Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 127 reviews Write Review

29th April 2016

There was no £5 voucher despite printing the details, why advertise this if it does not exist, seems a bit of a con. Otherwise the process was fine, I got my euros.

  • I ordered £550.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th April 2016

Spot on - Im a bit of a non reviewer but this transaction with Debenhams was very easy! I simply wanted to top up with a little extra for the transport to and from the apt. I Found the exchange rate online, printed the voucher, took it to Debenhams and purchased Euros. The only thing I would say is that the cashier wasnt aware which online company I used even though Debenhams apparently do...I also did not get offered the £5.00 voucher but I wasnt too bothered as I just wanted the Euros

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

15th April 2016

I have always used Debenhams in Sutton, always found the staff to be helpful accommodating and cheerful. I suppose if you are polite and respectful you have no problems. Once again, the staff are just ding their job.

  • I ordered £3000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th March 2016

Walked into Glasgow store on Sunday 14th march, I had not booked on line or said I was coming, I was given good rate not asked for identification, I am very satisfied and would recommend.

16th March 2016

After looking on this website I went into my local store Sheffield Meadowhall and spoke to the young man there. He was so helpful and I simply pulled up the website and quote on my phone, he gave me my euros at the web rate ( better than the in store one ) and a £5 voucher which I then spent on Easter eggs! Thank you my experience was great!

14th March 2016

Really easy, took the voucher, they honoured the rate which was much better than the in store rate. Quick friendly and efficient and got my £5 off voucher to spend in store.

11th March 2016

Always had good service. I have used Debenhams on several occasions and will carry on doing so.

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th February 2016

went online printed the voucher for me to collect . went straight to the branch and they would not honor the rate . had read reviews which said the same. i should have paid attention !!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th February 2016

Very good service, printed the voucher and got the rate as advertised which was the best I could find.

  • I ordered £700 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd February 2016

Excellent service,excellent rate.Would recommend-but dont forget to go on line and get a print out to get the best rates in store!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

10th February 2016

Went into Bury St Edmunds branch to get currency, as this was the best rate on the internet. The service was quick and efficient. (No problems producing I.D, no idea why people would not expect to be asked) would highly recommend Debenhams.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th February 2016

Went to the Taunton branch and was told that they didn't have enough US Dollars. Just like that. No apology, no suggestion of whether they'd get more or not. Just, "Can't do it. We haven't got that much" When I pressed for an answer about what to do next, the idiot started questioning why I needed to take so much money on holiday. It was only £2k and as I pointed out to him: it's a business trip and it's none of your business! Went elsewhere after speaking to an equally idiotic supervisor.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th January 2016

Debenhams Travel Money offer a brilliant service. I went in to my local store and got a fantastic rate, excellent service and would definetley recommend.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th January 2016

I went to Bradford Debenhams before Christmas. the staff called Simon was very helpful and provided me with the top rate that was on line, and gave me a £5 off voucher (£20 min spend), to be used on same day, but no problem with that , I was very satisfied and would recommend them highly

24th January 2016

Finished a long days work and before going home called into Manchesters Market St store and asked for £1000 into dollars and shown my passport for my ID but they wanted proof of address which I don't carry around with me. Why would I tell somebody my address who then knows I will be away from home, WHY? The customer service was horrendous, didn't explain that it was a company policy for large amounts (laughable, nearly 3 weeks wages)!! just spoke to me like I was some sort of criminal. I complained and was told this was the policy. Well they've got a stupid out dated policy I told them. I went to the Arndale where the lady in the money exchange give me a better rate and most importantly was polite and even smiled. I will only recommend NOT to use Debenhams to others.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th January 2016

This site gave Debenhams as the best rate of exchange for mexican pesos. However this is not a currency that is definitely in stock so it advises to phone first. I spent over two hours trying to get through to Debenhams Croydon, after 6 minutes of holding the line went dead each time. I live in Ashford but was planning on going to Croydon so this would be the most convenient store - the Ashford store does not do foreign exchange. I then tried the on-line help on the Debenhams web site, eventually she managed to get in touch with the Croydon store only to be told that as it is not a currency held in stock I would need to travel to Croydon to go in to the store to order and pay a 10% deposit and then return to Croydon to pick up the currency at a later date. This would be a two and a half hour round trip each time plus parking - and would turn out to be the most expensive way to buy £50 worth of pesos imaginable!!! It seems incredible that it is not possible to order and pay in advance by phone or on-line.

  • I ordered £50 worth of Mexican Pesos
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd December 2015

Took my driving licence,, when I arrived they asked for two pieces of ID,, although on there web site and on there desk it still said,, they would not give me my currency with just one ID,, I'd driven 30 miles,, for this reason I would ever use them again,, the cashier was also arrogant in Taunton Somerset.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of US Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd December 2015

Checked the rate online and went in to buy Australian Dollars. the rate in shop was different but the girl gave me the rate as i had printed out the voucher. Great Service, very friendly staff. Would use Debenhams again.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th December 2015

Debenhams did not honour the rate that was displayed on the site even after I provided them with a printed copy of the voucher. They gave the excuse that rates change throughout the day, which I think we are all aware of and I think that is the purpose of the voucher - so that you know what you are paying for!!! Did not expect this from Debenhams.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th November 2015

Brilliant. Got 500 Euros at the best exchange rate of the day with absolutely no hassle and they gave me a £5 off voucher (£20 min spend), to be used on same day, but no probs with that - it was black friday week, so bagged a bargain as well. No-one else could offer such a deal. Thank you Debs and compare holiday money. Will def use this site again

  • I ordered £360 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd November 2015

Looked on line saw the rate Called the store, they advised to screen shot and bring in Honoured the rate and asked what notes I wanted . What more could I ask for??

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th October 2015

Ordered online for the first time, really easy to do. Printed off voucher and took to Debenhams in Salisbury. Young guy behind the counter was very polite and helpful. This was a great service no problems small notes given to us as requested. Would definitely recommend for the best rate around and quality of service. Well done.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2015

Having wondered around the the High Street shops checking the low exchange rates I stubble on to this site thought a Google Web search.....so glad I had. I compared the best rate for £441. Where were a few bad reviews but I thought I'd try Debenhams....so glad I had as I saved money just buy showing the exchange rate on my phone screen in my local Bromley branch. No problems with them agreeing with exchange rate and we'll stocked with euros.

  • I ordered £441 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2015

Made a great saving using this site. So easy to use. No problem collecting my euros from the Bromley, Kent branch.

  • I ordered £441 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th October 2015

I looked online first and noticed Debenhams were the best rate around. Went into store and saw it was a different rate. I asked why this was, and the lady said the online rates are different than in store. because I mentioned the site I had seen it she gave me that rate. if I hadn't I would have gotten the slightly lower rate, I didn't mind either way. I was going to pay on credit card but the lady told me that there would be charge because of being a cash withdrawal, so I would have to pay my banks cash withdrawal rate. So I switched to a debit card. No charges even for the large amount! Amazing! Reading these reviews I think we expect too much from them! not everyone will have everything in, and if they are busy they will have sold through what they have!

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Debenhams offer a competitive travel money service with zero commission and preferential rates for cardholders. COLLECTION ONLY: Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Central Bank Interest Rate Speculation Weakens EUR, USD, AUD, NZD

Central Bank Interest Rate Speculation Weakens EUR, USD, AUD, NZD

Posted by Rewan on 28th April 2016

Pound Sterling Recovering on Dwindling ‘Brexit’ Odds The last seven days have seen Pound Sterling making a strong recovery, mostly thanks to increasing odds of a referendum victory for the ‘Remain’ camp read more

Where is the best place to change Pounds to Dollars?

Where is the best place to change Pounds to Dollars?

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 26th April 2016

This is one of the most common questions we get asked, “Where is the best place to change Pounds to Dollars?” Broadly there this is really two questions. Should I change my travel money here in the read more