Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

ICICI Bank reviews

Good 3.2 / 5

Based on 78 reviews Write Review

28th November 2016

Tried to order Chinese yuan but my identity couldn't be verified which doesn't make sense and has never happened before. I rang them up which was a complete waste of time and spoke to someone from India I believe, this person was most unhelpful and said if it didn't work online then I couldn't proceed. No attempt made to put my order through by phone or work out why there was a problem. Utterly useless.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th October 2016

Disgusting services.. pathetic customer service ....very unhelpful bank .was aboard and these guys blocked my visa debit card ..have been struggling frm 4days to get it unblocked Nd get d international feature enabled they r just passing the call to next person in different departments and asking me to generate new pin Nd even after it confirms dat it was successful d card is nt allowed to do transactions...I have no words for these ppl...feels handicapped ..my account my money and m nt able to withdraw..in emergency situation here !!!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th September 2016

I ordered a rupee prepaid currency card in good time for a six week trip to India. I then spent the next 5 weeks phoning and e-mailing to get the card delivered. I have been passed from pillar to post and 3 days before departing finally got someone to actually do something and the card was sent special delivery an arrived the day before we departed. I loaded the card to the max, £2,200.00 and then attempted to open on line banking to monitor its use and balance. Couldn't get access. So called again to be told the card would be active in 7-10 days time!!! As i type I am on hold (and have been on and off all day) trying to get the card activated. I have been told so far... we'll call you back, they didn't, ...we'll send an email to a UK branch tomorrow to activate it... too late, need it for tomorrow... go into a London branch to get the card activated, no good, same reason, and frankly I don't believe them anyway. I wish I'd never started this process, and I'm down £2,200, and I am dreading my phone bill. Travel to India.... forget it, try the USA instead, they have banks that work...and I'm STILL in hold......

  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

3rd June 2016

Tried to get some foreign currency for my holiday. They could not verify my identity. What is this rubbish? Well, they've lost a customer.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

31st May 2016

Apart from the small issue that I could not order using my name (the website will deny you from progressing if your given name is shorter than 4 characters) I had no problems ordering from ICICI. Rate was good. Better than what local retailers could offer as long as you order above a certain amount. Ordered on a Friday. Currency arrived on Saturday morning.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Hong Kong Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th February 2016

Most unqualified employees, no knowledge of banking rules or too smart to disguise it as idiots. Very slow in crediting the account or even answering enquiries. Most of the employees have answers (talking points), "please send an email". Very frustrating. Have been trying to open an NRE account for the last three months. Account has been opened but money has not been credited even after 5 weeks though already taken out from my other account. Nothing but heart ache.

  • I transferred US Dollars to India
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I received a good exchange rate
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

26th February 2016

customer service is ssly bad to d the core.not doing the procedures on time.for opening an savings acc it took 3 weeks and for current acc more than 3 weeks.ppl dont suffer by chosing this

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

30th December 2015

The twitter must highlight the lucane of the ICICI bank , as its cheating millions of customers holding accounts and amount of NRIs, the twitters the media must cover for its lapses .even till date the money not credited even after 10 days of the transfer of money from abroad, why this much cheating by this icici bank people must stop transactions with this ICICI bank and the banks abroad must stop understanding with this bank and swithc over to some good bank where in good service instant service provided, since icici bank holding accounts and as well cheating and blackmailing the customers .First stop banking with this icici bank

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

18th November 2015

The customer service u all have is a joke ... Very disappointed and waste of time n money -- yea as if u care .. Worst banking system -- if there was negative ratings I would have still give for that ..

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th November 2015

PLACED AN ORDER FOR CLOSE TO £2500 FOR EUROS & RECIEVED NOTHING. NO CONFIRMATION > MY BANK (HSBC) CONFIRMED THE MONEY HAS BEEN DEBBITED BY ICICI. ICICI CANNOT FIND MY PAYMENT WHAT A S*** BANK RESULT = £2500 LESS ON MY HOLIDAY ! ICICI IS A FRAUD & SHOULD BE AVOIDED

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th October 2015

Verified no problem and money arrived next day as promised. Great rate. Happy customer - would use again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Chinese Yuan
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th October 2015

Site is an utter joke! Can't verify my identity yet I have lived at my address for ages, been on the electoral roll for ages, had the same name and DoB my whole life! Wouldn't touch with a barge pole till they sort out their useless system!!

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2015

I tried ordering in June 2015 and could not be verified! Tried again October and exactly the same. I have lived at the address nearly 2 years, on electoral roll, ex police officer, no criminal record or civil debts etc etc. Why I cannot be verified is beyond me. I phoned and they cannot tell why except "computer says no". I told them that they had lost my business twice and, looking at reviews, plenty of other peoples and that they needed to sort out their checking system. Didn't seem too bothered but their loss. I used Moneycorp again and the rate had increased with them between my initial check and then placing order so at least got a benefit out of ICICI's appalling system and customer service.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th October 2015

I ordered EURO's £750 worth and i was sent a INDIAN RUPEES ??? ... i managed to get a Chicken Tikkha Masala and Vindaloo from my local curry shop with these rupees. He gave me monopoly money as change... i HAVE NO MONEY NOW :(

  • I ordered £750 worth of US Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd September 2015

Great rates but like so many before me, I didn't pass their security check. All they ask for is your name and address. I've been on the electoral roll here for over 10 years, but I still somehow failed the check. Waste of time.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Japanese Yen
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th September 2015

Excellent speed of service and mix of notes. I ordered Thai Baht, Singapore dollars and Euros as well as the main order for Australian dollars. Easy to add different currencies to the basked. All good.

  • I ordered £1200 worth of Australian Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th September 2015

Very good customer service, very quick delivery. Ordered £ 1,400 in Rands, happy with mix of notes even though they could not guarantee. First time dealing with them and will happily use them again and recommend!

  • I ordered £1400 worth of South African Rand
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th September 2015

Unlike some reviewers I had no problems at all with placing the order, verification or delivery which was prompt (next day). However I was disappointed to find that of the 1340 euros supplied, 1200 were in 50 euro notes. As we will be holidaying in a fairly rural area with mainly small businesses this is going to present a problem as they tend to hate large notes as it takes all their change, and find that the banks in the towns do not welcome tourists just dropping in to change their money. I usually use the Post Office but this time thought I would take advantage of the better exchange rate, but this was definitely an error of judgement as at least with the PO I get mainly 20 euro notes or smaller. Not sure that the better exchange rate would be worth using them again. I would only recommend to others if large denomination notes aren't a problem.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th August 2015

Wary as didn't show https, but as others had used successfully went ahead (against better judgement.) However couldn't verify so pointless. Account shows no transactions. However, ordered easily from Post Office at exactly the same rate and at a much lower CC fee. Collect next day. Will use PO every time from now on.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th July 2015

I cannot flaw this service. ordered over 1000 euros and was dispatched the following day. Identity verification process was not a problem and my post code / area might have played a part in quick verification.

  • I ordered £1800 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th July 2015

Placed my order online on a Friday before the 2:30pm cutoff in order to take advantage of the next day delivery. Received delivery of my travel money the next day, which was a Saturday before 1pm. Great service, hence my 5 star rating. Will definately use ICICI Bank again in the future.

  • I ordered £700 worth of South African Rand
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd July 2015

I also was told My identity could not be verified. I have lived at my address for 7 years and have a mortgage on the property, as well a s other financial products, so my credit rating is all linked to this address. Also on electoral roll. I used their own address finder to pick the address.....there is no reason I can't be found. I rang and asked what they were checking my address against and they can't tell me because they have no idea! Their loss- I was going to put several thousands of.pounds through their bank!

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th July 2015

did not get verified at fist go but few second later I had a go and all fine , received cash next day with good exchange rates too, so in my case all good and would command it. god speed you lot regards Sam

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th July 2015

I ordered my euros at 11am Thursday and by the sametime on the Friday I had them delivered to my door great service

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

30th June 2015

Gave my first order, one day. Received my euros, next day. No problem, straight forward & will use again.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of ICICI Bank

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

ICICI Bank UK PLC offers attractive rates on Travel Money for over 60 currencies and free next working day home delivery on all orders over £700. Orders can only be placed between 9am until 2:30pm on a working day and cannot be placed after 2.30pm on working days or anytime on weekends and Bank Holidays.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

Posted by Matthew Weston on 9th December 2016

After what has been a year of uncertainty for Britain and the pound, it is slowly making improvements in the markets. With this and the continued decline of the Euro, the exchange rate is looking better for Bri read more

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more