Compare Holiday Money Logo

Direct Travel Insurance reviews

Average 2.0 / 5

Based on 6 reviews Write Review

norman

22nd July 2013

Terrible... made a change to policy. Just found out it was never done. Kept on hold for sooooo long! Called asgain, was promised a call back - never happened! Admin nightmare - stay away - can u imagine if this was a claim, not just adding a name... Terrible company

L J B

11th June 2012

Avoid using this company like the plague unless you enjoy constantly having to chase them with phone calls and the very worst in customer service, they have left us distressed and frustrated when trying to return home from the States to the UK after I was taken I\'ll. Please people do yourself a favour and shop elsewhere I really can\'t put into words how poor they are.

Theresa

15th April 2012

I bought insurance for Direct Travel Insurance last year for a holiday. After purchase I sent them an email asking to be removed from their auto-renewal database and received confirmation that I had been. I thankfully never had to use the insurance. Just recently I received a letter telling me my insurance had been automatically renewed (despite confirmation it wouldn\'t be). I had to phone up to request the policy be cancelled and my money refunded. This was easy enough but the fact remains I shouldn\'t have had to because I\'d opted out of the automatic renewal (as per their instructions). If you do buy from Direct Travel Insurance and opt out of auto renewal remember to double check you really have been!

Margaret

31st August 2011

In May 2010 I arrived at Seville airport to find it closed due to volcanic ash all flights that day were cancelled and the forecast was worse for the following day. The Easyjet gave us tickets to Heathrow from Madrid for that evening. Madrid is more than 300 miles away so we had to take a taxi, trains and a metro to catch that evening\'s flight. We landed at Heathrow only 5 hours later than originally scheduled from Seville, but £1,000 out of pocket. After many phone calls, emails, letters and expense we have now been denied all compensation as we took off within 12 hours of the original time. They have ignored my letter asking for the return of receipts and so now we have no way of claiming from our airline. It is all pretty shabby do not expect any satisfaction from them.

Kevin

29th August 2011

I have used Direct Travel Insurance (DTI) for the 5 years now and always received a great service. Due to a pre-existing medical condition I had to call to sort out my insurance, the staff have always been helpful. During our last holiday I needed to seek medical help due to a allergic reaction. DTI were great when we got back, simply printed off the claim form from the website filled it in, sent my recipts and got my money back in less than 3 weeks just minus the £50 excess on the policy. Would definately recommend DTI.

Mr A Turner

28th August 2011

I held annual insurance with Direct Travel Insurance for several years and never made a claim. My daughter then went backpacking in South America, so we took out cover for her. However after having her camera, phone and some money stolen I am no longer satisfied with Direct Travel. Despite these three items being stolen at the same time, under the same police report and incident, she was charged the excess twice! The appalling service company seems to have gone downhill since changing underwriter from AXA to AIG. Look closely at policy; they have included every exclusion possible and use every possible tactic not to pay.

Write a review of Direct Travel Insurance

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Direct Travel Insurance to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Direct Travel Insurance to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Direct Travel Insurance to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Direct Travel Insurance to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Direct Travel Insurance to others?Yes No

Direct Travel Insurance excels on excellent customer service, providing a range of cover to suit all individual budgets and needs. You can be confident in choosing us to insure your trip.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

  • Latest exchange rates delivered monthly to your inbox
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
  • Travel money and holiday articles and information
Travelling light?

Travelling light?

Posted by Sam Stone on 13th April 2018

Travelling light is not just about being careful with your money. Speed and weight are an attractive factor for minimising your luggage. However, the goal posts constantly sift and some airline weight restricti read more

The Things To Do When Traveling

The Things To Do When Traveling

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 9th April 2018

Traveling can be so much fun because you get to try new and tasty food, take photos in each country’s famous spots, and just have fun and be free. But besides all those cool things you get to do, there are a read more