Compare Holiday Money Logo

ICE PLC reviews

Good 3.5 / 5

Based on 107 reviews Write Review

Jane

11th October 2018

I have used ICE several times to purchase foreign currency and am always impressed with their service.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of South African Rand
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Julie

31st August 2018

Great...until something goes wrong... can't reset additional card pin by phone. Lady on phone cant help. Can log on line as second cards not showing. Second card we've now found was cancelled LAST YEAR and we weren't informed BUT is STILL showing on my account that I have a second card... emails go unanswered real letters go unanswered and email response following phone complaint came in terrible broken English. Consider alternatives seriously.. as I say when it works it's fine but...

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Dave

27th August 2018

Terrible have forgotten PIN have emailed 3 times asking what to do, all ignored, wrote a proper letter, ignored Useless and I still have money on the card that I need to have access to !

  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Sue Pilkington

24th August 2018

Never any problem with this! Have used the ICE Dollar card for the past 2 years, easy to use, easy to top up! Brilliant.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

24th August 2018

Hi Sue,

Thanks for the great feedback. We hope you have a fantastic trip and look forward to assisting you in the future.

Daren

23rd August 2018

Absolutely Awful. Instructions to activate the card were unclear. Haven't been able to activate the card and they ignore e-mails

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

24th August 2018

We apologise you are having these issues. Please can you email callcentre@iceplc.com with the subject Darren Compareholidaymoney review. Please send it from the email address you have registered with us and include your name and address.

We will then pass your email on to the ICE Travellers Cashcard Management team for a full investigation and resolution

Kind Regards,
Sophie

Dianne

16th August 2018

Ordered monday evening received thursday morning was told it was going to be a day late as they had to order lira in. great customer service

  • I ordered £700 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

16th August 2018

Thank you for the great feedback. We hope you have a fantastic trip and look forward to assisting you in the future.

Greg

5th August 2018

Absolute rip off merchants. Rates that are what you would consider a scam. They don't mention buyback protection until after the purchase when it's no longer applicable. Avoid at all costs in store. Use your debit card, ripped me off over £100. Cost over 900 GBP to get 850 EUR.

  • I ordered £850 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Molly

26th July 2018

If i could give less than 1 star I would. I ordered the dollars pre paid card, which didn't arrive in the 3-5 days it was meant to. 12 days later it finally arrived but i had already left for America and was using a different pre paid card. I then tried to get my money back and got nothing, its been 20 days and i still dont have the £200. I've called and emailed with either no reply or just being told my account is empty.

  • I ordered £200 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Pamela Boyle

19th July 2018

Ordered the card with £500 worth of euros. It has now passed the 3-7 day period they state on their website and the card has not arrived. I travel in 2 days! Have called twice and had to argue thd point that they couldn't buy back the euros from me because they hadn't given them to me to start with. Eventually they agreed to buy back the full amount at the same rate I purchasd them for. Apparently a faster payment is being done and the money will be back in my account tomorrow. Reading these reviews I doubt very much that will happen. I now have very little money to go on holiday with. Don't bother with this company. Total waste of time. My holiday will be ruined if I have no money. I don't have a spare £500.00 just sitting around. :(

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Howard

17th July 2018

When you try to cancel your card and get a refund of your unused money they ignore your emails.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

18th July 2018

Hi Howard, We are really sorry to hear you have had issues with your ICE Travellers Cashcard. Please could you email us at callcentre@iceplc.com with more information we will ensure that this is passed through to our cash card team.

Kind Regards,
Juhel

Joris

16th July 2018

As many of you mentioned before. I also got hit with a 17% handling fee. Outrageous!! £25 for a simple cash withdraw. I did send ICE an email and am waiting for there response.

  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

17th July 2018

Hi Joris

We appreciate your comments and would like to apologise for your disappointment. Can you please let me know at which ICE location your transaction occurred so I can forward it to the relevant department to get in touch with you as soon as possible.

Kind regards,

Juhel

Adrian Priddle

14th July 2018

Asked for buy back on purchasing Luton, on return this cost me £20 in exchange rate difference. It’s one thing having harsh rates it’s another to ignore the customer and stitch them up. Avoid this provider where possible.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Romanian Leu
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

19th July 2018

Hi Adrian,

I am sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. I have spoken to our manager at London Luton Airport about your query and wanted to give you some further information to help us resolve this for you.

At Luton, we offer two options for customers who wish to change their leftover currency on their return: buy back and rate protection guarantee service. With our free buy back service, we exchange our customers’ leftover currency commission free, providing they have their original ICE receipt with them. Buy back does not allow customers to exchange their leftover currency at the same rate they purchased it.

For customers who want to exchange their leftover currency at the same rate they bought it for, we always recommend our Rate Protection Guarantee service, which costs £3.95. This means that we will buy back any leftover currency at the same rate that the currency was purchased and commission free.

If you did pay for our Rate Protection Guarantee, please can you email callcentre@iceplc.com with a copy of your receipt and we will look into this further for you.

Thanks,
Juhel

Simon

11th July 2018

I have ordered a US Dollar Travellers Cashcard from them - shouldn't have done it though. On the website they say the card will be delivered in 3 to 4 days. 9 days later and I still haven't received anything. Called their (appalling) customer service a couple of times, who kept telling me it would arrive the next morning. Still nothing, even though they apparently send it by Royaal Mail First Class? (Why no option for a tracking number??) As my holiday was approaching and a day before travel it still hadn't arrived, I gave them a call that I want my money back in my account. Girl on the phone told me it could be done in 3 hours, but quickly backpaddled that this isn't the case and she never said that. As my top up was more than 7 days ago, it would mean I wouldn't get my initial amount back and it would take more than 3 days. Here's hoping I will actually get it back. Seriously, save yourself trouble and headache and just get one through the Post Office or your own bank!

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

11th July 2018

Hi Simon, thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear you have had issues with your ICE Travellers Cashcard order. If you could email your complaint to us at callcentre@iceplc.com we will ensure that this is passed through to our cash card team. As per our information on www.iceplc.com, all cards are dispatched by 1st class post and should reach you within 3-7 working days of your initial payment being cleared. Unfortunately 1st class post is not a tracked service therefore tracking numbers are not available. Kind Regards ICE

Jean

26th May 2018

I have used this company for holiday cas on numerous occasions and always found them to have an excellent service. I cannot speak for ordering travel card as I alway find it easier to deal with cash.

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of South African Rand
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Jessica Fish

15th May 2018

This company is absolutely disgraceful, ordered a card and it didn’t come in the correct time. 2 emails and 3 phone calls later and they had no idea why. Sent in a claim form to refund the money over a faster payment due to them having a high amount of their money, 3 days later and we still have no refund. I will deffinitly be looking into how we take this further.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Gordon Hunter

10th May 2018

They have failed so far to deliver the prepaid card (its their fault not Royal Mail's) beyond their published delivery dates. They have yet to respond to my various complaints. Barge pole don't!

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

tree richardson

2nd May 2018

Absolute rip off merchants don’t go theme ever

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

4th May 2018

Dear Tree Richardson, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service you received. If you would like to email callcentre@iceplc.com with a few more details regarding your disatisfaction we can look further into this for you. Kind Regards ICE

Steve Tatum

23rd April 2018

Why make it so difficult to 'Top up' ????? I have had this card for over 10 Years and have had absolutely no problems using it abroad...in many countries. Cash machines are fine ... no problem ... no fees .. all seems too good to be true.... Yes a little ... I have NEVER been able to top up the card online without a number of uninteresting and unpleasant telephone calls ... to pass all my details to the advisor ..to top up over the telephone only to be told it may take up to 4 working days for the money to be available on the card... (Handy if you are travelling before that !!!!). Sort out these problems and 'It does what it says on the tin'

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

KLJ

20th April 2018

Dreadful, website crashed during transaction. money taken from my account but not credited to € card. Spent the last week trying to resolve via phone and e mail. This amounts to fraud so time to refer this to the police I'm thinking

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Suhendi

25th March 2018

Service and Handling fee was 17.5%. Such a BLOODSUCKING company. Are you even serious in the business? You charge a servive fee when your staff was not even friendly and sit down like a statue. TOTALLY USELESS!!!!!!!!

  • I sold 1000 US Dollars
  • I did not receive the amount I was quoted
  • I was not paid within three working days
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Alfie

14th March 2018

I ordered a prepaid sterling travel card eight days before travelling to Cuba. Delivery information stated my card would arrive within a maximum of 3 - 7 days, but after eight days absolutely nothing. Phoned the ICE call centre twice, who were not particularly helpful. Now I have to wait five days for my buy-back form to be processed so I can access my money while I'm away. A massive waste of time.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

14th March 2018

Hi Alfie, We are very sorry to hear about your issues with the ICE Travellers cash card, could you email over your order number to callcentre@iceplc.com so we can ask the cashcard team to investigate further for you? Kind Regards ICE

Peter Chart

28th February 2018

Sterling Travellers Cashcard. Totally useless. AVOID! Bought this to use on holiday in Scandinavia, as cards are the preferred method of payment. Luckily, I took a Natwest card as a backup. The ICE card didn't work anywhere I tried to use it including on the plane, at various retailers, and at banks' ATMs which displayed the Mastercard logo. This was in Trondheim, Norway. Tried to contact ICE on the given email address "cashcard@iceplc.com" as they promise a response in 1 business hour. No response after 2 days so emailed again. Again no response. Tried then to 'phone the number given on their documentation. Was told this was the wrong number, and while they attempted to transfer the call the line dropped. I called again, went through the same procedure, but this time was put on indefinite hold. After some minutes I gave it up as a bad job and decided to use my Natwest card, thereby incurring fees I had seeked to avoid. On return to the UK I managed eventually to speak to Customer Services which was obviously an overseas call centre. The lady at the other end had no idea of what the problem was and seemed to be leaving it to me to make suggestions. I said I'd try it at a local ATM, to which she agreed saying "get back to us if you have a problem". Needless to say the card continued to be rejected wherever I tried it including main branches of Barclays and Natwest. At Natwest, after seeking their advice, they allowed me to use their phone to contact the CS agent again. I then spoke to another lady who was slightly more helpful, and said she would contact their technical department regarding my complaint. A couple of days later I received an acknowlegement asking if there was any physical damage to the card. I replied there was not. Then all went quiet again, but by now I had a contact phone number for them. After calling them I spoke to a chap who informed me there had been a "processing error" with some cards issued in December and January, and that I could apply fo

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Laura J

28th November 2017

If I could give this company a zero - I would! Exchanged money at St Pancras for euros and was stung with over 17% commission and fees which amounted to £80!! Unfortunately I was in a hurry and didn’t have time to calculate it on the spot or in my head or else I would have just straight up walked away! I private messaged the company to complain and they were anything but understanding. This company are an absolute rip off - DO NOT USE!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Leonie

30th August 2017

Used the "contact us" option hoping for telephone numbers but only option is to email. Emailed twice on separate occasions while abroad and despite it saying I would have a reply in 24 hours, I heard nothing- both times. Called when back in the UK and the customer services representative was unable to help me with 2 different enquiries and referred me back online! Read terms and conditions carefully. Preloaded currency card was made very attractive with "no ATM fees". I have yet to find an ATM that didn't charge me (in small print it states that ATM companies may charge separately- THEY ALL DO!) Also cash back on purchases over $50 made the card appealing. Yet to receive any cash back payments and yet to get through to anyone that can help.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ICE PLC to others

Deano G

28th July 2017

Amazing service, ordered swiftly and arrived next day! Great exchange rate too. Had to call to ask if I could have a mixture of denoms and the staff were extremely helpful ... great customer service! A few hours after they arrived I got a call to check all the was ok? Superb ICE well done!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of ICE PLC

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No

ICE PLC are one of the largest retail currency exchange operators in the world, with a combined annual group turnover in excess of USD 1.8bn. Founded in 1973, they now own over 300 branches worldwide, and operate in over 65 airports across 4 continents.

Visit Website

Fancy a European road trip?

Posted by Sam Stone on 9th October 2018

A road trip is the ultimate way to explore the bewildering beauty of any country. However, after toll charges and rental car fees, petrol costs can be one of the biggest holiday expenses. No one wants... read more

Paying for your Travel Money

Posted by Compare Holiday Money on 8th October 2018

Most UK travel money suppliers allow you to pay for your currency in a number of different ways. The payment method you choose is important because it affects whether or not you pay any extra fees during... read more

How to get better currency rates?

Have you ever bought currency exchange money and think… this is so terrible! Well we’re about to tell you how to get better currency rates and how to not feel like you’ve been ripped... read more

Pawnbrokers and travel money

Pawnbrokers and travel money don’t necessarily fit together on first thoughts, but certainly Ramsdens, H & T Pawnbrokers, Albermarle Bond and The Money Shop are big, well established companies that w... read more

Budget-stretching toll roads

Risking life and limb on foreign high-speed toll roads isn’t the best way to start a relaxing well-earned holiday. It is also an expensive way to burn through your hard-earned budget. In an ideal world, rea... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.