Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Moneycorp reviews

Good 3.2 / 5

Based on 206 reviews Write Review

4th December 2016

Worst thing I've ever done. It's been rejected by all shops I went into and cash points. Now I'm down 100 euro I never received out the cash point. Worst company ever!!

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

19th September 2016

Me and my girlfriend were sold Moroccan Dirham for 8.7 to the pound by Moneycorp at Gatwick, i asked them if it was a good rate and they said it was. When we got out there we realised the average rate was 12.6 meaning we'd been undersold by about a third. I understand that rates in the airport are slightly worse but A THIRD lower than the average is ridiculous. It meant that i ended up loosing £80 and my girlfriend lost £90, this may not sound a lot but were both poor students and it really made a negative impact on our holiday. I would never use them again, i feel robbed and lied to.

  • I ordered £230 worth of Moroccan Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th August 2016

I have used company before and was pleased with all parts of service, picking up cash at airport. This time could not order money until only 4 days to go. Other Companies now have higher rate but Moneycorpn has gone down quite a lot, will not bother with them again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd August 2016

Aboslutely useless. I have tried to change 3000 pounds to US dollars but it cannot verify my identity. I phoned them up and they said it must be a problem with my bank. Called the bank and they said there is no issue with my card, my address is correct and they cannot even see me attempting to use the card on their website. I wish I had read these reviews earlier to save me time. AVOID!!!!!!!

  • I ordered £3000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd August 2016

I chose to use Moneycorp rather than my own bank to transfer pounds from England to my American bank account, thinking I'd get a better exchange rate. In theory I could have saved a hundred dollars or so. In practice Moneycorp took my money several days ago but have so far failed to put it into my American account. They now tell me it may take five days to trace it (if they DO trace it). Feeling very frustrated.

  • I transferred British Pounds to USA
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I received a good exchange rate
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

21st July 2016

Do not use them! Identity, Address(s). I cannot give them anymore, I am retired and now they want proof of pension.

  • I transferred US Dollars to East Caribbean
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I received a good exchange rate
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

19th July 2016

tried to order dollars and got the identity issue - same address 5 years, electoral roll, same bank 20 years etc etc - have complained to virgin too as trying to earn air miles on the transaction and could not - since this is their partner it reflects on them too - the system needs replacing or virgin need to find a new partner for currency

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th July 2016

Good exchange rate, money in a good selection of notes was sent quickly and safely. No problems, would recommend.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th June 2016

Have used Moneycorp for a few years for holiday Euros as they were always one of the most beneficial rates and free delivery for only £500 exchanged. However they have dropped well down the list of exchange rates, even getting hammered by Debenhams and today I notice that the minimum for free delivery is £1000. Sorry Moneycorp but I have gone to Ace-FX.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd June 2016

I ordered Canadian dollars at a very good rate for collection at Gatwick, no problems with the collection and I was happy to put $100 on their Explorer Mastercard. I intended to top up the card in Canada from a UK bank account, unfortunately although registered an accessible initially I couldn't access my account when I tried a second time. I emailed Moneycorp Explorer on three occasions to get access to my account but got the same dumb responses each time. As a result I was unable to top up my card or establish the balance. I would use Moneycorp again for currency but definitely recommend against wasting time with their Explorer card.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

18th June 2016

I was also nervous about Ordering from this company. It seemed people were experiencing mostly payment and problems near the end of the transaction. It's a shame that you didn't get a good service. For me, it was the best rate going , very simple , easy to order and money came a day early. Honestly very good service. My money came in varied denominations. Give it a go I'd say .

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th June 2016

Ordered £3000.00 of euros, on 21/05/16, received email 06/06/16 whilst in France telling us to submit our check which had been posted 21/05/16. Checked with our bank the check had been cashed on the 29/05/16. Received email 07/06/16 requesting payment, Responded to this email. Received email today 09/06/16 to get in touch, called and was told it will take another 9-10 days to transfer the money, total rip off our money has been in there bank sinc 29/05/16. Very inconvenient.

  • I transferred British Pounds to France
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I received a good exchange rate
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

7th June 2016

System says it cant verify me. same address for 6 years, same bank for 20 years, electorol role etc etc etc

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th June 2016

I have tried on 6 occasions now with two different bank cards to make payment and order Lira, Each time it says something went wrong, I know the problem doesn't lie with my cards as I ensured I transferred monies into a different account after the problems with the first one only for it to happen again. I have concerns that all my bank details are in your system for two different accounts and I have nothing at the end of it, I was very sceptical to order from the internet in the first place......

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th June 2016

Tried to use this site a couple of years ago and got the identity verification issue. Completely forgot about so I unwittingly tried to use the again today and got the same issue. Ridiculous.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Moroccan Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th May 2016

Have used them now for 5 or 6 years to buy Euros, usually about 1000 each time twice a year. Always bought online and notes delivered on chosen date without fail ( Post Office GD).. On occasion others have offfered a marginally better rate , but it is the devil you know , we are pleased with their service.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th May 2016

The system couldn't identify me even though I have lived in my house for 14 years, I'm on the Electoral Register, had the same bank account for 20 years and have 5* credit rating . Maybe you have to have slept with someone who works there before you can order currency. Message to Moneycorp - your system is broken. Sort it out.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th May 2016

I would recommend to get into any contract with money corp. Dealers explain one thing and deal is something else. I was told on the phone at the time of maturity the deal I would only pay the difference on what I exchanged. Also on the day of maturity you have no right of negotiating and that is they bite you. I lost over £1000.00. Then again is their loss as I will exchange over 300,000.00 euro in next 12 month. That is what happens when you are into wheeling and dealing rather than relationships.

  • I sold euro Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th May 2016

cannot fault this company do not know why all the bad reports it was as easy as ABC the order was with me the next day and a mixture of notes email to confirm order and a dispatch email with the tracking number was here by 9AM the next day will use again no problem

  • I ordered £750 worth of Romanian Leu
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th May 2016

Can't understand all the bad reviews on here. had no such issue with the verification process and my money came within a couple of days. will use again.

  • I ordered £250 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

10th May 2016

excellent service cant fault them brought us dollars one day and here the next before 1pm they kept in touch by email all the way through the process telling me what was happening dollars came all in different denominations from 100 down to 1 dollar bills great service keep it up will be using again many thanks colin

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th April 2016

ordered euros came next day Saturday no problem.

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

21st April 2016

Was bit nervous about ording a large amount of money on line but service was excellent, the money arrived on the date i asked it to, and my enquirers were answered promptly, wont hesitate to order again.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th April 2016

When buying Euros in the past, all was OK. When buying Peruvian currency, my identity could not be verified (also tried using my wife's details) Could it be that this is an excuse if they do not have the currency?

  • I ordered £750 worth of Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th April 2016

Money corp should not even get 1star. I lost 400 pounds because the dealer i was talking to went home early and i could not get to talk to him till the next day. I was buying euros. I ordered too much. I could have closed on what i did not need. The customer manager just has a lot of sympathetic words they are meaningless. They even haggle to get a better deal. I did this with them because someone else was offering me more per pound. they gave me what they were offering. I should have not dealt with them. they are the worst company I have ever come across. They are not a good company to deal with.

  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I received a good exchange rate
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

Write a review of Moneycorp

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979 and continue to offer some of the best exchange rates in the UK. Clients who open a trading account can benefit from exclusive travel money rates at any airport and London branches, plus other exclusive discounts on holiday essentials.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more

Pound Stable against the Euro

Pound Stable against the Euro

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 30th November 2016

For the past two weeks the Pound has been relatively stable against the Euro at around £1 = €1.147 to $1.157. These are still not good rates but the stories we heard about the Pound being at or below parity. read more