Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Avanti reviews

Poor 2.8 / 5

Based on 22 reviews Write Review

Michael

1st November 2017

Horrible!! 15-20 minutes late picking us up at the airport in Budapest. Paid tour was highly modified due to a road race and had to pay $20 more for part of it. After calling them, driver to take us from our hotel to our cruise ship came 2 hours 10 minutes after the pickup time on our voucher. Driver did not show up to take us from our ship to our hotel in Amsterdam. Voucher from Avanti for hop on hop off bus in Amsterdam was not honored. We chose to take a taxi to the airport rather than waiting to see if a driver showed up at our hotel. At that point we were 0 for 4 and didn’t want to chance it. DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS company!!

    Alison Brown

    2nd July 2017

    We had to cancel our holiday as my sister was diagnosed with bowel cancer and needed me to accompany her to chemo and radiotherapy. This company have delayed and asked for further doctor's reports. Please note- you pay the doctor, and it can be £35. After almost a year, they have turned down our small claim for a holiday cottage on the grounds that the doctor couldn't say she wouldn't be fit to travel! As she wasn't going, this is nonsense and she was going for treatment as we started the holiday. A policy not worth the paper it's written on. Beware.

    • I purchased a multi trip policy for just me
    • The policy covered everything I needed
    • Claiming was simple and straightforward
    • I would recommend Avanti to others

    Julie Symons

    29th November 2016

    We have used them on several occasions and have never made a claim. However, during our last cruise we missed a port of call and could have claimed £100 less the excess of £70, so we were only claiming £30. I telephoned for a claim form and then e-mailed for a claim form and I'm still waiting 6 weeks later. I know it's only a small claim but god forbid if anything major had happened. I definitely will NEVER use Avanti again, They're absolutely useless!

    • The insurance policy was good value for money
    • Claiming was simple and straightforward
    • Customer services were friendly and helpful
    • My claim was settled to my satisfaction
    • I would recommend this insurer to others

    Roger

    22nd September 2016

    AVOID at all costs, they are using every excuse in the book not to pay out on our (quite legitimate) claim for an item we lost on holiday. They are giving us the run-around and keep asking for me to re-send our details which they already have. They hope that you will give up in the end. We bought an annual policy with them which in my opinion is not worth the paper it's written on.

    • The insurance policy was good value for money
    • Claiming was simple and straightforward
    • Customer services were friendly and helpful
    • My claim was settled to my satisfaction
    • I would recommend this insurer to others

    Andrew B

    5th November 2015

    We had a year policy with Avanti but when we had our suitcase stolen and tried to claim they brought out every excuse in the book to not pay out. We had a police report, crime number and CCTV but nothing would help. Excuse after excuse as to why Avanti would not pay our claim. They seem to offer a good price for a policy but it is not worth it if they do not pay out. Be careful. I would not recommend.

    Kayle Jay

    30th September 2015

    i had full cover with Avanti, we had some property lost/stolen whilst away and even with a police report they are refusing to pay out.

    Tanisha Cliffe

    25th September 2015

    I would never use this Company again!!!!!! In short this Company cancelled my Father's travel insurance 10 hours before we were due to fly at 6am this morning giving me only 3 hours to make alternative arrangements due to being honest about awaiting results for one of his medical conditions as we had not received them before we went on holiday. I spoke to my solicitor who was shocked at this as he would have thought they would have still insured him for all his medical conditions apart from the awaiting results one. This policy cost my father £342.37 for a single trip which we paid. My 82 year old parents are now in Ibiza with no insurance as no alternative arrangements could be made. This Company has no compassion STAY WELL CLEAR !!!!!!!

    Disgruntled lady

    4th September 2015

    My husband and I had multi trip Travel Insurance with Avanti costing us £111. When I phoned them to inform them that I had a small breast cancer tumour removed and a course of Radiotherapy they said I would have to pay another £294.43. to still be insured. How can they ask for so much especially as there is only 6 months of the policy left. When I questioned this the lady said 'well the cancer may return'. Thanks for making me feel great!!!!

    ALAN HEBDEN

    19th August 2015

    I had a stomach related illness whilst on holiday in America and had to go into hospital for examination. I was only in 45 minutes during which time they gave me a full body scan and then charged 6000 dollars. Avanti, whilst requesting an expalnation from the hospital, paid in full and I was highly dlighted with them

    Family Man

    14th August 2015

    have used Avanti a couple of times. If you don't need to use the insurance great! I had to make a cancellation claim and boy do they make it difficult. Had to fight to get a partial payment. I'm now massivly out of pocket and they are just not interested. you cannot talk to your claims handler either. NEVER USE AVANTI

    Karen Hillier

    4th August 2015

    So impressed with the friendly efficient chap, Matthew, who spoke to me to set up the policy for my 85 year old mother in law's trip to day. What a pity that less than 5 minutes later the customer services lady I rang to advise that there was an error in the policy document which had just been emailed to me was so officious and difficult to deal with. No good claiming you specialise in policies for the elderly when you can't answer a simple question from the relative who is insuring an older person - I sincerely hope we don't have to contact you after the trip to make a claim, it will be a nightmare if I get you at the end of the phone. You need to go on a customer service training course lady, you really let your team down!

    Alan Saddington

    4th August 2015

    I was taken ill in Feb 2015 in Jamaica and had to go to Hospital and was advised by Avanti to pay and claim when I get home. What a dirty trick to play on someone really ill because its now August and all I get is delaying tactics and have not seen a penny of my money and the communication from Avanti is zero. Avoid this company like the [plague

    elizabeth gray

    3rd June 2015

    I took ill before my holiday and had to cancel. My claim was dealt with very promptly. Money was returned within 2 weeks pf returning paperwork.

    Linda Parsons

    31st January 2015

    My husband had a sudden heart attack some weeks before our cruise holiday. Avanti staff were very efficient , pleasant and easy to deal with, and our cancellation process went through very smoothly with the required monies returned quite speedily.

    Andrew

    19th August 2014

    We got a good deal and a good price on our annual insurance cover and everything was good and rosy until we had to make a claim. The Insurance cover is not good. They will quibble, play with words and use any and every trick they can in order to not pay you a penny if you have the misfortune to need a claim. I will not insure with them again. It may be cheap but if they don't pay then it isn't worth the paper it is written on. Good luck in getting any money if you do need to claim.

    Dave

    17th July 2014

    Very disappointed with Avanti's handling of our claim. First of all I was disappointed to discover the excess was per person, so we did not get back any of the £1,000 we lost on our holiday. I am now trying to get back other costs and they are being obtuse and unhelpful. I would avoid this company, and Global Claims Services, in the future.

    David Hancock

    19th June 2013

    The only company (I tried 18 others) who would provide me with World Wide ( including USA, Canada & the Caribbean) Annual Travel Insurance at a reasonable cost with my Heart condition at age 72.

    Christine Young

    6th May 2013

    Have just rang Avanti to get a quote for worldwide travel for next year,Ben was so helpful, helping with pre-existing medical conditions.Other ones i've rang wouldn't give me a quote for next year.The price was good,so now i know i can go ahead a choose my holiday for 2014.Thank you Ben will ring in the new year

    CL

    1st May 2013

    I was having trouble finding travel insurance because a pre-existing medical condition, but Avanti provided a policy with no problems and their customer service on the phone was great.

    sarah

    28th March 2013

    Avanti Travel Insurance is the BEST. My husband has high cholesterol and high blood pressure and he got a really good policyat a really good price with no problems whatsoever

    Mr Rees

    23rd August 2011

    If I hadn’t contacted Avanti Travel Insurance I would not have been able to go on my cruise. I found the other companies in the marketplace difficult to deal with and my pre-existing medical conditions meant that they were unable to insure me. The majority of the people on the cruise ship were aged between 65 and 90 and it was surprising how many had experienced similar difficulties with purchasing insurance. I cannot recommend Avanti Travel Insurance highly enough. I fully intend to take another policy out with them later on in the year.

    Sue Smith

    23rd August 2011

    Avanti Travel Insurance offers a level of customer service that is unrivalled in the marketplace. As an insurance intermediary myself, I feel completely confident recommending that my clients use Avanti for their travel insurance requirements. They are helpful and quick to respond to enquiries and any claims processes my clients have are managed seamlessly. I would not hesitate to recommend them.

    Write a review of Avanti

    Your name

    Your rating

    Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
    1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

    Your review

    Optional questions

    • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
    • How much travel money did you purchase?
      worth of
    • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
    • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Avanti to others?Yes No
    • How much currency did you sell?
    • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
    • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Avanti to others?Yes No
    • What currency did you transfer?
      to
    • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
    • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Avanti to others?Yes No
    • What type of prepaid card did you order?
    • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
    • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Avanti to others?Yes No
    • What kind of policy did you purchase?
      policy for
    • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
    • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Avanti to others?Yes No

    Avanti Travel Insurance specialise in pre-existing medical conditions and over 50s travel insurance. There is no upper age limit on their policies and each of their policies are tailored around each individual's circumstances.

    Visit Website

    Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

    Find out more

    Why sign up?

    • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
    • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
    • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
    Holiday Deals November 2017

    Holiday Deals November 2017

    Posted by Graham Morley on 14th November 2017

    Have you ever visited a Christmas market in Europe? It’s a fantastic experience; a chance to sample a different culture, different sights, wondeful smells from a variety of food sellers and not to mention the read more

    Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

    Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

    Posted by Matthew Weston on 13th November 2017

    It’s been a tough couple of months for the British women’s Bobsleigh and Skeleton team. British Bobsleigh announced it was going to withdraw funding for the team just five months before the Winter read more