Compare Holiday Money Logo

Camden FX reviews

Poor 2.1 / 5

Based on 158 reviews Write Review

In light of the recent issues with Camden FX, we have created a dedicated page which we will continually update with any new information as we receive it: please click here.

Matt

16th January 2019

As with a few others I received a statement to sign and return to the police yesterday - fingers crossed it's looking like some action is going to be taken at long last. Hopefully Wayne and his father were thinking that they'd gotten away with another fraudulent episode, let's just hope they get a knock at the door very early some of these fine mornings. Whether we'll get our money back is another question, but at this stage I'd just like to see someone get jail time, anything else is a bonus!

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Chris

15th January 2019

Also had same letter with a statement for me to sign for the police investigation - Hopefully we will receive our monies back via the court system!

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Peter

15th January 2019

UPDATE & POLICE CONTACT DETAILS After ordering from CamdenFX & being refunded via my bank (Halifax) in aug 2018,I rec'd a statement to sign from DC Simon Ardeman Met Police Fraud & Linked Crime Online (Falcon) Edmonton Police Station 462 Fore St Edmonton London N9 OPW 02083454395 (e mail simon.ardeman@met.police.uk) Obviously as he/they are dealing with this,any queries should be addressed to him/them. Best of luck!

  • I ordered £2210 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Rona

19th December 2018

As with Matt I got an email from Companies House today upholding my objections to the striking off of both Camden FX and Camden Tourist Information Centre until 19th June. The ombudsman is investigating my complaints against my bank Santander and Lloyds Bank the receiving bank. My complaint against Financial Compliance Limited is pending. I will decide on court action when I get the results of the Ombudsman complaints.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

12th December 2018

Following on from Julie's e-mail I sent my information to Companies House, this information showed that I had paid my money into an account for Camden Tourist Information Ltd and I've just had an e-mail saying my request was successful - the request to strike-ff has now been postponed to 11th June 2019. Not sure what that actually means but at least we may have put a hold on what the Watkins next step is.

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time

julie

30th November 2018

Hi another update. I sent all the information I provided to the fraud team to companies house and again received the same email that Chris posted on 21 November so it seems that unless anyone is going down the court route with this there is nothing we can do. They are not interested. Therefore looks like Camden will at some point set up another company and do the same again. I am at a loss as to what any of us can do. It is all too easy for these fraudsters to get away with their crimes.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

22nd November 2018

Unfortunately I think Julie is right that no-one appears to care about our money - maybe that's why these people do what they do, because they know that they'll get away with it, and I'd bet money this is not the first time they've carried out a swindle like this! How much of a poor state must this country be in when someone can steal upwards of £50,000 from a large number of people and the police take no interest - drive through a red light or park on a double yellow line though and that's a completly different matter, and there was me hoping the only satisfaction I'd get would be in seeing these horrible people get soem jail time. Ah well, we can but hope........

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

julie

21st November 2018

Hi I too raised an objection with companies house and received exactly the same response as Chris so I sent them the details I gave to the fraud squad and I am waiting to hear back. Will post an update if I get anything back. I can't see any of us getting our money back. No one seems interested

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Chris

21st November 2018

Hi all I put an objection in to Companies House re. the dissolution of Camden Tourist Information Ltd, who we all paid our monies to. Here is the Companies House response below. Please object and provide evidence to them that you are seeking recompense - Dear Chris CAMDEN TOURIST INFORMATION CENTRE LTD- 10504195 Thank you for your email dated 5th November 2018. We are unable to register your objection without documentary evidence to support your complaint. Please provide evidence such as invoices, court documents, general correspondence or emails between you and the company, to show that you are actively pursuing them for an outstanding debt. All evidence should be recent and dated within the last 6 months and must show the full company name, including the word 'Limited', or equivalent. On receipt of acceptable supporting evidence we will consider whether your objection can be lodged. I have placed a temporary hold of 14 days from today on dissolution action. If no reply is received, dissolution action will resume after this period, which may result in the company being struck off the Register. Please confirm whether you would be agreeable for your identity as the objector to be disclosed.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

julie

6th November 2018

Following on from compare holiday money update I have emailed companies house to appeal the strike off action as the account I sent money to was Camden Tourist Info Centre Ltd as I guess many others did. Will post back if I hear anything. I am also still waiting for a response from the financial ombudsman

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

6th November 2018

Following the latest update regarding the request to strike off Camden Tourist Information Ltd - at least that proves the Watkins are still alive and kicking as the company address is the same as the address for Camden FX, as are the directors the same people as well. Looks like they've been scamming some other poor people as well as all of us caught with their currency fraud, why haven't the police arrested them yet is my only question???

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Simon

22nd October 2018

Gave money to Camden FX Lost Money. Never went on holiday. Wife nearly left me. That is all.

  • I ordered £1250 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

8th October 2018

The last 2 posts from Julie and Denis look to be positive moves, so if there are any further updates then please do keep us updated as I'm not on Facebook either so this is my only way of seeing what other people are doing. And if the police are going to get involved then I don't mind how long it takes as long as it happens. Good idea also about the Banks, and you're right Julie, how have they determined that a few people can get refunds whilst not others - let's hope they get taken to task over their behaviour in all of this as well.

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Denis

7th October 2018

Our money was taken on the 15th June,£1006.62. We reported to fraud squad one week later. Since reported we have had several visits from our local PSNI,Police Service Northern Ireland, because of our age we were considered vulnerable. Beginning of September we were contacted again and asked to visit the local police station to give an official statement. We were told that the police in England had contacted them as they were preparing a case against Camden. The policeman who took our statement wasn’t sure if it was the fraud squad or the Met. Maybe we will get some justice.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

julie

5th October 2018

I don't use Facebook so I will keep posting on here. I have written to the Financial Ombudsman to ask why Santander or indeed Lloyds won't refund my money when, as suggested by compare holiday money, some people have had a refund. I will post back when I get a response

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

5th October 2018

I'm not sure whether anyone has gone down the small claims route - it's not something I've thought about as I was hoping the police would deal with the Watkins family. Unfortunately I think our money has gone, going to court might see you getting awarded the sum of money you've lost but you'll probably then need to locate the Watkins family and use bailiffs etc to stand any chance of recovering that award.

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Chris

3rd October 2018

Thanks Matt - I'm waiting to be accepted onto the Facebook group at the moment but just wondered if anyone has gone down the small claims route yet and what's happened. I don't want to throw good money after bad if it's a waste of time as it would cost me over £100 to submit a small claim, which is a lot of money on top of what I've lost so far.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

3rd October 2018

Chris, based on the number of complaints people have made I would think there are around 50 affected people, with a likely financial value in excess of £50K. The most worrying thing for me is that Action Fraud (or should they be called "Inaction Fraud") have not taken any action yet regarding this widespread "swindle" for want of a better term. Everyone knows Wayne Watkins and his father are responsible for this debacle, so why can't the police do a little bit of detective work and find out where they live and arrest them, seems fairly simple really. Other than that nothing seems to have been done - and Peter seems to be the only person who's had a refund going by what has been posted on here. How and why that is the case no-one knows.

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Chris

2nd October 2018

I lost just over £1500 to this company and have not received any response to any communication. We visited the property address of the business and found it to be a small shabby counter at the back of a souvenir shop - not the sort of place you would imagine compareholidaymoney.com should be including on their comparison website.I would also have thought that compareholidaymoney.com should have picked up that the accounts had been 2 months overdue by the time this problem arose. I think that there is a due diligence issue here. There has been little recent activity on here and I have only just today noticed that there is a Facebook site set up for this problem which I have today applied to join. I would be interested to hear if anyone else, apart from Peter has received a refund, and what is the best advice? Does anyone know how many people have been affected by this and what the total amount currently "lost" is?

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Tony Tonkin

8th September 2018

Lost all money

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Peter

3rd September 2018

Chris-I can only say what has happened to me & the refund I have had from my bank (Halifax) which I am obviously very grateful for.If I am the only one,so be it but I do sympathize & hope everyone else will be refunded in time.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

chris

2nd September 2018

Peter thanks. still you must be the only person who has money given back, no one else on here and my bank Natwest told me early on that the account was empty?

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

31st August 2018

Like Peter I too bank with the Halifax, unfortunately I was told that I wouldn't be receiving any refund on the £1400 I gave to the Watkins family as there was no money left in their company account when Lloyds suspended the account due to suspicious activity. This was confirmed to me by letter 2 weeks ago. To say that I'm surprised that Peter has now had a refund is an understatement, maybe I need to get back on to my bank to see why he has been refunded and no-one else has. That being said, the Watkins family have gone very silent again, hopefully that early morning knock from the police is not too far away - I think jail time for them both is the only satisfaction that the rest of us who are out of pocket are going to get.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Peter

29th August 2018

Chris,as I previously said I ordered 21/06/18 & paid via bank transfer from Halifax. No confirmation so alarm bells rang. I rang later Halifax later that day & firstly the lady said she would raise a concern & try & get my cash back for me. She then passed me to the fraud/recovery dept & they froze the Camden Lloyds account after they noticed dubious recent activity & told me there were still funds in that account at that time. They gave me a reference number & said they would be in touch.Same message a few wks later & I'd given up hope whilst on Fuerteventura as nothing sent from Halifax.I'd alerted ActionFraud & Companies House too. On checking last Thursday after returning from Fuerte,I noticed a full refund into my Halifax account on 06/08/18 from the Halifax recovery dept. For that I'm very grateful as I'd virtually given up. That's basically it. Lucky-very,grateful-undoubtedly. Maybe as I am with Halifax (must be others too) & Camden with Lloyds,it may have been easier & quicker as Halifax are part of Lloyds so could be deemed internal depts dealing with it as opposed to say any external bank-Santander,Barclays et al. Hope this explains it better & I very much hope in time everyone gets their cash back from these shysters.Regards!

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

chris

28th August 2018

Peter you seem to be the only person who's had money back? I ordered currency on 17th June from the wan**** and had no feedback from them so please let me know how you have managed this to help us lot out?

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Camden FX

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No

Camden FX have ceased trading and are under investigation by Action Fraud. Please see our Camden FX information page for more details.

The Moroccan Dirham is now closed

Posted by Graham Morley on 17th January 2019

The Moroccan dirham is a closed currency and has been for many years but what is a closed currency? That’s a question that is often asked and not one that has a straightforward answer. Strictly speaking a... read more

Tourist tax – how much does it cost?

Posted by Sam Stone on 14th January 2019

Tourist tax isn’t a new concept, but so far visitors to the UK have narrowly escaped this extra holiday cost. In October last year, some Scottish councils launched discussions to impose an additional c... read more

The best time to book holiday extras?

When is the best time to book your holiday extras like airport car parking? Just like getting your travel money and travel insurance arranged, your parking space can be one of those last-minute things... read more

New Year In Bangkok, Thailand

What did you guys do this new year? Thailand has been one of the most popular new year destinations in South East Asia for a while, and the places most people head to are either Bangkok or Chiang Mai.... read more

New destinations for the New Year

With Brexit looming in the New Year, it is surprising that some airlines have announced new destinations on their 2019 schedules from UK and Irish airports. Taking on the challenge By exploiting the unique... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2019 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.