ASDA reviews

ASDA are rated Poor in 169 reviews

https://money.asda.com

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Last reviewed 3 weeks ago

28% of reviews are positive

Does not reply to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 40 reviews are rated 5 stars 24%
Great 8 reviews are rated 4 stars 5%
Average 4 reviews are rated 3 stars 2%
Poor 14 reviews are rated 2 stars 8%
Bad 103 reviews are rated 1 star 61%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarPrepaid CardTravel MoneyMalaysian ringgitsAustralian dollarsUnited Arab Emirates dirhamCanadian dollarsEuros
WC

W Clifton

1 Stars
1 Stars

11 September 2022

Had a previous Asda currency card prior to covid and never had any issues. When went to top up was advised they had changed and no longer valid. No longer did joint cards and therefore had to pay £5 for second card. We wanted a 2nd card in case one was lost.

ATMs in Gran Canaria were charging between €4 & €7 to withdraw. 2nd day we requested €200 with €5 fee and no cash dispensed yet debited account. Made 2 calls both times being told I would have to wait until 8 days after to see if automatically went back in and if not would need to call again and they would then raise a dispute. Day 8 the transaction just disappeared from the mobile app and therefore account credited. Luckily we had sufficient funds otherwise being €200 short May have caused a major issue for spending money and could have ruined whole holiday. We will not look to use again and in future just use our normal bank debit card

AT

Ashley Taylor

1 Stars
1 Stars

7 September 2022

Absolute nightmare do not use this card. We tried withdraw 400 euros at an ATM in turkey and our card was declined. Did not receive any money we than realised we was charged on the app 400 euros when we had not received anything. Spoke to customer services who said there was nothing they could do we are now stranded in turkey without any money with two kids and a week left. To top this all of the time we spent on the phone with Asda travel we have been charged £180 for the calls. This is unbelievable and we will be taking this much further when we return as this is complete theft And totally illegal. DO NOT GET ONE OF THESE CARDS AS IT WILL RUIN YOUR HOLIDAY

PA

Peter Archer

1 Stars
1 Stars

3 September 2022

Appalling. The app does not work. Customer service dreadful. Do not use this card

GA

Gillian Atkinson

1 Stars
1 Stars

8 August 2022

Do not use this card.. lost £450 at a Turkish ATM .. it was a cloned machine.. ate my card then dispensed it to the fraudsters after l had left. Asda would not believe me or refund my money. Absolutely rubbish service.. im disgusted!!

CA

Card app freezes when you try to upload money

1 Stars
1 Stars

1 August 2022

In Florida currently trying to use this card!

Tried all day to add funds as we spread our money over different cards in case we lost one with the intention of topping it up from the others when we needed it. The app freezes whenever you try to top it up. Won’t use again.

JO

John

1 Stars
1 Stars

22 July 2022

Went in-store to order a prepaid currency card. All went well and I elected to have only £10 in Euros loaded, and proposed to top up myself just before I travelled. BIG mistake. The app allowed me to go all through the steps to 'reload' the card, then stalled, asking me not to leave the page. I eventually called into the helpline, who were very nice, kept apologising and eventually admitted the App was being updated, and that I could use the Web services to reload. The Web services allowed me, again to go through a the steps then at least told me that the top-up had failed and no monies taken from my acct. The 'reason' for failure is that there might be a problem at my bank. I wish I'd read these reviews before getting the card.

MB

Mike B

5 Stars
5 Stars

18 July 2022

No problems work ok in france ,and topped up ok.

RF

Rogers family

1 Stars
1 Stars

10 July 2022

Bloody awful. Never, ever again.

Website issues, card suspended for days and they wouldn't help. Try to talk to them about different issues but you get passed around like a packet of biscuits.

Finally speak to someone and the line is terrible and language barriers.

Don't do it!

SH

shane

1 Stars
1 Stars

3 May 2022

Bought Euros

3 May 2022

Absolute rip-offs,,,I bought £1850 worth of euro's and just because i went in store to collect them,it cost me an EXTRA 58 euros' which is £48,,PROPER RIP-OFF'S,,,,£48 JUST BECAUSE I COLLECTED IT INSTORE all i can say is WOW!!!!!!! and WOW again. i would never use these again as long as i live,they gave me a rate of 1.13 euro to the pound when the current rate today is 1.9 euro to the pound so when they say they do not make commission,they are lying,,they just rip you off in other ways,AVOID THIS PLACE.

AJ

Andrew James

1 Stars
1 Stars

5 April 2022

Shocking, I'd give zero stars if I could. Delayed me on the day of my departure because they couldn't load the currency I'd ordered onto the card. Apparently having had a previous card messed the system up completely, even though they'd emailed me months before to tell me the old card was now invalid. Explained this idiocy to me as if it were somehow my fault. That was getting the card.

No better when I came home from the USA. They'd no idea how I could get the unspent currency back into my bank account, seemed amazed that I wasn't just leaving it with them. No help online, via the app, eventually speak to someone on the phone, who promptly slams it down on me when I dare to raise an objection to my treatment. So I need to ring back, of course going through all the "press 1 for..." carry on I'd just done. Second person at least resolved the situation, but I wanted to complain about the 1st guy's attitude. She said she'd get a supervisor for me. 5 minutes later, still on hold, I give up.

Just avoid, at all costs.

Write a review of ASDA

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?