Compare Holiday Money Logo

ASDA reviews

Poor 2.6 / 5

Based on 112 reviews Write Review

Wendy

13th August 2018

Very poor - ordered Kenyan Shillings and paid for buy back guarantee to safeguard myself- when I took spare notes back they would only accept those in mint condition. A complaint to Travelex led to them supporting the branch decision to carry out 'stringent checks' on the notes returned with no good justification for this not being explained on purchase.

  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Wendy Haynes

8th August 2018

Tried to return unused euros to the Asda in Widnes, to be told we can’t do it as we have no sterling as no one has paid cash to buy currency ???? I paid for the Euro’s on my debit card and they advised we can’t put it back on a debit card. Very poor service and won’t be using it again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Sonia

4th August 2018

I had a voucher for £5 off a £300 spend off a foreign transaction. I bought £300 worth of Turkish lira from ASDA Great Bridge. The cashier told me the £5 had been consolidated in the exchange rate to give me 6.20 TL to the £. This is a load of rubbish the exchange rates online were more than this. Next time getting my foreign currency in Turkey.i Sked for high denomination notes she still gave me loads of tens.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Bob Haze

4th August 2018

I uploaded funds ($6000) on a US dollar currency card to pay bills on my holiday. The “Asda Mastercard/currency card (purchased in instore) would - for reasons they still can’t explain - refuse payment to the merchants, yet still hold the funds. When I rang the advised customer service dept to complain, I’m treated like a retard and told it is the merchants that hold the funds and I have to wait until they process it or return it to the card which could take up to 10 days. I spent over 50 minutes asking the customer service rep to explain to me why the merchants would deny having the funds if indeed they have been paid. The customer service rep, whom I’m sure was not listening but reading from a script, just kept repeating that she had no explanation as to why the payment hadn’t gone through but the funds would be available to me within 10days. The funds were released to the merchants that following day. This happened on 3 separate occasions to airline company, cruise company and 1 of 3 hotels. That the payments were eventually honoured is cold comfort when you are compelled to spend a total of 3 hours on the phone asking the flippin questions. Would I use them again? Not before I tried another company which offers the same facilities.

  • I ordered £6000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Tracey

28th July 2018

Ordered £600 worth of Turkish lira to collect from guiseley store! Collected quickly with no problems ... Excellent :D

  • I ordered £600 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Riley Jay

27th July 2018

Ordered Euros online to collect I store after 3pm the next day , went to collect and the exchange desk was closed , we are flying tomorrow . Had to call the customer service number who told me I could collect from the travelex desk at the airport and they would call me back in an hour to give me a different reference number to collect them , that was 4 hours ago . Fuming .

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Rich

24th July 2018

Extremely poor, contacted customer services no reply. I had ordered a small amount of Mexican Peso and my wife went to collect she took her passport, my passport and the card I ordered with yet the cashier refused to serve her. Wasted journey and no response from customer services, we go away tomorrow so cannot collect now and I don't know how to get my money back.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Christine H

14th July 2018

Ordered 760 AUD online, for delivery on Monday; Delivered today Sat 14/7. Great exchange rate, good variety of notes and no fees. Overall great experience.

  • I ordered £760 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Danielle Robinson

12th July 2018

Ordered currency online. Didn't receive a confirmation email. Decided to chase it up to be told it was cancelled due to a problem with my payment card. Told to use a different card. Instead I rang the bank who told me there was no issue with my card. Money came out then went back into my account. Placed another order from somewhere else they werent getting another chance. Guess what then arrived. The asda money. They took the money from my bank again without telling me.. it's gone from being cancelled to suddenly turning up on my doorstep. Rang them up again to be told they'd just have to buy them back at the buy back rate I told them no I'll have a full refund because I was told it was cancelled then suddenly my money is out the bank and I have currency on my doorstep. They then agreed once they received the money back they'd refund the entire amount... still waiting of this refund. Sent the money back recorded next day delivery which they've received. An absolute joke! Never again will I trust or use asda.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

John

25th June 2018

Asda currency card purchased online. Collected in store after a long wait and signing several forms. Registered card online but it won't let me top up. Reason for purchase was easy topping up therefore card is useless. Customer services appaulling and based in Philippines. Unable to sort issue therefore I've started a complaint. Avoid Asda Currency Cards as they cannot be topped up online.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

John Buxton

24th June 2018

Ordered Asda currency card and tried to top up online before going on holiday. Website kept say unable to process your reload. Reading other reviews this has been like this for months. Call helpline which is in the Philippines and talk to them several times but they were useless. Don't bother ordering one of these cards use FairFX instead!

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Dave

19th June 2018

Rubbish, I wish I had never bothered, the exchange rate is good but I got 8000 pesos on mostly 100 peso bills, totally not what I asked for. Better to pay more and exchange in person I think.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Mexican Pesos
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

julie

28th May 2018

Terrible service experience - I never even used it in the end! Firstly the process of getting the card took ages in store, meaning I caused a massive queue behind me. I was given 2 cards when i only asked for one, but didn't want to further delay others so I just took it. When I tried to activate the card online apparently my details didn't match those keyed by the person in store. I notices that the online info said that adding money to your card can take between 24 hours and 5 days!!! When I phoned to complain I was on the phone for 30 minutes before someone could help me. Awful experience. I've immediately cancelled the card without even using it. I'm now with Monzo - in my view a much better, easier and instant experience. I highly recommend them.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy

Rob

27th May 2018

Terrible. Moron who sold it to me couldn't spell, so some of the security answers for setting it up were wrong. Then I went to top up while out of the country and their website refused my transaction even though my bank accepted it. AND THEN their customer service team ignored that issue and actually told me to go to a branch to top up (no ASDA in Sardinia unfortunately) or bank transfer which would take 3 days. A joke, frankly. Just going to use my debit card from now on.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Steve

16th May 2018

Initially I was quite impressed with my asda currency card, registered it ok and I was all set for my holiday. However I decided I needed more money to spend, not really wanting to use my credit card or current account card. Thought I'd try topping up my pre paid card.....what a joke, site down, unable to process, card not recognised. NOT using that again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Pete

6th May 2018

The exchange rate instore wasn’t good, but online rate was better. Clearly they put a admin charge when u come instore.. The customer service lady was quick & effifficient!!!

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Barry

4th May 2018

Ordered Croatian Kuna in store on Monday; told to collect after 2pm on Friday. Went to store at correct time but cashier said money was not there. He would look into the matter and call if money located but I should try again on Saturday (when it later transpired that he would not be on duty.) Happened be shopping in store later that day so asked at kiosk if cashier had been able to find the Kuna, but no joy. Also no reassurance that they would resolve the issue by Monday when I went on holiday. At this point my wife intervened and inisted that the manager be contacted to give some confidence that the matter would be looked into and resolved by Monday. Only at this point did the cashier bother to make a proper search and found that the money had been there all the time! No apology, no interest, the cashier was only covering t this store for the day and clearly knew that after his shift it would be somone else's problem. A service organisation is only as good as its front line staff and in this case the service was awful.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Desmond

3rd May 2018

Collected euro currency card April 27th got home was unable to top up online due to Asda site reporting unable to process try again later message. Im told it is been looked at and this is not Asda fault but mastercard system. I tried a telephone load of card was told by card services I cant due to system upgrade and started to get frustrated however this has now been resolved an I have preformed a top via telephone services. I have also managed to transfer funds from bank account to card via online banking transfers took 2 days. All in all Im happy with card due to fact taking my debt card to get chewed in machine or losing it while on Hol frightens the life out me least with this currency card it acts as extra piece of mind because I was also issued with free additional card if one asks for it during instore order or ticks additional card box during online order in case 1 lost. I also like the way Asda do not charge anyfee like some other currency card suppliers for ATM withdraw. Im not going to give bad review on the teething issues I had or fact as of writing this I still cant preform online top up as Im sure it will sort itself out soon enough. The asda staff Asda money have been very helpful to resolve my issue and query so for me its all a thumbs up. As for the fees all one has to do is use the card once in a 13 mth period to not be charged activity fee this includes top it up. with draw even from a UK ATM or even buy something on ebay with it for £1 and its wont be trigger inactive an a 2 euro fee taking

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Elaine Kay

30th April 2018

went into branch to get travel card ( prepaid currency ) I am now wanting to top up online and keep getting message saying can not process your request at this time please try later. Been trying now for 2 days. Rang up and got no help whatsoever. HIGHLY DISSAPOINTED

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Paul

5th April 2018

Do not load up euros on this card unless you plan to use all of them on your next holiday. I have lost over 50€ in monthly fees of 3€ a time for not using my card. Nowhere was this explained to me on on the purchase of said card!????

  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Rav

2nd April 2018

Decent rate at Asda, able to use card abroad easily. However, unable to check balance or top up card online (at ATM). Pretty frustrating.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Emily Brown

28th March 2018

Thought it was good as the exchange rate was better than Sainsbury's and could order online however having used the Sainsbury's currency card previously I can tell you asda is not worth the extra currency you receive card won't reload and rather than an easy to use app it's a pain in the arse website load of shite won't be using again. Tried to phone helpline staff were unhelpful and hung up on me.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Wendy

26th February 2018

Ordered currency last Wednesday for collection at store today 3pm. Phone call this morning -they can’t fulfill my order??? They also can’t repay my money until close of business tomorrow. After insisting on speaking to a manager I was told at 12:30 funds would be in my account in 15 minutes. Over 2 hours later still waiting for refund. Will never use again.!

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of Barbados Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others

Julie

23rd February 2018

Very happy with service, ordered online for home delivery, received prompt email to say currency sent out on delivery, arrived on date I requested with good mix of denominations.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Christine

9th January 2018

Bought a currency card for emergency funds for a trip to Nepal. Asked for a Sterling card but didn’t realise until I got home that they’d given me a US Dollar one. Couldn’t get back to store so telephoned the helpline. Was told my only option was to cash it out, losing £18. Totally incompetent staff and now lost money due to their mistake!

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would not recommend ASDA to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of ASDA

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Asda Travel Money Rates Compared

Posted by Graham Morley on 7th August 2018

Asda, like all the major supermarkets will sell you travel money with your baked beans and fish fingers. So how do Asda travel money rates compare to other brands? We know them and trust them and it’s f... read more

Self-catered holiday vs Hotel

Posted by Sam Stone on 6th August 2018

A hotel based inclusive deal can make as much financial sense as a self-catered holiday. So how can you choose between them? For some travellers, there is an obvious choice. Total immersion in hotel life... read more

Is It Worth It To Hire A Car On Your Trips?

This thought probably comes across your mind a lot… “Should I hire a car or should I go with public transport?” Someone who’s got a small budget like me probably would not even... read more

The Falmouth Falcons Quidditch Update: Summer 2018

With the 2017-18 QuidditchUK season coming to a close, all in all it’s been a good year for the Falmouth Falcons, Cornwall’s finest quidditch team. Early success in October at the Highlander Cup in Edi... read more

Thomas Cook Travel Money Rates Compared

Thomas Cook, Thomson and First Choice like all travel agents and holiday companies have a captive market when it comes to selling currency. You know them and trust them, you get a great deal on your holiday... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.