Compare Holiday Money Logo

Moneycorp reviews

Good 3.5 / 5

Based on 166 reviews Write Review

2nd February 2016

Could not verify identity I need to check with the bank if they have taken money from the account - a mate tried on his card same result - don't bother

  • Ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

28th January 2016

Ordered £1000 in Mexican peso mixed denominations. Arrived by courier next day couldn't ask for more efficient service Have used many times

  • Ordered £1000 worth of Mexican Pesos
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

26th January 2016

Customer service non existent! Didn't bother to let me know Royal Mail couldn't deliver today. Robot on end of phone quoting t&c at me. Won't use them again / will stick with travelfx who have never let me down.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

25th January 2016

"Unable to verify" both myself and my wife for no apparent reason - stable address and credit history - especially as I have successfully ordered from this organisation in the past.

  • Ordered £510 worth of Malaysian Ringgits
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

25th January 2016

Although I am 100% credit worthy; have never had any financial problems whatsoever; have had the same bank for twenty years, and have lived at my current address for over thirty, they were "unable to verify my identity". When I rang to try to sort out their error I was told that they didn't know why and that there was no way round it. What a waste of time and what incredibly poor service.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Costa Rica Colons
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

20th January 2016

We are travelling to Belize / Guatemala and have been advised to only take small denomination notes, as larger ones are treated with suspicion and may not be accepted. When ordering US$845, we specifically asked for mainly $20 or smaller notes. What happened? We were send $600 in $50 and $100 bills! Despite, admitting a mistake, the company (also referred to Head Office) refused to do anything about it - though suggested we could re-order! Totally disgusted. Never again!

  • Ordered £600 worth of US Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

16th January 2016

Attempted an order and repeatedly got the "Unfortunately, we are unable to verify your identity and cannot process your currency order." message. Useless website and company.

  • Ordered £260 worth of Brazilian Reals
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

8th January 2016

Never had a problem with them before , but when i ordered £800 worth of us dollars and £400 of icelandic ISK, I expected to get pretty near that amount give or take a few pounds for rounding off purposes but £841 of one and £447 of the other I find ridiculous.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

23rd December 2015

Although it wasn't next day, it arrived on the day agreed when booking/ordering.

  • Ordered £500 worth of Barbados Dollars
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

12th December 2015

Dreadful website, same as others have tried 3 times now - unable to verify. So they've lost yet another customer. Idiots

  • Ordered £250 worth of Philippine Pesos
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

4th December 2015

I should have taken notice of the other reviews as I went through the process only to be told that my payment couldn't be verified

  • Ordered £600 worth of South African Rand
  • First time ordering with this supplier

3rd December 2015

Excellent service. Ordered Monday and currency arrived Tuesday as promised. Thank you.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

2nd December 2015

They gave me £80 instead of £100. Their rates are ridiculously low but what can you do when you need cash. Don't use them.

  • Ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

27th November 2015

Great

23rd November 2015

My son used a Moneycorp ATM at London Southend Airport and got a charge of 15% above regular exchange rates. I called their customer service: their comment was that they have very well indicated the rate at the ATM and that they are paying a high rent for the premisses. I find it criminal to force people to pay these rates while there is no other option when you need cash. Especially when it deceives young people, who are not so experienced with ATM and the possibility of being robbed by the bank.

  • Ordered £370 worth of Euros
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

21st November 2015

Excellent service. Received delivery ahead of scheduled date. Received highest exchange rate available at that time. Would definitely recommend.

  • Ordered £800 worth of Mexican Pesos
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

19th November 2015

Went to pay but on all 5+ attempts on 2 different cards was told unable to verify (like previous reviews) great rates but poor website and staff on the phone unable to help or do a order over the phone. Waste of time

  • Ordered £600 worth of Costa Rica Colons
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

6th November 2015

Dreadful service. Ordered holiday cash from them - they took the money from debit card and then immediately stated that the transfer had failed stating that they might have taken the money. THEY did take the money and after phoning them they said they will refund it but it will take 5 to 6 days to refund. NOT good enough - I need the money for my holiday - I ordered over £2k - this is not an amount I have sitting in my account every day - my question to them was why did they take the money if they knew instantly it had failed. I am not sure what monies I am now going to use for my holiday as I don't have that amount sitting around and I am away in 4 days time.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

6th November 2015

Useless. went through the whole process several times but they wont verify my details. rang them but wouldn't say why this was. same card and address i've used successfully online for year and years.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

3rd November 2015

I tried to buy Brazilian Reals for £350, went through the process...then told that something was wrong with my card details, try again - they suggest. I tried 4 times, checking details again and again with same result, i gave up and tried from other website where they required bank transfer instead card payment, i logged to bank i saw that money for all 4 transaction disappeared.... You should fix your website! or take it off.

  • Ordered £350 worth of Brazilian Reals
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

2nd November 2015

Like the others I have just tried to order and told that my details cannot be verified, now it’s not the bank or the address as I have had both for over 20 years, I would strongly suggest you review your verification as you’ve just lost out on a transaction

  • Ordered £1000 worth of Indonesian Rupiahs
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2015

Tried to order today but was told my identity not verified. Phoned up and was told someone would call me back but so far no call back. Meanwhile I phoned my bank who said they hadn't blocked transaction. Don't think I'll bother with Moneycorp now after reading other feedback.

  • Ordered £800 worth of Argentine Pesos
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2015

Could not verify my identity for unknown reason, the call centre did not offer any solution

  • Ordered £550 worth of South Korean Won
  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

22nd October 2015

Ordered ZAR for collection from airport. Everything as promised. Paid on collection with a bonus of an increased rate from that on the day ordered. Therefore best rate and no problem with payment. Couldn't be better.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

20th October 2015

Ordered currency on Saturday using debit card - order went through. Got an email to confirm this. Got another email on Monday to say order had been rejected - few hours later money went from my account - I have been promised a refund within 3 to 5 days - hopefully will happen but not happy! Their excuse was the card details and name didn't match - if this is the case the money would not have left my account surely! Not happy. Ordered elsewhere now.

  • First time ordering with this supplier
  • Received currency on or before expected date
  • Received a good mix of notes
  • Would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Moneycorp

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

You can answer some, all, or none of these optional questions and we'll show them under your review to give a quick snapshot of your experience:

I ordered £ worth of

  • This was my first time using this supplier Yes No
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date Yes No
  • I received a good mix of notes Yes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to others Yes No

Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979 and continue to offer some of the best exchange rates in the UK. Clients who open a trading account can benefit from exclusive travel money rates at any airport and London branches, plus other exclusive discounts on holiday essentials.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Currencies Harmed as Global Fears Remain Strong

Currencies Harmed as Global Fears Remain Strong

Posted by Rewan on 4th February 2016

‘Brexit’ Concerns Keep Pound Sterling Weak  David Cameron’s attempts to renegotiate Britain’s membership in the EU have been the main driver of Pound Sterling exchange rates over the past seven days. O read more

Blame David Cameron for the poor exchange rate

Blame David Cameron for the poor exchange rate

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 3rd February 2016

One of my colleagues, Adam, this week published his infographic about The Icelandic Krona Currency Exchange Rates Over The Last Year. You will notice that from about the end of November 2015 the value of the Ic read more