Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Caxton FX reviews

Poor 2.8 / 5

Based on 21 reviews Write Review

Stuart Addison

4th September 2017

I don't go away much because I'm always working on the boats. I pre loaded this card with £200 to be converted into Euros for the week. Could not withdraw or usd in my chosen places. NEVER EVER get one of these cards as they're absolutely the worst of everything from getting access to your own money to places that accept them. STAY WELL AWAY FROM CAXTON

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Lynne

2nd August 2017

We visited France in May and on the last day, used the ATM to request 160 euro. It was a bank holiday, so bank closed. The ATM kept the card, did not dispense the cash and gave a receipt saying it was cancelled. We phoned Caxton immediately and when we got back home, filled in the paperwork to commence the grievance procedure, all within the first week. That was 13 weeks ago! After 6 weeks, on enquiring how it was going, they denied knowledge of receiving the paperwork they had asked for initially. Sent it all off again, still nothing. Phoned again last week and told to "stop ringing" because it would take "up to 50 days from receipt of the SECOND lot of forms" I'm so furious, this is our money. It would have been quicker to go back to France and sort it out from there. Absolutely disgusting.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

James R

23rd July 2017

Awful, can't access money, account blocked whilst on holiday and their compliance department closed on weekend. Customer service terrible, avoid at all costs!!!!!!!

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Terry

22nd July 2017

Recently got this card to use in the USA. Had no problems with ATM or store purchases. I topped up instantly and spent liberally. Only refused in one olace but I find all money cards are refused with govt or customs organisations anyway. There is a 1% exchange rate difference from market rates so thats how Caxton make their money also small 0.5% handling fee on some transactions. Still better than Revolut which I liked until they suddenly imposed £5 a month subscription fee and which was inly accepted 50% of the time.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

carol

5th July 2017

hi i have jst got my caxton card i am a newbie i was goin to top up my card bit by bit befire we go away an noticed that u can only top.it up in 100s at a time this is not right because many of us cant afford this at once i think they should let us choose the amoint we want to pay onti the card

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Paul

10th June 2017

Have been using Caxton for many years in Northern Europe, great service, now on the Multi-currency card. I always travel with another card too (travel credit card), specifically for hire-car and hotels 'blocking'. Found it also useful for small online Internet purchases in local country currency before leaving the UK (e.g. bus and train tickets).

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Anna Fallen

1st June 2017

I ordered this preloaded card in March of this year and used it in America in hotels. Two hotels put a hold on nearly $1100 of my money thus leaving me short of funds. One hotel then removed over $600 from my account and after many emails to Caxton (who were completely unhelpful) about this I gave up and sorted it out myself when I came home. Last week i went to Madeira and again preloaded my card with euros. I withdrew €300 on the last day and when I returned home found that €341.99 had been taken from my account. When I contacted Caxton they said this was "a process imposed by the merchant". So again I lose out €41.99. I am so disgusted that I have closed my account and asked for the money remaining in it to be converted back to pounds and paid back into my bank. I have just checked online and Caxton is £9 under the rate displayed for converting my euros back to pounds. This card was ordered to save carrying cash while traveling and paying high conversion rates when buying abroad. I have ended up out of pocket and disgusted.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Tom

12th May 2017

What a rubbish !!! .I loaded card and I had to wait 8 days !!! to get money available on my card .Caxton -- holiday destroyer !!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Ronald Patton

9th May 2017

I have had a Caxton prepaid card for a good few years with euro loaded on it, used it many times usually to get cash at ATM never tried to pay anything with it, my card has been inactive for over a year but I have now started to load euro on it again. Fully expect it to still be the excellent card I used before, yes I know from reading these reviews some people have had problems some self inflicted.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Lamorna Jarman

28th March 2017

I have used Caxton fx in the past and have had nothing but good experiences when I set up my card with them a few years ago but feel I have been badly and seriously let down this time. Admittley I had not used my visa card in a while (2-3 years although still valid) and decided to use my caxton master card this trip around. I had moved house since then so needed to change my address. I submitted a request to change my address 1 week before my holiday and in the same day received an email asking for proof of my current address. I sent a screenshot of my bank statement and received an email two days later to advise my address change was successful and also phoned to ensure all was set up and ready to go and received an email to confirm it was all ok. The day before my holiday (Friday) same day as phoning I tried to load 500+ pounds on to my card as this was the majority of the money I was planning on spending for 1 week away. Admittedly some may say I should have loaded less the first time using Caxton in a few years however, after receiving the address change confirmation felt confident all would be well. After transferring the money I then received a message to advise the that payment had failed due to an address error with my bank and it would take 2-3 working days to get funds back in to my account. Having to leave the UK in less than 24 hours I was in no doubt panicking. I phoned Caxton and I was told they had not matched the address I screenshotted on my phone from my electronic bank statement correctly and the payment had failed and would take 2-3 working days to release back into my account. I was told to phone the bank as there was nothing they could do. I was told to ask the bank to prioritise my situation and they would expect the funds to go in within 24 hours usually and Caxton would prioritise my address change for that afternoon. I phoned back at 14.30pm to then be told caxton were short staffed and behind schedule and this will be done on the coming mo

  • I ordered £520 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Ron Alexander

12th March 2017

I would give it minus zero if possible. We summarise below our experience on this trip of the Caxton fx card: 1. At an ATM in New Zealand we withdrew NZD these having been pre-loaded. When the transaction went through the amount was coonverted to AUD (also loaded) then to euros paid the cash in NZD and changed back to AUD and deducted in AUD from our AUD balance. This impacted our whole holiday as we were left with a NZD surplus and a shortage of AUD. We contacted Caxton who blaimed the merchant, saying they had no control i.e. they provide a product which they admit they have no control. At each stage of converting the currency we got poor exhange rates and charges. 2. A later transaction in AUD was converted to UK £'s at a poor exchange rate then bach to AUD and deducted from our AUD balance. 3. To correct our surplus of NZD and shortage of AUD we sought to switch currencies which is said to be one of te benefits. We tried to make this switch day after day and their system would not allow it, saying there were pending transactions. Of course there were pending transactions as we were touring using the card daily to pay for things (trips and meals etc or withdraw cash) . Each day there were inevitably new pending transactions.. 4. Eventually we did not use the card for a day (was inconvenient) to allow the switch. Their system did allow us to reach the switch page, but the drop down facility permitting the selection of currencies to switch did not work. Still no switch. 5. Consequently we tried to load the card with more AUD. On the first occassion we got a screen message saying the transfer did not complete. On a second attempt the transfer was successful. Both transfers in fact went through i.e. we transferred more than we needed. In summary the Caton fx card was simply useless

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Tom

8th March 2017

6 week trip in Australia - no problems (Card used on almost a daily bases)

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Jimmy Fontaine

13th February 2017

Totally ruined my holiday - couldnt access my money - wouldnt give me any explanation as to why??? I ended up having to get money sent by family members to western union. Please read read and read comments and do not make the mistake i made by using caxtons!

  • I ordered £1200 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Peter Jones

4th November 2016

Please don’t use this company. They scrutinize all your transaction and if THEY feel you are spending your money the wrong way they will freeze your caxton account and their compliance department will justify the seizer of you money. You will not get you mony back. They will accuse you of money laundering.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

grahame raw

12th November 2015

customer service is useless.rang them from spain about a failure to dispense from an atm they said they would email a form to fill out didn't happen .rang again when I got home ,they had no record of first call would send form again . nothing rang and asked to speak to a supervisor they said she would ring back instead received an email stating form would be with me in a couple of days but they had attached one to email for me to look at . after 5 days nothing came in post so printed that and posted back. form through post has still not appeared and they have not acknowledged receipt of form. still waiting for return call after latest contact

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Martin Hall

6th May 2015

Having been switched from two Visa Caxton cards ( euro and global traveller) to one MasterCard I found that contacting Caxton and asking for a sterling to euro transfer the software came up with checking the rate of exchange and after five minutes still checking it came up with error on numerous attempts. Phoning there landline number necessitated an eight minute 'bird tweeting' on hold before being answered. The girl could not explain what was the problem and suggested they would 'phone me back but advised it would take up to 48 hours since they were busy. After 96 hours and a further e-mail 24 hours ago no response still. Using their App the system default is Australian dollars though my accounts are euro and sterling. Falling into this trap cost me nearly 50 Australian dollars on an initial £1000 transfer to reconvert them back to sterling within 30 seconds of noting the problem. Used Caxton for many years but suggest AVOID THEM LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Richard Allen

29th April 2015

I had two card Euro traveller and Global Traveller . The Global traveller expired so moved the balance to the Euro traveller. They then cancelled the wrong pin number so when I tried to use it in Spain recentley I couldn't get any money out of ATms'. Had a hell of a job getting my money refunded to my bank but got it eventually after about 6 days of trying,. Have cancelled my card with them.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Howard Martin

20th September 2014

Used both Euro and Global Traveller cards for several years. They work fine, decent exchange rates and not been refused. I was trying to log on when I bought a new mobile, usual fat fingered mistakes, the phone rang and it was Caxton FX asking if I was having a problem, told them and was sorted.

Tony Richardson

17th July 2013

We found on a recent trip to Alaska and Canada that the card was refused in several places, no reason given, just refused, had to use credit card instead, otherwise all OK.

Susan

15th December 2012

Only 2 shops here in Florida have accepted the card, thus I can\'t spend my own money as I wish. They have now locked my card. Terrible customer service. I\'m just going to keep posting until they put things right.

Andrew Mullan

17th July 2012

I got this card for a trip to New Zealand, I found the rate i received from this card was excellent, as well as not being charged a single cent for using it. Would highly recommend for any travelers heading that way.

Write a review of Caxton FX

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No

Caxton FX was founded in 2002 and is a leading provider of prepaid currency cards. Their low fees and good exchange rates make their cards some of the best on the market.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Posted by Matthew Weston on 24th September 2017

The number of people going self-employed in the creative and business sectors is increasing at a faster rate than ever before. As a journalism student, I was told that nearly everybody in my class will have to read more

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

Posted by Holly Burgess on 23rd September 2017

When planning your travels, the most important thing to decide is where in the world you want to go. But wouldn’t it be great if you could select the specific room you wanted to stay in? Thomas Cook ha read more