Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 92 reviews Write Review

28th August 2015

Hopeless. Took my voucher to Debhams at 10am to receive my Euros and was informed that they hadn't many notes Left and could I come back in the afternoon. Surely they should stock up on currency first thing at the start of the business day. Went to Thomas Cook.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th August 2015

Got the exact rate that was advertised, quick and efficient service. Was charged % on my debit card but this is the way they process their transactions and when I rang my bank this was refunded ( so please check your bank doesn't charge cash transactions in the UK).

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

27th August 2015

I went to Bournemouth branch to collect Euros with printed £5 voucher. However the exchange rate advertised on the Internet was 1.34+ but when I got to the shop the board outside advertised the exchange rate as 1.32+. I did not go in as I felt they got me there by false pretences. I will shop Around again before buying. Seems to be a common on problem with Debenhams now I have read others feedback.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

27th August 2015

Always buy my Euros in Debenhams Inverness branch. One of the best exchange rates and always a good mix of notes available. Friendly, efficient staff.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

26th August 2015

Popped into Croydon Debenhams. No one around. Empty booth. Ended up leaving & finding somewhere else. Totally rubbish lack of service.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

24th August 2015

Went in to pick up euros from Trafford centre exchange is different to the website excuse is exchange rate changed it didn't seem to effect other site got them through post office

  • Ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

19th August 2015

Went into Coventry branch and ordered 700 euros. Quick and efficient service.

  • Ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

18th August 2015

Excellent service at the metro Gateshead, showed my phone with the internet rate on compare-holiday-money.com and got that rate very pleased many thanks

  • Ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

14th August 2015

Service with a smile and a great rate too. £5 voucher also to spend in store with a free cup of coffee in Debenhams cafe threw in as well. Would a 100% use again.

  • Ordered £400 worth of Turkish Lira
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

14th August 2015

Debehams Birmingham very quick service no que would recommend

  • Ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

13th August 2015

Robbers. Good exchange rate on euros but then hit with a hidden 2% surcharge. £40+ taken. Never use this lot again using my debit card

  • Ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

7th August 2015

Second visit for me to Milton Keynes. Worked well but there was quite a que and only one member of staff.

  • Ordered £350 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

5th August 2015

Went in store Friday July 31st Very quick very helpful received £5 voucher Well done Bury St Edmunds

  • Ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

3rd August 2015

I arrived with my online voucher to receive an improved rate but it was the slowest exchanges I've ever witnessed. Seemed like ages to serve the 4 in front of me bearing in mind one customer was turned away as they didn't stock her desired currency.

  • Ordered £215 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

2nd August 2015

Excellent service, staff friendly and very helpful, will use again, well done I 1800 euros and got them all in 20 euros notes that's all they had

  • Ordered £1300 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

31st July 2015

Not enough UAE currency in branch when I phoned on a Friday. Not available until Tuesday! Poor

  • Ordered £800 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

29th July 2015

Worked for me. Couldn't have been easier!!

  • Ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th July 2015

Went into Sunderland store cashier answered all questions was polite. Informed didnt have enough euros to pay out £500.00 but could manage £300.00. If ordered money would be given highest rate on collection if rate changed. Informed Debenhams £5.00 voucher had to be spent in store on day of purchase.

24th July 2015

Turned up at Debenhams Wimbledon at 1555hrs. Cashier note saying be back at 1615hrs. Waited until 1620hrs and still no sign. Seemingly a one person operation as no other staff could help. Do not travel a distance for this service you could be left dissapointed

21st July 2015

I printed the voucher, went into the Wimbledon branch and exchanged £500 at a very competitive rate of €1.41. The staff member was very helpful and efficient. Will definitely use them again.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

21st July 2015

THEY ARE A JOKE!!!!! Today I printed an online voucher converting £500 to 705.52 euros at 07.28. Then I left home at 07.40 and walked for 20 minutes to catch a bus to the nearest Debenham's Travel Shop at Swansea to exchange my cash for the euros and to collect a free £5 off voucher which was included in the offer. However, when I arrived at the Travel Shop at 09.35 I was astounded to be told that they had no euros!!!! What a joke!!!! A currency exchange shop with no euros!!!! I was told that they were expecting a delivery later in the day but that it would not be until around 11.00am. Without a definite delivery time I was not prepared to wait around until the euros arrived and so I caught a bus back home. What a waste of a morning!!!! Fortunately, as an OAP I have a concessionary travel pass and so my trip cost me nothing other than 4 hours of wasted time. I am just pleased that I did not travel by car and, therefore, did not waste money on petrol!!!! PS: I do not buy currency online because of the debit card/credit card companies' charges and Debenham's exchange rate was the best for cash purchases. Not much use having the best rate though if you have not got the currency in stock!!!!

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

20th July 2015

Printed off voucher Saturday AM but had Fridays date on it. It was still honoured at better rate than shown in store. Offered a good selection of notes. Very good service- Have used before and will do so again in the future.

  • Ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

18th July 2015

Excellent service, staff friendly and very helpful, will use again, well done five stars go to the Sutton department store.

  • Ordered £350 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

17th July 2015

After reading some of these reviews, i went prepared. Rate on the board was lower than advertised. showed the voucher. No problems although they do have funny lunch hours :-)

  • Ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

16th July 2015

I went online yesterday, printed my voucher, and went into Nottingham specially to get some Euros, as the rate was good. When I got there I was told that the Travel Money office was closed - "because of unforeseen circumstances". Not a great service - I recommend anyone going there to check first whether it is open. I have got my Euros from another provider.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

You can answer some, all, or none of these optional questions and we'll show them under your review to give a quick snapshot of your experience:

I ordered £ worth of

  • This was my first time using this supplier Yes No
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date Yes No
  • I received a good mix of notes Yes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to others Yes No

Debenhams offer a competitive travel money service with zero commission and preferential rates for cardholders. COLLECTION ONLY: Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Now is the time to compare travel money rates!

Now is the time to compare travel money rates!

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 28th August 2015

Everyday that the markets have been open for the past week the exchange rates have fallen. It is when the rates are dropping like this that it is most important to compare travel money suppliers before buying. read more

Exchange Rate Comparisons in 2015

Exchange Rate Comparisons in 2015

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 25th August 2015

The web is constantly changing and sites like ours need to evolve. You will probably have heard about sites that ‘lose’ their users data such as mumsnet and Ashley Madison. We have never collected p read more