Sainsburys reviews

163 Reviews Poor | 2.8

Sainsburys

http://www.sainsburys.co.uk/

Nectar members get better exchange rates online and can collect Nectar points on every order. Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 260 Sainsbury's Bank In-store Travel Money Bureaux at no extra cost, or have it delivered to your home with free delivery on orders over £500.

Write a review

Wenzhe Chen

28 April 2020

Purchased an annual multi-trip travel insurance policy covering worldwide travel

28 April 2020

We took out annual global travel insurance In February then cancelled it the next day. It has however so far taken 2 months to process the refund. It's been 5 phone calls, 3 emails, 3 tweets and each time they apologise, say they made a mistake and they'll process it. I'm now having to take them to a Small Claims Court. AVOID AVOID AVOID.

James Charlesworth

27 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

27 February 2020

Got a card to use in spain. Loading the car does not always work. Used the card in Spain would not work in all shops. The ATM in spain eat my card so could not use it used either means of funding. Got back to the UK spoke to Sainsbury's who told me the card is nothing to do with them spoke to Mastercard told them I wanted to get the money off the card sent to my bank was told it was ok to do and offered me .70 for each euro I had loaded on the car even know when I brought them the rate was 1.18 per £. This card is no good and if you want your money into your bank from the card thay pay less than half the amount you buy them for. Avoid Avoid

Gwyn Llewellyn.

1 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

1 February 2020

Tried to load my card only to be told it failed and asked me to re-submit and in doing so I ended up paying twice and only getting credit once.

This card has been nothing but trouble from day one.

JR

16 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

16 January 2020

I have a cash passport, There were transactions that I did not recognise and called straight away. I spent 3 hours on the phone and the trganactions were cancelled and was told to pick up a new card as the money exchange at my local Sainsburys, Been twice and bth times they have reqported that the system is down. I travel to EU every week and have had to resort to cash. I still have around 200 Euros on the card that I am unabe to access.

Jon Wedge

10 January 2020

Bought £1,000 worth of Australian dollars

10 January 2020

Ordered card and currency online, not available to collect on given date due to 2 day-old system failure, no attempt to warn me, luckily some cash (Australian dollars) available in Branch, but given New Zealand dollars by mistake and had to go back. Never did get travel card. Simply dreadful service in every single respect.

Adam Hall

28 December 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

28 December 2019

The first time in all the years I’ve had trouble with money abroad. My card was not only cloned I reported immediately and was told the transaction was cancelled but they hadn’t cancelled and my money was taken. I wouldn’t ever have one of these cards again

Celine Bridge

23 December 2019

Bought £252 worth of Euros

23 December 2019

Ordered euros online using my nectar card, didn't count the euros the cashier put in envelope when collected. When I put euros in card for daughter realised am 100 euros short. Have been told it will be investigated and they will contact me after xmas. Has left my daughter short for holiday and a sour note for Xmas. Will leave a further review post investigation.

TelBoy

16 December 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

16 December 2019

Friday Morning after general election, rates on Euro went to 1.20 Sainsbury's Travel money site was unavailable, The rates fell back over the weekend and the site was up and running, this morning, Euro is trading at 1.20 and once again the site is not available. As of now the post office are offering good rates as are Tesco (€590 for £500). both with free delivery.

J Joshi

15 December 2019

Bought £200 worth of Euros

15 December 2019

Brought euros in store the rate was much lower than available just about anywhere.Had my nectar card and told I would get a better rate. Do not trust

jj

12 December 2019

Bought £1,000 worth of Euros

12 December 2019

Queued for 20minutes to buy currency, because Selling rate for Nectar card holders looked good. However at counter told currency not available, even though it was advertised on for sale on the board at the counter.

Staff unhelpful - told I needed to order it. They were unable or unwilling to check whether it was in stock at another Sainsbury's foreign exchange store.

Write a review of Sainsburys

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?