Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 416 reviews Write Review

Amanda

11th April 2019

Ordered €500 online to be picked up at local store. Money deducted straight away. By next day still no email confirmation, needed to not only confirm but pick up order. Spent ages trying get through automated customer service. Finally spoke to somebody who said no record of me or my order. And to contact head office via email. Did immediately got automated response till next day then only will pass message on reply. Forget it. Got on to my bank had transaction stopped/returned. Took another hour of my time as of course lot of procedure. Another day later lo and behold got email from Debenhams saying found order and to pick up. Replied that I have had it cancelled. Never again. Whilst iorder may have eventually been found and processed, in this day and age with scams was too much of a risk waiting around believing no trace before reporting to bank.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Graham

27th March 2019

Good rate for these turbulent times on the markets. Debenhams Silverburn staff were pleasant and helpful. Great convenient way to obtain foreign exchange

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

M Duffield

24th March 2019

Good Got my Euros within 24 hours.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Aisling

20th March 2019

NEVER AGAIN! Ordered £500 worth of Euros online - got a confirmation email and money was taken straight away. Went in to collect my money the next day and was told they'd run out of Euro and shouldn't have taken my money. 19 days and many frantic phonecalls later I finally got my refund - a far cry from the "10 working days" I was promised when they shouldn't have taken my money in the first place!! Down £1000 and I had to go somewhere else to get my Euro for my holiday - would never use them again and I'd urge anyone else against it too. Worst customer service I've ever received!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Kenneth Rimmell

13th March 2019

Have used many times over the years , just gone in store never pre orders always got amount of Euros required at rate on line also £5 voucher off of £20 spend on same day ,don't go anywhere else ,never had a problem at the Chelmsford branch.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Samantha Farr

11th March 2019

Great service, best rate on the high street for euros and they give you a five pound off voucher on a £20 purchase in store. You are also told about an offer they run which gives you an additional 20% on any left over euros that you load on to a gift card.

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jane griggs

5th March 2019

Great service money arrived on time

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Robert

5th March 2019

Have used their service before. Have had no trouble ordering my currency on-line nor getting it delivered on time. Sensible denomination of notes sent and very competitive rates.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Dawn

4th March 2019

If I could score minus I would!! I can honestly say this is the worst service I have ever received!! I ordered my currency to be delivered, there was a glitch in the system and some how the top line of my address was missing therefore the money could not be delivered! I called to discuss the issue and was told that my money would be refunded within 48 hours as this was a problem with the Debenhams system and that my issue had been escalated I have either rang or emailed customer service almost every day since ( including whilst on holiday) to try to get my money refunded! I am still waiting for the refund 2 weeks later! The customer service has been absolutely terrible and I have never received such bad service! I will never use Debenhams again and I wanted to warn people of the terrible service they provide! In my opinion this is not a service Debenhams should be providing as they cannot satisfy customer requirements! I advise that you steer clear and use another provider!

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Christine

4th March 2019

Excellent service , very streamlined , arrived delivery free and on time

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Ben

3rd March 2019

If there was a zero or minus star option I’d select one of those... I ordered euros on Thursday. An email arrived saying collect ANYTIME on Friday. I arrive at 12:30 on Friday to pick up money to be told it hasn’t arrived and is delayed. Lady behind the counter tells me the email says collect after 2pm. I say the email says collect Euros anytime on the day of collection. The email also says collect after 2pm for ALL OTHER currencies. I phone the customer care team (?0333 003 7071?) and after 15 mins they say they will transfer me to the store to check where my Euros are and when I can expect to collect them but the call fails and line goes dead. Nobody calls me back. I get a bus back to the store at 4pm wait 15mins to get served, one person on money and 5 people in the queue, I ask other store staff if there’s anyone who can help out, there isn’t. No apology for the wait. I had to get two buses and walk back to my car to get home and reschedule all my evening plans. Worst start to a holiday ever!!! I’d rather pay a higher exchange rathe than us Debenhams travel money online or in store service again.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

D Charman

2nd March 2019

Went to Debenhams today and usually they will match on line rate but was told today you can’t do that anymore you have to now order on line and collect next day after 2 pm

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

joe tobin

2nd March 2019

ordered online and collected from Kiosk next day, got the best exchange rate and a voucher to spend in store.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sam

1st March 2019

Ordered online, easy process and absolutely no hassle. Arrived next day as promised. Unsure why some people are moaning about rates it's always different on line than in store. If you show them the site and current rate at the bureau they will always match it. As for charges from bank always pay on debit which avoids hefty cash advance fees on credit cards.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Shaun

27th February 2019

Best rate available at the time of ordering, received the very next day as promised and very simple and straightforward to order, took a maximum of 2mins (no idea how some find this problematic?).

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kira

27th February 2019

Everything worked perfect. Received money the next day at 11 am.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Monica

24th February 2019

Said I didnt even have an order when I ordered online. When I arrived they didnt have the currency I needed. What a complete waste of time!!!

  • I ordered £203 worth of Singapore Dollars
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Mr kc

22nd February 2019

Worst experience ever chelmsford branch. Rate not same as advertised. Didn't get the notes i want. Duty manager poor handling customer care. Never buy from debenhams, scam to trick customers.

  • I ordered £710 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Mark

21st February 2019

Advertised on comparison site good rate for Qatar Riyals, but when you try to order them from their website the currency is not there. If you dont do that currency dont advertise it

  • I ordered £500 worth of Qatar Riyals
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Mike

17th February 2019

It was not made clear that the £5 off voucher is only valid on day of collection of travel money only. BUT GIVEN YOU CAN ONLY COLLECT AFTER 2PM we were forced either to shop there and then or not use voucher. If this was made clear on the website I would of planned to buy something or chose another company. Very poor

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Waterman

13th February 2019

I found ordering on line very difficult but on the 4th time of trying I managed to get my order excepted. However, by this time the rounding-up of the requested £500 had suddenly changed to rounding- down which of course took the total a fraction below £500 and thus I was charged £6.95 fee. When I complained I was informed that it was not in fact Debenhams I was dealing with but a faceless bank. I travel a lot and always worry about the rounding -up of rates never down. I will not be caught again by Debenhams.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

R. Elliott

12th February 2019

YOU DONT GET A £5 VOUCHER IF YOU ORDER ONLINE AND HAVE YOUR MONEY DELIVERED TO YOU. Very let down by this old fashioned sneaky small print trick from Debenhams. I was one of their credit card/account holders but will review after this experience. Lovely colour ad on the front page of travel money saying free £5 off £20 spend. This tipped the balance for me to order. After phoning to complain when no voucher was included with the money I was told about the small print. More fool me. Don't treat us like this Debenhams. It's underhand. If it was a transparent policy it should be up as a rider right next to the "free" offer. No wonder you're losing customers.

  • I ordered £505 worth of Canadian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Hols21

12th February 2019

Very good, easy to use and helpful

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

CJ

8th February 2019

Ordered online before 2pm, Currency arrived well before 1pm next day. Two e mails from Royal mail keeping me informed of progress. Unable to request any denominations of notes, but a sensible mix of brand new notes received. Best rate I could find on the day including free delivery

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sandra

6th February 2019

Absolutely brilliant couldn’t have been easier I bought some aus dollars, the girl was so helpful , I would use them again and again,no problems excellent.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. Collect your currency from over 100 stores nationwide, or have it delivered to your door.

Visit Website

Travel destinations where they speak English (Africa and Southern America)

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 24th April 2019

From our last post, we introduced you to countries around Europe and Asia where they speak practically perfect English nearly everywhere you go. Now, we’re going to explore Africa and Southern America... read more

Bank holiday favourites

Posted by Sam Stone on 19th April 2019

The four day Easter break is the biggest bank holiday weekend of the year for most office workers. An estimated 27 million cars in the UK alone are set to jam our motorways, and airports will be bursting... read more

Breathtaking motorcycle rides across Australia

Australia is one of the most unique places on earth, ranging from unique landscapes and wildlife, all the way to the climate that’s just ideal for motorcycle driving. This is why choosing the travel m... read more

Travel destinations where they speak English (Asia and Europe)

It’s understandable if you get tired of a language barrier on your trips. This is because adapting to new cultures is challenging enough, so don’t worry. There are plenty of countries around... read more

How to prepare for working abroad

Nowadays, living and working abroad appears to be an aspiration for many in their careers. Whether it’s to have a change of lifestyle or roles are in higher demand elsewhere, opting for an international j... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2019 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
For insurance booking, Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.