer care.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Julian

25th June 2017

Read the dodgy reviews so I called in at Meadowhall. The gentleman was most helpful. He asked if I had a Debenhams. I told him I had but that I was paying cash. He told me that didn't matter but that I would get a better rate. He also told me when it was the best times to go and I could be sure that they would have enough. Went the following day, straight in, straight out. Excellent!

  • I ordered £540 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Mike

16th June 2017

Bristol branch would not accept online rate shown on my phone as she wanted a printed version, been in lots of times and never had an issue before. Went elsewhere.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kate

14th June 2017

Again, Purchased £200 Euros, No problem... Rate had dropped, but I was honoured the rate of this website. REMEMBER, TO SHOW THEM THE RATE ON HERE WHEN YOU BUY!! - They are reasonable when it comes to different rates!! I have used several different branches in the past and they ALL let you have the best rate.. Quit Winging and enjoy your holidays!!!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Robin Crispin

11th June 2017

spot on every member of staff at the bath branch have been so helpful. Been using the store for years now and will continue too .Well done.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Michael

4th June 2017

The rate on this web site and the Debenhams web site isn't the rate that yo will be offered at the currency desk in Leicester Debenhams, We checked the rate before we left, whilst we were there and when we got back. There was about 1 cent worse rate in store than at any time during the day on the web pages. We bought our currency elsewhere as a matter of principle.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sharon main

28th May 2017

Tried to get holiday money so many times it's always shut ...no wonder they offer good rates NEVER OPEN ....WOKING SURREY...

  • I ordered £[X] worth of [Y]
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Michael

20th May 2017

Your member of staff at Meadowhall Sheffield dealt with my purchase,1000 Euros quick and easy all done within minutes would use Debenhams again 10/10!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Mike D

15th May 2017

Great no problems can even get 1 dollar bills

  • I ordered £800 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

F.lawrie

15th May 2017

The exchange rate was fine but no communication at all from member of staff who served me. she was certainly not happy at her work.

  • I ordered £300 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Chris

14th May 2017

I ordered euros online and when I went to collect there was a problem with a previous order for another customer I was sent away for 20 minutes , I THEN WENT BACK AGAIN WAS TOLD there was still a wait.so waited 40 minutes for my euros. I was then told the rate had changed and I could only have a lower rate . I have ordered three times online to pick up at store and each time they are closed for lunch or tea break always had to wait . So will not use again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kate Allen

9th May 2017

I Purchased 500 Euros last weekend at the Chelmsford, Essex Branch. I noticed their rate was different to what was online and they let me have it at 1.161 which is what I showed them on my phone screen. I have used Debenhams for the last 3 Years because they always have the best rate and have always let me have the rate advertised online rather than their rate.... So those that are moaning about this, remember this for next time! I will be going back in a few weeks for another 500 euros ready for my Holiday!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Emma

8th May 2017

Great new service at the Chesterfield branch. Very helpful staff and free parking outside the door. Perfect.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Avneet Khaneja

8th May 2017

Excellent service at Derby store...preferential rates for Debenhams card holders!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. COLLECTION ONLY: from 99 stores nationwide. Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Guide to hiring a car abroad

Guide to hiring a car abroad

Posted by Holly Burgess on 23rd July 2017

Car rental is an extremely competitive industry and it works in a similar way to booking airlines. The sooner you book, the cheaper the deal. Many factors contribute to the price of your rental such as the tim read more

Sending or receiving funds between UK and overseas bank accounts

Sending or receiving funds between UK and overseas bank accounts

Posted by Matthew Weston on 22nd July 2017

If you’ve ever attempted to transfer funds from one account to another overseas, you’ll find that this can be an expensive process if done through a bank. Especially if you’re transferring dif read more