ICE PLC reviews

120 Reviews Average | 3.3

ICE PLC

https://www.iceplc.com/

ICE offer free next day delivery on orders over £1000 if ordered before 3pm. Saturday delivery available for 99p. 0% commission and no hidden costs on over 50 currencies and click and collect available from 45 locations nationwide including airport locations for convenience.

Write a review

John Hughes

24 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

24 May 2019

I have used the Ice card for several years and it has worked really well. So far, the new card is useless. I used it at ATMs in France in April and I had all sorts of costs that I did not expect. One withdrawal of 200 Euros cost 211.37 plus Purse Currency Conversion Fee of 12.15 and International Conversion Fee of 1.76. My Credit Card would have been cheaper! I spoke to them on May 7 and they agreed that those costs should not have been charged but today, May 24, nothing has happened. After two more phone calls I still await what the 'Disputes Team' decides. It takes ages speaking to someone in Asia and all they can do is pass the information on to the 'Disputes Team'. Don't touch them!

ICE PLC replied

Dear Mr Hughes

We have been in touch with the ICE Clear Card team regarding this who have replied that they will be in touch with you directly regarding this matter. If you have not had any contact with them within the next few days then please contact us on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com and let us know and we will chase the matter up for you.

Kind regards

ICE Customer Services

DeeDee

8 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

8 May 2019

I have used ICE Travellers Prepaid CashCard for several years and it worked very well. Now they have transferred to the ICE Card it has gone to rats. The rate to transfer from the existing GBP on my card into Euros on the same card is lower than if I loaded Euros directly onto the card. Why? Then when I asked about the buyback of paper money left over from my travels, they apparently don't do that anymore. Again why? I was a happy regular user of this service but no longer. I will be looking for a new card.

ICE PLC replied

Hi I am sorry you have expereinced issues with the new ICE Clearcard if you can please email us directly at icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com and we will investigate and get back to you Regards ICE

Raj

1 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

1 May 2019

I have used previous prepaid cash card and was pretty happy. Just last week got the new clear card but a bit worried looking at the reviews as I will be using in Peru for the first time next week. In case anything goes wrong who do we contact, during office hrs and out of office numbers please. Thanks

ICE PLC replied

Hi thanks for your message if you have any concerns whilst away you can call 44 207 649 9404 this is available 24/7 but if you are in the U.K. then the number is 0800 056 0572 Regards ICE

Stephen Fry

3 April 2019

Bought a prepaid multi-currency card

3 April 2019

I was a very happy user of the ICE prepaid currency cards for some years. It was convenient and generally worked. Now I'm stuck with this clear card update which just does not work in any shape, way or form. I'm unable to get into my online account (new card number not recognised). The support email address (cashcard@iceplc.com) is completely unresponsive despite their stated 1 business day response time and my numerous attempts to contact them. The 24/7 'card not working' phone number is not open until 09:00 GMT. I can only hope that this operation is covered by the Financial Ombudsman as I seem to have little other recourse. All I desire is MY money back :(

ICE PLC replied

I am sorry you have experienced these problems. I have replied directly to your personal email address regarding the issues with your ICE Clearcard. Kind Regards ICE

Baker

31 March 2019

My currency did not arrived on time

31 March 2019

I will never use this company again. They ruined our holiday in New York due to an issue on there end not transferring our money. We then called from New York to be told they can’t do anything as the team wasnt in and we would have to wait with no money. Then when we tried to claim the £6.50 back in expenses for calling from New York we were told they had to investigate which I understand. So we sent the evidence and still nearly a year later we are waiting. Use anyone but this company!!!

ICE PLC replied

We are sorry that you have experienced problems which are still unresolved. Could you please email your details to us at icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com and we will look into this urgently for you.

Macgill

18 March 2019

Bought a prepaid Euro card

18 March 2019

Having read some of the reviews I thought I would add my own view regarding the pre paid travel card. Other than having frequent problems topping up the card I have found this card good (not the best rate but it works). A few years ago when on business in Europe I went to get cash out and was informed by the cashpoint that I had exceeded my limit! Calling ICE it appeared that my card details had been used in the USA and most of the money used! Thankfully I had means of getting on the internet at the time (and a phone) as this could have been a real nightmare. ICE dealt with this swiftly and refunded my money in double-quick time. When I come to cancel my card I will review again!

ICE PLC replied

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. We really do appreciate it when customers take the time to do this. We look forward to assisting you on your next trip. Many Thanks, ICE

matthew lewis

28 February 2019

28 February 2019

Dreadful service,Iam unable to login to my clear card and am unable to speak to anyone

ICE PLC replied

Dear Mr Lewis, We're sorry your having issues. Please contact the Travel Money team on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com with your name, address and last 4 digits of the card so that we can help get this issue resolved for you. Many Thanks, ICE

Sharon

4 February 2019

4 February 2019

No stars!!! Couldn't use my card several times in America. Over a year later someone in America used my info and spent my money, filed a complaint and they said my money had been refunded but then sent my a new travelers card (which btw they are no longer using and I already had my new clear card) I have phoned and emailed till I'm blue in the face!!! I'm sick to the back teeth of it and I want my money!

ICE PLC replied

We apologise you are experiencing issues. please can you email the Travel Money team on icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com with your name, address and email address the ICE Travellers Cashcard is registered to and we will get this fully investigated and resolved for you. Many Thanks ICE

Dr John Muhlhaus

24 January 2019

24 January 2019

Just over four years ago I got an ICE travellers cashcard and put 200 euros (about £163) on it. I haven’t used it yet but it expires this coming July. On Jan 21st, I got an email purporting to come from ICE saying that my card would be “closed” at midnight and would I log into My Account, and select Buy Back to get my remaining balance (ie, the £163) transferred to a bank account of my choice. No reason was given for the premature card closure. I logged into My Account and saw that the balance was still there, but there was no Buy Back option (Travel Money, Prepaid Card, Click & Collect, Money Transfers, Deals & Offers, Travel Extras, were the only options offered). I tried to send a message to ICE using their web contact form, but the message was rejected; “invalid characters in response”, except that my message used normal text, so what was invalid? I phoned up ICE using the number supplied in the original email and when I mentioned the absence of the Buy Back option in My Account webpage, the receptionist made no comment. She just said, send in an email with the details of my bank account. How dangerous is that? The email address I had to use was a strange one that she had to read out, letter by letter, three times to me. I still don’t know if I got it right! Needless to say, I was not going to send them an open email with my bank details. I tried emailing a response to the original email I’d received on Jan 21st. The reply acknowledged receipt and said my email would be forwarded to the “correct department” who would themselves reply shortly. Worrying about the possibility that ICE were trying to steal my money off my card, I stayed up till midnight that day, but no response came. I sent another email the day after, complaining about their lack of reply and about their suggestion of my sending bank details through an open email. I suggested they post me a cheque with the balance. There has still been no response. In the past, I’ve been able to check my ICE balan

ICE PLC replied

We're sorry your having issues. We can confirm that the email you sent to us on 29th January is being dealt with and somebody will be in touch with you shortly regarding this. Many Thanks ICE

Andrew Kirwan

21 December 2018

21 December 2018

Great card, easy to use and top up but wait until you want your money back. Forget the 'transaction will take place at the end of the next working day'. Emails get replied to by automation promising someone will call, no one does. Phone and a lovely lady will tell you she will pass your message to the Transaction Team (does it exist?) then nothing. So make your choice but when eventually my balance is cleared I will be destroying my card.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Andrew, please can you contact the Travel Money team directly on callcentre@iceplc.com so that we can get this resolved for you. Many Thanks, ICE

Write a review of ICE PLC

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?