Moneycorp reviews

312 Reviews Poor | 2.5

Moneycorp

https://www.moneycorp.com/uk/

Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979 and continue to offer some of the best exchange rates in the UK. Clients who open a trading account can benefit from exclusive travel money rates at any airport and London branches, plus other exclusive discounts on holiday essentials.

Write a review

Matt Matt Hieatt

19 August 2019

Bought £270 worth of Euros

19 August 2019

Used your ATM at Gatwick. Stressed with kids I didn't notice the absolutely shocking rate you offered for Euros (I thought you Euro rate was actually your Pound rate!). You basically screwed me for 50 quid. Thanks for a great start to my holiday you must be very proud.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Matt,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money team

matt prout

19 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

19 August 2019

My card did not work in numerous cashpoints across USA and Europe I rang to get a replacement and was told I had to pay £10 for a new card! Their computer said there was no record of me not being able to get money out..(so I am inconveniencing myself for the fun of it?!) I asked to close my account down as I did not believe this is the right way for a company to behave. They then said they would transfer my dollars into sterling - this would be at a rate of 0.78!!!!! This is a complete racket AVOID. AVOID. AVOID.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Matt,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

Eve Weah

18 August 2019

Bought £304 worth of Moroccan dirham

18 August 2019

My daughter who is only 17 years old was riped off, which I will be making a complaint. She was charged the rate I believe that you buy back the foreign currency. As on the receipt it says sell foreign note at 7.2475, the buying rate should be 9.9535. Unfortunately their was a miss communication as I had told her to buy at Morroco airport not uk. So because I was not with her it means she is £80 worse off, this is not right and I will be taking this further.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Eve,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

Dopey Traveller

12 August 2019

Bought £284 worth of US dollars

12 August 2019

I was shocked and disgusted when yesterday at London Gatwick when I received GBP284 for USD440. This is nearly £100 less than what I would get at a market exchange rate. I was also charged a commission of £5.99 even though they advertise zero commission. I agree airport costs are high but these margins are criminal and I feel robbed and violated. For a regulated company these margins are shocking and unjustified. I cannot believe consumer watchdogs have not done something about same!!!!

Moneycorp replied

Hi,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

Anderson Castro

7 August 2019

Bought £450 worth of Euros

7 August 2019

My wife was ripped off today in Stansted.

She bought some euros at the rate of 0.789

Avoid changing money at the airport.

I was told by the customer service that most of the airports in Uk are trading under £1.00

She asked for refund still at the airport and they have given the money back.

So disapointed with the rate but happy for the fast refund.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Anderson,

Our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id . Best wishes, the Travel Money Team

Mark

7 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

7 August 2019

Beware of Moneycorp for a foreign currency card.Because I didn't use my card for a year they took money put in fees which wiped out all of the money I had in my account. The card was discontinued and I didn't get email notification ...Total Rip off

Moneycorp replied

Hi Mark,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

Erik

6 August 2019

Bought £120 worth of Euros

6 August 2019

Rip-off at ATM machine at Southampton Airport. 500£ cost me 690€.

Like to find people who would like to sue them.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Erik,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

Joy

3 August 2019

Transferred funds overseas

3 August 2019

I was ripped off by moneycorp ATM London Stansted airport last month. I withdrew €60.00 and £78.90 was taken from my account. I rang my bank and I was told that it was Moneycorp that overcharged me £20.30p extra. I called moneycorp customer service to refund my money but they never did.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Jay,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

Al C

3 August 2019

Bought £250 worth of Euros

3 August 2019

4.99 airport collection fee ? Seriously ?

Moneycorp replied

Hi Al,

Yes there is a charge for orders under £400 and you are notified from the beginning. However, Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so if you have any other queries.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

Yvette Brazier

29 July 2019

Bought £268 worth of Euros

29 July 2019

I bought €240 at the ATM at Gatwick on 18 July and paid £267.53. Is this the wrong way round? I am confused. It can’t cost that much for €240. I have written to moneycorp and hope to hear from them.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Yvette,

Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money Team

Write a review of Moneycorp

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?