Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 171 reviews Write Review

17th July 2016

I feel like this needs explaining to a lot of the negative reviewers on here. You are not techincally ordering currency in advance to 'secure a sale' - how can you be doing a sale if YOU are not even paying for it at the time. There are very few (if any) places who will get an order ready without payment! The printed voucher is merely something to show the staff member that you have looked online first and seen that they offer the best rate. Sometimes, the rate cannot be honoured as the markets DO change throughout the day!! This is not something the staff members you speak to control. It is not down to them, it is down to the state of trading and how well the GBP Sterling is doing on that day. And the fact that the rate dropped isn't even the fault of Debenhams, it is the fault of the financial state of the UK (and dare I say - the fault of those who voted Brexit without considering how far the pound would drop). On the online voucher, at the bottom it does say that the rate MAY change due to Marketing reasons. It is not something they are able to control, every single company who deals with money will have the EXACT SAME RISK. It is nothing to do with anyone personally, that is just how the finance business works. Anyone who doesn't understand this, clearly has no experience or knowledge of the finance world. I have gone in when my nearest bureau is shut, and while it is offputting, it is also understandable. And asking 'other members of staff to just hop in' as one person put is absolutely unforgivable! To work with money requires a CRO/DBS/CRB check, as well as training to ensure that you are not losing money or putting yourself and/or the customer at any risk!! It is a lot of money and responsibility, something a lot of people will not want to deal with. If they are understaffed, that is certainly a problem they will be working on. Why would they purposely lose out on money just to irritate customers? And the staff, who probably happen to be working before you

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

15th July 2016

Do not try to buy currency with a Santander 123 debit card as all you can get is £300. Other than that reasonably quick and efficient service. Very convenient if you live near a Debenhams store.

  • I ordered £3500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th July 2016

The Debenhams rate is always the best on the high street especially with the online voucher and the free £5 voucher. I was very impressed with the service. The staff member was friendly and helpful and counted the money professionally and accurately. As it is the summer season there was a small queue but the young lady was efficient and polite and ensured people were served as quickly as possible. I am a regular customer of Debenhams and I always ring beforehand to ensure that the currency is available and to check on whether there are any times when the bureau is shut during the day. I would recommend this to people complaining about bureau closures.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th July 2016

Ordered on line and went to collect an hour later, was told rate had dropped, what's the point of securing a sale if they are not going to honour it. Won't use them again.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th June 2016

As a card holder I received a slightly better exchange rate. Planned visit at right time so no waiting.spent voucher in store afterwards .Excellent service no complaints .

  • I ordered £1200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th June 2016

Printed the online voucher which was not worth the paper it was printed on . The rate was not honoured and I lost a lot of money by putting my faith in Debenhams . The £5 voucher is only valid against a purchase of £20 so yet another way to make you spend in store . I will never use the service again and would not recommend .

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th June 2016

Yesterday I bought US dollers and printed on line quote, plus used my Debenhams card to get a slightly higher (very slight). The rate had gone up since I printed and they gave me the bester deal well done. Only available in store but that wasnt a problem , cash was there or I could have orderd for a different collection day.Great service will use again.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd June 2016

I have just purchased some Euros from Debenhams in Leeds. Never again. The queue was just silly with only one lady serving. Although she remained quite calm and I can appreciate she can only serve one person at a time, and had a long queue of not very happy customers, why oh why do they only have the one serving booth in such a large store when they so obviously have the space to create more tills? At one stage she had another assistant at the side of her, assisting in counting out the £, and she then disappeared. I overhead one man in the queue saying how he had been in earlier and the queue was twice as long! For the difference in rates I would prefer to go to my local travel agent next time.

  • I ordered Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd June 2016

I went to Debenhams Belfast to purchase some US Dollars on Monday 21/6/2016 after waiting some time in the queue the girl opened the door and said sorry no more Dollars. I was very angry after traveling in to Debenhams from home petrol, Parking fees,Etc. I went in today again only to be told the same thing. This is very bad planning by the person in charge of ordering travel currency. VERY POOR SERVICE FROM DEBENHAMS

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

21st June 2016

Printed online rate, took this into store and they honoured the rate printed

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th June 2016

Very straight forward. Printed out the on line voucher, took it to my local Debenhams, and received higher on line rate. I didn't have time to spend free £5.00 gift voucher on the said day, but also got a free tea or coffee voucher. In all hassle free and worth doing.

  • I ordered £645 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th June 2016

Wasn't sure this would work, the rate was lower behind the counter. But sure enough if you show the website they honour the improved rate and voucher.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th June 2016

Had to wait as very busy. Showed rate on phone as it was 1.22 in store. No problem and had the 1.25 rate as on my phone. Assistant was very pleasant and not flustered despite having a long wait and some disappointed customers. Offered range of notes and was very helpful. I was very impressed that she took time with the customer in front who was changing his sons pocket money in pound coins! Will def use again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th June 2016

Went to our nearest Debenhams money bureau in Bury - presented my printed exchange rate voucher which was honoured at that rate also got £5 voucher to spend in store which we did. Very good service just a pity our local Debenhams store does not have a travel bureau and we have to go all the way to Bury

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th June 2016

I went specifically into Debenhams Trafford Centre to purchase some currency, arrived at 3.40pm and there was a sign saying that the travel bureau was closed until 4.30pm. I asked someone on the till if anyone could step in and was just told there was only one person operating the travel bureau today and legally they had to take a lunch break so basically there was nothing they could do. Firstly, I have no concern whatsoever on the legal requirements of Debenhams staff having to take lunch breaks, this is up to Debenhams to ensure there is sufficient cover when someone takes a break. Secondly, do not falsley advertise that the bureau is open all day, just advertise it as being shut for an hour at lunch so people don't waste their time coming at a time when no one will be there. This is the second time in a year I have come to this store to exchange money and the bureau has been closed. Would not recommend at all.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th June 2016

Used Debenhams Dundee. Excellent service. I took print out to the Dundee store and was given the exact rate stated on the print out. No problems - £2000.38p. I was also given a £5 voucher to spend in–store which has been given to a friend. I would fully recommend Debebhams to anyone hesitation. I already have done so as I recommended Debenhams to family members.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd June 2016

Went to Debenhams Chelmsford showed the rate for the day on my mobile,but they did not have any euros but took my name and address and promised me the rate I asked for the following day. Also if the rate increased they would give me the higher rate,and if it decreased would honour my original rate. Brilliant ,

  • I ordered £1600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st June 2016

Went into my local Debenhams today and they honored the great rate, also received a £5.00 off voucher to spend in store. Very helpful and great service.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

31st May 2016

Ordered on line went to store got rate as promised good rate really pleased will use again Thank you Luton store

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Reply from Debenhams on 08/06/16

Thank you Tricia! Hope to see you again soon. Happy holidays :)

>From Amanda Kayleigh and Charmain (Luton travel money team)

31st May 2016

I printed my voucher out at 10.30 went into store at 3.30 only to be told that they would not honour the rate on the voucher. Would not use debenhams sutton again. Was very rude and not helpful at all.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

31st May 2016

Not the best service; Exchange Bureau was closed during lunchtime. Went back after work - not offered the rate agreed as per online voucher (that day) nor did I receive the £5.00 Debenhams voucher. Transaction took ages as computer was 'slow', had to provide loads of personal info and ID even though I ordered just £150 worth of currency, paying with cash. Didn't have sufficient currency either (got £97 worth).

  • I ordered £150 worth of Swedish Krona
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

31st May 2016

I went to the Carlisle branch and was served by Nicola who couldn't have been more helpful. My voucher rate was accepted and I was given the £5 gift voucher plus two vouchers for a cup of coffee to use in their restaurant. Best rate in town and excellent service. Thank you Nicola and Debenhams

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th May 2016

Just been to bury St edmunds branch, refused printed rate, offering in store lower rate instead. No thanks.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th May 2016

I purchased £1000 euro served by Jan. As I was a store card holder I got a better rate. Very happy with the service

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th May 2016

Guy at inverness branch was very friendly, asked what notes i would prefer, asked no 50s as harder to get changed while abroad. Showed him my printed voucher, actually got a slightly higher rate of 1.287 instead of 1.2866 which i had printed out. Very easy, no problems encounter except the guy was on his lunch break at 1.30 pm

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store with purchase plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. COLLECTION ONLY: Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Post Brexit Pound Exchange Rates vs Top Ten Most Traded Currencies

Post Brexit Pound Exchange Rates vs Top Ten Most Traded Currencies

Posted by Adam Silveston on 20th July 2016

Since the Brexit vote on the 23rd June 2016 we have seen the Pound Exchange Rates fall against all of the top ten Most Traded Currencies from around the world which includes the Euro, US Dollar, Japanese Yen, A read more

Best Icelandic Krona Exchange Rates

Best Icelandic Krona Exchange Rates

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 14th July 2016

Tomorrow I am flying out to Iceland for two weeks. Unusually I have not bought my Icelandic Krona yet. There are very occaisionally situations where buying your travel money in advance is not the best course of read more