Moneycorp reviews

299 Reviews Poor | 2.6

Moneycorp

https://www.moneycorp.com/uk/

Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979 and continue to offer some of the best exchange rates in the UK. Clients who open a trading account can benefit from exclusive travel money rates at any airport and London branches, plus other exclusive discounts on holiday essentials.

Write a review

Richard

Yesterday

Bought £300 worth of Euros

Yesterday

Went to take out €300 last weekend and the charge on the machine to my account was £374.86. I cancelled before this absurdly bad deal was transacted. At the destination my €300 cost me £286.40 from a standard ATM

Moneycorp replied

Hi Richard,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

Damien McGill

15 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

15 July 2019

Extremely poor service. They got my address wrong when I set up the card and wouldn’t change it even after two sets of security checks. They wanted proof of address and passport details sent to them to correct their error. Not worth the hassle!

Moneycorp replied

Hi Damien,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

Sophia Maclean

9 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

9 July 2019

Nightmare. You get conned into getting this card for a better exchange rate then they make it impossible for you to get the balance off the card or even use the card. The card did not and never did work abroad. I am now 15 minutes into a call which has taken me two months to get the time to actually do. They finally exchanged my 52 euros to £42 then deducted £6. Avoid. The lady I dealt with was very nice but it doesn't help!

Moneycorp replied

Hi Sophia,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

Michael Dowling

5 July 2019

Bought £400 worth of Euros

5 July 2019

Seriously ripped off by money corp ATM at Stansted.

Unbelievably bad rate of exchange

Never again

Moneycorp replied

Hi Michael,

As this relates to ATM transactions, we are unable to help on this occasion. Please email Tmqueries@moneycorp.com with further information such as date and location in order that this can be looked into and responded to in full by the ATM team.

Best wishes, the Travel Money Team

Trevor Bruce

4 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

4 July 2019

Was persuaded to get an Explorer Card .....Well they make it so hard to operated after you have put credit on it !

Have now instructed Moneycorp to refund my money ....am sure they will string this process out as well !

Moneycorp replied

Hi Trevor,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

Saverio Coppolino

4 July 2019

Bought £472 worth of Euros

4 July 2019

My daughter went travelling down Italy last Tuesday morning. I dropped her off at Gatwick at 4.30am. I had given her some cash to pay for her accommodation and instructed her to change it at the airport....BIG mistake. She did as I had suggested and used a company called Moneycorp. Well, this ethical and righteous company think it is fair and competitive to charge 20% to change money. Yes...20%. My 18 year old was charged £472 in exchange for 430 euros. Now the exchange rate according to google on that day was 1.12 euros to the £. But Moneycorp think it is ok to have a rate of 0.9 euros to the £. So she was basically charges £98 to change £472 into euros. And after communicating with the head office, the company has defended their rates as fair and competitive.

PLEASE DO YOURSELVES A FAVOUR AND NEVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN. They need to learn a lesson. Please feel free to share this with all your friends, because my mission now is to cost that company 1000 times what they charged my daughter in lost revenue. If I could give this company zero stars I would.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Saverio,

Our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id.

If you would like our customer service team to look into your query, please send an email to TMqueries@moneycorp.com

Best wishes, the Travel Money Team

Lisa

3 July 2019

Bought £124 worth of Euros

3 July 2019

Like so many others, I feel robbed. MoneyCorp have mislead us to a degree that borders on illegal activity.

They quote £91.85 for €100 online but they charge £124.11(+35%) at the airport ATM.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Lisa,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

clem

3 July 2019

Bought £306 worth of Moroccan dirham

3 July 2019

more than a rip off, i call this stealing money.

Was going to Marrakech, gave them £306.38 and i only received 2000 dirham when i should have received around 3600 dirham which is nearly double that what they gave me.

So it is like if they charged me around £130.00 for the exchange.

I am absolutely fuming, this is stealing, you should be embarrassed,

I will never ever use your services again.

Big big robber

Moneycorp replied

Hi Clem,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

aysha

24 June 2019

Bought £249 worth of Moroccan dirham

24 June 2019

Absolutely horrified. My friend and I are first time travellers (both 19) who were going to Morocco from Standsted airport, we spoke to the lady at the desk who convinced us exchanging money here will be a lot safer than doing so at Morocco which we agreed on. (It was very clear we where going to MOROCCO = MAD currency exchange)

She exchanged us a rate from Australian Dollars to United Arab Emirates Dirham instead of Moroccon Dirham (which is a lot higher than MAD) For eg; the correct MAD we should have got back from $480 AUD = 2800 MAD, we received 1200 MAD (the rate of UED) that is a difference of $240 AUD. We trusted this service and went off this rate for 4 days into our travel until we worked out what had happened. We then read through these reviews and understood we had been fooled. Do NOT use this service!

Moneycorp replied

Hi Aysha,

We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our services.

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

Mat

14 June 2019

Bought £300 worth of Euros

14 June 2019

Pre ordered 300 euros for collection at Bristol airport, rate ok but not as good as Tesco, ASDA etc. But thought convenience worth it. At the end of the transaction a “collection fee” of £4.99 added. Utterly ridiculous - means that you are paying well over the odds. To me this is an opaque way to “hide” a truly uncompetitive rate. AVOID

Moneycorp replied

Hi Mat,

You are advised about the charge when you order £500 or under online. If you would like us to look into this further. Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best Wishes

The Travel Money Team

Write a review of Moneycorp

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?