Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.7 / 5

Based on 185 reviews Write Review

25th August 2016

I had been tracking the rate comparison sites and headed into Debenhams in Bromley to buy my Euros on the day of our holiday, whilst their rate was good. On arrival, there was a long queue as the staff behind the kiosk counter were doing a stocktake. It was around 11.30am. After about 15-20 minutes I had made the front of the queue and requested my currency (£600 worth). I was immediately given a slightly lower rate than was advertised online so I questioned why this was and I was advised that I had to tell them that I had seen the Debenhams' rate online in order to be given that rate. Very shadey if you ask me, as there is no mention of this online and you have to always collect in store with Debenhams Foreign Exchange, so surely their online (collection only) rate IS their ONLY rate? Anyway, I bought my Euros and headed away, only to overhear and now to witness online, that I should have been given a £5 voucher to use in store, with any £20 purchase. Perhaps inpreferential treatment as I had questioned the rate? Perhaps. Not kind Debenhams, must try harder.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th August 2016

all good , easy to collect

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th August 2016

Comparison website showed Debenhams to be a very good rate .....2nd in the long list and lots of Debenhams shops to collect from. Printed my voucher off, and travelled to the Luton store in the shopping mall, where there was no queue and got the superb rate quoted on the web for my £400 spend. Added bonus was the £5 voucher off £20 in store spend, valid till end of month, (2 weeks) and received 2 free coffee vouchers ( must be worth about £4 at least). Pay by debit card to avoid 1.5% credit card charges. So great service and great rate. Can't see why you would go anywhere else with so many stores across the country !

  • I ordered £400 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th August 2016

Went to debenhams merryhill. Was served by a very pleasant lady, can't remember name but had short brown hair. Very chatty and polite. Due to me waiting she apologised and gave me a coffee voucher. Had printed off the voucher which was accepted and gave her my I.d. She asked me what note value I wanted and she gave me exactly what I asked for. Although their was a queue it went down quickly. I would definite recommend and use again, even though I had to travel there. I didn't use my free voucher due to work commitments.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th August 2016

Ordered 300.00 online. Was in store 15mins later to buy and got exactly what it said on the print out... am about to use this system again. Didnt get large denomination notes as they were busy and sold out... but doesnt really matter.. its all spendable!

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th August 2016

Called ahead and was told rate was @ 1.14/ cardholders 1.15. Explained that website stating 1.16. Not an issue asked to verify and was given the rate when visited the money booth in Silverburn. Service was OK felt that advisor could have been a bit more pleasanter. Overall would visit again

  • I ordered £1200... worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th August 2016

Excellent rate. Good service and a free coffee!

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

31st July 2016

Barrow travel bureau was excellent went in was served by Sandra and a new girl who was been trained Mandy both customer service was excellent a real interest in my custom

  • I ordered £10000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

30th July 2016

Due to the Brexit uncertainty the queue was silly the rate advertised online was not honoured which it had the right to do. The rate at the bureau was advertised on the board and this was not even the rate you got. I pointed out that this was misrepresentation and they should cover the board if it was not correct. There was one person on the till who was being trained! the acting store manager was stood at the side of her so slow Sheffield Meadowhall longest time ever to get currency usually not as bad.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th July 2016

Ordered this morning. Went to Chelmsford branch. Refused to give me agreed rate even tho I printed voucher. Wanted to give me lower " Updated" rate. Also refused £5 store voucher. Will NEVER use again.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th July 2016

I ordered this morning and was served in the Leicester branch by a very helpful and friendly lady. Very fast and efficient service. I was given the rate on the print out and the £5 voucher.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th July 2016

Went to change some euros was queuing up for ages, to get to the front of the queue when the woman tells me the card machine was broke. So I went to the cash machine which was a walk rushing to get back before they closed. I queued for a second time for the woman to tell me when I got to the front, the system was down and if I came back another day wouldn't honour the rates. Was not happy went to Thomsons who honored there online rate even though the price was lower in store.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th July 2016

i like everyone else, printed off the online voucher. by the time i went to the store (on the same day this was printed) the rate had dropped slightly. the very polite young lady at the bureau de change honoured the on-line rate. i did also receive a £5 voucher as stated which could be used in store on the day against a £20 spend. i was under NO obligation to spend an additional £20 but my wife kindly obliged. excellent service would use again.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th July 2016

Went to Wimbledon Debenhams to buy some euros theybwere very friendly and very efficient would use again. I was delighted to recieve a £5 off £20 I would however note that you have to use it on the day you purchase your euros.

  • I ordered £120 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th July 2016

I feel like this needs explaining to a lot of the negative reviewers on here. You are not techincally ordering currency in advance to 'secure a sale' - how can you be doing a sale if YOU are not even paying for it at the time. There are very few (if any) places who will get an order ready without payment! The printed voucher is merely something to show the staff member that you have looked online first and seen that they offer the best rate. Sometimes, the rate cannot be honoured as the markets DO change throughout the day!! This is not something the staff members you speak to control. It is not down to them, it is down to the state of trading and how well the GBP Sterling is doing on that day. And the fact that the rate dropped isn't even the fault of Debenhams, it is the fault of the financial state of the UK (and dare I say - the fault of those who voted Brexit without considering how far the pound would drop). On the online voucher, at the bottom it does say that the rate MAY change due to Marketing reasons. It is not something they are able to control, every single company who deals with money will have the EXACT SAME RISK. It is nothing to do with anyone personally, that is just how the finance business works. Anyone who doesn't understand this, clearly has no experience or knowledge of the finance world. I have gone in when my nearest bureau is shut, and while it is offputting, it is also understandable. And asking 'other members of staff to just hop in' as one person put is absolutely unforgivable! To work with money requires a CRO/DBS/CRB check, as well as training to ensure that you are not losing money or putting yourself and/or the customer at any risk!! It is a lot of money and responsibility, something a lot of people will not want to deal with. If they are understaffed, that is certainly a problem they will be working on. Why would they purposely lose out on money just to irritate customers? And the staff, who probably happen to be working before you

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

15th July 2016

Do not try to buy currency with a Santander 123 debit card as all you can get is £300. Other than that reasonably quick and efficient service. Very convenient if you live near a Debenhams store.

  • I ordered £3500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th July 2016

The Debenhams rate is always the best on the high street especially with the online voucher and the free £5 voucher. I was very impressed with the service. The staff member was friendly and helpful and counted the money professionally and accurately. As it is the summer season there was a small queue but the young lady was efficient and polite and ensured people were served as quickly as possible. I am a regular customer of Debenhams and I always ring beforehand to ensure that the currency is available and to check on whether there are any times when the bureau is shut during the day. I would recommend this to people complaining about bureau closures.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th July 2016

Ordered on line and went to collect an hour later, was told rate had dropped, what's the point of securing a sale if they are not going to honour it. Won't use them again.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th June 2016

As a card holder I received a slightly better exchange rate. Planned visit at right time so no waiting.spent voucher in store afterwards .Excellent service no complaints .

  • I ordered £1200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th June 2016

Printed the online voucher which was not worth the paper it was printed on . The rate was not honoured and I lost a lot of money by putting my faith in Debenhams . The £5 voucher is only valid against a purchase of £20 so yet another way to make you spend in store . I will never use the service again and would not recommend .

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th June 2016

Yesterday I bought US dollers and printed on line quote, plus used my Debenhams card to get a slightly higher (very slight). The rate had gone up since I printed and they gave me the bester deal well done. Only available in store but that wasnt a problem , cash was there or I could have orderd for a different collection day.Great service will use again.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd June 2016

I have just purchased some Euros from Debenhams in Leeds. Never again. The queue was just silly with only one lady serving. Although she remained quite calm and I can appreciate she can only serve one person at a time, and had a long queue of not very happy customers, why oh why do they only have the one serving booth in such a large store when they so obviously have the space to create more tills? At one stage she had another assistant at the side of her, assisting in counting out the £, and she then disappeared. I overhead one man in the queue saying how he had been in earlier and the queue was twice as long! For the difference in rates I would prefer to go to my local travel agent next time.

  • I ordered Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd June 2016

I went to Debenhams Belfast to purchase some US Dollars on Monday 21/6/2016 after waiting some time in the queue the girl opened the door and said sorry no more Dollars. I was very angry after traveling in to Debenhams from home petrol, Parking fees,Etc. I went in today again only to be told the same thing. This is very bad planning by the person in charge of ordering travel currency. VERY POOR SERVICE FROM DEBENHAMS

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

21st June 2016

Printed online rate, took this into store and they honoured the rate printed

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th June 2016

Very straight forward. Printed out the on line voucher, took it to my local Debenhams, and received higher on line rate. I didn't have time to spend free £5.00 gift voucher on the said day, but also got a free tea or coffee voucher. In all hassle free and worth doing.

  • I ordered £645 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store with purchase plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. COLLECTION ONLY: Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
The Pounds week of recovery

The Pounds week of recovery

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 25th August 2016

Finally we have some good news for the Pound and the knock on effect for the Euro and other exchange rates. The cause or causes are probably down to two reports, the first has the National Institute of Economic read more

US Dollar Unsettles Markets as All Eyes Turn to Jackson Hole Symposium

US Dollar Unsettles Markets as All Eyes Turn to Jackson Hole Symposium

Posted by Rewan on 24th August 2016

US Dollar Poor US inflation data unsettled the markets last week, causing the US Dollar to fall. The ‘Greenback’ strengthened during yesterday’s session, however, boosted by comments from the Federal Rese read more