Compare Holiday Money Logo

Moneycorp reviews

Poor 2.8 / 5

Based on 267 reviews Write Review

Joseph

16th January 2019

If I could leave zero stars I would!!! I was traveling to Iceland on the 3rd Jan 2018 and in a bit of a rush, I quickly changed up £400 to Isk and received 37000isk which I got told was a good rate!!! When I got on the plane and had a bit of spare time, I googled the exchange rate and everywhere online was offering 57000isk for £400!! Iceland is a very expensive country in itself so to lose £150 in one transaction really did spoil our holiday. We had just lost a lot of money!! I understand that airport exchange places are more expensive at the airport but to lose £150 from £400 is daylight robbery! Every time I tried to call, the staff were really unhelpful and basically just told me to lump it!!! Don’t be silly and get mugged off by this horrible robbing company!!! Also, I’m guessing I’ll just get an automated response like every other complaint on here!!

  • I ordered £400 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

21st January 2019

Hi Joseph,

If you would like us to look into your query, could you please send an email to TMqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer services team can look into this for you?

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

CW

8th January 2019

Terrible. Picked up Costa Rican Colons from them at Gatwick. Rate was 569 plus they charged a commission. On their website it was 724 when I checked later. As I picked up at the airport yes I do expect a worse rate but a difference of 20%+ plus a commission is taking the pee. Never use them.

  • I ordered £110 worth of Costa Rica Colons
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

9th January 2019

Hi CW,

Our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id=.

If you have any other queries, please send us an email at: TMqueries@moneycorp.com or alternatively call 0207 589 3000.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money team

Andrew Towler

7th January 2019

I've used Moneycorp multiple times to get my holiday money before my flight and have always had a exceptional experience and found they offer the best rate as well as locking it in at time of ordering. This brings me on to my next point- the key thing to do is order currency online beforehand. If you walk up and exchange money without doing this, of course they'll fleece you! Surely this is common sense?

  • I ordered £355 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

9th January 2019

Hi Andrew,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you are happy with the service we provide.

We look forward to helping you again in the future.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money team

Catherine

2nd January 2019

I should have read the reviews before travelling. Totally ripped off at the airport when purchasing 1400 Moroccan dhiramns. It should have been around £115 but I was charged £222 plus an admin fee! My email complaint has been replied to justifying thier extortionate fee due to airport costs etc etc. Don’t use this service- I will now move all my international personal and company transactions away from them. Their greed has lost them wider business. Appalling

  • I ordered £222 worth of Moroccan Dirham
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

2nd January 2019

Hi Catherine,

Our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id=.

If you have any other queries, please feel free to send an email to TMqueries@moneycorp.com and our customer service team will look into it.

Regards,

The Travel Money Team

David

12th December 2018

Private client customer services in London is very unprofessional, for the last THREE days I expect money (that was sent) to arrive into my account, They told me that they can't see it but they were not willing to contact their USA bank to trace MY money because they have to go home in 15 minutes.

  • I transferred US Dollars to UK
  • I received the rate I was quoted
  • The transfer was not completed within three working days
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Sally

11th December 2018

We paid Moneycorp to exchange £200 into czk and only received £120 worth of czk money. We just lost £80 using them. Absolutely appalling exchange rate and will never use them again.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Czech Koruna
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

11th December 2018

Hi Sally, our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id=. Regards, the Travel Money Team

Tim

5th December 2018

God help you if you have a problem and need to speak with customer services. I loaded my card up that I've had for 3 or 4 years with US dollar yet after using it to guarantee several hotel charges which should have been instantly refunded on departure my balance was way down with NOTHING showing on statement nor in pending. I was in the far East so emailed as was 8 hours ahead asking for explanation..NO ANSWER. I emailed twice more before I had a middle of night call from them merely asking me to call. After going through automated security which took ages ( calls were £3 per minute from my location) a moody lady wouldn't answer anything and every time I spoke she spoke over me until I was getting seriously annoyed. Without even asking anything she said I'd failed security and would need to send PHOTO ID before she could tell me anything. Again all the time just talking over me..I was really wound up and asked for a supervisor forgetting how much I was paying for the call..she was just as bad but at least went through security questions but was asking ridiculoylus things like can I remember how I applied and what I had stated without any clue as to what she was getting at..she even said my name wasn't me!! I did eventually get an answer and it was a hotel apparently still holding a pending transaction but I knew this wasntvtrue as I had the foresight to ask hotel for an authorisation code of refund..Moneycorp just hadn't put it through and I had to repeat this number 3 times to the idiot on the phone after every one she made me hold again! This call cost me £120.00 and wound me up more than anything I've done for a very long time..im going to try to reclaim this but not holding my breath..

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Sasha

4th December 2018

I purchased Dirham for my holiday to Morocco In Nov 2018 - I purchased 1000 Dirham for £170....Assuming they are a trustworthy and well-known exchange company I didnt question it nor did I have the time to get quotes online. I was expecting a 10% loss in value, at most. However, once my money ran out and I used the cash machine I was able to withdraw (from a cash machine in Morocco) 700 for £60. I basically paid double its value...DOUBLE!!!! that is the definition of daylight robbery. And my two other friends did the exact same thing. Makes me question how this can be legal or if there are no official standards. If not, they are legal scammers and I will not stop here.

  • I ordered £170 worth of Moroccan Dirham
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Ranjita Jain

9th November 2018

I have sent a email to CEO but did not get response, however Since I am unable to get a help and solution from your team, I am writing to you compulsion.. This is 14th day I have been suffering indirectly harassment, frustration and exploitation by your company. Moreover my family did not appropriately celebrate our most important festival Diwali because company did not transfer money in 14 days. History of this incident, I wanted transfer money to my indian account, so company representative booked it on 26th Oct. But it was not transferred till 31st Oct, and then I enquired about it and came to know that it is pending because of document (Point is here, your company did not inform to me). So I submitted document. But neither money has been credited to my Indian account nor refunded back to my UK account till today. However I have sent several email and tried to call customer care but hardly I got appropriate response from them. I trust this is not the way that a reputed company wishes to conduct business with valued customer. I have done lots of transaction with several companies but have never encountered such terrible, unprofessional and irresponsible treatment before. I trust you will look into this matter on urgently and see that proper action is taken by your team, since we (me and family could not celebrate festival with full of joy) have suffered mentally, physically and loss of money as well, I am expecting an appropriate compensation for this issue.

  • I transferred Indian Rupees to UK
  • The transfer was not completed within three working days
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Mandy

15th October 2018

I don't get all the negative reviews. I preordered canadian dollars and was the best rate around. Rate was locked in regardless of the rate at the airport on the day. Money was there waiting. Of course if you walk up and use them last minute or use cash machines - it's going to be sky high. Be prepared and/or do your research. Not like it's hard in the modern era of 4G and phones!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Canadian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Stephanie

17th September 2018

Shocking exchange rates when using the airport currency ATMs Euro 200 cost me £211.00 if I had reserved with them the day before to collect it would have cost £186.00. Total rip off

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

17th September 2018

Hi Stephanie,

Our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id=.

Regards,

The Travel Money Team

Kieran Charles

25th August 2018

My review is similar to Diana, we was in a rush at Stansted Airport on 20th August 2018 and had no choice but too use a cash machine to change our euros. We drew out €200 which converted to £232 therefore was charged £50.85 for this transaction vs. today's rate which comes in at £181.15.... This is a total rip off in its entirely. I will never again use these machines and hope to reviece a reply on this matter as I feel there is a serious fault or scam....

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested

Diane

23rd August 2018

Awful . I was in a rush and unfortunately when automated machine said 1GBP =.864 Euro , I automatically thought fine as I am used to translating euros to pounds at around this rate so completely forgot it was other way round and should have been the inverse I.e around 1.1 . Of course I understand I have to pay commission but 230 pounds for 200 euros REALLY ???? Outrageous. Totally fleeced. I will never use them again unless maybe their machines have been fed with wrong rates ? I await moneycorps reply : and no I don’t accept the standard response which is that airports are more expensive places to operate. I think there is an error on their machine rate !!!

Moneycorp replied

23rd August 2018

Hi Diane,

Sorry to hear that you feel you had a bad experience. If you email Tmqueries@moneycorp.com with your query our ATM team will be able to look into it for you. Regards, the Travel Money team.

jo

18th August 2018

Exchanged 50 euros back to pound... was charged £18 for doing so... received £32 back. Complete rip off... cash machines charged me roughly £2 for each transaction in any amount. Said it was the due to the different rates and airport fees.... So Bristol Airport apparently is to blame... hmmm.... I paid £4 when flying out in the airport to exchange... So did not appear to be linked to airport fees, but with the actually company.

  • I sold 50 Euros
  • I received the amount I was quoted
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

20th August 2018

Hi Jo, margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service http://bit.ly/2xVlcAh. Regards, the Travel Money Team

Olev

30th July 2018

My Experience with Moneycorp is positive. Here are trade offs. It is obvious what Moneycorp making money out of you. Roughly 15% commission for exchange rate from bank average. I wouldn't use them if I would buy travel Money. Even Tesco is 10% better up. BUT. BIG BONUS!!!! Explorer Master Card! Free of transaction fees when paying with preloaded in country currency. In my case spending Euros in Spain in Supermarket... Free of fees, conversion and etc... Roughly saves 3% Bank charge + £1.00, same on Petrol Stations in France and Spain... It makes real exchange margin 9% No subscription fees or membership fees. For Mastercard is usually over £100 a year You wouldn't run out of money. Money wouldn't be stolen. You can see balance on cash machine (free withdrawal) My explorer card was accepted everywhere without a glitch for last 4 years. I believe with my holiday budget per year of £4500 Moneycorp is reasonably good and safe value for money. Indeed you can win £20 on currency rates and keep in your pocket or under hotel pillow £1000.00 to make holidays as cheap as possible.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Private

21st July 2018

Absolutely terrible. I think I’m about £80 down on my holiday spending money after being ripped off at Gatwick Airport by this company. It says rate is “7.8%” on the receipt, but I don’t know how £500 translates to 5,000 Moroccan Dirhams when i think it’s more like over 6,000. I will be complaining on my return as this is daylight robbery - unless someone can confirm this was an okay deal and I miscalculated?

  • I ordered £500 worth of Moroccan Dirham
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

23rd July 2018

As we've stated previously, margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service http://bit.ly/2xVlcAh

Regards,

The Travel Money team

Matt

19th July 2018

This company is running a complete racket, they should all get in the sea. Early flight, in a rush, very tired (so all my own fault but still), charged £230 for €200. They say they have some of the best exchange rates in the country... Avoid like plague.

  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

19th July 2018

HI Matt

Margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service http://bit.ly/2xVlcAh

Regards,

The Travel Money team

Anthony Le

9th July 2018

Completely ripped off. I was in the rush needing some British Pound at Stansted airport. Put the card in and got $700.00 British Pound out. Got in to the Hotel the realised they have ripped me off charge me over $300.00 Singaporean dollars more than the normal market rate. Please stay away with this Money Corp and don’t let them to rip you off like me

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Camilla

9th July 2018

DO NOT agree to upload the local cash currency from your money exchange on to the Moneycorp card. They say that you can use it abroad to withdraw all the cash, but they don't tell you that there is a hidden fee for every cash transaction. You also end up losing your smaller bits of change as you are unable to withdraw these from cash machines. Always stick to exchanging your cash FOR cash. This is how they make their money! If everyone was to forget about their smaller denominations of money (for example anything under £10 that cannot be withdrawn from a cash point) then imagine how much they are pocketing. Inconvenient and stressful!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Chris Oduwole

6th July 2018

Absolutely disgraceful rate offered to walk up customers paying in cash. I'm sure it can't be legal to for them advertise "competitive rates". On £600 I lost about £120- so thats 20% commission! I didn't check the rate- it was early and I was in a rush, but you assume a reasonably fair deal. Also disgraceful that Gatwick allow this on their premises. Have contacted Gatwick Customer Services and will be contacting trading standards. NO STARS

  • I ordered £600 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Maria

25th June 2018

Paid £312 for Eur300, a currency that is cheaper than the pound. This cannot be legal! I always buy money at airports and I've never seen anything like this, and in the UK!!!! Is there anything all the people that have been victims of this crazy rates could do? I mean apart FROM NEVER EVER use them again of course.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

20th August 2018

Margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service http://bit.ly/2xVlcAh

Regards,

The Travel Money team

Brian W McGinty

20th June 2018

I had a planned trip to Spain and having held the card for some time did not expect to have any issues. WRONG!!! 4 days before I travelled I tried to load my card and despite authorisation from my bank and using 2 separate debit cards the Explorer card would not accept the transfer. My conversations with Card Services amounted to nothing and so even though I tried numerous times over 4 days I finally had to go and collect currency from my bank. Something I wanted to avoid. Needless to say I shall not be using Moneycorp ever again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Adele

20th June 2018

DO NOT USE I got a travel money card for holiday and loaded £400 on it. When I went to use the card it was declined. I was in a foreign country and could not access my money. Rang up helpline and they could not help unless I had access to a desktop computer. Absolutely useless and incompetent. It takes up to 5 days to get your money back. outrageous.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Ben

15th June 2018

Very bad indeed. I loaded the car with € and went on holiday to France but every time I paid in € or withdrew € I was charged - up to €5 per transaction!!!! What?? The helpline was useless, after an hour I was told that I should have selected a single currency card. OK no problem give me one of those and transfer the remaining cash onto the new card - sorry not so easy. First you have to cancel the car and take the money out with - yes you guessed it - a withdrawal penalty of €7 - great thanks. DO NOT get one of these scam cards.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others

Li Fang

14th June 2018

Terrible. I withdrew £150 at ATM Moneycorp at Stansted Airport.then I was charged €211.market exchange rate is 1.14:1,and they requested 1.41:1.it is literally robbery!

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Moneycorp to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Moneycorp

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No

Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979 and continue to offer some of the best exchange rates in the UK. Clients who open a trading account can benefit from exclusive travel money rates at any airport and London branches, plus other exclusive discounts on holiday essentials.

Visit Website

Sun and romance

Posted by Sam Stone on 15th February 2019

The climate in the UK in February is not ideal for romance, but there are a few destinations reachable within a few hours which are perfect for declaring your love in the sun. What are the options? With... read more

Travel money: Home or work delivery?

Posted by Graham Morley on 12th February 2019

Thanks to websites like Compare Holiday Money the UK has a booming travel money home delivery market. By offering foreign exchange companies the chance to advertise to a very large market means that as... read more

Donating leftover currency to charity

Have you ever been on a flight and they come down the aisles with a big bag  to collect your small change or unwanted currency for charity? Or you may have been on a flight and been offered ... read more

Mica McNeill bobsleigh team World Cup update

Alongside the main sponsor DHL, Compare Holiday Money is pleased to continue our sponsorship of Mica McNeill’s bobsleigh team which began with their amazing journey to the Olympics last year. They have b... read more

Half-term family ski tips

With so much snow falling recently, Austria seems to be the ideal half term destination for a family ski adventure. But there are a few more alternatives that might be worth exploring to make your money... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2019 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.