Moneycorp reviews

333 Reviews Poor | 2.5

Moneycorp

https://www.moneycorp.com/uk/

Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979 and continue to offer some of the best exchange rates in the UK. Collection points are available in most major UK airports (a £4.99 collection fee applies to orders under £400)

Write a review

Francesco

1 December 2019

Bought travel money

1 December 2019

I just arrived in UK and change my 1200€ from them for 830£ back, they don't tell me the current change and how many money take for commissions..then I Google It and see that they take 200£!!!

I know that they have to earn money, but I think that they should inform the customers About HOW MUCH IT COSTS.

First and last time that they see me.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Francesco,

Sorry to hear, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Also, our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

M John

26 November 2019

Bought travel money

26 November 2019

WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT EXCHANGE YOUR MONEY AT THE AIRPORT OVER THE

COUNTER. Short of a balaclava and a shotgun at the amount they charged - in hindsight I should have said no to the rate as it was appalling and the online service gave me almost twice as much in the currency I exchanged. You live and learn but I beg people do not make the same mistake!

Moneycorp replied

Hi,

Sorry to hear, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Also, our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

Tash

26 November 2019

Bought £196 worth of Euros

26 November 2019

Used the ATM at Standsted. Took out 160 EUR charged approximately £195. Instead of the exchange rate being charged at 1 EUR = 0.8171 GBP their exchange rate is 1GBP = 0.8171 EUR. It would be more honest to have a correct exchange rate of 1 EUR = 0.8171 GBP and say you’re charging someone a £55 admin fee. But you don’t. You deliberately switch the exchange rate round so that it id harder to spot for busy travellers. Your business practices lack transparency. Utterly shocking scam.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Tash,

Sorry to hear, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our ATM team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

Andrew T

18 November 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

18 November 2019

What an utterly shameful company Moneycorp are. I acquired a multi-currency card in 2018 and did not use the amount I had pre-loaded to the card. I found out some months later that they had started to charge my card each month with a non-usage fee, something that was never explained to me. Over £20 each month on a balance of only £250 !!! Outrageous. I will never use them again and would advise anyone else to stay well clear of this shameful company.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Andrew,

Sorry to hear the negative feedback. Please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

Richard Hecquet

5 November 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

5 November 2019

Victim of a cashpoint scam 21 October. Reported to police within minutes, and then to Moneycorp, supplying them with crime reference no. Moneycorp's own records confirm receipt of two calls on that day. Since then - repeated calls to Moneycorp's fraud dept, all transactions identified and confirmed as fraudulent. But after more than two weeks - no funds returned. Repeated calls and emails to fraud services and private client services over the past seven days have been ignored, with no response. Be very careful about using this company.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Richard,

Sorry to hear to this.

Can you email our ATM team at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com wit full details of the transaction, so they can look into this for you please.

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

Sarah

4 November 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

4 November 2019

If I could give no stars, then I would. I was sold the explorer card as a hassle free alternative to travel money that I could top up whenever I liked.

I have not once been able to top up the card because it is not registered - however every time I try to register my card, I am told that I have registered for the wrong account / address despite following instructions from staff.

I have even tried to top up over the phone but I am unable to do this without registering the card...

I have wasted a ridiculous amount of time trying to sort this for something that isn’t even worth it.

Just get euros from a bureau and save yourself the ridiculous amount of hassle this card comes with!

Moneycorp replied

Hi Sarah,

Sorry to hear this.

If possible would you be able to email us Tmqueries@moneycorp.com of your transaction so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

Beverley

29 October 2019

Bought £319 worth of Euros

29 October 2019

I withdrew 300 euros they charged me £319 never again will I use Moneycorp. Used them in the past a few ago to send money abroad never again will I use Moneycorp.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Beverley,

Our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

If you have any other queries please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

Steve Banks

10 October 2019

Bought £612 worth of Euros

10 October 2019

I changed £612 at Gatwick to get €550, on the same day Sainsbury’s would have given me €680. Yes I know it’s my own fault, by boy what a blatant rip off! And for another £3 odd they would have guaranteed my buy back!! Don’t use them, I never will again.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Steve,

Our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. If you have any other queries, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes

The Travel Money team

Jingqu Liu

8 October 2019

Transferred funds overseas

8 October 2019

Hello, I have resent an email to the email address which you gave me. But two weeks have passed and I still haven’t received any reply yet. I tried to call your official website, but they said they can't handle these problems for me. And this page is the only place I can receive a response. I really need your help, thank you.

Original post: I used your ATM, but the exchange rate seems to have caused me to lose about hundreds pounds, because I lost the invoice at the time, so I sent my encounter as email to three different email addresses: enquiries@moneycorp.com and Tmqueries@moneycorp.com and atm@moneycorp.com which written on the ATM, they are all your email address,but two weeks have passed, I have not received any reply, and I just need to reissue my invoice or other cash withdrawal certificate.

Ian

3 October 2019

Bought £100 worth of Euros

3 October 2019

Reserve & Collect was extremely convenient and useful – I would highly recommend it.

Write a review of Moneycorp

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?