FairFX reviews

43 Reviews Poor | 2.8

FairFX

https://www.fairfx.com/

FairFX is an international payment services provider that has been offering services to customers in the UK since 2007. Their revolutionary approach to the foreign currency market cuts out the middle men and uses state of the art technology to get your money to you at the best rate possible.

Write a review

Andy P D

4 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

4 September 2019

Why am i being robbed of $3 every month for a management fee which when i ask the question, is a fee for expired cards. My card doesnt expire until 2021!!!!!!!!!!

Steve Isgate-Stone

3 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

3 September 2019

Been using a FairFX card for a few years now, easy to use and top up never had a problem with the card and the app is very good too.

Liz Filbey

25 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

25 August 2019

Devastated to find FairFX deducting €2.50 from my card as a monthly charge. According to them, if your card has expired and not been renewed they will take this charge each month until the account is at €0. Despite my cards being valid and in date they still took the charge without justification. Still in dispute with them. Disgraceful attitude!! Now have currency card with new company!!! Unable to leave a review of less than 1 star.

Thosop

23 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

23 August 2019

Had no issues drawing money out in spain. You need to pick the right ATM that don't charge you to draw money out over there. Good buy back rate compared to the travel agents. Highly recommend the fair fx card!

Ray H

13 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

13 August 2019

When it started FairFX was the best way to safely take money abroad. Now it is awful, average exchange rate followed by fees, fees, fees. Monthly fees we didn’t know about for 12months, redemption fees and of course the withdrawal fees. We found this a really expensive way of taking currency away on holiday and will never use them again. Avoid - this company is not what it was and is no longer a genuine competitor in a growing market.

Rebecca Callaghan

27 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

27 July 2019

I am on holiday in Boston USA but I live in the UK. I am here with my husband and son.

We have preloaded a card from Fair FX with dollars to use on holiday to pay for our hotels and extras.

We wanted to pay for our hotel but the card has been blocked by FairFX as apparently this constitutes usual activity( it begs the question why they would think a currency card may be required if not to pay for things whilst in the country that you preloaded for).

I contacted FairFX to explain that my card was not being accepted by the hotel and asking for this to be resolved. Despite my email,some 12 hours or so later- allowing for differing time zones- FairFX saw fit to send me an email informing me of this ‘unusual activity’ and telling me that my card was now blocked.

Forward to today, several emails and 2 phone calls to FairFX later- no response or assistance available at all apparently.

We have paid for accommodation once again using our usual credit card which is reliable and fortunately does not find paying for a hotel room ‘an unusual activity.’

There is no way that I would ever use FairFX again. I would also caution anyone travelling abroad to rely on it as their only means of payment. We would have been in serious trouble here if we had no other payment cards with us and Fair FX have offered us no assistance whatsoever.

Barry

12 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

12 July 2019

Have used both dollar and euro cards for a number of years both worked brilliantly for me,the friends and family cards work well easy to top up and use.

Lyn Challands

6 July 2019

Transferred funds overseas

6 July 2019

I have used FairFx for five years to transfer money to my account in France. I have never had a problem. The transfers have always been fast and efficient with emails to keep me updated of the transfer process.

Robert

27 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

27 June 2019

Loaded card which was a pain. Went to a cash machine in Spain did not recognise my pin. Re entered no luck. Went to another machine entered pin no joy machine took card? Pin blocked.

Emailed customer services abroad. Told them the story. Got an email back next day leave your email address and number. So I did. Got an email back to say card is blocked.? I know! Rang them they ask some security questions I answered and they said my reply’s were wrong. Asked for my car reg and told me it’s wrong? Had same number for 15 years. Told me I used wrong pin I’ve never changed it. So I have closed accounts. Euro and dollar and it cost to do that and the exchange rate buying back (even though it was loaded same day and not able to draw on it no good will gesture no help) is extremely poor. No help with customer services Stick to cash or use your own bank cards as they charge fees at machines anyway and lots of places in Spain are cash not card. The company used to be ok no problems but recently complacent.

Andrew Brazier

19 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

19 June 2019

I have been waiting for five days to have funds uploaded to my euro card.

Customer service evasive unable to say when funds will be uploaded.

Something not right with this company.

Write a review of FairFX

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?