Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.7 / 5

Based on 209 reviews Write Review

7th January 2017

always have to wait in the Debenhams in Guildford, not always manned - shame because rate are pretty competitive and on other occasions other more exotic currencies are never in stock on a daily basis

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th January 2017

With some trepidation I took my voucher to the Plymouth store on 06/01/2017 and asked the gentlemen at the desk if he would honour the rate given that morning albeit I knew that he could say that the rate had changed as per the T&C on the website. I also showed him my Debenhams Credit Card and he gave the rate quoted on a £500 exchange. This gave me quite a saving on what was being offered in Plymouth today. Had I been dissatisfied with the rate I could have walked away as no money had been taken 'up front'. I will certainly use this system again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th January 2017

Looked online to see exchange rate and took the printout with me. Cashier told me the amount for my exchange which was less than on the printout.I questioned this and was told that was the rate from 8.30 that morning although I looked it up later than that time.Why can you have the rate which is shown on the printout in some Debenhams Stores and not others.All customers should be treated equally. As I hold a Debenhams Card I did have the £5 voucher which was of less value due to the fact I didn't receive the exchange rate I showed the cashier. Very unfair.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th January 2017

I have often bought my euros from Debenhams and will carry on doing so. I have never had any problems and there is always a good service

  • I ordered £various worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

18th December 2016

Never honour the rate stated, when you arrive In store. This has happened many times. Staff most rude and unprofessional. Only place that wants a passport to collect currency! Would not remove personal details of this after purchase. Had junk mail since and scam calls. Did not give voucher to both parties. Will never go to Debenhams ever again can get the CORRECT rates elsewhere! AVOID......

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

15th December 2016

Collected from Basildon store, staff very helpful they were closing up but re-opened to serve me. Internet rate was honnered £700 at 1.1724 the best rate around and I was given a £5.00 voucher for the store.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th December 2016

Got the rate for that morning,which it says in red print. Still the best rate around. Only grumble is ,they asked if I'd take $500 in $5's but they soon ordered at the same rate.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th December 2016

Travelled to white rose from Halifax with an internet voucher from that morning with a rate of 17.1 Euro to the pound. The cashier refused to honour this saying it wasn't live. I wanted £2000 changing & my daughter had £500 Total wasted journey

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th November 2016

Lovely staff, very friendly. I went in for a currency and the girl put an order through for me, it arrived in no time and I was guaranteed the best they could do. Will always come for my money here!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Chinese Yuan
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th November 2016

Went into Debenhams today after looking at what everyone else was offering and got 1.10 euros per £1. Better than what I had seen on the internet before I left the house. Thanks Debenhams Clapham Junction you did it again - good exchange rate

  • I ordered ££400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd November 2016

I went to get swiss francs in Woking but nothing in stock

  • I ordered £500 worth of Swiss Francs
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th October 2016

On compareholidaymoney the rate for £500 was 546 euros. When I went to collect they said they would only give 545 because their lowest denomination was 5 euros, they don't have coins ?? Bad show

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2016

I have used the Debenhams exchange a few times now being a store card holder.I just look on line and if its a decent rate just take a picture on my phone of the statement . The cashiers are always polite and give the expected rate. I Always manage to spend my voucher too.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th October 2016

I ordered US Dollars over the phone. Rate was confirmed and held for me to collect next day to suit me. Everything went very smoothly and people I deal with were professional and friendly. Recommended

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th September 2016

Ordered online and picked up couple hours later at the Trafford Centre outstanding rate and service

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th September 2016

Ordered online,quote was honoured when I produced a copy of the rate for which I had expected earlier in the day.Wife was happy as we had a store card,and had a five pound voucher to spend in the Store.There was a minimum buy of 20 pounds,but hat was no problem,and the the voucher was valid on the day only.

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th September 2016

poor rate isnt the same in store and you have to sign up for a store card ! you get better rates elsewhere so unless your desperate dont bother

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th September 2016

Bought €230 euros. The rate to the £ in store was less than it was on the internet that morning but the cashier matched the price as I had saved the quotation on my phone.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th September 2016

We ordered our euro's yesterday morning on line, and went to collect them an hour later at our nearest Debenhams. The cashier was polite and gave us the rate that we ordered. We did not have to queue which was great.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th September 2016

Exceptional service from Leicester Debenhams. Thank you. Used Debenhams own card and received better exchange rate plus £5 voucher to use on the day.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th September 2016

can,t get to c were stores r to collect

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th September 2016

Printed off form for exchange £500 into Euro;s ..Went to our Local Debenhams Hanley Stoke on Trent ...Got what it said on form + £5 voucher Served by a very pleasant young lady ..Very Good ..Thank You ..

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd September 2016

printed off the form on line and 1 hour later picked up my money from the local Debenhams store. Got the rate shown on the form and not the one on the board plus a voucher . Easy.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th August 2016

We ordered £2300 pounds worth of euro's on line. We then went down to our local Debenhams in Wrexham and handed them the printed sheet with the on line exchange rate printed on it . The exchange rate was lower instore but we had the better exchange rate and a £5 pound voucher. excellent service.

  • I ordered £2300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th August 2016

I had been tracking the rate comparison sites and headed into Debenhams in Bromley to buy my Euros on the day of our holiday, whilst their rate was good. On arrival, there was a long queue as the staff behind the kiosk counter were doing a stocktake. It was around 11.30am. After about 15-20 minutes I had made the front of the queue and requested my currency (£600 worth). I was immediately given a slightly lower rate than was advertised online so I questioned why this was and I was advised that I had to tell them that I had seen the Debenhams' rate online in order to be given that rate. Very shadey if you ask me, as there is no mention of this online and you have to always collect in store with Debenhams Foreign Exchange, so surely their online (collection only) rate IS their ONLY rate? Anyway, I bought my Euros and headed away, only to overhear and now to witness online, that I should have been given a £5 voucher to use in store, with any £20 purchase. Perhaps inpreferential treatment as I had questioned the rate? Perhaps. Not kind Debenhams, must try harder.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. COLLECTION ONLY: from 87 stores nationwide. Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Get planning… // Valentine’s Day

Get planning… // Valentine’s Day

Posted by James Clark on 14th January 2017

T minus 1 month until Valentine’s Day… Many will have lodged this to the back of your mind, but Valentine’s day isn’t too far away and if you’re earmarking a romantic getaway for a read more

What would the reunification of Cyprus mean for holidaymakers?

What would the reunification of Cyprus mean for holidaymakers?

Posted by Matthew Weston on 12th January 2017

Over a million Britons venture out to Cyprus for their summer holidays according to gov.uk, with it being easy to see why. The island has tranquil waters, beautiful food and a near-guarantee of sunshine for vis read more