Compare Holiday Money Logo

Moneycorp reviews

Good 3.0 / 5

Based on 232 reviews Write Review

Eve

Yesterday

Giving 1 star only because necessary for a review: My boyfriend and I were completely ripped off at Stansted airport when we bought "£200 worth" of Moroccan dirhams and paid almost double more than we should have. Exchange rates on site were much closer to the real rate so their claim of the "best rate" and that "rates are constantly moving" was nothing but a lie. What's more, the woman at the counter promised we could exchange the currency at the same rate if we had left over, a complete lie when we returned and were told we should have bought a "buy back guarantee", which they do not advertise. Outrageous and appalling scam and I don’t know how they are allowed to trade in these airports.

  • I transferred British Pounds to UK
  • I received the rate I was quoted
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

TP

11th April 2018

I bought £400 of foreign currency and found that they had taken £80 of it in their fee. They do not offer the same rates at the desk as they advertise on line. Nor do they tell you what the exchange rate is when you arrive. Their practices are unethical and arguably illegal. As such I am taking this up with West Sussex Trading Standards and I would encourage others to do the same.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Girish

6th April 2018

A big rip off in Stanstead Airport ..Can't believe they fooled by 30% over the competitor on the other side of the Airport . How can some one cheat with this big Margins ...I would ask every body to stay away from Money Corp .. Do your research before buying the travel money ...And no Money Corp Rip off again for me ..

  • I ordered £700 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Jamie

16th March 2018

Absolutely awful. Complete scam. I was in Stansted Airport and changed £230 into Danish Kroner. I lost £85 worth!!!!! Complete rip off. The lady was no use and the exchange currency on the board did not inform me of this at all. She let me walk away losing £85. Plus charges that weren’t explained to me after asking. Absolutely awful don’t ever use it. Can’t beleve Stansted allow this.

  • I ordered £230 worth of Danish Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Eric Parrish

9th March 2018

Absolutely dreadful! Loaded NZ$500 on card. Unable to use as constantly told no funds available. Spent ages on international calls but got nowhere, twice, from NZ! Travelled on to Australia, transferred money to Aus$ but, again, NO FUNDS! Further phone calls to the UK, presumably! Most embarrassing times as we had to borrow money to get us through our holiday. Will never use again!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

AnnaR

1st February 2018

I didn't use it for a while and moneycorp started charging me over £3 per month each month that I didn't use it as an 'un use charge' I think they called it on the statement I looked up on-line. I then withdrew around £30 and there were various charges attached to this withdrawal taken by moneycorp at my local UK bank ATM and I have now £3 left on the card. I will not re-load it as there seem to be too many hidden charges that you are not made aware of quite disappointing.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Mike

28th November 2017

Awful rip-off merchants that catch you as you’re at the airport. Asked for an exchanged in currency and was told a load of lies and was stupid enough to come away with one of their cards that ripped us off ten times more than their normal rates. you have to call to cancel and face even more fees to get your money back. Complained and never heard anything from them. Awful company.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

1st December 2017

Dear Mike, I am sorry to hear of your experience. Please email your full name, contact number and email address to explorercard@moneycorp.com so that we can look into this further for you. Please address your email for the attention of Ken.
Kind regards, Ken

Scott H

24th November 2017

I am a Moneycorp "explorer" MasterCard holder and have nothing good to say about their on line services or customer services call centre. As their account management set up on line is non existent and nothing can be changed, so I called their customer services to change my mobile telephone number and address. I had to wait 24 hours before checking they had updated only to find they failed to do so. This makes the card useless as I cant load it with an incorrect billing address. To add to the problem, I had to call them twice because today because I it turns out what they have put on the system even though it hasn't updated is a wrong house number on my address which means I fail the security checks!! The app crashes and is useless, the desk top site does not show any customer profile information. The call centre staff read off of scripts and answer every question or point with "I understand" yet don't actually do anything to help. Terrible customer service, useless app and poor information on desk top site. What a waste of time.

    Moneycorp replied

    24th November 2017

    Dear Scott

    I am sorry to hear of the experience that you have encountered. So that we can look into this further for you, could you please email you full name, email address and phone number to privateclientservices@moneycorp.com. Please enter 'For Attention of Ken' in the subject field of your email.

    Kind regards, Ken

    Caroline H

    4th November 2017

    Completely ripped off at Gatwick airport when we bought 4000 Moroccan dirhams and paid £180 more than we should have! Outrageous scam and I don’t know how they are allowed to trade at Gatwick. Close them down!

    • I ordered £250 worth of Moroccan Dirham
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Moneycorp replied

    6th November 2017

    Hi Caroline,

    We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. Unfortunately, rates are constantly moving with the market to ensure our travelers receive the best possible value for money.

    To make sure you receive the best possible rate next time, make the most of our reserve and collect service: https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/

    We hope we can leave a more positive impression next time!

    Laurence

    Malcolm

    2nd November 2017

    Eyewatering! How do they get away with their extortionate exchange rate!

    • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Chapman

    22nd October 2017

    Rip off exchange rate at London Gatwick. Got much better in resort ( Mauritius).

    • I ordered £300 worth of Mauritian Rupees
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Harrison M

    11th October 2017

    Glad they were at the airport. i left my holiday cash at home and had to get some quick. OK so didn't get the best rate but still glad to get some:)

    • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Jazz

    25th September 2017

    Total fraud use ATM service claiming free withdrawal at Gatwick airport end up paying £62 for €60 withdrawal. £12 commission which was never mention.

    • I ordered £53 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    David

    10th September 2017

    Buying currency at the bureau without pre-booking is a big mistake! 500EUR cost me £569 at the airport when it could have cost me about £450 pre-booking online. Bureau rates are seemingly not published online along with the other bureau branch details - now I know why!

    • I ordered £569 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    mehdi 09/17

    2nd September 2017

    can please let the people know, this company is crab, i check the rate of lire on their website and when i went to air port they sell more expensive, 1.4 lire for each pound, how the hell this company allow themselves to rip of the customers in airport. i lost more than £150 pound in one transaction, i don't how about others

    • I ordered £412 worth of Turkish Lira
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Julian

    31st August 2017

    Shocking site and customer support - need to be investigated and prevented from trading. I use multiple browsers as neither Chrome nor Safari work. Customer support agreed I was seeing problems but couldn't help and laughed when I asked for compensation. Now I have 300GBP stuck in the account that I cannot transfer to EUR as when doing so, it offers a rate then dives into a 'Send Currency' set of screens to transfer money overseas. Loading the card worked the first time for £800, then failed consistently. I was locked out with an 'Unauthorized' message, without having got my password wrong. Avoid this company like the plague - absolutely appalling.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Nicky A

    22nd August 2017

    DO NOT PURCHASE A MONEY CORP EXPLORER CARD. IT IS A SCAM. I wanted Euros for Pounds and was heavily sold this card. Firstly I was told when I paid £500 for a Money Corp Explorer card that the exchange rate would be better than converting Pounds to Euros. I should have received 522.15 euros for my £500. Yet, I paid £500 I have spent only £356.43. My balance now stands at £6.20. Withdrawing 400 euros cost me Money Corp fees of £66.19. And one purchase at a shop that didn't go through because all my money had gone on fees was rejected but still my Money corp statement has debited the money. COMPLETE FRAUD. Can't believe this is legal.

    • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Abiola

    19th August 2017

    I am disgusted at the service provided by moneycorp, I am super upset. I withdrew sterling from my euro card at their ATM in stansted airport, they charged €334 for £250. Upon leaving the airport, I discovered it would have been €276 to buy that £250. I was practically charged €60!!!! Never ever would I use them!!!

    • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Mark Robinson

    7th August 2017

    Daylight robbery - we used a MoneyCorp cashpoint to draw €400 and it offered what appeared to be a rate of 1.08 so we accepted. Checked bank statement the next day, they had charged £451 GBP for €400. Essentially losing €100 compared to their online rate. How in this day and age can they charge WTF they like and get away with it. I know some clever dickies reading this will say; "of course if you draw from a cashpoint", but usually I get a better rate than you because I use World First. This was a no option urgent transaction - so chew on that!!

    • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Mary Doyle

    26th July 2017

    I used the ATM at Stansted to get 50 GBP and was charged 71.20 euro. At today's rate I should have paid 56.04 so Moneycorp have made a profit of 15 GBP on this transaction alone. Disgraceful! I will tell everyone I can about this to warn them off.

    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Emma Daniels

    20th July 2017

    The worst company to deal with. When they suckered me into a 'explorer card' the got my email address wrong so I could not register my account. Then I got charged €36 for two transactions when I was away in Europe when I was sold a lie about "no ATM charges". Now home I have struggled to retrieve the small amount back out of my account without an argument down the phone as they tried to either a.make me return to the point of purchase i.e. the airport?!!!? or b. pay a fee to withdraw my money! NEVER USING MONEY CORP AGAIN. THEY ARE MONEY SUCKING SCUM. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Frankie Blake

    20th June 2017

    Absolutely dreadful. My visa moneycorp card was transferred to a Mastercard one in January 2016. They said I was sent terms and conditions but who ever reads the minutae on t&c's. They charge a fee of £3 PER MONTH if there has been inactivity for over 12 months. I certainly didn't see this on their t&c's. That is if I was ever sent them in the first place!? I have now been charged £15 leaving just £4.24 in my account. Moneycorp Card wanted to charge me £6 to transfer the remaining money back to my normal bank account however Mastercard have managed to get them to waive this fee so should have the cash back in 3 to 5 working days. No way will either refund the £3 per month charge though. I've put in a formal complaint.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Beeingboo

    3rd May 2017

    Just awful. Online management is very limited and difficult - you can't even update your contact details online or transfer your own money back out. Rates are shocking and there seems to be a fee or some kind of charge (which they won't call a fee!) for everything. Cancelled the card today and while there was no 'fee' to close the account, they did charge me £6 just to transfer my own money to me. Refused to transfer the EUR balance as EUR trying to tell me my bank would refuse to accept it. Rubbish (I work in international banking and have extensive knowledge of multi ccy transfers), my bank would simply exchange at rate of day and may charge me a minimal fee to exchange. Still wouldn't have lost as much money as I did with Moneycorp insisting on exchanging it to GBP. So while they would only transfer GBP, they still charged me for 2 transfers. Normally I put up more of a fight, but to be honest, it was worth £6 just to never have to deal with them again!

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Nina G

    30th April 2017

    My brother changed his money in the Picadilly branch and he was completely ripped off. Their rate is the highest one compared to any bureau de change in the same area. PLACE TO AVOID, go change your money in other bureau around. Proper THIEVES.....

    • I sold 560 Euros
    • I received the rate quoted
    • Selling was easy and straightforward
    • I would recommend this supplier to others

    Myrna

    29th April 2017

    I took out money from the Moneycorp cash machine upon arrival at Stansted Airport on 22 April 2017. I requested GBP 200. I arived late, and as I had to pay GBP 200 deposit uppon arriving at my hotel, I had no other option than using a cash machine. A few days later, when checking my bank account, I noticed Moneycorp had charged such a disadvantageous rate that I lost GBP 60 compared to other major UK banks, such as Natwest an TSB. WIll never use Moneycorp again as I feel conned. Advise to other travellers to London: use the Natwest cash machine in Liverpool Street station when arriving in London from Stansted airport.

    • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
    • My currency arrived on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • Ordering was easy and straightforward
    • I would recommend this supplier to others

    Write a review of Moneycorp

    Your name

    Your rating

    Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
    1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

    Your review

    Optional questions

    • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
    • How much travel money did you purchase?
      worth of
    • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
    • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
    • How much currency did you sell?
    • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
    • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
    • What currency did you transfer?
      to
    • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
    • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
    • What type of prepaid card did you order?
    • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
    • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
    • What kind of policy did you purchase?
      policy for
    • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
    • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No

    Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979 and continue to offer some of the best exchange rates in the UK. Clients who open a trading account can benefit from exclusive travel money rates at any airport and London branches, plus other exclusive discounts on holiday essentials.

    Visit Website

    Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

    • Latest exchange rates delivered monthly to your inbox
    • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
    • Travel money and holiday articles and information
    Travelling light?

    Travelling light?

    Posted by Sam Stone on 13th April 2018

    Travelling light is not just about being careful with your money. Speed and weight are an attractive factor for minimising your luggage. However, the goal posts constantly sift and some airline weight restricti read more

    The Things To Do When Traveling

    The Things To Do When Traveling

    Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 9th April 2018

    Traveling can be so much fun because you get to try new and tasty food, take photos in each country’s famous spots, and just have fun and be free. But besides all those cool things you get to do, there are a read more