ICE PLC reviews

ICE PLC are rated Average in 144 reviews

https://www.iceplc.com/

ICE offer free next day delivery on orders over £700 if ordered before 3pm. Saturday delivery available for 99p. 0% commission and no hidden costs on over 50 currencies and click and collect available from 25 locations nationwide including airport locations for convenience.

Last reviewed 3 months ago

49% of reviews are positive

Replies to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 66 reviews are rated 5 stars 46%
Great 5 reviews are rated 4 stars 3%
Average 4 reviews are rated 3 stars 3%
Poor 8 reviews are rated 2 stars 6%
Bad 61 reviews are rated 1 star 42%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarPrepaid CardTravel MoneyEurosJapanese yen
MA

Maureen

1 Stars
1 Stars

6 May 2022

Bought travel money

6 May 2022

I wrote to this company returning a card and asked for the balance of Canadian Dollars to be returned to my account. They did not have the courtesy to acknowledge my letter - so very disappointed

SD

Susan deniz

1 Stars
1 Stars

24 November 2021

I received email about going into administration so tried to log on to check amount on card. I had forgotten password so went through procedure to change but despite trying several times could not get OTP to be accepted. I want to know how I can get my balance back.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Susan. As ICE are not replying to their reviews now, Compareholidaymoney has found some information for you. If you go to the ICE website (iceplc.com), you will find lots of information including phone numbers. Hopefully this will help.

SA

suveer anand

1 Stars
1 Stars

23 October 2021

I have held some money in one of the ICE PLC cards. The card had not been used and i had approx 1500 Euros in the card. The card got expired and i had a new one sent , unfortunately there is no record held in the system to find out about the amount that has been held as it did not get transferred . Heathrow branch is now closed where i got the card from, so there is no one to speak to. Also the customer service team is unhelpful. I do not know what to do. In today's era how come a company not hold any data.

My advise do not go for this card.

JT

Jane Tanner

2 Stars
2 Stars

18 September 2021

I've been hit with these non use fees as well! Can't use the card in

a pandemic. When I rang to complain the women told me it was in terms and conditions so basically "tough luck" I then tried to cancel my card and had no luck there. She said I had to call someone else. Very poor service.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Jane,

Thank you for your review, I'm really sorry to hear about your experience so far with the ICE Clear Card.

We don't have any contact details for you from this review so could you please drop us an email at icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com so that we can look into this for you as soon as possible?

Thanks,

Lucy

JG

John Gibbins

1 Stars
1 Stars

27 July 2021

Bought Euros

27 July 2021

Very poor communication. Taken non usage fee without telling us. We cannot travel due to Covid so card cannot be used. Company refused to refund any monies even though we were never told of this sharp practice.

This company was excellent years ago but no longer. I do not recommend anyone using them going forward.

ICE PLC replied

Hi John,

Thank you for your review, I am really sorry to hear about your frustrations with the ICE Clear Card.

We have escalated this matter to the Clear Card management team who should be in touch with you directly.

Many thanks,

Lucy

KT

Kevin Thomas’s

1 Stars
1 Stars

2 June 2021

This ICE clear card is absolutely rubbish. I strongly advise not to get one for travel. I have not used mine for over 12 months due to travel restrictions caused by the pandemic. I have discovered they are taking £2 a month non usage fee from my account during the pandemic. When you contact them they say it’s MasterCard’s fault. What nonsense.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Kevin,

Thank you for your review, I'm really sorry to hear your frustrations with the Clear Card.

As explained in our email to you yesterday, your enquiry came through to the Travel Money department and unfortunately due to Data Protection and GDPR regulations, we are unable to access your Clear Card account.

Therefore, as advised we passed your email onto the Clear Card team who should have contacted you directly. If they have not been in touch with you yet then please let us know and we will chase this for you.

Many thanks,

Lucy

RS

Robert Scribbins

1 Stars
1 Stars

8 April 2021

I find it impossible to contact anyone, impossible to get any response, so impossible to recover the £800 closing balance on my card since October 2020. What do I do? I am 83 and may be dead before I get my money!

ICE PLC replied

Hi Mr Scribbins,

I'm really sorry to hear you have experienced problems with your cashcard.

As your review doesn't have any personal details that we can contact you on, could you please email us directly at icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com or call us on 0330 123 1432 so that we can resolve this for you as soon as possible.

Our customer service telephone lines are open Monday to Friday 9am-4:30pm.

We hope we can get this sorted for you soon.

Thanks,

Lucy

MD

Michael de Sancha

3 Stars
3 Stars

27 January 2021

Bought £200 worth of Euros

27 January 2021

I was quite happy with the ICE clear card when I could travel but I am not now when I see that despite a claimed ‘no fees’, my money is disappearing at 2 euros (approx) a month for the last two years when I have been unable to use it.

Any chance of interest on my deposited cash or a return of my euros?

ICE PLC replied

Hi Michael,

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry to hear that you’re frustrated with the Clear card. We don't appear to have any contact details for you from this review so could you please email us directly at icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com so that we can look into this for you with the Clear Card team?

We hope we can get this sorted for you soon.

Many thanks,

Lucy

HA

Harmony

1 Stars
1 Stars

29 October 2020

My original ICE Travel Card acquired 2013 (with the Mastercard branding) still had EUR 43.94 on it when I realised a year or two later that it had expired. I tried to recover the money and reactivate the card or transfer the balance onto a new one, but was told by ICE that it could not be retrieved. I reluctantly accepted that as they gave me no option, although very annoying that they weren’t more helpful.

I loaded my next ICE card in Nov 2017 with EUR 214 for a quick trip and then did not go away as planned so left the money on the card. A new ICE Clear card replaced the ICE travel card I had in Jan 2019 and my balance of EUR 214 mysteriously turned into EUR 175.93. I queried this immediately but although I was quick off the mark this time, I was again told that they could not access my previous card or the money on it and that they had no record...

Now October 2020 I have just discovered that my balance has reduced further. Now only EUR 155.68 is left on it.

Apparently a non usage fee is now charged of £2 per month taken in euros off the card balance. Because my card being idle is causing Mastercard so much work...!? Considering this fee started Feb 2020 and we were in Lockdown from March to July it seems pretty unfair to charge a non-usage fee- which I question anyway - but they say its in their T&Cs. I have not had use of a single euro that has gone.

I have spent a whole evening phoning ICE Clear - 5 times in 3.5 hrs - trying to close the card and still have not got my money back from my ICE card. I am trying to transfer the balance to my bank account but every person has hung up on me and when I called back last time I got the same person by chance that I'd been speaking to. She said that she can not close the card so tried to transfer me to someone else- when it went dead (again). She told me that the other person will call me back as soon as they finish the call they are on..that was 45 minutes ago and counting as I write this and its nearly 10pm where I am.

I now see many other complaints online from people who have lost money in similar ways to ICE and ICE customer service has failed to refund them or deal with their complaints. Other cards that take non-usage fees are waiving this during the pandemic. I would not recommend ICEClear to anyone.

NOTE:

Now 10.15pm and I have had a call back from ICE and been asked to 'be patient' because they have to take me through FIVE pages of admin to give me my money back. I was then told I would only get £133.11 for my EUR 155.68 (a fair exchange would be £140.68 which is todays exchange rate in actual fact). They say that they can not return the money to me any other way. I am amazed they get away with this. AVOID!!

ICE PLC replied

Hi Harmony,

Thank you for your review, I'm really sorry to hear about the experience with the Cash cards you've had so far.

We have been unable to find any contact details on this review for you so could you please email us directly at icedirect.callcentre@icecurrency.com so that we can look into this for you ASAP?

Many thanks,

Lucy

BH

Barry Hubbard

5 Stars
5 Stars

11 July 2020

Fantastic service, ordered Friday PM, money delivered Saturday AM.With a £75 wine

voucher, superb company to deal with, thank you.

ICE PLC replied

Hi Barry,

Thank you very much for your review.

We're so pleased you were happy with our home delivery service and hope you enjoy the wine voucher too!

We look forward to helping out on your future trips and do appreciate you taking the time to leave us a great review.

Thanks,

Lucy

Write a review of ICE PLC

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?