Moneycorp reviews

350 Reviews Poor | 2.4

Moneycorp

https://www.moneycorp.com/uk/

Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979. Collection points are available in most major UK airports and the best rates are available if you reserve online and collect.

Write a review

Howard

11 July 2020

Transferred funds overseas

11 July 2020

Used them for few years but they then made a payment for me to a scam account. Whilst it is up to you to give them the details of the payee they make zero checks on a new payee & the guy that took the instruction made no comments on whether I should check the payee Or make a trial payment , even though I told him the receiver changed their account due to factoring. So beware if you do a transaction with them that is a scam you have NO comebacks. To me that’s naive & unprofessional & I would not use them again. Be warned it’s at your own risk every time!

Aubrey

29 June 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

29 June 2020

I've been using moneycorpcard for a while now and from Friday 26 June 2020 I noticed the card no longer worked. Today I called them and I was told that they are being investigated by the FCA and all accounts are frozen and I can't get my money out!! It's effectively the begining of the month and I'm in Italy where I need the money for the month of July and they have just told me I can't have it. Great! So much for 5 stars. Now my battle begins! STAY AWAY!!!

Julia

29 June 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

29 June 2020

All moneycorp explorer cards frozen as connected in the wirecard 'problem'. No possibility to close my account and get my money back, not possible to look at transactions etc. online.

C. Brooks

17 April 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

17 April 2020

I’d give minus 1 if possible! Moneywort blocked my card 2 months ago. Despite 15 attempts to get it sorted and unblocked, I still have no access to my money. My own money! I had money added to the card whilst I was travelling and moneycorp blocked the card despite me speaking to them 15 times, emailing 29 times. Emails go unanswered or you get a standard reply. Moneycorp traveller card needs avoiding. They fraudulently keep your money and hope you will forget about it.

Moneycorp replied

Hi,

Sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

The Travel Money team

Amanda

10 March 2020

Bought £400 worth of Euros

10 March 2020

In a rush at the airport and changed £400 into Euros. High Street price would have got me Euros of 456. Money Corp gave 320!!! Disgusting. Yes I should have clocked on. I knew I would pay more but come on! Please do not cut and paste the same answer everyone gets about your costs. No one believes it. You are charlatans.

Outrageous rip off

6 March 2020

Bought travel money

6 March 2020

We would give them minus stars if we could, only upon arriving in Morocco did we realise how badly Moneycorp at Gatwick ripped us off. We should have known better than buying at the airport but they barely gave us half of the going rate. Foolish in our behalf but how they are allowed to operate in a major airport is shocking. Do your research and avoid these people at all costs.

Moneycorp replied

Hi,

Sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

However our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Sarah

1 March 2020

Bought £1 worth of Euros

1 March 2020

What kind of crazy scammers are you? Just wanted to withdraw 200 Pound and luckily noticed you tried to charge 311€ for that - at a time where the market rate was 231€. That's outright theft - but you were unlucky: I noticed and canceled. Never in my life of traveling to over 55 countries all around the world have I EVER seen something like that at an airport. These rates have NOTHING to do with costs - you are just some common burglars!

Moneycorp replied

Hi Sarah,

Sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

However our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Vivien

5 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

5 February 2020

An ongoing bad experience for approximately 5 years. Attempts to contact the so called 'customer service' team long winded and challenging at every level. I have just received a replacement card after some months/years of attempting to access my own money from my previous card. And already I'm having to complain that the website is not fit for purpose.. I would have preferred to receive cash for the currency on my previous semifunctioning card - just getting the cash back - but was told this was not an option. So now it is, theoretically, on the new one that has been sent to me....and I have to try - again- to access it.Watch this space...!!

Moneycorp replied

Hi Vivien,

Sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Liv Neill

2 February 2020

Sold Euros

2 February 2020

You are an absolute disgrace. Do you pluck exchange rates out of thin air? €311 for 200 pounds sterling?? On what planet.

Moneycorp replied

HI Liv,

Our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

If you have any other queries please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Dick Duiker

20 January 2020

Transferred funds overseas

20 January 2020

Sunday January 12, 2020 I bought 100 Pounds via the ATM MoneyCorp SouthEnd Airport. It cost € 146.89 !!! £1.00=€1.17. That a company wants to make money is fine, but this is ridiculous. A warning for all of you: DO NOT DO THIS!

Moneycorp replied

Hi Dick,

We are sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Write a review of Moneycorp

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?