Compare Holiday Money Logo

Thomas Cook reviews

Poor 2.0 / 5

Based on 108 reviews Write Review

Suyash Awasthi

9th December 2018

Thomas Cook is the worst forex card service you will ever see. I have been using the card for almost 3 months. It is not re loadable online. They will only claim this. The actual procedure is: 1- Go to website and fill out the details. 2- You will be prompted to click get quote option . On navigating further you will be asked to visit a center. So if you are abroad and you want to reload the card you have to provide your parents/spouse id proof via email. 3- Then you get a payment link to transfer money. 4- Your card will be loaded only at the end of the day. 5-If its weekends you cannot reload your card. For other brand forex cards this reload is instant like an online payment and you don't have to provide details every time. If you are stuck you can never expect to reload your card immediately. This is the website to check your card balance https://www.thomascooktravelcards.com/. It does not work. So practically you cannot even check your balance. If anybody from thomascook contradicts the above points redirect them to suyashawasthi009@gmail.com. I am really pissed of by their service so am writing this. Please consider the above points before buying the card.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Emily Jones

8th December 2018

Exactly what I was told in the Thomas Cook Store , it was perfect for our Family holiday

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

anthony

5th December 2018

moved sterling account to my multi currency card for varias practicle reasons;one being that activity on one account saves the inactivity fee on all others if on same card ! Then promised a closing statement(now lost to my view) and never materializes. My old single currency a/c (sterling) read easily-much like a bank statement with monies in & out BUT to my disbelief - new card format is a matter of luck or much work to check on ACTIVITY-the lack off which will incur monthly FEES- now craftily applied ! Iwill be getting rid of Th.Cook card as soon as is expedient !!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

NEIL L

20th November 2018

WHILST ON HOL FOUND CARD HAD EXPIRED. NO REMINDER OR NEW CARD FORWARDED TO ME LIKE OTHER ISSUERS DO. LUCKILY HAD ENOUGH CASH TO MAKE DO. DECIDED TO CANCEL CARD WHEN HOME. EMAILED THOMAS COOKE BUT WAS TOLD TO RING THEM. WAS TOLD OVER PHONE I WOULD HAVE TO BUY A NEW CARD FIRST THEN PAY 7 EUROS TO CASH OUT THE CARD. ALSO THEY 'DIDNT KNOW' WHAT RATE THEY WOULD GIVE ME WHEN I CASHED OUT. I WAS TOLD TO GO TO STORE I GOT IT FROM. VERY VERY POOR. DO NOT USE THIS CARD. RIP OFF. ALSO JUST FOUND OUT THAT IF YOU USE CARD IN SOME BARS ETC THEY CAN ADD 10 / 20% TO YOUR BILL AS A TIP AUTOMATICALLY. RIP OFF.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Diana C

26th October 2018

Have a single currency card. When initially got (couple of years ago) I had checked rate online which was good; had to pick up card in store and stupidly didn’t check rate was same - was far lower. When realised wrote complaint and was refunded difference. Seems to be policy to give v bad rate in store unless challenged. When attempting to reload neither the app or website would work - called for assistance but process too time consuming and will be getting different card

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

John Chapman

23rd October 2018

Not good just exchanged £1000 received 1060 euros.Checked online at home could have got 1110.76 euros why the huge discrepancy.very disappointed won’t make that mistake again.Thomas Cook get your house in order I won’t be returning

Anon

18th October 2018

Would give 0 stars if possible. My grandad wanted to get $100 Was given an exchange rate of 1.17 even though the exchange rate was more like 1.30 (even from Thomas Cook). He is in his eighties and recently lost my Grandmother who would normally handle this sort of thing and I feel like he has been taken advantage of. Terrible response when I rang to query.

  • I ordered £100 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Alan

17th October 2018

Went into your Southsea branch to get some travel money. The exchange rate offer was - to be polite - absurd, I am sure the offer was 1.02.I went to Debenhams and got 1.12. If you are trying to ruin your rate of exchange branch, then you are going the right way about it. I will never go to Thomas Cook again.

C Burt

11th October 2018

I wanted a card which would work online in USD. I went to the Thomas Cook shop in Worksop and paid in £200 and got $250 so it was easy to load it for the in store cashier doing it.When I arrived back home I checked the rate on on the Lyk site exchange rate I found that I had been cheated of 10 USD. I was unsuccessful trying to spend on internet and ATM would not allow me to check the balance. I do feel used and abused by Thomas Cook's Lyk card. I shall cash it in at the store and hope they do not rip me off again.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Lucas Ramos

8th September 2018

Thomas Cook Maidenhead Branch,Never got told the exchange rate up front and then got swept along with the process and only realised how ripped off I had been after I walked out the door. Normally I'm very careful and check rates all the time. No wonder Thomas Cook did not have them displayed anywhere.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Val

16th August 2018

On Tues I went into TC shop and at bureau de exchange paid £283 and got €285 euros . Exchange rate supposed to be 1.09 ...?... how do they Thomas cook that ? ...

  • I ordered £283 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Dawn

2nd August 2018

I was told in branch that the Lyk card was brilliant and believe me it wasn't. Do NOT have one of these cards if you want reliability. Was told reloads go on immediately and it don't it takes upto 5 days.Then a payment which was already paid for came out again leaving is with no money in Canada for 6 days!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Donna

28th July 2018

I ordered currency online and then went along to the branch today to collect it. Only two members of staff were on duty and both were helping customers to book holidays. I was told that I could either sit and wait or leave and return later. When I asked what would happen if I returned later and they were dealing with new customers I was told that I would still have to sit and wait. Having reserved currency ahead this is an unacceptable level of service for a mere collection. The branch is clearly understaffed (especially for a Saturday). If Thomas Cook does not consider it profitable to maintain staffing on the currency exchange desk then an alternative arrangement clearly needs to be made, either by advising staff that they should deal with collections as they arise or by arranging timed collections when a staff member is guaranteed to be available. I won't be going back.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

nicola

10th July 2018

I went into thomas cook in Alfreton and asked for $100.00 I was charged £84.00 I then checked on line as I thought it was expensive I checked with the lady on the exchange why it was £7.00 more expensive than the rate on there web sight. I was told its cheeper to buy on line I could have done it on my phone in the shop then walked to the counter to collect. How is that good service. I wont be booking any more holidays with thomas cook. Shocking customer service.

  • I ordered £84 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Neeraj Kumar

4th July 2018

I presented the card at two places in London and it failed at both places. Highly disgusting. Yet to hear from Customer Service.

A Smith

30th June 2018

Absolutely disgusting customer service. No one has any idea what is happening where, a different story every time I ring. My hotel maybe be cancelled (as it has been for last month) but they are waiting until the few days before we go to let us know! They take your money months in advance but are not prepared to tell you where you will be ending up within 2 weeks of going. Don't forget 'Thomas Cook cares'

  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Julie Langley

18th June 2018

My mum went to change euros, I checked online for their rate which was 1.1192 (didn't see anywhere to say it was internet rate only) if this is the case it should be clearly stated not hidden somewhere! When she went to the shop she was given 1.02 rate, to which I complained and they did change it for her, but then complained they also took a lot of £1 coins from my mum which they shouldn't have done!! Last time I checked money is money, it was also counted in separate bags. Terrible customer services definitely won't be using this service again.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Julie

12th June 2018

Exchange rate per dollar 10c less than everywhere else. Was in a rush just popped in.. so glad i only exchanged £100 but still diddled me out of about 8 quid!!!

  • I ordered £100 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Nicky

11th June 2018

Fiddle you left right and centre - told rate was 1-11 only got 1.02 - crap service. Will never use again for money or to book holidays.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Joan

16th May 2018

On two occasions within days, we went into Thomas Cook for a currency exchange, and discovered afterwards that we had been given the incorrect conversion rate. We went back in and argued for the correct exchange and were successful. Won't use them again.

John Crampton

14th May 2018

I purchased 100 euros on 12 th May 2018 and I must admit I didn't know what going rate was.I was charged £98. 20. When I checked rate at home it's advertised at 1.11 euros to pound even though I virtually got even Stephens.On qeuering how they had come to that charge I was told that was rate for ordering over internet and collecting in shop.So they charged me a ( small charge) for not ordering on line even thou I paid cash so it literally was a change of sterling to euros.a small charge of £8 for a transaction of £90.Where do they come from?All robbers do not wear masks

  • I ordered £98 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

John kelly

8th May 2018

Don’t know why l bother to call them.They always advertise about their so called great exchange rates and they are always the worst.

  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Pauline

30th April 2018

Dreadful. I was away and trying to load money onto my cashcard - each time an error message appeared.I had to use my debit card to wuthdraw money from a atm. As indicated on the cash passport app I sent an email requesting urgent help - but they did not respond for 4 days. About 10 days after returning home I found that one of these attempted transactions had gone through and currency was added to my card. On calling the contact centre I was only offered the money back at a much worse exchange rate. Feels like a complete scam. DO NOT USE this cash passport!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Teja Patil

9th April 2018

It was a terrible experience: 1) They change their card and do not inform me. 2) After asking them, they don't even apologize 3) Send me emails that are not concerning me. 4) Took 3 weeks to send a new card. 5) Its been a month and they did not activate my new card 6) I tell all these problems to them and you know what? they don't apologize, but ignore my complains. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!!!!! Please don't buy this card

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Dan

27th March 2018

Trying to load money on the card is a dreadful experience. Always some error comes up. Emailed to try and get problem fixed, very slow to come back to me.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Thomas Cook

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No

With over 170 years of travel experience, holiday know-how and great currency exchange rates, Thomas Cook Travel Money has been the go-to place for holidaymakers wanting to buy their travel money for years. Over 75 currencies available all with zero commission.

Visit Website

Travel planning in the future

Posted by Sam Stone on 11th December 2018

The notion of using an assistant to plan travel itineraries, hotels, flights, car hire, even currency exchange, has been around for decades. It’s such a popular solution that a few of the big travel ... read more

Middle East currencies and travel tips

Posted by Graham Morley on 30th November 2018

It’s fair to say that some parts of the middle east for instance Syria, are troubled by conflict at the moment so you may not have it high on your bucket list of places to visit. However, many places i... read more

Your holiday money can make a difference

How to spend your holiday money responsibly was high on the agenda at a World Travel conference in London recently. Responsible Tourism was the buzzword coming from many of the stands. And it was evident... read more

Post Office travel money rates compared

Post Office travel money rates compared with the best and the worst rates available on Compare Holiday Money. I think it’s fair to say that the Post Office has more places to exchange your pound sterling f... read more

How to be a Responsible Tourist

Thanks to social media, people are exploring other sides of the world more than ever. It is wonderful because earth has so much to offer. It becomes bad only when people really treat places and cultures... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.