Compare Holiday Money Logo

Thomas Cook reviews

Poor 2.1 / 5

Based on 100 reviews Write Review

C Burt

11th October 2018

I wanted a card which would work online in USD. I went to the Thomas Cook shop in Worksop and paid in £200 and got $250 so it was easy to load it for the in store cashier doing it.When I arrived back home I checked the rate on on the Lyk site exchange rate I found that I had been cheated of 10 USD. I was unsuccessful trying to spend on internet and ATM would not allow me to check the balance. I do feel used and abused by Thomas Cook's Lyk card. I shall cash it in at the store and hope they do not rip me off again.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Lucas Ramos

8th September 2018

Thomas Cook Maidenhead Branch,Never got told the exchange rate up front and then got swept along with the process and only realised how ripped off I had been after I walked out the door. Normally I'm very careful and check rates all the time. No wonder Thomas Cook did not have them displayed anywhere.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Val

16th August 2018

On Tues I went into TC shop and at bureau de exchange paid £283 and got €285 euros . Exchange rate supposed to be 1.09 ...?... how do they Thomas cook that ? ...

  • I ordered £283 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Dawn

2nd August 2018

I was told in branch that the Lyk card was brilliant and believe me it wasn't. Do NOT have one of these cards if you want reliability. Was told reloads go on immediately and it don't it takes upto 5 days.Then a payment which was already paid for came out again leaving is with no money in Canada for 6 days!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Donna

28th July 2018

I ordered currency online and then went along to the branch today to collect it. Only two members of staff were on duty and both were helping customers to book holidays. I was told that I could either sit and wait or leave and return later. When I asked what would happen if I returned later and they were dealing with new customers I was told that I would still have to sit and wait. Having reserved currency ahead this is an unacceptable level of service for a mere collection. The branch is clearly understaffed (especially for a Saturday). If Thomas Cook does not consider it profitable to maintain staffing on the currency exchange desk then an alternative arrangement clearly needs to be made, either by advising staff that they should deal with collections as they arise or by arranging timed collections when a staff member is guaranteed to be available. I won't be going back.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

nicola

10th July 2018

I went into thomas cook in Alfreton and asked for $100.00 I was charged £84.00 I then checked on line as I thought it was expensive I checked with the lady on the exchange why it was £7.00 more expensive than the rate on there web sight. I was told its cheeper to buy on line I could have done it on my phone in the shop then walked to the counter to collect. How is that good service. I wont be booking any more holidays with thomas cook. Shocking customer service.

  • I ordered £84 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Neeraj Kumar

4th July 2018

I presented the card at two places in London and it failed at both places. Highly disgusting. Yet to hear from Customer Service.

A Smith

30th June 2018

Absolutely disgusting customer service. No one has any idea what is happening where, a different story every time I ring. My hotel maybe be cancelled (as it has been for last month) but they are waiting until the few days before we go to let us know! They take your money months in advance but are not prepared to tell you where you will be ending up within 2 weeks of going. Don't forget 'Thomas Cook cares'

  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Julie Langley

18th June 2018

My mum went to change euros, I checked online for their rate which was 1.1192 (didn't see anywhere to say it was internet rate only) if this is the case it should be clearly stated not hidden somewhere! When she went to the shop she was given 1.02 rate, to which I complained and they did change it for her, but then complained they also took a lot of £1 coins from my mum which they shouldn't have done!! Last time I checked money is money, it was also counted in separate bags. Terrible customer services definitely won't be using this service again.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Julie

12th June 2018

Exchange rate per dollar 10c less than everywhere else. Was in a rush just popped in.. so glad i only exchanged £100 but still diddled me out of about 8 quid!!!

  • I ordered £100 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Nicky

11th June 2018

Fiddle you left right and centre - told rate was 1-11 only got 1.02 - crap service. Will never use again for money or to book holidays.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Joan

16th May 2018

On two occasions within days, we went into Thomas Cook for a currency exchange, and discovered afterwards that we had been given the incorrect conversion rate. We went back in and argued for the correct exchange and were successful. Won't use them again.

John Crampton

14th May 2018

I purchased 100 euros on 12 th May 2018 and I must admit I didn't know what going rate was.I was charged £98. 20. When I checked rate at home it's advertised at 1.11 euros to pound even though I virtually got even Stephens.On qeuering how they had come to that charge I was told that was rate for ordering over internet and collecting in shop.So they charged me a ( small charge) for not ordering on line even thou I paid cash so it literally was a change of sterling to euros.a small charge of £8 for a transaction of £90.Where do they come from?All robbers do not wear masks

  • I ordered £98 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

John kelly

8th May 2018

Don’t know why l bother to call them.They always advertise about their so called great exchange rates and they are always the worst.

  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Pauline

30th April 2018

Dreadful. I was away and trying to load money onto my cashcard - each time an error message appeared.I had to use my debit card to wuthdraw money from a atm. As indicated on the cash passport app I sent an email requesting urgent help - but they did not respond for 4 days. About 10 days after returning home I found that one of these attempted transactions had gone through and currency was added to my card. On calling the contact centre I was only offered the money back at a much worse exchange rate. Feels like a complete scam. DO NOT USE this cash passport!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Teja Patil

9th April 2018

It was a terrible experience: 1) They change their card and do not inform me. 2) After asking them, they don't even apologize 3) Send me emails that are not concerning me. 4) Took 3 weeks to send a new card. 5) Its been a month and they did not activate my new card 6) I tell all these problems to them and you know what? they don't apologize, but ignore my complains. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!!!!! Please don't buy this card

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Dan

27th March 2018

Trying to load money on the card is a dreadful experience. Always some error comes up. Emailed to try and get problem fixed, very slow to come back to me.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Louise

8th March 2018

Dreadful experience with this card - poor exchange rates, commission and then charged for inactivity to the tune of Euro 100+ - I could never recommend this card and am trying to close the account as soon as possible, We have lost money hand over fist on this product and all so that we could keep travel spending safe for our teenage son. Read the T&Cs carefully before purchasing!

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Ajain

6th March 2018

Worst service ever possible . For getting the back the money which i deposited into the card I lost 50$ !!!. Before retrieving the money I spoke with the customer care executive and they told me that there is no transaction fee if I get money from the bank. I believed them and I withdraw money from BANK 5 times ,5 days(Yes !! they have daily limit as well so that they can charge more). Even there in the notification mail , there was nothing about the fee.And the worst thing is that even the last transaction details in the account they ddnt mention about he transaction fee. Finally when I was tallying the balance amount, I could see that around 50$ is missing and then I checked the PDF format of the statement .Then I came to know that there is transaction fee of 10$ for each of the withdrawal. SO DONT GET CHEATED .Buy some other vendor.

  • I ordered £8000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

J Smith

15th February 2018

Never got told the exchange rate up front and then got swept along with the process and only realised how ripped off I had been after I walked out the door. Normally I'm very careful and check rates all the time. No wonder Thomas Cook did not have them displayed anywhere. DO NOT GET YOUR CURRENCY EXCHANGED HERE.

  • I ordered £450 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

S.BEJOY

6th February 2018

Really poor Experience in terms of Forex. Daylight robbery in terms of Exchange rates. I should have never taken this service. And I would never recommend this, rather steer my dear ones away from this service. Already They put up higher than competitive rates on their website, but when they're called to reload the Travel card they give you higher than even this high rate..!!! Eg: If the days rate for INR/EURO is 79.4, their website says buying rate is 80.15 for Reload Travel Card and 80.95 for Cash buy. But on enquiry with the Thomas cook agent they say they never give their own website rate. And if I wanted to buy Euro the rate for the day is 81.4. Absolutely, shocking..!!! If you are travelling abroad, you are now at their mercy. I will cancel this card at the very next Instance I can.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

The worst service any bank can prvoide

13th January 2018

I wish i could give negative rating which can be maximum would be even more satisfiable. Just for a simple refund, we need to raise minimum of 5 request. Can you just imagine ? Yes, just for getting our own money get back to card, we need to beg them. This is just example, for every single thing they take months to process. They have pathetic online service.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Lisa Bushby

27th December 2017

Attempted to reload using the app and online but the transactions were unsuccessful so I rang up to try to resolve the issue. Poor customer service!!!! Gave my full security details all correct but the woman told me they were incorrect... I asked her if she could have inputted them wrong and she said no and the only way I could sort it out was by going into the store I got the card or sending off my drivers licence or passport!! She was adamant I was wrong and not here!!! I phoned back 5 mins later gave the same security details and this time I was told they were correct!!! However she then went on to tell me the reason it wasn’t working was because my bank card address and my cash passport address were different. When I told her that they weren’t she went silent for a long time before saying I should just try again in 24 hours... The telephone services people are useless and rude!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Ruben

30th November 2017

Low rates is you want to reload to cash card or buy in store Try kanoo currency or john lewis currency plenty around the country you need to look around thomas cook one of the worst for curreny ordered 600 euros on but unable to collect so got that dates rate which was less so went elsewhere thomas cook loss john lewis gains for ever will not use tc again except for buy back

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others

Jackie

14th November 2017

Loaded card with euros to use on recent trip to Spain. Card was rejected online whilst trying to book transfer, refused again when paying restaurant bill. Restaurant tried again but still failed. Could not use in ATM. When checked account online found that the 2 failed transactions at restaurant had been put into pending and deducted from account. Took over 10 days to get money credited back. After numerous visits in store and discussions with customer services they are issuing a new card. Don't hold out any hope of this working but they will not refund money at rate that was applied when loaded. Absolutely useless card once empty will never use again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomas Cook to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Thomas Cook

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No

With over 170 years of travel experience, holiday know-how and great currency exchange rates, Thomas Cook Travel Money has been the go-to place for holidaymakers wanting to buy their travel money for years. Over 75 currencies available all with zero commission.

Visit Website

Fancy a European road trip?

Posted by Sam Stone on 9th October 2018

A road trip is the ultimate way to explore the bewildering beauty of any country. However, after toll charges and rental car fees, petrol costs can be one of the biggest holiday expenses. No one wants... read more

Paying for your Travel Money

Posted by Compare Holiday Money on 8th October 2018

Most UK travel money suppliers allow you to pay for your currency in a number of different ways. The payment method you choose is important because it affects whether or not you pay any extra fees during... read more

How to get better currency rates?

Have you ever bought currency exchange money and think… this is so terrible! Well we’re about to tell you how to get better currency rates and how to not feel like you’ve been ripped... read more

Pawnbrokers and travel money

Pawnbrokers and travel money don’t necessarily fit together on first thoughts, but certainly Ramsdens, H & T Pawnbrokers, Albermarle Bond and The Money Shop are big, well established companies that w... read more

Budget-stretching toll roads

Risking life and limb on foreign high-speed toll roads isn’t the best way to start a relaxing well-earned holiday. It is also an expensive way to burn through your hard-earned budget. In an ideal world, rea... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.