Compare Holiday Money Logo

Debenhams reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 396 reviews Write Review

Waterman

13th February 2019

I found ordering on line very difficult but on the 4th time of trying I managed to get my order excepted. However, by this time the rounding-up of the requested £500 had suddenly changed to rounding- down which of course took the total a fraction below £500 and thus I was charged £6.95 fee. When I complained I was informed that it was not in fact Debenhams I was dealing with but a faceless bank. I travel a lot and always worry about the rounding -up of rates never down. I will not be caught again by Debenhams.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

R. Elliott

12th February 2019

YOU DONT GET A £5 VOUCHER IF YOU ORDER ONLINE AND HAVE YOUR MONEY DELIVERED TO YOU. Very let down by this old fashioned sneaky small print trick from Debenhams. I was one of their credit card/account holders but will review after this experience. Lovely colour ad on the front page of travel money saying free £5 off £20 spend. This tipped the balance for me to order. After phoning to complain when no voucher was included with the money I was told about the small print. More fool me. Don't treat us like this Debenhams. It's underhand. If it was a transparent policy it should be up as a rider right next to the "free" offer. No wonder you're losing customers.

  • I ordered £505 worth of Canadian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Hols21

12th February 2019

Very good, easy to use and helpful

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

CJ

8th February 2019

Ordered online before 2pm, Currency arrived well before 1pm next day. Two e mails from Royal mail keeping me informed of progress. Unable to request any denominations of notes, but a sensible mix of brand new notes received. Best rate I could find on the day including free delivery

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sandra

6th February 2019

Absolutely brilliant couldn’t have been easier I bought some aus dollars, the girl was so helpful , I would use them again and again,no problems excellent.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Steve M

31st January 2019

Debenhams had excellent online service! Quick and easy to fill out the request form and pay by debit card. Found it to have the best exchange rate for the amount I needed. Ordered £550 worth of Euros and it was delivered to my home address the next day via Royal Mail Special Delivery before 1pm (you must order before 2pm for next day delivery). If you order less than £500, there's a £6.95 delivery fee, which really eats into your exchange rate, so its best to aim £500+. Only a few other companies had slightly better rates, but you need to buy £700+ to avoid the delivery charges. Was a bit nervous, as in the past I have always played it safe and gone into the supermarket to change money at the counter, but the rates are not nearly as good as online. So this time decided to take a risk... and it paid off! Whatever you do, don't pay by credit card as most banks will hit you with a whopping great fee! So now I can afford an extra few beers by the pool in Portugal!

  • I ordered £550 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Lainey

23rd January 2019

Easy to order, arrived via special delivery, all money there. I was slightly hesitant due to other reviews but can't complain at the service and it was the best rate online.

  • I ordered £506 worth of Polish Zloty
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Imogen

14th January 2019

Abysmal, tried to buy travel money on a Wednesday to pick up Friday morning, nowhere did it mention I could not pick it up until after 2pm (too late for me to pick up) until I got the email confirmation of my payment. Rang up the helpline was told I had to ring back on Thursday morning to see if the bureau had enough Euros. They apparently didn't have enough to fulfil my order. The young man informed me blithely I could always get some in store as they would have enough in store. I wasn't impressed and said I wanted to cancel and he said if I waited a week the order would be sent back to head office and I would get a full refund. Today over a week later I get a phone call asking why I haven't picked up my money and I explain the situation to be told I will have to pay £10 to get my money back. I will never use Debenhams for travel money again.

  • I ordered £275 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Deborah

10th January 2019

I had always brought from Debenhams but my last order was 50€ short and they said they would investigate after 5 phone calls iwas going on holiday they said it would be sorted by the time I returned and they would send me a letter never received anything from them or my 50€ . So I would say do not use as is anything wrong they don't care.

  • I ordered £1150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

DT

22nd December 2018

Do not use!!!!! Many other currency providers out there! They could not provide full currency so receipt with what they sent said change would be provided however full amount was taken from bank account. When queried I have to send screen shots of all receipts/order/info Poor poor poor Debenhams - never again!!!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Lesley

16th November 2018

No option to choose denomination of notes, but otherwise excellent service.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Angela

11th November 2018

Never again with Debenham, should listen to reviews as poor customer service and reliability. Placed an order Tuesday for Croatian Kunas as was travelling Saturday early morning - manager assured me in person delivery will be in by Friday for collection, had a phone call Friday AM to say to confirm, went to collect 4.30 pm but was told half hour later - sorry delivery never arrived and no kunas available - was not pleased as I ended up having no money for my travel the next day

  • I ordered £550 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Kristie Williams

10th November 2018

My experience of buying and receiving the travel money from Debenhams was great. The rate was the best I could find online and the transaction itself was very easy and the cash came quickly, with free delivery as I had ordered above a certain amount with ordering for friends also. I was then left feeling deflated a few days later when I looked at my statement to find that I had been charged an extra £29.86 for a "card transaction fee" by my card provider for some reason. I will admit that just before clicking buy, there was a message to say you may be charged by your provider but I did ignore it as I have never been charged for anything like that before so essentially I know it is my fault but I just wanted to make people aware really that this can happen and now I haven't had the best rate for travel money as I thought I did. I will just go to the local post office and pay the cash in future to save any unwanted fees. So please be aware when ordering that it may end up costing you a lot more to buy your travel money through Debenhams online because although there is a message to say you MAY be charged, it still isn't very clear and there should be a list of banks/card operators who do charge. Debenhams I feel, only do the minimum required to advise of this in my opinion and should be looking after their customers better.

  • I ordered £2400 worth of Polish Zloty
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Iain M

5th November 2018

Got Indonesian Rph, better rate than my usual supermarket supplier and could pick up within a couple of days from store. Was there when they said it was. Can’t fault them

  • I ordered £450 worth of Indonesian Rupiahs
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Stella

2nd November 2018

Checked on line rate before going into a store, told cashier what online rate I found. The fact I mentioned I’d checked rate on line they were able to match current online rate. If you don’t mention you don’t get. Got better rate using my Debenhams card & received a £5 voucher to spend on something to value of £20 or over. Very impressed & would certainly recommend Debenhams service to anyone.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Sally

25th October 2018

I ordered £650.00 of euros before the cut off time and they were delivered the very next day via special delivery. The exchange rate was the best I could find (apart from going to companies i’d never heard of and would not trust). I agree with other comments about the large amount of €50.00 euros given as I got given the following for my £650.00. €50 x 11 €20 x 7 €10 x 3 €5 x 2 I think they should have given more of the smaller denominations. (Also I got no FREE £5 voucher)

  • I ordered £650.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

A N

24th October 2018

served by Rebecca i received a first class service and exchange rate

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Selina Paul

20th October 2018

Very good service and good staff. They also give excellent online rates!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

C m

19th October 2018

No problems arrived on time

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Declan jordan

19th October 2018

Annoyed that I checked the box for collection but it still went through for delivery! Called them first thing the next morning and they’ve said that can’t change it and it’ll be with me before 1pm on Monday! I said that I fly out on Tuesday and do not wish to risk not receiving my money and said that there is nothing she can do! Really annoying as you’d think it would be easy to cancel the order as it clearly hasn’t been dispatched! So now I have to risk the money not turning up before I fly out. Repeatedly suggested if I’m not in I can collect the next day even though I said I will be in another country by then! Poor service will stick to the post office or John Lewis from now on

  • I ordered £750 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Beverley

4th October 2018

I never go anywhere else. Polite staff,always the best rate and if the rate in store is lower than the one on line just tell them and you get it at the higher rate. Most importantly Debenhams are usually in the top three on any comparison site for the best rate . Plus you get a five pound voucher off if you spend £20 in store. No brainier

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Desmond

3rd October 2018

Use this service 3 or 4 times each year (after comparing with other companies). Have always found exchange to be very competitive. Have never had a problem getting what I wanted. Staff extremely helpful Late on a Saturday afternoon, without having placed an order, went to get some euros and asked if they had Norwegian kroner and got both almost immediately. Great service, as always

  • I ordered £400 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Peter Jones

20th September 2018

Purchased Euros in store.Store matched earlier online price .I requested 20&10 Euro notes which were given to me.Best rate is for Debenhams Card Holders,plus we had a £5 voucher for use I store.(has to be used on the day).

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others

Christopher booth

20th September 2018

Arrived on time. Wasn’t happy receiving so many 50 Euro notes. Ordered £800 was given 15 x 50 Euro notes. Will think twice about using this service again.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Debenhams to others

Brallan the Bear

19th September 2018

Ordered £500 of euros online on a Monday delivered next day Tuesday morning, no fee no charge, very good service and a very good exchange rate at the time, no complaints, will use again if rates are ok.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Debenhams to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Debenhams

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Debenhams to others?Yes No

FREE £5 off £20 spend voucher in store plus preferential rates for Debenhams Cardholders. Extra 20% free when you load your leftover currency onto a Debenhams Giftcard. Collect your currency from over 100 stores nationwide, or have it delivered to your door.

Visit Website

Sun and romance

Posted by Sam Stone on 15th February 2019

The climate in the UK in February is not ideal for romance, but there are a few destinations reachable within a few hours which are perfect for declaring your love in the sun. What are the options? With... read more

Travel money: Home or work delivery?

Posted by Graham Morley on 12th February 2019

Thanks to websites like Compare Holiday Money the UK has a booming travel money home delivery market. By offering foreign exchange companies the chance to advertise to a very large market means that as... read more

Donating leftover currency to charity

Have you ever been on a flight and they come down the aisles with a big bag  to collect your small change or unwanted currency for charity? Or you may have been on a flight and been offered ... read more

Mica McNeill bobsleigh team World Cup update

Alongside the main sponsor DHL, Compare Holiday Money is pleased to continue our sponsorship of Mica McNeill’s bobsleigh team which began with their amazing journey to the Olympics last year. They have b... read more

Half-term family ski tips

With so much snow falling recently, Austria seems to be the ideal half term destination for a family ski adventure. But there are a few more alternatives that might be worth exploring to make your money... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2019 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.