FairFX reviews

33 Reviews Poor | 2.9

FairFX

https://www.fairfx.com/

FairFX is an international payment services provider that has been offering services to customers in the UK since 2007. Their revolutionary approach to the foreign currency market cuts out the middle men and uses state of the art technology to get your money to you at the best rate possible.

Write a review

David

7 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

7 June 2019

Adding a family account card was not easy. I entered details of my child and received a page of IT code ... scary. When I called customer services they suggested I wait a while as sometimes the system "flairs up". Not a great confidence boost.

Paula McCann

4 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

4 June 2019

Have had a card for years with no problems. However my son has had problems getting his own card as he is now 18. Despite several emails to them asking for help, they haven't replied. Useless customer service. Will try another company.

Bert

20 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

20 May 2019

If I could give a lower review I would!

As far as I’m concerned you should be able to do 2 things, load money on and spend your money! Neither of these are easy!

Had problems putting money on as I recently moved house, then got to the states and went to spend in Target it got declined so I was forced to use my credit card! They then put a stop on my card citing ‘Unusual usage’!!!

2 days later and a few snooty emails my card was unblocked where I went to my nearest supermarket another Target, again declined and some more emails! To be told ALL Target stores are blacklisted!

It was declined a few other places and basically I never knew if it was going to work!

Basically a bad card not for for purpose!!!

Tom Hayes

30 April 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

30 April 2019

Avoid this company at all costs. We used them for our trip to Bali and the card failed to work in a number of different locations. Eventually we had to use cash we had or other bank cards to pay for meals etc. We then checked our statement online and the transactions were showing as debiting our account even though they hadn’t gone through. FairFX customer service has been shocking since no help at all

Peter Goodey

13 March 2019

Bought a prepaid Euro card

13 March 2019

Be warned your account could be drained by admin charges if the card expires. You will receive no warning, but it is in the terms. We had three cards which all expired. Will never use FairFX again.

Charley Homs

13 March 2019

Bought a prepaid US Dollar card

13 March 2019

Be very careful your balance will be dripped away once your card expires. Perfectly legitimately it seems it’s in the terms. Avoid!

Ange Leary

18 October 2018

18 October 2018

AVOID FAIR FX DOLLAR CARD Used a euro card for years so I thought I'd give the dollar card a go for a USA trip. AVOID Fair FX for USA. You cannot spend your own money as they tie up 15% of all transactions as 'commission' to restaurants even when you pay a cash tip as I do. If you use it for lunch and dinner you end up with $$$$ tied up and its up to the merchant when they decide to release YOUR money! I ended up not being able to pay for meals as I had planned and had to use my normal card and pay the 'non sterling transaction fees' A costly mistake. Also I was charged twice by a restaurant 2 and 1/2 weeks ago and cannot get the funds released. I am currently over $90 out of pocket.

Rod Dalton

21 September 2018

21 September 2018

AVIOD NOW! Once excellent now apalling This company has gone from excellent to appalling over the last 10 years. I have used a Euro travel card all over the world for 10 years and at first there were many benefits. This year I loaded all my holiday money onto it, received no hint of any problem and headed off to the Far East (as I have many times in the past). However when I arrived I found the card no longer worked in any far Eastern destination. A desperate email was eventually replied to saying as they had suffered some frauds in the East, for their protection and mine they had turned off all cards in that part of the world. I replied I had no way of paying for hotels or food but they just repeated their message. Phoning then in the UK costing a fortune and they still refused to help repeating several times that they no longer recommended new customers to use the Euro card for the Far East which they thought justified holding my holiday money on an existing card leaving me stranded. Their web site still contains old testimonials promoting the use of their cards in the Far East. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. WHEN THEY BLOCK THE COUNTRY YOU ARE VISITING WITHOUT WARNING YOU ARE COMPLETELY SHAFTED!!!

Sarah

19 September 2018

19 September 2018

Had an expired card, as not been away for quite some time, went back to fairfx to reactivate, and found they had cleaned out my account for a ''card management fèe'. Stole €35 from me. Have contacted them, but surprise surprise, no reply. Poor customer service, and difficult to use abroad. Used a different card we swap. No stealth charges.

Christianne

26 July 2018

26 July 2018

Extremely expensive to use. Am I doing something wrong? Bank charges to withdraw cash and we were charged in all locations that we used the card. A 4 day trip has coat about £20 in charges

Write a review of FairFX

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?