Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Essential Travel reviews

Good 3.0 / 5

Based on 5 reviews Write Review

Graham Hurst

19th November 2013

Not great. Easy taking the money but when I wanted to claim their underwriters were truly incompetent. Still fighting them 6 months later.

Sam Whittle

24th February 2012

I got an annual multi-trip with these guys. Great service and very easy to use+plus they have some nice competitions. No complaints from me.

Annie O\'Clee

20th February 2012

I got a backpacker insurance policy from them. They gave me 10% off and when I was a bit confused and used the pop up comment-on-the-website-type box, they got back to me and made things clear. I work in customer service now and that was good service!

MattTravel

20th February 2012

I bought a Backpackers Travel Insurance Policy from these guys and I must say I was very satisfied with their service. I had no problems getting hold of forms and they were easy to approach through their Twitter account @EssentialTravel when a few of my possessions went missing while on my travels and I needed to ask them questions regarding how to claim from them. I highly recommend them and thank them for the help I received from them when I needed it.

Lisa smith

10th February 2012

I bought a single trip travel insurance from this company and never received any policy documents despite repeated efforts to get them. There was also no access to their website account - so I was left travelling wondering whether I was covered. Not recommended.

Write a review of Essential Travel

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Essential Travel to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Essential Travel to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Essential Travel to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Essential Travel to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Essential Travel to others?Yes No

Essential Travel is one of the UK's leading independent online travel essentials providers. They offer great value travel insurance that is quick and easy to book; alongside all the other extras that will make your holiday safer, cheaper and easier.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Holiday Deals November 2017

Holiday Deals November 2017

Posted by Graham Morley on 14th November 2017

Have you ever visited a Christmas market in Europe? It’s a fantastic experience; a chance to sample a different culture, different sights, wondeful smells from a variety of food sellers and not to mention the read more

Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

Posted by Matthew Weston on 13th November 2017

It’s been a tough couple of months for the British women’s Bobsleigh and Skeleton team. British Bobsleigh announced it was going to withdraw funding for the team just five months before the Winter read more