Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 51 reviews Write Review

15th June 2015

Printed Info from website Saturday Morning for £500 of Turkish Lira. Went to local store at Merry Hill and changed currency using my Debit Card. No problems at all (Don't forget your ID though). Even got a £5 voucher to use if you spend over £20 to be used the same day so used it for O'neil Swim Shorts for my holiday. Excellent Service.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

12th June 2015

Limited opening hours and refused to give the rate on the printed voucher. What's the point in having the vouchers then?

  • Ordered £60 worth of Canadian Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

31st May 2015

No bother from this very helpful lady at the Plymouth Store, Australian dollars with the minimum of fuss, and of course the coffee vouchers were a pleasant ending to this transaction. I have used this branch several times and always receive very clear and concise information. I have found Debenhams to provide travel money for my needs at very competitive rates compared to other High Street providers.

  • Ordered £1000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

22nd May 2015

it was after the stores closed and it told me to print the voucher and take it to the store. the next morning I took it and they said the voucher expired at midnight so was worthless and the exchange rate had reduced. The site new I could not use it but gave me the impression I was able to get that rate - very misleading- poor service. I went elsewhere and wouldn't use them again

  • Ordered £1500 worth of US Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

22nd May 2015

Excellent service, no problems, great exchange rate & £5 off voucher to spend in store.

  • Ordered £460 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

21st May 2015

Good exchange rate, very helpful staff. Free coffee! Well done Plymouth store.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

20th May 2015

Printed off voucher through compare holiday money. Com. Debenhams web site showed lower xchange rate for some reason! No problems collecting money. I advise you ring store to check what ID is required and that they have your currency also that any voucher you print off is valid. Good service Guildford store!

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

18th May 2015

Printed off the voucher to guarantee the best rate, however, when I got into the store they said the voucher is not valid. Very disappointed.

  • Ordered £450 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes

5th May 2015

Printed off a voucher unable to get the rate advertised

  • Ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes

28th April 2015

First time buyer, best rate I could find. As well as a good service I also got a free coffee!

  • Ordered £210 worth of US Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th April 2015

Rang Carlisle store this morning to ask about The turkish lira rate, I was told if we were card holders we would receive the higher rate if I printed off the voucher. We took it to the store payed the money received the Turkish lira no problem the staff were very helpful,

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th April 2015

After processing the amounts their card machine didn't accept my credit card. They said they have been having problems with it all week. I waited 20 minutes for them to resolve the issue but they couldn't. They said I would need to pay by cash in order to process the amount. I left without any euro's.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

24th April 2015

2nd time we have used the BOURNEMOUTH branch for our €uro foreign currency and have found the service extremely efficient. A very good rate - the best on-line on comparison site.

  • Ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

19th April 2015

This is a new service offered at my local branch in Stratford upon Avon. Very friendly staff and excellent service. I noted the rate on offer on a board outside the store which was lower than the rate on line but on handing over my printed online voucher I was given the better rate. Really pleased and will recommend to my friends.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

15th April 2015

Great help at the Liverpool store when I went to get my euros, will go there again.

  • Ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

13th April 2015

Their website offers a printable voucher with the deal on it, lo and behold you get to the store and the rate is much lower. When I got back the rate online was still the same so I suspect that the deal isn't genuine.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

12th April 2015

EXCELLENT SERVICE AT EXETER BRANCH.TOOK VOUCHER TO STORE,WHICH I HAD PRINTED OFF THAT MORNING.WE NOT ONLY RECEIVED THE RATE OFFERED FOR DOLLAR ON LINE,BUT ALSO A LITTLE EXTRA, ON PRODUCTION OF THE DEBENHAMS CARD.VOUCHER ALSO INCLUDED £5.00 DISCOUNT ON SHOPPING, TO DEBENHAM CARD HOLDERS.THIS WE USED, TO BUY SOME CLOTHES FOR THE FORTHCOMING HOLIDAY.HAD NO PROBLEMS AT ALL.WOULD CERTAINLY USE DEBENHAMS/COMPARE HOLIDAY MONEY.COM AGAIN.

  • Ordered £700 worth of US Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

2nd April 2015

Visited the Meadowhall branch after printing the voucher. The web price was honoured.. Young man very helpful. Also received a £5 money off voucher to spend in store. Was the best rate in Meadowhall. Would recommend ..

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

1st April 2015

Debenhams, Bromley. Very helpful Cashier, always back from lunch when stated and good rates. will go back.

  • Ordered £1050 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

29th March 2015

very good service and rate in Portsmouth store

  • Ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

26th March 2015

Very good service in Southampton very helpful and a decent rate

  • Ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

17th March 2015

Looked up rate, printed voucher made journey to Chelmsford store. Travel money unmanned and notice saying no euros until Tuesday (which Tuesday). Helpful member of staff tried to find cashier and when money due but to no avail. Obviously why they have good headline rate as money unavailable.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

16th March 2015

Went to the Swindon Branch at 2.45 and it was closed for lunch. Not sign to say what time they would be back and no fixed lunch break times A member of staff told me that they had run out of euros. This is second time this has happened that it has been closed

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

13th March 2015

Bought from Debenhams in Hull. Got a great rate, cashier was very friendly and helpful. Was given a £5 voucher to use in store for quoting the online rate. Also was given a free coffee or tea voucher to use in store. You do have to show some id in the form of passport or driving licence. I will definitely use this service in the future.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

11th March 2015

Bought Euros from a lovely helpful lad in Newcastle store. Always get them there but found the website, showed him my phone, no need to print voucher and got the higher rate. Thanks

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

You can answer some, all, or none of these optional questions and we'll show them under your review to give a quick snapshot of your experience:

I ordered £ worth of

  • This was my first time using this supplier Yes No
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date Yes No
  • I received a good mix of notes Yes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to others Yes No

Debenhams offer a competitive travel money service with zero commission and preferential rates for cardholders. COLLECTION ONLY: Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
The importance of Travel Insurance Greekified

The importance of Travel Insurance Greekified

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 2nd July 2015

George Osborne this week advised people to only take cash to Greece and to take enough to cover all your expenses for your holiday. Whilst this is probably correct it immediately caused panic in the travel insu read more

The Cashless Holiday – the case against.

The Cashless Holiday – the case against.

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 30th June 2015

I recently had the pleasure of chatting to Damian George, Director at Travel FX who are one of the most competitive currency exchange businesses in the UK and have been part of the FT 100 Fast track. I asked hi read more