Compare Holiday Money Logo

Caxton FX reviews

Good 3.2 / 5

Based on 82 reviews Write Review

Richard Creasey

17th April 2019

I've had a pre-paid debit card with them for about 7 years and it's been absolutely perfect. I live in the UK and I've Used it all over Europe and a few times in the USA and it's been flawless for cash withdrawals and purchases. Their customer service is also fantastic. The App is really easy to use too, never had a problem with it.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

David

10th April 2019

I have used this card for Euro, US Dollar and Krone. Very occasionally an ATM will charge a withdrawal fee, but this is not a Caxton charge. Loading currency is easy on the app and very quickly available to spend and hasn’t delayed me paying for a meal. I Follow Caxton advice not to use the card for a hold charge.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Matt

4th April 2019

Have used the card now across Europe, Asia and Australasia and with the exception of of a couple of refusals at ATMs at some lesser known Chinese banks I've had no issues at all.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Clarinda

26th March 2019

Have used the card in ATMs in Thailand and Prague. Couldn't use it to buy a G&T on Brussels Airlines though!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Simon

14th March 2019

I already had one alternative travel money card, but wanted to minimisethe risk of loss, or other problems, by getting a second card. All of the travel money comparison sites had Caxton FX as one of the top selections, and the rates offered were very good. So clicking on the link took me to the Caxton site, where great exchange rates rolled along the bottom of the screen.... these were NOT actual market rates, but slightly reduced, so they were definitely purporting to be rates used for card top-ups. Also, supporting quotes about "lock in these great exchange rates" abounded. Following the process through, none of this could be further from the truth. If you follow the links, the actual exchange rate used for top-ups is far different from the one quoted... In fact they were well below those in use by some other cards. I phoned their service centre for some clarification, but all I got was feeble excuses as to how the exchange rates were not up to the minute... This was not plausible, as the rates quoted had not been "market" rates for some weeks. To test my sanity, and to give them the benefit of doubt on this occasion (in case something was wrong with the system, at that time) I have repeated the process on several occasions, and over several weeks. Each and every time I am met with deceptive exchange rates and claims. Avoid, and try other cards... you'll find better rates and less deceit.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Annette

14th March 2019

I find this card good for low cost transactions. Had a situation where i needed more than the €300 out and was buggard. Customer services always emails back but not with helpful suggestions, just mandatory responses. Just want people to be mindful of this flaw. Once the money is on the card there is no way of getting it back. Without a large cost of course. My husband has a card and I wasn't able to tansfer onto his card either. Was a bit of shambles really. I won't be using it or recommending anymore.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Andy S

16th February 2019

My wife and I both had cards when visiting Thailand. Despite several attempts we were unable to load cash onto them, the app just kept buffering. Thank good we had alternative methods of obtaining cash. Useless.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Kevin Hodnett

10th February 2019

First time I used this card it worked well, now I’ve had to change the card I used to top up funds, this tottally confussed the app ordering me a new Caxton card. Customer services couldn’t see an issue, my issues was I would of been across the pond thinking I had a working card and I didn’t.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Barnaby Cox

4th January 2019

Easy to pre-load cash, App is much better now, exchange rates reasonable. Always had no problems with this card, took it with me for inter railing in the summer across Europe and not a single problem occurred with it. No charges occurred as long as you always choose local currency to pay for purchases and withdrawals from ATM’s, then I can’t see why anyone would have a problem. Now onto using it for Worldwide countries.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Hannah Watts

20th November 2018

Terrible experience. I have used the dollar card in the states and in Canada and had problems with’hold’ amounts in both countries. When buying gas, paying for meals or paying for a hotel room, a ‘hold amount’ was charged and effectively removed significant amounts from my prepaid card, which I wasn’t able to get sorted until after returning home - meaning I had less money available whilst on holiday. Gave up and used my standard credit card - the hold amount was always cleared within 48 hours, no exceptions. Have given up on the Caxton card and will use a standard credit card, despite the higher charges.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Mark Phillips

6th October 2018

I used this card for 4 holidays in Europe and 3 out of those 4 holidays I had problems. Don’t bother.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Steve Burney

14th September 2018

I took out a card and used it in Europe, found it very useful but Caxton failed to refund the balance back to my current account, the consequent difficulties in getting them to resolve this issue such that I won't be using them again.

  • I ordered £5000 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Simon

6th September 2018

I took a Caxton card on a 2 week trip to California and it saved me enough for a dinner or two. The savings add up and it makes me feel more secure. Like that you can top it up via the app too.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Phil

4th September 2018

Had a Caxton card for a few years now and always worked perfectly for me. Good value exchange rates, no fees on ATM withdrawals, and good online servicing.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Fiona

4th September 2018

Have had a card for 3 years now...saved so much v credit card fees on family trips

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Jamie Hewitt

4th September 2018

Great to be able to bank the rate before I went away and not have to carry cash around. Easy to top up while on the go, safe in the knowledge that I wouldn't have extra fees to pay while away or any surprises when I got home. Will use again and especially easy for using other currencies

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Adam

4th September 2018

great - used card in States over two weeks was great so easy to load with app, you have to watch US ATM machines as they charge to take cash out

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Ian hartshorn

30th August 2018

Have not loaded card yet but the app is rubbish Phone have to wait 10-12 minutes £5 for cards think I will dump them before I load.

  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Martin Saville

30th August 2018

I am in the UK. I made the mistake of taking the Caxton Plus Travel Insurance card which was offered when I loaded my currency card. I had to cancel some EasyJet flights shortly afterwards for reasons beyond my control and tried to contact the claims company that handles claims on behalf of Caxton - Broadspire EU - to ask if my loss was claimable before I bothered to make a claim. To talk to anyone about a claim you have to call a number in Belgium, and I didn't fancy running up a large bill hanging on to talk to an agent while listening to music, so I emailed them, twice. So far, 6 days later, no response. I recommend you stay away from this outfit.

  • I purchased a Multi Trip policy for just me
  • The policy covered everything I needed
  • Claiming was not simple and straightforward
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

John

23rd August 2018

Caxton FX card is a complete rip off - despite loading € was charged back in £ at a ridiculous rate. Caxton said that it wasn't their problem. Have lost about £80 in 2 weeks, plus 30p ATM fees. Will not be using a Caxton ever again.

Mel

14th August 2018

Complete waste of time. Got a Caxton Visa card and loaded it with Euro's, only to find every time I took money out of an ATM I was charged, and in some cases, the money was converted to sterling then back to Euro's, thus paying again for the conversion when the card was already loaded with Euro's! Also, despite informing restaurants etc that the card was pre-paid with Euro's, sterling was charged and yet again, I had to pay for a conversionfromEuro's to sterling then back to Euro's. App difficult to understand as balances displayed Euro's and negative sterling. Very disappointed. Would not recommend and will be taking a Post Office card next time and more cash.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Patrick

14th August 2018

I have used the Caxton card for about three years and bought euros for regular travel in the euro zone and despite an occasional atm issue I though it a good product...until lately when the app no longer is reliable to try and load....and the exchange rate is increasingly poor. Key point is that if the app is failing this could indicate weak IT infrastructure which in turn could indicate vulnerabilities to hacks or a collapse of the platform if they are penny pinching upkeep costs...any fail of IT could take your money with it....and as other reviews point out there is no deposit protection for this card company stay away....looking for new currency card .

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Quinton

13th August 2018

I’ve had a card for a number of years and it was great but since they changed the App , which I was not notified about , I find it extremely difficult to use and like other customers, they loaded euros instead of sterling. As far as I was concerned it was always just a sterling card and now I darent load it anymore in case it goes to euros . I’m looking for a better company now

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Ian McNeill

6th August 2018

I have had this card for over 5 years and was pleased with it. It has simply got worse. In terms of cash withdrawals and the apps functionality. I’m now actively looking for an alternative. So if you are simply using as a ‘credit card’ for transactions it’s mainly ok. Although you must remember it doesn’t provide credit card style protection for major purchases etc. Both my partner and I have found whether in Greece, Austria or Sweden (all trips in last 12 months) cash machines end up charging - not for the use of the machine but for conversion even though you have loaded as euros or krona. Something your encouraged to do by Caxton to secure a good rate. It seems that the answer here is to just leave your cash in pounds and take the hit once? Or simply change provider. I do think it’s just the banks trying to earn money from us. As for customer service they don’t really want to help. They are nice and professional in tone but don’t actually see or treat you as a real customer. So very disappointing as this was a good product. All the issues seem to have come since they moved away from Visa and to MasterCard. As I say actively looking for a better option. Sign up with your eyes wide open and restrict use to meals, drinks and lower cost purchase that don’t require purchase protection. Additionally they make a big play about the app. It’s very basic and the transaction log is really really poor and you can’t even read it when it does show up as they will be over typing etc.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

J goodhind

27th July 2018

Currently in Rhodes with my Caxton card which I loaded up with my holiday money, the card works great for purchases but the chances of finding an ATM that will give you cash without first converting your euros back to pounds then giving you euros is next to impossible. I thought I would just stroll up and get my euros hassle free!! Last night 250 euros out of the cash point cost me 288 euros to clear my card today. Biggest mistake ever getting this card. Do not waste your time or money.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Caxton FX

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No

Caxton FX was founded in 2002 and is a leading provider of prepaid currency cards. Their low fees and good exchange rates make their cards some of the best on the market.

Visit Website

Travel destinations where they speak English (Africa and Southern America)

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 24th April 2019

From our last post, we introduced you to countries around Europe and Asia where they speak practically perfect English nearly everywhere you go. Now, we’re going to explore Africa and Southern America... read more

Bank holiday favourites

Posted by Sam Stone on 19th April 2019

The four day Easter break is the biggest bank holiday weekend of the year for most office workers. An estimated 27 million cars in the UK alone are set to jam our motorways, and airports will be bursting... read more

Breathtaking motorcycle rides across Australia

Australia is one of the most unique places on earth, ranging from unique landscapes and wildlife, all the way to the climate that’s just ideal for motorcycle driving. This is why choosing the travel m... read more

Travel destinations where they speak English (Asia and Europe)

It’s understandable if you get tired of a language barrier on your trips. This is because adapting to new cultures is challenging enough, so don’t worry. There are plenty of countries around... read more

How to prepare for working abroad

Nowadays, living and working abroad appears to be an aspiration for many in their careers. Whether it’s to have a change of lifestyle or roles are in higher demand elsewhere, opting for an international j... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2019 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
For insurance booking, Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.