Compare Holiday Money Logo

Thomas Cook reviews

Average 2.2 / 5

Based on 85 reviews Write Review

Teja Patil

9th April 2018

It was a terrible experience: 1) They change their card and do not inform me. 2) After asking them, they don't even apologize 3) Send me emails that are not concerning me. 4) Took 3 weeks to send a new card. 5) Its been a month and they did not activate my new card 6) I tell all these problems to them and you know what? they don't apologize, but ignore my complains. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!!!!! Please don't buy this card

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Dan

27th March 2018

Trying to load money on the card is a dreadful experience. Always some error comes up. Emailed to try and get problem fixed, very slow to come back to me.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Louise

8th March 2018

Dreadful experience with this card - poor exchange rates, commission and then charged for inactivity to the tune of Euro 100+ - I could never recommend this card and am trying to close the account as soon as possible, We have lost money hand over fist on this product and all so that we could keep travel spending safe for our teenage son. Read the T&Cs carefully before purchasing!

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Ajain

6th March 2018

Worst service ever possible . For getting the back the money which i deposited into the card I lost 50$ !!!. Before retrieving the money I spoke with the customer care executive and they told me that there is no transaction fee if I get money from the bank. I believed them and I withdraw money from BANK 5 times ,5 days(Yes !! they have daily limit as well so that they can charge more). Even there in the notification mail , there was nothing about the fee.And the worst thing is that even the last transaction details in the account they ddnt mention about he transaction fee. Finally when I was tallying the balance amount, I could see that around 50$ is missing and then I checked the PDF format of the statement .Then I came to know that there is transaction fee of 10$ for each of the withdrawal. SO DONT GET CHEATED .Buy some other vendor.

  • I ordered £8000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

J Smith

15th February 2018

Never got told the exchange rate up front and then got swept along with the process and only realised how ripped off I had been after I walked out the door. Normally I'm very careful and check rates all the time. No wonder Thomas Cook did not have them displayed anywhere. DO NOT GET YOUR CURRENCY EXCHANGED HERE.

  • I ordered £450 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

S.BEJOY

6th February 2018

Really poor Experience in terms of Forex. Daylight robbery in terms of Exchange rates. I should have never taken this service. And I would never recommend this, rather steer my dear ones away from this service. Already They put up higher than competitive rates on their website, but when they're called to reload the Travel card they give you higher than even this high rate..!!! Eg: If the days rate for INR/EURO is 79.4, their website says buying rate is 80.15 for Reload Travel Card and 80.95 for Cash buy. But on enquiry with the Thomas cook agent they say they never give their own website rate. And if I wanted to buy Euro the rate for the day is 81.4. Absolutely, shocking..!!! If you are travelling abroad, you are now at their mercy. I will cancel this card at the very next Instance I can.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

The worst service any bank can prvoide

13th January 2018

I wish i could give negative rating which can be maximum would be even more satisfiable. Just for a simple refund, we need to raise minimum of 5 request. Can you just imagine ? Yes, just for getting our own money get back to card, we need to beg them. This is just example, for every single thing they take months to process. They have pathetic online service.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Lisa Bushby

27th December 2017

Attempted to reload using the app and online but the transactions were unsuccessful so I rang up to try to resolve the issue. Poor customer service!!!! Gave my full security details all correct but the woman told me they were incorrect... I asked her if she could have inputted them wrong and she said no and the only way I could sort it out was by going into the store I got the card or sending off my drivers licence or passport!! She was adamant I was wrong and not here!!! I phoned back 5 mins later gave the same security details and this time I was told they were correct!!! However she then went on to tell me the reason it wasn’t working was because my bank card address and my cash passport address were different. When I told her that they weren’t she went silent for a long time before saying I should just try again in 24 hours... The telephone services people are useless and rude!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Ruben

30th November 2017

Low rates is you want to reload to cash card or buy in store Try kanoo currency or john lewis currency plenty around the country you need to look around thomas cook one of the worst for curreny ordered 600 euros on but unable to collect so got that dates rate which was less so went elsewhere thomas cook loss john lewis gains for ever will not use tc again except for buy back

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Jackie

14th November 2017

Loaded card with euros to use on recent trip to Spain. Card was rejected online whilst trying to book transfer, refused again when paying restaurant bill. Restaurant tried again but still failed. Could not use in ATM. When checked account online found that the 2 failed transactions at restaurant had been put into pending and deducted from account. Took over 10 days to get money credited back. After numerous visits in store and discussions with customer services they are issuing a new card. Don't hold out any hope of this working but they will not refund money at rate that was applied when loaded. Absolutely useless card once empty will never use again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Stephen Griffiths

7th November 2017

Called in to pick up euros ordered 3 days ago. They give you the rate applicable on that day (that's what the email said) so I checked online before i went and knew exactly what the rate was and the cost of my order. I asked them what the rate was and he tried to avoid telling me. I asked again and he finally told me. I pointed out that that wasn't the rate applicable online, He flustered about for a minute and said he'd "tweeked" the system and it was now the rate that I had told him. "It's only pennies different" he said. It was £4.85. This has happened twice before with this firm. I can only assume it's company policy to try and fob you off with a lower rate in store. I'll be making alternative arrangements in future.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Lynn

30th October 2017

It's a disgrace how Thomas Cook rip you off if you have cash left on card. They are quick to encourage you to load enough money on but thieves when you have any cash left. They should be investigated for this robbery! Will never use again.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Herbert

28th October 2017

I was already aware the online rate is better, but seeing we only need 200 US dollar. We asked for the rate in the store, they asked how much we wanted (200 USD) and then gave a reasonable rate (1.27), so we go ahead immediately and do the exchange. We only discovered from the receipt sealed inside the evelope that the rate they used was 1.17 when we returned home. When we complained they said we should have noticed the rate ourselves. Clearly that is why the deliberately put all exchange rate info inside the envelope sealed and there is no info anywhere in the store. They even blamed us for hearing the rate wrong! Only Thomas Crook can quote you one rate, then use a different rate 5 seconds later! Lesson: Just avoid Thomas Crook like a plague.

  • I ordered £170 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Nikkie

12th October 2017

Prepay card DOES not work in any cash machine or shop. I am now stuck in Turkey with no cash! Rep no help and they do not respond to emails.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Nicola

12th October 2017

Card DOES NOT work in shops or ATM. I have no Turkish money and I am here with a 13 year old child.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Kettering

30th September 2017

Never again! The same experience as others on here, exchange rate absolutely shockingly bad. They should inform people to book online at least and be more clear how low their rate in store is. 0%commision is a lie they just take their cut from the exchange margin. Beware.

  • I ordered £200.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Daniel Griffiths

30th August 2017

Very poor as per the others ripped off with in store rate this will never happen to me again online rate for Thomas Cooke for the Euro 1.0549 30th August I got in store 1.00020

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Lee

29th August 2017

Loaded card to pay for hotel in US. This was not accepted as it did not have a name typed on the front, also tried to use it on the Thomas Cook flight and they didn't even accept their own card !!! So ended up having to come home with the money and get a rubbish rate to exchange back. Keep clear.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Charles Hill

18th August 2017

In Edinburgh, August, 2017. New York September futures were trading under 1.29 $/Pound at the time. Dollar exchange rate offered by T. Cook was over $1.47!! This is not a business, its thievery. H&M was not much better. Use a credit card, or tip in US Dollars. Maybe the Edinburgh waiters' banks won't rip them off like Thomas Cook does it's unsuspecting US customers.

  • I sold [X] [Y]
  • I received the amount I was quoted
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Andy

2nd August 2017

Dreadful exchange rate in store. Usually use sainsburys but did this in a hurry. Won't so so again though.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Steff

25th July 2017

Rip off. Thought i would get my son some last minute euros before he travelled. Be aware website rates and instore info misleading. Basically got one euro to the pound. Had to take it as in a rush. Grumpy customer service to boot.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

lyn

4th July 2017

rip off. buying in store cost me almost £100 more (£1075 instead of £987 that would have costed for Thomas Cooke online and from the post Office). Second time that i bought from them - first time was 4 years ago and their customer service was poor. This time their rate was a rip off (1.04 euros to the pound) ..

  • I ordered £1075 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

B Rogers

3rd June 2017

Asked in store for the euro rate and was asked how much would I be purchasing, I said £150.00 and was then told the rate would be €1.11. My £150.00 was rounded up to £152.38 and I was given €160. The receipt was put in an envelope with the euros. Once home I checked my receipt and discovered that although the Thomas Cook Assistant had informed me the rate was €1.11, the rate used was €1.05. Lesson learnt - never use Thomas Cook again, if the assistant had advised me correctly of the rate she was actually using I would have gone elsewhere for my euros.

  • I ordered £150.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Graham Marsh

24th May 2017

Bought a cash passport card. Supposed to be able to top up online at online rate. Could not top up as staff in store had entered wrong personal details into the computer. Coould only top up in stoee at much lower exchange rate. Will run the card down and never set foot in thomas Cook again, terrible service, staff just want ti rip you off. Beware.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Angela Hodgkins

16th May 2017

I ordered £1000 of Euros on-line @ 9.15 this morning & locked in a rate of 1.1554. When I got there 1pm this afternoon they tried to charge me a lower rate costing me almost £7 more. It was only because I insisted that the E-mail I gave them said that the rate I purchased online was locked in for the whole day 16th May. The staff member asked me what time I ordered it & after my reply she was very polite and did not question it any further & gave me my locked in rate from this morning. Can some one from Thomas Cook please tell me what is the point in ordering currency on-line if when you get to the shop on the same day as requested they try to charge you something different?

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomas Cook to others

Write a review of Thomas Cook

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomas Cook to others?Yes No

With over 170 years of travel experience, holiday know-how and great currency exchange rates, Thomas Cook Travel Money has been the go-to place for holidaymakers wanting to buy their travel money for years. Over 75 currencies available all with zero commission.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

  • Latest exchange rates delivered monthly to your inbox
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
  • Travel money and holiday articles and information
Travelling light?

Travelling light?

Posted by Sam Stone on 13th April 2018

Travelling light is not just about being careful with your money. Speed and weight are an attractive factor for minimising your luggage. However, the goal posts constantly sift and some airline weight restricti read more

The Things To Do When Traveling

The Things To Do When Traveling

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 9th April 2018

Traveling can be so much fun because you get to try new and tasty food, take photos in each country’s famous spots, and just have fun and be free. But besides all those cool things you get to do, there are a read more