Compare Holiday Money Logo

Thomson reviews

Very Poor 1.9 / 5

Based on 53 reviews Write Review

Gary

Yesterday

Never had a issue with it all holiday in Spain. We put 1600 euro on it it was accepted everywhere we went and withdrew cash twice. The app updated almost instantly as well. Only small issue was Ryanair had trouble with it on the way back and said it’s hit or miss on there systems with the card

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Mr Armstrong

7th October 2018

We recently collected our Indonesian Rupees from TUI using their facility within store. Silly mistake but we did not check their exchange rate before we made the order and have now found out that compared with other similar organisations we received 15,000,800 rather than 18,000,000 which apears to be the going rate. This is £200 difference, we feel totally ripped off. Please beware, check before you order and avoid TUI if at all possible.

  • I ordered £995 worth of Indonesian Rupiahs
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

ian

5th October 2018

These cards do not work

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Alex

2nd October 2018

Do not buy foreign currency from any TUI High Street store. I have just purchased £1400 worth of US Dollars. Was not told the exchange rate and received an exchange rate of 1.17. Having looked online, TUI offer an exchange rate of 1.27 so I have lost 10% in this transaction. In fact, I am unable to find any Dollar exchange rate for less than 1.25 so why is this so low? Having to "ask for the best rate" in order to get something which is equivalent to the supermarket rates is completely wrong, and it should be a more competitive rate, or at least we should be informed of the exchange rate prior to purchase. This is very underhand and I will be putting in a complaint.

  • I ordered £1400 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Julie

29th September 2018

Used card from previous trip 2 years ago with left over money to be told when we used it in the USA this month that the card had expired 2 months previously! TUI had not sent us a replacement card. Sent email whilst we were still travelling, no response, sent another email upon our return and finally received a phone call to say that it was my responsibility to ensure the card was in date! They said they send out a reminder that the card will expire but oddly enough we did not receive this email. I will not use the card for another 2 years now before we go to the USA again so I expect we will now be charged for not using it, the other option was to send me a cheque to close the balance at a very poor rate. Lose, Lose! My FairFX card I applied for at the same time still gives me statements from day 1 two years ago and is still in date. I will NOT use TUI Travel Card ever again once I used it up.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Maxine Broad

10th September 2018

My card was out of date which I did not notice. When I tried to get money out in Spain it was the first I knew of the date, when I got in touch with Thomson, they said they could send me the money but it would take four days by then my holiday was nearly over. So I had to make do with the few euro that I had. There should have been a better way that they could have send me money sooner, I have now cancelled the card and will never use their card again. ,

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Eileen

10th September 2018

Do not buy Euros in your local TUI shop. The rate is much lower than any other high street option. I mistakenly assumed they would be competitive and did not check when I booked my holiday with them. Lost faith in TUi and probably they will lose my business.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros

Martin

7th September 2018

Tui sold me a 100 Franc Swiss note that was 20 years out of date! Still waiting for a response to both the email and facebook comment and its been a month already!

  • I ordered £100 worth of Swiss Francs
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Heathellis67@yahoo.co.uk

6th September 2018

Rubbish. ..it won't let you check your balance so your shopping blind

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Rob

29th August 2018

I put £4000 Turkish Lira on the card to go on holiday. I was told if I drew cash out there would be a 6 lira charge for each transaction. I drew out half our money 2000 Lira. I got charged £52.00 or 353 Lira!!! Just a Joke!!! I WILL NEVER USE THIS CARD SYSTEM AGAIN!! I will also tell everyone in the English speaking world what a sham it is!!! Appalled Angry Doesn't even cover it!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Anna

15th August 2018

Online rate for Euro was 1.09 but in our local Tui 1.06 We lost about 20Euro. Not too much but still something. Last time I exchanged my money with Tui

  • I ordered £530 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Jane

4th August 2018

keep away!!!! my partner rang them and told them we needed to get uk money as a problem came up told we can use uk cash machine to get money out and they would note that we rang up to find out 2 weeks later they had blocked his card with $612 on it then told us to send prof of who we r. We was told we would get the money back at the exchange rate we brought it for and we could go in store and get it to find out the next day they had empty his account!!!!!! Also cos i have a card with them and asked how i can get my money back as i was in my 14 day cooling off (if u can say that as they charge u buy back rate) they decided to block my card too with $638 on it Rang up to be told we have to wait 30 days for a check to arrive ( bear in mind our holiday is 50 days away) and it could take longer so will be out of pocket for our holiday of $1200 and they don't care No one on the phones have a clue and wrong info handed out SO WATCH OUT!!! The financial ombudsman are involed and they cant understand why they done it SO PLEASE STAY AWAY

  • I ordered £1200 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Phil Deering

30th July 2018

We had no issues with the card as we travelled through France. We used it for the tolls, fuel and day to day purchases. It certainly saved us a lot if money in bank charges.

  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomson to others
  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy

Simon

21st July 2018

We put £500 on a TUI Travel Card as we were travelling to Croatia. We tried to get a balance at 3 ATM's it just spat the card back at us. We did not use the card whilst there to purchase anything. When we got back home we went into local TUI store to get the money back off the card, we received £435 back! Total rip off! £65.00 taken off us when we never even used the card. Wouldn't recommend anyone using this, daylight robbery!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

wendy

19th July 2018

Absolute waste of time couldn't use when we were abroad told all the wrong info and on our return told to contact the people who supply the card,Tui said they would give us the cash back with £60 taken off as the rate was now lower, unhelpful staff, they didn't want to know or care. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Andrea Jones

10th July 2018

Please make sure you ask the best rate when you go in the exchange. I went the local office and they offered me 1.247 for dollars compared to the online price of 1.298 this might not seem much but for £600 it worked out you got an extra 35 dollars. Anyway i decided to go into my local TUI shop and they offered me 1.30. Very pleased so don't be scared to ask for the best price. The difference pays for a good round of drinks ????

  • I ordered £600 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Anthony

9th July 2018

We have just place an amount on our TUI money card in preparation for a long haul holiday. The rate of exchange for the Australian Dollars was showing on the card site and TUI's web site at 1.684, and we therefore expected that it would be the same in the shop, foolishly not checking at the time, When we got home we realised we'd only been given 1.61,technically loosing around £30. We returned to the shop, but were told nothing we can do about it as "you always get a better deal if you do it on line".

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

Gillian elliot

2nd July 2018

I topped up my card in the Thomson shop and was told I would get £5 off and would get an extra £10 added on. What the didn't say that they gave me a very low exchange rate of €1.053 but I could have just done the exact threw my card and would have got €1.10 which ment out of pocket by nearly €30 so make sure you ask that it's like for like on line as they don't even let you know

  • I ordered £603 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Julie Stevens

10th June 2018

Please Avoid Avoid Avoid Decided to put my money on the card as the lady convinced me its best fir me! My week us almost up to an so far still not been able to use my card!! I've had to take money out of my bill account and paid fees to then draw Euro out of cash machine.. spent my call allowance trying to get help from TUI! Only two places that would take the card but the card would not work! I can only say **AVOID AVOID AVOID** Emailed them but no reply! All my money tied up on a card not be able to use! they are making interest on my money that I saved really hard for. I'm a single lady in a foreign country. This should never be allowed to happen. When I'm home, I intend to start to find all these poor people that have been coned like me! The staff seem to be well trained how to make you feel your doing the thing. This company has caused me so much pain ! I'm so hurt and broke. Please don't allow them to mess your holiday up an leave you broke!! then ignore you when you try for help.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Dan

8th June 2018

Absolutely horrendous, couldn't be worse. AVOID. Sent me the wrong pin for my card and couldn't access any money in my account due them blocking it for 24 hours. Joke.

  • I ordered £5000 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Rahul

21st April 2018

They matched against the worst rate, independent currency exchange firms were offering better rates. Currency I needed had to be ordered in so I put the order in and was told this would be price matched. My wife went to collect the money and I then worked out I was £27 out of pocket because they gave such a poor rate.

  • I would not recommend Thomson to others
  • I ordered £300 worth of
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested

Gillian

17th April 2018

I have the multi currency card put euros on for my trip to Europe used it in Tenerife last month in a shop and with representatives to book trips. Since my return I have since topped up via the app no problem. Yes the rate is slightly lower but we are talking cents not euros.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Tim Peterson

4th March 2018

Went into Green Lanes Barnstaple to change our $ into euros. Official rate is 0.81 euros to the $ Changed $2512 so would be 2034 Euro. Of course I would not expect the official rate but I did not expect what we got either. Came back with 1700 Euro. Can you believe they charged 334 Euro.We went back and got our $`s again. The other currency exchange in Green Lanes Barnstaple offered 1850 Euro`s that is 150 Euro`s cheaper. Still too much so going to leave it and change direct when in Europe. I know they both say they they have to change $ to £ and then to Euro`s but why? Go into the back room and switch the $ for Euro`s and take a reasonable cut for the few minutes of time and the paperwork and I do not believe that amounts to 334 Euro`s, no way. No commission they say, no need for commission with ridiculous exchange rates set so much in their favour. I would advise not using this currency exchange because of the ludicrous exchange rates.

  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Phill

21st February 2018

Terrible customer service! God forbid if you lose your card, takes 2 days to reactive your secondary card. The phone number they provide doesn’t work, after many emails and contacting the TUI reps in resort and they couldn’t ring the number either. Eventually I got a phone call at 3am in the morning to reactivate my card. The phone call they make to you costs £30 and they will not refund you if you complain. They call you a LIAR and refuse to email you back. Absolutely disgusting after sales service!!!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others

Diane

20th February 2018

Horrendous, do not get one! Customer service are terrible, they call you a liar and refuse to consider any problems you encounter! Didn’t want to give any stars but wouldn’t let me submit the review if I didn’t give it a star rating!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Thomson to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Thomson

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No

Thomson offer a range of travel money services, including foreign currency, buy back guarantee, travellers' cheques and their prepaid Travel Money Card. Currency is available to order online or collect in store, or for home delivery.

Visit Website

Fancy a European road trip?

Posted by Sam Stone on 9th October 2018

A road trip is the ultimate way to explore the bewildering beauty of any country. However, after toll charges and rental car fees, petrol costs can be one of the biggest holiday expenses. No one wants... read more

Paying for your Travel Money

Posted by Compare Holiday Money on 8th October 2018

Most UK travel money suppliers allow you to pay for your currency in a number of different ways. The payment method you choose is important because it affects whether or not you pay any extra fees during... read more

How to get better currency rates?

Have you ever bought currency exchange money and think… this is so terrible! Well we’re about to tell you how to get better currency rates and how to not feel like you’ve been ripped... read more

Pawnbrokers and travel money

Pawnbrokers and travel money don’t necessarily fit together on first thoughts, but certainly Ramsdens, H & T Pawnbrokers, Albermarle Bond and The Money Shop are big, well established companies that w... read more

Budget-stretching toll roads

Risking life and limb on foreign high-speed toll roads isn’t the best way to start a relaxing well-earned holiday. It is also an expensive way to burn through your hard-earned budget. In an ideal world, rea... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.