Asda Money reviews

Asda Money are rated Poor in 202 reviews

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

  • Last reviewed 3 weeks ago
  • 28% of reviews are positive
  • Replies to reviews
Reviews by rating
Excellent 23.76% of reviews are rated 5 stars 24%
Great 3.96% of reviews are rated 4 stars 4%
Average 1.98% of reviews are rated 3 stars 2%
Poor 9.41% of reviews are rated 2 stars 9%
Bad 60.89% of reviews are rated 1 stars 61%
Reviews by day

Showing reviews 1-15 of 202

VB
Viktor Bohdan

25 March 2024

Bought £200 worth of Euros

Went to Asda in Spondon, Derby. Exchanged 200 pound for euros. No questions asked, nothing explained. When i got home I found out that the lady charge me for exchange fees. How can you charge someone without explanation? Will never use their service ever again.

DA
Dale

21 February 2024

Ordered a currency card

I put £200.00 in my travel card went to make sure that it had gone onto the card but the money is nowhere to be seen contacted card services who then contacted Travelex and still no sign of the money, I have contacted my bank they are now looking into this.

JI
Jim

28 January 2024

Bought travel money

Ordered local currency for Barbados. Ordered on Monday and told it would be a few days and we would be phoned. Not heard anything so went in Friday - going away next Thursday, nothing arrived. Telephone call Saturday afternoon to say they can’t get any! Very unreliable!

OL
Ollie

15 January 2024

Bought £50 worth of Euros

Got my travel money card today, and it was a piece of cake with the help of Millie in the Spondon branch. Any worries were put at ease, so helpful in how to setup it up and knowing how I can use the card when aboard. I was really happy with the service provided.

MC
millie cox

15 January 2024

Bought £100 worth of Euros

quick straight forward service

MA
Mandy

18 December 2023

Bought £1 worth of US dollars

This is the fourth time I have attempted to use the service in Asda Fareham, as it is the only place within a few miles that sells foreign currency. 3 pre ordered and today randomly.

Each and every time there has been a note to say just popped out, be back at a certain time and this is not usually between 12 & 2. It is usually just after 3pm for pre ordered. Today, I randomly popped in at 12.20 and once again, there was a note to say that the person has popped out and will be back at 12.50. Surely if their website displays opening times, a member of staff should be there to serve customers or they should display opening hours open and not actually on lunch or gone out etc…it’s not cheap to keep having to drive backwards and forwards, 6 miles to be precise to not be able to get the money ordered or even randomly. Asda, this needs sorting out!

Had to put in an amount that I supposedly purchased to leave review.

DI
Di

7 November 2023

Bought travel money

Like Sue Williams says on her review I was charged a buy back fee without an explanation.

As a pensioner £2.99 Charge for nothing is better in my pocket.

I was so mad I went back the next day. The same girl said I always explain this Charge!

Not to me you didn't as we never return Euros.

I insisted on having the money back, which she finally agreed to.

IR
Iram

3 November 2023

Bought £500 worth of Euros

Had a great experience in the Blackburn asda with the help of a lovely women Heena. Was a great help with everything as it was my first time exchanging money. Great customer service from her. Would definitely recommend to go to the Blackburn asda will be going again.

RO
Robert

29 October 2023

Bought £250 worth of Euros

I always go to the bureau in clayton green, I always get good service from the two ladies there, I got tips etc about where I was going last time and its always service with a smile and welcoming

FI
Fiona

21 October 2023

Bought £1 worth of Euros

Went to Asda Tamworth the customer service was diabolical there were two people serving behind the counter , neither of them had any customer service skills tutting because I queried the exchange rate no please and thank yous .. apparently they don’t accept Scottish

£20 even though it’s legal tender. Will avoid from now on and go where I’m welcome

JL
Jeff Leahey

29 September 2023

Ordered a currency card

What ever you do don’t get one of these Asda travel money cards. Ive waited over 4 days to get a response to an email regarding a problem registering my card. I’ve sent all information requested and yet I’m still waiting. I’m starting to panic as I’m getting low on cash. Dreadful customer service you try finding numbers from abroad. Trying that this doesn’t ruin holiday.

MA
Marcus

21 September 2023

Sold 500 US dollars

I went to Asda exchange some US Dollars to pounds today just after 5pm. The gentleman who was serving did not seem to be professional at all. I gave him the dollars, he counted, asked for ID, gave him ID, then he looked into his till, and he said to me he does not have enough money to exchange. He could only exchange half of it. This is an exchange place and they did not have money. They need more professional people there. Disappointed. This guy was not fit for the job. Sorry.

JL
JL

7 September 2023

Bought £250 worth of Danish kroner

Turned up to collect currency I ordered 4 days prior. I arranged to collect the travel money at 2.56pm and was told I couldn’t have it till after 3. Won’t used Asda again and staff was cocky

AT
Asda Travel Money Card

19 August 2023

Ordered a currency card

Fairly smooth so far. Got card at Asda store (in store at counter it was pre loaded with €500). When I got home I simply loaded app and logged in using same details I shared in store with holiday counter)

If you load with extra money make sure it’s in over £500 batches to avoid charges. Exchange rates are good - better than in store and similar to exchange rates daily (around 5% less than international rate - which is better than any UK in store purchase)

You can easily access on iPhone and check amount and transfer more from bank account if needed. In Europe it will work for most contactless payments and no charges because it’s euro for euro. Great for transactions in Europe and if other you can transfer ‘ switch currencies to preferred country.

SW
Sue Williams

3 August 2023

Bought £371 worth of Euros

Popped in for 400 euros, paid then seen the receipt, I’d been charged £4.99 in fees, never again, the person serving never explained the charge, apparently to buy back the euros…why. Never ever again

Asda Money

Write a review of Asda Money

Rate your experience

Click or tap a star to rate

Write your review

0 / 4000

What product or service are you reviewing?