Compare Holiday Money Logo

Moneycorp reviews

Good 3.0 / 5

Based on 226 reviews Write Review

Mike

28th November 2017

Awful rip-off merchants that catch you as you’re at the airport. Asked for an exchanged in currency and was told a load of lies and was stupid enough to come away with one of their cards that ripped us off ten times more than their normal rates. you have to call to cancel and face even more fees to get your money back. Complained and never heard anything from them. Awful company.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

1st December 2017

Dear Mike, I am sorry to hear of your experience. Please email your full name, contact number and email address to explorercard@moneycorp.com so that we can look into this further for you. Please address your email for the attention of Ken.
Kind regards, Ken

Scott H

24th November 2017

I am a Moneycorp "explorer" MasterCard holder and have nothing good to say about their on line services or customer services call centre. As their account management set up on line is non existent and nothing can be changed, so I called their customer services to change my mobile telephone number and address. I had to wait 24 hours before checking they had updated only to find they failed to do so. This makes the card useless as I cant load it with an incorrect billing address. To add to the problem, I had to call them twice because today because I it turns out what they have put on the system even though it hasn't updated is a wrong house number on my address which means I fail the security checks!! The app crashes and is useless, the desk top site does not show any customer profile information. The call centre staff read off of scripts and answer every question or point with "I understand" yet don't actually do anything to help. Terrible customer service, useless app and poor information on desk top site. What a waste of time.

    Moneycorp replied

    24th November 2017

    Dear Scott

    I am sorry to hear of the experience that you have encountered. So that we can look into this further for you, could you please email you full name, email address and phone number to privateclientservices@moneycorp.com. Please enter 'For Attention of Ken' in the subject field of your email.

    Kind regards, Ken

    Caroline H

    4th November 2017

    Completely ripped off at Gatwick airport when we bought 4000 Moroccan dirhams and paid £180 more than we should have! Outrageous scam and I don’t know how they are allowed to trade at Gatwick. Close them down!

    • I ordered £250 worth of Moroccan Dirham
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Moneycorp replied

    6th November 2017

    Hi Caroline,

    We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. Unfortunately, rates are constantly moving with the market to ensure our travelers receive the best possible value for money.

    To make sure you receive the best possible rate next time, make the most of our reserve and collect service: https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/

    We hope we can leave a more positive impression next time!

    Laurence

    Malcolm

    2nd November 2017

    Eyewatering! How do they get away with their extortionate exchange rate!

    • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Chapman

    22nd October 2017

    Rip off exchange rate at London Gatwick. Got much better in resort ( Mauritius).

    • I ordered £300 worth of Mauritian Rupees
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Harrison M

    11th October 2017

    Glad they were at the airport. i left my holiday cash at home and had to get some quick. OK so didn't get the best rate but still glad to get some:)

    • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Jazz

    25th September 2017

    Total fraud use ATM service claiming free withdrawal at Gatwick airport end up paying £62 for €60 withdrawal. £12 commission which was never mention.

    • I ordered £53 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    David

    10th September 2017

    Buying currency at the bureau without pre-booking is a big mistake! 500EUR cost me £569 at the airport when it could have cost me about £450 pre-booking online. Bureau rates are seemingly not published online along with the other bureau branch details - now I know why!

    • I ordered £569 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    mehdi 09/17

    2nd September 2017

    can please let the people know, this company is crab, i check the rate of lire on their website and when i went to air port they sell more expensive, 1.4 lire for each pound, how the hell this company allow themselves to rip of the customers in airport. i lost more than £150 pound in one transaction, i don't how about others

    • I ordered £412 worth of Turkish Lira
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Julian

    31st August 2017

    Shocking site and customer support - need to be investigated and prevented from trading. I use multiple browsers as neither Chrome nor Safari work. Customer support agreed I was seeing problems but couldn't help and laughed when I asked for compensation. Now I have 300GBP stuck in the account that I cannot transfer to EUR as when doing so, it offers a rate then dives into a 'Send Currency' set of screens to transfer money overseas. Loading the card worked the first time for £800, then failed consistently. I was locked out with an 'Unauthorized' message, without having got my password wrong. Avoid this company like the plague - absolutely appalling.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Nicky A

    22nd August 2017

    DO NOT PURCHASE A MONEY CORP EXPLORER CARD. IT IS A SCAM. I wanted Euros for Pounds and was heavily sold this card. Firstly I was told when I paid £500 for a Money Corp Explorer card that the exchange rate would be better than converting Pounds to Euros. I should have received 522.15 euros for my £500. Yet, I paid £500 I have spent only £356.43. My balance now stands at £6.20. Withdrawing 400 euros cost me Money Corp fees of £66.19. And one purchase at a shop that didn't go through because all my money had gone on fees was rejected but still my Money corp statement has debited the money. COMPLETE FRAUD. Can't believe this is legal.

    • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Abiola

    19th August 2017

    I am disgusted at the service provided by moneycorp, I am super upset. I withdrew sterling from my euro card at their ATM in stansted airport, they charged €334 for £250. Upon leaving the airport, I discovered it would have been €276 to buy that £250. I was practically charged €60!!!! Never ever would I use them!!!

    • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Mark Robinson

    7th August 2017

    Daylight robbery - we used a MoneyCorp cashpoint to draw €400 and it offered what appeared to be a rate of 1.08 so we accepted. Checked bank statement the next day, they had charged £451 GBP for €400. Essentially losing €100 compared to their online rate. How in this day and age can they charge WTF they like and get away with it. I know some clever dickies reading this will say; "of course if you draw from a cashpoint", but usually I get a better rate than you because I use World First. This was a no option urgent transaction - so chew on that!!

    • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Mary Doyle

    26th July 2017

    I used the ATM at Stansted to get 50 GBP and was charged 71.20 euro. At today's rate I should have paid 56.04 so Moneycorp have made a profit of 15 GBP on this transaction alone. Disgraceful! I will tell everyone I can about this to warn them off.

    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Emma Daniels

    20th July 2017

    The worst company to deal with. When they suckered me into a 'explorer card' the got my email address wrong so I could not register my account. Then I got charged €36 for two transactions when I was away in Europe when I was sold a lie about "no ATM charges". Now home I have struggled to retrieve the small amount back out of my account without an argument down the phone as they tried to either a.make me return to the point of purchase i.e. the airport?!!!? or b. pay a fee to withdraw my money! NEVER USING MONEY CORP AGAIN. THEY ARE MONEY SUCKING SCUM. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Frankie Blake

    20th June 2017

    Absolutely dreadful. My visa moneycorp card was transferred to a Mastercard one in January 2016. They said I was sent terms and conditions but who ever reads the minutae on t&c's. They charge a fee of £3 PER MONTH if there has been inactivity for over 12 months. I certainly didn't see this on their t&c's. That is if I was ever sent them in the first place!? I have now been charged £15 leaving just £4.24 in my account. Moneycorp Card wanted to charge me £6 to transfer the remaining money back to my normal bank account however Mastercard have managed to get them to waive this fee so should have the cash back in 3 to 5 working days. No way will either refund the £3 per month charge though. I've put in a formal complaint.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Beeingboo

    3rd May 2017

    Just awful. Online management is very limited and difficult - you can't even update your contact details online or transfer your own money back out. Rates are shocking and there seems to be a fee or some kind of charge (which they won't call a fee!) for everything. Cancelled the card today and while there was no 'fee' to close the account, they did charge me £6 just to transfer my own money to me. Refused to transfer the EUR balance as EUR trying to tell me my bank would refuse to accept it. Rubbish (I work in international banking and have extensive knowledge of multi ccy transfers), my bank would simply exchange at rate of day and may charge me a minimal fee to exchange. Still wouldn't have lost as much money as I did with Moneycorp insisting on exchanging it to GBP. So while they would only transfer GBP, they still charged me for 2 transfers. Normally I put up more of a fight, but to be honest, it was worth £6 just to never have to deal with them again!

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Nina G

    30th April 2017

    My brother changed his money in the Picadilly branch and he was completely ripped off. Their rate is the highest one compared to any bureau de change in the same area. PLACE TO AVOID, go change your money in other bureau around. Proper THIEVES.....

    • I sold 560 Euros
    • I received the rate quoted
    • Selling was easy and straightforward
    • I would recommend this supplier to others

    Myrna

    29th April 2017

    I took out money from the Moneycorp cash machine upon arrival at Stansted Airport on 22 April 2017. I requested GBP 200. I arived late, and as I had to pay GBP 200 deposit uppon arriving at my hotel, I had no other option than using a cash machine. A few days later, when checking my bank account, I noticed Moneycorp had charged such a disadvantageous rate that I lost GBP 60 compared to other major UK banks, such as Natwest an TSB. WIll never use Moneycorp again as I feel conned. Advise to other travellers to London: use the Natwest cash machine in Liverpool Street station when arriving in London from Stansted airport.

    • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
    • My currency arrived on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • Ordering was easy and straightforward
    • I would recommend this supplier to others

    Lucie

    22nd February 2017

    Okay I only had €45 as a leftover from my holidays so I went to Piccadilly branch to get few pounds... well according to today's rate it should be around £35 but the lady gave me only £25,52... which is ridiculous. I know we don't talk about big amount but the principle... thiefs I'd say. Won't use them again

      Janine

      4th December 2016

      Worst thing I've ever done. It's been rejected by all shops I went into and cash points. Now I'm down 100 euro I never received out the cash point. Worst company ever!!

      • I ordered a prepaid eur card
      • Topping up was easy and straightforward
      • The exchange rates and fees were clear
      • The card was accepted everywhere
      • I would recommend this card to others

      Russell

      19th September 2016

      Me and my girlfriend were sold Moroccan Dirham for 8.7 to the pound by Moneycorp at Gatwick, i asked them if it was a good rate and they said it was. When we got out there we realised the average rate was 12.6 meaning we'd been undersold by about a third. I understand that rates in the airport are slightly worse but A THIRD lower than the average is ridiculous. It meant that i ended up loosing £80 and my girlfriend lost £90, this may not sound a lot but were both poor students and it really made a negative impact on our holiday. I would never use them again, i feel robbed and lied to.

      • I ordered £230 worth of Moroccan Dirham
      • My currency arrived on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • Ordering was easy and straightforward
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Gerald Whyatt

      19th August 2016

      I have used company before and was pleased with all parts of service, picking up cash at airport. This time could not order money until only 4 days to go. Other Companies now have higher rate but Moneycorpn has gone down quite a lot, will not bother with them again.

      • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
      • Ordering was easy and straightforward
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      David Taylor

      3rd August 2016

      Aboslutely useless. I have tried to change 3000 pounds to US dollars but it cannot verify my identity. I phoned them up and they said it must be a problem with my bank. Called the bank and they said there is no issue with my card, my address is correct and they cannot even see me attempting to use the card on their website. I wish I had read these reviews earlier to save me time. AVOID!!!!!!!

      • I ordered £3000 worth of US Dollars
      • My currency arrived on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • Ordering was easy and straightforward
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Katherine Turner

      2nd August 2016

      I chose to use Moneycorp rather than my own bank to transfer pounds from England to my American bank account, thinking I'd get a better exchange rate. In theory I could have saved a hundred dollars or so. In practice Moneycorp took my money several days ago but have so far failed to put it into my American account. They now tell me it may take five days to trace it (if they DO trace it). Feeling very frustrated.

      • I transferred British Pounds to USA
      • The transfer was completed within three working days
      • I received a good exchange rate
      • I was kept informed on a regular basis
      • I would recommend this broker to others

      Write a review of Moneycorp

      Your name

      Your rating

      Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
      1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

      Your review

      Optional questions

      • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
      • How much travel money did you purchase?
        worth of
      • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
      • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
      • How much currency did you sell?
      • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
      • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
      • What currency did you transfer?
        to
      • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
      • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
      • What type of prepaid card did you order?
      • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
      • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
      • What kind of policy did you purchase?
        policy for
      • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
      • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No

      Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979 and continue to offer some of the best exchange rates in the UK. Clients who open a trading account can benefit from exclusive travel money rates at any airport and London branches, plus other exclusive discounts on holiday essentials.

      Visit Website

      Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

      Find out more

      Why sign up?

      • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
      • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
      • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
      Winter Olympics 2018 Sports Venues In South Korea Infographic

      Winter Olympics 2018 Sports Venues In South Korea Infographic

      Posted by Graham Morley on 16th January 2018

      If you are travelling to South Korea to see any of the winter Olympic events or even just watching at home, we have put together a little guide to the winter Olympic games locations to compliment the recent art read more

      How To Pack A Carry-On

      How To Pack A Carry-On

      Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 14th January 2018

        Have you ever been in a situation where you want to travel light but as soon as you look into your closet you just wonder how are you going to fit all of that in! Well last time we went to Germany for a read more