Compare Holiday Money Logo

Thomson reviews

Poor 2.3 / 5

Based on 26 reviews Write Review

Judith Swindells

23rd November 2017

Visited The Mall Cribbs Causeway TUI store in Bristol as they offered currency exchange. Unfortunately am not a seasoned changer of currency; had I have been, I would have been more cautious concerning the rate offered. Was offered a rate considerably less, than I would have been offered if I had called up to ask the best rate they could offer (found this out as I tried this the following day and overnight the rate had jumped from 1.59 per £ to 1.67 per £. Whilst TUI have done nothing wrong, I would question the ethics and 'customer good practice' of a national company who feel it acceptable to prey on peoples lack of experience in respect of negotiation and do not even suggest a better rate may be on offer. We lost £80 overnight as a result of this... Could be likened to those whose tax plans enable them to fleece the rest of the country... its not illegal ...but one questions the morality... The only response I have from the Bristol TUI rep is Because you bought it yesterday we cannot do anything about it. In asking where I might escalate my concern, I have gone through 3 telephone numbers and departments the last of which is unaware of a main TUI complaints dept... Won't be buying travel money or holiday from an operator whose policy it is to 'limit' information for their own purposes.

  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Silvie

15th November 2017

A complete disaster. I ONLY loaded local currency (That Bhat) on the pre-paid travel money card and was told by Thomson that I could go to any cash point bearing the Mastercard symbol in Thailand and withdraw that local currency for a small fee of 80Bat (£2) and that there would be no other charges........ HOWEVER..........the reality was that I got charged a 3% fee + a handling fee + a currency conversion fee (even though I had no currency to convert ! ....... in all about £50...... and to add insult to injury, to get the money back off the pre-paid card they will only pay me back in British Pounds at their terrible exchange rate, which means I stand to lose a further £100................... NEVER AGAIN !!!!!!!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Sarah rowell

14th September 2017

Booked holiday with thomson she and advised to exchange money there as best rate will be given for being a customer,unfortunately I trusted what they said and exchanged £700 to euros and when I got home later that day my husband checked the rates and said it was a terrible rate for £702 we got 720 euros,rates at m&s,post office and high street bureau were much better,my husband went back to the store and they basically said if I had asked the rate they could have matched it and they couldn't do anything,i feel deceived as had trusted their word for the best deal when booking holiday.Holiday booked in Newcastle upon Tyne so just be aware.

  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Hayley Smith

2nd August 2017

If I could give 0 stars I would! First off the websites deceiving, I paid 1st class postage to then be told that it isn't sent 1st class meaning theres an error on the website and my order may now not be on time for my holiday. The only suggestion was to go in store get a new one and transfer the funds which is a waste of my time considering my card should of been here by now and i shouldnt of had these issues! Customer service is shocking, dont bother calling them, they wont be able to help! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!! Go somewhere else even if the exchange rate is worse.

  • I ordered £550 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

peter brown

31st July 2017

ordered £250 of polish zloty's, ready to pick up on 19th july at the blackburn branch, i made a special trip there on the 22nd and the currency was not there! as i do not visit blackburn often i decided on a refund, upto this date 31st july i have still not received said money.....please please please do not use this service, very unreliable in fact i went around the corner from this shop to the foreign currency exchange booth received my money straight away and at a better exchange rate!

  • I ordered £250.00 worth of Polish Zloty
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Sandie

31st July 2017

Don't touch it Ran out of money couldn't upload anymore while abroad couldn't get in touch with Thompson No response to countless emails Thanks a lot Thompson

  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Angela

11th July 2017

Just downloaded this app i had no problems registering the card or the app. Haven't been away yet so don't know what it will be like abroad will report back when we come back.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

marlene

17th June 2017

Went in store at Glasgow Fort. Gave customer in front of me 1.25 on dollar, when I tried to purchase same dollar was told lower rate. I only needed $500 as it was the max my son was allowed to take on a 5 day school trip. Was told to buy more than $500 and I'd get that rate but I didn't need more. WHAT A JOKE !!! GO TO RAMSDANS INSTEAD FOR YOUR CURRENCY !

  • I ordered £[X] worth of [Y]
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Hana

14th June 2017

Nevee again! Never had an overdraft in my life til i had this travel card. I had an overdraft and wasnt told til a month later after my holiday by letter telling me i owed money and to pay up within 14days of the letter other wise legal action will be taken! What happened was on the last day.. I checked my balance and transactions. I didnt want to leave any money on card. So i brought something and paid part cash and then used the remaining money off the card. So part card and part cash. My account came up to 00.00 after i used the last bit... A month later i had a letter saying i owed money from the travel card. I rang up and Apprenetly what happened one of the stores i went into i paid offline (which i didnt know) so it wasnt taken off my balance so it showed more money than it should have basically. So on last day i used up 'remaining balance' didnt even go over as i told the lady the amount that was on my card so i could pay part card and part cash. Had no problems after than transaction didnt have a warning or anything! I wasnt even told this could happen if you pay offline in a store (which you dont know if your paying offline) and wasnt told you could get an overdraft. I just thought if you ran out of money it would block or reject a payment (as your putting money into the account) I read everything about the card Never again! Not happy wasnt my fault i checked my balance and transactions everyday. I'm sticking to cash in future and debit card if i run out. I was also told that the card was stuck at a fixed rate (the day i got it would be the cards currency rate) and she told me if the currency went up i would miss out but if it went down it wouldn't matter as the card would be stuck at the rate i had it on. Anywho i added more money into the account and while i did this the rate on the card had changed... Then it changed again! Only good thing about this card was that it was accepted everywhere i went. Other than that I'm sticking to cash like ive been doing

  • I ordered £2500 worth of US Dollars
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Laura

6th June 2017

In store the exchange rates are different to online and actually worse than other companies, I realised this after paying for Hungarian and Croation money- Once back at home I realised I had been ripped off and actually £15 out of pocket. They also gave me a bad Euro exchange rate which I realised at the time and they sorted in store but still DO NOT use this company.

  • I would recommend Thomson to others

peter santus

25th May 2017

rang store to check on rate. I was changing £800 into euros. they asked what my best offer was and they would match it. Best offer local for collection was 905 euros for £800 sterling. Also I was told that until closing today they can offer a £5 off for every £500 spent. On my calculation I should have received 905 euros for £795. My wife went to the store to collect and it cost £803 for 905 euros.£8 more. I rang back and spoke to the manager. Basically said there was nothing he could do. Do not trust this company

  • I ordered £905 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Thomson to others

Phillip

6th January 2017

I have always used Thompson and got friendly service and a good rate . Checked online rate and went into store to order not realising they have a completely different rate . Rushed in to collect my Japanese yen the next day. Only realised the rate was completely different on getting home . My fault for not doing the math . Not impressed that online you get 138 Yen to every pound but inshore only 120 . Lost out by £60 . A call in the morning to complain .

  • I ordered £600 worth of Japanese Yen
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Akka

13th October 2016

Do not transfer money with Thomson in store, There in-store exchange rates are vastly different to their online rates and they do not mention this at the till I feel like I was robbed.... went back to question this and they were very courteous but would not provide me the rate which they advertised online leaving me out of pocket... AVOID

  • I ordered £197 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Andrew Chapman

29th September 2016

If you are going to change your money in-store - BEWARE. they have a much lower rate in-store and will sell you currency at the rate UNLESS you specifically say that you have seen their rate on-line. I came out 50 euros down. Got home. Checked it out and went back in this morning to complain. the online rate was given to me without quibble but I could have done without the stress.

  • I ordered £760 worth of Euros
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Denise

17th September 2016

Regular customer and always helpful. They really do know their stuff in the branches. So order it online as it is more convenient and then collect in store. Brilliant service and smiles always.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

kaine powell

4th August 2016

i bought a £1000 in (JMD) jamaican dollars and the first price they offerd me was $1.44 per pound the i looked online and no1currency offered $1.58. stay away from this company ps. all i got from these was $1000 dollar bills and change

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Jamaican Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

David

1st August 2016

Ordered on line and arrived as stated - I picked my date and the process was smooth and efficient from start to finish -- no problems no hassle no queues and friendly staff in store - top notch

  • I ordered £1300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Angela

30th July 2016

My son & his girlfriend got 300 dollars each today, online rate at Thomson says 128 to our £1, Thomson at middlebrook Horwich gave them 120 to the pound, talk about ripping a young couple off on their first holiday, Debenhams are giving 130 to pound so they will be going there for the rest.. Thomson don't deserve there custom...

    David

    19th July 2016

    Completely different rates and requirements between 2 Thomson stores. Money is international not the exchange of goats between 2 villages!! If you find a reasonable rate do not risk purchasing at another branch.

      Chris

      5th July 2016

      Offered a better rate then was on line then matched a local competitor .Gave variety of notes, very friendly staff, no queues, no problems at all, one very satisfied customer.

      • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
      • My currency arrived on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • Ordering was easy and straightforward
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Sian

      19th May 2016

      Matched a local competitor and also advised me of the buy back scheme! And they arranged that I could pick up my money in a different town as it was more convenient for me! Great service from the team in Abergavenny! And also thanks to the team in Neath.

      • I ordered £300 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
      • My currency arrived on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • Ordering was easy and straightforward
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Derek

      12th March 2016

      The web is not a reliable rate the shops undercut this and rip you off

      Rosanne

      15th February 2016

      Reading a previous review, know from past currency transactions that staff tend to round up your order to the nearest £10 to maximise the sale, but this does not mean they cheat, you just get your dollars rounded up too. Went in today to exchange an expired travel money card for a replacement multi-currency card. Friendly and efficient service as always in my local Gerrards Cross branch.

      • I ordered a prepaid eur card
      • Topping up was easy and straightforward
      • The exchange rates and fees were clear
      • The card was accepted everywhere
      • I would recommend this card to others

      JOHN NEILL

      21st November 2015

      I went to the Greenford branch after looking at there euro rate to exchange my pounds into euros, I had to wait over 10 mins for a young man to deal with me after the manageress said he would not be long with a customer booking a holiday, I think she must be above exchanging money, he then asked me how much I would like to exchange I said £1000 but I knew by looking on the web site to round it off it would be another £2 something, he then looked up the web site and said it would be £1010 when I said that was wrong he went oh yes it comes to £1002 when I asked him why he said the 1st amount he replied I only take the first 3 numbers so if it was trading at 139 47 he pays 139, I believe he was trying to cheat me and if I had not looked at the web site before hand I would have been £8 out of pocket. So be careful if you use this company.

      • This was my first time using this supplier
      • I received a good mix of notes
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Sue Sansom

      6th August 2015

      Great, prompt service, very please with mixture of notes.

      • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
      • This was my first time using this supplier
      • I received a good mix of notes
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Write a review of Thomson

      Your name

      Your rating

      Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
      1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

      Your review

      Optional questions

      • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
      • How much travel money did you purchase?
        worth of
      • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
      • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
      • How much currency did you sell?
      • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
      • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
      • What currency did you transfer?
        to
      • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
      • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
      • What type of prepaid card did you order?
      • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
      • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No
      • What kind of policy did you purchase?
        policy for
      • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
      • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Thomson to others?Yes No

      Thomson offer a range of travel money services, including foreign currency, buy back guarantee, travellers' cheques and their prepaid Travel Money Card. Currency is available to order online or collect in store, or for home delivery.

      Visit Website

      Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

      Find out more

      Why sign up?

      • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
      • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
      • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
      The perfect travel camera – is there one?

      The perfect travel camera – is there one?

      Posted by Sam Stone on 15th December 2017

      Choosing the right camera to capture your holiday experiences ultimately comes down to size and output. Whether it will be used for a quick weekend break with limited hand luggage. Or an epic adventure to a buc read more

      What currency is used in Barbados?

      What currency is used in Barbados?

      Posted by Graham Morley on 14th December 2017

      Since 1935 Barbados currency has been the Barbados Dollar. It’s subunit is the Cent and Bds$1 = 100 cents. £10 GBP is worth around $25 Dollars but if you are travelling soon and looking to buy Barbados dolla read more