Compare Holiday Money Logo

ICE PLC reviews

Good 3.3 / 5

Based on 117 reviews Write Review

Stephen Fry

3rd April 2019

I was a very happy user of the ICE prepaid currency cards for some years. It was convenient and generally worked. Now I'm stuck with this clear card update which just does not work in any shape, way or form. I'm unable to get into my online account (new card number not recognised). The support email address (cashcard@iceplc.com) is completely unresponsive despite their stated 1 business day response time and my numerous attempts to contact them. The 24/7 'card not working' phone number is not open until 09:00 GMT. I can only hope that this operation is covered by the Financial Ombudsman as I seem to have little other recourse. All I desire is MY money back :(

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

3rd April 2019

I am sorry you have experienced these problems. I have replied directly to your personal email address regarding the issues with your ICE Clearcard. Kind Regards ICE

Baker

31st March 2019

I will never use this company again. They ruined our holiday in New York due to an issue on there end not transferring our money. We then called from New York to be told they can’t do anything as the team wasnt in and we would have to wait with no money. Then when we tried to claim the £6.50 back in expenses for calling from New York we were told they had to investigate which I understand. So we sent the evidence and still nearly a year later we are waiting. Use anyone but this company!!!

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

1st April 2019

We are sorry that you have experienced problems which are still unresolved. Could you please email your details to us at icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com and we will look into this urgently for you.

Macgill

18th March 2019

Having read some of the reviews I thought I would add my own view regarding the pre paid travel card. Other than having frequent problems topping up the card I have found this card good (not the best rate but it works). A few years ago when on business in Europe I went to get cash out and was informed by the cashpoint that I had exceeded my limit! Calling ICE it appeared that my card details had been used in the USA and most of the money used! Thankfully I had means of getting on the internet at the time (and a phone) as this could have been a real nightmare. ICE dealt with this swiftly and refunded my money in double-quick time. When I come to cancel my card I will review again!

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it

ICE PLC replied

18th March 2019

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. We really do appreciate it when customers take the time to do this. We look forward to assisting you on your next trip. Many Thanks, ICE

matthew lewis

28th February 2019

Dreadful service,Iam unable to login to my clear card and am unable to speak to anyone

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

1st March 2019

Dear Mr Lewis, We're sorry your having issues. Please contact the Travel Money team on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com with your name, address and last 4 digits of the card so that we can help get this issue resolved for you. Many Thanks, ICE

Sharon

4th February 2019

No stars!!! Couldn't use my card several times in America. Over a year later someone in America used my info and spent my money, filed a complaint and they said my money had been refunded but then sent my a new travelers card (which btw they are no longer using and I already had my new clear card) I have phoned and emailed till I'm blue in the face!!! I'm sick to the back teeth of it and I want my money!

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

5th February 2019

We apologise you are experiencing issues. please can you email the Travel Money team on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com with your name, address and email address the ICE Travellers Cashcard is registered to and we will get this fully investigated and resolved for you. Many Thanks ICE

Dr John Muhlhaus

24th January 2019

Just over four years ago I got an ICE travellers cashcard and put 200 euros (about £163) on it. I haven’t used it yet but it expires this coming July. On Jan 21st, I got an email purporting to come from ICE saying that my card would be “closed” at midnight and would I log into My Account, and select Buy Back to get my remaining balance (ie, the £163) transferred to a bank account of my choice. No reason was given for the premature card closure. I logged into My Account and saw that the balance was still there, but there was no Buy Back option (Travel Money, Prepaid Card, Click & Collect, Money Transfers, Deals & Offers, Travel Extras, were the only options offered). I tried to send a message to ICE using their web contact form, but the message was rejected; “invalid characters in response”, except that my message used normal text, so what was invalid? I phoned up ICE using the number supplied in the original email and when I mentioned the absence of the Buy Back option in My Account webpage, the receptionist made no comment. She just said, send in an email with the details of my bank account. How dangerous is that? The email address I had to use was a strange one that she had to read out, letter by letter, three times to me. I still don’t know if I got it right! Needless to say, I was not going to send them an open email with my bank details. I tried emailing a response to the original email I’d received on Jan 21st. The reply acknowledged receipt and said my email would be forwarded to the “correct department” who would themselves reply shortly. Worrying about the possibility that ICE were trying to steal my money off my card, I stayed up till midnight that day, but no response came. I sent another email the day after, complaining about their lack of reply and about their suggestion of my sending bank details through an open email. I suggested they post me a cheque with the balance. There has still been no response. In the past, I’ve been able to check my ICE balan

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

5th February 2019

We're sorry your having issues. We can confirm that the email you sent to us on 29th January is being dealt with and somebody will be in touch with you shortly regarding this. Many Thanks ICE

Andrew Kirwan

21st December 2018

Great card, easy to use and top up but wait until you want your money back. Forget the 'transaction will take place at the end of the next working day'. Emails get replied to by automation promising someone will call, no one does. Phone and a lovely lady will tell you she will pass your message to the Transaction Team (does it exist?) then nothing. So make your choice but when eventually my balance is cleared I will be destroying my card.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

8th January 2019

Hi Andrew, please can you contact the Travel Money team directly on callcentre@iceplc.com so that we can get this resolved for you. Many Thanks, ICE

Bart M

7th December 2018

Ice Plc customer for last 4 years. Only one issue so far which was website crashing while trying to top up the card itself. Otherwise brilliant service and decent rates. Can't understand people moanig and complaining on here. I traveled extensively in the US over period of 9 months. Cash withdrawals and payment were easy enough.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Rae

7th November 2018

Im currently in America with no money because the card will not work. Emailed and called to sort the problem only to be told that my account was blocked and they don't know why and to call back during their opening hours as they can't do anything until then. I now have to wait until 01:00 in the morning (13 hours). I cant believe they don't have an emergency number for this! Its a good job my friends have been kind enough to pay for me to eat.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Adrian M

26th October 2018

I have tried to get Buyback several times but ICE is holding onto the money. I first asked on 5th October and on 26th October I am still waiting. Tried emailing and phoning and always told that it will be in my account in 5 days. It's now 21. This appears to be retaining funds falsely.

  • I sold 143 Euros
  • I did not received the amount I was quoted
  • I was not paid within three working days
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

1st November 2018

Hi Adrian, We apologise you are having issues. Please can you contact us directly by emailing callcentre@iceplc.com with the subject compareholiday Review Adrian M, please include your name and address and we will get this issue investigated and resolved urgently. Many Thanks, ICE

Jane

11th October 2018

I have used ICE several times to purchase foreign currency and am always impressed with their service.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of South African Rand
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Julie

31st August 2018

Great...until something goes wrong... can't reset additional card pin by phone. Lady on phone cant help. Can log on line as second cards not showing. Second card we've now found was cancelled LAST YEAR and we weren't informed BUT is STILL showing on my account that I have a second card... emails go unanswered real letters go unanswered and email response following phone complaint came in terrible broken English. Consider alternatives seriously.. as I say when it works it's fine but...

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Dave

27th August 2018

Terrible have forgotten PIN have emailed 3 times asking what to do, all ignored, wrote a proper letter, ignored Useless and I still have money on the card that I need to have access to !

  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Sue Pilkington

24th August 2018

Never any problem with this! Have used the ICE Dollar card for the past 2 years, easy to use, easy to top up! Brilliant.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

24th August 2018

Hi Sue,

Thanks for the great feedback. We hope you have a fantastic trip and look forward to assisting you in the future.

Daren

23rd August 2018

Absolutely Awful. Instructions to activate the card were unclear. Haven't been able to activate the card and they ignore e-mails

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

24th August 2018

We apologise you are having these issues. Please can you email callcentre@iceplc.com with the subject Darren Compareholidaymoney review. Please send it from the email address you have registered with us and include your name and address.

We will then pass your email on to the ICE Travellers Cashcard Management team for a full investigation and resolution

Kind Regards,
Sophie

Dianne

16th August 2018

Ordered monday evening received thursday morning was told it was going to be a day late as they had to order lira in. great customer service

  • I ordered £700 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

16th August 2018

Thank you for the great feedback. We hope you have a fantastic trip and look forward to assisting you in the future.

Greg

5th August 2018

Absolute rip off merchants. Rates that are what you would consider a scam. They don't mention buyback protection until after the purchase when it's no longer applicable. Avoid at all costs in store. Use your debit card, ripped me off over £100. Cost over 900 GBP to get 850 EUR.

  • I ordered £850 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Molly

26th July 2018

If i could give less than 1 star I would. I ordered the dollars pre paid card, which didn't arrive in the 3-5 days it was meant to. 12 days later it finally arrived but i had already left for America and was using a different pre paid card. I then tried to get my money back and got nothing, its been 20 days and i still dont have the £200. I've called and emailed with either no reply or just being told my account is empty.

  • I ordered £200 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Pamela Boyle

19th July 2018

Ordered the card with £500 worth of euros. It has now passed the 3-7 day period they state on their website and the card has not arrived. I travel in 2 days! Have called twice and had to argue thd point that they couldn't buy back the euros from me because they hadn't given them to me to start with. Eventually they agreed to buy back the full amount at the same rate I purchasd them for. Apparently a faster payment is being done and the money will be back in my account tomorrow. Reading these reviews I doubt very much that will happen. I now have very little money to go on holiday with. Don't bother with this company. Total waste of time. My holiday will be ruined if I have no money. I don't have a spare £500.00 just sitting around. :(

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Howard

17th July 2018

When you try to cancel your card and get a refund of your unused money they ignore your emails.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

18th July 2018

Hi Howard, We are really sorry to hear you have had issues with your ICE Travellers Cashcard. Please could you email us at callcentre@iceplc.com with more information we will ensure that this is passed through to our cash card team.

Kind Regards,
Juhel

Joris

16th July 2018

As many of you mentioned before. I also got hit with a 17% handling fee. Outrageous!! £25 for a simple cash withdraw. I did send ICE an email and am waiting for there response.

  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

17th July 2018

Hi Joris

We appreciate your comments and would like to apologise for your disappointment. Can you please let me know at which ICE location your transaction occurred so I can forward it to the relevant department to get in touch with you as soon as possible.

Kind regards,

Juhel

Adrian Priddle

14th July 2018

Asked for buy back on purchasing Luton, on return this cost me £20 in exchange rate difference. It’s one thing having harsh rates it’s another to ignore the customer and stitch them up. Avoid this provider where possible.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Romanian Leu
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

19th July 2018

Hi Adrian,

I am sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. I have spoken to our manager at London Luton Airport about your query and wanted to give you some further information to help us resolve this for you.

At Luton, we offer two options for customers who wish to change their leftover currency on their return: buy back and rate protection guarantee service. With our free buy back service, we exchange our customers’ leftover currency commission free, providing they have their original ICE receipt with them. Buy back does not allow customers to exchange their leftover currency at the same rate they purchased it.

For customers who want to exchange their leftover currency at the same rate they bought it for, we always recommend our Rate Protection Guarantee service, which costs £3.95. This means that we will buy back any leftover currency at the same rate that the currency was purchased and commission free.

If you did pay for our Rate Protection Guarantee, please can you email callcentre@iceplc.com with a copy of your receipt and we will look into this further for you.

Thanks,
Juhel

Simon

11th July 2018

I have ordered a US Dollar Travellers Cashcard from them - shouldn't have done it though. On the website they say the card will be delivered in 3 to 4 days. 9 days later and I still haven't received anything. Called their (appalling) customer service a couple of times, who kept telling me it would arrive the next morning. Still nothing, even though they apparently send it by Royaal Mail First Class? (Why no option for a tracking number??) As my holiday was approaching and a day before travel it still hadn't arrived, I gave them a call that I want my money back in my account. Girl on the phone told me it could be done in 3 hours, but quickly backpaddled that this isn't the case and she never said that. As my top up was more than 7 days ago, it would mean I wouldn't get my initial amount back and it would take more than 3 days. Here's hoping I will actually get it back. Seriously, save yourself trouble and headache and just get one through the Post Office or your own bank!

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

11th July 2018

Hi Simon, thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear you have had issues with your ICE Travellers Cashcard order. If you could email your complaint to us at callcentre@iceplc.com we will ensure that this is passed through to our cash card team. As per our information on www.iceplc.com, all cards are dispatched by 1st class post and should reach you within 3-7 working days of your initial payment being cleared. Unfortunately 1st class post is not a tracked service therefore tracking numbers are not available. Kind Regards ICE

Jean

26th May 2018

I have used this company for holiday cas on numerous occasions and always found them to have an excellent service. I cannot speak for ordering travel card as I alway find it easier to deal with cash.

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of South African Rand
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Jessica Fish

15th May 2018

This company is absolutely disgraceful, ordered a card and it didn’t come in the correct time. 2 emails and 3 phone calls later and they had no idea why. Sent in a claim form to refund the money over a faster payment due to them having a high amount of their money, 3 days later and we still have no refund. I will deffinitly be looking into how we take this further.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of ICE PLC

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No

ICE offer free next day delivery on orders over £1000 if ordered before 3pm. Saturday delivery available for 99p. 0% commission and no hidden costs on over 50 currencies and click and collect available from 45 locations nationwide including airport locations for convenience.

Visit Website

Travel destinations where they speak English (Africa and Southern America)

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 24th April 2019

From our last post, we introduced you to countries around Europe and Asia where they speak practically perfect English nearly everywhere you go. Now, we’re going to explore Africa and Southern America... read more

Bank holiday favourites

Posted by Sam Stone on 19th April 2019

The four day Easter break is the biggest bank holiday weekend of the year for most office workers. An estimated 27 million cars in the UK alone are set to jam our motorways, and airports will be bursting... read more

Breathtaking motorcycle rides across Australia

Australia is one of the most unique places on earth, ranging from unique landscapes and wildlife, all the way to the climate that’s just ideal for motorcycle driving. This is why choosing the travel m... read more

Travel destinations where they speak English (Asia and Europe)

It’s understandable if you get tired of a language barrier on your trips. This is because adapting to new cultures is challenging enough, so don’t worry. There are plenty of countries around... read more

How to prepare for working abroad

Nowadays, living and working abroad appears to be an aspiration for many in their careers. Whether it’s to have a change of lifestyle or roles are in higher demand elsewhere, opting for an international j... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2019 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
For insurance booking, Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.