Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

ICE PLC reviews

Very Good 4.0 / 5

Based on 81 reviews Write Review

Julian

23rd June 2017

The ICE Travellers Cashcard pretends to offer a buy-back at the same rate you loaded it with. Safe in this knowledge I loaded way more than I needed on a recent trip in order to cover any possible emergency. When I returned home and wanted to be refunded the 500 euros remaining on the card, I was faced with the revelation in the small print that the buy-back offer only applied to balances under 100 euros! On top of that, no-one at ICE customer services would tell me the buy-back rate, saying they did not have access to that information and that I must look on the ICE website. Not available on the website either. So, I just went ahead and requested the buy-back "blind". At the time of writing, the actual Euro-GBP exchange rate is 1.11 euros to the pound. ICE loaded the card at 1.09 to the pound, yet have just refunded me at the buy-back k rate of 1.22 !!! If I had been made aware of the awful exchange ICE buy back at, I would have left the money on the card for future use! I am truly disgusted by their sneaky ways of making money out of their customers! I will be cancelling my ICE card and taking my business to FairFX instead!

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Jo Marsden

10th June 2017

I ordered £750 worth of Euro early Friday morning (on the website that is linked to compare holiday money), and paid the extra 99p to have it delivered on Saturday morning. Once I had ordered and paid, I took a quick look at the reviews, and I admit, had I looked first I probably wouldn't have ordered with ICE money, as the most recent reviews were not great, but all talked about the travel money card, so I was glad I had ordered cash. The postman arrived with my package to sign for, just after 10 am this morning (Saturday), which I was very pleased with, as I didn't want to be waiting in all day. Very pleased with the service all round, and would recommend to anyone one reading this. Website is easy to use, and I received a good mix of notes. And now I have set up an account, I will definitely be using again.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

david

25th May 2017

prepaid card status says cancelled? no wonder it won't work it's been stopped for some reason it still has credit on it

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Michael Beech

18th May 2017

I was on holiday in Mallorca. On the last day I tried to pay my hotel bill using my prepaid ice card, it was declined twice, very embarrassing. This has happened before and I was sent a security check email which I duly replied to and asked what the problem was, I received no reply. On return from holiday I contacted ice to find out what was wrong, the answer given was a security issue because I had used the card twice (it was declined twice). What use is a travel card if it is declined when I use it abroad? There was no real explanation, the help and support was vague and next to hopeless. After being let down on two separate occasions with no proper explanation I no longer had any faith in their service, I decided to close the card and get my money back, they said they would send me a link and details. I am still waiting to hear from them. Check out other peoples reviews and and judge for yourself. My advice do not use ice.

  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Dek

17th May 2017

I experienced no problems topping up with my Apple device last year. Also no problems when using ATMs and making purchases. However I found I was unable to successfully top up the card recently using My iPhone. I attempted topping up with my iPad and then my Apple Laptop. Both attempts were unsuccessful. Customer services informed me that "there is a system problem with Apple" and on being told that all my available devices are Apple they suggested I go online at a library. The only remaining alternative, I was informed, is to top up using a telephone. This I attempted to do, but was then informed by the 'topping up' department that I would have to leave my telephone number and wait for them to ring me back and that this could take a couple of days. My earlier positive opinion of the ICE Cashcard has been altered to a strong negative opinion following this latest contact. If ICE wish to trash this review they should consult their records of my contact history. I shall retrieve the remaining Euros on my card and take great pleasure in cutting it up I followed their latest advice and attempted to top up by telephone. I was then informed this could only be done if I left my telephone number and they would thenring They would ring me back to carry out the top up, but "this could take a couple of days".

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Don Miller

26th April 2017

Have used ICE for over 10 years now for holiday money. Everything has happened as it should with no problems whatsoever. I would happily recommend them for all holiday financial needs.

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Dave

26th April 2017

I have just experienced the same problem as others have reported here. My prepaid card is about to expire. ICE emailed me this fact just 4 days before expiry. I recently 'charged' this card for my next holiday which is in 4 days time! I contacted customer services (joke) to ask whether my new card will arrive in time and they have absolutely no idea. Like others they say it is down to me to contact them because I might no longer need the card! This despite the fact that I recently added 1000 euros to the account. When I asked to speak to someone who could help me (because the individual I was speaking with was clearly speaking from a script and unable to deviate from it) I was told that supervisors cannot speak on the phone! My other option is to request a buy back for the balance in my account. This takes between 3-5 working days apparently so read 5-7. I go on holiday in 4 days. Not only that but the exchange rate has moved significantly against me in recent days. I am now left completely in limbo hoping that a replacement card MIGHT turn up before my holiday I did get all the usual platitudes from the individual on the phone but the so-called customer service was utterly appalling. There are better card providers out there. Use one of them instead.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Malcolm. C.

20th April 2017

Ordered 1500 Euros at 2.50pm on Wednesday, monies arrived at 09.45am. next day, Brilliant service as usual.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Jim C.

19th April 2017

Waiting for a flight out of Gatwick to the States used my Ice currency card at ATM to get $200 just before the confirm part the machine warned me there might be a transaction charge . So stopped there and cancelled transaction . When on to Ice site to check if there is a charge only to find I had been debited the full amount . Phoned Ice and was told they could see I had not received any funds and would refund within the next few days. 1 week later they have not returned funds and I have to fill in and post a claim form which they say will take 45 days. Ice seem OK if there is no problem but pretty useless if there is.

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

jane d

16th April 2017

f you are a masochist and want a stressful holiday - then use this company to purchase a currency card! Suspended my account because I inputted the wrong pin just ONCE. It's almost impossible and expensive to to get hold of them, especially from abroad, passed from pillar to post when you do eventually manage to get through and they do not answer emails or queries made on the online form. Aaarrgghh! Thanks for making my holiday so stressful ICE. Do not recommend to anyone, don't touch with a barge-pole

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

A Bartholomew

8th April 2017

I thought it would save me some hassle by buying currency online and picking it up from the ICE booth at Edinburgh. Tried and failed for an hour or so to set up an account online with ICE using their incredibly clunky and non-intuitive website. When I finally discovered the click and collect application point, the registration would never complete because the address look-up didn't fill in the "street" box and you could NOT fill it in manually. When you tried to move on to the next screen it was forbidden because you hadn't filled in the "street" box. I tried 3 different browsers and pasting etc - with no luck. It did let me register for the ICE Card so I thought I'd cracked it but that account didn't let you access any other services and didn't recognise your log-in details for the main ICE log-in. Totally useless system. Even if I had eventually managed to somehow access their services I would never use them now on a point of principle.

  • I ordered £1600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

dave mcbain

26th October 2016

do not get a cash card from this lot. I tried to pay a restaurant bill of 300 euros whilst in Germany this week only to be told that the card had expired. It was embarrassing to be put in a position of not being able to access my own cash. When I queried why I had not received a new card or at least a reminder I was told it was my responsibility to apply for a new one!! How many cards does anyone have that don't send a new one before the old one expires?? Apparently they don't!! They also said that if I was a regular user they "MIGHT" have emailed me a reminder. This was tosh as I had used the card only a month previously in Tenerife so how regular do they mean!! The young man that I spoke to was unable to pass me to someone who could give me a satisfactory explanation. It seems that supervisors cant be bothered to talk to customers. I have now applied to have all my cash refunded but I expect that there will be some problem with doing that. There are lots of other cards on the market, so if you need one go elsewhere, it might save you from being put in an embarrassing position like I was.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Eloise LEigh

24th October 2016

Absolutely atrocious. Applying for and receiving the card was straight forward. Day before I went away (a Friday) logged in to my account to a see my card has been 'cancelled'. I called them and somebody said there had been suspected fraudulent activity on my account and I had had an email about it the previous Friday. I finally found the email in my spam folder. As instructed, I still had the agent on the phone, I replied to the email saying all was ok. He said the card would be 'cleared' within 24 hours. This was 8:13 am on the Friday and we were flying Saturday lunchtime. Saturday morning the card was still showing as cancelled. I emailed and tweeted constantly but my phone would not let me call or text the UK from the US. Monday morning - Florida time - my card was still cancelled and the only response on Twitter was to call them in the UK - despite my saying I could not call. Thankfully we had a really nice cab driver who let my call the UK and the chap I spoke to got the 'ban' lifted. When I applied for this card I gave my mobile number. My number showed on my account. Why did they not ring when they believed there was fraudulent activity on my account instead of sending an email that went to my spam folder? Why did it take so long to get the 'ban' lifted once I had called them? Would not touch this bunch of wasters with a barge pole - have no idea why they have 'won awards' as their customer service is non-existent. Next year it is back to Thomson travel cards for me!

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Moira Campbell

6th September 2016

Do not get this one if going to Canada as we did. It never worked at all and we phoned customer services several times. Took very long time to get through they issued a new pin but it still didn't work, then found they'd cancelled the access completely. Had to use my normal credit card then use the Ice card to pay off the bill when we got home. We were on a 3-week motorbike tour so it was a real pain. Never again.

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Shaun Devine

16th July 2016

Brilliant company, does exactly what it says on the tin. Customer service and back up is second to none. Highly recommended. I purchased a couple of thousand pounds worth of Euros early AM whilst the Euro referendum results where coming in. The rate that was offered was very high but the pound was tumbling fast. ICE honoured my purchase rate, even though just moments later it was down by more than 10 cents to the pound. I was worried that I may not receive my money as I had never used an online service before, but they came through brilliantly.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

chris paull

7th June 2016

I was very worried about ordering currency online but I needn't be; it arrived exactly when they said it would. I ordered it on Sunday evening and it arrived tuesday lunchtime. Would definitely recommend!

  • I ordered £4000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Matthew Bell

6th June 2016

Ordered and chose to pay by bank transfer. My bank rejected the payment the first time round but I got an e mail reminding me to pay so knew something was wrong. Currency arrived the next day

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Jessica M

31st May 2016

Had nothing but problems with this company since ordering our travel card, receiving it, trying to top up, trying to get in touch whilst abroad and the card being cancelled for no apparent reason. The staff seem to have no idea what's going on & are so rude when you have no option but to go through to the wrong department because the other phone number isn't working. Complete waste of time money & effort - spent most of my holiday abroad trying to get in touch with them to tell them my card isn't working for them to tell me "I'm not trained in that department" not to mention the amount of money I have probably spent trying to ring in the first place! I have even tried emailing them and texting them numerous times with no reply. Would not recommend them to anybody.

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

steve waller

22nd May 2016

i have used this company 3 times and had no problems. I used Heathrow and it was easy and quick.

  • I ordered £900 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Ian

17th April 2016

Ordered 6.00pm on Monday, received 11.00am on Wednesday. Good range of notes. Excellent service will use again.

  • I ordered £1,000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

maxine

9th April 2016

Ordered euros just before 3pm on Wednesday and they arrived next day at 10.30am, very easy to order, will use again.

  • I ordered £720 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Chris

25th March 2016

Order placed by 11am, currency received before 11am following day. Fantastic service. Although not asked for a good range of denomination sent which made life much easier.

  • I ordered £2500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Andrew

23rd May 2015

First time to use an on line currency exchange company. Set up my on line account in minutes. Ordered Euros late on a Thursday Evening and paid paltry sum of 99 pence for Sat delivery. Order arrived on time will definitely use again. Great experience.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

K

20th May 2015

Can not fault at all ordered 11am Tuesday arrived midday wednesday. Good mix of notes. No issues. Will definately deal again.

  • I ordered £2100 worth of US Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Andrea

19th May 2015

I was very worried about ordering currency online but I needn't be; it arrived exactly when they said it would. I ordered it on Sunday evening and it arrived by this lunchtime. Would definitely recommend!

  • I ordered £600 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of ICE PLC

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No

ICE PLC are one of the largest retail currency exchange operators in the world, with a combined annual group turnover in excess of USD 1.8bn. Founded in 1973, they now own over 300 branches worldwide, and operate in over 65 airports across 4 continents.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Thinking of travelling without insurance? Think again

Thinking of travelling without insurance? Think again

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 21st July 2017

Some people see travel insurance as a waste of money: Frequent traveller’s who complete their journeys without any disruption, or even those who’re going abroad for the first time, and are oblivious read more

Airbnb – How to prevent being scammed

Airbnb – How to prevent being scammed

Posted by Holly Burgess on 18th July 2017

  When it comes to booking accommodation abroad, Airbnb is renowned for its simplicity and personal service. When you have found the perfect room you will be directed to ‘contact the host’ in o read more