ICE PLC reviews

129 Reviews Average | 3.2

ICE PLC

https://www.iceplc.com/

ICE offer free next day delivery on orders over £700 if ordered before 3pm. Saturday delivery available for 99p. 0% commission and no hidden costs on over 50 currencies and click and collect available from 25 locations nationwide including airport locations for convenience.

Write a review

Mike Purseglove

7 December 2019

Bought £1,000 worth of Japanese yen

7 December 2019

I ordered Japanese yen yesterday and my cash was delivered early this morning (Saturday which I had not paid extra for). This was also the best rate I found online.

The amounts chosen were well distributed between 1,000, 2,000 and 5,000 yen notes. This is great as Japan is a cash driven society and you need to have flexibility when paying for services and even in restaurants.

Will definitely use again (assuming the rates remain competitive)

ICE PLC replied

Hi Mike,

Thank you very much for your review.

We're delighted to hear you were happy with the rate you received and your currency was delivered promptly. Our team try to give a good mix of denominations so that you have a variety to spend on your holiday.

We look forward so being of service to you in the future and do hope you have a fantastic trip!

Many Thanks,

Lucy

ROBERT TYRER

28 November 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

28 November 2019

With reference to my previous post and the response from ice.Yes i do understand you have a rate of 1.1669 for the euro which is for collection only but you also have a quote of 1.1574 listed on the homepage which is reasonable to assume is the rate you will receive for topping up your clear card online.But when you log on to your card the rate is only 1.1442.This is misleading so i have decided not to continue with this card.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Robert,

I am really sorry to hear you're not going to continue with the card. The rate for the Clear card is shown when clicking on the 'Prepaid Travel Card' option on our home page. The rate shown is offered for new Clear card customers who wish to purchase a Clear card and also for existing customers who wish to top-up their card. If you log into your Clear Card account initially then the rate shown will be the previous rate from the last time you topped up your card. However, if you log onto your ICE Clear card account after you have topped up then it should show that current day's rate for the Euro which will be the same as what is offered on our homepage under 'Prepaid Travel Card'. I hope this explains things a little better and I do hope you will consider using us again in the future. Kind regards, ICE

ROBERT TYRER

27 November 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

27 November 2019

I was attracted to this card because on their homepage the rates for the euro appeared to be good.Today they claim to be offering 1.1517 for the euro which is a competitive rate,but when i log on to top up this card i am only offered 1.1442.The homepage is misleading and if this continues i will cancel the card.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Robert I am sorry for the confusion with our rates for the Euro. The rate showing on the front of our web site page is for the best rate you could get for the Euro on that day across all of our services - today it is 1.1669 if you 'click and collect' from our branch at Waterloo. For an up to the minute rate for the ICE clear card you need to select the clear card option. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this has caused and we will pass your comments to our web team. Kind regards ICE

Kevin Ross

22 October 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

22 October 2019

I have been an ice customer for a number of years, but I am very unhappy with the clear card. It has been debited charges by yourselves over 40 times in less than 3 weeks. Many times the machines spit your card out as it isn't recognised even though I only use machines that claim to recognise Mastercards. I believe it getting ATM charges even when not recognised!!

I have been in Hong Kong, The Philippines, Taiwan and now Japan.

I have seen reports on the internet of other customers of lIce's having similar problems. Ice's card is a real liability, Here in Okinawa the only machine it was recognised in was the airport. In Taipei it was hard to find one, but I could. These costs, and the lack of response from my request for support, only somebody replying saying actually this isn't my team's problem, what a useless reply.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Kevin, Thank you for the review, I am sorry you have had this bad experience and we do believe that the ICE Clearcard team have now been in contact with you and hopefully they have resolved this issue to your satisfaction, however if you do have any further issues please come back to us directly and we will look into this for you? Many Thanks Darren

Colin

19 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

19 August 2019

Used to use my pre paid card a lot . Tried recently and couldn't use it. Long process on the phone to move money out of the account.

Emailed "contact us" several times and no response. Don't use.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Colin, thank you for your review, we are really sorry you have experienced problems with your Clear card. Could you please get in touch by emailing us on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com with your details so that we can get the issues fully investigated. Kind regards, ICE

Catherine

13 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

13 August 2019

Have used this card for cash withdrawls ain Crete, Rhodes, Cyprus and France with no problems. In

However recently in Lanzarote - with new clear card - we were unable to find any fee free ATMs - we drew 2 lots of 250 euros out - Once home we found we'd been charged 277,plus 15.95 purse conversion and then 1.60 Atm fees - each 250 euro cash withdrawl cost us 46 euros ! They had converted our euros back into sterling and then back into euros -despite the card being loaded with euros it was recognised as being a card issued in the UK.

I have to say the customer service was very good and the charges have been refunded within 48 hours - I was told we should only use ATMs with Mastercard symbol - which we did - I was also sent an email informing us of how to avoid DCC fee ( Dynamic currency cnversion fees )-basically - Always choose the currency of the country you are visiting and opt for without conversion

It has however made me reluctant to rely on this card the way we have previously.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Catherine, thank you for your review. When using an ATM abroad, it is advisable to always withdraw choosing the local currency of the country you are visiting to avoid any extra charges and variable exchange fees. Please feel free to get in touch if you require any further assistance. Kind regards - ICE

MWA

13 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

13 August 2019

UNRELIABLE-DO NOT USE IF IT IS YOUR ONLY FORM OF PAYMENT, CUSTOMER SERVICE AND HELP NON EXISTANT

I loaded USD onto my clear ICE card for my holiday and out of 8 attempts, 5 in the hotel and 3 in the airport, it worked twice!

After the failed attempts in the hotel I sent an e-mail marked urgent to the 24/7 (really??) card services area requesting them to look in to it. No reply so I chased it the following day and two days after this I finally got a reply with no answers just asking me to telephone them. This was way too late and by then, fortunately, I’d been able to make other arrangements.

I called them when I returned home from holiday to complain that the card did not work only to be told there had been no failed transactions and my card was working, despite it having been refused at the airport the previous day and my earlier e-mail to them which listed the failures. Upon complaining further I was told a supervisor would call back, this did not happen.

The upshot is, do not expect to be able to use this card and do not expect any help when you cannot. Take some other means of payment otherwise you could be in trouble.

ICE PLC replied

Thank you for your review, we are really sorry you have experienced problems with your Clear card. Could you please get in touch by emailing us on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com with your details so that we can get the issues fully investigated. Once again, apologies for the inconvenience this caused whilst you were away. Kind regards, ICE

Joe Soap

17 July 2019

Bought £200 worth of Euros

17 July 2019

Used ICE for years and always been very happy. Just tried to buy three currencies for trip to Czech Republic, Austria and Hungry. The website does not allow this. I was hoping as I moved through the steps to get the option to buy another currency but no. I ended up paying the £7.50 delivery charge for one currency and going to the bank for the other two rather than paying for 3 deliveries. In this day and age it seems ridiculous that you cannot add to your basket another product. Every other website allows this why not ICE. Poor software.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Joe Thank you for your feedback in regard to our website. At this stage our new website will only allow purchase of one currency per order, The main reason is we have analysed data over a period of time and this was showing that only a small percentage of orders that were being placed were for multiple currencies so at this stage it is not an option to offer this service online, however we do plan to introduce this in the future. If you do require an order of multiple currencies this is a service we can offer by calling us directly on our customer service telephone number and placing the order over the phone which you can obtain the telephone number from our website. Regards ICE

S. Hicks

25 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

25 June 2019

Used the ice card since 2014, great no problems. Tried using the new ice clear card in Portugual, rejected every time. Yes I did do everything they (ice) ask me to. Pin number correct, even used the same supermarket in Portugual that was ok in previous years! Was unable to get through to someone whilst on holiday and no reply to my email. Had to use my credit card. Returning home, contacted them to be told I should check they accepted card! Had 632.97 euros in account, to close account would come out with £532.89!!!! Said I'll withdraw cash from ATM, just rec'd email to confirm that they have transferred monies already. Not impressed at all.......

ICE PLC replied

Thank you for your review, we are really sorry you have experienced problems with your Clear Card. Could you please email us on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com with your details so that we can get the issues fully investigated and see if there is anything we can do for you. Once again, apologies for the inconvenience this caused whilst you were away. Kind regards, ICE

John Hughes

24 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

24 May 2019

I have used the Ice card for several years and it has worked really well. So far, the new card is useless. I used it at ATMs in France in April and I had all sorts of costs that I did not expect. One withdrawal of 200 Euros cost 211.37 plus Purse Currency Conversion Fee of 12.15 and International Conversion Fee of 1.76. My Credit Card would have been cheaper! I spoke to them on May 7 and they agreed that those costs should not have been charged but today, May 24, nothing has happened. After two more phone calls I still await what the 'Disputes Team' decides. It takes ages speaking to someone in Asia and all they can do is pass the information on to the 'Disputes Team'. Don't touch them!

ICE PLC replied

Dear Mr Hughes

We have been in touch with the ICE Clear Card team regarding this who have replied that they will be in touch with you directly regarding this matter. If you have not had any contact with them within the next few days then please contact us on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com and let us know and we will chase the matter up for you.

Kind regards

ICE Customer Services

Write a review of ICE PLC

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?