Compare Holiday Money Logo

Thomson reviews

Average 2.1 / 5

Based on 38 reviews Write Review

Andrea Jones

10th July 2018

Please make sure you ask the best rate when you go in the exchange. I went the local office and they offered me 1.247 for dollars compared to the online price of 1.298 this might not seem much but for £600 it worked out you got an extra 35 dollars. Anyway i decided to go into my local TUI shop and they offered me 1.30. Very pleased so don't be scared to ask for the best price. The difference pays for a good round of drinks ????

  • I ordered £600 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Anthony

9th July 2018

We have just place an amount on our TUI money card in preparation for a long haul holiday. The rate of exchange for the Australian Dollars was showing on the card site and TUI's web site at 1.684, and we therefore expected that it would be the same in the shop, foolishly not checking at the time, When we got home we realised we'd only been given 1.61,technically loosing around £30. We returned to the shop, but were told nothing we can do about it as "you always get a better deal if you do it on line".

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

Gillian elliot

2nd July 2018

I topped up my card in the Thomson shop and was told I would get £5 off and would get an extra £10 added on. What the didn't say that they gave me a very low exchange rate of €1.053 but I could have just done the exact threw my card and would have got €1.10 which ment out of pocket by nearly €30 so make sure you ask that it's like for like on line as they don't even let you know

  • I ordered £603 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Julie Stevens

10th June 2018

Please Avoid Avoid Avoid Decided to put my money on the card as the lady convinced me its best fir me! My week us almost up to an so far still not been able to use my card!! I've had to take money out of my bill account and paid fees to then draw Euro out of cash machine.. spent my call allowance trying to get help from TUI! Only two places that would take the card but the card would not work! I can only say **AVOID AVOID AVOID** Emailed them but no reply! All my money tied up on a card not be able to use! they are making interest on my money that I saved really hard for. I'm a single lady in a foreign country. This should never be allowed to happen. When I'm home, I intend to start to find all these poor people that have been coned like me! The staff seem to be well trained how to make you feel your doing the thing. This company has caused me so much pain ! I'm so hurt and broke. Please don't allow them to mess your holiday up an leave you broke!! then ignore you when you try for help.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Dan

8th June 2018

Absolutely horrendous, couldn't be worse. AVOID. Sent me the wrong pin for my card and couldn't access any money in my account due them blocking it for 24 hours. Joke.

  • I ordered £5000 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Rahul

21st April 2018

They matched against the worst rate, independent currency exchange firms were offering better rates. Currency I needed had to be ordered in so I put the order in and was told this would be price matched. My wife went to collect the money and I then worked out I was £27 out of pocket because they gave such a poor rate.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Indonesian Rupiahs
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Gillian

17th April 2018

I have the multi currency card put euros on for my trip to Europe used it in Tenerife last month in a shop and with representatives to book trips. Since my return I have since topped up via the app no problem. Yes the rate is slightly lower but we are talking cents not euros.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Tim Peterson

4th March 2018

Went into Green Lanes Barnstaple to change our $ into euros. Official rate is 0.81 euros to the $ Changed $2512 so would be 2034 Euro. Of course I would not expect the official rate but I did not expect what we got either. Came back with 1700 Euro. Can you believe they charged 334 Euro.We went back and got our $`s again. The other currency exchange in Green Lanes Barnstaple offered 1850 Euro`s that is 150 Euro`s cheaper. Still too much so going to leave it and change direct when in Europe. I know they both say they they have to change $ to £ and then to Euro`s but why? Go into the back room and switch the $ for Euro`s and take a reasonable cut for the few minutes of time and the paperwork and I do not believe that amounts to 334 Euro`s, no way. No commission they say, no need for commission with ridiculous exchange rates set so much in their favour. I would advise not using this currency exchange because of the ludicrous exchange rates.

  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Phill

21st February 2018

Terrible customer service! God forbid if you lose your card, takes 2 days to reactive your secondary card. The phone number they provide doesn’t work, after many emails and contacting the TUI reps in resort and they couldn’t ring the number either. Eventually I got a phone call at 3am in the morning to reactivate my card. The phone call they make to you costs £30 and they will not refund you if you complain. They call you a LIAR and refuse to email you back. Absolutely disgusting after sales service!!!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Diane

20th February 2018

Horrendous, do not get one! Customer service are terrible, they call you a liar and refuse to consider any problems you encounter! Didn’t want to give any stars but wouldn’t let me submit the review if I didn’t give it a star rating!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Anton Miller

9th February 2018

After speaking to our Tui shop staff in Wickford Essex I was convinced a prepaid travel card for our holiday in Thailand and Cambodia was the best choice and i could put Thai Baht and US dollars on the multi currency card. I was assured by the TUI shop staff that there would and could be no possible problems using the ATM's My first withdrawal of Thai Baht from an ATM proved to be a complete nightmare after the cash machine converted Euro! to English pounds then to Thai Baht! which cost me £38.00 to make my first withdrawal of cash. This was the same when I tried withdrawing Dollars in Cambodia. I emailed Tui customer services time after time, daily explaining that my Holiday was fast becoming a disaster as i couldn't afford and had not budgeted for this and after each email that I sent had an acknowledgement reply saying that "We have received your email and will get back to you shortly regarding this matter" I lost count of the amount of emails i sent and received from Tui. They never did get back to me and I have found Tui shop staff and Tui customer services to be the lowest form of intelligence and consideration that I have ever received. When i was first given the 2 multi currency cards in the Wickford shop i later received a call to say they had made a mistake (basically neither of the cards had the £3000 balance that the shop had put on them) and they would have to re issue another 2 cards for me to use but i wouldn't be able to use the app on my phone to see the use of the card and balance as it would only register the first cards issued. Then when i questioned the new cards only showed a balance of £2800 they said that was the buy back value but after the holiday my balance showed over £400 but i only got £371 back so i lost money in every direction possible and found the whole of the Tui outfit absolutely useless and not fit for purpose. WARNING: DO NOT TUI multi currency travel cards they will cost you fortunes!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Glen

12th January 2018

Unbelievable been robbed £100s got a low rate at 38 baht!!! 43 in real life Put £1800 on the card. They said a small charge at the atm it is not,cost me about £30 each time to draw money for a conversion (whatever that means) as i dont travel much and not card savvy just rediculous how they can do this

  • I ordered £1800 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Judith Swindells

23rd November 2017

Visited The Mall Cribbs Causeway TUI store in Bristol as they offered currency exchange. Unfortunately am not a seasoned changer of currency; had I have been, I would have been more cautious concerning the rate offered. Was offered a rate considerably less, than I would have been offered if I had called up to ask the best rate they could offer (found this out as I tried this the following day and overnight the rate had jumped from 1.59 per £ to 1.67 per £. Whilst TUI have done nothing wrong, I would question the ethics and 'customer good practice' of a national company who feel it acceptable to prey on peoples lack of experience in respect of negotiation and do not even suggest a better rate may be on offer. We lost £80 overnight as a result of this... Could be likened to those whose tax plans enable them to fleece the rest of the country... its not illegal ...but one questions the morality... The only response I have from the Bristol TUI rep is Because you bought it yesterday we cannot do anything about it. In asking where I might escalate my concern, I have gone through 3 telephone numbers and departments the last of which is unaware of a main TUI complaints dept... Won't be buying travel money or holiday from an operator whose policy it is to 'limit' information for their own purposes.

  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Silvie

15th November 2017

A complete disaster. I ONLY loaded local currency (That Bhat) on the pre-paid travel money card and was told by Thomson that I could go to any cash point bearing the Mastercard symbol in Thailand and withdraw that local currency for a small fee of 80Bat (£2) and that there would be no other charges........ HOWEVER..........the reality was that I got charged a 3% fee + a handling fee + a currency conversion fee (even though I had no currency to convert ! ....... in all about £50...... and to add insult to injury, to get the money back off the pre-paid card they will only pay me back in British Pounds at their terrible exchange rate, which means I stand to lose a further £100................... NEVER AGAIN !!!!!!!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Sarah rowell

14th September 2017

Booked holiday with thomson she and advised to exchange money there as best rate will be given for being a customer,unfortunately I trusted what they said and exchanged £700 to euros and when I got home later that day my husband checked the rates and said it was a terrible rate for £702 we got 720 euros,rates at m&s,post office and high street bureau were much better,my husband went back to the store and they basically said if I had asked the rate they could have matched it and they couldn't do anything,i feel deceived as had trusted their word for the best deal when booking holiday.Holiday booked in Newcastle upon Tyne so just be aware.

  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Hayley Smith

2nd August 2017

If I could give 0 stars I would! First off the websites deceiving, I paid 1st class postage to then be told that it isn't sent 1st class meaning theres an error on the website and my order may now not be on time for my holiday. The only suggestion was to go in store get a new one and transfer the funds which is a waste of my time considering my card should of been here by now and i shouldnt of had these issues! Customer service is shocking, dont bother calling them, they wont be able to help! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!! Go somewhere else even if the exchange rate is worse.

  • I ordered £550 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

peter brown

31st July 2017

ordered £250 of polish zloty's, ready to pick up on 19th july at the blackburn branch, i made a special trip there on the 22nd and the currency was not there! as i do not visit blackburn often i decided on a refund, upto this date 31st july i have still not received said money.....please please please do not use this service, very unreliable in fact i went around the corner from this shop to the foreign currency exchange booth received my money straight away and at a better exchange rate!

  • I ordered £250.00 worth of Polish Zloty
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Sandie

31st July 2017

Don't touch it Ran out of money couldn't upload anymore while abroad couldn't get in touch with Thompson No response to countless emails Thanks a lot Thompson

  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Angela

11th July 2017

Just downloaded this app i had no problems registering the card or the app. Haven't been away yet so don't know what it will be like abroad will report back when we come back.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

marlene

17th June 2017

Went in store at Glasgow Fort. Gave customer in front of me 1.25 on dollar, when I tried to purchase same dollar was told lower rate. I only needed $500 as it was the max my son was allowed to take on a 5 day school trip. Was told to buy more than $500 and I'd get that rate but I didn't need more. WHAT A JOKE !!! GO TO RAMSDANS INSTEAD FOR YOUR CURRENCY !

  • I ordered £[X] worth of [Y]
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Hana

14th June 2017

Nevee again! Never had an overdraft in my life til i had this travel card. I had an overdraft and wasnt told til a month later after my holiday by letter telling me i owed money and to pay up within 14days of the letter other wise legal action will be taken! What happened was on the last day.. I checked my balance and transactions. I didnt want to leave any money on card. So i brought something and paid part cash and then used the remaining money off the card. So part card and part cash. My account came up to 00.00 after i used the last bit... A month later i had a letter saying i owed money from the travel card. I rang up and Apprenetly what happened one of the stores i went into i paid offline (which i didnt know) so it wasnt taken off my balance so it showed more money than it should have basically. So on last day i used up 'remaining balance' didnt even go over as i told the lady the amount that was on my card so i could pay part card and part cash. Had no problems after than transaction didnt have a warning or anything! I wasnt even told this could happen if you pay offline in a store (which you dont know if your paying offline) and wasnt told you could get an overdraft. I just thought if you ran out of money it would block or reject a payment (as your putting money into the account) I read everything about the card Never again! Not happy wasnt my fault i checked my balance and transactions everyday. I'm sticking to cash in future and debit card if i run out. I was also told that the card was stuck at a fixed rate (the day i got it would be the cards currency rate) and she told me if the currency went up i would miss out but if it went down it wouldn't matter as the card would be stuck at the rate i had it on. Anywho i added more money into the account and while i did this the rate on the card had changed... Then it changed again! Only good thing about this card was that it was accepted everywhere i went. Other than that I'm sticking to cash like ive been doing

  • I ordered £2500 worth of US Dollars
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Laura

6th June 2017

In store the exchange rates are different to online and actually worse than other companies, I realised this after paying for Hungarian and Croation money- Once back at home I realised I had been ripped off and actually £15 out of pocket. They also gave me a bad Euro exchange rate which I realised at the time and they sorted in store but still DO NOT use this company.

  • I would recommend Thomson to others

peter santus

25th May 2017

rang store to check on rate. I was changing £800 into euros. they asked what my best offer was and they would match it. Best offer local for collection was 905 euros for £800 sterling. Also I was told that until closing today they can offer a £5 off for every £500 spent. On my calculation I should have received 905 euros for £795. My wife went to the store to collect and it cost £803 for 905 euros.£8 more. I rang back and spoke to the manager. Basically said there was nothing he could do. Do not trust this company

  • I ordered £905 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Phillip

6th January 2017

I have always used Thompson and got friendly service and a good rate . Checked online rate and went into store to order not realising they have a completely different rate . Rushed in to collect my Japanese yen the next day. Only realised the rate was completely different on getting home . My fault for not doing the math . Not impressed that online you get 138 Yen to every pound but inshore only 120 . Lost out by £60 . A call in the morning to complain .

  • I ordered £600 worth of Japanese Yen
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Akka

13th October 2016

Do not transfer money with Thomson in store, There in-store exchange rates are vastly different to their online rates and they do not mention this at the till I feel like I was robbed.... went back to question this and they were very courteous but would not provide me the rate which they advertised online leaving me out of pocket... AVOID

  • I ordered £197 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Thomson

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No

Thomson offer a range of travel money services, including foreign currency, buy back guarantee, travellers' cheques and their prepaid Travel Money Card. Currency is available to order online or collect in store, or for home delivery.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

  • A roundup of the latest exchange rates and currency deals
  • Hand-picked special offers on travel and holiday extras
  • Helpful and informative travel blogs written by our in-house team
Travel Aware: Make sure you are insured this summer

Travel Aware: Make sure you are insured this summer

Posted by Holly Burgess on 14th July 2018

When planning a holiday, most of us will try and find ways to keep costs down. However, it is important to remember travel insurance is not a cost you should ever risk avoiding. It is easy to begin to read more

Airport Hotels – good or bad?

Airport Hotels – good or bad?

Posted by Sam Stone on 9th July 2018

Love them or hate them, sometimes an airport hotel is something to be thankful for. Looking more like a DIY store than somewhere to sleep, these unattractive edifices have their place in the hierarchy read more