ASDA reviews

ASDA are rated Poor in 161 reviews

https://money.asda.com

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Last reviewed 2 months ago

29% of reviews are positive

Does not reply to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 39 reviews are rated 5 stars 24%
Great 8 reviews are rated 4 stars 5%
Average 4 reviews are rated 3 stars 2%
Poor 14 reviews are rated 2 stars 9%
Bad 96 reviews are rated 1 star 60%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarPrepaid CardTravel MoneyCanadian dollarsUS dollarsAustralian dollarsUnited Arab Emirates dirhamMalaysian ringgits
SH

shane

1 Stars
1 Stars

3 May 2022

Bought Euros

3 May 2022

Absolute rip-offs,,,I bought £1850 worth of euro's and just because i went in store to collect them,it cost me an EXTRA 58 euros' which is £48,,PROPER RIP-OFF'S,,,,£48 JUST BECAUSE I COLLECTED IT INSTORE all i can say is WOW!!!!!!! and WOW again. i would never use these again as long as i live,they gave me a rate of 1.13 euro to the pound when the current rate today is 1.9 euro to the pound so when they say they do not make commission,they are lying,,they just rip you off in other ways,AVOID THIS PLACE.

AJ

Andrew James

1 Stars
1 Stars

5 April 2022

Shocking, I'd give zero stars if I could. Delayed me on the day of my departure because they couldn't load the currency I'd ordered onto the card. Apparently having had a previous card messed the system up completely, even though they'd emailed me months before to tell me the old card was now invalid. Explained this idiocy to me as if it were somehow my fault. That was getting the card.

No better when I came home from the USA. They'd no idea how I could get the unspent currency back into my bank account, seemed amazed that I wasn't just leaving it with them. No help online, via the app, eventually speak to someone on the phone, who promptly slams it down on me when I dare to raise an objection to my treatment. So I need to ring back, of course going through all the "press 1 for..." carry on I'd just done. Second person at least resolved the situation, but I wanted to complain about the 1st guy's attitude. She said she'd get a supervisor for me. 5 minutes later, still on hold, I give up.

Just avoid, at all costs.

RO

Robertstevenson

2 Stars
2 Stars

28 September 2021

Bought travel money

28 September 2021

Not able access account..online..not able reset password...not accepting my details as correct..I.e..date of birth./ card number..etc

HF

Helena Fielding

1 Stars
1 Stars

21 September 2021

Ordered cash, which was fine and a smooth transaction and a pre-paid travel card, which was nothing but a nightmare from start to finish. The app would not recognise my account. Despite reporting this and being told the problem would be fixed in 24 hrs it never was. Access to online account was slow and sporadic. Then the pin wouldn’t work and had to be changed. Spent hours on the phone and trying to get through to customer services. The numbers often just cut off whilst waiting to speak to someone, even the emergency one or the one to ring of your card is lost or stolen. Was given an email to contact on and promised I would be given an urgent response and never was. Lodged a formal complaints and am yet to receive a full explanation and apology for everything. Avoid like the plague. Would give no stars if I could

CL

Claire

5 Stars
5 Stars

19 September 2021

Purchases a prepaid card from my local Asda - service was fantastic, went through everything I needed to know - including the 12 month inactivity fee and what to do to avoid it! Had no issues with using it abroad. I found the app was a bit slow, (but my phone is a bit old!) -- the assistant had advised me that I would still be able to use the card as normal without the app so it wasn't a problem! Felt so much safer carrying a card around instead of a wad of cash, and I found quite a few places preferred card payments so was pleased I had it :)

RI

Rich

1 Stars
1 Stars

8 September 2021

Bought Euros

8 September 2021

Opening hours are listed on their website as 10am-6pm. I went 4 times to the Asda Fareham money exchange between these times and they weren't open once. Waste of time and won't bother with them in future. Unfortunately I will now need to pay more for currency either in the Airport or at our resort abroad. Thanks Asda, shame I couldn't award no stars!

CH

Christopher

1 Stars
1 Stars

26 July 2021

Organised a Travel Money Card for a holiday in Madeira.

When I tried to use it it did not recognise my Pin - checked Pin four times but still didn’t work

Can’t get into my account via App or on line

Took fours days with MasterCard to get a solution with money sent via Western Union

Asda was in no way proactive in helping but just passed the buck onto MasterCard. Their customer service was atrocious and I will escalating my concerns up to Senior Management.

Don’ t consider this card under any circumstance

RO

Robert

1 Stars
1 Stars

13 July 2021

just got card today , app doesnt recognise my account .unable to find any help or FAQs for this card .I have a really bad feeling and havent even used it yet.

WF

Wayne Forrest

1 Stars
1 Stars

24 March 2021

Absolute garbage, ept receiving Emails saying g "view recent activities on your account" can't login to my account (wouldn't accept my DOB and locked me out) called Asda money who couldn't help as its down to Mastercard, transferred me to someone who was very difficult to understand, I had to keep asking them to repeat themselves and without delay on the call we were talking over each other (very, very annoying) and when I eventually explained I needed to get into my account they cut me off. Going to cancell the card, wouldn't ever recommend.

RT

Rosemary Tiney

1 Stars
1 Stars

9 September 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

9 September 2020

One star too good for this dreadful card and the service that goes with it! I advised the customer service that I wanted to close the account on the 19/08/20 and refund my money into my bank account, I was advised 3-5 days, I’ve phoned numerous times and they couldn’t tell me anything, yesterday I phoned again and they said request rejected! They didn’t think to let me know!!! But couldn’t say why! She’s now put in a new request so we will see! Customer service dreadful can’t hear what they are saying and they are totally unsympathetic and not at all bothered about their in ability to get things right ... glad it was only a couple of hundred £ and not more!!

Write a review of ASDA

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?