Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Thomas Cook reviews

Good 3.1 / 5

Based on 41 reviews Write Review

4th November 2016

Ordered some Icelandic Krona on the Monday and was informed I could collect this after 2.30pm on the Friday. I received a telephone call at 1.50pm on the Friday to say they couldn't get the currency for me. They didn't offer to get this in for me at a later date and weren't very helpful. Really let me down as I had to find a retailer at short notice who had some in.

  • I ordered £80 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd November 2016

Be careful when You change US dollars in Maidstone. They are ripping You off !!!! Checked the rate online was 1.18 so go to store and bought it. Didn't asked the rate, thought it's gonna be the same as online. The cashier put the money and receive in envelope so just checked money at home. The rate she gave me was 1.09 !!! Thank You Thomas Cook for ripping me Off !!!

  • I ordered £320 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th October 2016

Booked online 0830hrs collected from store 1000hrs no problems got the best rate possible on the day.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th September 2016

The rate was the best on the day. I ordered before midday and received the Euros 10pm next day, perfect. There was a good assortment of notes, as I hadn't requested specific denominations. Excellent service. Would use again if exchange rate is good.

  • I ordered £650 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th September 2016

I expected to be charged slightly over the odds as it was a Sunday and nowhere else was open but the rate turned out to be 10% less than elsewhere. Thomas Cook take liberties. Avoid if you want to keep your money.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th September 2016

i called today at thomas cook halifax. exchanged £500 into euro. wasn't told conversion rate, but had checked on line and was expecting 1.14/1.15 to the £. got home and checked money. i had been paid 1.07. Absolutely disgusted. will be ringing them tomorrow to complain

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th September 2016

Ordered £900 of euros on line,phoned shop to confirm that they would be open.Arrived at shop only had 85 euros in till although i had a confirmed order. Phoned CEO and was offered 20 euros as good will although i had a 26 mile round trip twice.

  • I ordered £900 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd September 2016

This is actually for Cooperative Travel Loughton (now part of Thos Cook which I didn't know). Went comparing Euro rates online & down high st. On average between 1.13-1.15 to £1 in store. In Coop store around 1.13, but order online it said 1.16 Eu to £1. Get a code which goes straight to the store, gave them a call to confirm they had received it which they did, went back & bought Euros as advertised @ 1.16 to £1 in mixed notes as well. Very pleased how easy it all was. Had to take passport or driving license for ID. Would use again. I would NEVER pay online first. This is a very convenient click & collect (much like Argos) where you pay on collection.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st September 2016

Always use Thomas Cook order online and collect service from Wallington, Surrey...Staff are always polite and provide good Customer Service. Today I had only ordered £200 of Euros but when I got there asked if they would give me the same online price for £300 and they exchanged it no quibble!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd August 2016

Went in on spec - queue a mile long - lady said they had a new system - did the transaction by hand - walked past Thompson and there was no queue and rate was better!

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd August 2016

Having visited your internet site where you show the Euro at 1.15 per £1 we have just visited your branch within Sainburys Hessle and bought £500 worth of Euros, expecting that the rate on your site would be the rate in the branch.Ooh how wrong we were, we actually only received 1.1 Euros per £1. We have lost out to the value of another 25 Euros compared to your advertised rate!! We will not be using Thomas Cook in the future!!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st July 2016

I travel to France with a Motorhome so need a lot of cash as it is not easy to exchange sterling in some areas. I ordered £1,000 online as this is the best way to get a better rate, it is also a better rate the higher the amount ordered. I had the number of my order on my I Pad, took it to my branch the next day and received an even better rate than that ordered. It states quite clearly that the rate received may go up or down according to the money markets. You have to accept that this is outside the responsibility of any branch staff. I have used them 6 or 7 times and have always had very good service.

  • I ordered £1,000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

30th June 2016

Ordered some Euros this morning. Picked up this afternoon at South Shields branch. Received the online rate as promised. Lady in branch was very polite and helpful.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd June 2016

I ordered £1000 on line. Not best rate but collect-able and competitive. Two hours later visited store. My currency all available in envelope, marked for my attention and referenced. Great experience, "click and collect" worked perfectly. Will use again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd June 2016

I brought £100 of EUR from Stowmarket branch on line it was 1.24 but I got 1.16 have been in again today to challenge the cashier who said today it was 1.17. On my £100 I lost £10 never again will I use THOMAS COOK

  • I ordered ££100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd June 2016

I got the girl in the shop to do a price match which she did was really helpful even give smaller notes

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

31st May 2016

I will never set foot in Thomas Cook again. I only wanted some currency and so ordered on line and received my confirmation email with reference number saying it was available for collection from their Catterick branch. If I didn't collect it today the rate may change. I travelled a 40 mile round trip to be met by a very rude male member of staff saying they had been very busy and our euros were no longer available. He was very dismissive, ignorant, and had no customer service idea at all. If this is how customers are treated for currency orders I dread to think how they treat someone booking a holiday.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

30th May 2016

i ordered usa dollars online in the evening so that i could pick in the morning ,the rate changed overnight and i ended up 30dollars worse off

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th May 2016

Bought 600 USD with GBP, but I didn't look close enough as the cashier flicked the notes and was 50 short when I opened the envelope at home. Ever tried contacting them from your travels! No answer. Use a Bank, they are properly regulated.

  • I ordered £Usd600 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd December 2015

Very poor exchange rate they con you by saying it's the best rate around. They are just making money out off people who think they offer a good service.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th September 2015

Went into the travel shop after looking on line at their exchange rate. I was told the rate was 1.1, I said I wouldn't accept that as on line it stated 1.33, the lady went back to her computer and said , 'ok if you pay an extra £4 we can give you 1.33.' Not using them again

  • I ordered £180 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th September 2015

Exchange rates in store 1.18 euro checked online with Thomas cook 1.33 euro what a rip off won't use again pathetic

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd September 2015

There's no way I will be using Thomas Cook again, I've just been given an exchange rate of 1.25 euros. Whilst in store I questioned why it was so low and I was told it has dropped due to problems in China, I accepted this and changed my money with them. However I have just got home and checked and even on their own website they give an exchange rate of 1.35... I've just phoned and told that rate is if you pre-oder through the website..

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th September 2015

Very disappointed. I ordered my currency and arranged to collect two days later, then the rate dipped, and even though I had pre ordered, I was given the lower rate. Feel really cheated, Shame on you Thomas Cook - would not use them again for currency, or recommend them.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd September 2015

happy with service however the rate your given online is not necessarily the one you get. I order czk Koruna received an email saying they would not be ready for 3 days. When I went to collect the assistant told me the rate would not be the one I was given online because I did not collect them the same day. I explained that I could not collect them the same day as they were not available. The assistant then explained I can only have the day of collection rates as she could not adjust the rate. Felt a little ripped off as i only went to Thomas Cook because they had the best rate

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Czech Koruna
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Thomas Cook

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

With over 170 years of travel experience, holiday know-how and great currency exchange rates, Thomas Cook Travel Money has been the go-to place for holidaymakers wanting to buy their travel money for years. Over 75 currencies available all with zero commission.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

Posted by Matthew Weston on 9th December 2016

After what has been a year of uncertainty for Britain and the pound, it is slowly making improvements in the markets. With this and the continued decline of the Euro, the exchange rate is looking better for Bri read more

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more