Compare Holiday Money Logo

Moneycorp reviews

Average 2.9 / 5

Based on 246 reviews Write Review

Brian W McGinty

Yesterday

I had a planned trip to Spain and having held the card for some time did not expect to have any issues. WRONG!!! 4 days before I travelled I tried to load my card and despite authorisation from my bank and using 2 separate debit cards the Explorer card would not accept the transfer. My conversations with Card Services amounted to nothing and so even though I tried numerous times over 4 days I finally had to go and collect currency from my bank. Something I wanted to avoid. Needless to say I shall not be using Moneycorp ever again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Adele

Yesterday

DO NOT USE I got a travel money card for holiday and loaded £400 on it. When I went to use the card it was declined. I was in a foreign country and could not access my money. Rang up helpline and they could not help unless I had access to a desktop computer. Absolutely useless and incompetent. It takes up to 5 days to get your money back. outrageous.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Ben

15th June 2018

Very bad indeed. I loaded the car with € and went on holiday to France but every time I paid in € or withdrew € I was charged - up to €5 per transaction!!!! What?? The helpline was useless, after an hour I was told that I should have selected a single currency card. OK no problem give me one of those and transfer the remaining cash onto the new card - sorry not so easy. First you have to cancel the car and take the money out with - yes you guessed it - a withdrawal penalty of €7 - great thanks. DO NOT get one of these scam cards.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Li Fang

14th June 2018

Terrible. I withdrew £150 at ATM Moneycorp at Stansted Airport.then I was charged €211.market exchange rate is 1.14:1,and they requested 1.41:1.it is literally robbery!

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

James

3rd June 2018

I purchased the guarantee to buy back my money at the same rate as I purchased it for (I got what I thought was a very good rate for my original purchase)... only to find out that while they do not tell customers in advance that they have a company not to buy back coins...when I pointed out to the sales assistant that they should tell customers this prior to purchase she called me a "f***ing customer" talking to a colleague as I left the desk. I've got several pounds worth of coins - well over the value of the buy back guarantee - makes it seem like a pointless exercise if you can't fully use it

  • I ordered £350 worth of Polish Zloty
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

A Francis

30th May 2018

Fraud! As per the voucher on the Bristol Airport website (moneycorp free buy back guarantee over £150) I bought £200 in CHF and £150 in Euros online for a weekend trip to Switzerland. I emailed the company and double checked that the voucher is correct as I'm only buying spending £150 in euros because there is a guarantee and I was assured it is fine and to take the voucher with me on the day. When collecting currency from their 'after security' branch opposite duty free (extremely slow service, by the way) - I mentioned to the gentleman serving that I have a voucher for free buy back guarantee as I've spent over £150 for both currencies. I also showed him the voucher but he kept on saying no need for voucher as my package already has a free buy back guarantee 'built-in' because I did buy and collect online. I was concerned because I generally like things written down and told him to at least sign the receipt or something but he didn't. He said not to worry its all built in and all I would need to do is show my receipt when returning currency. After saying a few times I just didn't have a choice but to accept that he knows what he's doing. On our return we went to their arrivals stand, where a (not so happy) lady served us, I explained that I have a free buy back guarantee and want to exchange over 100ish euros back to pounds. Showed her the receipt - on that she shocked me saying I don't have buy back guarantee as there is no reference on it. I explained to her what happened when I collected the currency and even showed her the voucher I had. She said the voucher is not valid and she could do 0% commission but not a buy back on the same rate as we bought it on. I was extremely unhappy as we were clearly been cheated on by the company staff. I even asked the lady to contact the gentleman that served us but she said she's the only one there. I asked to speak to a manager but again there was literally no one else from their company at the airport as per the lady. I re

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Dave C

24th May 2018

I completely agree that the walk-in rates are insulting but I am a currency card holder and only ever pre-order cash for collection. The rate for this is one of the best in the market and saves going to the high street or paying for secure postage and is convenient to collect from the desk when you have time to kill at airport departures. I also had a problem with fraud on the card account and all the money stolen was refunded back onto the card without question within 24 hours of reporting to customer services.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Dave B

21st May 2018

I feel like an idiot, as I completely fell for an apparently legal scam. Saw “no commission” on the ATM, was in a bit of a rush and foolishly assumed that an ATM at Stansted would be trustworthy and that I’d be better off drawing out money there than in Lisbon. Paid £340 for €300 - so about £75 down. Lovely. I was stupid as it didn’t really sink in until a few minutes later when I was in departures, but what could I have done anyway. Please don’t let it happen to you; I’m telling as many people as I can to avoid this and Moneycorp generally. Meanwhile my mate drew out €200 from an ATM at Lisbon airport and it cost him under £180. Honesty vs thieving. Moneycorp feel free to contact me if you fancy reimbursing me or apologising; don’t bother if you’re going to try to justify it in some way, especially if you try to claim it’s to do with “giving best value” or some other nonsense.

  • I ordered £265 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Simon

18th May 2018

Exchanged money at one of the Stansted Airport desks. As a 'Walk in' customer I expect an airport desk to have a poor rate, having used other companies at other airports these are around 5-10% different to the market. This was around 30% different. I didn't realise how bad it was until after I got back home and started going through receipts (taking advantage of the stressed airport environment much?). I won't be using them again.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Czech Koruna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Stuart

16th May 2018

I had to travel to Ireland in an emergency on 04 May. I bought Euros at the Moneycorp desk at Southampton Airport in a state of some stress and have only just realised how awful the exchange rate was that I received. I have had to look at the receipt several times to come to terms with the fact that I was charged £225 for 200 Euros!!!!!!! At today's online rate it would cost me £179 so in effect I've been charged 25% commission for not pre-ordering. I know one should expect to pay more at an airport for currency which is not pre-ordered but this difference is outrageous. I feel I have been well and truly duped and never again will I use Moneycorp for any of its products or services. Future travellers beware!!!

  • I ordered £225 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

jadiho

11th May 2018

I was in Gatwick Airport and changed 120 Euro into English pound. What a mistake!! I lost more than 20 Euro due to the lousy exchange rate!!!!! Complete rip off. Absolutely awful don’t ever use it. Can’t beleve Gatwick allow this.

  • I ordered £120 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Emily

10th May 2018

Do not use them. Fees are absolutely exhaustionate. Exchange rate plus commission = 30%. Total exhaustion.

  • I ordered £220 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

diano

29th April 2018

Shame I could not give them zero stars. I had the same experience with all the people above. They are not clear and you actually realize the online rates do not apply. If you want the online rate you have to order them 24 h prior and other crap. AVOID AVOID AVOID. 30% charge this is a total rip off. And you can understand what kind of company they are when they reply send an email to Ken. Who is Ken? a bot? Shame to Stanstead airport that co-operates with them.

  • I ordered £160 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Nima

25th April 2018

Money Corp ..Worst rates and bad advice on… Worst rates and bad advice on currencies Specially on Travel money .. Never use them in Airports ..

  • I ordered £200 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Eve

23rd April 2018

Giving 1 star only because necessary for a review: My boyfriend and I were completely ripped off at Stansted airport when we bought "£200 worth" of Moroccan dirhams and paid almost double more than we should have. Exchange rates on site were much closer to the real rate so their claim of the "best rate" and that "rates are constantly moving" was nothing but a lie. What's more, the woman at the counter promised we could exchange the currency at the same rate if we had left over, a complete lie when we returned and were told we should have bought a "buy back guarantee", which they do not advertise. Outrageous and appalling scam and I don’t know how they are allowed to trade in these airports.

  • I transferred British Pounds to UK
  • I received the rate I was quoted
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

TP

11th April 2018

I bought £400 of foreign currency and found that they had taken £80 of it in their fee. They do not offer the same rates at the desk as they advertise on line. Nor do they tell you what the exchange rate is when you arrive. Their practices are unethical and arguably illegal. As such I am taking this up with West Sussex Trading Standards and I would encourage others to do the same.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Girish

6th April 2018

A big rip off in Stanstead Airport ..Can't believe they fooled by 30% over the competitor on the other side of the Airport . How can some one cheat with this big Margins ...I would ask every body to stay away from Money Corp .. Do your research before buying the travel money ...And no Money Corp Rip off again for me ..

  • I ordered £700 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Jamie

16th March 2018

Absolutely awful. Complete scam. I was in Stansted Airport and changed £230 into Danish Kroner. I lost £85 worth!!!!! Complete rip off. The lady was no use and the exchange currency on the board did not inform me of this at all. She let me walk away losing £85. Plus charges that weren’t explained to me after asking. Absolutely awful don’t ever use it. Can’t beleve Stansted allow this.

  • I ordered £230 worth of Danish Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Eric Parrish

9th March 2018

Absolutely dreadful! Loaded NZ$500 on card. Unable to use as constantly told no funds available. Spent ages on international calls but got nowhere, twice, from NZ! Travelled on to Australia, transferred money to Aus$ but, again, NO FUNDS! Further phone calls to the UK, presumably! Most embarrassing times as we had to borrow money to get us through our holiday. Will never use again!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

AnnaR

1st February 2018

I didn't use it for a while and moneycorp started charging me over £3 per month each month that I didn't use it as an 'un use charge' I think they called it on the statement I looked up on-line. I then withdrew around £30 and there were various charges attached to this withdrawal taken by moneycorp at my local UK bank ATM and I have now £3 left on the card. I will not re-load it as there seem to be too many hidden charges that you are not made aware of quite disappointing.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Mike

28th November 2017

Awful rip-off merchants that catch you as you’re at the airport. Asked for an exchanged in currency and was told a load of lies and was stupid enough to come away with one of their cards that ripped us off ten times more than their normal rates. you have to call to cancel and face even more fees to get your money back. Complained and never heard anything from them. Awful company.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

Moneycorp replied

1st December 2017

Dear Mike, I am sorry to hear of your experience. Please email your full name, contact number and email address to explorercard@moneycorp.com so that we can look into this further for you. Please address your email for the attention of Ken.
Kind regards, Ken

Scott H

24th November 2017

I am a Moneycorp "explorer" MasterCard holder and have nothing good to say about their on line services or customer services call centre. As their account management set up on line is non existent and nothing can be changed, so I called their customer services to change my mobile telephone number and address. I had to wait 24 hours before checking they had updated only to find they failed to do so. This makes the card useless as I cant load it with an incorrect billing address. To add to the problem, I had to call them twice because today because I it turns out what they have put on the system even though it hasn't updated is a wrong house number on my address which means I fail the security checks!! The app crashes and is useless, the desk top site does not show any customer profile information. The call centre staff read off of scripts and answer every question or point with "I understand" yet don't actually do anything to help. Terrible customer service, useless app and poor information on desk top site. What a waste of time.

    Moneycorp replied

    24th November 2017

    Dear Scott

    I am sorry to hear of the experience that you have encountered. So that we can look into this further for you, could you please email you full name, email address and phone number to privateclientservices@moneycorp.com. Please enter 'For Attention of Ken' in the subject field of your email.

    Kind regards, Ken

    Caroline H

    4th November 2017

    Completely ripped off at Gatwick airport when we bought 4000 Moroccan dirhams and paid £180 more than we should have! Outrageous scam and I don’t know how they are allowed to trade at Gatwick. Close them down!

    • I ordered £250 worth of Moroccan Dirham
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Moneycorp replied

    6th November 2017

    Hi Caroline,

    We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. Unfortunately, rates are constantly moving with the market to ensure our travelers receive the best possible value for money.

    To make sure you receive the best possible rate next time, make the most of our reserve and collect service: https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/

    We hope we can leave a more positive impression next time!

    Laurence

    Malcolm

    2nd November 2017

    Eyewatering! How do they get away with their extortionate exchange rate!

    • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Chapman

    22nd October 2017

    Rip off exchange rate at London Gatwick. Got much better in resort ( Mauritius).

    • I ordered £300 worth of Mauritian Rupees
    • I would recommend Moneycorp to others

    Write a review of Moneycorp

    Your name

    Your rating

    Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
    1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

    Your review

    Optional questions

    • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
    • How much travel money did you purchase?
      worth of
    • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
    • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
    • How much currency did you sell?
    • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
    • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
    • What currency did you transfer?
      to
    • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
    • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
    • What type of prepaid card did you order?
    • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
    • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No
    • What kind of policy did you purchase?
      policy for
    • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
    • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Moneycorp to others?Yes No

    Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979 and continue to offer some of the best exchange rates in the UK. Clients who open a trading account can benefit from exclusive travel money rates at any airport and London branches, plus other exclusive discounts on holiday essentials.

    Visit Website

    Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

    • A roundup of the latest exchange rates and currency deals
    • Hand-picked special offers on travel and holiday extras
    • Helpful and informative travel blogs written by our in-house team
    Russian love-lock fever

    Russian love-lock fever

    Posted by Sam Stone on 14th June 2018

    As a midsummer dream is played out on Russia’s football fields, echoes of Shakespeare’s themes of undying love are evident elsewhere in Moscow’s iron heart. On Luzhkov Bridge, love-lock fever read more

    City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

    City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

    Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 7th June 2018

    Cities or country sides? I don’t know which one you like more but these are what you would notice if you’ve lived in both like myself. But for you all who have lived in only one of them then here ar read more