Tesco Bank reviews

Tesco Bank are rated Average in 183 reviews

http://www.tescobank.com/travel-money/

Get a better exchange rate if you choose to purchase any single currency online from £800 to £2500. We offer competitive exchange rates and 0% commission on foreign currency. Order and collect your cash from selected Tesco stores. Free home delivery on orders of £500 or more. £3.95 delivery for orders under £500. Tesco Travel money ordered online or by telephone is provided by Travelex Currency Services Ltd.

Last reviewed 2 days ago

51% of reviews are positive

Does not reply to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 86 reviews are rated 5 stars 47%
Great 8 reviews are rated 4 stars 4%
Average 1 reviews are rated 3 stars <1%
Poor 12 reviews are rated 2 stars 7%
Bad 76 reviews are rated 1 star 42%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarCurrency BuybackPrepaid CardTravel MoneyIcelandic kronaVietnamese dongsUS dollarsHungarian forints
JO

Jo

1 Stars
1 Stars

16 May 2022

Bought Turkish lira

16 May 2022

I ordered £2500 worth of Turkish Lira online. When I went to collect it I was shocked to see the highest denomination was 100 Turkish lira. I had over 500 notes ranging from 100 lira to 5 lira. 100 lira is worth around £5 while 5 lira is worth around 30p. I asked if this could changed and was told no. I emailed Tesco who said thank you for raising your concern and that was it. I then phoned Tesco and was told I could return it to branch and they would but it back at a lesser rate than I paid for it or I could return it by post at a cost to myself. All I wanted was for them to exchange the notes for a higher denomination but they refused. If we kept this morning we would have to carry a huge amount through customs and on the plane. If we wanted to go out while on holiday we would have to carry a large amount of money with us. Imagine carrying £2500 in £5 notes. I am extremely cross with Tesco’s response to this and they said by agreeing to the terms and conditions I agreed to accept any denomination. I find it hard to believe that they had no higher denomination and that anybody thinks it’s ok to give me this amount of notes. Tesco have made a big cock up here but I will end up being out of pocket because of their incompetence. Customer services couldn’t have cared less. Every little helps is their motto apart from when it comes to customer care it would appear. I will never use Tesco again to exchange money and will not recommend them to anyone. A total shambles.

JG

JG

1 Stars
1 Stars

11 May 2022

Bought Euros

11 May 2022

TERRIBLE!! I ordered £1000 and once I paid I was then informed I had to collect from a store 5 miles away and not my local store. Once I collected they had sent me 6 x €100 notes. I spent 30 minutes on the phone trying to return them to no avail. No other exchange company issue €100 notes as many places will not accept them. Therefore I am stuck with currency which I may not be able to change. DO NOT use Tesco exchange!!

GC

GC

1 Stars
1 Stars

8 May 2022

I’ve now been told that my currency which was ordered last Tuesday will not be in store until next Tuesday despite receiving an email to say to pick it up on Friday.

When I phoned, the agent was very unhelpful and said to read the small print!

Not very customer friendly!!!

Will def not be getting my holiday money from Tesco again.

PH

Peter Hurd

5 Stars
5 Stars

1 May 2022

deliverd on time no probs.Good service.

JC

JC

2 Stars
2 Stars

30 April 2022

Ordered on line, received confirmation and pick-up place date and time. went to pick-up, to be told, no money arrived, not got my name, nothing can be done. Phoned queries, to be told, yes the confirmation is correct but the money didn't get sent and i should have received a call to advise me of this, Sorry this didn't happen! here is the store number to phone to check if the money has arrived before you collect it next time, which is after the weekend and bank holiday.

Not at all organised or compensated for inconvenience.

KL

Karen Lichfield

1 Stars
1 Stars

14 April 2022

Here is my complaint to Tesco

placed my order on 5th April, order no GB100472331 and received an email confirmation saying I could collect the money after 3pm on 11th April. I checked the Redruth bureau opening times which said it was closed on Monday but it would be open on Tuesday. I rang your customer services and spoke to Brenda who told me I could collect the money when the bureau was closed by going to customer services as they could access the cash for me. I had my doubts so decided to go on Tuesday instead. Guess what, the bureau was closed it, only opens Wed, Thur, Fri. Not only that, customer services don’t have access to the cash and they couldn’t serve me. I asked for a manager who confirmed this was the case and apologised.

Now it gets much worse, on Wed 13th April I went to collect the cash to be told that it wasn’t there because the order had been cancelled on the 6th April and the money refunded. The cashier was very helpful and as dumfounded as me that this had happened without any information from Tesco Bank. We both made our own telephone enquires and we found out that the computer had sent me 3 automatic emails to tell me the order had been cancelled and that they had been returned with an error message. I had received my confirmation ok so there shouldn’t have been a problem. I was also told that someone had tried to ring me but couldn’t get through and there wasn’t an answer phone. I can confirm that you have the correct phone number and I have an answer phone. In addition I had no notification of a missed call, so I dispute that any phone call was ever made.

Thankfully the problem was resolved over the phone and the person was very helpful, as was the cashier in Redruth Extra, however the situation should never had got to this point.

In summary:

I was given incorrect information on the phone on the 11th April

Your website doesn’t have the correct opening hours for the Redruth bureau.

My travel money was cancelled and I was not informed.

Other automated emails from Tesco Bank get through to me so why didn’t the cancellation email?

Why didn’t an employee make more effort to contact me to save my 2 wasted trips to the store not to mention time spent trying to speak to customer services?

The person who sorted my query had no problem ringing me back so there is no excuse for someone to have contacted me sooner.

I am grateful to say that the currency did arrive on time this morning.

Please don’t reply blaming COVID as that excuse is wearing thin now.

JA

James

5 Stars
5 Stars

12 April 2022

Collected 500 euros from Bridgend Tesco. They were there on time and all in 10 and 20 euro notes. Bit worried they might not be ready after reading some of the other reviews, but all was fine.

NA

Naomi

1 Stars
1 Stars

21 March 2022

Bought Euros

21 March 2022

Ordered travel money euros, recieved email to say ready for collection after 3pm,arrived about 5pm only to be told had not arrived waited for half an hour, then said would not be today. very disappointed wish i had order from local post office, will now have to drive 10 miles again tomorrow. will not be using Tesco next time.

DA

David

1 Stars
1 Stars

20 March 2022

Ordered 300 euro to pick up at the store 2 days later. Selected the date. Attended twice so far - order not arrived. "I am sure it will be here tomorrow" is the sum of tesco customer service. Clearly the company can not deliver without 4 or 5 working days. Therefore advertising or selecting early collection slots is a severe mistake

GR

Greg

1 Stars
1 Stars

5 March 2022

Bought Euros

5 March 2022

I ordered Euros on Tuesday 1st of March and chose a delivery date of Monday 7th March, delivery to be signed for. My Euros were delivered today, put through the letterbox with other mail. No door knock, no request for a signature. Not what I wanted. This appears to be down to both Tesco and Royal Mail. Not happy.

Write a review of Tesco Bank

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?