WeSwap reviews

553 Reviews Average | 3.8

WeSwap

https://www.weswap.com/en/

Purchase travel cash with WeSwap, available in all major currencies at the best rates with no charge for home delivery over £750.

Write a review

PeterT

17 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

17 September 2019

Holiday Inn refused card on the basis that it had been declined. Next transaction went through OK. Generally very good for gifts and meals but frequently declined by hotels, car hire and sometimes 'gas' stations. I really like the weswap card - I just wish it was a credit card so it was not declined. If it was a credit card it would work. And I don't need credit!! I just need it to be accepted!

Phil

14 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

14 September 2019

Had this card for several years, with no problem until this year. I’ve used it in Australia with no problems, yet recently on a cruise this July, had problems with ATM’s in Spain and finely give up. Swapped money to HUF as travelling to Budapest. Had transactions declined in Restaurant and at Airport, This is frustrating, causes embarrassment and I’ve lost all faith in this card. Returned home with HUF on card , will have to swop back , so have to pay another fee. Previously had Travel companies cards with no problem what so ever. Only got a We Swop card on recommendation. Which I hadn’t bothered.

Liberal

11 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

11 September 2019

Have used prepaid card in USA and in Spain with no problems. Easy to apply for and good rates. Shop around the various comparison sites and you will get some free money!

richard

10 September 2019

Bought £2,200 worth of Euros

10 September 2019

second time i have used weswap money came same day as expected also came in assorted dominations which was handy i will use them again

Pejo

10 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

10 September 2019

The card gets declined frequently at all sorts of different places and it is impossible to find a cashpoint that will dispense money. Totally useless.

WeSwap replied

Hi Pejo, sorry to hear you weren't happy with the product.

The card can be declined for different reasons, PIN blocked, insufficient funds, but the most frequent in summer is usually something called Dynamic Currency Conversion, or DCC.

This is where an ATM asks if you'd like to be charged in the local currency or if you'd like the ATM to convert your money for you. We always advise users to choose the local currency as you'll avoid the ATM's often poor exchange rates and, if you've swapped your money in advance, then you can avoid the transaction being declined.

This is because, by swapping, you already have the funds in the local currency, so you have to be charged in that currency. By refusing the conversion, the ATM will charge you from the correct wallet.

We hope that helps shine some light on the issue and thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback.

Peter Francis

10 September 2019

Bought £300 worth of Euros

10 September 2019

Simple and easy to use, Great exchange rate, nothing more to say.

Chris Marshall

10 September 2019

Bought £1,000 worth of Malaysian ringgits

10 September 2019

Excellent company. Never had a problem with them.

Chris Marshall

10 September 2019

Bought £1,000 worth of Australian dollars

10 September 2019

I have used this company on many occasions, and have never had a problem with them. They are always prompt and efficient. Money comes in several different denominations of notes.

Richard

9 September 2019

Bought £600 worth of Barbados dollars

9 September 2019

Very efficient and competitive rates

Steve Pavlou

30 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

30 August 2019

Beware! Terrible card. Despite having put our holiday spending money onto this card, we kept on having our payments declined. We first thought we may have used the wrong pin but double checked this on several occasions, the merchant even said the pin was good as it did not give an incorrect pin message. We have now run out of cash and no way to access our money on the card for another 3 - 4 days. I feel like I have had my money confiscated. I phoned up to ask about the problem they said I had used the wrong pin. I said I need my money back now and said I need to give written instruction and would take 3-4 days! Great!! Thanks for wrecking our holiday!

Write a review of WeSwap

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?