Camden FX reviews

158 Reviews Poor | 2.1

Camden FX

http://www.camdenfx.com/

Camden FX, based in the heart of London's famous Camden Town is a leading provider of foreign currency exchange. We pride ourselves on having the best rates for currency exchange and aim to beat any other high street provider.

Write a review

Matt

16 January 2019

16 January 2019

As with a few others I received a statement to sign and return to the police yesterday - fingers crossed it's looking like some action is going to be taken at long last. Hopefully Wayne and his father were thinking that they'd gotten away with another fraudulent episode, let's just hope they get a knock at the door very early some of these fine mornings. Whether we'll get our money back is another question, but at this stage I'd just like to see someone get jail time, anything else is a bonus!

Chris

15 January 2019

15 January 2019

Also had same letter with a statement for me to sign for the police investigation - Hopefully we will receive our monies back via the court system!

Peter

15 January 2019

15 January 2019

UPDATE & POLICE CONTACT DETAILS After ordering from CamdenFX & being refunded via my bank (Halifax) in aug 2018,I rec'd a statement to sign from DC Simon Ardeman Met Police Fraud & Linked Crime Online (Falcon) Edmonton Police Station 462 Fore St Edmonton London N9 OPW 02083454395 (e mail simon.ardeman@met.police.uk) Obviously as he/they are dealing with this,any queries should be addressed to him/them. Best of luck!

Rona

19 December 2018

19 December 2018

As with Matt I got an email from Companies House today upholding my objections to the striking off of both Camden FX and Camden Tourist Information Centre until 19th June. The ombudsman is investigating my complaints against my bank Santander and Lloyds Bank the receiving bank. My complaint against Financial Compliance Limited is pending. I will decide on court action when I get the results of the Ombudsman complaints.

Matt

12 December 2018

12 December 2018

Following on from Julie's e-mail I sent my information to Companies House, this information showed that I had paid my money into an account for Camden Tourist Information Ltd and I've just had an e-mail saying my request was successful - the request to strike-ff has now been postponed to 11th June 2019. Not sure what that actually means but at least we may have put a hold on what the Watkins next step is.

julie

30 November 2018

30 November 2018

Hi another update. I sent all the information I provided to the fraud team to companies house and again received the same email that Chris posted on 21 November so it seems that unless anyone is going down the court route with this there is nothing we can do. They are not interested. Therefore looks like Camden will at some point set up another company and do the same again. I am at a loss as to what any of us can do. It is all too easy for these fraudsters to get away with their crimes.

Matt

22 November 2018

22 November 2018

Unfortunately I think Julie is right that no-one appears to care about our money - maybe that's why these people do what they do, because they know that they'll get away with it, and I'd bet money this is not the first time they've carried out a swindle like this! How much of a poor state must this country be in when someone can steal upwards of £50,000 from a large number of people and the police take no interest - drive through a red light or park on a double yellow line though and that's a completly different matter, and there was me hoping the only satisfaction I'd get would be in seeing these horrible people get soem jail time. Ah well, we can but hope........

julie

21 November 2018

21 November 2018

Hi I too raised an objection with companies house and received exactly the same response as Chris so I sent them the details I gave to the fraud squad and I am waiting to hear back. Will post an update if I get anything back. I can't see any of us getting our money back. No one seems interested

Chris

21 November 2018

21 November 2018

Hi all I put an objection in to Companies House re. the dissolution of Camden Tourist Information Ltd, who we all paid our monies to. Here is the Companies House response below. Please object and provide evidence to them that you are seeking recompense - Dear Chris CAMDEN TOURIST INFORMATION CENTRE LTD- 10504195 Thank you for your email dated 5th November 2018. We are unable to register your objection without documentary evidence to support your complaint. Please provide evidence such as invoices, court documents, general correspondence or emails between you and the company, to show that you are actively pursuing them for an outstanding debt. All evidence should be recent and dated within the last 6 months and must show the full company name, including the word 'Limited', or equivalent. On receipt of acceptable supporting evidence we will consider whether your objection can be lodged. I have placed a temporary hold of 14 days from today on dissolution action. If no reply is received, dissolution action will resume after this period, which may result in the company being struck off the Register. Please confirm whether you would be agreeable for your identity as the objector to be disclosed.

julie

6 November 2018

6 November 2018

Following on from compare holiday money update I have emailed companies house to appeal the strike off action as the account I sent money to was Camden Tourist Info Centre Ltd as I guess many others did. Will post back if I hear anything. I am also still waiting for a response from the financial ombudsman

Write a review of Camden FX

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?