Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Barclays reviews

Very Poor 1.6 / 5

Based on 18 reviews Write Review

23rd February 2016

Barclays Bank cheated me out of €3000.00 tried to get my money ,then Barclays offered me £200.00 good will manged to get £700.00 but it took nearly a year.My late parents worked fifty years and Barclays Promised me one rate then gave me another. Please change your money with someone else.I wish someone could help me but a single person stands no chance.A very good bank for changing cheques into South African rand at a very good rate getting round South African Exchange laws and helping South Africans getting there money out of South Africa.They did it for me in 1975 with help of Standard Chartered Bank Trafalger Square branch .all i had to do was call into Barclays Bank Main branch in Durban and give me name over the counter and my Rand cheque appeared it a enhanced rate.

  • I transferred British Pounds to Spain
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I received a good exchange rate
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

29th January 2016

Long wait with there automated machines, and generally poor service. Would never bank with this bank

17th November 2015

Only if your desperate to get ripped off, disorganised, shambles, greedy. 1 star rating to high.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st September 2015

Absolutely useless on all aspects of banking. Don't even think about using this dreadful shambles of a bank !

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

30th July 2015

Barclays bank in Kings Lynn gave me a very poor rate when i ordered Euros.In all i lost a few Thousand Euros,my money not Barclays.Please change your money else where ,Look at there new branches and ask yourself who is paying for the upgraded branches.

  • I ordered £70 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th July 2015

Appalling exchange rate, even for regular customers who have an account with Barclays. Go to a supermarket like Asda or Tesco.

  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th July 2015

Ordered my euros from Barclays at a agreed rate,to buy my home in Spain,when my euros was changed they cheated me out of nearly £2000.00,yes thats right .Two Thousand pound, Then they offered me £200. and wanted me to go away,I obtained the C e o home address in London and was about to serve a summons then he left the bank ,Then the under Ceo left.Please give Barclays a wide berth,Please.

  • I ordered £65 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th July 2015

No Euro currency stock in Southend on Sea branch, must be pre ordered. Used to be able to just walk in and buy Euros. Exchange rates the worst anywhere. I went elsewhere and recommend others do.

  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd July 2015

Opened a Euro account waited two weeks Nothing then found out Barclays lost all my paperwork..Please dont waste your time and give Barclays a wide birth.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd July 2015

Tried to transfer euros into my euro account and they tried to rip me big time,please dont change any money with Barclays Bank also in 2002 they ripped me off by 3000 euros when i bought my home in Spain.please look around there posh interiers, you are paying for it and they have been employing crooks.

  • I ordered £10000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd July 2015

The staff at Barclays were useless at trying to sort out a bank transfer to a US bank,,I walked out and went elsewhere

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd July 2015

sick and tired of Barclays on all aspects of banking and will never ever use them again now a rip off bank particularly on currency.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Australian Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th July 2015

Why why why is barclays the worst supplier of currency exchange look and compare the least offered is always them how do they get customers just never go there ,their rates are a rip off and they don't deserve custom from anyone

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

22nd March 2015

never go to BARCLAYS to get euros you get poor value for money

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th March 2015

Sick and tired of being ripped off by Barclays Bank for all banking transactions including foreign exchange. Avoid at all costs.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th March 2015

Handy on the High Street but in retrospect the worst value you can get for £750.00 the top bank gives you 1020 euros and Barclays gives you about 45euros less Greedy bank!

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th February 2015

I've banked with Barclays for more years than I can remember. Their service is good but they only get 3 stars from me because their fees are so expensive compared to other banks. For example, to make a payment overseas Barclays charge a flat fee of £15 but HSBC only charge £4. Why the great difference? Surely the process is the same for all banks!

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st February 2015

Excellent service, rates lower than the general market, but FREE DELIVERY & new money. Would use again!

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Barclays

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

You can order currency and travel insurance from Barclays providing you hold one of their credit or debit cards. Your currency can be delivered to your home or you can pick it up from your local branch at your convenience.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

Posted by Matthew Weston on 9th December 2016

After what has been a year of uncertainty for Britain and the pound, it is slowly making improvements in the markets. With this and the continued decline of the Euro, the exchange rate is looking better for Bri read more

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more