ICE PLC reviews

136 Reviews Average | 3.1

ICE PLC

https://www.iceplc.com/

ICE offer free next day delivery on orders over £700 if ordered before 3pm. Saturday delivery available for 99p. 0% commission and no hidden costs on over 50 currencies and click and collect available from 25 locations nationwide including airport locations for convenience.

Write a review

Harmony

29 October 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

29 October 2020

My original ICE Travel Card acquired 2013 (with the Mastercard branding) still had EUR 43.94 on it when I realised a year or two later that it had expired. I tried to recover the money and reactivate the card or transfer the balance onto a new one, but was told by ICE that it could not be retrieved. I reluctantly accepted that as they gave me no option, although very annoying that they weren’t more helpful.

I loaded my next ICE card in Nov 2017 with EUR 214 for a quick trip and then did not go away as planned so left the money on the card. A new ICE Clear card replaced the ICE travel card I had in Jan 2019 and my balance of EUR 214 mysteriously turned into EUR 175.93. I queried this immediately but although I was quick off the mark this time, I was again told that they could not access my previous card or the money on it and that they had no record...

Now October 2020 I have just discovered that my balance has reduced further. Now only EUR 155.68 is left on it.

Apparently a non usage fee is now charged of £2 per month taken in euros off the card balance. Because my card being idle is causing Mastercard so much work...!? Considering this fee started Feb 2020 and we were in Lockdown from March to July it seems pretty unfair to charge a non-usage fee- which I question anyway - but they say its in their T&Cs. I have not had use of a single euro that has gone.

I have spent a whole evening phoning ICE Clear - 5 times in 3.5 hrs - trying to close the card and still have not got my money back from my ICE card. I am trying to transfer the balance to my bank account but every person has hung up on me and when I called back last time I got the same person by chance that I'd been speaking to. She said that she can not close the card so tried to transfer me to someone else- when it went dead (again). She told me that the other person will call me back as soon as they finish the call they are on..that was 45 minutes ago and counting as I write this and its nearly 10pm where I am.

I now see many other complaints online from people who have lost money in similar ways to ICE and ICE customer service has failed to refund them or deal with their complaints. Other cards that take non-usage fees are waiving this during the pandemic. I would not recommend ICEClear to anyone.

NOTE:

Now 10.15pm and I have had a call back from ICE and been asked to 'be patient' because they have to take me through FIVE pages of admin to give me my money back. I was then told I would only get £133.11 for my EUR 155.68 (a fair exchange would be £140.68 which is todays exchange rate in actual fact). They say that they can not return the money to me any other way. I am amazed they get away with this. AVOID!!

ICE PLC replied

Hi Harmony,

Thank you for your review, I'm really sorry to hear about the experience with the Cash cards you've had so far.

We have been unable to find any contact details on this review for you so could you please email us directly at icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com so that we can look into this for you ASAP?

Many thanks,

Lucy

Barry Hubbard

11 July 2020

Bought £3,303 worth of Euros

11 July 2020

Fantastic service, ordered Friday PM, money delivered Saturday AM.With a £75 wine

voucher, superb company to deal with, thank you.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Barry,

Thank you very much for your review.

We're so pleased you were happy with our home delivery service and hope you enjoy the wine voucher too!

We look forward to helping out on your future trips and do appreciate you taking the time to leave us a great review.

Thanks,

Lucy

Steve

3 July 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

3 July 2020

Trying to check my pin on the app but there is nowhere to check it even though it says you can!!

ICE PLC replied

Hi Steve,

I do apologise for the delay with our response, due to the current situation we haven't be able to respond as quickly as we normally would.

I'm sorry to hear you were having problems checking your PIN on the app. If you log into your Clear card account on https://www.iceplc.com/help-support/clear-card then you should be able to retrieve your PIN details.

Please note that you are not able to view your PIN on the mobile app or when logging into My Account on your mobile so you will need to use a desktop device.

If you are still unable to check your PIN using My Account online then you will need to contact the Clear Card Services team on 0800 056 0572 which is available 24 hours, 7 days a week.

I hope this helps resolve your query and please do accept our apologies for the delay with our response.

Thanks,

Lucy

John burford

17 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

17 February 2020

I wish I had never seen this card

Once I have used the cash on it I’ve finished with it

It is absolutely rubbish

ICE PLC replied

Hi John

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you are not happy with our product. Would you kindly email us on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com with a more in-depth description for why you feel the way you do about our Card.

Thanks again

Elaine

CT

7 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

7 February 2020

The app is pretty useless; tried with two debit cards to load money onto it without success. I eventually resorted to logging on to my account via a laptop and that worked. So ICE - get your app sorted!! Having read the other reviews I will get another card from another supplier as back up.

ICE PLC replied

We are so sorry that you have not found our app up to standard. We will report this to the relevant people. We are pleased to hear that you managed to log into your account via your lap top and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. Would you kindly email us directly on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com to explain more about the problem you encountered with our app.

Thanks

Elaine

John burford

27 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

27 January 2020

This card is an absolute waste of space , won’t let me load money online , you ring up and get someone who can only speak VERY poor English , I wish I had never seen this pathetic excuse for a travel money card

s.m.

26 December 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

26 December 2019

Have used the card for years. Yesterday could not load it on the app (card invalid) and when i eventually managed through their website i was told the pin was wrong (impossible as i have it noted down). i am travelling and this card has been useless and a headache tbh. if they were experiencing problems it would be good to get notified.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Customer

We are really sorry that you are having problems with your card. Would you kindly email us with your problem to icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com so that we can investigate. We need to establish whether this is an old ICE Travellers Cashcard or one of our new ICE Clear Cards which only started in January this year. Once we know this, we will know how to help you.

Thanks, Elaine

Mike Purseglove

7 December 2019

Bought £1,000 worth of Japanese yen

7 December 2019

I ordered Japanese yen yesterday and my cash was delivered early this morning (Saturday which I had not paid extra for). This was also the best rate I found online.

The amounts chosen were well distributed between 1,000, 2,000 and 5,000 yen notes. This is great as Japan is a cash driven society and you need to have flexibility when paying for services and even in restaurants.

Will definitely use again (assuming the rates remain competitive)

ICE PLC replied

Hi Mike,

Thank you very much for your review.

We're delighted to hear you were happy with the rate you received and your currency was delivered promptly. Our team try to give a good mix of denominations so that you have a variety to spend on your holiday.

We look forward so being of service to you in the future and do hope you have a fantastic trip!

Many Thanks,

Lucy

ROBERT TYRER

28 November 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

28 November 2019

With reference to my previous post and the response from ice.Yes i do understand you have a rate of 1.1669 for the euro which is for collection only but you also have a quote of 1.1574 listed on the homepage which is reasonable to assume is the rate you will receive for topping up your clear card online.But when you log on to your card the rate is only 1.1442.This is misleading so i have decided not to continue with this card.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Robert,

I am really sorry to hear you're not going to continue with the card. The rate for the Clear card is shown when clicking on the 'Prepaid Travel Card' option on our home page. The rate shown is offered for new Clear card customers who wish to purchase a Clear card and also for existing customers who wish to top-up their card. If you log into your Clear Card account initially then the rate shown will be the previous rate from the last time you topped up your card. However, if you log onto your ICE Clear card account after you have topped up then it should show that current day's rate for the Euro which will be the same as what is offered on our homepage under 'Prepaid Travel Card'. I hope this explains things a little better and I do hope you will consider using us again in the future. Kind regards, ICE

ROBERT TYRER

27 November 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

27 November 2019

I was attracted to this card because on their homepage the rates for the euro appeared to be good.Today they claim to be offering 1.1517 for the euro which is a competitive rate,but when i log on to top up this card i am only offered 1.1442.The homepage is misleading and if this continues i will cancel the card.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Robert I am sorry for the confusion with our rates for the Euro. The rate showing on the front of our web site page is for the best rate you could get for the Euro on that day across all of our services - today it is 1.1669 if you 'click and collect' from our branch at Waterloo. For an up to the minute rate for the ICE clear card you need to select the clear card option. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this has caused and we will pass your comments to our web team. Kind regards ICE

Write a review of ICE PLC

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?