Travelex reviews

122 Reviews Poor | 2.2

Travelex

https://www.travelex.co.uk/

Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

Write a review

Vittoparis

6 August 2019

Bought £2,000 worth of US dollars

6 August 2019

In Paris CDG airport it is a rip off !! The rate of exchange €/$ is just unacceptable and if you take $ from their ATM they even add another 3.99€ as commission . The worst you can find ...

Cheryl

26 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

26 July 2019

What. A. RIP. Off! No matter where I drew out cash, I got stung for heavy ATM fees (local, abroad and in different countries). Conversion rate was poor when I purchased Euros and Dollars. Here’s what recently tipped me over the edge: needed dollars in hand before getting on the flight to the USA. Requested $80, got a receipt back claiming almost £8 in fees (since I used a TRAVELEX ATM at the airport! Gets worse, I get to USA, and it says I withdrew $99.98 excl. fees! WTF. Thankfully kept the paper receipt and phoned them to contest the more than $30 discrepancy from a single transaction. At first they couldn’t explain it and said I’d be refunded. Six hours later, the same Travelex agent (who was very nice and just doing her job) phoned me up and said the following: I had requested Euro’s at the ATM instead of dollars, and because I didn’t have enough euros, got charged £5 for that, the transaction then tried to withdraw £, which obviously weren’t preloaded on the card and finally back to dollars. This, despite my paper receipt saying ‘requested: 80USD’, was the garbled explanation they gave me and weren’t interested in reviewing the ATM receipt I had of it. The numbers still don’t add up and I obviously did not request euros. Needless to say, I won’t be using Travelex again out of principle.

Deb

14 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

14 July 2019

I needed money on my travels so loaded up my travelex card. Silly me, i forgot to add my travelex card number as reference. I  called customer service immediately and was told that they will not be able to confirm the transaction until 5 days after my payment even though the funds had left the debit account instantaneously. I sent  details of transaction by email and waited for 5 days.

Meanwhile, i used another card to reload the travelex card. Only managed to spend the card in 2 out of 4 shops!

Anyways, 5 days come and gone. More phone calls. Emails. And promised phone calls that havent been returned. My refund is still outstanding!!

Trevor Hayes

29 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

29 June 2019

Re the prepaid card and the various reviews complaining - at the atm there tends to be two options, check which one you click as with one you get euros no problem with no charges. If they are getting charged and it is converting they are clicking the wrong option. It is simply instead of carrying cash you hold it on a card just like a UK debit card and more safe.

Carol T

29 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

29 May 2019

The old single currency card used to work well with no ATM charges but the new multi currency card incurs ATM charges abroad more often than not. I tried 7 different ATMs in Greece which all charged for each withdrawal. Wouldn't recommend unless you are happy to pay withdrawal fee.

Jessica

24 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

24 May 2019

I went to the Heathrow Terminal 3 departures (before security) branch of Travelex to purchase New Zealand Dollars when making an emergency trip to New Zealand to attend my grandfather's funeral.

I asked the teller if I could purchase NZD in cash. They encouraged me to get their Travelex money card and load the money onto there as it would be 'easy and safer'. As I was concerned about arriving with no cash, I asked for half of my money to be in cash and half of the money to be loaded onto the card. The teller then proceeded to give me NZD cash and a card and I went off to New Zealand. I checked my receipt which had 'NZD' clearly written across the top of it, and so flew off to New Zealand.

Unfortunately when I arrived in New Zealand I tried to use my card in a shop where it was declined. When I later went online to my travelex account I found that the teller had given me NZ dollars in cash but had loaded Australian dollars onto the card.

As I had no phone in New Zealand, I emailed their helpdesk who took 5 days to reply (eventually replying after I got back to the UK!) and all correspondence since has been equally slow. Frustrated, when I got back to the UK I phoned the help number on the travelex documents given to me when I bought the card. I was told I could only exchange the money back into UK pounds which would mean I would lose £60 in the process. I told them this was not good enough and they offered me £30 as a 'goodwill gesture'!

When I told them that this was not good enough they have told me that they cannot resolve the issue for me and that I need to go back to the branch where I got the card. In Heathrow, London. I live in Devon...

They gave me a contact phone number which they assured me was for the branch in Heathrow and where I was told they would fix the issue.

This telephone number actually took me through to a generic Travelex call centre where noone could put me through to the branch and where I was repeatedly given the SAME number to phone the Heathrow branch - I phoned around in circles 4 times until I was given another number which went through to a BT voice woman just saying "The other person has hung up".

I am now completely at my wits' end and have a useless card loaded with a currency I don't need. I would NEVER recommend Travelex given this horrendous experience.

Never mind that I find these things stressful to deal with in the first place.... this ridiculous issue has added further stress to an already difficult time of family loss and left me stranded in another country having to use an emergency credit card for money.

John logan

13 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

13 May 2019

Worst product ever purchased. Won’t accept the card number. Won’t accept my password. Phone numbers don’t work. PIN number not accepted. One thousand dollars wasted and in a foreign country with no money. What a waste.

Dean H

12 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

12 May 2019

If using a Travelex Money Card then beware of exchanging between currencies after you have bought your initial cash. The initial rate to buy is OK (~4% off actual rate), the rate to sell once you have bought is horrific at 7% worse than actual rate. Avoid like the plague unless you are willing to be fleeced. Significantly better alternative options available. Removing your cash is also costly.

Aso Salih

21 April 2019

Bought £100 worth of Euros

21 April 2019

I have been in Manchester airport on 10/04/2019 and I went to Travelex money card desk I asked for card to use it In Turkey . They explained very clearly there is no charge and I gave the man my passport with all the details they want and I told him I need £150 in Turkish lira which it should 1130 TRY but they gave me 860 TRY and £100 in euro = 95 only. I couldn't see that on until I came back to UK, but next day in Turkey I draw 1000 TRY and I been charged about 28 Euro only for this and about 45 Euro in total . I never ever use this rubbish again

AB

15 April 2019

Bought a prepaid multi-currency card

15 April 2019

My card stopped working after a couple of calls the best they can do is wire me my money in £700 lots … and they still haven’t managed that 5 hours after they assured me they would

Write a review of Travelex

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?