Compare Holiday Money Logo

ASDA reviews

Average 2.7 / 5

Based on 100 reviews Write Review

julie

28th May 2018

Terrible service experience - I never even used it in the end! Firstly the process of getting the card took ages in store, meaning I caused a massive queue behind me. I was given 2 cards when i only asked for one, but didn't want to further delay others so I just took it. When I tried to activate the card online apparently my details didn't match those keyed by the person in store. I notices that the online info said that adding money to your card can take between 24 hours and 5 days!!! When I phoned to complain I was on the phone for 30 minutes before someone could help me. Awful experience. I've immediately cancelled the card without even using it. I'm now with Monzo - in my view a much better, easier and instant experience. I highly recommend them.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy

Rob

27th May 2018

Terrible. Moron who sold it to me couldn't spell, so some of the security answers for setting it up were wrong. Then I went to top up while out of the country and their website refused my transaction even though my bank accepted it. AND THEN their customer service team ignored that issue and actually told me to go to a branch to top up (no ASDA in Sardinia unfortunately) or bank transfer which would take 3 days. A joke, frankly. Just going to use my debit card from now on.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Steve

16th May 2018

Initially I was quite impressed with my asda currency card, registered it ok and I was all set for my holiday. However I decided I needed more money to spend, not really wanting to use my credit card or current account card. Thought I'd try topping up my pre paid card.....what a joke, site down, unable to process, card not recognised. NOT using that again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Pete

6th May 2018

The exchange rate instore wasn’t good, but online rate was better. Clearly they put a admin charge when u come instore.. The customer service lady was quick & effifficient!!!

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Barry

4th May 2018

Ordered Croatian Kuna in store on Monday; told to collect after 2pm on Friday. Went to store at correct time but cashier said money was not there. He would look into the matter and call if money located but I should try again on Saturday (when it later transpired that he would not be on duty.) Happened be shopping in store later that day so asked at kiosk if cashier had been able to find the Kuna, but no joy. Also no reassurance that they would resolve the issue by Monday when I went on holiday. At this point my wife intervened and inisted that the manager be contacted to give some confidence that the matter would be looked into and resolved by Monday. Only at this point did the cashier bother to make a proper search and found that the money had been there all the time! No apology, no interest, the cashier was only covering t this store for the day and clearly knew that after his shift it would be somone else's problem. A service organisation is only as good as its front line staff and in this case the service was awful.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Desmond

3rd May 2018

Collected euro currency card April 27th got home was unable to top up online due to Asda site reporting unable to process try again later message. Im told it is been looked at and this is not Asda fault but mastercard system. I tried a telephone load of card was told by card services I cant due to system upgrade and started to get frustrated however this has now been resolved an I have preformed a top via telephone services. I have also managed to transfer funds from bank account to card via online banking transfers took 2 days. All in all Im happy with card due to fact taking my debt card to get chewed in machine or losing it while on Hol frightens the life out me least with this currency card it acts as extra piece of mind because I was also issued with free additional card if one asks for it during instore order or ticks additional card box during online order in case 1 lost. I also like the way Asda do not charge anyfee like some other currency card suppliers for ATM withdraw. Im not going to give bad review on the teething issues I had or fact as of writing this I still cant preform online top up as Im sure it will sort itself out soon enough. The asda staff Asda money have been very helpful to resolve my issue and query so for me its all a thumbs up. As for the fees all one has to do is use the card once in a 13 mth period to not be charged activity fee this includes top it up. with draw even from a UK ATM or even buy something on ebay with it for £1 and its wont be trigger inactive an a 2 euro fee taking

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Elaine Kay

30th April 2018

went into branch to get travel card ( prepaid currency ) I am now wanting to top up online and keep getting message saying can not process your request at this time please try later. Been trying now for 2 days. Rang up and got no help whatsoever. HIGHLY DISSAPOINTED

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Paul

5th April 2018

Do not load up euros on this card unless you plan to use all of them on your next holiday. I have lost over 50€ in monthly fees of 3€ a time for not using my card. Nowhere was this explained to me on on the purchase of said card!????

  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Rav

2nd April 2018

Decent rate at Asda, able to use card abroad easily. However, unable to check balance or top up card online (at ATM). Pretty frustrating.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Emily Brown

28th March 2018

Thought it was good as the exchange rate was better than Sainsbury's and could order online however having used the Sainsbury's currency card previously I can tell you asda is not worth the extra currency you receive card won't reload and rather than an easy to use app it's a pain in the arse website load of shite won't be using again. Tried to phone helpline staff were unhelpful and hung up on me.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Wendy

26th February 2018

Ordered currency last Wednesday for collection at store today 3pm. Phone call this morning -they can’t fulfill my order??? They also can’t repay my money until close of business tomorrow. After insisting on speaking to a manager I was told at 12:30 funds would be in my account in 15 minutes. Over 2 hours later still waiting for refund. Will never use again.!

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of Barbados Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Julie

23rd February 2018

Very happy with service, ordered online for home delivery, received prompt email to say currency sent out on delivery, arrived on date I requested with good mix of denominations.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Christine

9th January 2018

Bought a currency card for emergency funds for a trip to Nepal. Asked for a Sterling card but didn’t realise until I got home that they’d given me a US Dollar one. Couldn’t get back to store so telephoned the helpline. Was told my only option was to cash it out, losing £18. Totally incompetent staff and now lost money due to their mistake!

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Nick Lilburn

13th November 2017

Tried the ASDA currency card for extra security and oh what a mistake that has turned out to be. We are in South Africa and the money has gone from our card and none of the contact phone numbers work. Tried email but they tell me to call the numbers. Big disappointment, cash only next time

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

mike

4th November 2017

Do not use if you expect the travel money to be there when you go to collect it. Do not use unless you want to do this at asda's convenience not yours. Do not use if you need the travel money for a specific date of travel.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Douglas

6th October 2017

The rate was good, the large envelope arrived on time. Seventy small denomination notes were included, the equivalent of £1 and £2 coins, why on earth would anyone want such small denominations? If you use Asda specify that you don't want worthless pieces of paper included.

  • I ordered £740 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

June

22nd September 2017

First time ordering currency from Asda. I did it over the phone and it was straight forward,speedy service delivered by post office on time stated.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Keith

22nd September 2017

I chose Asda because the rate was better than any other locally and it was more convenient to pick it up from their supermarket. Unfortunately I ordered it for a week later than I needed it. They rearranged the delivery very calmly and professionally.

  • I ordered £600 worth of New Zealand Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Chris

17th September 2017

I have used Asda for the last 4 years, always order on line as the exchange rate is better than in store(as with all providers I have checked). Money always ready to collect on the day requested,it states on line that you need to take the card you used for payment and valid(in date) ID with you. I've never had a problem. Staff in Aintree store always polite.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Dee

12th September 2017

I bought a travel money card from Asda, Our holiday was cancelled due to hurricane irma, I have rang regarding getting a refund but will loose about £150.00, I was told as it was an on-line purchase I had a fourteen day cooling off period but then was told as I collected the card in store it was classed as a store purchase. My sons bought theirs from Thomson who use FX not travelex and they were given full refund evan though they bought them in store. Do Not Use this card complany.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Karen

8th September 2017

I bought 125 Australian Dollars online. When I went to the store to collect I was told that they did not have correct denominations. I was told that I could make it up to 130 or have it refunded. I agreed to pay £3.16 to make it up to 130 but when I handed over my card I was told it was £5 minimum spend. I had no cash on me. I was told only option was to refund the whole lot to me.

  • I ordered £80.00 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Christine

7th September 2017

Ordered one day picked up the next. Good rate .Will definitely do it again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Steven King

15th August 2017

I ordered my currency online, the confirmation e-mail I received stated that I could collect it any time from 2.00pm the following day. I arrived at the store at 2.10 to find the currency kiosk closed and a sign stating that it would re-open at 3.10. I waited over an hour to get my order and then had to join a queue at customer services to get a voucher for car parking as I had stayed for longer than an hour - this took a further 20 minutes. In all, one and a half hours to get my currency. I shall not be using ASDA again

  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Traveller

28th July 2017

Dreadful - do not use ASDA home delivery. They use Royal Mail signed delivery, which is notoriously bad at handling your order when you are not in. Bottom line: if you miss the delivery, you cannot get your hands on your money until the next working day. In my case that means order missed on Friday, can't access it until Monday, flight leaves on Sunday. ASDA will not cancel order, so loose a ton of money as they will only 'buy it back', obviously for an unknown rip-off rate. STEER WELL CLEAR!

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Mel Walsingham

25th July 2017

This is the 2nd time I have used ASDA travel money, they always give competitive rates, this time they had the best rate around. Ordering was very easy and quick. The money arrived on the delivery date I wanted and with a suitable range of notes (only a couple of larger notes). I would definitely use ASDA money again and would recommend them to anyone.

  • I ordered £420 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Write a review of ASDA

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

  • A roundup of the latest exchange rates and currency deals
  • Hand-picked special offers on travel and holiday extras
  • Helpful and informative travel blogs written by our in-house team
Russian love-lock fever

Russian love-lock fever

Posted by Sam Stone on 14th June 2018

As a midsummer dream is played out on Russia’s football fields, echoes of Shakespeare’s themes of undying love are evident elsewhere in Moscow’s iron heart. On Luzhkov Bridge, love-lock fever read more

City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 7th June 2018

Cities or country sides? I don’t know which one you like more but these are what you would notice if you’ve lived in both like myself. But for you all who have lived in only one of them then here ar read more