Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

ASDA reviews

Poor 2.9 / 5

Based on 86 reviews Write Review

Nick Lilburn

13th November 2017

Tried the ASDA currency card for extra security and oh what a mistake that has turned out to be. We are in South Africa and the money has gone from our card and none of the contact phone numbers work. Tried email but they tell me to call the numbers. Big disappointment, cash only next time

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

mike

4th November 2017

Do not use if you expect the travel money to be there when you go to collect it. Do not use unless you want to do this at asda's convenience not yours. Do not use if you need the travel money for a specific date of travel.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Douglas

6th October 2017

The rate was good, the large envelope arrived on time. Seventy small denomination notes were included, the equivalent of £1 and £2 coins, why on earth would anyone want such small denominations? If you use Asda specify that you don't want worthless pieces of paper included.

  • I ordered £740 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

June

22nd September 2017

First time ordering currency from Asda. I did it over the phone and it was straight forward,speedy service delivered by post office on time stated.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Keith

22nd September 2017

I chose Asda because the rate was better than any other locally and it was more convenient to pick it up from their supermarket. Unfortunately I ordered it for a week later than I needed it. They rearranged the delivery very calmly and professionally.

  • I ordered £600 worth of New Zealand Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Chris

17th September 2017

I have used Asda for the last 4 years, always order on line as the exchange rate is better than in store(as with all providers I have checked). Money always ready to collect on the day requested,it states on line that you need to take the card you used for payment and valid(in date) ID with you. I've never had a problem. Staff in Aintree store always polite.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Dee

12th September 2017

I bought a travel money card from Asda, Our holiday was cancelled due to hurricane irma, I have rang regarding getting a refund but will loose about £150.00, I was told as it was an on-line purchase I had a fourteen day cooling off period but then was told as I collected the card in store it was classed as a store purchase. My sons bought theirs from Thomson who use FX not travelex and they were given full refund evan though they bought them in store. Do Not Use this card complany.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Karen

8th September 2017

I bought 125 Australian Dollars online. When I went to the store to collect I was told that they did not have correct denominations. I was told that I could make it up to 130 or have it refunded. I agreed to pay £3.16 to make it up to 130 but when I handed over my card I was told it was £5 minimum spend. I had no cash on me. I was told only option was to refund the whole lot to me.

  • I ordered £80.00 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Christine

7th September 2017

Ordered one day picked up the next. Good rate .Will definitely do it again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Steven King

15th August 2017

I ordered my currency online, the confirmation e-mail I received stated that I could collect it any time from 2.00pm the following day. I arrived at the store at 2.10 to find the currency kiosk closed and a sign stating that it would re-open at 3.10. I waited over an hour to get my order and then had to join a queue at customer services to get a voucher for car parking as I had stayed for longer than an hour - this took a further 20 minutes. In all, one and a half hours to get my currency. I shall not be using ASDA again

  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Traveller

28th July 2017

Dreadful - do not use ASDA home delivery. They use Royal Mail signed delivery, which is notoriously bad at handling your order when you are not in. Bottom line: if you miss the delivery, you cannot get your hands on your money until the next working day. In my case that means order missed on Friday, can't access it until Monday, flight leaves on Sunday. ASDA will not cancel order, so loose a ton of money as they will only 'buy it back', obviously for an unknown rip-off rate. STEER WELL CLEAR!

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Mel Walsingham

25th July 2017

This is the 2nd time I have used ASDA travel money, they always give competitive rates, this time they had the best rate around. Ordering was very easy and quick. The money arrived on the delivery date I wanted and with a suitable range of notes (only a couple of larger notes). I would definitely use ASDA money again and would recommend them to anyone.

  • I ordered £420 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Michael

21st July 2017

Excellent all round service. Ordered online. All terms and costs clearly indicated. No commission charges and no charges for using debit card. Money was available in store as promised and served by a very friendly chap.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Karen

19th July 2017

They charge a credit card fee as welll as an additional card fee by your provider. Although you get a message what it doesn't say is that it's 3% so for £500 charges £7 plus and additional £15!! Outrageous

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

mrs winn

17th July 2017

Ordered currency for home delivery on monday. Had the day off. The post office tried to delivery it on Saturday left a card (didnt know it was my currency as other items been ordered). First time po can redeliver tuesday. Will have already set off for my holiday.phoned customer services you should have read the small print and you have ticked the terms and conditions. Offered to refund money but not until tommorow!!!! Dont bother choosing a day for delivery .

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Ann

15th July 2017

Went in to Blackpool store today, woman behind counter just couldn't be bothered. I told her the rate I wanted which was not unreasonable. She was not interested or couldn't be bothered to serve me!! Left went next door and gotta a better rate than I expected. Definitely need to sort out your travel money counter out. Will not be returning again!

  • I would recommend ASDA to others

lindsey knight

10th July 2017

absolute rubbish. my passport was out of date but I was purchasing for my daughter who was going on a school trip. THEY FLATLY REFUSED TO GIVE ME THE EUROS even though they had taken my money 2 days before online!!!! then added insult to injury by telling me it would take 10 days to get back into my account!!!!!! NEVER DEAL WITH ASDA!!!!

  • I ordered £90.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Fiona

27th June 2017

Went especially to Asda in Motherwell for my euros and they didn't have any. Not exactly good management

  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Dean

26th June 2017

My Father who is in his 70 s went in to his local Asda as it was recommended by someone who knew him and had saw the sign "we will beat any quote within 5 miles" . He swapped his £2,000 to euros only to discover later that afternoon that they were not the cheapest by far !!! He confronted the staff and the manager and was simply told to "refer to the terms and conditions " in much smaller writing below the sign . What an absolute Rip Off this company are !!! Asda claim it is not run by them but I am betting that it is under their corporate umbrella. I for one will be digging further but be warned .....EVEN IF YOU ASK IF IT IS THE BEST RATE THEY WILL SAY YES . THIS IS BECAUSE ITS THIER BEST RATE WITHOUT CHALLANGE !! Read the SMALL PRINT !!!!

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Jo

20th June 2017

Excellent service ordered Friday came on Saturday. Would use again.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Wendy Fraser

8th June 2017

Poor service. Cant deliver on time. Note to self always read the reviews before trying a different company. Asda you're way behind the currency service provided by Tesco & Sainsbury's. Attitude of customer telephone service also poor. Very much " the computer says no" attitude.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Clare Ross

8th June 2017

First time using their currency service. Very poor. Ordered a week ago for delivery today and didnt arrive. Phoned Asda to enquire who blamed Royal Mail!! Lady says there is a back log and they are working through telephone calls to customers who have ordered money - but they didn't call until I rang them today. Lesson learnt, stick to the companies who you know can provide a service and do it right, Asda isnt one of them that's for sure!!

  • I ordered £1200 worth of Thai Baht
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Rodrigo

13th May 2017

I got this card to go to US and pay the hotels too with it but was a big mistake. They said there's no commission on the change, I checked the real currency change and was about 3% cheaper than what I paid. If I wanted to get cash from cash machines in US there was a fee to pay. Other problem was that I tried to pay the hotels with that card but they don't accept it because it doesn't say my name in the card so I finish having to use my own card instead of the travel card. I finished because of that with half of the money spare in the card. When I tried to change back into pounds they were trying to charge me an unfair rate of about 10% of commission. The agent that sold the card didn't tell me that there is 30 days only after purchase to change back the money with the same rate. In conclusion it is a useless card with hidden charges.

  • I ordered £1200 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Julie swales

4th May 2017

Went to my local Asda currency kiosk on Friday 28th April the euro rate was 84p bought £501.72 they gave me €570 got home and thought that's not right turns out they charged me 88p per euro and they still short changed me by 11€ I looked at the post office and they would have given me €580 for less money I also looked online as to a rough amount of euros I should have got on Friday and it was €590 contacted Asda and they said it's not Asda it's travelex called head office and they said they were right and that's it

  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend ASDA to others

Kate

10th March 2017

Brilliant service. Quick and easy. We ordered our polish zloty to be delivered to our home, and it came on time with no messing. Will definitely use this service again.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Polish Zloty
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of ASDA

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend ASDA to others?Yes No

ASDA offer a simple way to order your travel money. Place your order online, over the phone or at an in-store Travel Money bureau all with zero commission and no fees if you pay with your Asda Money Credit Card or debit card. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Holiday Deals November 2017

Holiday Deals November 2017

Posted by Graham Morley on 14th November 2017

Have you ever visited a Christmas market in Europe? It’s a fantastic experience; a chance to sample a different culture, different sights, wondeful smells from a variety of food sellers and not to mention the read more

Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

Posted by Matthew Weston on 13th November 2017

It’s been a tough couple of months for the British women’s Bobsleigh and Skeleton team. British Bobsleigh announced it was going to withdraw funding for the team just five months before the Winter read more