Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 322 reviews Write Review

Sarah Kennedy

20th April 2018

always go to Travel Money Aberdeen in Debs! Best rates in town. Staff are lovely and always look forward to my £5 off a £20 spend in store voucher.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Joan mckee

18th April 2018

Always get my currency here fast efficient service in the castle court branch.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Vanessa

17th April 2018

Ordered late Sunday arrived by special signed delivery at 11am on Tuesday.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Mary

17th April 2018

Wouldn’t ever use Debenhams again or recommend. Ordered dollars to store and they didn’t have them, wasn’t helpful at all and pretty rude. Couldn’t refund me either. Extremely inconvenient and had wait forever for someone to even come to the desk. All in all stay clear

  • I ordered £1500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Christine

17th April 2018

When ordered Debenhams was top deal, ordered Euro's selected store and date for pick up. When collected was given £5.00 voucher which we used in store to buy husband a pair of jeans, at the time of buying they were on a 20% off plus the £5.00 voucher all in all a great deal. Will be using again shortly.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Stuart Bradshaw

17th April 2018

I always order and reserve my euros online in order to secure the rate shown. The rate available 'in store' is less, so it would be stupid not to. Perhaps an unfair advantage to those who do not have an online facility, but that is a separate discussion.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

James

4th April 2018

Told the rate for Euro today was 1.129 but when I went in store 1 hour later to by them was only given 1.1129 rate. Another reliable and loyal customer Debenhams have lost.

  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

teresa gore

3rd April 2018

ordered iceland korona and paid using card then was told i could only pick up in 6 days, now i have to go to store pick up money when i come back off my hols and it streight back and get a buy back rate what a scam

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Lil

31st March 2018

1St time used. Would definitely use again. Best rate and ordered Tues 12pm delivered Wed 1pm. Didn't see option for note denomination.

  • I ordered £675 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Fiona

30th March 2018

Ordered £750 Turkish Lira on Tuesday evening and it was delivered, signed for delivery, on Thursday morning. Best rate by far.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sunil Vishin

28th March 2018

Dreadful. Ordered well in advance - Saturday evening - scheduled email for tuesday delivery. Took my money (£2500). I called on wednesday and was told they were experiencing issues but had no information. Promised they would call later. Didn't do so, so I called back. Was told that their 'back office' hadn't processed the transactions so I had two choices. Cancel the order, wait 5 days for my money back or wait until tomorrow (thursday) when they 'may' be able to give me a progress report. Problem is it is easter weekend. The money wouldn't arrive until the following Tuesday... and we fly out on the Monday! So, no money, no refund so we can't get the currency we needed from another supplier. Well done! I ordered over a week in advance and yet they still couldn't organise a simple transaction!

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Singapore Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Chris

28th March 2018

Always good rates if not best in retail market Team members always helpful in collection occasions Deliveries always on time Debenhams give a £5.00 voucher for purchases on the day only over £20.00 All good news except for easy access to the stores themselves ..... not always convenient !

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

mrs judith dean

18th March 2018

Ordered euros delivered next day to my home good service will use again

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Rosemary

5th March 2018

Debenhams Carmarthen travel money Dreadful customer experience. Took over an hour. Majority of time waiting, whilst the woman was on the phone, (no sorry for keeping us waiting) then getting money as not enough in office. Asked for proof of id at start. Handed passport over, then 15 mins later wanted driving licence. Thought transaction completed then wanted a utility bill. I'm getting travel money , not applying for a mortgage.. Did not receive coffee voucher promised because of delay or £5 discount voucher. After wasting all of our time, then had the nerve to ask for a postcard Would never use again.

  • I ordered £3000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sharon

13th February 2018

Can't fault debenhams service for foreign currency. I ordered Abu Dhabi Dirhams late Thursday night it said 3-5 working days for collection in store or delivery but it was actually ready on Monday - no fuss and came with vouchers for free hot drink for two in coffee shop and a £5 off voucher in store to be used the same day. Well done Debenhams will continue to use your great service for future currency orders.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Leah Quinn

10th February 2018

I ordered £200 worth of Czech Koruna on 5th February to take on holiday on the 12th (Monday). They rang me on the 9th (Friday) to say they wouldn't have it until after I'd left. They also told me I'd have to come into the branch to get a refund. Of course, it was too late to order it anywhere else by then. About 20 minutes later, they rang to say I could have 6000 Koruna if I paid extra - they only had 1000 Koruna notes. Naturally, I had no choice and had to take them. They gave me a coffee voucher and an apology. Not good enough.

  • I ordered £215 worth of Czech Koruna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Kay Kane

9th February 2018

Attempted to order travel currency on-line for home delivery. Unfortunately, payment was declined and contacted customer services and was given a reference number and asked to re-try later. I also contacted my card provider as a block had been put on my card and went through to their security team to help unblock my card. Despite a further two attempts on the website to re-order, whilst holding on the phone to my card provider the transition still would not go through and the website page eventually gave up and appeared to be in a loop taking me back to the beginning. I contacted customer services who said it must be the card provider and the card provider advised he thought it was their website. My only option was to go into store and order it - so much for ordering on-line!

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Dan Simpson

7th February 2018

Ordered money,when I went to collect it they didnt have it ad asked me to come back. As I couldn't I had to cancel and it was a real hassle to get my money back.They have good rates but it's just not worth it.Never again.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jason Harris

6th February 2018

Offered a free £5 gift card for all money exchanges. No gift card forthcoming. Chased up on phone and told it takes 90 days. 6 months later still nothing. Give up. Watch out for their special offers, they never materialise

  • I ordered £640 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jason Roberts

3rd February 2018

Ordered on line went to store and they did not have currency available and rate applied was lower. What is shown is not what you get. Waste of my time clearly Debenhams need to stick to fashion

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Jo B

2nd February 2018

Almost ordered my US Dollars online but decided to see what I could get in town first. Wrote down rates, called into Debenhams Travel Money click & collect booth on the way & asked what rate they would do for me as a cardholder. They matched the online rate which was higher than anywhere else in town. Result - happy customer :-)

  • I ordered £1408 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Margaret

1st February 2018

Ordered £500 of Euros on Wednesday PM and arrived Thursday AM. First time using Debenhams will definitely use again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Glynn

24th January 2018

First class service,got the money next working day.

  • I ordered £1700 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Debra Turner

24th January 2018

I collect currency from Debenhams for all my holidays. They consistently have a higher rated for currency collection on the Hugh street. Never had any problems and I have often recommended them to friends and family.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Colin French

21st January 2018

The Sutton Department Store lowered the rate than advertised. When I wanted to cancel they waited to charge £10. Not recommended.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Vietnamese Dongs
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. Collect your currency from over 100 stores nationwide, or have it delivered to your door.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

  • Latest exchange rates delivered monthly to your inbox
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
  • Travel money and holiday articles and information
Travelling light?

Travelling light?

Posted by Sam Stone on 13th April 2018

Travelling light is not just about being careful with your money. Speed and weight are an attractive factor for minimising your luggage. However, the goal posts constantly sift and some airline weight restricti read more

The Things To Do When Traveling

The Things To Do When Traveling

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 9th April 2018

Traveling can be so much fun because you get to try new and tasty food, take photos in each country’s famous spots, and just have fun and be free. But besides all those cool things you get to do, there are a read more