Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 376 reviews Write Review

Beverley

4th October 2018

I never go anywhere else. Polite staff,always the best rate and if the rate in store is lower than the one on line just tell them and you get it at the higher rate. Most importantly Debenhams are usually in the top three on any comparison site for the best rate . Plus you get a five pound voucher off if you spend £20 in store. No brainier

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Desmond

3rd October 2018

Use this service 3 or 4 times each year (after comparing with other companies). Have always found exchange to be very competitive. Have never had a problem getting what I wanted. Staff extremely helpful Late on a Saturday afternoon, without having placed an order, went to get some euros and asked if they had Norwegian kroner and got both almost immediately. Great service, as always

  • I ordered £400 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Peter Jones

20th September 2018

Purchased Euros in store.Store matched earlier online price .I requested 20&10 Euro notes which were given to me.Best rate is for Debenhams Card Holders,plus we had a £5 voucher for use I store.(has to be used on the day).

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Christopher booth

20th September 2018

Arrived on time. Wasn’t happy receiving so many 50 Euro notes. Ordered £800 was given 15 x 50 Euro notes. Will think twice about using this service again.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Brallan the Bear

19th September 2018

Ordered £500 of euros online on a Monday delivered next day Tuesday morning, no fee no charge, very good service and a very good exchange rate at the time, no complaints, will use again if rates are ok.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Unhappy

5th September 2018

Very poor experience at Milton Keynes ordered money on line, turned up on day of collection sorry staff sick and no euros come back in 3 hours. This is not easy when disabled due to cancer. Turn up next day shut for an hour and 15 mins for lunch. Very poor service and they still have my money. They have email address and mobile number why don’t they let you know if there is s problem!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Dianne

30th August 2018

Excellent service. Ordered Wednesday afternoon and delivered to me at home Thursday morning. Well done.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Nigel

27th August 2018

Big banner headlines £5 voucher to spend in store!!! no you don't!!! you only get the voucher if you pick up your travel money in store,Hey ho! another life lesson, once bitten twice shy as they say

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

ryan

25th August 2018

Ordered €1700 yesterday morning and it arrived early today. will use this service again! Only thing I would suggest is more smaller notes instead of the majority of them being €50.

  • I ordered £1700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Amy sheldon

19th August 2018

After phoning their 0344 number and asking to be put through to Redditch store 3 times with phone being put down on handover I got through to a lad who told me he had my request of £1500 Croatian kuna I made the 40 minute journey to collect to get there and he say he only has £700 Fuming with the whole service start to finish

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Marie

7th August 2018

Ordered online and delivered next day. My only criticism is the selection of notes sent, mostly €50 notes! Definitely not a 'mixture of high and low denominations' as stated in the FAQs.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

mark

29th July 2018

got my cash no problems 98000 thai baht

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Michelle Mansfield

29th July 2018

Was too worried to use bank transfer as there's always a greater risk. Debenhams were superb. Paid by debit card and collected the next day with only a minimal difference between them and the best rate requiring a bank transfer. Still a huge benefit ordering online than the comparisons with the high street walk in rate. Also impressed eith the variety of Euro notes provided. Highly recommend.

  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Andy Watts

23rd July 2018

No problems here but some people on here are complaining about being refused or asked for extra ID . Unfortunately this is the law .If you buy currency several times a year you will need to provide the relevant documents to comply with customs compliance. Every bureau should be abiding by these laws

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

E McDowell

19th July 2018

I went to collect money at specified time and they told me it had not even been ordered. They said the person responsible would call me that afternoon. They didn't call. I called that evening after about half an hour on hold who said they couldn't help, but someone would call me back. To cut a long story short, about 5 phone calls later, and over one month later, they still haven't refunded my money and I note there is no complaints line for Debenhams travel money, but I will be finding out what the address is. Please don't go here! I used Sainsbury's instead - great service.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Indonesian Rupiahs
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Eunice

19th July 2018

Thank you for your prompt response to questions about your service and also how prompt the money was received. You did everything as you promised. Would use the service again. A quick and easy way to exchange currency. I was impressed. Thank you.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Lesley

19th July 2018

Fabulous service. I have never ordered online before as have always been reluctant. No need to worry as it all went very smoothly, and I got a really good rate.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Ange

3rd July 2018

Have always been very impressed with Debenhams until today. I went to purchase Euro’s and was advised that as I have purchased over £4000 over the last 12 months I have to provide extra security, I need to be able to prove where my funds have come from and provide extra documentation. So much for data protection and customer loyalty!!! Those are obviously overridden if you have a couple of holidays a year. Was made to feel like a criminal and will not return!!!

  • I ordered £910 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

T

29th June 2018

Awful, specified a delivery date to be told I could pickup at 2pm or later which is not exactly helpful as I start early on the weekends to get tasks done. Requested cancellation after finding how difficult it was to get there at this time and was charged a £10 cancellation fee. Avoid IMO.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Brian

25th June 2018

Online Order was declined. Reason... I had spent too much money with them in a 12 month period. They have a max limit of 4k or so i was told by customer services. How bizarre. Punished for being a repeat customer.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Ross Brady

23rd June 2018

Currency delivered with 48 hours before time given. Everything spot on would defo use again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sheila Archibald

21st June 2018

Fantastic service tonight from Sarah at Travel Money desk in Gateshead Metrocentre. She could see we were flustered as left til last minute. She was super efficient and friendly. A real asset to the business. Well done and thanks again Sarah!

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Anony

17th June 2018

Excellent and speedy service highly recommend

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Lymn

16th June 2018

Been checking Euro rate online all week and finally on Debenhams site yesterday the rate increased substantially to 1.125. I called in at my local store to find a notice on the exchange window stating that the Euro rate is 1.114! I checked the rate online whilst in store and it had risen to 1.129! I showed the cashier my phone and they gave me the higher rate. I was a little concerned that other customers may not check this prior to Purchasing and would therefore be out of pocket. I visited the store again today and the same sign was displayed stating 1.114 but online was 1.128. Word of warning... check online before purchasing and challenge the cashier!

  • I ordered £3000 worth of Euros

I Soni

8th June 2018

Fantastic experience - delivered on time and a good selection of notes. Thank you

  • I ordered £504 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. Collect your currency from over 100 stores nationwide, or have it delivered to your door.

Visit Website

Fancy a European road trip?

Posted by Sam Stone on 9th October 2018

A road trip is the ultimate way to explore the bewildering beauty of any country. However, after toll charges and rental car fees, petrol costs can be one of the biggest holiday expenses. No one wants... read more

Paying for your Travel Money

Posted by Compare Holiday Money on 8th October 2018

Most UK travel money suppliers allow you to pay for your currency in a number of different ways. The payment method you choose is important because it affects whether or not you pay any extra fees during... read more

How to get better currency rates?

Have you ever bought currency exchange money and think… this is so terrible! Well we’re about to tell you how to get better currency rates and how to not feel like you’ve been ripped... read more

Pawnbrokers and travel money

Pawnbrokers and travel money don’t necessarily fit together on first thoughts, but certainly Ramsdens, H & T Pawnbrokers, Albermarle Bond and The Money Shop are big, well established companies that w... read more

Budget-stretching toll roads

Risking life and limb on foreign high-speed toll roads isn’t the best way to start a relaxing well-earned holiday. It is also an expensive way to burn through your hard-earned budget. In an ideal world, rea... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.