Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.7 / 5

Based on 234 reviews Write Review

Michael

20th May 2017

Your member of staff at Meadowhall Sheffield dealt with my purchase,1000 Euros quick and easy all done within minutes would use Debenhams again 10/10!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Mike D

15th May 2017

Great no problems can even get 1 dollar bills

  • I ordered £800 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

F.lawrie

15th May 2017

The exchange rate was fine but no communication at all from member of staff who served me. she was certainly not happy at her work.

  • I ordered £300 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Chris

14th May 2017

I ordered euros online and when I went to collect there was a problem with a previous order for another customer I was sent away for 20 minutes , I THEN WENT BACK AGAIN WAS TOLD there was still a wait.so waited 40 minutes for my euros. I was then told the rate had changed and I could only have a lower rate . I have ordered three times online to pick up at store and each time they are closed for lunch or tea break always had to wait . So will not use again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kate Allen

9th May 2017

I Purchased 500 Euros last weekend at the Chelmsford, Essex Branch. I noticed their rate was different to what was online and they let me have it at 1.161 which is what I showed them on my phone screen. I have used Debenhams for the last 3 Years because they always have the best rate and have always let me have the rate advertised online rather than their rate.... So those that are moaning about this, remember this for next time! I will be going back in a few weeks for another 500 euros ready for my Holiday!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Emma

8th May 2017

Great new service at the Chesterfield branch. Very helpful staff and free parking outside the door. Perfect.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Avneet Khaneja

8th May 2017

Excellent service at Derby store...preferential rates for Debenhams card holders!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

michael ridall

7th May 2017

people in front of us wanted to cahange 500 pounds into euros.problem being they had it all in 1 pound and 2 pound coins ,took ages for the staff to count and created a fair sized queue .cashier at first said they would have to go to a bank and change it , but under pressure he relented (pretty sure they are within their rights to refuse it but hey what price bottle ) on pointing out that he had probably done the wrong thing by accepting it (who knows how many duds there were among all those coins ) he answered by saying he couldnt do anything about it now so more or less put up with the wait . i found him quite rude and think debenhams need to brush up their staff on customer services and manners . only a young lad so made a bit of an allowance although i shouldnt have to , manners cost nothing , wont use again dont like rude people . this was meadowhall branch sheffield

  • I ordered £1100.0 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Clive Borg

4th May 2017

Website wasn't fully working, so couldn't complete my travel money purchase on-line. Rang their head office (only number I could find) and was transferred to my local branch (Nottingham). No answer from them, so was given their direct number and advised to call them myself. Called several times, leaving messages, but no-one called back. Very poor customer service and badly designed website - evidently badly maintained too.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kevin wood

4th May 2017

Telford Debenhams. How helpful can someone be.we hadn't a current Debenhams card,but an old account!we were still given there preferential,rate.and really nice staff bonus.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Baxter

4th May 2017

Used them in past and have been fine. People need to read the T&C as it states that the rates may change. If you want a set rate then you need to order online - as Debenhams don't do that then go elsewhere.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Anon

24th April 2017

Aberdeen branch giving below advertised rates and on top of that had very little currency in stock. Waste of time.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

MAE

18th April 2017

I have used Debenhams money before, just go to my local store and get it without having to order, if a reasonable amount. The young lady who serves is always pleasant and helpful. My Santander debit card would not allow more than the £300 .... she told me it is the only debit card that treats getting your currency as obtaining your cash from the machines and the limit applies, Also a slightly better rate if you have a Debenhams account , and I was given a £5 voucher to use instore on that day only if I spent £20.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

rob

15th April 2017

collected 100 euros, excellent service, rate was as expected.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Dixie

28th March 2017

Used Travel Money at Debenhams, Gloucester yet again and the service was immaculate, the rate shown on internet was honoured (indeed a little better than shown) and was given a choice of notes. Speedy, efficient and courteous service. Well done Gloucester!!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Craig

23rd March 2017

Bought Euros today from the Aberdeen branch. I was told they needed my passport or driving licence to buy currency; the only place I've been to where this is the case. When I queried this I was told that I should go elsewhere if not happy. The bundle of joy that served me, Grant, really ought to brush up on his customer service skills. I had intended to get some stuff in Debenhams for my trip but decided against it after having to deal with this member of staff. I certainly will not use Debenhams again for anything.

  • I ordered £620 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Philip Johns

11th March 2017

Sarah, the lady in the booth in Bedford was so rude to me as I tried to purchase my euros, she was not helpful when I showed her the rate I printed off from online as she refused it even though it clearly says on the website you can get that rate in store. To top it off I didn't get my £5 off voucher either. Ridiculous.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Tim Oakley

7th March 2017

Checked exchange rate through compareholidaymoney this morning, avoided lunch time, popped in same afternoon, got the rate I expected and Karen in Uxbridge couldn't have been more helpful if she'd tried. Purchased here last year without the compareholidaymoney discount and was equally impressed. No complaints whatsoever!

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Amy Timmins

6th March 2017

I previously purchased euros from Debenhams in October 2016 without any problems. However, I have just tried to purchase from them again without success. Having checked online this morning and being quoted rates of 1.14255 or 1.143693 for Debenhams Cardholders, I printed off the voucher as per the instructions and took it to the cashier in the Birmingham Bullring store within 2 hours. I was immediately told that the 1.143693 was not available and quoted 1.137. I expressed my disbelief at this as I had followed the online instructions and realise that rates change daily, but the lady was adamant that the rate was not available. As there is no option to order the currency online, I eventually agreed to proceed with the 1.137 rate. Upon then presenting my Santander debit card, I was then advised that for Santander cards only, there was a maximum of £300. Again this was not the case when I used the same card to purchase a similar amount of currency back in October 2016. Nor is this stated anywhere on the voucher I printed. The assistant attempted to process the transaction anyway, but the card was declined. Needless to say I was very unsatisfied with the customer service I received and have since purchased my currency elsewhere. I doubt that I will attempt to use Debenhams again after such a poor and ridiculous process.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Tricia

25th February 2017

WE have used Debenhams a few times and found them to be very helpful and we have actually received a higher rate than stated on line The only down side is three times we have visited we have had to wait as on lunch break even thou we visit at different times .

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Robert Hughes

23rd February 2017

Ridiculous system. They don't take currency exchange orders online or by phone. I phoned to ask them to have money available for me when I visit the store but was told they do not have the currency available and that I would have to make the journey in to order and then return to collect. Double the costs and travel time. Poor Show Debenhams. I'm not likely to use you in the future and will post this to fb friends too.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Caroline

9th February 2017

I purchase my currency at the store in Bradford. The lady at the counter was friendly and very knowledgeable when asked about future transaction for other currencies. I didn't have to pre-order the money either as they keep this amount in store. There rate was the best for the high street providers

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Gary

7th January 2017

always have to wait in the Debenhams in Guildford, not always manned - shame because rate are pretty competitive and on other occasions other more exotic currencies are never in stock on a daily basis

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

W Nicholson

6th January 2017

With some trepidation I took my voucher to the Plymouth store on 06/01/2017 and asked the gentlemen at the desk if he would honour the rate given that morning albeit I knew that he could say that the rate had changed as per the T&C on the website. I also showed him my Debenhams Credit Card and he gave the rate quoted on a £500 exchange. This gave me quite a saving on what was being offered in Plymouth today. Had I been dissatisfied with the rate I could have walked away as no money had been taken 'up front'. I will certainly use this system again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Joyce Fudge

5th January 2017

Looked online to see exchange rate and took the printout with me. Cashier told me the amount for my exchange which was less than on the printout.I questioned this and was told that was the rate from 8.30 that morning although I looked it up later than that time.Why can you have the rate which is shown on the printout in some Debenhams Stores and not others.All customers should be treated equally. As I hold a Debenhams Card I did have the £5 voucher which was of less value due to the fact I didn't receive the exchange rate I showed the cashier. Very unfair.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. COLLECTION ONLY: from 99 stores nationwide. Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Ecotourism – Travel, Conservation and Education

Ecotourism – Travel, Conservation and Education

Posted by Holly Burgess on 25th May 2017

Ecotourism involves travellers visiting relatively undisturbed areas that are endangered. It is considered a less invasive and low-impact type of travel compared to traditional commercial tourism. The intenti read more

British Pound tops $1.30 for first time in 8 months

British Pound tops $1.30 for first time in 8 months

Posted by Matthew Weston on 18th May 2017

Growing concerns about Donald Trump’s ability to enforce tax and regulatory reform has meant the Dollar has decreased in value. This benefited the pound greatly with UK retail sales data also showing the read more