Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 354 reviews Write Review

Anony

Yesterday

Excellent and speedy service highly recommend

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Lymn

16th June 2018

Been checking Euro rate online all week and finally on Debenhams site yesterday the rate increased substantially to 1.125. I called in at my local store to find a notice on the exchange window stating that the Euro rate is 1.114! I checked the rate online whilst in store and it had risen to 1.129! I showed the cashier my phone and they gave me the higher rate. I was a little concerned that other customers may not check this prior to Purchasing and would therefore be out of pocket. I visited the store again today and the same sign was displayed stating 1.114 but online was 1.128. Word of warning... check online before purchasing and challenge the cashier!

  • I ordered £3000 worth of Euros

I Soni

8th June 2018

Fantastic experience - delivered on time and a good selection of notes. Thank you

  • I ordered £504 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jetsetter

7th June 2018

Have used twice now and found the whole process effortless from start to finish. First time I collected as arranged, from my local store and this month I ordered again for home delivery. Each time it went smoothly. Would highly recommend

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Andy watts

6th June 2018

Best rates staff great

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Susan Woodcock

5th June 2018

Absolutely brilliant service from start to finish. Ordered 900 Euros yesterday morning online, arrived this morning by tracked Royal Mail. It was mixed notes 50, 20, 10 and 5. There wasn't an option to choose the smaller denominations, but really happy with what we received, it was a competitive rate, and they included a £5 gift voucher as well. Would definitely recommend.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Donna hewitt

3rd June 2018

Very happy was offered all denominations of currency, the staff member very helpful money arrived on the date I requested. The only problem was small. I was not notified that my currency had arrived in the store via text as I expected,. I would use this provider again.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

John H

31st May 2018

Wanted 20 euro notes (plus remains small denominations) only for £500. Sent 8 x 50 notes! Not happy...../

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Julie Pemberton

31st May 2018

Excellent service - from ordering online to collection in store. Member of staff who served me was very efficient and friendly and the transaction was straightforward. On top if that I got a £5 voucher to use on a £20!or more spend in the store. Will use again if the exchange rate is still as good.

  • I ordered £700 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Peter Williams

29th May 2018

Needed to cancel money as I didn't have correct ID (for 100 Euro) was charged £10 for cancellation. The plus side was I went into Thomas Cook and got a better deal and didn't need ID for just 100 Euro!

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Anita

26th May 2018

Excellent, ordered on-line before 2pm, received my Croatian Kuna the next morning. Excellent service, would highly recommend, Very Good rate of exchange.

  • I ordered £500.00 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jackie

26th May 2018

After ordering Turkish lira with 2 separate transactions I was only given 1. After walking away from the kiosk my partner pointed out it wasn't enough , I returned immediately to the other member of staff who wasn't serving she looked straight at me and totally blanked me I then had to push back in the queue( which was long) to explain what had happened the assistant that blanked me I could hear her saying to her colleague I was returning and discussing what they had done . They both clearly no what had happened as soon as it was my turn didn't even ask for ID just gave me the rest of my money . Very poor customer service but only just read these reviews that others have wrote but it's clear that Debenhams don't take any notice of the feed back as they would do something about it ! So although the rate was the best always check what your given. I can't believe Debenhams allow this sort of service. Rant over

  • I ordered £750 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Bill Crossman

23rd May 2018

Couldn't fault Debenhams for travel money, best rates, ordered on Tuesday at 1 pm arrived the next day 11am excellent service.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sally

22nd May 2018

No issues encountered ordering currency online, the problem was at the Livingston branch when I went to collect it. Checked their website beforehand where it said the bureau would be open until 5:30pm. Arrived at the branch to find a notice up stating it closed at 5pm so total waste of time going there after my work. To make matters worse, I then encountered an extremely rude member of staff who claimed that he checked the website that morning and it states 5pm (total lie). I then said how long for me to get a refund of my money instead to be told it would take 10-15 working days! I telephoned Debenhams and spoke to someone in Escalations to be told the same, and to add insult to injury I would have to pay £10 cancellation fee. Awaiting a response from the branch regarding the member of staff and am now £300 down until Debenhams eventually refund me. I am very angry and disappointed at the poor level of service and never will use them again for currency. Definitely avoid them!

  • I ordered £300 worth of Hungarian Forints
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sha G

21st May 2018

First time I used Debenhams I had no issues. I decided to go back to Debenhams and order more euros online. Everything was going ok until the transaction page the payment was going through and then an error message came up and said transaction declined. I know there were no issues with my bank I thought it was a system error. I tried ringing Debenhams on the customer services line. I waited for over 20 minutes and got sick of waiting listening to terrible music and a boring mans voice. I tried again during my lunch break and waited again for 17 minutes when a woman said the travel team were experiencing difficulties and took a message from myself. I was promised a call back the same day but the call never happened. I have a pending payment of £1000 going through my bank, I need this resolving ASAP. I don’t rate the customer service and I dread to think how much there 0333 number is going to cost me on my mobile. A very poor service

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Danny

19th May 2018

5* service at bolton branch. Exchanged £500 to turkish lira and money ready in minuites

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Anthony

19th May 2018

Excellent service ordered Monday morning delivered Tuesday morning. Good variety of notes. Excellent rate would deffinately use again

  • I ordered £700 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kevin Longman

18th May 2018

ordered a decent lump of euros for our trip to Greece. they arrived less than 48 hours after ordering and i was kept informed, which was great. only gripe was the denominations all but €150 was sent in €50 notes....... for Greece? i look forward to seeing the shopkeeper or barman's face when i hand those over!

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested

Christine

15th May 2018

Ordered euros on Friday and was told would arrive on Monday but they arrived the next day on Saturday and they never took my money out till Monday

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sally

15th May 2018

Fantastic experience ordering currency through Debenhams. Ordered Euro's and received them the next day. Top class service!

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

SueJ

14th May 2018

Purchased Euros from Debenhams on a number of occasions. I have found the exchange rate better than other high street traders. Also for last few transactions I have been given a £5 voucher to spend in store. Can't fault the service

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Michael

14th May 2018

Have used Debenhams now twice and I will definitely return simply for the rate. Really east just pop into the store place the order and collect 25 hours later. I think that they offer a delivery service but I'm happy to come and collect.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Polish Zloty
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Lucy

13th May 2018

Fantastic service, collected directly from store after placing an order, good selection of notes, very happy! Kept our delivery in branch for a couple of days until we could collect it. Excellent.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

William White

13th May 2018

Excellent ordered Wednesday night arrived Friday morning no problems so easy and hassle free definitely use again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jim K

12th May 2018

Would have been zero stars if possible! Tried to buy £750 worth of Thai Baht early April 2018 via the CompareHolidayMoney website as my wife is a Debenham Gold Credit Card holder with a high credit score and regular payment in full history, and there was the added Debenham vouchers incentive. Got to the 'pay' button and our transaction was declined. Cut a long story short, after protracted discussions with Debenham / New Day we were told the transaction amounted to 'unusual activity' and was therefore blocked. In the process my wife was also told that her account had been suspended because she was deceased. Still waiting for a satisfactory outcome to ur formal complaint to Debenham / Newday. Use them again? - wouldn't waste my time. We went to Travelfx instead and despite our misgivings at having to transfer cash into their bank account to proceed with our order, everything 'they said on the tin' happened, and we got the best rate available

  • I ordered £750 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. Collect your currency from over 100 stores nationwide, or have it delivered to your door.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

  • A roundup of the latest exchange rates and currency deals
  • Hand-picked special offers on travel and holiday extras
  • Helpful and informative travel blogs written by our in-house team
Russian love-lock fever

Russian love-lock fever

Posted by Sam Stone on 14th June 2018

As a midsummer dream is played out on Russia’s football fields, echoes of Shakespeare’s themes of undying love are evident elsewhere in Moscow’s iron heart. On Luzhkov Bridge, love-lock fever read more

City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 7th June 2018

Cities or country sides? I don’t know which one you like more but these are what you would notice if you’ve lived in both like myself. But for you all who have lived in only one of them then here ar read more