Thomas Cook reviews

131 Reviews Bad | 1.9

Thomas Cook

https://www.thomascook.com/

With over 170 years of travel experience, holiday know-how and great currency exchange rates, Thomas Cook Travel Money has been the go-to place for holidaymakers wanting to buy their travel money for years. Over 75 currencies available all with zero commission.

Write a review

SG

18 November 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

18 November 2019

Worst travel card company ever, they do not provide proper details of transaction & keep on deducting money twice. They have so called pending transaction functionality which is useless and confuses the user. Not at all recommended and not at all user Friendly

Peter McEvoy

9 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

9 September 2019

Bluntly is a rip off - go elsewhere!

Diane Carter

31 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

31 August 2019

Absolutely disgusting. Like other reviews I was not told of the non use charges. What a total con when they have my money. Will never use them again.

Alan Jackson

28 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

28 August 2019

Terrible. When sold the card they did not tell me about the none use charges. Over 18 months they stripped my account clean. When I called to complain I was met with a surly call operator who didn't care less and told me it was just too bad. Don't ever use this card provider.

Jay

11 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

11 August 2019

Shocking...was assured the Euro value, when exchanged, would be the value upon with drawing the currency only to find it was subject to further exchange rates.

The phone app has crashed, so I have no idea of what is on the card.

The helpline has, to put it politely, significant linguistic challenges and of no help.

Avoid.

Appalling experience

2 August 2019

Bought £1,600 worth of US dollars

2 August 2019

Appalling experience - booked currency collection online, received confirmation email - visited shop to be told they didn't have the currency I had reserved and I would have to return next day, but (and I double checked) I could still get the rate I booked at. Returned next day, was ignored for 10 minutes whilst they dealt with customers booking holidays in store, and was then told that 'the computer wouldn't allow' the rate I had reserved at to be honoured. 2 wasted trips, untruths (or incompetence) - will never use again. (I've since found a better rate, and better service elsewhere.)

Duncan

29 July 2019

Bought £200 worth of Euros

29 July 2019

I checked the rate online, but as they said they always have Euros available, I just went in the local shop and bought without reserving. The assistant quoted the rate very quickly counted the Euros, shoved the money in an envelope and sealed it, all the time whilst I was thinking "that's not as good as the rate quoted online, should I say something?" My indecisiveness cost me £18. The service is ok as long as you remember that the "walk -in rate" is terrible and you should always book online first, even if it is a popular currency you want and the shop is nearby.

narendra agrawal

3 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

3 July 2019

the worst currency card ever. The helpline number on the back of the card, when dialed literally gave the that “the never is busy, goodbye”. There customer portal doesnt work, there is literally no way to use the money.

Dave

1 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

1 July 2019

Cashpassport card top up dreadful, I've never managed to load on line ever in last 3 years. Tried the app same issue completely frustrating. Exchange rates no fantastic either. Shop around.

liz

4 June 2019

Bought £305 worth of Euros

4 June 2019

Shocking in-store exchange rate at Silverburn and bordering on deceitful with their advertised exchange rates.

Avoid at all costs

Write a review of Thomas Cook

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?