Exchange Indian rupees to pounds

Compare the best Indian rupee buyback rates and exchange Indian rupees to pounds

Indian rupees
We found 4 companies who will buy 20,000 Indian rupees by post
You receive £167.82 Buyback rate 114.177 Estimated postage £7.35 Sell Now
The Currency Club
You receive £167.82 Buyback rate 114.177 Estimated postage £7.35 Sell Now
You receive £166.08 Buyback rate 115.322 Estimated postage £7.35 Sell Now
Currency Online Group
You receive £162.34 Buyback rate 117.862 Estimated postage £7.35 Sell Now

Sell Indian rupees online

It's easy to sell your leftover Indian rupees online. Use our Indian rupee buyback comparisons to find the best deal, then follow the link to the buyer's website to place your order online and lock-in your buyback rate. You'll need to decide whether to post your Indian rupees to the buyer, or try searching for a store near you so you can exchange your Indian rupees in person.

Sell by post

Securely package your Indian rupees and post it to the buyer using Royal Mail Special Delivery which is fully tracked and insured. Once the buyer has received your package they'll pay you by bank transfer within one working day.

Sell in-store

Use our store finder to search for your nearest currency exchange, then simply take your Indian rupees to the store to sell over the counter. You'll save on postage fees, but availability varies by location and you'll have fewer deals to choose from compared to selling by post.

Indian rupee buyback rate history

Over the past 30 days, the Indian rupee buyback rate has risen 0.66% from 114.177 on 17 Mar to 114.931 today. This means Indian rupees can be exchanged for more pounds today compared to a month ago. Right now, ₹20000 is worth approximately £174.02 which is £1.15 more than you'd have got on 17 Mar.

These are the average Indian rupee buyback rates taken from our panel of UK travel money providers at the end of each day. You can explore this further on our Indian rupee to British pound currency chart.

Indian rupees to pounds Sterling

One Indian rupee (₹) can be subdivided into 100 paisa, although paisa coins are rarely used due to their low value and the smallest unit of currency you're likely to come across is the ₹1 coin. There are seven denominations of Indian rupee banknotes in frequent circulation: ₹10, ₹20, ₹50, ₹100, ₹200, ₹500, and ₹200; and three frequently-used coin denominations: ₹1, ₹2 and ₹5.

The current series of Indian rupee banknotes in circulation is the 'Mahatma Gandhi New Series' which was introduced by the Reserve Bank of India in 2016. Each banknote in the series features a portrait of Mahatma Gandhi; the Father of the Nation and an iconic leader of India's independence movement. The reverse side of each note depicts various Indian motifs and elements. For example, the ₹10 note displays the image of the Konark Sun Temple, representing India's rich cultural heritage, while the the ₹20 note features an image of the Ellora Caves which are renowned for their architectural marvels. The Rani Ki Vav - an intricately designed stepwell located in the state of Gujarat - is featured on the ₹100 note, and the Mangalyaan (India's Mars Orbiter) is featured on the ₹2000 note.

Indian rupee banknote values
DenominationSterling equivalent
Indian rupee coin values
DenominationSterling equivalent