Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Caxton FX reviews

Poor 2.7 / 5

Based on 11 reviews Write Review

12th March 2017

I would give it minus zero if possible. We summarise below our experience on this trip of the Caxton fx card: 1. At an ATM in New Zealand we withdrew NZD these having been pre-loaded. When the transaction went through the amount was coonverted to AUD (also loaded) then to euros paid the cash in NZD and changed back to AUD and deducted in AUD from our AUD balance. This impacted our whole holiday as we were left with a NZD surplus and a shortage of AUD. We contacted Caxton who blaimed the merchant, saying they had no control i.e. they provide a product which they admit they have no control. At each stage of converting the currency we got poor exhange rates and charges. 2. A later transaction in AUD was converted to UK £'s at a poor exchange rate then bach to AUD and deducted from our AUD balance. 3. To correct our surplus of NZD and shortage of AUD we sought to switch currencies which is said to be one of te benefits. We tried to make this switch day after day and their system would not allow it, saying there were pending transactions. Of course there were pending transactions as we were touring using the card daily to pay for things (trips and meals etc or withdraw cash) . Each day there were inevitably new pending transactions.. 4. Eventually we did not use the card for a day (was inconvenient) to allow the switch. Their system did allow us to reach the switch page, but the drop down facility permitting the selection of currencies to switch did not work. Still no switch. 5. Consequently we tried to load the card with more AUD. On the first occassion we got a screen message saying the transfer did not complete. On a second attempt the transfer was successful. Both transfers in fact went through i.e. we transferred more than we needed. In summary the Caton fx card was simply useless

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

8th March 2017

6 week trip in Australia - no problems (Card used on almost a daily bases)

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

13th February 2017

Totally ruined my holiday - couldnt access my money - wouldnt give me any explanation as to why??? I ended up having to get money sent by family members to western union. Please read read and read comments and do not make the mistake i made by using caxtons!

  • I ordered £1200 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th November 2016

Please don’t use this company. They scrutinize all your transaction and if THEY feel you are spending your money the wrong way they will freeze your caxton account and their compliance department will justify the seizer of you money. You will not get you mony back. They will accuse you of money laundering.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th November 2015

customer service is useless.rang them from spain about a failure to dispense from an atm they said they would email a form to fill out didn't happen .rang again when I got home ,they had no record of first call would send form again . nothing rang and asked to speak to a supervisor they said she would ring back instead received an email stating form would be with me in a couple of days but they had attached one to email for me to look at . after 5 days nothing came in post so printed that and posted back. form through post has still not appeared and they have not acknowledged receipt of form. still waiting for return call after latest contact

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th May 2015

Having been switched from two Visa Caxton cards ( euro and global traveller) to one MasterCard I found that contacting Caxton and asking for a sterling to euro transfer the software came up with checking the rate of exchange and after five minutes still checking it came up with error on numerous attempts. Phoning there landline number necessitated an eight minute 'bird tweeting' on hold before being answered. The girl could not explain what was the problem and suggested they would 'phone me back but advised it would take up to 48 hours since they were busy. After 96 hours and a further e-mail 24 hours ago no response still. Using their App the system default is Australian dollars though my accounts are euro and sterling. Falling into this trap cost me nearly 50 Australian dollars on an initial £1000 transfer to reconvert them back to sterling within 30 seconds of noting the problem. Used Caxton for many years but suggest AVOID THEM LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th April 2015

I had two card Euro traveller and Global Traveller . The Global traveller expired so moved the balance to the Euro traveller. They then cancelled the wrong pin number so when I tried to use it in Spain recentley I couldn't get any money out of ATms'. Had a hell of a job getting my money refunded to my bank but got it eventually after about 6 days of trying,. Have cancelled my card with them.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th September 2014

Used both Euro and Global Traveller cards for several years. They work fine, decent exchange rates and not been refused. I was trying to log on when I bought a new mobile, usual fat fingered mistakes, the phone rang and it was Caxton FX asking if I was having a problem, told them and was sorted.

17th July 2013

We found on a recent trip to Alaska and Canada that the card was refused in several places, no reason given, just refused, had to use credit card instead, otherwise all OK.

15th December 2012

Only 2 shops here in Florida have accepted the card, thus I can\'t spend my own money as I wish. They have now locked my card. Terrible customer service. I\'m just going to keep posting until they put things right.

17th July 2012

I got this card for a trip to New Zealand, I found the rate i received from this card was excellent, as well as not being charged a single cent for using it. Would highly recommend for any travelers heading that way.

Write a review of Caxton FX

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Caxton FX was founded in 2002 and is a leading provider of prepaid currency cards. Their low fees and good exchange rates make their cards some of the best on the market.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
What does the future hold for Iceland’s tourism?

What does the future hold for Iceland’s tourism?

Posted by Matthew Weston on 24th March 2017

Iceland have finally relaxed their capital controls put in place after the financial crash. However, the ISK lost 3% of its value in minutes. What does this mean for Tourism this year and for Iceland going forw read more

Giraffe Manor // Across Africa….

Giraffe Manor // Across Africa….

Posted by James Clark on 24th March 2017

East Africa, Kenya.  Africa isn’t the typical attraction for a holiday, but if you’re a lover of animals that aren’t stuck in an enclosure and like to challenge your perceptions, then Giraff read more