Compare Holiday Money Logo

Thomas Cook reviews

Poor 2.3 / 5

Based on 79 reviews Write Review

The worst service any bank can prvoide

13th January 2018

I wish i could give negative rating which can be maximum would be even more satisfiable. Just for a simple refund, we need to raise minimum of 5 request. Can you just imagine ? Yes, just for getting our own money get back to card, we need to beg them. This is just example, for every single thing they take months to process. They have pathetic online service.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Lisa Bushby

27th December 2017

Attempted to reload using the app and online but the transactions were unsuccessful so I rang up to try to resolve the issue. Poor customer service!!!! Gave my full security details all correct but the woman told me they were incorrect... I asked her if she could have inputted them wrong and she said no and the only way I could sort it out was by going into the store I got the card or sending off my drivers licence or passport!! She was adamant I was wrong and not here!!! I phoned back 5 mins later gave the same security details and this time I was told they were correct!!! However she then went on to tell me the reason it wasn’t working was because my bank card address and my cash passport address were different. When I told her that they weren’t she went silent for a long time before saying I should just try again in 24 hours... The telephone services people are useless and rude!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Ruben

30th November 2017

Low rates is you want to reload to cash card or buy in store Try kanoo currency or john lewis currency plenty around the country you need to look around thomas cook one of the worst for curreny ordered 600 euros on but unable to collect so got that dates rate which was less so went elsewhere thomas cook loss john lewis gains for ever will not use tc again except for buy back

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Jackie

14th November 2017

Loaded card with euros to use on recent trip to Spain. Card was rejected online whilst trying to book transfer, refused again when paying restaurant bill. Restaurant tried again but still failed. Could not use in ATM. When checked account online found that the 2 failed transactions at restaurant had been put into pending and deducted from account. Took over 10 days to get money credited back. After numerous visits in store and discussions with customer services they are issuing a new card. Don't hold out any hope of this working but they will not refund money at rate that was applied when loaded. Absolutely useless card once empty will never use again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Stephen Griffiths

7th November 2017

Called in to pick up euros ordered 3 days ago. They give you the rate applicable on that day (that's what the email said) so I checked online before i went and knew exactly what the rate was and the cost of my order. I asked them what the rate was and he tried to avoid telling me. I asked again and he finally told me. I pointed out that that wasn't the rate applicable online, He flustered about for a minute and said he'd "tweeked" the system and it was now the rate that I had told him. "It's only pennies different" he said. It was £4.85. This has happened twice before with this firm. I can only assume it's company policy to try and fob you off with a lower rate in store. I'll be making alternative arrangements in future.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Lynn

30th October 2017

It's a disgrace how Thomas Cook rip you off if you have cash left on card. They are quick to encourage you to load enough money on but thieves when you have any cash left. They should be investigated for this robbery! Will never use again.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Herbert

28th October 2017

I was already aware the online rate is better, but seeing we only need 200 US dollar. We asked for the rate in the store, they asked how much we wanted (200 USD) and then gave a reasonable rate (1.27), so we go ahead immediately and do the exchange. We only discovered from the receipt sealed inside the evelope that the rate they used was 1.17 when we returned home. When we complained they said we should have noticed the rate ourselves. Clearly that is why the deliberately put all exchange rate info inside the envelope sealed and there is no info anywhere in the store. They even blamed us for hearing the rate wrong! Only Thomas Crook can quote you one rate, then use a different rate 5 seconds later! Lesson: Just avoid Thomas Crook like a plague.

  • I ordered £170 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Nikkie

12th October 2017

Prepay card DOES not work in any cash machine or shop. I am now stuck in Turkey with no cash! Rep no help and they do not respond to emails.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Nicola

12th October 2017

Card DOES NOT work in shops or ATM. I have no Turkish money and I am here with a 13 year old child.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Kettering

30th September 2017

Never again! The same experience as others on here, exchange rate absolutely shockingly bad. They should inform people to book online at least and be more clear how low their rate in store is. 0%commision is a lie they just take their cut from the exchange margin. Beware.

  • I ordered £200.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Daniel Griffiths

30th August 2017

Very poor as per the others ripped off with in store rate this will never happen to me again online rate for Thomas Cooke for the Euro 1.0549 30th August I got in store 1.00020

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Lee

29th August 2017

Loaded card to pay for hotel in US. This was not accepted as it did not have a name typed on the front, also tried to use it on the Thomas Cook flight and they didn't even accept their own card !!! So ended up having to come home with the money and get a rubbish rate to exchange back. Keep clear.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Charles Hill

18th August 2017

In Edinburgh, August, 2017. New York September futures were trading under 1.29 $/Pound at the time. Dollar exchange rate offered by T. Cook was over $1.47!! This is not a business, its thievery. H&M was not much better. Use a credit card, or tip in US Dollars. Maybe the Edinburgh waiters' banks won't rip them off like Thomas Cook does it's unsuspecting US customers.

  • I sold [X] [Y]
  • I received the amount I was quoted
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Andy

2nd August 2017

Dreadful exchange rate in store. Usually use sainsburys but did this in a hurry. Won't so so again though.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Steff

25th July 2017

Rip off. Thought i would get my son some last minute euros before he travelled. Be aware website rates and instore info misleading. Basically got one euro to the pound. Had to take it as in a rush. Grumpy customer service to boot.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

lyn

4th July 2017

rip off. buying in store cost me almost £100 more (£1075 instead of £987 that would have costed for Thomas Cooke online and from the post Office). Second time that i bought from them - first time was 4 years ago and their customer service was poor. This time their rate was a rip off (1.04 euros to the pound) ..

  • I ordered £1075 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

B Rogers

3rd June 2017

Asked in store for the euro rate and was asked how much would I be purchasing, I said £150.00 and was then told the rate would be €1.11. My £150.00 was rounded up to £152.38 and I was given €160. The receipt was put in an envelope with the euros. Once home I checked my receipt and discovered that although the Thomas Cook Assistant had informed me the rate was €1.11, the rate used was €1.05. Lesson learnt - never use Thomas Cook again, if the assistant had advised me correctly of the rate she was actually using I would have gone elsewhere for my euros.

  • I ordered £150.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Graham Marsh

24th May 2017

Bought a cash passport card. Supposed to be able to top up online at online rate. Could not top up as staff in store had entered wrong personal details into the computer. Coould only top up in stoee at much lower exchange rate. Will run the card down and never set foot in thomas Cook again, terrible service, staff just want ti rip you off. Beware.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Angela Hodgkins

16th May 2017

I ordered £1000 of Euros on-line @ 9.15 this morning & locked in a rate of 1.1554. When I got there 1pm this afternoon they tried to charge me a lower rate costing me almost £7 more. It was only because I insisted that the E-mail I gave them said that the rate I purchased online was locked in for the whole day 16th May. The staff member asked me what time I ordered it & after my reply she was very polite and did not question it any further & gave me my locked in rate from this morning. Can some one from Thomas Cook please tell me what is the point in ordering currency on-line if when you get to the shop on the same day as requested they try to charge you something different?

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Nell

13th May 2017

Seen rate online, went in store they honoured it ,so pleased with service Mansfield branch

  • I ordered £420 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Simon

10th May 2017

The exchange rate in store is a lot lower than if you reserve online. This is not made clear.

  • I ordered £870 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Ellie

1st May 2017

It isn't made clear that the exchange rate is so much worse in store. I checked the rate online then went to buy in store as I was in town and lost about 50 dollars!! Should be clearer.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

beryl graham

27th April 2017

T cook cash card. Charge of ,2 p cent when withdrawing money at atm Australia. None with travlex or sainsburys April 2017. Rate of aud also poor when buying. Travelex and sainsburys much better. Won't b using t cook services again.

    G smith

    26th April 2017

    I ordered on line with a good rate asked to put what day to collect 2 days later I went to collect the Euros I ordered to be told if I wanted that rate when ordered I would have to collect the same day but ordered 9.30 evening they r closed . So had to have a poor rate could have gone TO Sainsbury's next time I will x

    • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
    • I received the notes I requested
    • Ordering was easy and straightforward
    • I would recommend this supplier to others

    David Barr

    25th April 2017

    DONT USE!! A huge con You don't get the advertised rate and you cant get anywhere complaining!!!!!!!

    • My currency arrived on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • Ordering was easy and straightforward
    • I would recommend this supplier to others

    Write a review of Thomas Cook

    Your name

    Your rating

    Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
    1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

    Your review

    Optional questions

    • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
    • How much travel money did you purchase?
      worth of
    • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
    • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
    • How much currency did you sell?
    • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
    • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
    • What currency did you transfer?
      to
    • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
    • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
    • What type of prepaid card did you order?
    • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
    • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
    • What kind of policy did you purchase?
      policy for
    • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
    • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No

    With over 170 years of travel experience, holiday know-how and great currency exchange rates, Thomas Cook Travel Money has been the go-to place for holidaymakers wanting to buy their travel money for years. Over 75 currencies available all with zero commission.

    Visit Website

    Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

    Find out more

    Why sign up?

    • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
    • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
    • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
    Winter Olympics 2018 Sports Venues In South Korea Infographic

    Winter Olympics 2018 Sports Venues In South Korea Infographic

    Posted by Graham Morley on 16th January 2018

    If you are travelling to South Korea to see any of the winter Olympic events or even just watching at home, we have put together a little guide to the winter Olympic games locations to compliment the recent art read more

    How To Pack A Carry-On

    How To Pack A Carry-On

    Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 14th January 2018

      Have you ever been in a situation where you want to travel light but as soon as you look into your closet you just wonder how are you going to fit all of that in! Well last time we went to Germany for a read more