Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Thomas Cook reviews

Poor 2.5 / 5

Based on 69 reviews Write Review

Daniel Griffiths

30th August 2017

Very poor as per the others ripped off with in store rate this will never happen to me again online rate for Thomas Cooke for the Euro 1.0549 30th August I got in store 1.00020

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Lee

29th August 2017

Loaded card to pay for hotel in US. This was not accepted as it did not have a name typed on the front, also tried to use it on the Thomas Cook flight and they didn't even accept their own card !!! So ended up having to come home with the money and get a rubbish rate to exchange back. Keep clear.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Charles Hill

18th August 2017

In Edinburgh, August, 2017. New York September futures were trading under 1.29 $/Pound at the time. Dollar exchange rate offered by T. Cook was over $1.47!! This is not a business, its thievery. H&M was not much better. Use a credit card, or tip in US Dollars. Maybe the Edinburgh waiters' banks won't rip them off like Thomas Cook does it's unsuspecting US customers.

  • I sold [X] [Y]
  • I received the amount I was quoted
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Andy

2nd August 2017

Dreadful exchange rate in store. Usually use sainsburys but did this in a hurry. Won't so so again though.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Steff

25th July 2017

Rip off. Thought i would get my son some last minute euros before he travelled. Be aware website rates and instore info misleading. Basically got one euro to the pound. Had to take it as in a rush. Grumpy customer service to boot.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

lyn

4th July 2017

rip off. buying in store cost me almost £100 more (£1075 instead of £987 that would have costed for Thomas Cooke online and from the post Office). Second time that i bought from them - first time was 4 years ago and their customer service was poor. This time their rate was a rip off (1.04 euros to the pound) ..

  • I ordered £1075 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

B Rogers

3rd June 2017

Asked in store for the euro rate and was asked how much would I be purchasing, I said £150.00 and was then told the rate would be €1.11. My £150.00 was rounded up to £152.38 and I was given €160. The receipt was put in an envelope with the euros. Once home I checked my receipt and discovered that although the Thomas Cook Assistant had informed me the rate was €1.11, the rate used was €1.05. Lesson learnt - never use Thomas Cook again, if the assistant had advised me correctly of the rate she was actually using I would have gone elsewhere for my euros.

  • I ordered £150.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Graham Marsh

24th May 2017

Bought a cash passport card. Supposed to be able to top up online at online rate. Could not top up as staff in store had entered wrong personal details into the computer. Coould only top up in stoee at much lower exchange rate. Will run the card down and never set foot in thomas Cook again, terrible service, staff just want ti rip you off. Beware.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Angela Hodgkins

16th May 2017

I ordered £1000 of Euros on-line @ 9.15 this morning & locked in a rate of 1.1554. When I got there 1pm this afternoon they tried to charge me a lower rate costing me almost £7 more. It was only because I insisted that the E-mail I gave them said that the rate I purchased online was locked in for the whole day 16th May. The staff member asked me what time I ordered it & after my reply she was very polite and did not question it any further & gave me my locked in rate from this morning. Can some one from Thomas Cook please tell me what is the point in ordering currency on-line if when you get to the shop on the same day as requested they try to charge you something different?

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Nell

13th May 2017

Seen rate online, went in store they honoured it ,so pleased with service Mansfield branch

  • I ordered £420 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Simon

10th May 2017

The exchange rate in store is a lot lower than if you reserve online. This is not made clear.

  • I ordered £870 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Ellie

1st May 2017

It isn't made clear that the exchange rate is so much worse in store. I checked the rate online then went to buy in store as I was in town and lost about 50 dollars!! Should be clearer.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

beryl graham

27th April 2017

T cook cash card. Charge of ,2 p cent when withdrawing money at atm Australia. None with travlex or sainsburys April 2017. Rate of aud also poor when buying. Travelex and sainsburys much better. Won't b using t cook services again.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

G smith

26th April 2017

I ordered on line with a good rate asked to put what day to collect 2 days later I went to collect the Euros I ordered to be told if I wanted that rate when ordered I would have to collect the same day but ordered 9.30 evening they r closed . So had to have a poor rate could have gone TO Sainsbury's next time I will x

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

David Barr

25th April 2017

DONT USE!! A huge con You don't get the advertised rate and you cant get anywhere complaining!!!!!!!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Helen

18th April 2017

I was tricked by exchange rate. I exchange 600 euro in store with rate 1.06 however online they could deliver with rate 1.15. Cashier told that they had online rate, however did not specified it, so I should have asked exact figures and did my calculations. In the future will avoid them at all, so unclear and confusing for the customer, as result payed approx 40 pound more. Never again

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Trevor

13th April 2017

No information about rates at all nether from the cashier or instore board. I got an exchange rate of €1.06 as opposed to €1.15. The person who I dealt with seemed more interested in getting my huse and email details so they could send me a load of spam mail. Absolutely miserable experince I will never set foot in Thomas Cook again. I wish I had walked around the corner to Debenhams where the axchange rate is always good and the service is great. We live and learn.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

C cook

10th April 2017

After checking rates online Thomas Cook was a better rate than post office, showing I'd get €290 for £250. I asked my son to take my money in to get changed and he came back with €260 euros for £247. Didn't order them online but in there window it says online prices. Won't be using them again, I'll stick with the PO.

  • I ordered £[X] worth of [Y]
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

C Watson

30th March 2017

Generally a good rate and most important you get same rate for small amounts. Because rates are varying so much I just buy £150 - £200 euros each month and top up my cash passport. Yes rate in store is less so do order on line. Also rates can change between 08:30 am and later in the day but you can get another quote and just bin the lowest. Branch I use is good but they are often let down by poor systems.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

J Morrison

28th March 2017

YES the rate is always better online but to those who have complained about the rates in store - why not order online first when you check the rate? It doesn't cost you anything. I always use Thomas cook when buying my euros, the online rates are always very competitive with online only exchange options. Yesterday I attempted to order £1,000 worth of euros. The rate went down a few hours later (email notification) and I noticed I hadn't received the confirmation email for my order so called the branch who said they hadn't received any online orders from myself. The agent did offer to honour the rate I attempted to order it at and put the cash aside. I collected them a few hours later and the staff were lovely. Very chatty and friendly. Highly recommend and will use again.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Lynn Quinn

27th March 2017

Have always got my currency at Thomas Cook as the guy who works at local branch is friendly and helpful. However today very disappointed to discover that I lost out on around £10 by going in store, instead of ordering online and then going to collect it. If I had known I would have done that in the store as got much lower rate than the xe exchange rate for Canadian dollars just by going into the store! Won't be using Thomas Cook again.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

susan jackson

23rd March 2017

changed 200 pounds in coop travel shop supplied by Thomas Cook got a rate of 1.06. Current exchange even in another Thomas Cook branch 1.12. How is that? Cost me 12 to 20 euro

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

SamCol

21st March 2017

Beware - Travelex runs the online exchange hence the good rate. Thomas Cook seem to make up their own instore. I should have realised as there was no exchange board and the receipt didn't state the rate either. Anyone who has done the same thing should complain to the Financial Ombudsman - I lost £20 on quite a small exchange.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Kevin McGeough

26th February 2017

I went to Thomas Cook un Lisburn today and changed 1370 Euro to Sterling. I was given £1017, she didnt tell me the rate. When I got home I checked the online Thomas Cook and saw I should have gotten £1182! A difference of £165! Unbelievable plus she didnt give me a receipt! I will be calling to complain first thing tomorrow....

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Mike

19th January 2017

Ordered notes from the Reedswood store, WS3 and specified different denominations and asked if I would get the online rate which was confirmed that i would as I called ahead. Went to collect the money and checked later on that they gave me the in store rate which has done me out by around £40 worth of currency! Never ever again will I use Thomas Cook for travel money! Their customer service is non existent and I will ensure everyone I know does this! Go to Sainsburys instead, better rates and nectar points and friendlier staff!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Thomas Cook

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No

With over 170 years of travel experience, holiday know-how and great currency exchange rates, Thomas Cook Travel Money has been the go-to place for holidaymakers wanting to buy their travel money for years. Over 75 currencies available all with zero commission.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Posted by Matthew Weston on 24th September 2017

The number of people going self-employed in the creative and business sectors is increasing at a faster rate than ever before. As a journalism student, I was told that nearly everybody in my class will have to read more

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

Posted by Holly Burgess on 23rd September 2017

When planning your travels, the most important thing to decide is where in the world you want to go. But wouldn’t it be great if you could select the specific room you wanted to stay in? Thomas Cook ha read more