ASDA reviews

ASDA are rated Poor in 171 reviews

https://money.asda.com

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Last reviewed 3 weeks ago

28% of reviews are positive

Does not reply to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 40 reviews are rated 5 stars 23%
Great 8 reviews are rated 4 stars 5%
Average 4 reviews are rated 3 stars 2%
Poor 14 reviews are rated 2 stars 8%
Bad 105 reviews are rated 1 star 61%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarPrepaid CardTravel MoneyEurosUnited Arab Emirates dirhamUS dollarsCanadian dollarsAustralian dollars
DN

Do not use this travel card.

1 Stars
1 Stars

10 November 2022

Set our cards up on 22.10.22 ahead of our trip to Italy. We're told that it is easy and quick to top up so trusted the advisor and didnt test it before hand... why should we?... we then found out half way through our holiday that the cards were setup with some incorrect information and got an error message when trying to top up. On the first day of trying to sort the issue out, I was passed back and forth and hung up on multiple times by different customer service departments. Initally I was told the issue was maintenance the tech team did a week ago and that they could do nothing but raise a ticket for someone to contact me in 7 days... obviously that didnt help us as we were abroad with no way of topping up the card. After complaining I was put through to a "supervisor" who said they would do a "warm transfer" to Travel Ex but I waited on hold for 10 minutes only to be hung up on, when I called back again the same thing happened, when I called back AGAIN I was eventually put through to Travel Ex who advised us that the error we were getting was because our details were wrong on their system (the country of my address and the spelling of my partners first name) they told me that it would take 24hrs to resolve at which point we could try and top up and it should be fine; they even gave us specific UK times for the next day as the 24hr deadline. The next day came and we got the same error message. We called the company again, and AGAIN were passed from department to department and hung up on. We were then told we had to wait 48hrs for the changes to take effect, despite the fact the previous day we were told 24hrs.

We have now had to use our bank cards for the remainder of our holiday and have have raised a formal complaint.

Do not use this Travel card. Use the Post Office or Mastercard versions, which I have used previously and had no issues with.

YA

Yasmine Ancell

1 Stars
1 Stars

8 October 2022

Ordered approx £900 worth of travel money 2 weeks before flying. Received an email say it would be ready 2 days later than expected which wasn't a problem as it was still 3 days before we fly.

Arrived at ASDA to collect to be told they couldn't fulfil my order by might be able to next week.

Rang ASDA to try to find a solution. Staff were rude/unhelpful on the phone.

Emailed ASDA and received an email back, stating the order was cancelled but I had 'plenty of time to get more currency'. I had one working day, a Saturday.

On top of that, getting a refund isn't easy and takes 10 days.

So I'm currently £900 down, will be travelling to a cash heavy country with children and no cash in the hope I can find a cash point and I've had to borrow money to take with me.

WC

W Clifton

1 Stars
1 Stars

11 September 2022

Had a previous Asda currency card prior to covid and never had any issues. When went to top up was advised they had changed and no longer valid. No longer did joint cards and therefore had to pay £5 for second card. We wanted a 2nd card in case one was lost.

ATMs in Gran Canaria were charging between €4 & €7 to withdraw. 2nd day we requested €200 with €5 fee and no cash dispensed yet debited account. Made 2 calls both times being told I would have to wait until 8 days after to see if automatically went back in and if not would need to call again and they would then raise a dispute. Day 8 the transaction just disappeared from the mobile app and therefore account credited. Luckily we had sufficient funds otherwise being €200 short May have caused a major issue for spending money and could have ruined whole holiday. We will not look to use again and in future just use our normal bank debit card

AT

Ashley Taylor

1 Stars
1 Stars

7 September 2022

Absolute nightmare do not use this card. We tried withdraw 400 euros at an ATM in turkey and our card was declined. Did not receive any money we than realised we was charged on the app 400 euros when we had not received anything. Spoke to customer services who said there was nothing they could do we are now stranded in turkey without any money with two kids and a week left. To top this all of the time we spent on the phone with Asda travel we have been charged £180 for the calls. This is unbelievable and we will be taking this much further when we return as this is complete theft And totally illegal. DO NOT GET ONE OF THESE CARDS AS IT WILL RUIN YOUR HOLIDAY

PA

Peter Archer

1 Stars
1 Stars

3 September 2022

Appalling. The app does not work. Customer service dreadful. Do not use this card

GA

Gillian Atkinson

1 Stars
1 Stars

8 August 2022

Do not use this card.. lost £450 at a Turkish ATM .. it was a cloned machine.. ate my card then dispensed it to the fraudsters after l had left. Asda would not believe me or refund my money. Absolutely rubbish service.. im disgusted!!

CA

Card app freezes when you try to upload money

1 Stars
1 Stars

1 August 2022

In Florida currently trying to use this card!

Tried all day to add funds as we spread our money over different cards in case we lost one with the intention of topping it up from the others when we needed it. The app freezes whenever you try to top it up. Won’t use again.

JO

John

1 Stars
1 Stars

22 July 2022

Went in-store to order a prepaid currency card. All went well and I elected to have only £10 in Euros loaded, and proposed to top up myself just before I travelled. BIG mistake. The app allowed me to go all through the steps to 'reload' the card, then stalled, asking me not to leave the page. I eventually called into the helpline, who were very nice, kept apologising and eventually admitted the App was being updated, and that I could use the Web services to reload. The Web services allowed me, again to go through a the steps then at least told me that the top-up had failed and no monies taken from my acct. The 'reason' for failure is that there might be a problem at my bank. I wish I'd read these reviews before getting the card.

MB

Mike B

5 Stars
5 Stars

18 July 2022

No problems work ok in france ,and topped up ok.

RF

Rogers family

1 Stars
1 Stars

10 July 2022

Bloody awful. Never, ever again.

Website issues, card suspended for days and they wouldn't help. Try to talk to them about different issues but you get passed around like a packet of biscuits.

Finally speak to someone and the line is terrible and language barriers.

Don't do it!

Write a review of ASDA

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?