Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Griffin Financial reviews

Very Good 4.2 / 5

Based on 117 reviews Write Review

Mark Dicks

7th July 2017

Never previously purchased currency online and the combined payment method and delivery by post was mildly disconcerting. However, I needn't of worried - £2k worth of Euros arrived safely and on the agreed date. Highly recommended and I will never exchange on high street again. The exchange rate could not be matched on high street.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Griffin Financial to others

Paul Bilton

25th April 2017

Have used previously without any problem - once again a trouble free transaction

  • I ordered £ worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Griffin Financial replied

25th April 2017

Hi Paul, Thanks for the 5 star review. Its always good to hear when customers are happy with the service. Regards Nick

Calvin Douglas

29th March 2017

Best price quoted and I was paid within 3 working days as they stated, very happy.

  • I sold 570 US Dollars
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Paul Bilton

10th February 2017

Hassle free transaction - had to ring to alter delivery date very accommodating - always wary when using new site but no need to have worried - will definitely use again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Simon

9th February 2017

I ordered and paid for Bulgarian Lev on the 3rd Feb for delivery on the 8th Feb. I progressed my order on the 9th Feb to discover that their system had not picked up my payment. As I needed the funds for the 10th Feb, I had to cancel the order.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Bulgarian Lev
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Michael

23rd December 2016

Excellent 5 star

  • I sold 1200 US Dollars
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Camila M

6th December 2016

I was quite reluctant to send money in an envelope to x firm I didn't know but it all worked out just fine.

  • I sold 500 US Dollars
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Cath

18th November 2016

Would recommend not exchanging with Griffin. I ordered cash from which didn’t arrive. On the day or travel, nothing had been received. I called and was told that they hadn't received my payment. I informed them that the money had gone out of my bank account. They said they would ring me back. When they called back I was informed that you had received the money and a mistake had been made their side. They told me that they could send the money out then (which would obviously have been received too late. They did refund me but during the time since I had ordered the cash the exchange rate had gone down and the whole point of ordering online was so that I saved time in the rush before going away. I wrote to complain about the service and other than an email to say it would be forwarded to a manager, I have received absolutely no other apology or communication (despite chasing). I did a lot of research before exchanging money through Griffin and saw they had good ratings online. I am disappointed by the service.

  • I ordered £650 worth of South African Rand
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

GRAHAM G

14th November 2016

Sold my excess Euro's - received my money into my bank account within the time stated and very pleased - no problems at all - excellent to deal with - hope to deal with you again

  • I sold 950 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Griffin Financial replied

15th November 2016

Hi Graham,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We really appreciate your feedback.

We hope to hear from you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ellie, Member of the Griffin Financial Team

David Mellor

14th November 2016

Excellent service on buying and selling both completed within four days. Like many people I had reservations but it worked very well for me. I would give a strong recommendation to anyone considering using this company.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Griffin Financial replied

14th November 2016

Hi David,

Thank you very much for giving us a 5 star review! We are so pleased to hear that you would recommend our services.

We hope to hear from you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ellie, Member of Griffin Financial

Victoria Pearson

8th November 2016

Absolutely first class service, excellent!! Fast professional & easy to use...will most definitely be using again & will certainly be recommending to family, friends & colleagues. Thanks guys!!

  • I sold 230.00 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

STE Peplow

3rd November 2016

Excellent Service. Posted on Saturday Royal Mail special delivery. Received email on Monday saying Received. Money in my bank on Wednesday. Could not fault sent almost £800

  • I sold 935 US Dollars
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

John B

31st October 2016

Very good service, did exactly what they said they would. Could be a bit more informative though - email to confirm receipt of funds, and an email to confirm exchange rates used.

  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Steve

20th October 2016

Best buy back rate I could find, poor communication, had to email, to check if they were processing the transaction, was paid on the third day at close of business at a better than quoted rate. Due to poor communication from Griffin, I would be hesitant to use them again.

  • I sold 1267 US Dollars
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Stephen C

16th October 2016

Excellent communication. I bought 3 currencies, one was not immediately available, they rang and emailed me to let me know so that I had the option to cancel the currency which was delaying the quick transaction. I decided to wait and they all arrived safetly on the Saturday only a day after the 3 day promise.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Barbados Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

MM

14th October 2016

Like other reviewers I was apprehensive about sending a large amount of cash in the post but it was fine. No problems at all. I got an email when they received the currency and two days later I got another email to say that the money had been paid into my bank account and at a slightly better rate. Excellent service all round and I will use Griffin Financial again.

  • I sold 1100 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

KMRH

21st September 2016

I was not at all confident in sending over £1100 of currency through the post to a company I didn't know and hadn't heard of, but having read every online review I could find, I decided to go ahead. Apart from the obvious draw in terms of offering by far the best exchange rates anywhere (nearly £100 more than NatWest), they made the entire process very easy. I received a confirmation email when they'd received my online application, another when they'd received my currency and then within two working days, as promised, the money was in my bank.

  • I sold 1330 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

A E Shepherd

9th September 2016

All went smoothly apart from me not getting paid within the 3 days promised. Phoned after four days, was promised payment that afternoon. Two days later, still no payment, phoned again and, again was promised same day payment. This time the promise was kept!

  • I sold 6200 Czech Koruna
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Brian Siems

6th September 2016

Delay in payment. Had to phone and chase. Finally got my money.

  • I ordered £85 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Matt

5th September 2016

Contact was good but the money delivery was delayed and as such later than requested/promised,

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Stephen Worner

23rd August 2016

I found that Griffin Financial did very competitive rates and were very contactable. I had no problem with my transaction and would highly recommend them for all your foreign currency purchases. I will definitely use them again. Don't take too much notice of the negative reviews - it seems that some people are never happy unless they are complaining, it's called 'British-ness' I guess!

  • I ordered £3600 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Brandon Douglas

20th August 2016

Money all in order and accounted for. Currency came in assorted fashion which is always handy when travelling. Arrived very promptly and when expected. The package was delivered through Royal Mail Special Service and tracked from the beginning to the end so no need to worry. Will definitely use again. Good communications also.

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Indonesian Rupiahs
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Anthony Painterhill

17th August 2016

Kept me informed of my Dollars, arrived on the day i wanted them by Royal mail special delivery, was sent tracking number the day before so i could track the progress, would definately use again. I did not specify the notes wanted but got a very good mixture from 1 dollar upto 100 dollars

  • I ordered £1400 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

William

16th August 2016

Ordered Hungarian currency and was told it would arrive on Monday. It arrived on Saturday but to the wrong address. For some reason the company gave the wrong address even though it was put correctly on the from. It took us 2 days to track the money down and we had to go and collect it ourselves from the Royal mail delivery office. At first they were reluctant to give it to me owing to the wrong address but did eventually after i had spoken to the people living at the other address and who kindly gave me the ID card left by the postman I managed to retrieve the money also thanks to the lady in the post office who was very helpful.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Hungarian Forints
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Louise Hedger

5th August 2016

Great company. I have just ordered Chinese currency and hong kong dollars. They came when they said they would. The company kept me informed all the way. the exchange rate was very competitive. I could not have asked for a better service.

  • I ordered £650 worth of Chinese Yuan
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Griffin Financial

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Griffin Financial to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Griffin Financial to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Griffin Financial to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Griffin Financial to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Griffin Financial to others?Yes No

Griffin Financial is a specialist provider of foreign currency based in the South East of England. Operating from their headquarters at Westcliff-on-Sea they provide both a home delivery and click and collect service for holidaymakers and businesses with fantastic rates of exchange and no commission.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Thinking of travelling without insurance? Think again

Thinking of travelling without insurance? Think again

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 21st July 2017

Some people see travel insurance as a waste of money: Frequent traveller’s who complete their journeys without any disruption, or even those who’re going abroad for the first time, and are oblivious read more

Airbnb – How to prevent being scammed

Airbnb – How to prevent being scammed

Posted by Holly Burgess on 18th July 2017

  When it comes to booking accommodation abroad, Airbnb is renowned for its simplicity and personal service. When you have found the perfect room you will be directed to ‘contact the host’ in o read more