Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Moneycorp reviews

Good 3.1 / 5

Based on 211 reviews Write Review

Frankie Blake

20th June 2017

Absolutely dreadful. My visa moneycorp card was transferred to a Mastercard one in January 2016. They said I was sent terms and conditions but who ever reads the minutae on t&c's. They charge a fee of £3 PER MONTH if there has been inactivity for over 12 months. I certainly didn't see this on their t&c's. That is if I was ever sent them in the first place!? I have now been charged £15 leaving just £4.24 in my account. Moneycorp Card wanted to charge me £6 to transfer the remaining money back to my normal bank account however Mastercard have managed to get them to waive this fee so should have the cash back in 3 to 5 working days. No way will either refund the £3 per month charge though. I've put in a formal complaint.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Beeingboo

3rd May 2017

Just awful. Online management is very limited and difficult - you can't even update your contact details online or transfer your own money back out. Rates are shocking and there seems to be a fee or some kind of charge (which they won't call a fee!) for everything. Cancelled the card today and while there was no 'fee' to close the account, they did charge me £6 just to transfer my own money to me. Refused to transfer the EUR balance as EUR trying to tell me my bank would refuse to accept it. Rubbish (I work in international banking and have extensive knowledge of multi ccy transfers), my bank would simply exchange at rate of day and may charge me a minimal fee to exchange. Still wouldn't have lost as much money as I did with Moneycorp insisting on exchanging it to GBP. So while they would only transfer GBP, they still charged me for 2 transfers. Normally I put up more of a fight, but to be honest, it was worth £6 just to never have to deal with them again!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Nina G

30th April 2017

My brother changed his money in the Picadilly branch and he was completely ripped off. Their rate is the highest one compared to any bureau de change in the same area. PLACE TO AVOID, go change your money in other bureau around. Proper THIEVES.....

  • I sold 560 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Myrna

29th April 2017

I took out money from the Moneycorp cash machine upon arrival at Stansted Airport on 22 April 2017. I requested GBP 200. I arived late, and as I had to pay GBP 200 deposit uppon arriving at my hotel, I had no other option than using a cash machine. A few days later, when checking my bank account, I noticed Moneycorp had charged such a disadvantageous rate that I lost GBP 60 compared to other major UK banks, such as Natwest an TSB. WIll never use Moneycorp again as I feel conned. Advise to other travellers to London: use the Natwest cash machine in Liverpool Street station when arriving in London from Stansted airport.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Lucie

22nd February 2017

Okay I only had €45 as a leftover from my holidays so I went to Piccadilly branch to get few pounds... well according to today's rate it should be around £35 but the lady gave me only £25,52... which is ridiculous. I know we don't talk about big amount but the principle... thiefs I'd say. Won't use them again

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Janine

4th December 2016

Worst thing I've ever done. It's been rejected by all shops I went into and cash points. Now I'm down 100 euro I never received out the cash point. Worst company ever!!

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Russell

19th September 2016

Me and my girlfriend were sold Moroccan Dirham for 8.7 to the pound by Moneycorp at Gatwick, i asked them if it was a good rate and they said it was. When we got out there we realised the average rate was 12.6 meaning we'd been undersold by about a third. I understand that rates in the airport are slightly worse but A THIRD lower than the average is ridiculous. It meant that i ended up loosing £80 and my girlfriend lost £90, this may not sound a lot but were both poor students and it really made a negative impact on our holiday. I would never use them again, i feel robbed and lied to.

  • I ordered £230 worth of Moroccan Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Gerald Whyatt

19th August 2016

I have used company before and was pleased with all parts of service, picking up cash at airport. This time could not order money until only 4 days to go. Other Companies now have higher rate but Moneycorpn has gone down quite a lot, will not bother with them again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

David Taylor

3rd August 2016

Aboslutely useless. I have tried to change 3000 pounds to US dollars but it cannot verify my identity. I phoned them up and they said it must be a problem with my bank. Called the bank and they said there is no issue with my card, my address is correct and they cannot even see me attempting to use the card on their website. I wish I had read these reviews earlier to save me time. AVOID!!!!!!!

  • I ordered £3000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Katherine Turner

2nd August 2016

I chose to use Moneycorp rather than my own bank to transfer pounds from England to my American bank account, thinking I'd get a better exchange rate. In theory I could have saved a hundred dollars or so. In practice Moneycorp took my money several days ago but have so far failed to put it into my American account. They now tell me it may take five days to trace it (if they DO trace it). Feeling very frustrated.

  • I transferred British Pounds to USA
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I received a good exchange rate
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

Syd

21st July 2016

Do not use them! Identity, Address(s). I cannot give them anymore, I am retired and now they want proof of pension.

  • I transferred US Dollars to East Caribbean
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I received a good exchange rate
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

rich

19th July 2016

tried to order dollars and got the identity issue - same address 5 years, electoral roll, same bank 20 years etc etc - have complained to virgin too as trying to earn air miles on the transaction and could not - since this is their partner it reflects on them too - the system needs replacing or virgin need to find a new partner for currency

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

R Charlesworth

17th July 2016

Good exchange rate, money in a good selection of notes was sent quickly and safely. No problems, would recommend.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Gerry Gregory

24th June 2016

Have used Moneycorp for a few years for holiday Euros as they were always one of the most beneficial rates and free delivery for only £500 exchanged. However they have dropped well down the list of exchange rates, even getting hammered by Debenhams and today I notice that the minimum for free delivery is £1000. Sorry Moneycorp but I have gone to Ace-FX.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

John Plaster

22nd June 2016

I ordered Canadian dollars at a very good rate for collection at Gatwick, no problems with the collection and I was happy to put $100 on their Explorer Mastercard. I intended to top up the card in Canada from a UK bank account, unfortunately although registered an accessible initially I couldn't access my account when I tried a second time. I emailed Moneycorp Explorer on three occasions to get access to my account but got the same dumb responses each time. As a result I was unable to top up my card or establish the balance. I would use Moneycorp again for currency but definitely recommend against wasting time with their Explorer card.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Patel smith

18th June 2016

I was also nervous about Ordering from this company. It seemed people were experiencing mostly payment and problems near the end of the transaction. It's a shame that you didn't get a good service. For me, it was the best rate going , very simple , easy to order and money came a day early. Honestly very good service. My money came in varied denominations. Give it a go I'd say .

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Margaret Mair

9th June 2016

Ordered £3000.00 of euros, on 21/05/16, received email 06/06/16 whilst in France telling us to submit our check which had been posted 21/05/16. Checked with our bank the check had been cashed on the 29/05/16. Received email 07/06/16 requesting payment, Responded to this email. Received email today 09/06/16 to get in touch, called and was told it will take another 9-10 days to transfer the money, total rip off our money has been in there bank sinc 29/05/16. Very inconvenient.

  • I transferred British Pounds to France
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I received a good exchange rate
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

Dean

7th June 2016

System says it cant verify me. same address for 6 years, same bank for 20 years, electorol role etc etc etc

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Vicki Wright

7th June 2016

I have tried on 6 occasions now with two different bank cards to make payment and order Lira, Each time it says something went wrong, I know the problem doesn't lie with my cards as I ensured I transferred monies into a different account after the problems with the first one only for it to happen again. I have concerns that all my bank details are in your system for two different accounts and I have nothing at the end of it, I was very sceptical to order from the internet in the first place......

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Makhan Simgh

6th June 2016

Tried to use this site a couple of years ago and got the identity verification issue. Completely forgot about so I unwittingly tried to use the again today and got the same issue. Ridiculous.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Moroccan Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

aurice Sampson

17th May 2016

Have used them now for 5 or 6 years to buy Euros, usually about 1000 each time twice a year. Always bought online and notes delivered on chosen date without fail ( Post Office GD).. On occasion others have offfered a marginally better rate , but it is the devil you know , we are pleased with their service.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Phil

17th May 2016

The system couldn't identify me even though I have lived in my house for 14 years, I'm on the Electoral Register, had the same bank account for 20 years and have 5* credit rating . Maybe you have to have slept with someone who works there before you can order currency. Message to Moneycorp - your system is broken. Sort it out.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

farzan Ramezano

12th May 2016

I would recommend to get into any contract with money corp. Dealers explain one thing and deal is something else. I was told on the phone at the time of maturity the deal I would only pay the difference on what I exchanged. Also on the day of maturity you have no right of negotiating and that is they bite you. I lost over £1000.00. Then again is their loss as I will exchange over 300,000.00 euro in next 12 month. That is what happens when you are into wheeling and dealing rather than relationships.

  • I sold euro Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

brian

11th May 2016

cannot fault this company do not know why all the bad reports it was as easy as ABC the order was with me the next day and a mixture of notes email to confirm order and a dispatch email with the tracking number was here by 9AM the next day will use again no problem

  • I ordered £750 worth of Romanian Leu
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Luke Pawlikowski

11th May 2016

Can't understand all the bad reviews on here. had no such issue with the verification process and my money came within a couple of days. will use again.

  • I ordered £250 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Moneycorp

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No

Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979 and continue to offer some of the best exchange rates in the UK. Clients who open a trading account can benefit from exclusive travel money rates at any airport and London branches, plus other exclusive discounts on holiday essentials.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Lviv: the historic city of Ukraine

Lviv: the historic city of Ukraine

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 23rd June 2017

Lviv (also spelled L’viv and Lvov) is a city with a lively history, and a well-preserved historic centre that is an UNESCO World Heritage site. Located in western Ukraine, around 70 kilometers from the borde read more

What you should add to your next holiday packing list

What you should add to your next holiday packing list

Posted by Matthew Weston on 19th June 2017

I’m one of those people that usually leaves packing right until the last minute. It doesn’t matter whether the trip is for one day or three weeks, something always gets in the way; whether that be w read more