Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.7 / 5

Based on 195 reviews Write Review

29th September 2016

Ordered online and picked up couple hours later at the Trafford Centre outstanding rate and service

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th September 2016

Ordered online,quote was honoured when I produced a copy of the rate for which I had expected earlier in the day.Wife was happy as we had a store card,and had a five pound voucher to spend in the Store.There was a minimum buy of 20 pounds,but hat was no problem,and the the voucher was valid on the day only.

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th September 2016

poor rate isnt the same in store and you have to sign up for a store card ! you get better rates elsewhere so unless your desperate dont bother

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th September 2016

Bought €230 euros. The rate to the £ in store was less than it was on the internet that morning but the cashier matched the price as I had saved the quotation on my phone.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th September 2016

We ordered our euro's yesterday morning on line, and went to collect them an hour later at our nearest Debenhams. The cashier was polite and gave us the rate that we ordered. We did not have to queue which was great.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th September 2016

Exceptional service from Leicester Debenhams. Thank you. Used Debenhams own card and received better exchange rate plus £5 voucher to use on the day.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th September 2016

can,t get to c were stores r to collect

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th September 2016

Printed off form for exchange £500 into Euro;s ..Went to our Local Debenhams Hanley Stoke on Trent ...Got what it said on form + £5 voucher Served by a very pleasant young lady ..Very Good ..Thank You ..

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd September 2016

printed off the form on line and 1 hour later picked up my money from the local Debenhams store. Got the rate shown on the form and not the one on the board plus a voucher . Easy.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th August 2016

We ordered £2300 pounds worth of euro's on line. We then went down to our local Debenhams in Wrexham and handed them the printed sheet with the on line exchange rate printed on it . The exchange rate was lower instore but we had the better exchange rate and a £5 pound voucher. excellent service.

  • I ordered £2300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th August 2016

I had been tracking the rate comparison sites and headed into Debenhams in Bromley to buy my Euros on the day of our holiday, whilst their rate was good. On arrival, there was a long queue as the staff behind the kiosk counter were doing a stocktake. It was around 11.30am. After about 15-20 minutes I had made the front of the queue and requested my currency (£600 worth). I was immediately given a slightly lower rate than was advertised online so I questioned why this was and I was advised that I had to tell them that I had seen the Debenhams' rate online in order to be given that rate. Very shadey if you ask me, as there is no mention of this online and you have to always collect in store with Debenhams Foreign Exchange, so surely their online (collection only) rate IS their ONLY rate? Anyway, I bought my Euros and headed away, only to overhear and now to witness online, that I should have been given a £5 voucher to use in store, with any £20 purchase. Perhaps inpreferential treatment as I had questioned the rate? Perhaps. Not kind Debenhams, must try harder.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th August 2016

all good , easy to collect

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th August 2016

Comparison website showed Debenhams to be a very good rate .....2nd in the long list and lots of Debenhams shops to collect from. Printed my voucher off, and travelled to the Luton store in the shopping mall, where there was no queue and got the superb rate quoted on the web for my £400 spend. Added bonus was the £5 voucher off £20 in store spend, valid till end of month, (2 weeks) and received 2 free coffee vouchers ( must be worth about £4 at least). Pay by debit card to avoid 1.5% credit card charges. So great service and great rate. Can't see why you would go anywhere else with so many stores across the country !

  • I ordered £400 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th August 2016

Went to debenhams merryhill. Was served by a very pleasant lady, can't remember name but had short brown hair. Very chatty and polite. Due to me waiting she apologised and gave me a coffee voucher. Had printed off the voucher which was accepted and gave her my I.d. She asked me what note value I wanted and she gave me exactly what I asked for. Although their was a queue it went down quickly. I would definite recommend and use again, even though I had to travel there. I didn't use my free voucher due to work commitments.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th August 2016

Ordered 300.00 online. Was in store 15mins later to buy and got exactly what it said on the print out... am about to use this system again. Didnt get large denomination notes as they were busy and sold out... but doesnt really matter.. its all spendable!

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th August 2016

Called ahead and was told rate was @ 1.14/ cardholders 1.15. Explained that website stating 1.16. Not an issue asked to verify and was given the rate when visited the money booth in Silverburn. Service was OK felt that advisor could have been a bit more pleasanter. Overall would visit again

  • I ordered £1200... worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th August 2016

Excellent rate. Good service and a free coffee!

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

31st July 2016

Barrow travel bureau was excellent went in was served by Sandra and a new girl who was been trained Mandy both customer service was excellent a real interest in my custom

  • I ordered £10000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

30th July 2016

Due to the Brexit uncertainty the queue was silly the rate advertised online was not honoured which it had the right to do. The rate at the bureau was advertised on the board and this was not even the rate you got. I pointed out that this was misrepresentation and they should cover the board if it was not correct. There was one person on the till who was being trained! the acting store manager was stood at the side of her so slow Sheffield Meadowhall longest time ever to get currency usually not as bad.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th July 2016

Ordered this morning. Went to Chelmsford branch. Refused to give me agreed rate even tho I printed voucher. Wanted to give me lower " Updated" rate. Also refused £5 store voucher. Will NEVER use again.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th July 2016

I ordered this morning and was served in the Leicester branch by a very helpful and friendly lady. Very fast and efficient service. I was given the rate on the print out and the £5 voucher.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th July 2016

Went to change some euros was queuing up for ages, to get to the front of the queue when the woman tells me the card machine was broke. So I went to the cash machine which was a walk rushing to get back before they closed. I queued for a second time for the woman to tell me when I got to the front, the system was down and if I came back another day wouldn't honour the rates. Was not happy went to Thomsons who honored there online rate even though the price was lower in store.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th July 2016

i like everyone else, printed off the online voucher. by the time i went to the store (on the same day this was printed) the rate had dropped slightly. the very polite young lady at the bureau de change honoured the on-line rate. i did also receive a £5 voucher as stated which could be used in store on the day against a £20 spend. i was under NO obligation to spend an additional £20 but my wife kindly obliged. excellent service would use again.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th July 2016

Went to Wimbledon Debenhams to buy some euros theybwere very friendly and very efficient would use again. I was delighted to recieve a £5 off £20 I would however note that you have to use it on the day you purchase your euros.

  • I ordered £120 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th July 2016

I feel like this needs explaining to a lot of the negative reviewers on here. You are not techincally ordering currency in advance to 'secure a sale' - how can you be doing a sale if YOU are not even paying for it at the time. There are very few (if any) places who will get an order ready without payment! The printed voucher is merely something to show the staff member that you have looked online first and seen that they offer the best rate. Sometimes, the rate cannot be honoured as the markets DO change throughout the day!! This is not something the staff members you speak to control. It is not down to them, it is down to the state of trading and how well the GBP Sterling is doing on that day. And the fact that the rate dropped isn't even the fault of Debenhams, it is the fault of the financial state of the UK (and dare I say - the fault of those who voted Brexit without considering how far the pound would drop). On the online voucher, at the bottom it does say that the rate MAY change due to Marketing reasons. It is not something they are able to control, every single company who deals with money will have the EXACT SAME RISK. It is nothing to do with anyone personally, that is just how the finance business works. Anyone who doesn't understand this, clearly has no experience or knowledge of the finance world. I have gone in when my nearest bureau is shut, and while it is offputting, it is also understandable. And asking 'other members of staff to just hop in' as one person put is absolutely unforgivable! To work with money requires a CRO/DBS/CRB check, as well as training to ensure that you are not losing money or putting yourself and/or the customer at any risk!! It is a lot of money and responsibility, something a lot of people will not want to deal with. If they are understaffed, that is certainly a problem they will be working on. Why would they purposely lose out on money just to irritate customers? And the staff, who probably happen to be working before you

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store with purchase plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. COLLECTION ONLY: Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
UK Economy 7th in the World (up from 10th last year)

UK Economy 7th in the World (up from 10th last year)

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 29th September 2016

The UK Economy 7th in the World according to World Economic Forum (WEF). In 2015 the UK was ranked 10th so at first glance it looks like an improvement. The question is “How do you make an economy more co read more

Compare Holiday Money Launches in Ireland

Compare Holiday Money Launches in Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 27th September 2016

The Compare Holiday Money brand is proud to announce its launch in Ireland. After six years of comparing travel money exchange rates for UK consumers in order to help them find the best currency deals online th read more