Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Thomas Cook reviews

Poor 2.8 / 5

Based on 54 reviews Write Review

18th April 2017

I was tricked by exchange rate. I exchange 600 euro in store with rate 1.06 however online they could deliver with rate 1.15. Cashier told that they had online rate, however did not specified it, so I should have asked exact figures and did my calculations. In the future will avoid them at all, so unclear and confusing for the customer, as result payed approx 40 pound more. Never again

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th April 2017

No information about rates at all nether from the cashier or instore board. I got an exchange rate of €1.06 as opposed to €1.15. The person who I dealt with seemed more interested in getting my huse and email details so they could send me a load of spam mail. Absolutely miserable experince I will never set foot in Thomas Cook again. I wish I had walked around the corner to Debenhams where the axchange rate is always good and the service is great. We live and learn.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

10th April 2017

After checking rates online Thomas Cook was a better rate than post office, showing I'd get €290 for £250. I asked my son to take my money in to get changed and he came back with €260 euros for £247. Didn't order them online but in there window it says online prices. Won't be using them again, I'll stick with the PO.

  • I ordered £[X] worth of [Y]
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

30th March 2017

Generally a good rate and most important you get same rate for small amounts. Because rates are varying so much I just buy £150 - £200 euros each month and top up my cash passport. Yes rate in store is less so do order on line. Also rates can change between 08:30 am and later in the day but you can get another quote and just bin the lowest. Branch I use is good but they are often let down by poor systems.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th March 2017

YES the rate is always better online but to those who have complained about the rates in store - why not order online first when you check the rate? It doesn't cost you anything. I always use Thomas cook when buying my euros, the online rates are always very competitive with online only exchange options. Yesterday I attempted to order £1,000 worth of euros. The rate went down a few hours later (email notification) and I noticed I hadn't received the confirmation email for my order so called the branch who said they hadn't received any online orders from myself. The agent did offer to honour the rate I attempted to order it at and put the cash aside. I collected them a few hours later and the staff were lovely. Very chatty and friendly. Highly recommend and will use again.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th March 2017

Have always got my currency at Thomas Cook as the guy who works at local branch is friendly and helpful. However today very disappointed to discover that I lost out on around £10 by going in store, instead of ordering online and then going to collect it. If I had known I would have done that in the store as got much lower rate than the xe exchange rate for Canadian dollars just by going into the store! Won't be using Thomas Cook again.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd March 2017

changed 200 pounds in coop travel shop supplied by Thomas Cook got a rate of 1.06. Current exchange even in another Thomas Cook branch 1.12. How is that? Cost me 12 to 20 euro

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

21st March 2017

Beware - Travelex runs the online exchange hence the good rate. Thomas Cook seem to make up their own instore. I should have realised as there was no exchange board and the receipt didn't state the rate either. Anyone who has done the same thing should complain to the Financial Ombudsman - I lost £20 on quite a small exchange.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th February 2017

I went to Thomas Cook un Lisburn today and changed 1370 Euro to Sterling. I was given £1017, she didnt tell me the rate. When I got home I checked the online Thomas Cook and saw I should have gotten £1182! A difference of £165! Unbelievable plus she didnt give me a receipt! I will be calling to complain first thing tomorrow....

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th January 2017

Ordered notes from the Reedswood store, WS3 and specified different denominations and asked if I would get the online rate which was confirmed that i would as I called ahead. Went to collect the money and checked later on that they gave me the in store rate which has done me out by around £40 worth of currency! Never ever again will I use Thomas Cook for travel money! Their customer service is non existent and I will ensure everyone I know does this! Go to Sainsburys instead, better rates and nectar points and friendlier staff!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th November 2016

Ordered some Icelandic Krona on the Monday and was informed I could collect this after 2.30pm on the Friday. I received a telephone call at 1.50pm on the Friday to say they couldn't get the currency for me. They didn't offer to get this in for me at a later date and weren't very helpful. Really let me down as I had to find a retailer at short notice who had some in.

  • I ordered £80 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd November 2016

Be careful when You change US dollars in Maidstone. They are ripping You off !!!! Checked the rate online was 1.18 so go to store and bought it. Didn't asked the rate, thought it's gonna be the same as online. The cashier put the money and receive in envelope so just checked money at home. The rate she gave me was 1.09 !!! Thank You Thomas Cook for ripping me Off !!!

  • I ordered £320 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th October 2016

Booked online 0830hrs collected from store 1000hrs no problems got the best rate possible on the day.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th September 2016

The rate was the best on the day. I ordered before midday and received the Euros 10pm next day, perfect. There was a good assortment of notes, as I hadn't requested specific denominations. Excellent service. Would use again if exchange rate is good.

  • I ordered £650 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th September 2016

I expected to be charged slightly over the odds as it was a Sunday and nowhere else was open but the rate turned out to be 10% less than elsewhere. Thomas Cook take liberties. Avoid if you want to keep your money.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th September 2016

i called today at thomas cook halifax. exchanged £500 into euro. wasn't told conversion rate, but had checked on line and was expecting 1.14/1.15 to the £. got home and checked money. i had been paid 1.07. Absolutely disgusted. will be ringing them tomorrow to complain

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th September 2016

Ordered £900 of euros on line,phoned shop to confirm that they would be open.Arrived at shop only had 85 euros in till although i had a confirmed order. Phoned CEO and was offered 20 euros as good will although i had a 26 mile round trip twice.

  • I ordered £900 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd September 2016

This is actually for Cooperative Travel Loughton (now part of Thos Cook which I didn't know). Went comparing Euro rates online & down high st. On average between 1.13-1.15 to £1 in store. In Coop store around 1.13, but order online it said 1.16 Eu to £1. Get a code which goes straight to the store, gave them a call to confirm they had received it which they did, went back & bought Euros as advertised @ 1.16 to £1 in mixed notes as well. Very pleased how easy it all was. Had to take passport or driving license for ID. Would use again. I would NEVER pay online first. This is a very convenient click & collect (much like Argos) where you pay on collection.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st September 2016

Always use Thomas Cook order online and collect service from Wallington, Surrey...Staff are always polite and provide good Customer Service. Today I had only ordered £200 of Euros but when I got there asked if they would give me the same online price for £300 and they exchanged it no quibble!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th August 2016

Like others on your reviews you state 1.15 euro to the pound but 10 minutes later when I arrive in the shop the rate is 1.06 . Needless to say I will never usr Thomas Cook ever again.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th August 2016

Also disappointed. Went to thomas cook as online rate for euros was 1. 15. Realised once home the rate i received by going into the shop was 1. 05. Service was friendly but am suprised what is in the window and online isnot what you receive.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th August 2016

Exchange rate in store is much lower! Make sure you ask before buy!

  • I ordered £50 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd August 2016

Went in on spec - queue a mile long - lady said they had a new system - did the transaction by hand - walked past Thompson and there was no queue and rate was better!

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd August 2016

Having visited your internet site where you show the Euro at 1.15 per £1 we have just visited your branch within Sainburys Hessle and bought £500 worth of Euros, expecting that the rate on your site would be the rate in the branch.Ooh how wrong we were, we actually only received 1.1 Euros per £1. We have lost out to the value of another 25 Euros compared to your advertised rate!! We will not be using Thomas Cook in the future!!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st July 2016

I travel to France with a Motorhome so need a lot of cash as it is not easy to exchange sterling in some areas. I ordered £1,000 online as this is the best way to get a better rate, it is also a better rate the higher the amount ordered. I had the number of my order on my I Pad, took it to my branch the next day and received an even better rate than that ordered. It states quite clearly that the rate received may go up or down according to the money markets. You have to accept that this is outside the responsibility of any branch staff. I have used them 6 or 7 times and have always had very good service.

  • I ordered £1,000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Thomas Cook

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Were you paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No

With over 170 years of travel experience, holiday know-how and great currency exchange rates, Thomas Cook Travel Money has been the go-to place for holidaymakers wanting to buy their travel money for years. Over 75 currencies available all with zero commission.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Theatres Around the Globe

Theatres Around the Globe

Posted by Holly Burgess on 20th April 2017

  Art is a universal form of communication which can be appreciated by anyone, no matter where you are. When I find myself sat in the audience of a theatre, it is not just the performance I admire. The ar read more

Beach Breaks on a Budget: Bulgaria ranked Europe’s Cheapest Destination

Beach Breaks on a Budget: Bulgaria ranked Europe’s Cheapest Destination

Posted by Matthew Weston on 16th April 2017

Bulgaria has slashed the costs of staying its country, making it the cheapest destination to go on holiday in 2017. The Post Office’s Holiday Costs Barometer works out the costs of items in certain reso read more