Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 308 reviews Write Review

Sharon

13th February 2018

Can't fault debenhams service for foreign currency. I ordered Abu Dhabi Dirhams late Thursday night it said 3-5 working days for collection in store or delivery but it was actually ready on Monday - no fuss and came with vouchers for free hot drink for two in coffee shop and a £5 off voucher in store to be used the same day. Well done Debenhams will continue to use your great service for future currency orders.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Leah Quinn

10th February 2018

I ordered £200 worth of Czech Koruna on 5th February to take on holiday on the 12th (Monday). They rang me on the 9th (Friday) to say they wouldn't have it until after I'd left. They also told me I'd have to come into the branch to get a refund. Of course, it was too late to order it anywhere else by then. About 20 minutes later, they rang to say I could have 6000 Koruna if I paid extra - they only had 1000 Koruna notes. Naturally, I had no choice and had to take them. They gave me a coffee voucher and an apology. Not good enough.

  • I ordered £215 worth of Czech Koruna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kay Kane

9th February 2018

Attempted to order travel currency on-line for home delivery. Unfortunately, payment was declined and contacted customer services and was given a reference number and asked to re-try later. I also contacted my card provider as a block had been put on my card and went through to their security team to help unblock my card. Despite a further two attempts on the website to re-order, whilst holding on the phone to my card provider the transition still would not go through and the website page eventually gave up and appeared to be in a loop taking me back to the beginning. I contacted customer services who said it must be the card provider and the card provider advised he thought it was their website. My only option was to go into store and order it - so much for ordering on-line!

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Dan Simpson

7th February 2018

Ordered money,when I went to collect it they didnt have it ad asked me to come back. As I couldn't I had to cancel and it was a real hassle to get my money back.They have good rates but it's just not worth it.Never again.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jason Harris

6th February 2018

Offered a free £5 gift card for all money exchanges. No gift card forthcoming. Chased up on phone and told it takes 90 days. 6 months later still nothing. Give up. Watch out for their special offers, they never materialise

  • I ordered £640 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jason Roberts

3rd February 2018

Ordered on line went to store and they did not have currency available and rate applied was lower. What is shown is not what you get. Waste of my time clearly Debenhams need to stick to fashion

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jo B

2nd February 2018

Almost ordered my US Dollars online but decided to see what I could get in town first. Wrote down rates, called into Debenhams Travel Money click & collect booth on the way & asked what rate they would do for me as a cardholder. They matched the online rate which was higher than anywhere else in town. Result - happy customer :-)

  • I ordered £1408 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Margaret

1st February 2018

Ordered £500 of Euros on Wednesday PM and arrived Thursday AM. First time using Debenhams will definitely use again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Glynn

24th January 2018

First class service,got the money next working day.

  • I ordered £1700 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Debra Turner

24th January 2018

I collect currency from Debenhams for all my holidays. They consistently have a higher rated for currency collection on the Hugh street. Never had any problems and I have often recommended them to friends and family.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Colin French

21st January 2018

The Sutton Department Store lowered the rate than advertised. When I wanted to cancel they waited to charge £10. Not recommended.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Vietnamese Dongs
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Peter

17th January 2018

Good

  • I ordered £7000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

julie ray

14th January 2018

Best experience I've had so far regarding Lira.had a mixture of notes which is rare,got the rate I saw advertised,ready when they said.no complaints from me.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jane Davies

12th January 2018

I ordered on line to collect in store and chose a collection day. When the time came to collect the money I was ill. I phoned the store and was told that the money would be held for a week then if I didn't turn up to collect it or if I cancelled the order they would refund my payment - as simple as that. Fortunately I was able to collect it six days later and go on my holiday. The money was issued in sensibly mixed denomination notes. Very friendly girl at the store remembered I had been ill and kindly asked me how I was. As well as being very helpful, they offered a good rate of exchange. I was most satisfied with their service.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Mick F

11th January 2018

Tried to purchase currency in store using a Debenhams store card. Told not in stock and to order on line. Web site didn't work so phoned. Advised there was no help available. Will never use Debenhams again for anything. Marks and Spencer were very helpful, and their web site works.

  • I ordered £60 worth of Uruguayan Pesos
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Lianne S

8th January 2018

Home Delivery on Euros, arrived at my house the next day. Couldn't have been any easier.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Rosemary

6th January 2018

Fantastic service from the Debenhams team in Clapham. Ordered my USD online for click and collect and it was available the next day for me to collect with my other shopping. Thanks again, will definitely be coming back.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kay H

31st December 2017

MASSIVE HEADACHE to deal with Ordered currency to collect paid for it and only after paying was given a date a week later to pick it up when 'll already be on holiday. Tried calling customer service and was hanging for over an hour a complete useless very pathetic service. When I finally got through to them was told i would be charged £10 cancellation fee. Just avoid I've not had this hassle with any other currency company.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Charlie

29th December 2017

The service was great and exchange rate the best on offer at that time. I always check around for the best rate and they beat the local competition 4 out of five times. I get that bit extra by using my Store Card. Well done.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sylvia Clow

13th December 2017

Dreadful - I ordered £600 Euros to be delivered and the email confirmation stated collect currency even though I ordered a delivery. After numerous calls to their call centre (up north) to request they deliver the currency they refused the service was appalling - I also spoke to Debenhams at my local branch they said they could not deliver it and had to collect the currency from the store. I will never use Debenhams again!!!!!

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Ruth Beagley

12th December 2017

I will never use again as totally unhelpful and poor service. I ordered 42000 Thai baht in mixed denominations and I received 42 x £1000 baht notes. When I rang to request changing some notes to lower denominations I was met with a very long telephone wait then spoke to a disinterested member of staff who said that there was nothing they could do as that was the only notes they had available. I tried to complain and was given a number but told no further action would be forthcoming.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sarah A

11th December 2017

Ordered £500 worth of Aussie Dollars, best rate online and it arrived on time to my house. I will definitely be using Debenhams going forward for all my currency.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

James Otoole

8th December 2017

Perfect ! One of the best rates I found. Ordered online, checked the rate just before selecting 'Buy'. Arrived on time 2 days later as advised.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Bob

7th December 2017

Stated a very good rate of exchange on the website when I arrived at Debenhams to get exchange some money the rate lower than advertised. Time between looking on the website and turning up a the shop = 30 mins I would call this fraud!!!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Theresa

4th December 2017

Another good service received from Debenhams Sutton Branch.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. Collect your currency from over 100 stores nationwide, or have it delivered to your door.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Colourful springtime destinations

Colourful springtime destinations

Posted by Sam Stone on 24th February 2018

With public gardens bursting into colour and the temperatures rising, it’s hard not to be seduced by some of the most famous springtime destinations. The cherry blossoms of Japan, tulip fields of Holland read more

How much spending money for Malta?

How much spending money for Malta?

Posted by Graham Morley on 15th February 2018

It’s always difficult to know exactly how much spending money to take with you if you’ve never visited a country before. One of our best selling and most popular pre-paid currency cards is the WeSwap card a read more