Caxton FX reviews

Caxton FX are rated Great in 266 reviews

https://www.caxtonfx.com/

Caxton FX was founded in 2002 and is a leading provider of prepaid currency cards. Their low fees and good exchange rates make their cards some of the best on the market.

Last reviewed a month ago

80% of reviews are positive

Does not reply to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 195 reviews are rated 5 stars 73%
Great 18 reviews are rated 4 stars 7%
Average 10 reviews are rated 3 stars 4%
Poor 9 reviews are rated 2 stars 3%
Bad 34 reviews are rated 1 star 13%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarPrepaid CardTravel MoneyEurosUS dollarsAustralian dollarsHungarian forintsNorwegian krone
IG

Ian G. Davies

1 Stars
1 Stars

7 September 2021

Wouldn't allow us to use our card...... wait for it....... because we had used our card. As we had an outstanding transaction for 64 Euros from our first shop in Lindos, they wouldn't allow us to use the other £600 deposited on the card. Transactions are incredulously slow to update, sometimes taking days. Makes you unsure whether the transaction or conversion has worked. The app is so confusing, we’re not sure at this point where we stand with all the payments and currency conversions that we eventually got to make. Changed PIN code whilst away and it rendered my card unusable. Never resolved our problem Caxton Card. Had to borrow money from a friend to survive. Embarrassing trying to pay a bill with your own money (of which we had plenty deposited on card) and the card issuers won't allow it. Don't know where to hide your face. Never been in such an awkward situation in my entire life. Tried to draw 400 Euros to pay back what we had borrowed, would only allow 250 and we WERE charged for withdrawal at any machine we tried. Quite stressed us out and ruined a good part of our holiday. ****** AVOID at ALL costs..... ******

MJ

Mr John O'Donnell

1 Stars
1 Stars

24 August 2021

Bought Euros

24 August 2021

I tried to load money onto my currency card. I received a message informing me that the bank had declined my debit card payment. The bank had not and the payment went through but nothing was credited to my Caxton account.

Since the I've been hanging on to to an unanswered telephone(for hours) and have emailed several times with absolutely no response.

I'm really at a loss about what else I can do to recover my £2500 holiday money. My advice is use your debit card to withdraw cash abroad as the charges are low or even free and avoid these money sharks

ST

Sara Tutton

1 Stars
1 Stars

25 July 2021

Bought Euros

25 July 2021

Used to be good. Have funds in my account, know my pin, weekend service and app say my card is active. Yet I cannot withdraw money or pay for meals in restaurants. It’s hard enough holidaying in a pandemic without this problem too

HS

Henry S

2 Stars
2 Stars

28 June 2021

Used to be ok, now attracts fees, gets declined and to top it off they rob your leftover balance. Better off with cash or a travel credit card.

CW

Carl wain

5 Stars
5 Stars

12 May 2021

I find this card and service to be very much as good as it can.. always quick to get through to a speaking person if need be.

RI

Richard

1 Stars
1 Stars

6 May 2021

The card works as it should. However redeeming funds is an absolute nightmare.

The online portal says you can only redeem the full balance. This failed - apparently because the sum I was redeeming was larger than any individual loading - of course it was as I could only redeem the whole balance!! 'Rules' designed to fail.

I was told to release my funds I needed to supply a bank statement with my address on it. This is despite all the funds transferred onto the card being from the same account as the redemption - so what would a statement prove? Nothing!

Customer services promised to look into the matter and get back to me. A week later nothing so I rang and was told my funds are in suspense!

Yet again told to provide the statement.

I really think its a County Court action required to recover my own money!

Terrible.

I want all my money and the card closed - BEWARE!!!

This review does not want a response from Caxton it wants my money sent!

SG

Steve G

5 Stars
5 Stars

1 January 2021

Have used this card for a number of years and have found simple and easy to use - no complaints and very impressed.

CW

Carl wain

5 Stars
5 Stars

18 November 2020

Never had a problem with caxton. Customer service gas always been good.

DN

D Nightscales

1 Stars
1 Stars

26 July 2020

I have a Caxton currency card. In error I used an incorrect password and the account was locked. I explained at we were in France and needed to pay for accommodation last night and the response was that they were very busy and would get back to me in 72 hours. I phoned 3 times during the day and emailed twice. The simple task of unblocking the card has still not been done and no one has been in contact with us. Heartless and uncaring! Would not recommend.

GB

Gillian Burns

5 Stars
5 Stars

13 March 2020

terrible exchange rates

Write a review of Caxton FX

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?