Moneycorp reviews

346 Reviews Poor | 2.4

Moneycorp

https://www.moneycorp.com/uk/

Moneycorp have been providing currency services since 1979. Collection points are available in most major UK airports and the best rates are available if you reserve online and collect.

Write a review

Amanda

10 March 2020

Bought £400 worth of Euros

10 March 2020

In a rush at the airport and changed £400 into Euros. High Street price would have got me Euros of 456. Money Corp gave 320!!! Disgusting. Yes I should have clocked on. I knew I would pay more but come on! Please do not cut and paste the same answer everyone gets about your costs. No one believes it. You are charlatans.

Outrageous rip off

6 March 2020

Bought travel money

6 March 2020

We would give them minus stars if we could, only upon arriving in Morocco did we realise how badly Moneycorp at Gatwick ripped us off. We should have known better than buying at the airport but they barely gave us half of the going rate. Foolish in our behalf but how they are allowed to operate in a major airport is shocking. Do your research and avoid these people at all costs.

Moneycorp replied

Hi,

Sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

However our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Sarah

1 March 2020

Bought £1 worth of Euros

1 March 2020

What kind of crazy scammers are you? Just wanted to withdraw 200 Pound and luckily noticed you tried to charge 311€ for that - at a time where the market rate was 231€. That's outright theft - but you were unlucky: I noticed and canceled. Never in my life of traveling to over 55 countries all around the world have I EVER seen something like that at an airport. These rates have NOTHING to do with costs - you are just some common burglars!

Moneycorp replied

Hi Sarah,

Sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

However our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Vivien

5 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

5 February 2020

An ongoing bad experience for approximately 5 years. Attempts to contact the so called 'customer service' team long winded and challenging at every level. I have just received a replacement card after some months/years of attempting to access my own money from my previous card. And already I'm having to complain that the website is not fit for purpose.. I would have preferred to receive cash for the currency on my previous semifunctioning card - just getting the cash back - but was told this was not an option. So now it is, theoretically, on the new one that has been sent to me....and I have to try - again- to access it.Watch this space...!!

Moneycorp replied

Hi Vivien,

Sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Liv Neill

2 February 2020

Sold Euros

2 February 2020

You are an absolute disgrace. Do you pluck exchange rates out of thin air? €311 for 200 pounds sterling?? On what planet.

Moneycorp replied

HI Liv,

Our margins are higher at airports due to the significant costs associated with operating there. To secure better rates, we always recommend pre-ordering through our Reserve & Collect service https://travelmoney.moneycorp.com/?id .

If you have any other queries please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Dick Duiker

20 January 2020

Transferred funds overseas

20 January 2020

Sunday January 12, 2020 I bought 100 Pounds via the ATM MoneyCorp SouthEnd Airport. It cost € 146.89 !!! £1.00=€1.17. That a company wants to make money is fine, but this is ridiculous. A warning for all of you: DO NOT DO THIS!

Moneycorp replied

Hi Dick,

We are sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Edmund Ashford-Russell

19 January 2020

Bought £100 worth of Euros

19 January 2020

Where to begin..not only does it make the whole purpose of trying to top up cards an absolute farce but to add insult to the organisation your 'specialised' assistants and telephone services are worse than my attempts at quantum physics. I was transferred 4 times by your telephone services and upon realising they had now idea what they were in fact doing I was hung up on. I just want to return my money to my normal bank account and be done with it. I wish I could give half a star

Moneycorp replied

Hi Edmund,

We're sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Sam Worthington

18 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

18 January 2020

Put 300 euros on a card, already at a poor exchange rate costing me 314 pounds, then get to Austria and find out that I only have 254 in the account despite not being told of any extra fees at the desk. Appalled at this company’s business model which seems to involve conning their customers. Not only that but was told the process would take 3-4 minutes and took 25, nearly making me miss my flight. Don’t not use this company at all costs- fuming.

Moneycorp replied

Hi Sam,

We're sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Desiree Lowe

15 January 2020

Bought £140 worth of Moroccan dirham

15 January 2020

Dont exchange at the airport I paid £140.00 for only 1000 morrocan Diane at Gatwick airport rate given at 0-7 when it should have been 14 so basically I should have received 1700 mad not 1000 mad I have lost £60 in this transaction. Very annoyed that I fell into their trap so only £80.00 worth of Moroccan currency for £140.00 paid really disgusted extortionate

Moneycorp replied

Hi Desiree,

We're sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Thieves

10 January 2020

Bought travel money

10 January 2020

Me and my girlfriend are in Marrakesh and exchanged £400 into Moroccan Dirhams- when we arrived and counted through our money we were convinced be had lost nearly £200 or there had been a mistake at the exchange counter. After looking online and reading reviews we realised Money Corps have cost us nearly £187 to exchange our money! More than our flights. We expected the rate to be higher at an airport but this is ridiculous- shame on you, DO NOT USE

Moneycorp replied

Hi,

Sorry to hear this, please feel free to email us at Tmqueries@moneycorp.com so our customer service team can look into it for you.

Best wishes,

The Travel Money Team

Write a review of Moneycorp

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?