Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Direct Travel Insurance reviews

Poor 2.0 / 5

Based on 6 reviews Write Review

22nd July 2013

Terrible... made a change to policy. Just found out it was never done. Kept on hold for sooooo long! Called asgain, was promised a call back - never happened! Admin nightmare - stay away - can u imagine if this was a claim, not just adding a name... Terrible company

11th June 2012

Avoid using this company like the plague unless you enjoy constantly having to chase them with phone calls and the very worst in customer service, they have left us distressed and frustrated when trying to return home from the States to the UK after I was taken I\'ll. Please people do yourself a favour and shop elsewhere I really can\'t put into words how poor they are.

15th April 2012

I bought insurance for Direct Travel Insurance last year for a holiday. After purchase I sent them an email asking to be removed from their auto-renewal database and received confirmation that I had been. I thankfully never had to use the insurance. Just recently I received a letter telling me my insurance had been automatically renewed (despite confirmation it wouldn\'t be). I had to phone up to request the policy be cancelled and my money refunded. This was easy enough but the fact remains I shouldn\'t have had to because I\'d opted out of the automatic renewal (as per their instructions). If you do buy from Direct Travel Insurance and opt out of auto renewal remember to double check you really have been!

31st August 2011

In May 2010 I arrived at Seville airport to find it closed due to volcanic ash all flights that day were cancelled and the forecast was worse for the following day. The Easyjet gave us tickets to Heathrow from Madrid for that evening. Madrid is more than 300 miles away so we had to take a taxi, trains and a metro to catch that evening\'s flight. We landed at Heathrow only 5 hours later than originally scheduled from Seville, but £1,000 out of pocket. After many phone calls, emails, letters and expense we have now been denied all compensation as we took off within 12 hours of the original time. They have ignored my letter asking for the return of receipts and so now we have no way of claiming from our airline. It is all pretty shabby do not expect any satisfaction from them.

29th August 2011

I have used Direct Travel Insurance (DTI) for the 5 years now and always received a great service. Due to a pre-existing medical condition I had to call to sort out my insurance, the staff have always been helpful. During our last holiday I needed to seek medical help due to a allergic reaction. DTI were great when we got back, simply printed off the claim form from the website filled it in, sent my recipts and got my money back in less than 3 weeks just minus the £50 excess on the policy. Would definately recommend DTI.

28th August 2011

I held annual insurance with Direct Travel Insurance for several years and never made a claim. My daughter then went backpacking in South America, so we took out cover for her. However after having her camera, phone and some money stolen I am no longer satisfied with Direct Travel. Despite these three items being stolen at the same time, under the same police report and incident, she was charged the excess twice! The appalling service company seems to have gone downhill since changing underwriter from AXA to AIG. Look closely at policy; they have included every exclusion possible and use every possible tactic not to pay.

Write a review of Direct Travel Insurance

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Direct Travel Insurance excels on excellent customer service, providing a range of cover to suit all individual budgets and needs. You can be confident in choosing us to insure your trip.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

Posted by Matthew Weston on 9th December 2016

After what has been a year of uncertainty for Britain and the pound, it is slowly making improvements in the markets. With this and the continued decline of the Euro, the exchange rate is looking better for Bri read more

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more