ChangeGroup reviews

ChangeGroup are rated Average in 29 reviews

https://www.changegroup.co.uk/

ChangeGroup is a leading provider of foreign exchange services for the international traveller. They serve over 3 million customers every year with a global network of 120 branches in 22 cities across 11 countries and have been trading for over 19 years. A free uninsured delivery service is available for currency but we do not recommend this.

Last reviewed 4 weeks ago

38% of reviews are positive

Does not reply to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 11 reviews are rated 5 stars 38%
Great 0 reviews are rated 4 stars 0%
Average 0 reviews are rated 3 stars 0%
Poor 0 reviews are rated 2 stars 0%
Bad 18 reviews are rated 1 star 62%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars1 StarCurrency BuybackTravel MoneyBulgarian levEurosUS dollars
GG

Gabi Grigor

1 Stars
1 Stars

6 September 2022

Bought Euros

6 September 2022

Total scam and a robbery. Do not use them at London Gatwick Airport. It was an early morning flight and we blindly bought 500 euros that costed us £528. I then checked their rate online on the same day 500 euros should have costed us £432. Queried it with the firm online but was basically told they they have a huge level of overhead and this is their way of maintaining their operations at Gatwick. This is criminal and it should be reported.

JA

James

1 Stars
1 Stars

6 September 2022

Sold 700 Euros

6 September 2022

Disgusted that these scammers are even allowed to operate. I lost a lot of money using them. Please avoid

BP

Bollecker Philippe

1 Stars
1 Stars

30 August 2022

Bought Euros

30 August 2022

Change extrêmement défavorable avec un affichage trompeur

Avons payé la livre 1,49 euros !

Magasin situé à Bloomsbury

A FUIR !

KA

KA

1 Stars
1 Stars

10 August 2022

Worst experience ever. Complete rip off and scam. We were charged €97 euro to withdraw money at Gatwick airport. When we went back to the man to complain he was completely rude and did not help us. Do not use this company, I can’t believe Gatwick airport hosts them on their premise. Disgusting

HM

Hayley McArthur

1 Stars
1 Stars

29 July 2022

If i could give them less than one star, I would. I honestly feel like I have had the p*** taken right out of me. £200 for 400 Bulgarian Lev? Where as my friends went elsewhere and got 560 for £250? Absolute joke, after reading the reviews I don't understand how this place is still a thing.

SM

Sara mortada

1 Stars
1 Stars

4 May 2022

Very bad experience

ST

Steve

5 Stars
5 Stars

30 April 2020

Bought travel money

30 April 2020

I needed US Dollars, I got a rate very close to the official one, the girl was really friendly, great experience..

AL

Annie Li

1 Stars
1 Stars

5 December 2019

Sold 600 Euros

5 December 2019

This is a rip-off company, a money thief. The hidden cost of exchange is closed to 30%, how could the financial authority allow such business practice in UK?

I will file a police report as well, so angry and very upset..

Not to deal with this group, be alert!!

GB

Guillaume Bertrand

1 Stars
1 Stars

24 August 2019

A total rip-off by people very used to this way of doing business!

Today I went to the ChangeGroup bureau in New York, 315 Madison Avenue, to change some foreign currencies into US dollars.

The lady at the counter gave me an average rate (6% off mid market) which I accepted, but she then gave much less money than what corresponded to that rate.

Before I accepted the transaction I questioned the amount and, before responding to my question, she printed the ticket: it showed a handling charge of 19% when the company advertises 0% in their window.

I said that this had not been made clear and that I did not agree with the deal, and asked for my money back. But she refused, and she told me that she as she had printed the ticket she could not cancel the transaction (when she printed it after I questioned the amount!). When I asked her if she could cancel a transaction if she had made a mistake she refused to answer.

She refused to let me talk to her bosses and I eventually had to call the police for help as she refused to cancel the transaction and left the US dollars on the counter, saying that if I did not take them and something happened to them it would be my responsibility.

While waiting for the police she discussed with one of her friends telling him that "the police would always believe the version of a coloured overweight woman instead of a white man". Shocking!!

When the police arrived she told them that her bosses just told her to get me out of the place.

The police suggested I got to the company's headquarter to make a formal complaint, and later acknowledged that they had similar complaints about that company before.

So the real charge for their services, including all their hidden commissions, is 26%: a total rip-off by people very used to this way of doing business!

LP

Lisa Powell

1 Stars
1 Stars

4 August 2019

Bought Euros

4 August 2019

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!

Wish I had read the reviews before I changed my money with Change Group. They are shrewd scammers and should be shut down. They fail to advise on the high fees they charge when giving rates. Use them at you own peril, most of your hard earned money will be swallowed up in fees.

PLEASE DO NOT USE THEM!

Write a review of ChangeGroup

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?