Compare Holiday Money Logo

Barclays reviews

Very Poor 1.6 / 5

Based on 19 reviews Write Review

TB

27th April 2018

Ordered currency on Tuesday and had Friday as collection day from local branch.Took funds from my account, but when I went to collect, no currency at branch. When investigated there was no evidence or tracking that money had even been sent out !!

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Barclays to others

David Morgan

23rd February 2016

Barclays Bank cheated me out of €3000.00 tried to get my money ,then Barclays offered me £200.00 good will manged to get £700.00 but it took nearly a year.My late parents worked fifty years and Barclays Promised me one rate then gave me another. Please change your money with someone else.I wish someone could help me but a single person stands no chance.A very good bank for changing cheques into South African rand at a very good rate getting round South African Exchange laws and helping South Africans getting there money out of South Africa.They did it for me in 1975 with help of Standard Chartered Bank Trafalger Square branch .all i had to do was call into Barclays Bank Main branch in Durban and give me name over the counter and my Rand cheque appeared it a enhanced rate.

  • I transferred British Pounds to Spain
  • The transfer was not completed within three working days
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

paul wagstaff

29th January 2016

Long wait with there automated machines, and generally poor service. Would never bank with this bank

Mike

17th November 2015

Only if your desperate to get ripped off, disorganised, shambles, greedy. 1 star rating to high.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I did not receive a good mix of notes
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

marcel podeur

1st September 2015

Absolutely useless on all aspects of banking. Don't even think about using this dreadful shambles of a bank !

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

David Morgan

30th July 2015

Barclays bank in Kings Lynn gave me a very poor rate when i ordered Euros.In all i lost a few Thousand Euros,my money not Barclays.Please change your money else where ,Look at there new branches and ask yourself who is paying for the upgraded branches.

  • I ordered £70 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

James

29th July 2015

Appalling exchange rate, even for regular customers who have an account with Barclays. Go to a supermarket like Asda or Tesco.

  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

david Welney

27th July 2015

Ordered my euros from Barclays at a agreed rate,to buy my home in Spain,when my euros was changed they cheated me out of nearly £2000.00,yes thats right .Two Thousand pound, Then they offered me £200. and wanted me to go away,I obtained the C e o home address in London and was about to serve a summons then he left the bank ,Then the under Ceo left.Please give Barclays a wide berth,Please.

  • I ordered £65 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

Bob

26th July 2015

No Euro currency stock in Southend on Sea branch, must be pre ordered. Used to be able to just walk in and buy Euros. Exchange rates the worst anywhere. I went elsewhere and recommend others do.

  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

m morgan

23rd July 2015

Opened a Euro account waited two weeks Nothing then found out Barclays lost all my paperwork..Please dont waste your time and give Barclays a wide birth.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

david ulldecona

23rd July 2015

Tried to transfer euros into my euro account and they tried to rip me big time,please dont change any money with Barclays Bank also in 2002 they ripped me off by 3000 euros when i bought my home in Spain.please look around there posh interiers, you are paying for it and they have been employing crooks.

  • I ordered £10000 worth of Euros
  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

dave

22nd July 2015

The staff at Barclays were useless at trying to sort out a bank transfer to a US bank,,I walked out and went elsewhere

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I did not receive a good mix of notes
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

Miles

22nd July 2015

sick and tired of Barclays on all aspects of banking and will never ever use them again now a rip off bank particularly on currency.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Australian Dollars
  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I did not receive a good mix of notes
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

Paul

17th July 2015

Why why why is barclays the worst supplier of currency exchange look and compare the least offered is always them how do they get customers just never go there ,their rates are a rip off and they don't deserve custom from anyone

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

derek

22nd March 2015

never go to BARCLAYS to get euros you get poor value for money

  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

David Kitchen

11th March 2015

Sick and tired of being ripped off by Barclays Bank for all banking transactions including foreign exchange. Avoid at all costs.

  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

alistair

5th March 2015

Handy on the High Street but in retrospect the worst value you can get for £750.00 the top bank gives you 1020 euros and Barclays gives you about 45euros less Greedy bank!

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

Nigel V

13th February 2015

I've banked with Barclays for more years than I can remember. Their service is good but they only get 3 stars from me because their fees are so expensive compared to other banks. For example, to make a payment overseas Barclays charge a flat fee of £15 but HSBC only charge £4. Why the great difference? Surely the process is the same for all banks!

  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Matt

1st February 2015

Excellent service, rates lower than the general market, but FREE DELIVERY & new money. Would use again!

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Barclays

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Barclays to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Barclays to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Barclays to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Barclays to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Barclays to others?Yes No

You can order currency and travel insurance from Barclays providing you hold one of their credit or debit cards. Your currency can be delivered to your home or you can pick it up from your local branch at your convenience.

Visit Website

Travel planning in the future

Posted by Sam Stone on 11th December 2018

The notion of using an assistant to plan travel itineraries, hotels, flights, car hire, even currency exchange, has been around for decades. It’s such a popular solution that a few of the big travel ... read more

Middle East currencies and travel tips

Posted by Graham Morley on 30th November 2018

It’s fair to say that some parts of the middle east for instance Syria, are troubled by conflict at the moment so you may not have it high on your bucket list of places to visit. However, many places i... read more

Your holiday money can make a difference

How to spend your holiday money responsibly was high on the agenda at a World Travel conference in London recently. Responsible Tourism was the buzzword coming from many of the stands. And it was evident... read more

Post Office travel money rates compared

Post Office travel money rates compared with the best and the worst rates available on Compare Holiday Money. I think it’s fair to say that the Post Office has more places to exchange your pound sterling f... read more

How to be a Responsible Tourist

Thanks to social media, people are exploring other sides of the world more than ever. It is wonderful because earth has so much to offer. It becomes bad only when people really treat places and cultures... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.