Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.7 / 5

Based on 222 reviews Write Review

18th April 2017

I have used Debenhams money before, just go to my local store and get it without having to order, if a reasonable amount. The young lady who serves is always pleasant and helpful. My Santander debit card would not allow more than the £300 .... she told me it is the only debit card that treats getting your currency as obtaining your cash from the machines and the limit applies, Also a slightly better rate if you have a Debenhams account , and I was given a £5 voucher to use instore on that day only if I spent £20.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

15th April 2017

collected 100 euros, excellent service, rate was as expected.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th March 2017

Used Travel Money at Debenhams, Gloucester yet again and the service was immaculate, the rate shown on internet was honoured (indeed a little better than shown) and was given a choice of notes. Speedy, efficient and courteous service. Well done Gloucester!!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd March 2017

Bought Euros today from the Aberdeen branch. I was told they needed my passport or driving licence to buy currency; the only place I've been to where this is the case. When I queried this I was told that I should go elsewhere if not happy. The bundle of joy that served me, Grant, really ought to brush up on his customer service skills. I had intended to get some stuff in Debenhams for my trip but decided against it after having to deal with this member of staff. I certainly will not use Debenhams again for anything.

  • I ordered £620 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th March 2017

Sarah, the lady in the booth in Bedford was so rude to me as I tried to purchase my euros, she was not helpful when I showed her the rate I printed off from online as she refused it even though it clearly says on the website you can get that rate in store. To top it off I didn't get my £5 off voucher either. Ridiculous.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th March 2017

Checked exchange rate through compareholidaymoney this morning, avoided lunch time, popped in same afternoon, got the rate I expected and Karen in Uxbridge couldn't have been more helpful if she'd tried. Purchased here last year without the compareholidaymoney discount and was equally impressed. No complaints whatsoever!

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th March 2017

I previously purchased euros from Debenhams in October 2016 without any problems. However, I have just tried to purchase from them again without success. Having checked online this morning and being quoted rates of 1.14255 or 1.143693 for Debenhams Cardholders, I printed off the voucher as per the instructions and took it to the cashier in the Birmingham Bullring store within 2 hours. I was immediately told that the 1.143693 was not available and quoted 1.137. I expressed my disbelief at this as I had followed the online instructions and realise that rates change daily, but the lady was adamant that the rate was not available. As there is no option to order the currency online, I eventually agreed to proceed with the 1.137 rate. Upon then presenting my Santander debit card, I was then advised that for Santander cards only, there was a maximum of £300. Again this was not the case when I used the same card to purchase a similar amount of currency back in October 2016. Nor is this stated anywhere on the voucher I printed. The assistant attempted to process the transaction anyway, but the card was declined. Needless to say I was very unsatisfied with the customer service I received and have since purchased my currency elsewhere. I doubt that I will attempt to use Debenhams again after such a poor and ridiculous process.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th February 2017

WE have used Debenhams a few times and found them to be very helpful and we have actually received a higher rate than stated on line The only down side is three times we have visited we have had to wait as on lunch break even thou we visit at different times .

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd February 2017

Ridiculous system. They don't take currency exchange orders online or by phone. I phoned to ask them to have money available for me when I visit the store but was told they do not have the currency available and that I would have to make the journey in to order and then return to collect. Double the costs and travel time. Poor Show Debenhams. I'm not likely to use you in the future and will post this to fb friends too.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th February 2017

I purchase my currency at the store in Bradford. The lady at the counter was friendly and very knowledgeable when asked about future transaction for other currencies. I didn't have to pre-order the money either as they keep this amount in store. There rate was the best for the high street providers

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th January 2017

always have to wait in the Debenhams in Guildford, not always manned - shame because rate are pretty competitive and on other occasions other more exotic currencies are never in stock on a daily basis

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th January 2017

With some trepidation I took my voucher to the Plymouth store on 06/01/2017 and asked the gentlemen at the desk if he would honour the rate given that morning albeit I knew that he could say that the rate had changed as per the T&C on the website. I also showed him my Debenhams Credit Card and he gave the rate quoted on a £500 exchange. This gave me quite a saving on what was being offered in Plymouth today. Had I been dissatisfied with the rate I could have walked away as no money had been taken 'up front'. I will certainly use this system again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th January 2017

Looked online to see exchange rate and took the printout with me. Cashier told me the amount for my exchange which was less than on the printout.I questioned this and was told that was the rate from 8.30 that morning although I looked it up later than that time.Why can you have the rate which is shown on the printout in some Debenhams Stores and not others.All customers should be treated equally. As I hold a Debenhams Card I did have the £5 voucher which was of less value due to the fact I didn't receive the exchange rate I showed the cashier. Very unfair.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th January 2017

I have often bought my euros from Debenhams and will carry on doing so. I have never had any problems and there is always a good service

  • I ordered £various worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

18th December 2016

Never honour the rate stated, when you arrive In store. This has happened many times. Staff most rude and unprofessional. Only place that wants a passport to collect currency! Would not remove personal details of this after purchase. Had junk mail since and scam calls. Did not give voucher to both parties. Will never go to Debenhams ever again can get the CORRECT rates elsewhere! AVOID......

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

15th December 2016

Collected from Basildon store, staff very helpful they were closing up but re-opened to serve me. Internet rate was honnered £700 at 1.1724 the best rate around and I was given a £5.00 voucher for the store.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th December 2016

Got the rate for that morning,which it says in red print. Still the best rate around. Only grumble is ,they asked if I'd take $500 in $5's but they soon ordered at the same rate.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th December 2016

Travelled to white rose from Halifax with an internet voucher from that morning with a rate of 17.1 Euro to the pound. The cashier refused to honour this saying it wasn't live. I wanted £2000 changing & my daughter had £500 Total wasted journey

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th November 2016

Lovely staff, very friendly. I went in for a currency and the girl put an order through for me, it arrived in no time and I was guaranteed the best they could do. Will always come for my money here!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Chinese Yuan
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th November 2016

Went into Debenhams today after looking at what everyone else was offering and got 1.10 euros per £1. Better than what I had seen on the internet before I left the house. Thanks Debenhams Clapham Junction you did it again - good exchange rate

  • I ordered ££400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd November 2016

I went to get swiss francs in Woking but nothing in stock

  • I ordered £500 worth of Swiss Francs
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th October 2016

On compareholidaymoney the rate for £500 was 546 euros. When I went to collect they said they would only give 545 because their lowest denomination was 5 euros, they don't have coins ?? Bad show

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2016

I have used the Debenhams exchange a few times now being a store card holder.I just look on line and if its a decent rate just take a picture on my phone of the statement . The cashiers are always polite and give the expected rate. I Always manage to spend my voucher too.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th October 2016

I ordered US Dollars over the phone. Rate was confirmed and held for me to collect next day to suit me. Everything went very smoothly and people I deal with were professional and friendly. Recommended

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th September 2016

Ordered online and picked up couple hours later at the Trafford Centre outstanding rate and service

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Were you paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. COLLECTION ONLY: from 99 stores nationwide. Debenhams do not provide a delivery service.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Theatres Around the Globe

Theatres Around the Globe

Posted by Holly Burgess on 20th April 2017

  Art is a universal form of communication which can be appreciated by anyone, no matter where you are. When I find myself sat in the audience of a theatre, it is not just the performance I admire. The ar read more

Beach Breaks on a Budget: Bulgaria ranked Europe’s Cheapest Destination

Beach Breaks on a Budget: Bulgaria ranked Europe’s Cheapest Destination

Posted by Matthew Weston on 16th April 2017

Bulgaria has slashed the costs of staying its country, making it the cheapest destination to go on holiday in 2017. The Post Office’s Holiday Costs Barometer works out the costs of items in certain reso read more