Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 386 reviews Write Review

Lesley

16th November 2018

No option to choose denomination of notes, but otherwise excellent service.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Angela

11th November 2018

Never again with Debenham, should listen to reviews as poor customer service and reliability. Placed an order Tuesday for Croatian Kunas as was travelling Saturday early morning - manager assured me in person delivery will be in by Friday for collection, had a phone call Friday AM to say to confirm, went to collect 4.30 pm but was told half hour later - sorry delivery never arrived and no kunas available - was not pleased as I ended up having no money for my travel the next day

  • I ordered £550 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Kristie Williams

10th November 2018

My experience of buying and receiving the travel money from Debenhams was great. The rate was the best I could find online and the transaction itself was very easy and the cash came quickly, with free delivery as I had ordered above a certain amount with ordering for friends also. I was then left feeling deflated a few days later when I looked at my statement to find that I had been charged an extra £29.86 for a "card transaction fee" by my card provider for some reason. I will admit that just before clicking buy, there was a message to say you may be charged by your provider but I did ignore it as I have never been charged for anything like that before so essentially I know it is my fault but I just wanted to make people aware really that this can happen and now I haven't had the best rate for travel money as I thought I did. I will just go to the local post office and pay the cash in future to save any unwanted fees. So please be aware when ordering that it may end up costing you a lot more to buy your travel money through Debenhams online because although there is a message to say you MAY be charged, it still isn't very clear and there should be a list of banks/card operators who do charge. Debenhams I feel, only do the minimum required to advise of this in my opinion and should be looking after their customers better.

  • I ordered £2400 worth of Polish Zloty
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Iain M

5th November 2018

Got Indonesian Rph, better rate than my usual supermarket supplier and could pick up within a couple of days from store. Was there when they said it was. Can’t fault them

  • I ordered £450 worth of Indonesian Rupiahs
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Stella

2nd November 2018

Checked on line rate before going into a store, told cashier what online rate I found. The fact I mentioned I’d checked rate on line they were able to match current online rate. If you don’t mention you don’t get. Got better rate using my Debenhams card & received a £5 voucher to spend on something to value of £20 or over. Very impressed & would certainly recommend Debenhams service to anyone.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sally

25th October 2018

I ordered £650.00 of euros before the cut off time and they were delivered the very next day via special delivery. The exchange rate was the best I could find (apart from going to companies i’d never heard of and would not trust). I agree with other comments about the large amount of €50.00 euros given as I got given the following for my £650.00. €50 x 11 €20 x 7 €10 x 3 €5 x 2 I think they should have given more of the smaller denominations. (Also I got no FREE £5 voucher)

  • I ordered £650.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

A N

24th October 2018

served by Rebecca i received a first class service and exchange rate

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Selina Paul

20th October 2018

Very good service and good staff. They also give excellent online rates!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

C m

19th October 2018

No problems arrived on time

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Declan jordan

19th October 2018

Annoyed that I checked the box for collection but it still went through for delivery! Called them first thing the next morning and they’ve said that can’t change it and it’ll be with me before 1pm on Monday! I said that I fly out on Tuesday and do not wish to risk not receiving my money and said that there is nothing she can do! Really annoying as you’d think it would be easy to cancel the order as it clearly hasn’t been dispatched! So now I have to risk the money not turning up before I fly out. Repeatedly suggested if I’m not in I can collect the next day even though I said I will be in another country by then! Poor service will stick to the post office or John Lewis from now on

  • I ordered £750 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Beverley

4th October 2018

I never go anywhere else. Polite staff,always the best rate and if the rate in store is lower than the one on line just tell them and you get it at the higher rate. Most importantly Debenhams are usually in the top three on any comparison site for the best rate . Plus you get a five pound voucher off if you spend £20 in store. No brainier

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Desmond

3rd October 2018

Use this service 3 or 4 times each year (after comparing with other companies). Have always found exchange to be very competitive. Have never had a problem getting what I wanted. Staff extremely helpful Late on a Saturday afternoon, without having placed an order, went to get some euros and asked if they had Norwegian kroner and got both almost immediately. Great service, as always

  • I ordered £400 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Peter Jones

20th September 2018

Purchased Euros in store.Store matched earlier online price .I requested 20&10 Euro notes which were given to me.Best rate is for Debenhams Card Holders,plus we had a £5 voucher for use I store.(has to be used on the day).

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Christopher booth

20th September 2018

Arrived on time. Wasn’t happy receiving so many 50 Euro notes. Ordered £800 was given 15 x 50 Euro notes. Will think twice about using this service again.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Brallan the Bear

19th September 2018

Ordered £500 of euros online on a Monday delivered next day Tuesday morning, no fee no charge, very good service and a very good exchange rate at the time, no complaints, will use again if rates are ok.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Unhappy

5th September 2018

Very poor experience at Milton Keynes ordered money on line, turned up on day of collection sorry staff sick and no euros come back in 3 hours. This is not easy when disabled due to cancer. Turn up next day shut for an hour and 15 mins for lunch. Very poor service and they still have my money. They have email address and mobile number why don’t they let you know if there is s problem!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Dianne

30th August 2018

Excellent service. Ordered Wednesday afternoon and delivered to me at home Thursday morning. Well done.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Nigel

27th August 2018

Big banner headlines £5 voucher to spend in store!!! no you don't!!! you only get the voucher if you pick up your travel money in store,Hey ho! another life lesson, once bitten twice shy as they say

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

ryan

25th August 2018

Ordered €1700 yesterday morning and it arrived early today. will use this service again! Only thing I would suggest is more smaller notes instead of the majority of them being €50.

  • I ordered £1700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Amy sheldon

19th August 2018

After phoning their 0344 number and asking to be put through to Redditch store 3 times with phone being put down on handover I got through to a lad who told me he had my request of £1500 Croatian kuna I made the 40 minute journey to collect to get there and he say he only has £700 Fuming with the whole service start to finish

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Marie

7th August 2018

Ordered online and delivered next day. My only criticism is the selection of notes sent, mostly €50 notes! Definitely not a 'mixture of high and low denominations' as stated in the FAQs.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

mark

29th July 2018

got my cash no problems 98000 thai baht

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Michelle Mansfield

29th July 2018

Was too worried to use bank transfer as there's always a greater risk. Debenhams were superb. Paid by debit card and collected the next day with only a minimal difference between them and the best rate requiring a bank transfer. Still a huge benefit ordering online than the comparisons with the high street walk in rate. Also impressed eith the variety of Euro notes provided. Highly recommend.

  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Andy Watts

23rd July 2018

No problems here but some people on here are complaining about being refused or asked for extra ID . Unfortunately this is the law .If you buy currency several times a year you will need to provide the relevant documents to comply with customs compliance. Every bureau should be abiding by these laws

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

E McDowell

19th July 2018

I went to collect money at specified time and they told me it had not even been ordered. They said the person responsible would call me that afternoon. They didn't call. I called that evening after about half an hour on hold who said they couldn't help, but someone would call me back. To cut a long story short, about 5 phone calls later, and over one month later, they still haven't refunded my money and I note there is no complaints line for Debenhams travel money, but I will be finding out what the address is. Please don't go here! I used Sainsbury's instead - great service.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Indonesian Rupiahs
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. Collect your currency from over 100 stores nationwide, or have it delivered to your door.

Visit Website

Travel planning in the future

Posted by Sam Stone on 11th December 2018

The notion of using an assistant to plan travel itineraries, hotels, flights, car hire, even currency exchange, has been around for decades. It’s such a popular solution that a few of the big travel ... read more

Middle East currencies and travel tips

Posted by Graham Morley on 30th November 2018

It’s fair to say that some parts of the middle east for instance Syria, are troubled by conflict at the moment so you may not have it high on your bucket list of places to visit. However, many places i... read more

Your holiday money can make a difference

How to spend your holiday money responsibly was high on the agenda at a World Travel conference in London recently. Responsible Tourism was the buzzword coming from many of the stands. And it was evident... read more

Post Office travel money rates compared

Post Office travel money rates compared with the best and the worst rates available on Compare Holiday Money. I think it’s fair to say that the Post Office has more places to exchange your pound sterling f... read more

How to be a Responsible Tourist

Thanks to social media, people are exploring other sides of the world more than ever. It is wonderful because earth has so much to offer. It becomes bad only when people really treat places and cultures... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.