Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

ASDA reviews

Good 3.1 / 5

Based on 56 reviews Write Review

23rd November 2016

ordered 200 euros over the phone and to pick up from store 2 days later. got to store with reference number,airline transport pilots licence,high security airport pass,utility bill with address on,ehic card and the debit card which i used to pay over the phone and guess what."sorry but we can't give you the money as those documents are not acceptable" we need a passport or a drivers licence" all for a puny 200 euros!!!!!!!!!! applied for refund which can take up to 10 days!!!!! drove to tesco and went to money exchange and got 200 euros with a debit card in less than 1 minute. No brainer------go anywhere but asda

  • I ordered £175.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th November 2016

Ordered Iceland Krona and Euro 2 weeks in advance online - the online rates are always slightly better than instore - the same as ANY of the other foreign money sellers. Received e-mail the day before I'd requested to say money was ready for collecting. Took valid photo ID (passport or UK driving licence) and the bank card I'd used to order it with me as proof that it is my money and collected it no problem. Very friendly staff member.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th October 2016

I went to the nearby ASDA today to by a prepaid debit card after talking to some one on phone. Firstly the in store rate was different. Second, I stood in front of counter where two ladies were busy counting money. They not only ignored me for a while but also answered without courtesy and interst after I knocked on the glass to get their attention. As it appeared the microphone was switched off. When I spoke to the store manager he informed me that although the name is ASDA money, it is not actually an ASDA product. Eventually I did not buy the card or cash from them this time. I don't think I will buy from these guys in future too.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th October 2016

I bought a prepaid currency card from Asda and deposited money. This was done in store and the card has never been used. I hadn't received any correspondence for a while so I phoned to enquire and was told I was not the cardholder and to go back to the shop in which it was bought. Asda were extremely unhelpful and refused to speak to me about my account despite the fact I had in my possession all the paperwork and receipt for the account. I find it peculiar and worrying that this issue did not raise any concern to the member of staff. I went to the ATM and all the money has gone from the account. I phoned the company again and was told I wasn't the account holder so they wouldn't speak to me about the account. The only option was to complain in an e-mail with an expected wait time of 8 weeks. Essentially they have allowed the details on my account to be changed without my authorisation. This card had never been used and has been kept secure. No part of this transaction has occured online or through e-mails. I can only assume that every account can be easily compromised. I am surprised it isn't standard procedure to ensure that any change of details be notified to the name and address on the account. Nobody enjoys the moment they realise money has been stolen from them but it is very concerning that security is so weak and that you can be frozen out of your account without any suspicion being raised even after you tell them about it! If you like being robbed and called a liar then get one I suppose.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

1st October 2016

Have used Asda money exchange a few times. Ordered on line and delivered on day requested. Excellent service. Will always use Asda.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd September 2016

Ordered over £1000 worth of euros on line. Called at store exchange kiosk with appropriate I.d. to collect my money. (It was mid afternoon) -Was told that staff were 'changing over' and to call back in half an hour. I killed some time in the café and returned after the half hour and was informed that they still weren't ready to serve as there was a discrepancy with the staff 'handover' balance and could I return in a quarter of an hour? Although they were apologetic, I started to become a bit annoyed by this time as I really needed to be elsewhere. I eventually got my euros but the staff in the kiosk (one lady was apparently a trainee) were telling other potential customers to 'come back in half an hour'. It might have been 'one of those days' for them, so might use them again in the future but there are alternative money exchangers out there.

  • I ordered £Xxxx worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th September 2016

I traveled to Ireland from the UK and gave the hotel reception my card to reserve 640 euros which was ok when i checked out asda card services had blocked the reserved 640 euros and the hotel couldn't access the money the bill was then paid with my credit card incurring a 3.5% fee and a low exchange the hotel told me that asda would release the original funds to them on the 8th September 30 days after the due payment date, the hotel pointed out that the bill had been paid so asda required the hotel to confirm in writing that they had been paid and then they would unblock the funds on the 8th September

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

3rd August 2016

Asda Pre paid Credit Card - Awful avoid. I put in £120 and could only get £40 out! Nobody wants to take responsibility. And I paid a £5 fee for the privilege.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd July 2016

I ordered £200 of Euros and when I received the confirmation email had been charged for £1000! I was told by customer services that it was a 'customer keying error', i.e. my fault, even though they later suggested that the webpage might have switched back to their default of £1000 - BEWARE OF THIS! They did agree to change the order and refund the additional money, but this can take up to 10 working days. Terrible service. Note that Asda Travel Money is provided by Travelex so you won't get anywhere by complaining to Asda.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th July 2016

We chose the Asda pre-paid currency card specifically because you could get 2 cards for the same account. Upon picking up the card, it took about 15-20mins of the staff entering details onto the computer, until I was given the card, I asked about the second card, and they said I couldn't get a second card, and that it is something you need to add when ordering online. There was no option for this online, but the confirmation email I received said that I could request a second when picking up the card. I walked away not pleased, and called the Order Helpline as soon as I got out of the store. They couldn't understand why I couldn't get a second card, so they rang the branch and then the woman I was speaking to talked to her manager. They came to the conclusion that there had been a system error, and I would be able to get a second card by talking to Card Services, who I was then put through to. No details of my previous call were passed onto Card Services so I had to explain everything again. I was then put on hold, to then be told that they wouldn't be able to send a second card out to me, I would have to go back into the branch to get a second card sorted out. I was on the phone for a total of 32minutes and 4seconds. I then went back into the branch, where they apologised profusely, and explained what had gone wrong. He then rang his area manager to find out how he could add another card. Finally I got a second card, however, it is not possible for both cards to be active, instead I have a spare one that can be activated if the first is lost or stolen. This is not what I wanted, but this is what I have had to settle with. All in all, it took over an hour to sort out my travel money card, and I have still not got what I wanted. It would have been a lot easier to get a card from the Post Office where I live, rather than travelling 20 minutes to get the Asda card, however I did this because 2 cards would better have suited my needs. I needn't have bothered. I would no

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

20th June 2016

Ordered online using debit card which was then stolen the next day, when i went to collect 4 days later using new debit card (with text from Barlcays as proof and also driving license) they refused to give me my euros. I asked for a refund which they also refused to do there and then and said that my money would be refunded back into my bank almost 3 weeks later. The staff i spoke to on the help line were rude and unhelpful. Would definately not recommend.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th June 2016

Ordered 500 usd online on Wednesday the 1st of June for collection on the 3rd ..in the meantime I lost my bank debit card..they wouldnt give me the dollars . I showed them my passport driving licence. .the online banking on my phone and the confirmation email ..all to no avail ..it is now the 14th of June and still no refund ...will get police involved because they're fraudsters withholding money that isn't theirs. ..totally disgusted

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th June 2016

1st time using ASDA Placed order 10am Monday arrived 10am Tuesday (Royal Mail special delivery "Free") A Good mix of notes Would definitely use again

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th May 2016

Booked my euros on line.used my card they did not state photo proof.when I booked.went to collect on the said date.had my credit cards and bus pass with me.they said I needed a driving licence or my pass port.they would not accept my photo bus pass.i don't have a driving licence and I had been at work all day and dropped in after work.said I would have to bring my pass port to show them.i was angry and said I want my money back she said i would have to wait 7 days I was going abroad in 6 days.as luck would have it my wife was with me and drove home to get my pass port which they then accepted.a lot of hassle.when I got home I checked my emails they had sent me one that afternoon to say I could collect my euros then mentioned about driving licence or pass port.its a shame they did not mention that when I ordered and paid for my euros.i don't check my emails till I get home after work.i will not use them again and most of the shopping I needed they did not have.so good bye asda never again for travel money or shopping.

  • I ordered £550 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th April 2016

After checking best rate online I went to store and ordered £1100 of euros. When the money was being counted out I queried the rate I was getting (24 euros worth less than had I ordered online). I showed the cashier the rate on my phone to which she replied 'oh you always get a better rate online.' At no time, even though I queried the rate, was I advised to order online. Fortunately for me, although I hadn't left the booth, I had taken out the buy back at same rate offer (free). Was made to wait 15 mins for manager who then reluctantly gave me the extra euros. Basically DO NOT buy in store. Order on-line and collect. I myself will not be using their services again. Very disappointing.

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th April 2016

Ordered online ( rates higher than in store). Ordered Tuesday for Thursday pickup (on closest option date) but received email that it was available next day. Went to pickup next day without issues-the girl was pleasant & polite & very professional. Would purchase from ASDA again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th April 2016

No ability to request smaller denominations. When i contacted ASDA they were unable to help me over the phone or put a note on my order. Very poor service. Do not use!!!

  • I ordered £800 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st April 2016

Rates totally diffrant online and on place . Never use .

  • I ordered £360 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th March 2016

I pre-ordered £750.00 worth of U.S.D. on-line on the Friday night at the rate showing,which was slightly less than the other alternatives that only do bank transfers and picked them up from our local Asda Wal-Mart kiosk on the Sunday. Only a couple of niggles that stopped me awarding it the full 5 stars,the young girl that served me seemed so disinterested and really lacked any customer service skills although she did apologise to say that she only had 20's and 50's which is my other niggle. Apart from that quite satisfied and will use Asda again in the future.

  • I ordered £750.00 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th March 2016

Service was fine up until money was just thrown at us. No envelope, no nothing! Prefer Tesco!

  • I ordered £150 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th February 2016

used Asda a couple of times. #everything happened exactly as it should. No problems and for the sake of a few pounds I prefer to use a name I know with delivery on my card payment.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th January 2016

Transaction done by phone, euros delivered within 18hrs. by courier. 5 star service

9th November 2015

I order 600E on line when I went to collect I was asked to insert my (ASDA) credit card for ID I queried this but was told it was OK I wouldn't be carved twice I took my Euros went home concerned checked my credit card online, went back to Asda was again told it was OK, checked my credit card for the next few days then forgot about it until I got my credit card statement and yes you guessed it I was charge twice, went back to Asda there was a different cashier …phone class apologises etc, but I didn't have my passport this time so back next day when the original cashier was there he still couldn't understand….absolutely useless….I now have £600 more Euros but at least I won't have to tor in fact would use Asda again

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th November 2015

Ordered euros ! Next day delivery didn't happen. They were sent to wrong sorting office so Asda money staff said !! Never use again

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd November 2015

I ordered online the rate was 1.36 went Asda had to wait 20 minutes for the cashier to come back I was in a hurry by then . Instead of 896 Euro I got 870 which I didn't realise till I got home my fault,i feel totally conned by Asda

  • I ordered £650 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of ASDA

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

Posted by Matthew Weston on 9th December 2016

After what has been a year of uncertainty for Britain and the pound, it is slowly making improvements in the markets. With this and the continued decline of the Euro, the exchange rate is looking better for Bri read more

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more