Compare Holiday Money Logo

Camden FX reviews

Poor 2.2 / 5

Based on 146 reviews Write Review

In light of the recent issues with Camden FX, we have created a dedicated page which we will continually update with any new information as we receive it: please click here.

Matt

8th October 2018

The last 2 posts from Julie and Denis look to be positive moves, so if there are any further updates then please do keep us updated as I'm not on Facebook either so this is my only way of seeing what other people are doing. And if the police are going to get involved then I don't mind how long it takes as long as it happens. Good idea also about the Banks, and you're right Julie, how have they determined that a few people can get refunds whilst not others - let's hope they get taken to task over their behaviour in all of this as well.

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Denis

7th October 2018

Our money was taken on the 15th June,£1006.62. We reported to fraud squad one week later. Since reported we have had several visits from our local PSNI,Police Service Northern Ireland, because of our age we were considered vulnerable. Beginning of September we were contacted again and asked to visit the local police station to give an official statement. We were told that the police in England had contacted them as they were preparing a case against Camden. The policeman who took our statement wasn’t sure if it was the fraud squad or the Met. Maybe we will get some justice.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

julie

5th October 2018

I don't use Facebook so I will keep posting on here. I have written to the Financial Ombudsman to ask why Santander or indeed Lloyds won't refund my money when, as suggested by compare holiday money, some people have had a refund. I will post back when I get a response

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

5th October 2018

I'm not sure whether anyone has gone down the small claims route - it's not something I've thought about as I was hoping the police would deal with the Watkins family. Unfortunately I think our money has gone, going to court might see you getting awarded the sum of money you've lost but you'll probably then need to locate the Watkins family and use bailiffs etc to stand any chance of recovering that award.

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Chris

3rd October 2018

Thanks Matt - I'm waiting to be accepted onto the Facebook group at the moment but just wondered if anyone has gone down the small claims route yet and what's happened. I don't want to throw good money after bad if it's a waste of time as it would cost me over £100 to submit a small claim, which is a lot of money on top of what I've lost so far.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

3rd October 2018

Chris, based on the number of complaints people have made I would think there are around 50 affected people, with a likely financial value in excess of £50K. The most worrying thing for me is that Action Fraud (or should they be called "Inaction Fraud") have not taken any action yet regarding this widespread "swindle" for want of a better term. Everyone knows Wayne Watkins and his father are responsible for this debacle, so why can't the police do a little bit of detective work and find out where they live and arrest them, seems fairly simple really. Other than that nothing seems to have been done - and Peter seems to be the only person who's had a refund going by what has been posted on here. How and why that is the case no-one knows.

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Chris

2nd October 2018

I lost just over £1500 to this company and have not received any response to any communication. We visited the property address of the business and found it to be a small shabby counter at the back of a souvenir shop - not the sort of place you would imagine compareholidaymoney.com should be including on their comparison website.I would also have thought that compareholidaymoney.com should have picked up that the accounts had been 2 months overdue by the time this problem arose. I think that there is a due diligence issue here. There has been little recent activity on here and I have only just today noticed that there is a Facebook site set up for this problem which I have today applied to join. I would be interested to hear if anyone else, apart from Peter has received a refund, and what is the best advice? Does anyone know how many people have been affected by this and what the total amount currently "lost" is?

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Tony Tonkin

8th September 2018

Lost all money

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Peter

3rd September 2018

Chris-I can only say what has happened to me & the refund I have had from my bank (Halifax) which I am obviously very grateful for.If I am the only one,so be it but I do sympathize & hope everyone else will be refunded in time.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

chris

2nd September 2018

Peter thanks. still you must be the only person who has money given back, no one else on here and my bank Natwest told me early on that the account was empty?

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

31st August 2018

Like Peter I too bank with the Halifax, unfortunately I was told that I wouldn't be receiving any refund on the £1400 I gave to the Watkins family as there was no money left in their company account when Lloyds suspended the account due to suspicious activity. This was confirmed to me by letter 2 weeks ago. To say that I'm surprised that Peter has now had a refund is an understatement, maybe I need to get back on to my bank to see why he has been refunded and no-one else has. That being said, the Watkins family have gone very silent again, hopefully that early morning knock from the police is not too far away - I think jail time for them both is the only satisfaction that the rest of us who are out of pocket are going to get.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Peter

29th August 2018

Chris,as I previously said I ordered 21/06/18 & paid via bank transfer from Halifax. No confirmation so alarm bells rang. I rang later Halifax later that day & firstly the lady said she would raise a concern & try & get my cash back for me. She then passed me to the fraud/recovery dept & they froze the Camden Lloyds account after they noticed dubious recent activity & told me there were still funds in that account at that time. They gave me a reference number & said they would be in touch.Same message a few wks later & I'd given up hope whilst on Fuerteventura as nothing sent from Halifax.I'd alerted ActionFraud & Companies House too. On checking last Thursday after returning from Fuerte,I noticed a full refund into my Halifax account on 06/08/18 from the Halifax recovery dept. For that I'm very grateful as I'd virtually given up. That's basically it. Lucky-very,grateful-undoubtedly. Maybe as I am with Halifax (must be others too) & Camden with Lloyds,it may have been easier & quicker as Halifax are part of Lloyds so could be deemed internal depts dealing with it as opposed to say any external bank-Santander,Barclays et al. Hope this explains it better & I very much hope in time everyone gets their cash back from these shysters.Regards!

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

chris

28th August 2018

Peter you seem to be the only person who's had money back? I ordered currency on 17th June from the wan**** and had no feedback from them so please let me know how you have managed this to help us lot out?

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Peter

27th August 2018

Still getting it wrong-ordered 21/06/18. Must be jet lag!!!!!!!!!!!

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Peter

27th August 2018

Sorry Bryan,I ordered & transferred my cash on 21/06/17 & NOT July.I can't edit this review.My mistake! I still hope everyone affected by these shysters get their hard earned money back in due course.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Bryan

26th August 2018

I am happy for your return peter , Did Camden FX not stop trading around the 23rd of June??? And you decided to send them money in july ???

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Peter

23rd August 2018

Having returned yesterday after 5 weeks on Fuerteventura,I've just checked my account & I have been repaid in full the amount (£1950.57) I sent to Camden in july. For those that are still waiting for repayment,I truly sympathize with you all. Best of luck!

  • I ordered £2100 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Eric O

22nd August 2018

I got fleeced for a grand from these thieves. I just got news today from Barclays saying that they are sorry but Lloyds Bank (The Watkins' bankers) cannot retrieve my money back. I will not sit back until these scumbags get their just rewards. How did they get away with it and how is their Bank not coughing up?

  • I ordered £1007 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

9th August 2018

I've just been doing some research on possible sentences for anyone involved in cases of fraud such as ours, and the good news is that anyone involved in the fraud can be sentenced to up to 7 years in jail, plus they can also be banned from being involved in any other companies as directors for 15 years. Whilst that is not going to get me (or anyone else) our money back it will help me sleep easier at night knowing that Wayne and Barry Watkins, whilst being able to spend our money at this time, will eventually have to face up to what they've done. I for one will not be letting this go until justice has been served, my money has already gone so I haven't got anything to else lose at this point. The court can also make a recommendation that assets be sold off to allow all victims to be compensated.

julie

8th August 2018

Well I certainly have not had any money back and I doubt anyone else has. The man wouldn't know the truth if it hit him in the face. He is stalling for time.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

8th August 2018

Further to the e-mail posted on the web-site earlier today from Wayne Watkins stating that £6K had been refunded to customers on the 6th August, that has to be more lies I'm afraid! My bank has confirmed to me that the company bank account was frozen only after all of the money had been taken from it, so how were these refunds made if that is the case. Or is Wayne saying that my bank is telling lies, and it's him who has been telling the truth all this time - sorry Wayne, but I know who I believe, and it's not you, you robbing scumbag. Same as before we won't get another update from Wayne for about another 2 weeks, in the meantime he'll have spent the remainder of his ill-gotten gains, probably on an exotic holiday or something like that. Still, hopefully the net is closing and he will be woken up very early one morning when the police kick his front door in due to his involvement in this elaborate fraud (not forgetting his scumbag father as well).

May Funds

30th July 2018

In May I ordered £700 in Euros - in a few working days the money arrived as expected at the high rate offered. I am looking today and find the website is now down. The service I received was very good.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

30th July 2018

Following on from the update provided this morning - Wayne Watkins is telling lies and is clearly stalling for time. There is no money in the Camden FX company account (as confirmed by my bank - Halifax to me last week), so why he is saying that some people have had a refund already. If anyone had received a refund they would have posted that information on here to give the rest of us some hope that we might get a refund as well. There can be no refund when there is nothing in the account to begin with, that is why he only sends cryptic e-mails and then doesn't follow up with a proper detailed response when requested to do so. Hopefully the net is closing in on him and his dodgy father.......only time will tell on that one I'm afraid.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Ray Aliss

25th July 2018

The rest of my post............note date should be 26th July for response I appreciate that you may think ‘so what’, however I can assure you that this is only the first step in what I expect to be a long process. I am prepared, and have the legal backing and funds, to take this to whatever level needed to retrieve the money owed. This may include, but may not be limited to, seeking disclosure of Camden FX finances in court and/or seeking personal judgement against individual company directors, both old and new, should it be proven that there was any fraud or misappropriation of the funds paid to Camden FX. You will be aware of your duties as a Director. Withdrawing and/or using company funds for non-business activity is an offence known as misfeasance and, if proven, makes company directors personally liable for the company debt. Obviously I will also seek to have all legal costs reimbursed. Please do not regard this as a threat, I am simply giving you an option to do the right thing and stating what steps I will take should you continue to ignore me. There is no doubt that the actions of Camden FX have not just resulted in people being out of pocket but, in many cases have ruined peoples holidays, which is unforgivable. It has cost people additional expense and time to pursue the matter with banks and the judiciary. This has gone on long enough and the patience of all of the people involved is being stretched to the limit. I hope you have the decency to respond and put matters straight however, if you are not, please be aware that you will not simply walk away from this with our hard earned money.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Ray Aliss

25th July 2018

I am pretty certain that the director of Camden FX is watching either this site or the Facebook page therefore I have posted on both. I have also sent this via email to info@camdenfx.com so you have my email address should you wish to contact me directly. For your information, here’s the current situation. On 18th June I sent your company £1,004 for conversion to US Dollars. I called for the first two days to check everything was ok and was assured by a lady called Candy it was. On 20th June I receive a tracking number and confirmation that my Dollars would arrive by 22nd June. The tracking number turned out to be bogus and the Dollars never arrived. Numerous phone calls and emails went unanswered – and, please note, this was before the date of your bank account being frozen so that cannot possibly be an excuse. A successful application was made to Companies House on the 11th and 12th July to resign Mr. Barry George Watkins as a Director and appoint Mr. Wayne Barry Watkins as the new director of Camden FX. In a similar timescale a notice to strike off Camden FX as a company was made. This has been successfully challenged and the strike off order has been suspended. On 5th July I took out a Small Claim for the £1,004 together with £70 costs and daily interest. Camden FX had until 16:00 on the 24th June to respond. That time has now passed and no response has been received. Given that you have not challenged my small claim I now have the right to request judgement which would result in a CCJ against Camden FX. It may be that you have been unable to retrieve your post from the shop in Camden so I am prepared to give you the chance to remedy this. If you contact the ‘Compareholidaymoney’ site, Facebook site or my personal email by 10:00 am on 26th June, with a full explanation on how you intend to pay all the people involved, I will not execute the judgement. I appreciate that you may think ‘so what’, however I can assure you that this is only the first step in what I e

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Camden FX

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No

Camden FX, based in the heart of London's famous Camden Town is a leading provider of foreign currency exchange. We pride ourselves on having the best rates for currency exchange and aim to beat any other high street provider.

Visit Website

How to save up for a trip

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 17th October 2018

Travelling is on your mind right now, otherwise you wouldn’t be reading this post so you’re probably asking yourself ‘How to save up for a trip?’. One thing for sure is… it... read more

Fancy a European road trip?

Posted by Sam Stone on 9th October 2018

A road trip is the ultimate way to explore the bewildering beauty of any country. However, after toll charges and rental car fees, petrol costs can be one of the biggest holiday expenses. No one wants... read more

Paying for your Travel Money

Most UK travel money suppliers allow you to pay for your currency in a number of different ways. The payment method you choose is important because it affects whether or not you pay any extra fees during... read more

How to get better currency rates?

Have you ever bought currency exchange money and think… this is so terrible! Well we’re about to tell you how to get better currency rates and how to not feel like you’ve been ripped... read more

Pawnbrokers and travel money

Pawnbrokers and travel money don’t necessarily fit together on first thoughts, but certainly Ramsdens, H & T Pawnbrokers, Albermarle Bond and The Money Shop are big, well established companies that w... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.