Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.7 / 5

Based on 202 reviews Write Review

7th December 2016

Travelled to white rose from Halifax with an internet voucher from that morning with a rate of 17.1 Euro to the pound. The cashier refused to honour this saying it wasn't live. I wanted £2000 changing & my daughter had £500 Total wasted journey

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th November 2016

Lovely staff, very friendly. I went in for a currency and the girl put an order through for me, it arrived in no time and I was guaranteed the best they could do. Will always come for my money here!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Chinese Yuan
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th November 2016

Went into Debenhams today after looking at what everyone else was offering and got 1.10 euros per £1. Better than what I had seen on the internet before I left the house. Thanks Debenhams Clapham Junction you did it again - good exchange rate

  • I ordered ££400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd November 2016

I went to get swiss francs in Woking but nothing in stock

  • I ordered £500 worth of Swiss Francs
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th October 2016

On compareholidaymoney the rate for £500 was 546 euros. When I went to collect they said they would only give 545 because their lowest denomination was 5 euros, they don't have coins ?? Bad show

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2016

I have used the Debenhams exchange a few times now being a store card holder.I just look on line and if its a decent rate just take a picture on my phone of the statement . The cashiers are always polite and give the expected rate. I Always manage to spend my voucher too.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th October 2016

I ordered US Dollars over the phone. Rate was confirmed and held for me to collect next day to suit me. Everything went very smoothly and people I deal with were professional and friendly. Recommended

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th September 2016

Ordered online and picked up couple hours later at the Trafford Centre outstanding rate and service

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th September 2016

Ordered online,quote was honoured when I produced a copy of the rate for which I had expected earlier in the day.Wife was happy as we had a store card,and had a five pound voucher to spend in the Store.There was a minimum buy of 20 pounds,but hat was no problem,and the the voucher was valid on the day only.

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th September 2016

poor rate isnt the same in store and you have to sign up for a store card ! you get better rates elsewhere so unless your desperate dont bother

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th September 2016

Bought €230 euros. The rate to the £ in store was less than it was on the internet that morning but the cashier matched the price as I had saved the quotation on my phone.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th September 2016

We ordered our euro's yesterday morning on line, and went to collect them an hour later at our nearest Debenhams. The cashier was polite and gave us the rate that we ordered. We did not have to queue which was great.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th September 2016

Exceptional service from Leicester Debenhams. Thank you. Used Debenhams own card and received better exchange rate plus £5 voucher to use on the day.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th September 2016

can,t get to c were stores r to collect

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th September 2016

Printed off form for exchange £500 into Euro;s ..Went to our Local Debenhams Hanley Stoke on Trent ...Got what it said on form + £5 voucher Served by a very pleasant young lady ..Very Good ..Thank You ..

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd September 2016

printed off the form on line and 1 hour later picked up my money from the local Debenhams store. Got the rate shown on the form and not the one on the board plus a voucher . Easy.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th August 2016

We ordered £2300 pounds worth of euro's on line. We then went down to our local Debenhams in Wrexham and handed them the printed sheet with the on line exchange rate printed on it . The exchange rate was lower instore but we had the better exchange rate and a £5 pound voucher. excellent service.

  • I ordered £2300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th August 2016

I had been tracking the rate comparison sites and headed into Debenhams in Bromley to buy my Euros on the day of our holiday, whilst their rate was good. On arrival, there was a long queue as the staff behind the kiosk counter were doing a stocktake. It was around 11.30am. After about 15-20 minutes I had made the front of the queue and requested my currency (£600 worth). I was immediately given a slightly lower rate than was advertised online so I questioned why this was and I was advised that I had to tell them that I had seen the Debenhams' rate online in order to be given that rate. Very shadey if you ask me, as there is no mention of this online and you have to always collect in store with Debenhams Foreign Exchange, so surely their online (collection only) rate IS their ONLY rate? Anyway, I bought my Euros and headed away, only to overhear and now to witness online, that I should have been given a £5 voucher to use in store, with any £20 purchase. Perhaps inpreferential treatment as I had questioned the rate? Perhaps. Not kind Debenhams, must try harder.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th August 2016

all good , easy to collect

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th August 2016

Comparison website showed Debenhams to be a very good rate .....2nd in the long list and lots of Debenhams shops to collect from. Printed my voucher off, and travelled to the Luton store in the shopping mall, where there was no queue and got the superb rate quoted on the web for my £400 spend. Added bonus was the £5 voucher off £20 in store spend, valid till end of month, (2 weeks) and received 2 free coffee vouchers ( must be worth about £4 at least). Pay by debit card to avoid 1.5% credit card charges. So great service and great rate. Can't see why you would go anywhere else with so many stores across the country !

  • I ordered £400 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th August 2016

Went to debenhams merryhill. Was served by a very pleasant lady, can't remember name but had short brown hair. Very chatty and polite. Due to me waiting she apologised and gave me a coffee voucher. Had printed off the voucher which was accepted and gave her my I.d. She asked me what note value I wanted and she gave me exactly what I asked for. Although their was a queue it went down quickly. I would definite recommend and use again, even though I had to travel there. I didn't use my free voucher due to work commitments.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th August 2016

Ordered 300.00 online. Was in store 15mins later to buy and got exactly what it said on the print out... am about to use this system again. Didnt get large denomination notes as they were busy and sold out... but doesnt really matter.. its all spendable!

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th August 2016

Called ahead and was told rate was @ 1.14/ cardholders 1.15. Explained that website stating 1.16. Not an issue asked to verify and was given the rate when visited the money booth in Silverburn. Service was OK felt that advisor could have been a bit more pleasanter. Overall would visit again

  • I ordered £1200... worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th August 2016

Excellent rate. Good service and a free coffee!

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

31st July 2016

Barrow travel bureau was excellent went in was served by Sandra and a new girl who was been trained Mandy both customer service was excellent a real interest in my custom

  • I ordered £10000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store with purchase plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. COLLECTION ONLY: Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

Posted by Matthew Weston on 9th December 2016

After what has been a year of uncertainty for Britain and the pound, it is slowly making improvements in the markets. With this and the continued decline of the Euro, the exchange rate is looking better for Bri read more

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more