Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

ICE PLC reviews

Very Good 4.3 / 5

Based on 71 reviews Write Review

26th October 2016

do not get a cash card from this lot. I tried to pay a restaurant bill of 300 euros whilst in Germany this week only to be told that the card had expired. It was embarrassing to be put in a position of not being able to access my own cash. When I queried why I had not received a new card or at least a reminder I was told it was my responsibility to apply for a new one!! How many cards does anyone have that don't send a new one before the old one expires?? Apparently they don't!! They also said that if I was a regular user they "MIGHT" have emailed me a reminder. This was tosh as I had used the card only a month previously in Tenerife so how regular do they mean!! The young man that I spoke to was unable to pass me to someone who could give me a satisfactory explanation. It seems that supervisors cant be bothered to talk to customers. I have now applied to have all my cash refunded but I expect that there will be some problem with doing that. There are lots of other cards on the market, so if you need one go elsewhere, it might save you from being put in an embarrassing position like I was.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

24th October 2016

Absolutely atrocious. Applying for and receiving the card was straight forward. Day before I went away (a Friday) logged in to my account to a see my card has been 'cancelled'. I called them and somebody said there had been suspected fraudulent activity on my account and I had had an email about it the previous Friday. I finally found the email in my spam folder. As instructed, I still had the agent on the phone, I replied to the email saying all was ok. He said the card would be 'cleared' within 24 hours. This was 8:13 am on the Friday and we were flying Saturday lunchtime. Saturday morning the card was still showing as cancelled. I emailed and tweeted constantly but my phone would not let me call or text the UK from the US. Monday morning - Florida time - my card was still cancelled and the only response on Twitter was to call them in the UK - despite my saying I could not call. Thankfully we had a really nice cab driver who let my call the UK and the chap I spoke to got the 'ban' lifted. When I applied for this card I gave my mobile number. My number showed on my account. Why did they not ring when they believed there was fraudulent activity on my account instead of sending an email that went to my spam folder? Why did it take so long to get the 'ban' lifted once I had called them? Would not touch this bunch of wasters with a barge pole - have no idea why they have 'won awards' as their customer service is non-existent. Next year it is back to Thomson travel cards for me!

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

6th September 2016

Do not get this one if going to Canada as we did. It never worked at all and we phoned customer services several times. Took very long time to get through they issued a new pin but it still didn't work, then found they'd cancelled the access completely. Had to use my normal credit card then use the Ice card to pay off the bill when we got home. We were on a 3-week motorbike tour so it was a real pain. Never again.

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

16th July 2016

Brilliant company, does exactly what it says on the tin. Customer service and back up is second to none. Highly recommended. I purchased a couple of thousand pounds worth of Euros early AM whilst the Euro referendum results where coming in. The rate that was offered was very high but the pound was tumbling fast. ICE honoured my purchase rate, even though just moments later it was down by more than 10 cents to the pound. I was worried that I may not receive my money as I had never used an online service before, but they came through brilliantly.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th June 2016

I was very worried about ordering currency online but I needn't be; it arrived exactly when they said it would. I ordered it on Sunday evening and it arrived tuesday lunchtime. Would definitely recommend!

  • I ordered £4000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th June 2016

Ordered and chose to pay by bank transfer. My bank rejected the payment the first time round but I got an e mail reminding me to pay so knew something was wrong. Currency arrived the next day

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

31st May 2016

Had nothing but problems with this company since ordering our travel card, receiving it, trying to top up, trying to get in touch whilst abroad and the card being cancelled for no apparent reason. The staff seem to have no idea what's going on & are so rude when you have no option but to go through to the wrong department because the other phone number isn't working. Complete waste of time money & effort - spent most of my holiday abroad trying to get in touch with them to tell them my card isn't working for them to tell me "I'm not trained in that department" not to mention the amount of money I have probably spent trying to ring in the first place! I have even tried emailing them and texting them numerous times with no reply. Would not recommend them to anybody.

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

22nd May 2016

i have used this company 3 times and had no problems. I used Heathrow and it was easy and quick.

  • I ordered £900 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th April 2016

Ordered 6.00pm on Monday, received 11.00am on Wednesday. Good range of notes. Excellent service will use again.

  • I ordered £1,000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th April 2016

Ordered euros just before 3pm on Wednesday and they arrived next day at 10.30am, very easy to order, will use again.

  • I ordered £720 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th March 2016

Order placed by 11am, currency received before 11am following day. Fantastic service. Although not asked for a good range of denomination sent which made life much easier.

  • I ordered £2500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd May 2015

First time to use an on line currency exchange company. Set up my on line account in minutes. Ordered Euros late on a Thursday Evening and paid paltry sum of 99 pence for Sat delivery. Order arrived on time will definitely use again. Great experience.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th May 2015

Can not fault at all ordered 11am Tuesday arrived midday wednesday. Good mix of notes. No issues. Will definately deal again.

  • I ordered £2100 worth of US Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th May 2015

I was very worried about ordering currency online but I needn't be; it arrived exactly when they said it would. I ordered it on Sunday evening and it arrived by this lunchtime. Would definitely recommend!

  • I ordered £600 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th May 2015

After reading the reviews on this company and because they offered the best exchange rate I decided to order online. I ordered my Euros late Thursday afternoon and my currency was delivered by Friday lunch time. Website was self explanatory and easy to use. Thank you and I will definitely use and recommend again.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd April 2015

Very easy website. Ordered late on Friday. Money arrived Tuesday morning Very good rates - First class service Will use again.

  • I ordered £1600 worth of Turkish Lira
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th March 2015

This was my 1st experience of ordering Turkish Lira online as the rates advertised were higher than the usual high street shops and I must say that the companies service was first class. Delivery in the form of various note denominations was received within 2 days which was highly appreciated.. I have since used their service again ordering Euros this time and the transaction proved to be exactly the same as my first experience proving that the company is reliable and my original experience was not a one off. I am prepared to rate their service as 100% and would recommend them to anyone

  • I ordered £750 worth of Turkish Lira
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th February 2015

Absolutely fabulous.. Best exchange rate and first class service..No commission and free delivery..Would recommend to anyone !!

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

15th February 2015

I bough travel money from ICE last week .It was my first experience .Was very concerned and worried when system gave only one payment option - transfer founds online.I have decided to take risk and transferred £6000 to ICE plc bank account .Was very surprised and happy when on Saturday I received pack of brand new euro notes.I would defenatelly use this company again and advice everyone to do so.

  • I ordered £6000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th June 2014

Have always bought holiday money from the high street, after following the online rates decided to give it try. Ice consistantly had the best rates and good reviews so gave them a try. Small problem setting up my online account but that was my fault. Phoned the call centre and they could not be more helpfull. Sorted my order quicker than I could do online , very friendly and knowledgeable. Ordered Tuesday morning came next day at midday. No more walking round the high street checking the rates for me. Great service and great rates.

20th June 2014

Ordered money for two people over phone. Girl very helpful, and money arrived 12noon the next day as promised. Will definatly use them next time

19th June 2014

Very impressed! I ordered my Euros yesterday mid morning and they arrived this morning. The website was uncomplicated and the or ordering process was easy. I used their standard delivery service to arrive within three days. I ordered before 3pm yesterday and had an email to let me know the package had been dispatched within a few hours of placing the order and the package arrived this morning. I would recommend ICE and I will certainly use them again.

8th May 2014

I recently exchanged US $200. currency at ICE's counter at JFK airport for chinese RMB. I received just over $1000. RMB, of which $600. was counterfeit!!! Unfortunately, this was just before I boarded my flight and I only realized it was counterfeit when I attempted to pay the cab driver from the airport in Guangzhou. When I returned to JFK the following week, with receipt in hand and two witnesses as back up, they refused to refund me. I even attempted to report it to the Port Police, who says these incidents are 'customer service issues'. Try to avoid using currency exchanges altogether if you can, and get an international credit and debit cards. If you MUST use cash (like when visiting China), exchange it at the bank of the country you visit (less likely to get counterfeit, more likely to be reimbursed.

24th April 2014

Couldn't be more pleased with the service provided i went on line ordered euros and within 24 hours as stated i had then in my hand, I received several email's keeping me in touch with everything, first class service would certainly recommend.

24th March 2014

I've used ICE Money a number of times now for a variety of currencies including NZ$, S$, Dirhams and Euros. I find their rates competitive and service excellent. I particularly like getting a guaranteed Saturday delivery for 99p.

Write a review of ICE PLC

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

ICE PLC are one of the largest retail currency exchange operators in the world, with a combined annual group turnover in excess of USD 1.8bn. Founded in 1973, they now own over 300 branches worldwide, and operate in over 65 airports across 4 continents.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

Posted by Matthew Weston on 9th December 2016

After what has been a year of uncertainty for Britain and the pound, it is slowly making improvements in the markets. With this and the continued decline of the Euro, the exchange rate is looking better for Bri read more

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more