Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

ASDA reviews

Good 3.0 / 5

Based on 67 reviews Write Review

Jo

20th June 2017

Excellent service ordered Friday came on Saturday. Would use again.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Wendy Fraser

8th June 2017

Poor service. Cant deliver on time. Note to self always read the reviews before trying a different company. Asda you're way behind the currency service provided by Tesco & Sainsbury's. Attitude of customer telephone service also poor. Very much " the computer says no" attitude.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Clare Ross

8th June 2017

First time using their currency service. Very poor. Ordered a week ago for delivery today and didnt arrive. Phoned Asda to enquire who blamed Royal Mail!! Lady says there is a back log and they are working through telephone calls to customers who have ordered money - but they didn't call until I rang them today. Lesson learnt, stick to the companies who you know can provide a service and do it right, Asda isnt one of them that's for sure!!

  • I ordered £1200 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Rodrigo

13th May 2017

I got this card to go to US and pay the hotels too with it but was a big mistake. They said there's no commission on the change, I checked the real currency change and was about 3% cheaper than what I paid. If I wanted to get cash from cash machines in US there was a fee to pay. Other problem was that I tried to pay the hotels with that card but they don't accept it because it doesn't say my name in the card so I finish having to use my own card instead of the travel card. I finished because of that with half of the money spare in the card. When I tried to change back into pounds they were trying to charge me an unfair rate of about 10% of commission. The agent that sold the card didn't tell me that there is 30 days only after purchase to change back the money with the same rate. In conclusion it is a useless card with hidden charges.

  • I ordered £1200 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Julie swales

4th May 2017

Went to my local Asda currency kiosk on Friday 28th April the euro rate was 84p bought £501.72 they gave me €570 got home and thought that's not right turns out they charged me 88p per euro and they still short changed me by 11€ I looked at the post office and they would have given me €580 for less money I also looked online as to a rough amount of euros I should have got on Friday and it was €590 contacted Asda and they said it's not Asda it's travelex called head office and they said they were right and that's it

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Kate

10th March 2017

Brilliant service. Quick and easy. We ordered our polish zloty to be delivered to our home, and it came on time with no messing. Will definitely use this service again.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Polish Zloty
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

charlotte wells

2nd March 2017

Absolutely terrible experience. I ordered on line as it had one of the best rates and I had used a money card from the post office before (with no issues). Took an hour at the store for them to locate my order and issue my card. I travelled to Australia where I attempted to login online. They asked me security questions including which form of ID I had used to collect the money card. This was a driving licence but they disagreed and logged me out telling me that I had to call them to sort it out. As I was in Australia I decided not to. I transferred money from my bank account onto the card but it did not arrive. I called to chase it up and was put on hold twice for 30 minutes (international call) I was then told that the money card is dealt with by Travelex and they have no access to Asda's computer system. I had essentially lost £550 and i still have no idea how to get it back. My bank are trying and have confirmed that it is in an ASDA account but have received no response in two weeks from Asda. I have called to be passed from one department to another to then be put through to the complaints department who after nearly 30 mins on the phone tell me that they are MasterCard and only deal with the travel money and that they cannot help me to retrieve the lost money as it is not in one of their accounts. I have emailed Asda with my complaint and they have told me on three occasions that somebody would be in touch. They haven't. I have also given my details on a number of occasions to the complaints department and they have promised that a supervisor will call me. They haven't. Whilst on holiday I had to make regular calls to Mastercard to upload my card and I made a number of withdrawals from my bank account incurring fees. What an nightmare and disappointment.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Dawn

24th February 2017

Ordered online easily. Checked various suppliers and the rate was best for this less-used currency. Money was there to collect and fairly easy. No way to choose denominations though. Would use the service again.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Kenyan Shillings
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Glenn Hodgson

23rd January 2017

This Rating is directed to travelex based in this store and Asda customer service. Travelex (working on behalf of Asda) promised and did not deliver the correct denominations of currency. They do not dispute this. This was followed by poor service which was bad enough, and wasted enough time, to spur this negative review. If you want fixed denomination currency or good service I suggest you do not use Asda Money (travelex)

  • I ordered £300 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Nigel Caine

21st January 2017

Ordered online, went to Store. No hassle. Wolverhampton rules

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Dave

24th December 2016

Asda clearly state "Find a better rate within 5 miles and we'll beat it!" So I did find a better rate within 5 miles, and they couldn't beat it. So I'm pretty sure this is false advertising. First and last time I'll be using them.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

sundance kid

23rd November 2016

ordered 200 euros over the phone and to pick up from store 2 days later. got to store with reference number,airline transport pilots licence,high security airport pass,utility bill with address on,ehic card and the debit card which i used to pay over the phone and guess what."sorry but we can't give you the money as those documents are not acceptable" we need a passport or a drivers licence" all for a puny 200 euros!!!!!!!!!! applied for refund which can take up to 10 days!!!!! drove to tesco and went to money exchange and got 200 euros with a debit card in less than 1 minute. No brainer------go anywhere but asda

  • I ordered £175.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

David

19th November 2016

Ordered Iceland Krona and Euro 2 weeks in advance online - the online rates are always slightly better than instore - the same as ANY of the other foreign money sellers. Received e-mail the day before I'd requested to say money was ready for collecting. Took valid photo ID (passport or UK driving licence) and the bank card I'd used to order it with me as proof that it is my money and collected it no problem. Very friendly staff member.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Dev

20th October 2016

I went to the nearby ASDA today to by a prepaid debit card after talking to some one on phone. Firstly the in store rate was different. Second, I stood in front of counter where two ladies were busy counting money. They not only ignored me for a while but also answered without courtesy and interst after I knocked on the glass to get their attention. As it appeared the microphone was switched off. When I spoke to the store manager he informed me that although the name is ASDA money, it is not actually an ASDA product. Eventually I did not buy the card or cash from them this time. I don't think I will buy from these guys in future too.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

SJ

4th October 2016

I bought a prepaid currency card from Asda and deposited money. This was done in store and the card has never been used. I hadn't received any correspondence for a while so I phoned to enquire and was told I was not the cardholder and to go back to the shop in which it was bought. Asda were extremely unhelpful and refused to speak to me about my account despite the fact I had in my possession all the paperwork and receipt for the account. I find it peculiar and worrying that this issue did not raise any concern to the member of staff. I went to the ATM and all the money has gone from the account. I phoned the company again and was told I wasn't the account holder so they wouldn't speak to me about the account. The only option was to complain in an e-mail with an expected wait time of 8 weeks. Essentially they have allowed the details on my account to be changed without my authorisation. This card had never been used and has been kept secure. No part of this transaction has occured online or through e-mails. I can only assume that every account can be easily compromised. I am surprised it isn't standard procedure to ensure that any change of details be notified to the name and address on the account. Nobody enjoys the moment they realise money has been stolen from them but it is very concerning that security is so weak and that you can be frozen out of your account without any suspicion being raised even after you tell them about it! If you like being robbed and called a liar then get one I suppose.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Elaine Barnett

1st October 2016

Have used Asda money exchange a few times. Ordered on line and delivered on day requested. Excellent service. Will always use Asda.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

John

22nd September 2016

Ordered over £1000 worth of euros on line. Called at store exchange kiosk with appropriate I.d. to collect my money. (It was mid afternoon) -Was told that staff were 'changing over' and to call back in half an hour. I killed some time in the café and returned after the half hour and was informed that they still weren't ready to serve as there was a discrepancy with the staff 'handover' balance and could I return in a quarter of an hour? Although they were apologetic, I started to become a bit annoyed by this time as I really needed to be elsewhere. I eventually got my euros but the staff in the kiosk (one lady was apparently a trainee) were telling other potential customers to 'come back in half an hour'. It might have been 'one of those days' for them, so might use them again in the future but there are alternative money exchangers out there.

  • I ordered £Xxxx worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Robert

14th September 2016

I traveled to Ireland from the UK and gave the hotel reception my card to reserve 640 euros which was ok when i checked out asda card services had blocked the reserved 640 euros and the hotel couldn't access the money the bill was then paid with my credit card incurring a 3.5% fee and a low exchange the hotel told me that asda would release the original funds to them on the 8th September 30 days after the due payment date, the hotel pointed out that the bill had been paid so asda required the hotel to confirm in writing that they had been paid and then they would unblock the funds on the 8th September

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Phil

3rd August 2016

Asda Pre paid Credit Card - Awful avoid. I put in £120 and could only get £40 out! Nobody wants to take responsibility. And I paid a £5 fee for the privilege.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Phoenix

23rd July 2016

I ordered £200 of Euros and when I received the confirmation email had been charged for £1000! I was told by customer services that it was a 'customer keying error', i.e. my fault, even though they later suggested that the webpage might have switched back to their default of £1000 - BEWARE OF THIS! They did agree to change the order and refund the additional money, but this can take up to 10 working days. Terrible service. Note that Asda Travel Money is provided by Travelex so you won't get anywhere by complaining to Asda.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Suzanna

19th July 2016

We chose the Asda pre-paid currency card specifically because you could get 2 cards for the same account. Upon picking up the card, it took about 15-20mins of the staff entering details onto the computer, until I was given the card, I asked about the second card, and they said I couldn't get a second card, and that it is something you need to add when ordering online. There was no option for this online, but the confirmation email I received said that I could request a second when picking up the card. I walked away not pleased, and called the Order Helpline as soon as I got out of the store. They couldn't understand why I couldn't get a second card, so they rang the branch and then the woman I was speaking to talked to her manager. They came to the conclusion that there had been a system error, and I would be able to get a second card by talking to Card Services, who I was then put through to. No details of my previous call were passed onto Card Services so I had to explain everything again. I was then put on hold, to then be told that they wouldn't be able to send a second card out to me, I would have to go back into the branch to get a second card sorted out. I was on the phone for a total of 32minutes and 4seconds. I then went back into the branch, where they apologised profusely, and explained what had gone wrong. He then rang his area manager to find out how he could add another card. Finally I got a second card, however, it is not possible for both cards to be active, instead I have a spare one that can be activated if the first is lost or stolen. This is not what I wanted, but this is what I have had to settle with. All in all, it took over an hour to sort out my travel money card, and I have still not got what I wanted. It would have been a lot easier to get a card from the Post Office where I live, rather than travelling 20 minutes to get the Asda card, however I did this because 2 cards would better have suited my needs. I needn't have bothered. I would no

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Lisa

20th June 2016

Ordered online using debit card which was then stolen the next day, when i went to collect 4 days later using new debit card (with text from Barlcays as proof and also driving license) they refused to give me my euros. I asked for a refund which they also refused to do there and then and said that my money would be refunded back into my bank almost 3 weeks later. The staff i spoke to on the help line were rude and unhelpful. Would definately not recommend.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Paul lishmund

13th June 2016

Ordered 500 usd online on Wednesday the 1st of June for collection on the 3rd ..in the meantime I lost my bank debit card..they wouldnt give me the dollars . I showed them my passport driving licence. .the online banking on my phone and the confirmation email ..all to no avail ..it is now the 14th of June and still no refund ...will get police involved because they're fraudsters withholding money that isn't theirs. ..totally disgusted

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Paul G

7th June 2016

1st time using ASDA Placed order 10am Monday arrived 10am Tuesday (Royal Mail special delivery "Free") A Good mix of notes Would definitely use again

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Burt allsopp

14th May 2016

Booked my euros on line.used my card they did not state photo proof.when I booked.went to collect on the said date.had my credit cards and bus pass with me.they said I needed a driving licence or my pass port.they would not accept my photo bus pass.i don't have a driving licence and I had been at work all day and dropped in after work.said I would have to bring my pass port to show them.i was angry and said I want my money back she said i would have to wait 7 days I was going abroad in 6 days.as luck would have it my wife was with me and drove home to get my pass port which they then accepted.a lot of hassle.when I got home I checked my emails they had sent me one that afternoon to say I could collect my euros then mentioned about driving licence or pass port.its a shame they did not mention that when I ordered and paid for my euros.i don't check my emails till I get home after work.i will not use them again and most of the shopping I needed they did not have.so good bye asda never again for travel money or shopping.

  • I ordered £550 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of ASDA

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Wedding Abroad Insurance

Wedding Abroad Insurance

Posted by Holly Burgess on 25th June 2017

Planning a wedding abroad often means you don’t get to meet with every single company that you hire for the day. This leaves you with no choice but to trust that your wedding abroad will run smoothly. It read more

Lviv: the historic city of Ukraine

Lviv: the historic city of Ukraine

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 23rd June 2017

Lviv (also spelled L’viv and Lvov) is a city with a lively history, and a well-preserved historic centre that is an UNESCO World Heritage site. Located in western Ukraine, around 70 kilometers from the borde read more