Compare Holiday Money Logo

ICE PLC reviews

Good 3.7 / 5

Based on 94 reviews Write Review

Jean

26th May 2018

I have used this company for holiday cas on numerous occasions and always found them to have an excellent service. I cannot speak for ordering travel card as I alway find it easier to deal with cash.

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of South African Rand
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Jessica Fish

15th May 2018

This company is absolutely disgraceful, ordered a card and it didn’t come in the correct time. 2 emails and 3 phone calls later and they had no idea why. Sent in a claim form to refund the money over a faster payment due to them having a high amount of their money, 3 days later and we still have no refund. I will deffinitly be looking into how we take this further.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Gordon Hunter

10th May 2018

They have failed so far to deliver the prepaid card (its their fault not Royal Mail's) beyond their published delivery dates. They have yet to respond to my various complaints. Barge pole don't!

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

tree richardson

2nd May 2018

Absolute rip off merchants don’t go theme ever

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

4th May 2018

Dear Tree Richardson, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service you received. If you would like to email callcentre@iceplc.com with a few more details regarding your disatisfaction we can look further into this for you. Kind Regards ICE

Steve Tatum

23rd April 2018

Why make it so difficult to 'Top up' ????? I have had this card for over 10 Years and have had absolutely no problems using it abroad...in many countries. Cash machines are fine ... no problem ... no fees .. all seems too good to be true.... Yes a little ... I have NEVER been able to top up the card online without a number of uninteresting and unpleasant telephone calls ... to pass all my details to the advisor ..to top up over the telephone only to be told it may take up to 4 working days for the money to be available on the card... (Handy if you are travelling before that !!!!). Sort out these problems and 'It does what it says on the tin'

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

KLJ

20th April 2018

Dreadful, website crashed during transaction. money taken from my account but not credited to € card. Spent the last week trying to resolve via phone and e mail. This amounts to fraud so time to refer this to the police I'm thinking

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Suhendi

25th March 2018

Service and Handling fee was 17.5%. Such a BLOODSUCKING company. Are you even serious in the business? You charge a servive fee when your staff was not even friendly and sit down like a statue. TOTALLY USELESS!!!!!!!!

  • I sold 1000 US Dollars
  • I received the amount I was quoted
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Alfie

14th March 2018

I ordered a prepaid sterling travel card eight days before travelling to Cuba. Delivery information stated my card would arrive within a maximum of 3 - 7 days, but after eight days absolutely nothing. Phoned the ICE call centre twice, who were not particularly helpful. Now I have to wait five days for my buy-back form to be processed so I can access my money while I'm away. A massive waste of time.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

ICE PLC replied

14th March 2018

Hi Alfie, We are very sorry to hear about your issues with the ICE Travellers cash card, could you email over your order number to callcentre@iceplc.com so we can ask the cashcard team to investigate further for you? Kind Regards ICE

Peter Chart

28th February 2018

Sterling Travellers Cashcard. Totally useless. AVOID! Bought this to use on holiday in Scandinavia, as cards are the preferred method of payment. Luckily, I took a Natwest card as a backup. The ICE card didn't work anywhere I tried to use it including on the plane, at various retailers, and at banks' ATMs which displayed the Mastercard logo. This was in Trondheim, Norway. Tried to contact ICE on the given email address "cashcard@iceplc.com" as they promise a response in 1 business hour. No response after 2 days so emailed again. Again no response. Tried then to 'phone the number given on their documentation. Was told this was the wrong number, and while they attempted to transfer the call the line dropped. I called again, went through the same procedure, but this time was put on indefinite hold. After some minutes I gave it up as a bad job and decided to use my Natwest card, thereby incurring fees I had seeked to avoid. On return to the UK I managed eventually to speak to Customer Services which was obviously an overseas call centre. The lady at the other end had no idea of what the problem was and seemed to be leaving it to me to make suggestions. I said I'd try it at a local ATM, to which she agreed saying "get back to us if you have a problem". Needless to say the card continued to be rejected wherever I tried it including main branches of Barclays and Natwest. At Natwest, after seeking their advice, they allowed me to use their phone to contact the CS agent again. I then spoke to another lady who was slightly more helpful, and said she would contact their technical department regarding my complaint. A couple of days later I received an acknowlegement asking if there was any physical damage to the card. I replied there was not. Then all went quiet again, but by now I had a contact phone number for them. After calling them I spoke to a chap who informed me there had been a "processing error" with some cards issued in December and January, and that I could apply fo

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Laura J

28th November 2017

If I could give this company a zero - I would! Exchanged money at St Pancras for euros and was stung with over 17% commission and fees which amounted to £80!! Unfortunately I was in a hurry and didn’t have time to calculate it on the spot or in my head or else I would have just straight up walked away! I private messaged the company to complain and they were anything but understanding. This company are an absolute rip off - DO NOT USE!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Leonie

30th August 2017

Used the "contact us" option hoping for telephone numbers but only option is to email. Emailed twice on separate occasions while abroad and despite it saying I would have a reply in 24 hours, I heard nothing- both times. Called when back in the UK and the customer services representative was unable to help me with 2 different enquiries and referred me back online! Read terms and conditions carefully. Preloaded currency card was made very attractive with "no ATM fees". I have yet to find an ATM that didn't charge me (in small print it states that ATM companies may charge separately- THEY ALL DO!) Also cash back on purchases over $50 made the card appealing. Yet to receive any cash back payments and yet to get through to anyone that can help.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Deano G

28th July 2017

Amazing service, ordered swiftly and arrived next day! Great exchange rate too. Had to call to ask if I could have a mixture of denoms and the staff were extremely helpful ... great customer service! A few hours after they arrived I got a call to check all the was ok? Superb ICE well done!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Craig

26th July 2017

Card cancelled twice. Unable to top up due the link taking me to the card activation page. Still waiting On a response to my complaint. Seems to me that they are good at the currency delivery part but as for the rest. Forget it.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Julian

23rd June 2017

The ICE Travellers Cashcard pretends to offer a buy-back at the same rate you loaded it with. Safe in this knowledge I loaded way more than I needed on a recent trip in order to cover any possible emergency. When I returned home and wanted to be refunded the 500 euros remaining on the card, I was faced with the revelation in the small print that the buy-back offer only applied to balances under 100 euros! On top of that, no-one at ICE customer services would tell me the buy-back rate, saying they did not have access to that information and that I must look on the ICE website. Not available on the website either. So, I just went ahead and requested the buy-back "blind". At the time of writing, the actual Euro-GBP exchange rate is 1.11 euros to the pound. ICE loaded the card at 1.09 to the pound, yet have just refunded me at the buy-back k rate of 1.22 !!! If I had been made aware of the awful exchange ICE buy back at, I would have left the money on the card for future use! I am truly disgusted by their sneaky ways of making money out of their customers! I will be cancelling my ICE card and taking my business to FairFX instead!

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Jo Marsden

10th June 2017

I ordered £750 worth of Euro early Friday morning (on the website that is linked to compare holiday money), and paid the extra 99p to have it delivered on Saturday morning. Once I had ordered and paid, I took a quick look at the reviews, and I admit, had I looked first I probably wouldn't have ordered with ICE money, as the most recent reviews were not great, but all talked about the travel money card, so I was glad I had ordered cash. The postman arrived with my package to sign for, just after 10 am this morning (Saturday), which I was very pleased with, as I didn't want to be waiting in all day. Very pleased with the service all round, and would recommend to anyone one reading this. Website is easy to use, and I received a good mix of notes. And now I have set up an account, I will definitely be using again.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

david

25th May 2017

prepaid card status says cancelled? no wonder it won't work it's been stopped for some reason it still has credit on it

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it

Michael Beech

18th May 2017

I was on holiday in Mallorca. On the last day I tried to pay my hotel bill using my prepaid ice card, it was declined twice, very embarrassing. This has happened before and I was sent a security check email which I duly replied to and asked what the problem was, I received no reply. On return from holiday I contacted ice to find out what was wrong, the answer given was a security issue because I had used the card twice (it was declined twice). What use is a travel card if it is declined when I use it abroad? There was no real explanation, the help and support was vague and next to hopeless. After being let down on two separate occasions with no proper explanation I no longer had any faith in their service, I decided to close the card and get my money back, they said they would send me a link and details. I am still waiting to hear from them. Check out other peoples reviews and and judge for yourself. My advice do not use ice.

  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Dek

17th May 2017

I experienced no problems topping up with my Apple device last year. Also no problems when using ATMs and making purchases. However I found I was unable to successfully top up the card recently using My iPhone. I attempted topping up with my iPad and then my Apple Laptop. Both attempts were unsuccessful. Customer services informed me that "there is a system problem with Apple" and on being told that all my available devices are Apple they suggested I go online at a library. The only remaining alternative, I was informed, is to top up using a telephone. This I attempted to do, but was then informed by the 'topping up' department that I would have to leave my telephone number and wait for them to ring me back and that this could take a couple of days. My earlier positive opinion of the ICE Cashcard has been altered to a strong negative opinion following this latest contact. If ICE wish to trash this review they should consult their records of my contact history. I shall retrieve the remaining Euros on my card and take great pleasure in cutting it up I followed their latest advice and attempted to top up by telephone. I was then informed this could only be done if I left my telephone number and they would thenring They would ring me back to carry out the top up, but "this could take a couple of days".

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ICE PLC to others

Don Miller

26th April 2017

Have used ICE for over 10 years now for holiday money. Everything has happened as it should with no problems whatsoever. I would happily recommend them for all holiday financial needs.

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Dave

26th April 2017

I have just experienced the same problem as others have reported here. My prepaid card is about to expire. ICE emailed me this fact just 4 days before expiry. I recently 'charged' this card for my next holiday which is in 4 days time! I contacted customer services (joke) to ask whether my new card will arrive in time and they have absolutely no idea. Like others they say it is down to me to contact them because I might no longer need the card! This despite the fact that I recently added 1000 euros to the account. When I asked to speak to someone who could help me (because the individual I was speaking with was clearly speaking from a script and unable to deviate from it) I was told that supervisors cannot speak on the phone! My other option is to request a buy back for the balance in my account. This takes between 3-5 working days apparently so read 5-7. I go on holiday in 4 days. Not only that but the exchange rate has moved significantly against me in recent days. I am now left completely in limbo hoping that a replacement card MIGHT turn up before my holiday I did get all the usual platitudes from the individual on the phone but the so-called customer service was utterly appalling. There are better card providers out there. Use one of them instead.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Malcolm. C.

20th April 2017

Ordered 1500 Euros at 2.50pm on Wednesday, monies arrived at 09.45am. next day, Brilliant service as usual.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Jim C.

19th April 2017

Waiting for a flight out of Gatwick to the States used my Ice currency card at ATM to get $200 just before the confirm part the machine warned me there might be a transaction charge . So stopped there and cancelled transaction . When on to Ice site to check if there is a charge only to find I had been debited the full amount . Phoned Ice and was told they could see I had not received any funds and would refund within the next few days. 1 week later they have not returned funds and I have to fill in and post a claim form which they say will take 45 days. Ice seem OK if there is no problem but pretty useless if there is.

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

jane d

16th April 2017

f you are a masochist and want a stressful holiday - then use this company to purchase a currency card! Suspended my account because I inputted the wrong pin just ONCE. It's almost impossible and expensive to to get hold of them, especially from abroad, passed from pillar to post when you do eventually manage to get through and they do not answer emails or queries made on the online form. Aaarrgghh! Thanks for making my holiday so stressful ICE. Do not recommend to anyone, don't touch with a barge-pole

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

A Bartholomew

8th April 2017

I thought it would save me some hassle by buying currency online and picking it up from the ICE booth at Edinburgh. Tried and failed for an hour or so to set up an account online with ICE using their incredibly clunky and non-intuitive website. When I finally discovered the click and collect application point, the registration would never complete because the address look-up didn't fill in the "street" box and you could NOT fill it in manually. When you tried to move on to the next screen it was forbidden because you hadn't filled in the "street" box. I tried 3 different browsers and pasting etc - with no luck. It did let me register for the ICE Card so I thought I'd cracked it but that account didn't let you access any other services and didn't recognise your log-in details for the main ICE log-in. Totally useless system. Even if I had eventually managed to somehow access their services I would never use them now on a point of principle.

  • I ordered £1600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

dave mcbain

26th October 2016

do not get a cash card from this lot. I tried to pay a restaurant bill of 300 euros whilst in Germany this week only to be told that the card had expired. It was embarrassing to be put in a position of not being able to access my own cash. When I queried why I had not received a new card or at least a reminder I was told it was my responsibility to apply for a new one!! How many cards does anyone have that don't send a new one before the old one expires?? Apparently they don't!! They also said that if I was a regular user they "MIGHT" have emailed me a reminder. This was tosh as I had used the card only a month previously in Tenerife so how regular do they mean!! The young man that I spoke to was unable to pass me to someone who could give me a satisfactory explanation. It seems that supervisors cant be bothered to talk to customers. I have now applied to have all my cash refunded but I expect that there will be some problem with doing that. There are lots of other cards on the market, so if you need one go elsewhere, it might save you from being put in an embarrassing position like I was.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • I would recommend this card to others

Write a review of ICE PLC

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ICE PLC to others?Yes No

ICE PLC are one of the largest retail currency exchange operators in the world, with a combined annual group turnover in excess of USD 1.8bn. Founded in 1973, they now own over 300 branches worldwide, and operate in over 65 airports across 4 continents.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

  • A roundup of the latest exchange rates and currency deals
  • Hand-picked special offers on travel and holiday extras
  • Helpful and informative travel blogs written by our in-house team
Russian love-lock fever

Russian love-lock fever

Posted by Sam Stone on 14th June 2018

As a midsummer dream is played out on Russia’s football fields, echoes of Shakespeare’s themes of undying love are evident elsewhere in Moscow’s iron heart. On Luzhkov Bridge, love-lock fever read more

City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 7th June 2018

Cities or country sides? I don’t know which one you like more but these are what you would notice if you’ve lived in both like myself. But for you all who have lived in only one of them then here ar read more