Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 367 reviews Write Review

Amy sheldon

Yesterday

After phoning their 0344 number and asking to be put through to Redditch store 3 times with phone being put down on handover I got through to a lad who told me he had my request of £1500 Croatian kuna I made the 40 minute journey to collect to get there and he say he only has £700 Fuming with the whole service start to finish

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Marie

7th August 2018

Ordered online and delivered next day. My only criticism is the selection of notes sent, mostly €50 notes! Definitely not a 'mixture of high and low denominations' as stated in the FAQs.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

mark

29th July 2018

got my cash no problems 98000 thai baht

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Michelle Mansfield

29th July 2018

Was too worried to use bank transfer as there's always a greater risk. Debenhams were superb. Paid by debit card and collected the next day with only a minimal difference between them and the best rate requiring a bank transfer. Still a huge benefit ordering online than the comparisons with the high street walk in rate. Also impressed eith the variety of Euro notes provided. Highly recommend.

  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Andy Watts

23rd July 2018

No problems here but some people on here are complaining about being refused or asked for extra ID . Unfortunately this is the law .If you buy currency several times a year you will need to provide the relevant documents to comply with customs compliance. Every bureau should be abiding by these laws

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

E McDowell

19th July 2018

I went to collect money at specified time and they told me it had not even been ordered. They said the person responsible would call me that afternoon. They didn't call. I called that evening after about half an hour on hold who said they couldn't help, but someone would call me back. To cut a long story short, about 5 phone calls later, and over one month later, they still haven't refunded my money and I note there is no complaints line for Debenhams travel money, but I will be finding out what the address is. Please don't go here! I used Sainsbury's instead - great service.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Indonesian Rupiahs
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Eunice

19th July 2018

Thank you for your prompt response to questions about your service and also how prompt the money was received. You did everything as you promised. Would use the service again. A quick and easy way to exchange currency. I was impressed. Thank you.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Lesley

19th July 2018

Fabulous service. I have never ordered online before as have always been reluctant. No need to worry as it all went very smoothly, and I got a really good rate.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Ange

3rd July 2018

Have always been very impressed with Debenhams until today. I went to purchase Euro’s and was advised that as I have purchased over £4000 over the last 12 months I have to provide extra security, I need to be able to prove where my funds have come from and provide extra documentation. So much for data protection and customer loyalty!!! Those are obviously overridden if you have a couple of holidays a year. Was made to feel like a criminal and will not return!!!

  • I ordered £910 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

T

29th June 2018

Awful, specified a delivery date to be told I could pickup at 2pm or later which is not exactly helpful as I start early on the weekends to get tasks done. Requested cancellation after finding how difficult it was to get there at this time and was charged a £10 cancellation fee. Avoid IMO.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Brian

25th June 2018

Online Order was declined. Reason... I had spent too much money with them in a 12 month period. They have a max limit of 4k or so i was told by customer services. How bizarre. Punished for being a repeat customer.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Ross Brady

23rd June 2018

Currency delivered with 48 hours before time given. Everything spot on would defo use again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sheila Archibald

21st June 2018

Fantastic service tonight from Sarah at Travel Money desk in Gateshead Metrocentre. She could see we were flustered as left til last minute. She was super efficient and friendly. A real asset to the business. Well done and thanks again Sarah!

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Anony

17th June 2018

Excellent and speedy service highly recommend

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Lymn

16th June 2018

Been checking Euro rate online all week and finally on Debenhams site yesterday the rate increased substantially to 1.125. I called in at my local store to find a notice on the exchange window stating that the Euro rate is 1.114! I checked the rate online whilst in store and it had risen to 1.129! I showed the cashier my phone and they gave me the higher rate. I was a little concerned that other customers may not check this prior to Purchasing and would therefore be out of pocket. I visited the store again today and the same sign was displayed stating 1.114 but online was 1.128. Word of warning... check online before purchasing and challenge the cashier!

  • I ordered £3000 worth of Euros

I Soni

8th June 2018

Fantastic experience - delivered on time and a good selection of notes. Thank you

  • I ordered £504 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jetsetter

7th June 2018

Have used twice now and found the whole process effortless from start to finish. First time I collected as arranged, from my local store and this month I ordered again for home delivery. Each time it went smoothly. Would highly recommend

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Andy watts

6th June 2018

Best rates staff great

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Susan Woodcock

5th June 2018

Absolutely brilliant service from start to finish. Ordered 900 Euros yesterday morning online, arrived this morning by tracked Royal Mail. It was mixed notes 50, 20, 10 and 5. There wasn't an option to choose the smaller denominations, but really happy with what we received, it was a competitive rate, and they included a £5 gift voucher as well. Would definitely recommend.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Donna hewitt

3rd June 2018

Very happy was offered all denominations of currency, the staff member very helpful money arrived on the date I requested. The only problem was small. I was not notified that my currency had arrived in the store via text as I expected,. I would use this provider again.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

John H

31st May 2018

Wanted 20 euro notes (plus remains small denominations) only for £500. Sent 8 x 50 notes! Not happy...../

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Julie Pemberton

31st May 2018

Excellent service - from ordering online to collection in store. Member of staff who served me was very efficient and friendly and the transaction was straightforward. On top if that I got a £5 voucher to use on a £20!or more spend in the store. Will use again if the exchange rate is still as good.

  • I ordered £700 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Peter Williams

29th May 2018

Needed to cancel money as I didn't have correct ID (for 100 Euro) was charged £10 for cancellation. The plus side was I went into Thomas Cook and got a better deal and didn't need ID for just 100 Euro!

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Anita

26th May 2018

Excellent, ordered on-line before 2pm, received my Croatian Kuna the next morning. Excellent service, would highly recommend, Very Good rate of exchange.

  • I ordered £500.00 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jackie

26th May 2018

After ordering Turkish lira with 2 separate transactions I was only given 1. After walking away from the kiosk my partner pointed out it wasn't enough , I returned immediately to the other member of staff who wasn't serving she looked straight at me and totally blanked me I then had to push back in the queue( which was long) to explain what had happened the assistant that blanked me I could hear her saying to her colleague I was returning and discussing what they had done . They both clearly no what had happened as soon as it was my turn didn't even ask for ID just gave me the rest of my money . Very poor customer service but only just read these reviews that others have wrote but it's clear that Debenhams don't take any notice of the feed back as they would do something about it ! So although the rate was the best always check what your given. I can't believe Debenhams allow this sort of service. Rant over

  • I ordered £750 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. Collect your currency from over 100 stores nationwide, or have it delivered to your door.

Visit Website

How to take a good Selfie when travelling

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 17th August 2018

How to take a good Selfie when travelling? One great thing about having a companion with you when you travel is that you can get someone to take photos for you, whether it be just generic tourist photos... read more

Asda Travel Money Rates Compared

Posted by Graham Morley on 7th August 2018

Asda, like all the major supermarkets will sell you travel money with your baked beans and fish fingers. So how do Asda travel money rates compare to other brands? We know them and trust them and it’s f... read more

Self-catered holiday vs Hotel

A hotel based inclusive deal can make as much financial sense as a self-catered holiday. So how can you choose between them? For some travellers, there is an obvious choice. Total immersion in hotel life... read more

Is It Worth It To Hire A Car On Your Trips?

This thought probably comes across your mind a lot… “Should I hire a car or should I go with public transport?” Someone who’s got a small budget like me probably would not even... read more

The Falmouth Falcons Quidditch Update: Summer 2018

With the 2017-18 QuidditchUK season coming to a close, all in all it’s been a good year for the Falmouth Falcons, Cornwall’s finest quidditch team. Early success in October at the Highlander Cup in Edi... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.