Debenhams reviews

422 Reviews Average | 3.6

Debenhams

http://finance.debenhams.com/travel-money/

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. Collect your currency from over 100 stores nationwide, or have it delivered to your door.

Write a review

Paul

8 June 2019

Bought US dollars

8 June 2019

We have used Debenhams many times over the years, never any problems.

Will use again in the next few weeks.

Mairead

29 May 2019

Bought £400 worth of Euros

29 May 2019

Arrived at Debenhams Belfast to exchange sterling to euros at 19.50 hours, 10minutes before closing time. A gentleman was receiving currency and I was next to receive service. However, upon arriving I was told "we are closed". I asked why I was not told this when waiting in queue and got the reply "I need to get home." I persisted and eventually the staff member exchanged the sterling. I will not be back to Debenhams after such rudeness and poor customer service

A.Bishton

10 May 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

10 May 2019

Be very careful using this service. Debenham have stopped delivering money to your home but the site allowed you to order with your home address but then defaults to local branch on your confirmation email.

The site also gIves the lower rate not the cardholders rate. Hours on phone but if I cancel they wish to charge me £10.00 first their deceit.

I have used their travel money site many times but never again.

Amanda Lee

4 May 2019

Bought £50 worth of Euros

4 May 2019

Awful service will never go to Debenhams again to exchange money, they wanted to know where i lived my phone number my date of birth address all this out loud with other people waiting in the line so much for data protection, i only wanted £50 worth of euros not a bloody mortgage. Didn't want to give a star at all but had no choice otherwise it wouldn't let me submit the review.

Jim

2 May 2019

Bought £205 worth of Euros

2 May 2019

My intention was not to award any stars to this diabolical of customer service but I wasn't sure if I could not award anything. How I wish I could score minus for the local store in Bolton - Lancashire!! I can honestly say this is the worst service I have ever received!! Very rude, very abrupt, very discourteous, clearly not wanting to be there - why employ people who do not want to do the job?

Gave her 205 Euros, she unceremoniously took it then she said to me that I would get "£74 for that". I had to remind her that I gave her 205 Euros, at which she seemed shocked then reluctantly recounted the money and realised she was wrong. I asked questions but I got very vague responses. I will never use Debenhams again and I wanted to warn people of the terrible service to stay far away. There are many money exchange places around!!

Charmain

27 April 2019

Bought £750.00 worth of Euros

27 April 2019

Looked at rate online for Euro, phoned the travel desk to ask does a card holder get the same rate by coming into store as they would if ordered online - i was told yes Went to store today and the rate offered was different to the night before, i queried it but was told the rate had changed overnight, and that it can change during the day, having not checked online this morning i accepted what i was told and purchased the Euro When i got home i checked the rate online and it had not changed - called the store to be told the store rate differs to online BUT if i had printed off the online rate they would have honoured it !! Crazy !! now i am nearly €15 down - Crazy way to do business no wonder they are in the mess they are in - Also told if i go back in tomorrow they may be able to help me - who will pay the car park costs and my time oh that will be me i guess - more expense

Amanda

11 April 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

11 April 2019

Ordered €500 online to be picked up at local store. Money deducted straight away. By next day still no email confirmation, needed to not only confirm but pick up order. Spent ages trying get through automated customer service. Finally spoke to somebody who said no record of me or my order. And to contact head office via email. Did immediately got automated response till next day then only will pass message on reply. Forget it. Got on to my bank had transaction stopped/returned. Took another hour of my time as of course lot of procedure. Another day later lo and behold got email from Debenhams saying found order and to pick up. Replied that I have had it cancelled. Never again. Whilst iorder may have eventually been found and processed, in this day and age with scams was too much of a risk waiting around believing no trace before reporting to bank.

Graham

27 March 2019

Bought £600 worth of Euros

27 March 2019

Good rate for these turbulent times on the markets. Debenhams Silverburn staff were pleasant and helpful. Great convenient way to obtain foreign exchange

M Duffield

24 March 2019

My currency arrived on time

24 March 2019

Good Got my Euros within 24 hours.

Aisling

20 March 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

20 March 2019

NEVER AGAIN! Ordered £500 worth of Euros online - got a confirmation email and money was taken straight away. Went in to collect my money the next day and was told they'd run out of Euro and shouldn't have taken my money. 19 days and many frantic phonecalls later I finally got my refund - a far cry from the "10 working days" I was promised when they shouldn't have taken my money in the first place!! Down £1000 and I had to go somewhere else to get my Euro for my holiday - would never use them again and I'd urge anyone else against it too. Worst customer service I've ever received!

Write a review of Debenhams

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?