Compare Holiday Money Logo

Caxton FX reviews

Good 3.2 / 5

Based on 73 reviews Write Review

Hannah Watts

20th November 2018

Terrible experience. I have used the dollar card in the states and in Canada and had problems with’hold’ amounts in both countries. When buying gas, paying for meals or paying for a hotel room, a ‘hold amount’ was charged and effectively removed significant amounts from my prepaid card, which I wasn’t able to get sorted until after returning home - meaning I had less money available whilst on holiday. Gave up and used my standard credit card - the hold amount was always cleared within 48 hours, no exceptions. Have given up on the Caxton card and will use a standard credit card, despite the higher charges.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Mark Phillips

6th October 2018

I used this card for 4 holidays in Europe and 3 out of those 4 holidays I had problems. Don’t bother.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Steve Burney

14th September 2018

I took out a card and used it in Europe, found it very useful but Caxton failed to refund the balance back to my current account, the consequent difficulties in getting them to resolve this issue such that I won't be using them again.

  • I ordered £5000 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Simon

6th September 2018

I took a Caxton card on a 2 week trip to California and it saved me enough for a dinner or two. The savings add up and it makes me feel more secure. Like that you can top it up via the app too.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Phil

4th September 2018

Had a Caxton card for a few years now and always worked perfectly for me. Good value exchange rates, no fees on ATM withdrawals, and good online servicing.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Fiona

4th September 2018

Have had a card for 3 years now...saved so much v credit card fees on family trips

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Jamie Hewitt

4th September 2018

Great to be able to bank the rate before I went away and not have to carry cash around. Easy to top up while on the go, safe in the knowledge that I wouldn't have extra fees to pay while away or any surprises when I got home. Will use again and especially easy for using other currencies

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Adam

4th September 2018

great - used card in States over two weeks was great so easy to load with app, you have to watch US ATM machines as they charge to take cash out

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Ian hartshorn

30th August 2018

Have not loaded card yet but the app is rubbish Phone have to wait 10-12 minutes £5 for cards think I will dump them before I load.

  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Martin Saville

30th August 2018

I am in the UK. I made the mistake of taking the Caxton Plus Travel Insurance card which was offered when I loaded my currency card. I had to cancel some EasyJet flights shortly afterwards for reasons beyond my control and tried to contact the claims company that handles claims on behalf of Caxton - Broadspire EU - to ask if my loss was claimable before I bothered to make a claim. To talk to anyone about a claim you have to call a number in Belgium, and I didn't fancy running up a large bill hanging on to talk to an agent while listening to music, so I emailed them, twice. So far, 6 days later, no response. I recommend you stay away from this outfit.

  • I purchased a Multi Trip policy for just me
  • The policy covered everything I needed
  • Claiming was not simple and straightforward
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

John

23rd August 2018

Caxton FX card is a complete rip off - despite loading € was charged back in £ at a ridiculous rate. Caxton said that it wasn't their problem. Have lost about £80 in 2 weeks, plus 30p ATM fees. Will not be using a Caxton ever again.

Mel

14th August 2018

Complete waste of time. Got a Caxton Visa card and loaded it with Euro's, only to find every time I took money out of an ATM I was charged, and in some cases, the money was converted to sterling then back to Euro's, thus paying again for the conversion when the card was already loaded with Euro's! Also, despite informing restaurants etc that the card was pre-paid with Euro's, sterling was charged and yet again, I had to pay for a conversionfromEuro's to sterling then back to Euro's. App difficult to understand as balances displayed Euro's and negative sterling. Very disappointed. Would not recommend and will be taking a Post Office card next time and more cash.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Patrick

14th August 2018

I have used the Caxton card for about three years and bought euros for regular travel in the euro zone and despite an occasional atm issue I though it a good product...until lately when the app no longer is reliable to try and load....and the exchange rate is increasingly poor. Key point is that if the app is failing this could indicate weak IT infrastructure which in turn could indicate vulnerabilities to hacks or a collapse of the platform if they are penny pinching upkeep costs...any fail of IT could take your money with it....and as other reviews point out there is no deposit protection for this card company stay away....looking for new currency card .

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Quinton

13th August 2018

I’ve had a card for a number of years and it was great but since they changed the App , which I was not notified about , I find it extremely difficult to use and like other customers, they loaded euros instead of sterling. As far as I was concerned it was always just a sterling card and now I darent load it anymore in case it goes to euros . I’m looking for a better company now

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Ian McNeill

6th August 2018

I have had this card for over 5 years and was pleased with it. It has simply got worse. In terms of cash withdrawals and the apps functionality. I’m now actively looking for an alternative. So if you are simply using as a ‘credit card’ for transactions it’s mainly ok. Although you must remember it doesn’t provide credit card style protection for major purchases etc. Both my partner and I have found whether in Greece, Austria or Sweden (all trips in last 12 months) cash machines end up charging - not for the use of the machine but for conversion even though you have loaded as euros or krona. Something your encouraged to do by Caxton to secure a good rate. It seems that the answer here is to just leave your cash in pounds and take the hit once? Or simply change provider. I do think it’s just the banks trying to earn money from us. As for customer service they don’t really want to help. They are nice and professional in tone but don’t actually see or treat you as a real customer. So very disappointing as this was a good product. All the issues seem to have come since they moved away from Visa and to MasterCard. As I say actively looking for a better option. Sign up with your eyes wide open and restrict use to meals, drinks and lower cost purchase that don’t require purchase protection. Additionally they make a big play about the app. It’s very basic and the transaction log is really really poor and you can’t even read it when it does show up as they will be over typing etc.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

J goodhind

27th July 2018

Currently in Rhodes with my Caxton card which I loaded up with my holiday money, the card works great for purchases but the chances of finding an ATM that will give you cash without first converting your euros back to pounds then giving you euros is next to impossible. I thought I would just stroll up and get my euros hassle free!! Last night 250 euros out of the cash point cost me 288 euros to clear my card today. Biggest mistake ever getting this card. Do not waste your time or money.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

COLIN HOGG

2nd July 2018

Complete Rubbish. I have just been looking at the reviews and I found out that I had put a comment 3 years ago. Caxton are still the same but the comments of pressing the wrong button on a ATM machine are very expensive £20 Per £100. I bought a Euro card not a Dual Currency one.But of Caxton deny this as they do not do Euro card

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Chris M.

12th June 2018

Just back from a holiday that took in Singapore, Thailand and Dubai and used the Caxton card extensively (ATM withdrawals, purchases in shops, paying for dinners etc) with no issues what so ever. The card was pre loaded with GBP. Would recommend to other travellers.

Peter

8th May 2018

I have ben using Caxton card for years and was initially impressed with exchange rates and convenience. When it all works its great. Recently I have found two things. The exchange rates don't seem as competitive as they used to be. If you inadvertently overspend on one currency, but have others available to switch funds, it won't let you via the app (which is waht you tend to use when travelling), and they switch themselves, recently causing a GBP overspend when I had lots available in other currencies. I agree with other comments about the app being slow to catch up with transactions, and also needing a 24 hour helpline to cover people travelling in distant time zones.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

D Christie

4th May 2018

Although the Caxton FX card is easy to load and generally accepted by vendors they can end up being costing a lot more than one thinks. In Europe, and especially in Spain, card machines provide an option to pay in euro or GBP when these cards are used. It can happen if one is rushed or if the vendor sneakily hits the GBP button and then presents the machine to the customer for the PIN that one pays in GBP in error. This will result in a charge for the average transaction that can increase the cost by some 10% on the original invoice amount. Also never use a pre-paid card for a deposit as it can take up to 60 days to receive a refund.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others

Don

4th May 2018

No problems at all using this card to get cash out in ATMs in Taiwan. I have used Caxton for 5 years now around the World and has never been a problem. Easy to load funds on their website

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Ragesh

4th May 2018

After using a competitor card for a number of years and increasingly being let down on service, I decided to try the Caxton Card. Opening the account was easy, as was transferring funds onto it and topping up when necessary. The card was quick to be delivered and the service was complimentary to the friendly and efficient brand the company has. A smooth and easy interaction when speaking with their customer service team and above all I put the phone down feeling assured all was well and in good hands. The card worked well overseas with no issues. I used it to both pay for things within a restaurant or shop and to take out cash. Will be moving from the Euro card to the multi-currency card now purely as a result of the experience so far. Would recommend.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Dwaine Roberts

24th April 2018

Skeptical about using one of these cards whilst on my trip through the South of France, however I was incredibly surprised by the ease and efficiency. It is easy to load, accepted everywhere I tried to use it and offers a rate I understand and a good rate at that. Will continue to use and recommends others to do the same and avoid terribly high credit card fees.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

Suzanne

22nd April 2018

Just come back from holiday and card worked great. Used other brands before and these guys were by far the best. Thnks

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Caxton FX to others

COLIN HOGG

20th April 2018

Very poor service. I applied for a Euro currency card on 2018 and because I had applied for one on 2015 I was still on their system even though I did not register it. They then opened the old account with all my old details, ie email address, etc, so I can not access my account to change my details as I can not use my old email address I opened the account with £500 and then had to spend over 2 hours.with 7 telephone calls. But when I asked to close the account I was told I would only get £465 back as the euros would have to be changed back to sterling. Do not touch them with a Barge pole!

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Caxton FX to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Caxton FX

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Caxton FX to others?Yes No

Caxton FX was founded in 2002 and is a leading provider of prepaid currency cards. Their low fees and good exchange rates make their cards some of the best on the market.

Visit Website

Travel planning in the future

Posted by Sam Stone on 11th December 2018

The notion of using an assistant to plan travel itineraries, hotels, flights, car hire, even currency exchange, has been around for decades. It’s such a popular solution that a few of the big travel ... read more

Middle East currencies and travel tips

Posted by Graham Morley on 30th November 2018

It’s fair to say that some parts of the middle east for instance Syria, are troubled by conflict at the moment so you may not have it high on your bucket list of places to visit. However, many places i... read more

Your holiday money can make a difference

How to spend your holiday money responsibly was high on the agenda at a World Travel conference in London recently. Responsible Tourism was the buzzword coming from many of the stands. And it was evident... read more

Post Office travel money rates compared

Post Office travel money rates compared with the best and the worst rates available on Compare Holiday Money. I think it’s fair to say that the Post Office has more places to exchange your pound sterling f... read more

How to be a Responsible Tourist

Thanks to social media, people are exploring other sides of the world more than ever. It is wonderful because earth has so much to offer. It becomes bad only when people really treat places and cultures... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.