ICE PLC reviews

125 Reviews Average | 3.2

ICE PLC

https://www.iceplc.com/

ICE offer free next day delivery on orders over £1000 if ordered before 3pm. Saturday delivery available for 99p. 0% commission and no hidden costs on over 50 currencies and click and collect available from 45 locations nationwide including airport locations for convenience.

Write a review

Colin

19 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

19 August 2019

Used to use my pre paid card a lot . Tried recently and couldn't use it. Long process on the phone to move money out of the account.

Emailed "contact us" several times and no response. Don't use.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Colin, thank you for your review, we are really sorry you have experienced problems with your Clear card. Could you please get in touch by emailing us on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com with your details so that we can get the issues fully investigated. Kind regards, ICE

Catherine

13 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

13 August 2019

Have used this card for cash withdrawls ain Crete, Rhodes, Cyprus and France with no problems. In

However recently in Lanzarote - with new clear card - we were unable to find any fee free ATMs - we drew 2 lots of 250 euros out - Once home we found we'd been charged 277,plus 15.95 purse conversion and then 1.60 Atm fees - each 250 euro cash withdrawl cost us 46 euros ! They had converted our euros back into sterling and then back into euros -despite the card being loaded with euros it was recognised as being a card issued in the UK.

I have to say the customer service was very good and the charges have been refunded within 48 hours - I was told we should only use ATMs with Mastercard symbol - which we did - I was also sent an email informing us of how to avoid DCC fee ( Dynamic currency cnversion fees )-basically - Always choose the currency of the country you are visiting and opt for without conversion

It has however made me reluctant to rely on this card the way we have previously.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Catherine, thank you for your review. When using an ATM abroad, it is advisable to always withdraw choosing the local currency of the country you are visiting to avoid any extra charges and variable exchange fees. Please feel free to get in touch if you require any further assistance. Kind regards - ICE

MWA

13 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

13 August 2019

UNRELIABLE-DO NOT USE IF IT IS YOUR ONLY FORM OF PAYMENT, CUSTOMER SERVICE AND HELP NON EXISTANT

I loaded USD onto my clear ICE card for my holiday and out of 8 attempts, 5 in the hotel and 3 in the airport, it worked twice!

After the failed attempts in the hotel I sent an e-mail marked urgent to the 24/7 (really??) card services area requesting them to look in to it. No reply so I chased it the following day and two days after this I finally got a reply with no answers just asking me to telephone them. This was way too late and by then, fortunately, I’d been able to make other arrangements.

I called them when I returned home from holiday to complain that the card did not work only to be told there had been no failed transactions and my card was working, despite it having been refused at the airport the previous day and my earlier e-mail to them which listed the failures. Upon complaining further I was told a supervisor would call back, this did not happen.

The upshot is, do not expect to be able to use this card and do not expect any help when you cannot. Take some other means of payment otherwise you could be in trouble.

ICE PLC replied

Thank you for your review, we are really sorry you have experienced problems with your Clear card. Could you please get in touch by emailing us on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com with your details so that we can get the issues fully investigated. Once again, apologies for the inconvenience this caused whilst you were away. Kind regards, ICE

Joe Soap

17 July 2019

Bought £200 worth of Euros

17 July 2019

Used ICE for years and always been very happy. Just tried to buy three currencies for trip to Czech Republic, Austria and Hungry. The website does not allow this. I was hoping as I moved through the steps to get the option to buy another currency but no. I ended up paying the £7.50 delivery charge for one currency and going to the bank for the other two rather than paying for 3 deliveries. In this day and age it seems ridiculous that you cannot add to your basket another product. Every other website allows this why not ICE. Poor software.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Joe Thank you for your feedback in regard to our website. At this stage our new website will only allow purchase of one currency per order, The main reason is we have analysed data over a period of time and this was showing that only a small percentage of orders that were being placed were for multiple currencies so at this stage it is not an option to offer this service online, however we do plan to introduce this in the future. If you do require an order of multiple currencies this is a service we can offer by calling us directly on our customer service telephone number and placing the order over the phone which you can obtain the telephone number from our website. Regards ICE

S. Hicks

25 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

25 June 2019

Used the ice card since 2014, great no problems. Tried using the new ice clear card in Portugual, rejected every time. Yes I did do everything they (ice) ask me to. Pin number correct, even used the same supermarket in Portugual that was ok in previous years! Was unable to get through to someone whilst on holiday and no reply to my email. Had to use my credit card. Returning home, contacted them to be told I should check they accepted card! Had 632.97 euros in account, to close account would come out with £532.89!!!! Said I'll withdraw cash from ATM, just rec'd email to confirm that they have transferred monies already. Not impressed at all.......

ICE PLC replied

Thank you for your review, we are really sorry you have experienced problems with your Clear Card. Could you please email us on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com with your details so that we can get the issues fully investigated and see if there is anything we can do for you. Once again, apologies for the inconvenience this caused whilst you were away. Kind regards, ICE

John Hughes

24 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

24 May 2019

I have used the Ice card for several years and it has worked really well. So far, the new card is useless. I used it at ATMs in France in April and I had all sorts of costs that I did not expect. One withdrawal of 200 Euros cost 211.37 plus Purse Currency Conversion Fee of 12.15 and International Conversion Fee of 1.76. My Credit Card would have been cheaper! I spoke to them on May 7 and they agreed that those costs should not have been charged but today, May 24, nothing has happened. After two more phone calls I still await what the 'Disputes Team' decides. It takes ages speaking to someone in Asia and all they can do is pass the information on to the 'Disputes Team'. Don't touch them!

ICE PLC replied

Dear Mr Hughes

We have been in touch with the ICE Clear Card team regarding this who have replied that they will be in touch with you directly regarding this matter. If you have not had any contact with them within the next few days then please contact us on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com and let us know and we will chase the matter up for you.

Kind regards

ICE Customer Services

DeeDee

8 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

8 May 2019

I have used ICE Travellers Prepaid CashCard for several years and it worked very well. Now they have transferred to the ICE Card it has gone to rats. The rate to transfer from the existing GBP on my card into Euros on the same card is lower than if I loaded Euros directly onto the card. Why? Then when I asked about the buyback of paper money left over from my travels, they apparently don't do that anymore. Again why? I was a happy regular user of this service but no longer. I will be looking for a new card.

ICE PLC replied

Hi I am sorry you have expereinced issues with the new ICE Clearcard if you can please email us directly at icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com and we will investigate and get back to you Regards ICE

Raj

1 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

1 May 2019

I have used previous prepaid cash card and was pretty happy. Just last week got the new clear card but a bit worried looking at the reviews as I will be using in Peru for the first time next week. In case anything goes wrong who do we contact, during office hrs and out of office numbers please. Thanks

ICE PLC replied

Hi thanks for your message if you have any concerns whilst away you can call 44 207 649 9404 this is available 24/7 but if you are in the U.K. then the number is 0800 056 0572 Regards ICE

Stephen Fry

3 April 2019

Bought a prepaid multi-currency card

3 April 2019

I was a very happy user of the ICE prepaid currency cards for some years. It was convenient and generally worked. Now I'm stuck with this clear card update which just does not work in any shape, way or form. I'm unable to get into my online account (new card number not recognised). The support email address (cashcard@iceplc.com) is completely unresponsive despite their stated 1 business day response time and my numerous attempts to contact them. The 24/7 'card not working' phone number is not open until 09:00 GMT. I can only hope that this operation is covered by the Financial Ombudsman as I seem to have little other recourse. All I desire is MY money back :(

ICE PLC replied

I am sorry you have experienced these problems. I have replied directly to your personal email address regarding the issues with your ICE Clearcard. Kind Regards ICE

Baker

31 March 2019

My currency did not arrived on time

31 March 2019

I will never use this company again. They ruined our holiday in New York due to an issue on there end not transferring our money. We then called from New York to be told they can’t do anything as the team wasnt in and we would have to wait with no money. Then when we tried to claim the £6.50 back in expenses for calling from New York we were told they had to investigate which I understand. So we sent the evidence and still nearly a year later we are waiting. Use anyone but this company!!!

ICE PLC replied

We are sorry that you have experienced problems which are still unresolved. Could you please email your details to us at icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com and we will look into this urgently for you.

Write a review of ICE PLC

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?