Compare Holiday Money Logo

The Money Shop reviews

Good 3.9 / 5

Based on 20 reviews Write Review

Paula

20th October 2018

I was sceptical about ordering because of some of the reviews however I ordered Turkish Lira on Tuesday, arrived on the date I asked. No problems, very quick and easy to purchase online. will definitely use again.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

Mrs Margaret Shaw

19th October 2018

I am very very disappointed in the service I got today from one of your staff I am from Greenock & I will not be in your shop again ????????????????????????

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend The Money Shop to others

Shona Bigley

7th October 2018

I was sceptical about buying currency online as I've only ever used the Post Office. We got a really good rate for Malaysian Ringgit 5.2703, much higher than the previous companies that we had looked at. The highest we had been quoted was 5.0981. We paid £0.08p more and got an additional 345 Ringgit. Well worth going out on a limb. We did receive a damaged note, but a quick email (with photos) and all was resolved without too much fuss.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Malaysian Ringgits
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

Bridget

18th April 2018

Although I have had euros from our local money shop instore before and received fantastic service every time this was our first time ordering online which for some reason didn't work so I phoned the helpline and a very nice very helpful lady took me through the order again. We were very nervous about giving our bank details etc. as it was for a large amount of Fiji dollars and although informed that they would be delivered to us the following day before 1 p.m we were still a little apprehensive. There was no need to be! :) We got an excellent exchange rate and they arrived with royal mail signed for with our usual postman the following morning! Thankyou money shop! We have just one very small criticism and that is the fact that although you take email addresses etc. we didn't recieve any form of confirmation and maybe it would be less nerve racking if perhaps you could do this for people?

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

W

16th April 2018

Arrived as expected. No problems at all.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Russian Rubles
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

Victoria Long

28th March 2018

Went into the Great Yarmouth store as they had the best on-line rate for Mexican pesos, asked if they would honour the same rate or could I order on line and collect in store - member of staff told me that stopped 6 months ago and did not even ask if I wanted a quote In store - poor customer service, won't use or enter store again

  • I ordered £200 worth of Mexican Pesos
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend The Money Shop to others

Stephanie

20th February 2018

Reall6 easy to order arrived on my preferred date by Royal Mail. Got a great exchange rate. So very pleased. Was concerned to buy currency online before but any doubts are gone, would definitely use again. I only wish you could request the denominations of notes.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Mexican Pesos
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

Michael

28th January 2018

Very frustrating, I completed the order only to find that I could not order because I do not have a home landline telephone. There are so many other ways to verify identity, this is anachronistic!

Kevin

26th January 2018

Went through and wouldn't let me order as no home number. Thanks for wasting my time

Nina

22nd December 2017

This was the first time I have chosen a home delivery option with any company but I would definitely do it again. I was given a great rate, no charges using my debit card, no charge for next day delivery and it was super convenient.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

Glenn

17th November 2017

Ordered 3 different currencies from your Northampton store and was served by some very lovely girls who were polite, funny and very accommodating. My Baht, HKD and Singapore dollars all arrived on time in the denominations I needed. Great service and I shall be recommending them to my friends and family.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

Barrie

10th November 2017

Ordered 19:30 on a Thursday arrived 11:00 on the Saturday. Excellent Service

  • I ordered £700 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

Lizzie hodge

29th October 2017

Your shop in Kirkcaldy is brilliant! The staff are always so nice and there’s never a problem when ordering money and they always seem to have to best rate xx

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

Christine

16th October 2017

Brilliant ...really easy

  • I ordered £950 worth of Hong Kong Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

Bev Stone

21st September 2017

AVOID What CON at their Edinburgh road Portsmouth branch!! Huge rates for Euros are written in their front window that seemed good. I went in to buy the money and it was a completely different lower rate inside. I asked the very brusk and unfriendly member of staff about this and got the reply " read the small print" They seemed very hostile.... so I left the shop. In tiny lettering was a minimum spend amount. This should be taken to trading standards as misrepresentation. There is a Currency exchange over the road. I went in there got a better rate,with much nicer staff

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend The Money Shop to others

Elaine

5th September 2017

I was nervous of using this site as I have never bought foreign currency online before and there was only a few reviews which is why I wanted to leave a review. I had no need to be nervous it was very quick and easy to do. The money arrived at 11am the next day it was so simple. I paid using my visa debit card and there were no extra charges. The rate was the best rate that I could find and I would definitely recommend The Money Shop online service. They only deliver to the card holders registered address which is good for security and the fact that it arrives by 1pm the next day is a very quick service.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Romanian Leu
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

Zoe

12th May 2017

I went and changed £600 into euros within min I was walking out the shop got the best dear from the town I live in

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

James Marshall

10th May 2017

I went to purchase Bulgarian lev for my holiday. I visited store MS5217 Falkirk on Thursday 4 of may and ordered my Lev to be delivered at your shop on Tuesday 9may 2017. I was informed by a very unpleasant older member of staff my money will be delivered on Tuesday to the Falkirk shop and I would receive a phone call when my purchase would be at the shop for me to pick up. I didn't receive a phone call. I went to the shop on Tuesday on the off chance my holiday money was at the shop. I asked why I had not received a call and was informed by this older member of staff she phoned my Mobil phone twice and received no answer. I certainly didn't receive a call from her. I have used this shop on numerous occasions but I certainly will not use this shop again, shocking customer service I received from this older member of staff.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend The Money Shop to others

Pete

3rd May 2017

Walked into the store changed sterling for euro's and out in under 10 mins! Friendly staff. No hassle, No fuss!!

  • I ordered £580 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend The Money Shop to others

Chris

22nd March 2017

Arrived on the day I requested and for a great rate considering I brought by debit card. I asked for a mix of notes and ordered both euros and Icelandic krone. My euros were split 25% each way for 50, 20, 10 and 5 euro notes and my krone was split 33% each way for 1000, 5000 and 10000 notes. Very happy and will use again.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

The Money Shop replied

22nd March 2017

Hi Chris, great to hear you had such a good experience. Have a great holiday!

Load More Reviews

Write a review of The Money Shop

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend The Money Shop to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend The Money Shop to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend The Money Shop to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend The Money Shop to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend The Money Shop to others?Yes No

At The Money Shop we have great rates on our foreign exchange all day, every day. Wherever you're going we've got it covered, and with over 50 different currencies available we're hard to beat. Order your currency online and collect it for free in-store, or get it delivered to your home.

Visit Website

Mica McNeill bobsleigh team update

Posted by Graham Morley on 18th December 2018

Last year Mica McNeill and her bobsleigh team came to prominence after doing very well at the winter Olympics which was helped by raising a lot of their sponsorship through crowdfunding. At that time Compare... read more

Moving to another Country?

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 17th December 2018

There has been an increasing number of people moving to another country. One thing for sure is that it’s not easy and takes a lot of courage. Here are some things you will need to do when before... read more

Quidditch and Travel Money

Quidditch and travel money is not a combination you would necessarily put  together on first thoughts but among Compare Holiday Money’s sponsorships we are proud to support the Falmouth Falcons ... read more

Travel planning in the future

The notion of using an assistant to plan travel itineraries, hotels, flights, car hire, even currency exchange, has been around for decades. It’s such a popular solution that a few of the big travel ... read more

Middle East currencies and travel tips

It’s fair to say that some parts of the middle east for instance Syria, are troubled by conflict at the moment so you may not have it high on your bucket list of places to visit. However, many places i... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.