ASDA reviews

130 Reviews Poor | 2.5

ASDA

https://money.asda.com

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Write a review

Peter Manson

6 June 2019

Bought Canadian dollars

6 June 2019

Been twice never have the currency in stock , pointless having these booths in store unless you want euros forget it.

Ian

6 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

6 June 2019

Poor .. have used prepaid currency cards for years , for euros us and au dollars. I always order currency on line and get it added to my card at the bureau. I ordered €240 and paid online . Went to the store with my currency card to have the amount added on. But no I was told I had to have a new card as I had ticked the wrong box !! I was told they couldn’t add it to my existing card as a new card had been issued. After a heated exchange I admitted defeat, and accepted the card. Then found the card had not been issued or loaded and had to be started from scratch. At home I contacted the asda card services to try and consolidate the balances onto one card they could not help and to contact cashpassport the firm that oversees the service, which leaves you the only option of talking to someone at the other end of the earth with limited grasp of the english language. Needless to say I will not be using this service ever again.

christine randall

14 April 2019

Bought £1000 worth of Euros

14 April 2019

I have used this card for years without any problems. I reload by phone and it's very good service. As I use the card for two trips to Spain per year I have never incurred charges. You can't ge a balance enquiry at ATM machines in Spain but then again you can't get a balance on any bank card but it's not a problem as I check on on my registered account online. I like it that you can't go overdrawn. I simply top up over the phone if finds get low. The only thing I find frustrating is I cannot find anywhere that explains precisely any fees or charges that occur if you do not use the card for a year. Other than that it is excellent and I love the fact I do not have to carry large amounts of cash.

Tracy Allen

5 April 2019

I purchased a Multi Trip policy for a couple

5 April 2019

Shamefully bad customer service! I purchased the platinum level cover on an annual policy, thinking that a massive company like ASDA would offer a reasonably good policy. WRONG! My claim was fairly simple and I followed all the correct procedures and submitted all the documents they asked for. Nearly 2 months later my claim has still not been settled and my emails and calls are not responded to. I will be finding out who the ombudsman is and reporting this to them. Absolutely DISGUSTING service - obviously WILL NEVER USE AGAIN!

Zoltarne

22 March 2019

I transferred Hungarian Forints to Hungary

22 March 2019

I went to Park Royal asda today with my husband, and wanted to send money to Hungary. My husband gave his driving licence, and I wanted to pay with my bankcard. The travel money manager told me I can not pay, because it wasn't my ID. I said fine, I take some cash from the ATM. He said it is not allowed, I can not pay with cash either!!!!Because it is my money, not his!!!???? Who has heard such a nonsense??? It is very disappointing how we were discriminated!!!And he called himself a travel money manager!

Sara

16 March 2019

Bought £1009 worth of Euros

16 March 2019

Rubbish ordered euros for collection today but couldn’t get because their system was down. And they don’t know when it will be back up and running. So wouldn’t issue them although I paid for them online.

Dave

7 January 2019

7 January 2019

The exchange rate is good (but not the best). I only used Asda because i knew i would be near the store and thought it would be easy to collect, but when i arrived at 9:20 I found a note saying "Back at 10". So i hung around until 10 and started queuing again. At 10 past a member of staff asked if i was waiting for the currency counter, when I confirmed that I was they said it won't be open for another 20 minutes. No apology and no explanation. I didn't wait to see as there was no guarantee that the counter would be open then. I'll try again later...

Virginia

3 December 2018

3 December 2018

Tried numerous times to register the card but was informed that the card was not recognised so gave up. As a consequence l was unable to load any more money on to it but thankfully I was able to use what I had previously loaded. I am unable to find out how much I have left on the card which is very annoying, made a call to customer services which resulted in a call to lndia and was asked for the card number and PIN number which I replied " are you having a laugh " and promptly ended the call. This is an absolute rubbish card.

Sam

21 November 2018

21 November 2018

It doesn’t deliver your money to every branch - the available stores are advtised 24/7 service; until you are in the 24/7 location you will then be told the currency exchanger only open till 6PM and it is never been mentioned on your online booking receipt. The best is if you asked ASDA customer service team via email you will be referred to read their T&C carefully despite it’s so simple and easy for them just indicate the service hours on the slip - speechless service quality provided.

Andy

8 October 2018

8 October 2018

Terrible service. Ordered Croatian Kuna to be collected on Saturday at 3pm. Upon arriving to collect the currency the member of staff told me it hadn’t turned up despite being giving a specific date and time and order over a week in advance. I had to cancel and request a refund as e are travel at the weekend but apparently the refund takes 2 to 10 working days to be credited to our account. In the meantime we are having to order more currency on credit card as it is doubtful the refund will turn up before we go away. Quick enough to take the money from our account but up to 2 working weeks to refund as absolutely disgusting. Abysmal service and appalling lack of communication. I made a formal complaint and not surprisingly have had no response. Will never use Asda again for either money or shopping.

Write a review of ASDA

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?