Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 149 reviews Write Review

27th May 2016

Just been to bury St edmunds branch, refused printed rate, offering in store lower rate instead. No thanks.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th May 2016

I purchased £1000 euro served by Jan. As I was a store card holder I got a better rate. Very happy with the service

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th May 2016

Guy at inverness branch was very friendly, asked what notes i would prefer, asked no 50s as harder to get changed while abroad. Showed him my printed voucher, actually got a slightly higher rate of 1.287 instead of 1.2866 which i had printed out. Very easy, no problems encounter except the guy was on his lunch break at 1.30 pm

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th May 2016

I showed the guy rate I got online he asked me what company it was told him and got the higher rate almost 1.28 Euro. Also got the £5 giftcard but just wanted the money exchange was a quick friendly service in Birmingham store I just went in never ordered it, glad I tried as I read negative reviews. Will go back.

  • I ordered £250.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd May 2016

when on line and print the voucher went to the branch in Ipswich and they honoured the rate on the voucher ,the staff were very helpful

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd May 2016

I ordered euros from Debenhams on line for collection from the Hull store. The following day I drove into Kingston upon Hull to collect them, only to be told they had run out. They did offer me a voucher for a discount on shopping (but only if I did it that day) and a free coffee but could not take up either as I was short of time and had made a special trip into town just to collect the cash and was in a restricted parking area. The very nice young girl was very sympathetic and assured me that someone would ring me when a further supply arrived and they would hold my order for me this time. three days later and no telephone call so I rang them and was assured the money was there so another drive into town. Waste of time, petrol and parking fees. Not happy and will not use Debenhams again - even though they offered the best rate on the day.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

21st May 2016

no problems at all,got better rate than quoted online will be using again

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th May 2016

Great service, £5 off voucher as well which is excellent. The rate was honoured as advertised and always has been whenever I use the service.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th May 2016

I have purchased Euros in the past using the voucher printed from web and have never had trouble with them. I have always been given the rate shown on voucher and always been given the £5 voucher, although you must spend it the same day. I am concerned to read about the recent problems some people have had as I will be purchasing some more travel money very soon. I don't usually send in reviews.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th May 2016

2nd time I have used Debenhams in Salisbury and yet again a fantastic service. Printed my voucher off and went in to store, handed voucher over and the young lad just worked out how much I would get and asked how I would like the money. Never refused the rate I had given to them. I would definitely use the Salisbury branch again and would not hesitate to recommend them. Other reviews say there stores would not honour the voucher but I had no problem. Also got my £5 voucher thank you

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

18th May 2016

Debenhams do not offer the rates advertised

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

18th May 2016

I printed the voucher exchange was 126 Went to debenhams to find it was 124 in shop I got there within 15 mins of printing However online its 126.4 but the shop is still 124. This is a con by either debenhams or the website Avoid

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th May 2016

Great service at Gateshead metro centre when I got my euros,even got £5 gift card to spend in store when you spend £20.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th May 2016

I printed the rate voucher drove to store only to find they wouldn't honour rate 20 mins later. Con avoid

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th May 2016

When you get to travel counter they say the rate on voucher is not current even though it was printed at 10 am that day

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th May 2016

Website is terrible, doesn't even work properly

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th May 2016

just back from debenhams ,took my printed amount to the bureau de change as instructed on printed documented only to be told by young girl megan that they wont honour it as it was printed yesterday and that the rate had dropped.i wont be back at debenhams again ,why post these rates when u wont pay out

  • I ordered £690 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th May 2016

Fantastic experience. Extremely knowledgeable and helpful lady, couldn't have been a better way to buy foreign currency at the very best High Street rates. Simply check online, print the voucher and those rates are honoured.

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd May 2016

Very straightforward and hassle free! I checked online before visiting my local store, took a copy of the online rate with me and received exactly what it said online. I was served by a pleasant, chatty, efficient assistant too!

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st May 2016

Really easy went to my local shop,asked for the euros .no trouble at all will use agin

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

30th April 2016

Received the fantastic rate as advertised on the site and the £5 voucher great service.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

30th April 2016

I have used here to get my Euros for the last four years, collected in store. Always the best rates of all high street exchanges. Plus a £5 pound voucher. Also you get a voucher for a free coffee at the store restaurant. Beats them all

  • I ordered ££1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th April 2016

There was no £5 voucher despite printing the details, why advertise this if it does not exist, seems a bit of a con. Otherwise the process was fine, I got my euros.

  • I ordered £550.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th April 2016

Spot on - Im a bit of a non reviewer but this transaction with Debenhams was very easy! I simply wanted to top up with a little extra for the transport to and from the apt. I Found the exchange rate online, printed the voucher, took it to Debenhams and purchased Euros. The only thing I would say is that the cashier wasnt aware which online company I used even though Debenhams apparently do...I also did not get offered the £5.00 voucher but I wasnt too bothered as I just wanted the Euros

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

15th April 2016

I have always used Debenhams in Sutton, always found the staff to be helpful accommodating and cheerful. I suppose if you are polite and respectful you have no problems. Once again, the staff are just ding their job.

  • I ordered £3000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store with purchase plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. COLLECTION ONLY: Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Speculation Regarding US Federal Reserve Dominates Market Activity

Speculation Regarding US Federal Reserve Dominates Market Activity

Posted by Rewan on 27th May 2016

US Interest Rate Hike Speculation Keeps US Dollar Volatile Speculation over whether the US Federal Reserve will raise interest rates at its next policy meeting in June has kept the US Dollar volatile over the p read more

Order Currency Online And Get More Travel Money In Your Pocket

Order Currency Online And Get More Travel Money In Your Pocket

Posted by Adam Silveston on 27th May 2016

When travelling overseas for a family holiday there are loads of options these days for consumers to exchange their sterling to foreign currency. But what option is the best and most cost effective solution to read more