Compare Holiday Money Logo

Camden FX reviews

Poor 2.4 / 5

Based on 128 reviews Write Review

In light of the recent issues with Camden FX, we have created a dedicated page which we will continually update with any new information as we receive it: please click here.

Matt

9th August 2018

I've just been doing some research on possible sentences for anyone involved in cases of fraud such as ours, and the good news is that anyone involved in the fraud can be sentenced to up to 7 years in jail, plus they can also be banned from being involved in any other companies as directors for 15 years. Whilst that is not going to get me (or anyone else) our money back it will help me sleep easier at night knowing that Wayne and Barry Watkins, whilst being able to spend our money at this time, will eventually have to face up to what they've done. I for one will not be letting this go until justice has been served, my money has already gone so I haven't got anything to else lose at this point. The court can also make a recommendation that assets be sold off to allow all victims to be compensated.

julie

8th August 2018

Well I certainly have not had any money back and I doubt anyone else has. The man wouldn't know the truth if it hit him in the face. He is stalling for time.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

8th August 2018

Further to the e-mail posted on the web-site earlier today from Wayne Watkins stating that £6K had been refunded to customers on the 6th August, that has to be more lies I'm afraid! My bank has confirmed to me that the company bank account was frozen only after all of the money had been taken from it, so how were these refunds made if that is the case. Or is Wayne saying that my bank is telling lies, and it's him who has been telling the truth all this time - sorry Wayne, but I know who I believe, and it's not you, you robbing scumbag. Same as before we won't get another update from Wayne for about another 2 weeks, in the meantime he'll have spent the remainder of his ill-gotten gains, probably on an exotic holiday or something like that. Still, hopefully the net is closing and he will be woken up very early one morning when the police kick his front door in due to his involvement in this elaborate fraud (not forgetting his scumbag father as well).

May Funds

30th July 2018

In May I ordered £700 in Euros - in a few working days the money arrived as expected at the high rate offered. I am looking today and find the website is now down. The service I received was very good.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

30th July 2018

Following on from the update provided this morning - Wayne Watkins is telling lies and is clearly stalling for time. There is no money in the Camden FX company account (as confirmed by my bank - Halifax to me last week), so why he is saying that some people have had a refund already. If anyone had received a refund they would have posted that information on here to give the rest of us some hope that we might get a refund as well. There can be no refund when there is nothing in the account to begin with, that is why he only sends cryptic e-mails and then doesn't follow up with a proper detailed response when requested to do so. Hopefully the net is closing in on him and his dodgy father.......only time will tell on that one I'm afraid.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Ray Aliss

25th July 2018

The rest of my post............note date should be 26th July for response I appreciate that you may think ‘so what’, however I can assure you that this is only the first step in what I expect to be a long process. I am prepared, and have the legal backing and funds, to take this to whatever level needed to retrieve the money owed. This may include, but may not be limited to, seeking disclosure of Camden FX finances in court and/or seeking personal judgement against individual company directors, both old and new, should it be proven that there was any fraud or misappropriation of the funds paid to Camden FX. You will be aware of your duties as a Director. Withdrawing and/or using company funds for non-business activity is an offence known as misfeasance and, if proven, makes company directors personally liable for the company debt. Obviously I will also seek to have all legal costs reimbursed. Please do not regard this as a threat, I am simply giving you an option to do the right thing and stating what steps I will take should you continue to ignore me. There is no doubt that the actions of Camden FX have not just resulted in people being out of pocket but, in many cases have ruined peoples holidays, which is unforgivable. It has cost people additional expense and time to pursue the matter with banks and the judiciary. This has gone on long enough and the patience of all of the people involved is being stretched to the limit. I hope you have the decency to respond and put matters straight however, if you are not, please be aware that you will not simply walk away from this with our hard earned money.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Ray Aliss

25th July 2018

I am pretty certain that the director of Camden FX is watching either this site or the Facebook page therefore I have posted on both. I have also sent this via email to info@camdenfx.com so you have my email address should you wish to contact me directly. For your information, here’s the current situation. On 18th June I sent your company £1,004 for conversion to US Dollars. I called for the first two days to check everything was ok and was assured by a lady called Candy it was. On 20th June I receive a tracking number and confirmation that my Dollars would arrive by 22nd June. The tracking number turned out to be bogus and the Dollars never arrived. Numerous phone calls and emails went unanswered – and, please note, this was before the date of your bank account being frozen so that cannot possibly be an excuse. A successful application was made to Companies House on the 11th and 12th July to resign Mr. Barry George Watkins as a Director and appoint Mr. Wayne Barry Watkins as the new director of Camden FX. In a similar timescale a notice to strike off Camden FX as a company was made. This has been successfully challenged and the strike off order has been suspended. On 5th July I took out a Small Claim for the £1,004 together with £70 costs and daily interest. Camden FX had until 16:00 on the 24th June to respond. That time has now passed and no response has been received. Given that you have not challenged my small claim I now have the right to request judgement which would result in a CCJ against Camden FX. It may be that you have been unable to retrieve your post from the shop in Camden so I am prepared to give you the chance to remedy this. If you contact the ‘Compareholidaymoney’ site, Facebook site or my personal email by 10:00 am on 26th June, with a full explanation on how you intend to pay all the people involved, I will not execute the judgement. I appreciate that you may think ‘so what’, however I can assure you that this is only the first step in what I e

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

24th July 2018

Following on from Julie's earlier comment, it would be nice to think that Lloyds would feel they should compensate everyone who has lost money through the illegal activities of the Watkins family, that is very unlikely to happen though as they will hide behind the fact that they were only following banking procedures etc. All in all the total lost must be in the region of £50,000, how could an institution like Lloyds allow the Watkins family to withdraw that amount before they became suspicious? Perhaps they need to re-check their security protocol for the future - as surely anyone trying to withdraw such a large amount in a short period of time in itself should set alarm bells ringing!! Or is it just me that thinks like that???

julie

23rd July 2018

After reading Matt's latest news surely Lloyds bank have to take some responsibility here. Not sure what our next move should be. I haven't heard anything back from the Fraud team since logging this either

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt

23rd July 2018

My bank has confirmed to me today that the bank account for Camden FX was only frozen AFTER all of the money had been taken from it - sorry folks but it looks like we're not going to get anything back. Not only are the Watkins robbers, they are also LIARS, hopefully the police will catch up with them at some stage but seeing as I've not been contacted by the police since I logged my fraud claim with them towards the end of June I'm not going to hold my breath! In the olden days they hung people like this - perhaps we need to go back to how things were dealt with then as this type of crime happens all too often nowadays!!!

Chantel

18th July 2018

Absolutely distraught. Wont be buying currency ever again online. Taken £1000 of my hard earned money, no response back from them Camden FX whatsoever. Fuming..

  • I ordered £1750 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

jamie

16th July 2018

Avoid clearly unable to run a business Wayne Wakins and Candy Barnham both promised me my holiday money - both available to find on Facebook if you search them out. Clearly a couple of frudsters.

Rachael Fitzpatrick

15th July 2018

There is a link for the Facebook group on the page that has the updates from Comoare holiday money above. If you click the link it should just take you there.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Mr Barr

14th July 2018

Lloyd’s bank must have questions to answer re the fraud! But as usual the big banks aren’t interested.

  • I ordered £1700 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

julie

14th July 2018

Don't know if anyone else has noticed but if you look at companies house website barry George Watkins previous address is 20-22 wenlock road London N1 7HI. If you Google that address it makes for very interesting reading

Ron Alexander

14th July 2018

Rachael/Daniel I am happy to join your group. I am on facebook but never use. Need help on how to access and join group. Sorry for my lack of facebook skills.

P. Wright

13th July 2018

Fantastic idea for a fb group but i've tried and can't find it

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Daniel Fitzpatrick

13th July 2018

Total scam. Please join CamdenFX Scam group on FB to converse and share information. Thank you!

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Rachael Fitzpatrick

13th July 2018

I am setting up a FB group called ‘Camdenfx Scan’. Please join and we can all communicate/confer/chat there, as we are all in the same boat. It may be thbe best way to proceed!

Ron

12th July 2018

Please see that today the activity on Companies House website for Camdem FX Ltd and Camden Tourist Information Limited. For both companies it shows 3 notices dated today. Mr Watkins resignation as a Director, his appointment as a Director and a Cessation Notice as him having no significant control. The documents do not give times of day so not possible to know current status.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Ron

12th July 2018

It is good compareholidaymoney.com has taken this up with Companies House in respect of Camden FX Limited Company Registration 10300718. However I note on the email from Camden FX giving the instruction of where to send my bank transfer that the payment is to the account holder Camden Tourist Information Centre Limited. This company is Company No. 10504195. Mr Watkins is the sole director. Is it not essential that we refer to both companies when making and reports/complaints> Do we need to set up some sort of group to consider what action we should take individually or as a group? There are points referred here that I will follow up on meantime. Other options maybe reporting to the FCA, taking him to small claims court (likely get judgements but may not get money). Eventually if no money returned an act/s of Fraud has likely been committed which may result in imprisonment. Co-ordinating our actions may give best chance of recovery of money or justice.

  • I ordered £1004 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Matt - London

12th July 2018

Interesting to see Mr Watkins say he never applied to have his company struck off (maybe it was a ghost), he also said that he is doing all he can to make sure his company pay everyone back (no-one has posted on here that they've had a refund). He also told me when I spoke to him a few days after I placed my order (and after his company took my money) that I would receive my currency the following Monday - obviously that didn't happen, so you'll forgive everybody on here Wayne if we have all got to the stage where we don't actually believe anything you are now saying. Please keep quiet in future unless you are giving concrete details around how everyone can secure a refund.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Helen

11th July 2018

Thank you to the 'compareholidaymoney.com' team for filing an objection with Companies House re the application to be struck off. I'm interested to know who made the application to be struck off if Camden FX didn't! I still await notification from my bank (Halifax) re the payment I made via bank transfer (Lloyds) to these shysters & whether it will be refunded to my account.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Greg Ternent

11th July 2018

I ordered money in JUNE and haven't received any and judging by the other reviews I wont either. Reported it to bank but lesson learned. I hope BARRY GEORGE WATKINS can live with himself after all the suffering and loss of money I have seen

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others

Angry customer

10th July 2018

The vast majority of customers would never have heard of Camdenfx if they hadn't found them through compareholidaymoney. It would be a good gesture of goodwill if they would raise legal action against Camdenfx on our behalf. Watkins and his cohorts need brought to justice, they can't be allowed to get away with this.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Camden FX to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Camden FX

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Camden FX to others?Yes No

Camden FX, based in the heart of London's famous Camden Town is a leading provider of foreign currency exchange. We pride ourselves on having the best rates for currency exchange and aim to beat any other high street provider.

Visit Website

How to take a good Selfie when travelling

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 17th August 2018

How to take a good Selfie when travelling? One great thing about having a companion with you when you travel is that you can get someone to take photos for you, whether it be just generic tourist photos... read more

Asda Travel Money Rates Compared

Posted by Graham Morley on 7th August 2018

Asda, like all the major supermarkets will sell you travel money with your baked beans and fish fingers. So how do Asda travel money rates compare to other brands? We know them and trust them and it’s f... read more

Self-catered holiday vs Hotel

A hotel based inclusive deal can make as much financial sense as a self-catered holiday. So how can you choose between them? For some travellers, there is an obvious choice. Total immersion in hotel life... read more

Is It Worth It To Hire A Car On Your Trips?

This thought probably comes across your mind a lot… “Should I hire a car or should I go with public transport?” Someone who’s got a small budget like me probably would not even... read more

The Falmouth Falcons Quidditch Update: Summer 2018

With the 2017-18 QuidditchUK season coming to a close, all in all it’s been a good year for the Falmouth Falcons, Cornwall’s finest quidditch team. Early success in October at the Highlander Cup in Edi... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.