Compare Holiday Money Logo

ASDA reviews

Poor 2.6 / 5

Based on 121 reviews Write Review

Andy

8th October 2018

Terrible service. Ordered Croatian Kuna to be collected on Saturday at 3pm. Upon arriving to collect the currency the member of staff told me it hadn’t turned up despite being giving a specific date and time and order over a week in advance. I had to cancel and request a refund as e are travel at the weekend but apparently the refund takes 2 to 10 working days to be credited to our account. In the meantime we are having to order more currency on credit card as it is doubtful the refund will turn up before we go away. Quick enough to take the money from our account but up to 2 working weeks to refund as absolutely disgusting. Abysmal service and appalling lack of communication. I made a formal complaint and not surprisingly have had no response. Will never use Asda again for either money or shopping.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Derrick

6th October 2018

Order online, pick up in store on selected date, after time stated, along with card used for purchase and D/L or Passport, In date, and no hassle. How some people make such an issue with collecting their currency I don't know.

Mumma

6th October 2018

Do not buy your travel money from Asda. They have a very low rate to start with. You have the option to pay a fee so when you return you can get the same rate for returning what you havent spent. Theyre excuse then is that they cant read the bar code and cannot override the system. So you have to take the lower buy back rate. To happen once you could appreciate they had problems but to happen three times becomes a con. So I went elsewhere for my buy back and got more than the original rate.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Liverbird

3rd October 2018

so far i'm not happy at all i ordered my euros to collect from the Widnes store and called at 9.30 am to be told the bureau would open at 10.00 am Adsa this is not acceptable, i called on my way to work and will now have to go back to the store if you advertise a time you should stick to it!!! there was a member of staff in the kiosk who told me the safe wouldn't open till 10.00 this is so inconvenient

  • I ordered £120.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Daniel

23rd September 2018

This is a terrible card. It's promoted as no-fee withdrawal but every ATM I used it at took out a 2 or 3 euro fee. In other words you are being charged to access your own money! Also some of the ATM machines I tried in Rhodes would not accept it. On top of that I notice - in very fine print at the back of the brochure - that there is a charge if you don't use the thing for 12 months. What cheek! Neither this nor the fact that there would be transaction fees for all cash withdrawals was explained to me when I picked the card up from Asda. Also very difficult to find out how to cancel the thing online. Going to cut mine up, and will just take cash next time - at least no one will be sneaking out 2 or 3 Euros from my wallet every time I open it.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Leanne

18th September 2018

I went to Asda for a cash passport card and had £700 euros placed into the account...or so I thought. The night before my holiday I decided to sign up to the online account, so I could check the funds whilst away (something I have never done before and used these cards without issue previously). Luckily I did this, as there was no funds in the account. Asda currency was shut and I was due to fly in the early hours. I was forced to contact cash passport directly and after one hour of being on hold and being told there was nothing they could do, I demanded to speak with a manager, I was told they could only place a minimum amount on the card until the issue was resolved with Asda. This was not completed until the second day of the holiday (after I chased this with emails). It was an extremely stressful experience and start to the holiday! I will be making a formal complaint to Asda!

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Simon

31st August 2018

Terrible, ordered Czech Koruna a week in advance only to find they weren't ordered, rang there complaints line, and first time got cut off, second time transferred to western union agent support.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Czech Koruna
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Jan

20th August 2018

I have just come back from a holiday in Spain. I used my Asda card with no problems. I didn't get a balance on the cash machines. It was always update online. Which I found really helpful. I was charged once by a cash machine. But that was €2.95, that was a cash machine in the street, not at a bank. I also liked the fact it isn't contactless. In Spain they don't have a £30 limit. So if I lost my card, it wouldn't of been any use without the pin. I would definitely use again.

  • I ordered £1700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Jeff baldwin

17th August 2018

I was unable to get a balance from any atm in Majorca so I could not see what was left on my card. I gave up trying to get a balance but then, when I went to withdraw cash, all of the banks, including a Santander branch, charged a fee. When choosing this card at Asda, I was told there would be no charges. This was wrong. This card is rubbish. If you have one, you should only use them to buy goods in stores. That’s all they are good for. I object to paying to get my own money, especially after researching the best exchange rates. I might as well use my Nationwide debit card as this charges less than Asda’s so called, fee free card!

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Wendy

13th August 2018

Very poor - ordered Kenyan Shillings and paid for buy back guarantee to safeguard myself- when I took spare notes back they would only accept those in mint condition. A complaint to Travelex led to them supporting the branch decision to carry out 'stringent checks' on the notes returned with no good justification for this not being explained on purchase.

  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Wendy Haynes

8th August 2018

Tried to return unused euros to the Asda in Widnes, to be told we can’t do it as we have no sterling as no one has paid cash to buy currency ???? I paid for the Euro’s on my debit card and they advised we can’t put it back on a debit card. Very poor service and won’t be using it again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Sonia

4th August 2018

I had a voucher for £5 off a £300 spend off a foreign transaction. I bought £300 worth of Turkish lira from ASDA Great Bridge. The cashier told me the £5 had been consolidated in the exchange rate to give me 6.20 TL to the £. This is a load of rubbish the exchange rates online were more than this. Next time getting my foreign currency in Turkey.i Sked for high denomination notes she still gave me loads of tens.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Bob Haze

4th August 2018

I uploaded funds ($6000) on a US dollar currency card to pay bills on my holiday. The “Asda Mastercard/currency card (purchased in instore) would - for reasons they still can’t explain - refuse payment to the merchants, yet still hold the funds. When I rang the advised customer service dept to complain, I’m treated like a retard and told it is the merchants that hold the funds and I have to wait until they process it or return it to the card which could take up to 10 days. I spent over 50 minutes asking the customer service rep to explain to me why the merchants would deny having the funds if indeed they have been paid. The customer service rep, whom I’m sure was not listening but reading from a script, just kept repeating that she had no explanation as to why the payment hadn’t gone through but the funds would be available to me within 10days. The funds were released to the merchants that following day. This happened on 3 separate occasions to airline company, cruise company and 1 of 3 hotels. That the payments were eventually honoured is cold comfort when you are compelled to spend a total of 3 hours on the phone asking the flippin questions. Would I use them again? Not before I tried another company which offers the same facilities.

  • I ordered £6000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Tracey

28th July 2018

Ordered £600 worth of Turkish lira to collect from guiseley store! Collected quickly with no problems ... Excellent :D

  • I ordered £600 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Riley Jay

27th July 2018

Ordered Euros online to collect I store after 3pm the next day , went to collect and the exchange desk was closed , we are flying tomorrow . Had to call the customer service number who told me I could collect from the travelex desk at the airport and they would call me back in an hour to give me a different reference number to collect them , that was 4 hours ago . Fuming .

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Rich

24th July 2018

Extremely poor, contacted customer services no reply. I had ordered a small amount of Mexican Peso and my wife went to collect she took her passport, my passport and the card I ordered with yet the cashier refused to serve her. Wasted journey and no response from customer services, we go away tomorrow so cannot collect now and I don't know how to get my money back.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Christine H

14th July 2018

Ordered 760 AUD online, for delivery on Monday; Delivered today Sat 14/7. Great exchange rate, good variety of notes and no fees. Overall great experience.

  • I ordered £760 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Danielle Robinson

12th July 2018

Ordered currency online. Didn't receive a confirmation email. Decided to chase it up to be told it was cancelled due to a problem with my payment card. Told to use a different card. Instead I rang the bank who told me there was no issue with my card. Money came out then went back into my account. Placed another order from somewhere else they werent getting another chance. Guess what then arrived. The asda money. They took the money from my bank again without telling me.. it's gone from being cancelled to suddenly turning up on my doorstep. Rang them up again to be told they'd just have to buy them back at the buy back rate I told them no I'll have a full refund because I was told it was cancelled then suddenly my money is out the bank and I have currency on my doorstep. They then agreed once they received the money back they'd refund the entire amount... still waiting of this refund. Sent the money back recorded next day delivery which they've received. An absolute joke! Never again will I trust or use asda.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

John

25th June 2018

Asda currency card purchased online. Collected in store after a long wait and signing several forms. Registered card online but it won't let me top up. Reason for purchase was easy topping up therefore card is useless. Customer services appaulling and based in Philippines. Unable to sort issue therefore I've started a complaint. Avoid Asda Currency Cards as they cannot be topped up online.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

John Buxton

24th June 2018

Ordered Asda currency card and tried to top up online before going on holiday. Website kept say unable to process your reload. Reading other reviews this has been like this for months. Call helpline which is in the Philippines and talk to them several times but they were useless. Don't bother ordering one of these cards use FairFX instead!

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Dave

19th June 2018

Rubbish, I wish I had never bothered, the exchange rate is good but I got 8000 pesos on mostly 100 peso bills, totally not what I asked for. Better to pay more and exchange in person I think.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Mexican Pesos
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

julie

28th May 2018

Terrible service experience - I never even used it in the end! Firstly the process of getting the card took ages in store, meaning I caused a massive queue behind me. I was given 2 cards when i only asked for one, but didn't want to further delay others so I just took it. When I tried to activate the card online apparently my details didn't match those keyed by the person in store. I notices that the online info said that adding money to your card can take between 24 hours and 5 days!!! When I phoned to complain I was on the phone for 30 minutes before someone could help me. Awful experience. I've immediately cancelled the card without even using it. I'm now with Monzo - in my view a much better, easier and instant experience. I highly recommend them.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy

Rob

27th May 2018

Terrible. Moron who sold it to me couldn't spell, so some of the security answers for setting it up were wrong. Then I went to top up while out of the country and their website refused my transaction even though my bank accepted it. AND THEN their customer service team ignored that issue and actually told me to go to a branch to top up (no ASDA in Sardinia unfortunately) or bank transfer which would take 3 days. A joke, frankly. Just going to use my debit card from now on.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Steve

16th May 2018

Initially I was quite impressed with my asda currency card, registered it ok and I was all set for my holiday. However I decided I needed more money to spend, not really wanting to use my credit card or current account card. Thought I'd try topping up my pre paid card.....what a joke, site down, unable to process, card not recognised. NOT using that again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Pete

6th May 2018

The exchange rate instore wasn’t good, but online rate was better. Clearly they put a admin charge when u come instore.. The customer service lady was quick & effifficient!!!

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of ASDA

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Fancy a European road trip?

Posted by Sam Stone on 9th October 2018

A road trip is the ultimate way to explore the bewildering beauty of any country. However, after toll charges and rental car fees, petrol costs can be one of the biggest holiday expenses. No one wants... read more

Paying for your Travel Money

Posted by Compare Holiday Money on 8th October 2018

Most UK travel money suppliers allow you to pay for your currency in a number of different ways. The payment method you choose is important because it affects whether or not you pay any extra fees during... read more

How to get better currency rates?

Have you ever bought currency exchange money and think… this is so terrible! Well we’re about to tell you how to get better currency rates and how to not feel like you’ve been ripped... read more

Pawnbrokers and travel money

Pawnbrokers and travel money don’t necessarily fit together on first thoughts, but certainly Ramsdens, H & T Pawnbrokers, Albermarle Bond and The Money Shop are big, well established companies that w... read more

Budget-stretching toll roads

Risking life and limb on foreign high-speed toll roads isn’t the best way to start a relaxing well-earned holiday. It is also an expensive way to burn through your hard-earned budget. In an ideal world, rea... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.