Caxton FX reviews

Caxton FX are rated Great in 275 reviews

https://www.caxtonfx.com/

Caxton FX was founded in 2002 and is a leading provider of prepaid currency cards. Their low fees and good exchange rates make their cards some of the best on the market.

Last reviewed a month ago

78% of reviews are positive

Does not reply to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 196 reviews are rated 5 stars 71%
Great 18 reviews are rated 4 stars 7%
Average 10 reviews are rated 3 stars 4%
Poor 9 reviews are rated 2 stars 3%
Bad 42 reviews are rated 1 star 15%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarMoney TransferPrepaid CardTravel MoneyPolish zlotyHungarian forintsAustralian dollarsNorwegian krone
AU

App unreliable

1 Stars
1 Stars

21 May 2022

Unable to view pin and agents can’t help. Can’t use card

AC

Andrew Chattin

1 Stars
1 Stars

21 March 2022

Bought Euros

21 March 2022

Awful, I couldn't find any ATM in Tenerife that doesn't charge commision for withdrawls on this holiday. Went online to see of if I could Google a particular bank that doesn't and learned of the "dormancy fees" the thieving barstewards had been charging me through the pandemic for none use.

Avoid like the plague!

AR

Adele Rea

5 Stars
5 Stars

9 February 2022

Needed a replacement card as can travel again (woohoo!). Quick to get through to customer service and card arrived two days later - result.

DA

David

1 Stars
1 Stars

26 January 2022

Impossible to contact, do not resolve issues. Have been a client for 5 years now moving to another company.

GA

Gareth

1 Stars
1 Stars

19 January 2022

Bought £260 worth of Euros

19 January 2022

Absolutely appalling. Do not go anywhere near this company. They are really quick to accept your card load, but if you want a refund, you have no chance. I am still waiting for a refund from October 2021. When I asked for the refund, my balance immediately went to zero, but I had nothing back.Kept emailing Caxton, no response.Tried ringing customer services but gave up after being on hold for 40 minutes,with the phone bill ticking up.No response from the company until I complained to the financial ombudsman, then I had an email from Caxton, asking for exactly the same details they had been supplied with three times before. I am still waiting for my money. Next step is small claims court.

ES

Ed S

1 Stars
1 Stars

16 January 2022

Sent money overseas

16 January 2022

I have used Caxton FX happily for many years for moving large amounts of money to the USA. In the last year or so doing albeit smaller transaction business we have found 1) you cannot immediately get an agent for a deal 2) the reception say an agent will call you back 3) The agents often don't call back or it is up to six hours later 4) when you get an agent the well trained professionals of two years back are no longer there and you get what sounds like a poorly trained school leaver you would not trust a ten pound deal with, let alone 100,000. This has gone from one of the best customer service experiences we have to the worst.

PW

Paul W

1 Stars
1 Stars

14 January 2022

Bought travel money

14 January 2022

Do not take out Caxton Money Cards- I have been a card holder for more than 10 years benifiting from excellent customer service and cash from any ATM world wide . Suddenly last year Caxton changed there supporting processing bank sponsor . I had issues trying to withdraw cash from ATMS in thailand and Laos. ATMS i had previoulsy sucessfully used. Communication was sent to me from Caxton to try different ATMS because apparantley the magnetic strip cannot be read in old machines. Another colleague told me that it is Caxtons Processor. In a nut shell Caxton in my best opinion has lost its international recognition with Mastercard. I would avoid relying on it at all costs. Im currently in the process of trying to get my balance refunded to shut down the account . Its a shame because Caxton were fantastic before the pandemic but clearly costs and losses have resulted in people now holding a pretty useless money card ( in Asia for sure).

SM

Sharon McGill

1 Stars
1 Stars

5 November 2021

I use my Caxton card all the time as I live abroad. It used to be good but now it's terrible. I opened a dispute with them as there was a duplicate transaction. ie Caxton charged me twice. The dispute was rejected after months of e-mails from me! Terrible customer service. You can't get through on the phone. Pending transactions appear out of nowhere from months ago even though the money has come off the account at the time.

When you try to complain they dismiss their responsibility.

Absolutely shocking.

DR

Duncan Rushworth

1 Stars
1 Stars

19 October 2021

Absolutely appalling on every level. Charges a dormancy fee during a pandemic when no one is travelling. Doesn’t send you a new card when the current card expires. The facility to order a news card on the website fails. It takes 40 minutes on a phone line to get through to customer services on a good day. Simply unable to redeem balance and close the account. Obviously a company that is circling the drain and about to go bust.

IG

Ian G. Davies

1 Stars
1 Stars

7 September 2021

Wouldn't allow us to use our card...... wait for it....... because we had used our card. As we had an outstanding transaction for 64 Euros from our first shop in Lindos, they wouldn't allow us to use the other £600 deposited on the card. Transactions are incredulously slow to update, sometimes taking days. Makes you unsure whether the transaction or conversion has worked. The app is so confusing, we’re not sure at this point where we stand with all the payments and currency conversions that we eventually got to make. Changed PIN code whilst away and it rendered my card unusable. Never resolved our problem Caxton Card. Had to borrow money from a friend to survive. Embarrassing trying to pay a bill with your own money (of which we had plenty deposited on card) and the card issuers won't allow it. Don't know where to hide your face. Never been in such an awkward situation in my entire life. Tried to draw 400 Euros to pay back what we had borrowed, would only allow 250 and we WERE charged for withdrawal at any machine we tried. Quite stressed us out and ruined a good part of our holiday. ****** AVOID at ALL costs..... ******

Write a review of Caxton FX

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?