Caxton reviews

Caxton are rated Great in 297 reviews

Caxton was founded in 2002 and is a leading provider of prepaid currency cards. Their low fees and good exchange rates make their cards some of the best on the market.

  • Last reviewed 5 months ago
  • 75% of reviews are positive
  • Replies to reviews
Reviews by rating
Excellent 68.35% of reviews are rated 5 stars 68%
Great 6.73% of reviews are rated 4 stars 7%
Average 3.37% of reviews are rated 3 stars 3%
Poor 4.04% of reviews are rated 2 stars 4%
Bad 17.51% of reviews are rated 1 stars 18%
Reviews by day

Showing reviews 1-15 of 297

LM
Lara Mackie

5 January 2024

Ordered a currency card

If I could leave a 0 I would have.

It's very long winded but to cut a long story short. I deposited £1000 into account as I was going on Holiday to New Zealand. My new card didn't turn up so I have been trying to redeem that £1000 of my own cash into the exact same debit card they accepted the money into the account since the beginning of December.

That means I am in New Zealand with NO access to MY £1000 and nobody at Caxton is dealing with this for me.

DO NOT DEPOSIT YOUR MONEY WITH THIS COMPANY. ABSOLUTE DISGRACE.

SA
Sandra

9 October 2023

Ordered a currency card

AVOID AVOID AVOID - DO NOT USE THIS CARD SERIOUS SECURITY ISSUES. Just had 4,300 stolen by hackers who managed to change my husband’s email address, phone number and home address and get replacement card sent to them with my husband’s name on it. WHY WERE NO RED FLAGS RAISED??? ALSO THEY WERE SPENDING IT IN THE UK WHEN WE HAVE ONLY EVER USED IT ABROAD.

WE WERE IN DISPUTE WITH CAXTON AND NOW BEEN TOLD WE CANNOT GET MONEY BACK AS IT IS PAST 13 MONTHS.

DB
D-I Beith

16 August 2023

Ordered a currency card

Caxton is superior. Great rates, easy to use, check ATM before withdrawing and you are good to go.

SS
Steve S.

29 July 2023

Ordered a currency card

We've been using the Caxton prepaid card, for euros only, for over ten years and have never had a single issue with it. I agree that the non-usage £2 fee per month over the pandemic was unfair. I took this up with Caxton and we resolved it. Since then I just watch the rates and do little top-ups, which avoid that irritation. Carrying just a couple of hundred euros in cash and having a well-stacked Caxton card is definitely the way to go for us. Watch those rates daily and grab a good one when you can!

CL
Claire

20 July 2023

Ordered a currency card

When we first ordered the Caxton card the exchange rate was slightly better. Now we are in Spain the exchange rate is over 1.14 and in the uk 1.13, Caxton is 1.12 so not using. Think it’s a really good idea but other card exchange rates are far better. It seems the lower the balance in your card the lower the exchange rate knowing you may need to top up. Will be cancelling when I get home and using another recommended card. I would not recommend due to this.

SA
Sarah

8 July 2023

Ordered a currency card

I used my Caxton card in Las Vegas, USA and had a great experience. No issues at all with this card. I used POS mostly and rarely took out cash. No issues at all as USA are becoming more advanced with card machines.

You can even transfer instantly to other Caxton card users which was great in our group.

RD
Robert Dalgleish

16 June 2023

Ordered a currency card

Tried taking cash from ATM in Europe, acknowledged 50 euros + 4.85 euro charge, received no cash.

Tried to check on line whether this transaction had taken place.

What a joke trying to connect, flying home later today, hopefully nothing registered as transaction. Just as well not relying completely on Caxton for any monies.

Tried exactly the same with alternative money card without any issue. Mr Caxton - not impressed…

JR
J rushton

3 June 2023

Ordered a currency card

Excellent easy to use perfect for holidays

MI
Milenium

26 April 2023

Bought Euros

Previously a fan of Caxton but have now cancelled because of their inactivity fee - £2.00 per month for every year it is unused. Most unfair over covid.

TK
Tricia K

24 April 2023

Ordered a prepaid currency card

I've had the Caxton black card for many years, used abroad all over for taking out cash and using in shops/restaurants to pay for goods without any issues. I don't understand all the negative reviews, I've never had any problems.

CD
Chris Douglass

30 March 2023

Ordered a prepaid currency card

Tried to use my card for the first time abroad in Croatia. No restaurants or ATMs accepted it. This left me very short of money. I emailed their support team with an urgent request for help only to receive an automated response advising they would TRY and respond in 24-72 hours. Appalling!

CF
Colin Forrestal

20 March 2023

Ordered a prepaid currency card

I have used this card all around Europe and China without a problem. You do have to watch in Europe which ATM you use as most charge (varies) if you are not their customer. I find that near tourist areas and Tourist Information spots are best for finding ATM'S that don't charge. I have had a few declines for using it as a debit card, usually its down to a problem with the machine.

I have found the rates better than currency bureau's and not far off my UK and Spanish bank rates. I normally load Euros and keep it as an emergency funder, when in Spain or the UK, and use it all the time when not in these countries. It is easy to lad currency with the app or online.The card does what they say it would and I am very happy with it.

IR
Ian Richardson

13 March 2023

Ordered a prepaid currency card

I'm partly writing this because I have just read a string of one-star reviews and wondered what has been going wrong for all these poor people. For me Caxton has been good. I was recommended Caxton by a friend and decided to go with her recommendation, rather than being put off by the sorry collection of online reviews. I was tentative about how this would work, particularly as I was going to Nepal where it is impossible to preload the Nepalese rupee. In fact, the black Caxton card turned out to be really useful and a blessed relief from carrying a large amount of cash. I pre-loaded Sterling.

The good stuff was:

I was able to draw out cash in the local currency at a good exchange rate from the Nabil Bank ATMs.

I was able to use the card just like an ordinary debit card in several restaurants and shops in Pokhara and Kathmandhu.

The not-so-good?

The ATMs that accepted Mastercard transactions were relatively few, even in Kathmandhu, so I had to hike across town a bit.

A couple of ATMs that claimed to accept Mastercard, spat it out without giving me any money (and no explanation as to why).

The reliable Nabil Bank ATMs still charged me 500 Rupees a go (about £3). Bearable and not Caxton's fault.

So, overall, I'm happy with the card and am about to put it through its paces in the Netherlands. We'll see if it continues to work well for me.

AR
Antonio Retamal

8 March 2023

Ordered a prepaid currency card

Card not fit for purpose. I could not pay with it in retailers in New York. I manage to use ATM, but not paying to retailers. Failure.

AC
Al Carter

18 February 2023

Ordered a prepaid currency card

No problems using this card in Sicily and France, loaded with Euros before we set off.

The only issue is the fairly poor exchange rate.

That said, it's safer than carrying cash and you don't have a large bill waiting when you get home.

Caxton

Write a review of Caxton

Rate your experience

Click or tap a star to rate

Write your review

0 / 4000

What product or service are you reviewing?