Thomas Cook reviews

124 Reviews Bad | 1.9

Thomas Cook

https://www.thomascook.com/

With over 170 years of travel experience, holiday know-how and great currency exchange rates, Thomas Cook Travel Money has been the go-to place for holidaymakers wanting to buy their travel money for years. Over 75 currencies available all with zero commission.

Write a review

narendra agrawal

3 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

3 July 2019

the worst currency card ever. The helpline number on the back of the card, when dialed literally gave the that “the never is busy, goodbye”. There customer portal doesnt work, there is literally no way to use the money.

Dave

1 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

1 July 2019

Cashpassport card top up dreadful, I've never managed to load on line ever in last 3 years. Tried the app same issue completely frustrating. Exchange rates no fantastic either. Shop around.

liz

4 June 2019

Bought £305 worth of Euros

4 June 2019

Shocking in-store exchange rate at Silverburn and bordering on deceitful with their advertised exchange rates.

Avoid at all costs

B Millar

26 May 2019

Bought Euros

26 May 2019

Last summer i went in to thomas cook in sainsburys Berryden Aberdeen for euros for my mother ,the woman tried to give me one for one as an exchange when it was 1.12 euro,yesterday they tried to give my partner 1.03 instead of 1.11 euro,how many people have they ripped off?It puts me off Thomas Cook as a company,total theives,had to give 1 star as none wasnt available ..

Dr David Woods

21 May 2019

Bought £500 worth of US dollars

21 May 2019

My wife and I went into our local Thomas Cook to purchase US Dollars. My wife asked for "£200 worth of dollars", and was given them at a rate of 1.1419.

90 minutes later I asked for £500 worth of US Dollars, and was given a rate of 1.2490!!!!

Because of how my wife requested the transaction she was given "the walk-in, daily rate" which is much lower than when I asked "what is the dollar rate?" I was quoted the higher online rate, which the assistant then had to honour.

This is hoodwinking practice is deception of the customer and is profiteering at best, if not fraud.

STEER CLEAR OF USING THOMAS COOK FOREIGN CURRENCY SERVICES AT ALL COST!

Rob

17 May 2019

Bought £253 worth of Euros

17 May 2019

Bought 260 euros today - cost me £253.00.

Didn't bother to do the calculation at the Desk as I'd looked online & they are advertising £1 / 1.13eu.

Only when I have looked at my receipt have I realised the rate they have given me was 1.03eu / 1£.

VERY underhanded tactics - No wonder they are quick to stuff the receipt into the envelope & seal it!!

Last time I bother with THOMAS COOK.....

Chris

9 May 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

9 May 2019

What a con! I looked online and it said 1.14 euro to the pound, my wife went into the shop and they only gave 1.10 . Last time I use Thomas Cook.

Hugh Gilmartin

6 May 2019

Bought £153 worth of Euros

6 May 2019

Last time I’ll use Thomas Cook. Bought euros in store and rate was 10 cents per euro less. Didn’t realise till I got home. Store did not advise of difference. Feel cheated!!!

Jess

2 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

2 May 2019

Mastercard customer service was pathetic!

The lady who sold us the card badly miss sold us this travel card and made it out to be amazing when realistically it was awful!

Doesn't like you to remove cash.

Honestly I'd think twise before using this card, go elsewhere.

Worst experience of my life and it ruined our holiday!

Bad experience from the start with Thomas Cook!

Cheers for nothing!!!!!

Neil

14 April 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

14 April 2019

Foolishly I bought currency on store rather than ordering online and got exchange rate of 1.03 rather than 1.13 so lost £40. Feels a bii like a con trick

Write a review of Thomas Cook

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?