Compare Holiday Money Logo

Marks and Spencer reviews

Very Good 4.2 / 5

Based on 33 reviews Write Review

11th May 2016

The 0800 operator had a very strong foreign accent, I could follow only with great difficulty, another reviewer said Philippines but I thought Latvian. She said the 24h delivery was not possible if you were travelling in next 3 days and gave me a Manchester number to ring. There are better rates for M&S bank customers, not sure which one this holidaymoney site quotes.

  • I ordered £550 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th March 2016

Online rate slightly better than that posted on Compareholidaymoney.com. Delivery efficient and they treat your payment from an M&S credit card as a purchase - so you get M&S vouchers plus a month to pay with no charge. DOWNSIDE - no email or communication confirming your order whatsover (really a disgrace nowadays when you've just committed £1,000), so I ended up having to phone them after 24 hours - and then still no email follow up!

  • I ordered US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th February 2016

I get euros every couple of months here, sometimes the rate is the best on the high st, sometimes its not. always friendly and give choice of note size. very pleased but just check if the rate is good before attending

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th August 2015

Was going to order Euros week before @ 1.40 missed the opportunity and Euro started to slide each day saw the rate of 134 and went to my nearest branch to get £750 worth only got rate of 132.25 was told 134 was for M&S customers only. Worth watching out for Asda was 133.5

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th August 2015

Could not understand the operator! It seems that the call centre is in Manila, in the Phillipines??????????? Gave up trying

  • I ordered £[X] worth of [Y]
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th August 2015

Ordered euros over the telephone. As I am a M&S card holder I was happy with the rate offered. I ordered £500.00 in euros for free home delivery and the helpful lady asked me what mix of notes I wanted. Euros arrived on the day stated and in the mix of notes I had requested. Very pleased with the transaction. Would use again if I was exchanging £500.00 or more.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th July 2015

I am an M and S card holder. They offered a very competitive rate and the Euros were delivered on the day and within the time slot requested. I would recommend their service.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd July 2015

Excellent service from beginning to end.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

21st July 2015

Very good service for home delivery especially if you have M&S credit card which you can order cash on without penalty.

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th July 2015

Can't fault the service at Taunton. Greeted I. A friendly manner & very efficient! As for the non card holder RATE not being shown on the website - it's definitely not True! It's there for all to see! Keep it up M & S & thanks for being so kind! Credit where it's due!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th June 2015

10/10 for service. Money delivered before the stated date of delivery a rarity! will definitely use the online service again. one little observation the online web do not give customers the choice of requesting denominations of their choice. I got landed with a lot of 100 euro notes which are not readily accepted across Europe so have been asked to take them to M&S money shop and exchange them for smaller notes.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th June 2015

Good rate, great service.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th June 2015

Very good service first time would definitely use again good mix of notes

  • I ordered £700 worth of Turkish Lira
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th June 2015

Excellent rate. Ordered online, delivered in less than 24 hours as promised. No fee. Can't fault the service. Well done M&S! :)

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th May 2015

Bit disappointed after seeing the rate of 3.92 for lira was told this was only for marks and Spencer credit card customers. No sign of this anywhere on website and when I did go to buy them only had £144 worth so didn't get any have to go back but was disappointed not at the rate advertised.

  • I ordered £[X] worth of [Y]
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd April 2015

Have got my euros at M&S in the past was disappointed this time when they gave card holders only the better rate. This was not advertised on the Internet and also not visible in the store until staff pointed it out.I don't hold a card I do shop in M&S a lot which is discrimination to customers, I therefore went elsewhere and got my euros at the cardholders rate. Very disappointed with M&S. The difference was only 10 euros but it was down to principle.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th April 2015

Used Marks and Spencer card so got the higher rate. Staff in local metro centre store always friendly and efficient. Got a good mix of denominations in a handy little wallet. Have never ordered them for delivery though as local store only 5 minutes away. Always find Marksys competitve with their exchange rate and always find in the top 3. Recommend : )

  • I ordered £200 worth of Turkish Lira
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th April 2015

Good rate & delivered on agreed date.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th February 2015

Very efficient and friendly service in the Aberdeen store. Preferential rates for M & S cardholders is a membership benefit and non-members must surely expect to receive an inferior rate. Anyone looking for such membership benefits needs to join the relevant club/group.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th September 2014

Excellent service & competitive rate, very pleasant man who served me Friday evening 19/9 !! will always check M&S Merry Hill first.

4th September 2014

Brilliant service from friendly competent staff in Cribbs Causeway branch. All done briskly and efficiently followed by a cheery "Enjoy your trip". Aus dollars handed over in my choice of denominations. Thanks again M & S.

9th July 2014

Beware the rate advertised is only for M&S card holders. the rate drops considerably if you do not have an M&S card.

31st May 2014

Rate is cardholder only. Cardholder rate is fine, although the rate didn't equal that shown online....and only applicable if you USE the card. If you don't, you pay the standard rate which was well below average.

20th May 2014

M&S give a reasonable rate of exchange providing you have a credit card with them. Service is efficient and pleasant, though it is best to avoid luchtime queues if you are going into a branch to collect your money. A big bonus is that you can charge your M&S card without further costs and they are happy to give you denominations of your choice.

4th March 2012

What ca I say brilliant service from marksie in Torquay,great rate for on the street one of the best around and they had the curRency I wanted czch korona, really impressed defo going to be using them again

Write a review of Marks and Spencer

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Marks and Spencer are one of the most recognisable brand names in the UK high street and have been offering foreign currency services online and in their stores for many years. Marks and Spencer launched their banking service in July 2012.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
US Dollar Unsettles Markets as All Eyes Turn to Jackson Hole Symposium

US Dollar Unsettles Markets as All Eyes Turn to Jackson Hole Symposium

Posted by Rewan on 24th August 2016

US Dollar Poor US inflation data unsettled the markets last week, causing the US Dollar to fall. The ‘Greenback’ strengthened during yesterday’s session, however, boosted by comments from the Federal Rese read more

Holiday Problems? How to Complain

Holiday Problems? How to Complain

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 23rd August 2016

We really hope that you have had a great holiday and you returned home refeshed and renewed. For some people though not everything went so well and their one holiday of the year could have turned into a complet read more