Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 276 reviews Write Review

Debbie Webb

Today

Waste of time what is advertised was not what was offered in store.

  • I ordered £4000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Andrew

7th November 2017

Used the Home Delivery Service to order some Mexican Peso for my holiday, great rate and arrived the next day! Will definitely order again.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Mexican Pesos
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Robert

29th October 2017

We have returned many times to buy our Euros from the Sutton Department Store, the service received has been consistently good, the rates received have been competitive compared to other local outlets. The staff have always ensured that we were provided with a good mix of currency denominations.

  • I ordered £320 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Naseem Hussain

29th October 2017

It was so easy to use, the best currency rate. picked up my monies and a voucher towards a new suitcase.. great

  • I ordered £290 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

John Jeff

26th October 2017

This the 2nd time we’ve use Debenhams home delivery and because they were top of the Compare holiday money league and we have a debenhams club card we got an even better rate, the currency was delivered on the day requested and all done from home.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

John

25th October 2017

Received an amazing experience from Debenhams in Stevenage, will definitely go back to buy my currency there.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

George Petch

17th October 2017

I visited Debenhams travel money bureau for advice and information yesterday and was lmpressed by the service received. So I returned today to make a purchase. I was greeted cheerily by Lorna who then proceeded to give me the final and best deal available with the minimum fuss. I completed my transaction speedily and efficiently Many thanks to Lorna.

  • I ordered £450 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

charlie

12th October 2017

After reading some of your reviews , I had to write the following . I went into Debenhams Southend to purchase some currency . The lady explained that she didn't have what I required in stock . But that she could order me some by 3 days . Which was lucky for me as I had a week to go . She explained about their ordering days and how their tills were not big enough to hold every form of currency , and that if they did, this would cost the store £100's in loss as the rates differ each day . I'm sure if the people who were disappointed thought of this they would not have written such horrible reviews. I could not fault the lady who served me . I feel she gave excellent service and is a credit to her store . We chatted about my holiday and where I was going , and although she has never been there. She was very knowledgeable about the country as she had listened to her customers that had, and passed on their comments to me. She did say she had worked for Debenhams for the last 5 years and that she loves talking to people about their experiences.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Czech Koruna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Garry

5th October 2017

132......that's a laugh. Was quoted 128 even with a debenhams card.....

    Michaela

    1st October 2017

    Fantastic. Ordered online for delivery. Got great rate. Delivered next day signed for. No problem would definitely order again.

    • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    gordon

    29th September 2017

    went today to get euros had my Debenhams card with me but because I never had photo id they said I couldn't get them went to shop next door got them no problem .don't think I will be using debenhams card again

    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    John

    29th September 2017

    I went to my local Chester store to see if the buy back rate online was the same as it would be in store - and in answer to the question I am not sure. However, I was told that the 1040 SEK or so I had would receive a better rate if I had a Debenhams card. I did state initially that I was hesitant to take out a card as it would encourage me to spend and the woman said that I would have to 'control myself'. I thought this was initially a bit of a rude comment to make but I did not say anything. Anyway, afterwards two ladies helped me complete an application but I was subsequently declined. However, although I did not say anything, I was not very happy about my details being verbally stated to the other woman as others could have heard this. Also, given I was not at my address for a while, the woman used the address I had recently stayed in the longest but I am unsure whether this had any impact on the system declining my application for credit. Regardless, I went back to the kiosk with a lady and on asking her how much better off I would have been with a Debenhams card, she said it would have been some £16 more. I therefore declined to take up the offer. Overall, if you are a card holder the rate does seem excellent indeed but if you are not - there are much better places to go. Overall, I was rather disappointed with the customer service experience although I am sure there was no deliberate intent to make the experience a rather negative one this would not be my first choice in any future foreign currency exchange/buy back.

    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    richard proctor

    26th September 2017

    used a travel money card which was good....but part of the attraction is getting 20% value added if you transfer onto a Debenhams gift card. 20% isn't far off the cost of buying then 'redeeming' the euro's in the first place! - the moral being check both buying and selling rates - particularly when the in-store buying rate is 1.27 euros as against the 1.21 figure quoted online (is that this website's fault or Debenhams? - but it seems to be a repeat occurrence) No such thing as a free (or cheaper) lunch!

    • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    Steve Mellor

    26th September 2017

    Had checked the online rate before visiting the store where I was quoted a lesser rate. Told the cashier what the online rate was and asked if I could have that but was told I needed to provide proof. Explained to her that it was I who had quoted the rate to her but she would not allow it as I did not have written evidence. Went elsewhere.

    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    Medwyn Ellinson

    21st September 2017

    Not given the rate advertised online. Did not have smaller notes either.

    • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    John Tester

    20th September 2017

    Went to Debenhams, Guildford, given a quote for Euros,different to online quote The Lady did check and gave me a new quote

    • I ordered £302 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    Colin

    18th September 2017

    Advertised rate was good so tried to order. First problem was you can't order online or by phone, you have to visit. OK, there's a convenient branch so I did that, and was told when I could collect my order. Then, on the day before, I got a call to say they'd made a mistake and they didn't have my money. Tried to phone around for an alternative supplier to discover that everyone needed 3 days notice and I was too late. Gloom and depression. Then Debenhams phoned back to say they'd found some money after all. Apparently another customer had ordered for later delivery than me, they'd give me that and reorder for him. Hooray. Fast forward a week, we're back from our trip and I'm in my local branch of Eurochange selling back some unused Korunas. Just done that transaction when another customer arrived in a hurry desperately wanting to buy some Korunas (shame I'd already sold mine). Turned out his story was exactly the same as mine, he'd ordered from Debenhams and they'd failed to provide at the last minute leaving him in the lurch. Once could have been a genuine mistake, twice starts to look like incompetence. I won't use Debenhams again.

    • I ordered £150 worth of Czech Koruna
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    Judi Gibbs

    11th September 2017

    Got better rate than anyone else on high street plus £5 voucher. No problem with ordering just walked in.

    • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    Eddie B

    7th September 2017

    Very pleased with ordering and collecting. Good rates for card holders, and £5 voucher to spend. Would recommend.

    • I ordered £1940 worth of Croatian Kuna
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    Jay waygood

    3rd September 2017

    Rate online was better than In-store even though it says collection from store only. But they honoured it so as far as I'm concerned brilliant service. Would use for travel money again. Jay

    • I ordered £3000 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    Claire

    29th August 2017

    Went down to branch to buy Euros at the rate advertised online but was disappointed. Went the same day so those here saying that the rate will differ from day to day are wrong in this instant. The rate was NOT as advertised. Not even for their card holders who get the best rate. Went to a nearby exchange bureau on the high street and got a much better rate.

    • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros

    burns

    25th August 2017

    Really tricky to try and find number for local Debenhams to find out whether they have currency in stock as website appeared to send me around in circles (no phone number for Taunton). Best rate shown but couldn't actually find out whether they had the money. Tried phoning a central number and was on hold for 10 minutes which probably cost us the same as the difference. Gave up! Had used Debenhams in the past but would no longer recommend.

    • I ordered £[X] worth of [Y]
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    Brian Milligan

    17th August 2017

    Terrible. I got there, only to find out they didn't have the currency I wanted. And couldn't get it for 5 days!!

    • I ordered £200 worth of Chilean Pesos
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    Ian Haskell

    5th August 2017

    Not the same rate as advertised

    • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    Jamie wong

    20th July 2017

    Excellent service,got same rate as online.Didn't have a Debenhams card to get the online rate but gave me it anyway.Money came the day they said it would.

    • I ordered £2000 worth of Hong Kong Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Debenhams to others

    Write a review of Debenhams

    Your name

    Your rating

    Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
    1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

    Your review

    Optional questions

    • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
    • How much travel money did you purchase?
      worth of
    • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
    • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
    • How much currency did you sell?
    • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
    • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
    • What currency did you transfer?
      to
    • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
    • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
    • What type of prepaid card did you order?
    • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
    • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
    • What kind of policy did you purchase?
      policy for
    • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
    • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

    FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. Collect your currency from 99 stores nationwide, or have it delivered to your door.

    Visit Website

    Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

    Find out more

    Why sign up?

    • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
    • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
    • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
    Best slang terms for money

    Best slang terms for money

    Posted by Graham Morley on 23rd November 2017

    Do you know your saucepan from your monkey: What about a sawbuck or a pony or any old moolah? At Compare Holiday Money we see lots of currencies with strange sounding names Taka, Reals, Levi, Colons and Ringgit read more

    Holiday Deals November 2017

    Holiday Deals November 2017

    Posted by Graham Morley on 14th November 2017

    Have you ever visited a Christmas market in Europe? It’s a fantastic experience; a chance to sample a different culture, different sights, wondeful smells from a variety of food sellers and not to mention the read more