Compare Holiday Money Logo

Thomas Cook reviews

Average 2.1 / 5

Based on 92 reviews Write Review

Julie Langley

Today

My mum went to change euros, I checked online for their rate which was 1.1192 (didn't see anywhere to say it was internet rate only) if this is the case it should be clearly stated not hidden somewhere! When she went to the shop she was given 1.02 rate, to which I complained and they did change it for her, but then complained they also took a lot of £1 coins from my mum which they shouldn't have done!! Last time I checked money is money, it was also counted in separate bags. Terrible customer services definitely won't be using this service again.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Julie

12th June 2018

Exchange rate per dollar 10c less than everywhere else. Was in a rush just popped in.. so glad i only exchanged £100 but still diddled me out of about 8 quid!!!

  • I ordered £100 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Nicky

11th June 2018

Fiddle you left right and centre - told rate was 1-11 only got 1.02 - crap service. Will never use again for money or to book holidays.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Joan

16th May 2018

On two occasions within days, we went into Thomas Cook for a currency exchange, and discovered afterwards that we had been given the incorrect conversion rate. We went back in and argued for the correct exchange and were successful. Won't use them again.

    John Crampton

    14th May 2018

    I purchased 100 euros on 12 th May 2018 and I must admit I didn't know what going rate was.I was charged £98. 20. When I checked rate at home it's advertised at 1.11 euros to pound even though I virtually got even Stephens.On qeuering how they had come to that charge I was told that was rate for ordering over internet and collecting in shop.So they charged me a ( small charge) for not ordering on line even thou I paid cash so it literally was a change of sterling to euros.a small charge of £8 for a transaction of £90.Where do they come from?All robbers do not wear masks

    • I ordered £98 worth of Euros
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    John kelly

    8th May 2018

    Don’t know why l bother to call them.They always advertise about their so called great exchange rates and they are always the worst.

    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Pauline

    30th April 2018

    Dreadful. I was away and trying to load money onto my cashcard - each time an error message appeared.I had to use my debit card to wuthdraw money from a atm. As indicated on the cash passport app I sent an email requesting urgent help - but they did not respond for 4 days. About 10 days after returning home I found that one of these attempted transactions had gone through and currency was added to my card. On calling the contact centre I was only offered the money back at a much worse exchange rate. Feels like a complete scam. DO NOT USE this cash passport!!

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Teja Patil

    9th April 2018

    It was a terrible experience: 1) They change their card and do not inform me. 2) After asking them, they don't even apologize 3) Send me emails that are not concerning me. 4) Took 3 weeks to send a new card. 5) Its been a month and they did not activate my new card 6) I tell all these problems to them and you know what? they don't apologize, but ignore my complains. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!!!!! Please don't buy this card

    • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Dan

    27th March 2018

    Trying to load money on the card is a dreadful experience. Always some error comes up. Emailed to try and get problem fixed, very slow to come back to me.

    • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Louise

    8th March 2018

    Dreadful experience with this card - poor exchange rates, commission and then charged for inactivity to the tune of Euro 100+ - I could never recommend this card and am trying to close the account as soon as possible, We have lost money hand over fist on this product and all so that we could keep travel spending safe for our teenage son. Read the T&Cs carefully before purchasing!

    • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Ajain

    6th March 2018

    Worst service ever possible . For getting the back the money which i deposited into the card I lost 50$ !!!. Before retrieving the money I spoke with the customer care executive and they told me that there is no transaction fee if I get money from the bank. I believed them and I withdraw money from BANK 5 times ,5 days(Yes !! they have daily limit as well so that they can charge more). Even there in the notification mail , there was nothing about the fee.And the worst thing is that even the last transaction details in the account they ddnt mention about he transaction fee. Finally when I was tallying the balance amount, I could see that around 50$ is missing and then I checked the PDF format of the statement .Then I came to know that there is transaction fee of 10$ for each of the withdrawal. SO DONT GET CHEATED .Buy some other vendor.

    • I ordered £8000 worth of US Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    J Smith

    15th February 2018

    Never got told the exchange rate up front and then got swept along with the process and only realised how ripped off I had been after I walked out the door. Normally I'm very careful and check rates all the time. No wonder Thomas Cook did not have them displayed anywhere. DO NOT GET YOUR CURRENCY EXCHANGED HERE.

    • I ordered £450 worth of US Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    S.BEJOY

    6th February 2018

    Really poor Experience in terms of Forex. Daylight robbery in terms of Exchange rates. I should have never taken this service. And I would never recommend this, rather steer my dear ones away from this service. Already They put up higher than competitive rates on their website, but when they're called to reload the Travel card they give you higher than even this high rate..!!! Eg: If the days rate for INR/EURO is 79.4, their website says buying rate is 80.15 for Reload Travel Card and 80.95 for Cash buy. But on enquiry with the Thomas cook agent they say they never give their own website rate. And if I wanted to buy Euro the rate for the day is 81.4. Absolutely, shocking..!!! If you are travelling abroad, you are now at their mercy. I will cancel this card at the very next Instance I can.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    The worst service any bank can prvoide

    13th January 2018

    I wish i could give negative rating which can be maximum would be even more satisfiable. Just for a simple refund, we need to raise minimum of 5 request. Can you just imagine ? Yes, just for getting our own money get back to card, we need to beg them. This is just example, for every single thing they take months to process. They have pathetic online service.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Lisa Bushby

    27th December 2017

    Attempted to reload using the app and online but the transactions were unsuccessful so I rang up to try to resolve the issue. Poor customer service!!!! Gave my full security details all correct but the woman told me they were incorrect... I asked her if she could have inputted them wrong and she said no and the only way I could sort it out was by going into the store I got the card or sending off my drivers licence or passport!! She was adamant I was wrong and not here!!! I phoned back 5 mins later gave the same security details and this time I was told they were correct!!! However she then went on to tell me the reason it wasn’t working was because my bank card address and my cash passport address were different. When I told her that they weren’t she went silent for a long time before saying I should just try again in 24 hours... The telephone services people are useless and rude!!!

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Ruben

    30th November 2017

    Low rates is you want to reload to cash card or buy in store Try kanoo currency or john lewis currency plenty around the country you need to look around thomas cook one of the worst for curreny ordered 600 euros on but unable to collect so got that dates rate which was less so went elsewhere thomas cook loss john lewis gains for ever will not use tc again except for buy back

    • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Jackie

    14th November 2017

    Loaded card with euros to use on recent trip to Spain. Card was rejected online whilst trying to book transfer, refused again when paying restaurant bill. Restaurant tried again but still failed. Could not use in ATM. When checked account online found that the 2 failed transactions at restaurant had been put into pending and deducted from account. Took over 10 days to get money credited back. After numerous visits in store and discussions with customer services they are issuing a new card. Don't hold out any hope of this working but they will not refund money at rate that was applied when loaded. Absolutely useless card once empty will never use again.

    • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Stephen Griffiths

    7th November 2017

    Called in to pick up euros ordered 3 days ago. They give you the rate applicable on that day (that's what the email said) so I checked online before i went and knew exactly what the rate was and the cost of my order. I asked them what the rate was and he tried to avoid telling me. I asked again and he finally told me. I pointed out that that wasn't the rate applicable online, He flustered about for a minute and said he'd "tweeked" the system and it was now the rate that I had told him. "It's only pennies different" he said. It was £4.85. This has happened twice before with this firm. I can only assume it's company policy to try and fob you off with a lower rate in store. I'll be making alternative arrangements in future.

    • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Lynn

    30th October 2017

    It's a disgrace how Thomas Cook rip you off if you have cash left on card. They are quick to encourage you to load enough money on but thieves when you have any cash left. They should be investigated for this robbery! Will never use again.

    • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Herbert

    28th October 2017

    I was already aware the online rate is better, but seeing we only need 200 US dollar. We asked for the rate in the store, they asked how much we wanted (200 USD) and then gave a reasonable rate (1.27), so we go ahead immediately and do the exchange. We only discovered from the receipt sealed inside the evelope that the rate they used was 1.17 when we returned home. When we complained they said we should have noticed the rate ourselves. Clearly that is why the deliberately put all exchange rate info inside the envelope sealed and there is no info anywhere in the store. They even blamed us for hearing the rate wrong! Only Thomas Crook can quote you one rate, then use a different rate 5 seconds later! Lesson: Just avoid Thomas Crook like a plague.

    • I ordered £170 worth of US Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Nikkie

    12th October 2017

    Prepay card DOES not work in any cash machine or shop. I am now stuck in Turkey with no cash! Rep no help and they do not respond to emails.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Nicola

    12th October 2017

    Card DOES NOT work in shops or ATM. I have no Turkish money and I am here with a 13 year old child.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Kettering

    30th September 2017

    Never again! The same experience as others on here, exchange rate absolutely shockingly bad. They should inform people to book online at least and be more clear how low their rate in store is. 0%commision is a lie they just take their cut from the exchange margin. Beware.

    • I ordered £200.00 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Daniel Griffiths

    30th August 2017

    Very poor as per the others ripped off with in store rate this will never happen to me again online rate for Thomas Cooke for the Euro 1.0549 30th August I got in store 1.00020

    • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Lee

    29th August 2017

    Loaded card to pay for hotel in US. This was not accepted as it did not have a name typed on the front, also tried to use it on the Thomas Cook flight and they didn't even accept their own card !!! So ended up having to come home with the money and get a rubbish rate to exchange back. Keep clear.

    • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

    Write a review of Thomas Cook

    Your name

    Your rating

    Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
    1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

    Your review

    Optional questions

    • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
    • How much travel money did you purchase?
      worth of
    • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
    • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
    • How much currency did you sell?
    • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
    • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
    • What currency did you transfer?
      to
    • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
    • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
    • What type of prepaid card did you order?
    • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
    • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
    • What kind of policy did you purchase?
      policy for
    • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
    • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No

    With over 170 years of travel experience, holiday know-how and great currency exchange rates, Thomas Cook Travel Money has been the go-to place for holidaymakers wanting to buy their travel money for years. Over 75 currencies available all with zero commission.

    Visit Website

    Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

    • A roundup of the latest exchange rates and currency deals
    • Hand-picked special offers on travel and holiday extras
    • Helpful and informative travel blogs written by our in-house team
    Russian love-lock fever

    Russian love-lock fever

    Posted by Sam Stone on 14th June 2018

    As a midsummer dream is played out on Russia’s football fields, echoes of Shakespeare’s themes of undying love are evident elsewhere in Moscow’s iron heart. On Luzhkov Bridge, love-lock fever read more

    City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

    City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

    Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 7th June 2018

    Cities or country sides? I don’t know which one you like more but these are what you would notice if you’ve lived in both like myself. But for you all who have lived in only one of them then here ar read more