Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Griffin Financial reviews

Very Good 4.2 / 5

Based on 111 reviews Write Review

Today

I was quite reluctant to send money in an envelope to x firm I didn't know but it all worked out just fine.

  • I sold 500 US Dollars
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

18th November 2016

Would recommend not exchanging with Griffin. I ordered cash from which didn’t arrive. On the day or travel, nothing had been received. I called and was told that they hadn't received my payment. I informed them that the money had gone out of my bank account. They said they would ring me back. When they called back I was informed that you had received the money and a mistake had been made their side. They told me that they could send the money out then (which would obviously have been received too late. They did refund me but during the time since I had ordered the cash the exchange rate had gone down and the whole point of ordering online was so that I saved time in the rush before going away. I wrote to complain about the service and other than an email to say it would be forwarded to a manager, I have received absolutely no other apology or communication (despite chasing). I did a lot of research before exchanging money through Griffin and saw they had good ratings online. I am disappointed by the service.

  • I ordered £650 worth of South African Rand
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th November 2016

Sold my excess Euro's - received my money into my bank account within the time stated and very pleased - no problems at all - excellent to deal with - hope to deal with you again

  • I sold 950 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Reply from Griffin Financial on 15/11/16

Hi Graham,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We really appreciate your feedback.

We hope to hear from you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ellie, Member of the Griffin Financial Team

14th November 2016

Excellent service on buying and selling both completed within four days. Like many people I had reservations but it worked very well for me. I would give a strong recommendation to anyone considering using this company.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Reply from Griffin Financial on 14/11/16

Hi David,

Thank you very much for giving us a 5 star review! We are so pleased to hear that you would recommend our services.

We hope to hear from you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ellie, Member of Griffin Financial

8th November 2016

Absolutely first class service, excellent!! Fast professional & easy to use...will most definitely be using again & will certainly be recommending to family, friends & colleagues. Thanks guys!!

  • I sold 230.00 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd November 2016

Excellent Service. Posted on Saturday Royal Mail special delivery. Received email on Monday saying Received. Money in my bank on Wednesday. Could not fault sent almost £800

  • I sold 935 US Dollars
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

31st October 2016

Very good service, did exactly what they said they would. Could be a bit more informative though - email to confirm receipt of funds, and an email to confirm exchange rates used.

  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th October 2016

Best buy back rate I could find, poor communication, had to email, to check if they were processing the transaction, was paid on the third day at close of business at a better than quoted rate. Due to poor communication from Griffin, I would be hesitant to use them again.

  • I sold 1267 US Dollars
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th October 2016

Excellent communication. I bought 3 currencies, one was not immediately available, they rang and emailed me to let me know so that I had the option to cancel the currency which was delaying the quick transaction. I decided to wait and they all arrived safetly on the Saturday only a day after the 3 day promise.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Barbados Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th October 2016

Like other reviewers I was apprehensive about sending a large amount of cash in the post but it was fine. No problems at all. I got an email when they received the currency and two days later I got another email to say that the money had been paid into my bank account and at a slightly better rate. Excellent service all round and I will use Griffin Financial again.

  • I sold 1100 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

21st September 2016

I was not at all confident in sending over £1100 of currency through the post to a company I didn't know and hadn't heard of, but having read every online review I could find, I decided to go ahead. Apart from the obvious draw in terms of offering by far the best exchange rates anywhere (nearly £100 more than NatWest), they made the entire process very easy. I received a confirmation email when they'd received my online application, another when they'd received my currency and then within two working days, as promised, the money was in my bank.

  • I sold 1330 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th September 2016

All went smoothly apart from me not getting paid within the 3 days promised. Phoned after four days, was promised payment that afternoon. Two days later, still no payment, phoned again and, again was promised same day payment. This time the promise was kept!

  • I sold 6200 Czech Koruna
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th September 2016

Delay in payment. Had to phone and chase. Finally got my money.

  • I ordered £85 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th September 2016

Contact was good but the money delivery was delayed and as such later than requested/promised,

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd August 2016

I found that Griffin Financial did very competitive rates and were very contactable. I had no problem with my transaction and would highly recommend them for all your foreign currency purchases. I will definitely use them again. Don't take too much notice of the negative reviews - it seems that some people are never happy unless they are complaining, it's called 'British-ness' I guess!

  • I ordered £3600 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th August 2016

Money all in order and accounted for. Currency came in assorted fashion which is always handy when travelling. Arrived very promptly and when expected. The package was delivered through Royal Mail Special Service and tracked from the beginning to the end so no need to worry. Will definitely use again. Good communications also.

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Indonesian Rupiahs
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th August 2016

Kept me informed of my Dollars, arrived on the day i wanted them by Royal mail special delivery, was sent tracking number the day before so i could track the progress, would definately use again. I did not specify the notes wanted but got a very good mixture from 1 dollar upto 100 dollars

  • I ordered £1400 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th August 2016

Ordered Hungarian currency and was told it would arrive on Monday. It arrived on Saturday but to the wrong address. For some reason the company gave the wrong address even though it was put correctly on the from. It took us 2 days to track the money down and we had to go and collect it ourselves from the Royal mail delivery office. At first they were reluctant to give it to me owing to the wrong address but did eventually after i had spoken to the people living at the other address and who kindly gave me the ID card left by the postman I managed to retrieve the money also thanks to the lady in the post office who was very helpful.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Hungarian Forints
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th August 2016

Great company. I have just ordered Chinese currency and hong kong dollars. They came when they said they would. The company kept me informed all the way. the exchange rate was very competitive. I could not have asked for a better service.

  • I ordered £650 worth of Chinese Yuan
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd August 2016

Followed there system for 2 lots of currency as we are traving to 2 places called to confirm they had the paymet recuved and got email confirmations of payment then tracking numbers for the delivery which arrived today ontime and the correct amounts . easy service easy to use

  • I ordered £1900 worth of Malaysian Ringgits
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th July 2016

Waited on day currency was expected but it never arrived. Called them and was told they'd call me backin 5-10 mins. Waited 45 mins, never called back. Called again to be told their system wasn't working and they'd call back. Did this time but only to tell me my cash wouldn't be delivered and wouldn't be available until 3 days time. Arranged for it to be delivered to a different address 3 days later and never turned up again. Contacted again to be told it wasn't available and I should have received an email telling me this. Received the email 2 mins after coming off the phone. Currently awaiting refund which hasn't appeared yet. Travelling now with no currency and minus the amount I wanted in my bank account.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th July 2016

Ordered currency - had to keep chasing - two day order agreed - found it would arrive after holiday departure

  • I ordered £650 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th July 2016

Money didn't arrive , quick to take your cash. I had to contact them to get an answer about where my travel money was. Not only am I now inconvenienced but I have also lost money into the bargain. Would under no circumstances use them again or recommend them to anyone else

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd July 2016

First class in every way and the best rate on the market. Ordered mid afternoon and arrived next day at 9.30am. Dealt with a guy called Nick and he was terrific. Highly recommended.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Hungarian Forints
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

10th July 2016

No problems at all, good service, confirmed order, confirmed payment had been received and delivered on the day requested

  • I ordered £700 worth of Hong Kong Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Griffin Financial

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Griffin Financial is a specialist provider of foreign currency based in the South East of England. Operating from their headquarters at Westcliff-on-Sea they provide both a home delivery and click and collect service for holidaymakers and businesses with fantastic rates of exchange and no commission.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Pound Stable against the Euro

Pound Stable against the Euro

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 30th November 2016

For the past two weeks the Pound has been relatively stable against the Euro at around £1 = €1.147 to $1.157. These are still not good rates but the stories we heard about the Pound being at or below parity. read more

Best European City Breaks after the New Year

Best European City Breaks after the New Year

Posted by Matthew Weston on 27th November 2016

  If you were anything like myself you would’ve avoided the internet for most of the weekend to stay away from Black Friday deals. The sales extended more than ever over to the travel industry, with airl read more