Post Office reviews

426 Reviews Poor | 2.0

The Post Office

https://www.postoffice.co.uk/

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free.

Write a review

Susan Armitage

14 June 2019

Bought £275 worth of Euros

14 June 2019

Should have read the reviews, going to Spain for a couple of days and only wanted 280 euros, nipped into local Post Office and whilst no issues with the staff the rate given was 1.0200, Asda rate is 1.100, doesn't pay to support your local Post Office!!

Claudio Nold

11 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

11 June 2019

poor exchange rate. I get a better exchange rate with my HSBC credit card or debit card (including the non sterling transaction fee!). Very disapoonted.

Ripped off

8 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

8 June 2019

Absolutely fuming to find that the in-app exchange rate is 3 euros to the pound less that the rate when first loading the card. Only put £50 on to start with on Thursday to watch the rates but I didn't see the lower in-app rate in any of the PO literature. Total rip off. Do not recommend and will never use again.

Dave Chan

6 June 2019

Bought £320 worth of Japanese yen

6 June 2019

Warning Warning, exchange rate from Post Office is sky high. They sell Japanese Yen at 123 to £1 where the other bank and exchange company doing 134 to a pound, that is 8 to 9 % higher.

Melanie haigh

26 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

26 May 2019

Pre loaded it with Thai baht. Sadly whilst using to pay for our meal my card was declined twice. Had worked fine for the last few days until now. Had to phone the UK from Thailand which is going to cost a fortune and was told it was blocked for using it to buy a purchase in Thailand! Eh???? Blocked? For using it for what it is meant to be used for?? It's a good job my friend had cash or we'd be still washing up now. Not impressed.

John

26 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

26 May 2019

Curency Card ripoff. You buy your card and get a reasonable rate of exchange.

When it comes to topping up the exchange rate is greatly less favourable. Today 26May 2019 buying a NEW card with USD1000 loaded and it costs £802.44. Anyone topping up their card on this same day to the value of USD1000 and it costs them £822.32 - almost 3% hike - which is probably what you will would pay in fees in using a conventional credit card. So the advice would be buy what you think you need right away and avoid topping up - EVER

John

21 May 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

21 May 2019

I can't understand how so many people are so stupid. To get an online comparison rate you need to pre-order online!! Not walk in off the street. How hard can it be?

Steve P

11 May 2019

Bought £200 worth of Euros

11 May 2019

Like many others, caught out by the difference between branch and online rates. On the day of purchase given 1.06 Euros to Pound - online 1.13

John Watkins

4 May 2019

Bought £2,400 worth of Euros

4 May 2019

QUEDGELEY BRANCH, BRISTOL ROAD, GLOUCESTER.

In 2018 I Received a very good service and exchange rate from the above mentioned PO Branch. They toggled fractionally with the Euro Rate against the £pound and thus I exchanged/bought £2,000 and I gained £7.00 on if I had gone to other POs or Banks.

# This year May, 2019, I again went to the same PO Branch at Quedgeley, Gloucester. (I believe they had changed the branch Post Mistress/ownership. The service was not as good as it had been hitherto ) For exchanging £2,400 they would not grant me a single point (.) for the Euro exchange rate. (I regarded this as not so much being "Tight"...but "Welded". I shall choose another place to go to next year (2020) for a more reasonable deal (£ to EURO).

I DO NOT RECOMMEND QUEDGELEY BRANCH, BRISTOL ROAD, GLOUCESTER FOR THE £ RATES AGAINST OTHER CURRENCIES. YOU WILL FIND BETTER DEALS ELSEWHERE.

john

1 May 2019

Bought £150 worth of Euros

1 May 2019

exchange rate pounds/euros appalling when bought over counter.

buy elsewhere

Write a review of the Post Office

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?