Moneycorp reviews

341 Reviews Poor | 2.4

Moneycorp

https://www.moneycorp.com/uk/

Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979 and continue to offer some of the best exchange rates in the UK. Collection points are available in most major UK airports (a £4.99 collection fee applies to orders under £400)

Write a review

Dick Duiker

20 January 2020

Transferred funds overseas

20 January 2020

Sunday January 12, 2020 I bought 100 Pounds via the ATM MoneyCorp SouthEnd Airport. It cost € 146.89 !!! £1.00=€1.17. That a company wants to make money is fine, but this is ridiculous. A warning for all of you: DO NOT DO THIS!

Moneycorp replied

Hi Dick,

We are sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Edmund Ashford-Russell

19 January 2020

Bought £100 worth of Euros

19 January 2020

Where to begin..not only does it make the whole purpose of trying to top up cards an absolute farce but to add insult to the organisation your 'specialised' assistants and telephone services are worse than my attempts at quantum physics. I was transferred 4 times by your telephone services and upon realising they had now idea what they were in fact doing I was hung up on. I just want to return my money to my normal bank account and be done with it. I wish I could give half a star

Moneycorp replied

Hi Edmund,

We're sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Sam Worthington

18 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

18 January 2020

Put 300 euros on a card, already at a poor exchange rate costing me 314 pounds, then get to Austria and find out that I only have 254 in the account despite not being told of any extra fees at the desk. Appalled at this company’s business model which seems to involve conning their customers. Not only that but was told the process would take 3-4 minutes and took 25, nearly making me miss my flight. Don’t not use this company at all costs- fuming.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Sam,

We're sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Desiree Lowe

15 January 2020

Bought £140 worth of Moroccan dirham

15 January 2020

Dont exchange at the airport I paid £140.00 for only 1000 morrocan Diane at Gatwick airport rate given at 0-7 when it should have been 14 so basically I should have received 1700 mad not 1000 mad I have lost £60 in this transaction. Very annoyed that I fell into their trap so only £80.00 worth of Moroccan currency for £140.00 paid really disgusted extortionate

Moneycorp replied

Hi Desiree,

We're sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Thieves

10 January 2020

Bought travel money

10 January 2020

Me and my girlfriend are in Marrakesh and exchanged £400 into Moroccan Dirhams- when we arrived and counted through our money we were convinced be had lost nearly £200 or there had been a mistake at the exchange counter. After looking online and reading reviews we realised Money Corps have cost us nearly £187 to exchange our money! More than our flights. We expected the rate to be higher at an airport but this is ridiculous- shame on you, DO NOT USE

Moneycorp replied

Hi,

Sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Sarah

2 January 2020

Bought £117 worth of Moroccan dirham

2 January 2020

Quite simply YES they are a rip off. I always knew that changing money at the airport would give you less than preferential rates, but I assumed that they all were vaguely competitive. How wrong was I.

I gave £117 for Moroccan dirhams and received approximately £65 worth back.

Stunned, 5 minutes later I even went back and asked for a refund, but due to me paying partly by card I was told they were unable to oblige. Learned my lesson and done some research - never using them again! Using cashpoints in the country of choice are cheaper than this blatant rip off company.

Moneycorp replied

Hi,

Sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Pieter

11 December 2019

Bought £312 worth of Euros

11 December 2019

Never ever use Moneycorp at Stansted Airport, this is a ripoff!!!

The exchange rate EUR/GBP they used was 1.5625!!!!! This is not what you expect in a civilized country like the UK.

This is nothing more than daylight robbery.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Pieter,

Hi,

Our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

If you have any other queries please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Banksi

10 December 2019

Bought £240 worth of Euros

10 December 2019

Took out 240 euros at Moneycorps Stansted atm was charged a total of £290 which means effectively Moneycorp are hiking on charges of almost £80 this is borderline fraudulent beware! Such a shame I can't give zero stars

Moneycorp replied

Hi,

Sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

If you have any other queries please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Francesco

1 December 2019

Bought travel money

1 December 2019

I just arrived in UK and change my 1200€ from them for 830£ back, they don't tell me the current change and how many money take for commissions..then I Google It and see that they take 200£!!!

I know that they have to earn money, but I think that they should inform the customers About HOW MUCH IT COSTS.

First and last time that they see me.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Francesco,

Sorry to hear, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Also, our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

M John

26 November 2019

Bought travel money

26 November 2019

WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT EXCHANGE YOUR MONEY AT THE AIRPORT OVER THE

COUNTER. Short of a balaclava and a shotgun at the amount they charged - in hindsight I should have said no to the rate as it was appalling and the online service gave me almost twice as much in the currency I exchanged. You live and learn but I beg people do not make the same mistake!

Moneycorp replied

Hi,

Sorry to hear, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Also, our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

Write a review of Moneycorp

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?