Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

ASDA reviews

Poor 2.9 / 5

Based on 77 reviews Write Review

Steven King

15th August 2017

I ordered my currency online, the confirmation e-mail I received stated that I could collect it any time from 2.00pm the following day. I arrived at the store at 2.10 to find the currency kiosk closed and a sign stating that it would re-open at 3.10. I waited over an hour to get my order and then had to join a queue at customer services to get a voucher for car parking as I had stayed for longer than an hour - this took a further 20 minutes. In all, one and a half hours to get my currency. I shall not be using ASDA again

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Traveller

28th July 2017

Dreadful - do not use ASDA home delivery. They use Royal Mail signed delivery, which is notoriously bad at handling your order when you are not in. Bottom line: if you miss the delivery, you cannot get your hands on your money until the next working day. In my case that means order missed on Friday, can't access it until Monday, flight leaves on Sunday. ASDA will not cancel order, so loose a ton of money as they will only 'buy it back', obviously for an unknown rip-off rate. STEER WELL CLEAR!

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Mel Walsingham

25th July 2017

This is the 2nd time I have used ASDA travel money, they always give competitive rates, this time they had the best rate around. Ordering was very easy and quick. The money arrived on the delivery date I wanted and with a suitable range of notes (only a couple of larger notes). I would definitely use ASDA money again and would recommend them to anyone.

  • I ordered £420 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Michael

21st July 2017

Excellent all round service. Ordered online. All terms and costs clearly indicated. No commission charges and no charges for using debit card. Money was available in store as promised and served by a very friendly chap.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Karen

19th July 2017

They charge a credit card fee as welll as an additional card fee by your provider. Although you get a message what it doesn't say is that it's 3% so for £500 charges £7 plus and additional £15!! Outrageous

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

mrs winn

17th July 2017

Ordered currency for home delivery on monday. Had the day off. The post office tried to delivery it on Saturday left a card (didnt know it was my currency as other items been ordered). First time po can redeliver tuesday. Will have already set off for my holiday.phoned customer services you should have read the small print and you have ticked the terms and conditions. Offered to refund money but not until tommorow!!!! Dont bother choosing a day for delivery .

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Ann

15th July 2017

Went in to Blackpool store today, woman behind counter just couldn't be bothered. I told her the rate I wanted which was not unreasonable. She was not interested or couldn't be bothered to serve me!! Left went next door and gotta a better rate than I expected. Definitely need to sort out your travel money counter out. Will not be returning again!

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

lindsey knight

10th July 2017

absolute rubbish. my passport was out of date but I was purchasing for my daughter who was going on a school trip. THEY FLATLY REFUSED TO GIVE ME THE EUROS even though they had taken my money 2 days before online!!!! then added insult to injury by telling me it would take 10 days to get back into my account!!!!!! NEVER DEAL WITH ASDA!!!!

  • I ordered £90.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Fiona

27th June 2017

Went especially to Asda in Motherwell for my euros and they didn't have any. Not exactly good management

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Dean

26th June 2017

My Father who is in his 70 s went in to his local Asda as it was recommended by someone who knew him and had saw the sign "we will beat any quote within 5 miles" . He swapped his £2,000 to euros only to discover later that afternoon that they were not the cheapest by far !!! He confronted the staff and the manager and was simply told to "refer to the terms and conditions " in much smaller writing below the sign . What an absolute Rip Off this company are !!! Asda claim it is not run by them but I am betting that it is under their corporate umbrella. I for one will be digging further but be warned .....EVEN IF YOU ASK IF IT IS THE BEST RATE THEY WILL SAY YES . THIS IS BECAUSE ITS THIER BEST RATE WITHOUT CHALLANGE !! Read the SMALL PRINT !!!!

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Jo

20th June 2017

Excellent service ordered Friday came on Saturday. Would use again.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Wendy Fraser

8th June 2017

Poor service. Cant deliver on time. Note to self always read the reviews before trying a different company. Asda you're way behind the currency service provided by Tesco & Sainsbury's. Attitude of customer telephone service also poor. Very much " the computer says no" attitude.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Clare Ross

8th June 2017

First time using their currency service. Very poor. Ordered a week ago for delivery today and didnt arrive. Phoned Asda to enquire who blamed Royal Mail!! Lady says there is a back log and they are working through telephone calls to customers who have ordered money - but they didn't call until I rang them today. Lesson learnt, stick to the companies who you know can provide a service and do it right, Asda isnt one of them that's for sure!!

  • I ordered £1200 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Rodrigo

13th May 2017

I got this card to go to US and pay the hotels too with it but was a big mistake. They said there's no commission on the change, I checked the real currency change and was about 3% cheaper than what I paid. If I wanted to get cash from cash machines in US there was a fee to pay. Other problem was that I tried to pay the hotels with that card but they don't accept it because it doesn't say my name in the card so I finish having to use my own card instead of the travel card. I finished because of that with half of the money spare in the card. When I tried to change back into pounds they were trying to charge me an unfair rate of about 10% of commission. The agent that sold the card didn't tell me that there is 30 days only after purchase to change back the money with the same rate. In conclusion it is a useless card with hidden charges.

  • I ordered £1200 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Julie swales

4th May 2017

Went to my local Asda currency kiosk on Friday 28th April the euro rate was 84p bought £501.72 they gave me €570 got home and thought that's not right turns out they charged me 88p per euro and they still short changed me by 11€ I looked at the post office and they would have given me €580 for less money I also looked online as to a rough amount of euros I should have got on Friday and it was €590 contacted Asda and they said it's not Asda it's travelex called head office and they said they were right and that's it

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Kate

10th March 2017

Brilliant service. Quick and easy. We ordered our polish zloty to be delivered to our home, and it came on time with no messing. Will definitely use this service again.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Polish Zloty
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

charlotte wells

2nd March 2017

Absolutely terrible experience. I ordered on line as it had one of the best rates and I had used a money card from the post office before (with no issues). Took an hour at the store for them to locate my order and issue my card. I travelled to Australia where I attempted to login online. They asked me security questions including which form of ID I had used to collect the money card. This was a driving licence but they disagreed and logged me out telling me that I had to call them to sort it out. As I was in Australia I decided not to. I transferred money from my bank account onto the card but it did not arrive. I called to chase it up and was put on hold twice for 30 minutes (international call) I was then told that the money card is dealt with by Travelex and they have no access to Asda's computer system. I had essentially lost £550 and i still have no idea how to get it back. My bank are trying and have confirmed that it is in an ASDA account but have received no response in two weeks from Asda. I have called to be passed from one department to another to then be put through to the complaints department who after nearly 30 mins on the phone tell me that they are MasterCard and only deal with the travel money and that they cannot help me to retrieve the lost money as it is not in one of their accounts. I have emailed Asda with my complaint and they have told me on three occasions that somebody would be in touch. They haven't. I have also given my details on a number of occasions to the complaints department and they have promised that a supervisor will call me. They haven't. Whilst on holiday I had to make regular calls to Mastercard to upload my card and I made a number of withdrawals from my bank account incurring fees. What an nightmare and disappointment.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Dawn

24th February 2017

Ordered online easily. Checked various suppliers and the rate was best for this less-used currency. Money was there to collect and fairly easy. No way to choose denominations though. Would use the service again.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Kenyan Shillings
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Glenn Hodgson

23rd January 2017

This Rating is directed to travelex based in this store and Asda customer service. Travelex (working on behalf of Asda) promised and did not deliver the correct denominations of currency. They do not dispute this. This was followed by poor service which was bad enough, and wasted enough time, to spur this negative review. If you want fixed denomination currency or good service I suggest you do not use Asda Money (travelex)

  • I ordered £300 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Nigel Caine

21st January 2017

Ordered online, went to Store. No hassle. Wolverhampton rules

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Dave

24th December 2016

Asda clearly state "Find a better rate within 5 miles and we'll beat it!" So I did find a better rate within 5 miles, and they couldn't beat it. So I'm pretty sure this is false advertising. First and last time I'll be using them.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

sundance kid

23rd November 2016

ordered 200 euros over the phone and to pick up from store 2 days later. got to store with reference number,airline transport pilots licence,high security airport pass,utility bill with address on,ehic card and the debit card which i used to pay over the phone and guess what."sorry but we can't give you the money as those documents are not acceptable" we need a passport or a drivers licence" all for a puny 200 euros!!!!!!!!!! applied for refund which can take up to 10 days!!!!! drove to tesco and went to money exchange and got 200 euros with a debit card in less than 1 minute. No brainer------go anywhere but asda

  • I ordered £175.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

David

19th November 2016

Ordered Iceland Krona and Euro 2 weeks in advance online - the online rates are always slightly better than instore - the same as ANY of the other foreign money sellers. Received e-mail the day before I'd requested to say money was ready for collecting. Took valid photo ID (passport or UK driving licence) and the bank card I'd used to order it with me as proof that it is my money and collected it no problem. Very friendly staff member.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Dev

20th October 2016

I went to the nearby ASDA today to by a prepaid debit card after talking to some one on phone. Firstly the in store rate was different. Second, I stood in front of counter where two ladies were busy counting money. They not only ignored me for a while but also answered without courtesy and interst after I knocked on the glass to get their attention. As it appeared the microphone was switched off. When I spoke to the store manager he informed me that although the name is ASDA money, it is not actually an ASDA product. Eventually I did not buy the card or cash from them this time. I don't think I will buy from these guys in future too.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

SJ

4th October 2016

I bought a prepaid currency card from Asda and deposited money. This was done in store and the card has never been used. I hadn't received any correspondence for a while so I phoned to enquire and was told I was not the cardholder and to go back to the shop in which it was bought. Asda were extremely unhelpful and refused to speak to me about my account despite the fact I had in my possession all the paperwork and receipt for the account. I find it peculiar and worrying that this issue did not raise any concern to the member of staff. I went to the ATM and all the money has gone from the account. I phoned the company again and was told I wasn't the account holder so they wouldn't speak to me about the account. The only option was to complain in an e-mail with an expected wait time of 8 weeks. Essentially they have allowed the details on my account to be changed without my authorisation. This card had never been used and has been kept secure. No part of this transaction has occured online or through e-mails. I can only assume that every account can be easily compromised. I am surprised it isn't standard procedure to ensure that any change of details be notified to the name and address on the account. Nobody enjoys the moment they realise money has been stolen from them but it is very concerning that security is so weak and that you can be frozen out of your account without any suspicion being raised even after you tell them about it! If you like being robbed and called a liar then get one I suppose.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Write a review of ASDA

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Hotel WiFi – How to stay safe

Hotel WiFi – How to stay safe

Posted by Holly Burgess on 16th August 2017

Being on holiday is the ultimate break away from our busy working lives. Some people use this as an opportunity to take a break from their devices. Those who are abroad for a long term trip may use the internet read more

Overseas festival essentials

Overseas festival essentials

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 11th August 2017

The weather in the in the UK might be misleading, but summer isn’t over yet and we certainly haven’t seen the back of festival season. So before you get your wooly coat and thermal socks out, some o read more