Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.7 / 5

Based on 215 reviews Write Review

Yesterday

WE have used Debenhams a few times and found them to be very helpful and we have actually received a higher rate than stated on line The only down side is three times we have visited we have had to wait as on lunch break even thou we visit at different times .

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd February 2017

Ridiculous system. They don't take currency exchange orders online or by phone. I phoned to ask them to have money available for me when I visit the store but was told they do not have the currency available and that I would have to make the journey in to order and then return to collect. Double the costs and travel time. Poor Show Debenhams. I'm not likely to use you in the future and will post this to fb friends too.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th February 2017

I purchase my currency at the store in Bradford. The lady at the counter was friendly and very knowledgeable when asked about future transaction for other currencies. I didn't have to pre-order the money either as they keep this amount in store. There rate was the best for the high street providers

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th January 2017

always have to wait in the Debenhams in Guildford, not always manned - shame because rate are pretty competitive and on other occasions other more exotic currencies are never in stock on a daily basis

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th January 2017

With some trepidation I took my voucher to the Plymouth store on 06/01/2017 and asked the gentlemen at the desk if he would honour the rate given that morning albeit I knew that he could say that the rate had changed as per the T&C on the website. I also showed him my Debenhams Credit Card and he gave the rate quoted on a £500 exchange. This gave me quite a saving on what was being offered in Plymouth today. Had I been dissatisfied with the rate I could have walked away as no money had been taken 'up front'. I will certainly use this system again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th January 2017

Looked online to see exchange rate and took the printout with me. Cashier told me the amount for my exchange which was less than on the printout.I questioned this and was told that was the rate from 8.30 that morning although I looked it up later than that time.Why can you have the rate which is shown on the printout in some Debenhams Stores and not others.All customers should be treated equally. As I hold a Debenhams Card I did have the £5 voucher which was of less value due to the fact I didn't receive the exchange rate I showed the cashier. Very unfair.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th January 2017

I have often bought my euros from Debenhams and will carry on doing so. I have never had any problems and there is always a good service

  • I ordered £various worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

18th December 2016

Never honour the rate stated, when you arrive In store. This has happened many times. Staff most rude and unprofessional. Only place that wants a passport to collect currency! Would not remove personal details of this after purchase. Had junk mail since and scam calls. Did not give voucher to both parties. Will never go to Debenhams ever again can get the CORRECT rates elsewhere! AVOID......

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

15th December 2016

Collected from Basildon store, staff very helpful they were closing up but re-opened to serve me. Internet rate was honnered £700 at 1.1724 the best rate around and I was given a £5.00 voucher for the store.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th December 2016

Got the rate for that morning,which it says in red print. Still the best rate around. Only grumble is ,they asked if I'd take $500 in $5's but they soon ordered at the same rate.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th December 2016

Travelled to white rose from Halifax with an internet voucher from that morning with a rate of 17.1 Euro to the pound. The cashier refused to honour this saying it wasn't live. I wanted £2000 changing & my daughter had £500 Total wasted journey

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th November 2016

Lovely staff, very friendly. I went in for a currency and the girl put an order through for me, it arrived in no time and I was guaranteed the best they could do. Will always come for my money here!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Chinese Yuan
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th November 2016

Went into Debenhams today after looking at what everyone else was offering and got 1.10 euros per £1. Better than what I had seen on the internet before I left the house. Thanks Debenhams Clapham Junction you did it again - good exchange rate

  • I ordered ££400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd November 2016

I went to get swiss francs in Woking but nothing in stock

  • I ordered £500 worth of Swiss Francs
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th October 2016

On compareholidaymoney the rate for £500 was 546 euros. When I went to collect they said they would only give 545 because their lowest denomination was 5 euros, they don't have coins ?? Bad show

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2016

I have used the Debenhams exchange a few times now being a store card holder.I just look on line and if its a decent rate just take a picture on my phone of the statement . The cashiers are always polite and give the expected rate. I Always manage to spend my voucher too.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th October 2016

I ordered US Dollars over the phone. Rate was confirmed and held for me to collect next day to suit me. Everything went very smoothly and people I deal with were professional and friendly. Recommended

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th September 2016

Ordered online and picked up couple hours later at the Trafford Centre outstanding rate and service

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th September 2016

Ordered online,quote was honoured when I produced a copy of the rate for which I had expected earlier in the day.Wife was happy as we had a store card,and had a five pound voucher to spend in the Store.There was a minimum buy of 20 pounds,but hat was no problem,and the the voucher was valid on the day only.

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th September 2016

poor rate isnt the same in store and you have to sign up for a store card ! you get better rates elsewhere so unless your desperate dont bother

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th September 2016

Bought €230 euros. The rate to the £ in store was less than it was on the internet that morning but the cashier matched the price as I had saved the quotation on my phone.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th September 2016

We ordered our euro's yesterday morning on line, and went to collect them an hour later at our nearest Debenhams. The cashier was polite and gave us the rate that we ordered. We did not have to queue which was great. Also was given a £5 voucher to use against shopping in store.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th September 2016

We ordered our euro's yesterday morning on line, and went to collect them an hour later at our nearest Debenhams. The cashier was polite and gave us the rate that we ordered. We did not have to queue which was great.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th September 2016

Exceptional service from Leicester Debenhams. Thank you. Used Debenhams own card and received better exchange rate plus £5 voucher to use on the day.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th September 2016

can,t get to c were stores r to collect

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. COLLECTION ONLY: from 87 stores nationwide. Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Thinking of Using your Credit Card to Exchange Currency?

Thinking of Using your Credit Card to Exchange Currency?

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 24th February 2017

This is the third of my four part blog post series, where I’ve been looking at different payment methods to exchange currency. In my previous posts, I’ve looked at cash and debit card payments. Toda read more

Five best stadiums to watch football in the world

Five best stadiums to watch football in the world

Posted by Matthew Weston on 24th February 2017

Welcome to the final part in my series of the best places to watch sport in the world. Having already covered cricket, rugby and European Formula One circuits, I couldn’t do a series without the most popular read more