Caxton FX reviews

Caxton FX are rated Great in 279 reviews

https://www.caxtonfx.com/

Caxton FX was founded in 2002 and is a leading provider of prepaid currency cards. Their low fees and good exchange rates make their cards some of the best on the market.

Last reviewed 4 months ago

77% of reviews are positive

Does not reply to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 196 reviews are rated 5 stars 70%
Great 18 reviews are rated 4 stars 6%
Average 10 reviews are rated 3 stars 4%
Poor 10 reviews are rated 2 stars 4%
Bad 45 reviews are rated 1 star 16%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarCurrency BuybackMoney TransferPrepaid CardTravel MoneyHungarian forintsNorwegian kronePolish zloty
CH

Christian Horsfield

2 Stars
2 Stars

7 August 2022

I have used this card for over 10 years, but on the most recent visit to the USA the card was declined for almost every meal we ate out. Customer srvosais this was because the cashier needed to use chip and pin and not swipe, but most US restaurants are not set up this way and we ended up having to use our credit card- with our preloaded Caxton card sat with Monet we couldn’t access without paying a withdrawal fee. Most (but not all) small purchases were OK. Overall, an utter waste of time/money- will not bother in the future.

MC

McDowall

1 Stars
1 Stars

4 August 2022

Unacceptable delays in answering the phone. Unobtainable account details online.

I think that this firm is failing.

CH

Chloe

1 Stars
1 Stars

10 July 2022

AVOID AT ALL COST!!

My partner and I are currently travelling and our Caxton card has stopped working, despite having a substantial amount of money loaded. When calling the customer service line (Sat 9th July), we were told they won't do anything until Mon 11th July. We are left with no money for food or transport and are stranded without accommodation as we can't use our card to pay for travel to our next Airbnb. We explained this over the phone and Caxton DO NOT Care that we have no food for 3 DAYS. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!

PU

Peter Urquhart

1 Stars
1 Stars

3 July 2022

Sold 2,500 Euros

3 July 2022

DO NOT GET THIS CARD!

Used this for years before it was taken over, worked fine. Customer service totally USELESS dont have a clue or any understanding of of emails sent long delay in reply.

Does not allow me to pay anything online always rejected when used as method of payment, they told me its fine try again !!!

just tried to withdraw money back to the same original debit card, got an email saying redemption refused contact customer service they now require a copy of bank statement before its released even tho its back to same debit card they also stated they do not have access to any of my account details and can't do a thing unless i provide proof via email REALLY . Its my fkin money not yours idiots !

Will be closing this asp had enough run by morons !

AU

App unreliable

1 Stars
1 Stars

21 May 2022

Unable to view pin and agents can’t help. Can’t use card

AC

Andrew Chattin

1 Stars
1 Stars

21 March 2022

Bought Euros

21 March 2022

Awful, I couldn't find any ATM in Tenerife that doesn't charge commision for withdrawls on this holiday. Went online to see of if I could Google a particular bank that doesn't and learned of the "dormancy fees" the thieving barstewards had been charging me through the pandemic for none use.

Avoid like the plague!

AR

Adele Rea

5 Stars
5 Stars

9 February 2022

Needed a replacement card as can travel again (woohoo!). Quick to get through to customer service and card arrived two days later - result.

DA

David

1 Stars
1 Stars

26 January 2022

Impossible to contact, do not resolve issues. Have been a client for 5 years now moving to another company.

GA

Gareth

1 Stars
1 Stars

19 January 2022

Bought £260 worth of Euros

19 January 2022

Absolutely appalling. Do not go anywhere near this company. They are really quick to accept your card load, but if you want a refund, you have no chance. I am still waiting for a refund from October 2021. When I asked for the refund, my balance immediately went to zero, but I had nothing back.Kept emailing Caxton, no response.Tried ringing customer services but gave up after being on hold for 40 minutes,with the phone bill ticking up.No response from the company until I complained to the financial ombudsman, then I had an email from Caxton, asking for exactly the same details they had been supplied with three times before. I am still waiting for my money. Next step is small claims court.

ES

Ed S

1 Stars
1 Stars

16 January 2022

Sent money overseas

16 January 2022

I have used Caxton FX happily for many years for moving large amounts of money to the USA. In the last year or so doing albeit smaller transaction business we have found 1) you cannot immediately get an agent for a deal 2) the reception say an agent will call you back 3) The agents often don't call back or it is up to six hours later 4) when you get an agent the well trained professionals of two years back are no longer there and you get what sounds like a poorly trained school leaver you would not trust a ten pound deal with, let alone 100,000. This has gone from one of the best customer service experiences we have to the worst.

Write a review of Caxton FX

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?