Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

FairFX reviews

Very Good 4.1 / 5

Based on 18 reviews Write Review

Karen Webb

23rd September 2017

The card has been compromised so lucky not to much in there. Have written twice to Fairfax to ask how this could happen so far they havnt answered that .. but they have put a block on

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend FairFX to others

Alyson

20th September 2017

Up to two months ago I would have given them a 5 rating. I have had a prepaid card for some years now, and been totally happy with it. Have never had any issues to contact customer service over. However, for some reason - have they been taken over or something? - the rates now are incredibly poor. I used to buy when they were no less than 1 point below MSE's best deal. Today they are at least 4 points below, and less than the post office offers. I did email them last week, and incredibly, the rate jumped a little. I usually bought on Mondays around lunchtime, as the rate always seemed to jump?, but I do wonder if there is maybe some 'manipulation' with differing offers to some customers? Now looking at alternatives.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend FairFX to others

Trevor

19th July 2017

I have had a car for several years but found towards the last, the customer service was always very poor. Had a couple issues and they were not helpful in resolving the issues. Also, didn't like being charged for atm withdrawals abroad (in same currency). Wouldnt use them again,

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend FairFX to others

Alex

15th July 2017

Great card great company. Code: inbwyx7s Still works for free card

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend FairFX to others

Alex

20th May 2017

Excellent!! Still get free card with code: inbwyx7s

    Tricky

    13th May 2017

    1st up, the exchange rate is no better than anywhere else. 2nd you just try and change your email address! Nigh on impossible and you have to go through customer services hoops too, not the best! 3rd Password security, we are in 2017 and for a financial product no special characters! 4th Had a couple of issues trying to load up as I only put a small amount on each time I can afford to lose. 5th The phone app is a nasty nasty piece of work to do anything but check your balance. 2 years ago I was one of their fans, now I am looking elsewhere for better rates etc.

    • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend FairFX to others

    Michael Stephen

    20th April 2017

    Have had a FairFX card for a few years with the same PIN. Loaded card for a recent holiday in the USA and on the first use it was declined. Had to contact customer services from the hotel at great expense. Was told that we had changed our PIN, which we had not as we had kept the same PIN since having the card. Customer services advised us to set a new PIN whilst on the phone which we did. I contacted them on our return home but was informed that the PIN could only be changed by the customer which I disagreed with. They would not accept that our PIN could have been changed without our knowledge. Not impressed. I am reluctant to use this card for this year's holiday.

    • I ordered a prepaid usd card
    • Topping up was easy and straightforward
    • The exchange rates and fees were clear
    • The card was accepted everywhere
    • I would recommend this card to others

    HJR

    15th February 2017

    Fantastic card, accepted everywhere in Europe and US. Use just like a bank card. Great rates too. I have had both euro and dollar cards for 10 years and found them the best compared to other cards. Use FairFX code foq1z to save the £10 reg fee

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Topping up was easy and straightforward
    • The exchange rates and fees were clear
    • The card was accepted everywhere
    • I would recommend this card to others

    Michael D

    16th March 2016

    Brillant. Have used the Euro card for several years. Top has been great, no glitches so far. When new card was needed as old one was due to expire they contacted not the other way round. Would certainly recommend it.

    • I ordered a prepaid eur card
    • Topping up was easy and straightforward
    • The exchange rates and fees were clear
    • The card was accepted everywhere
    • I would recommend this card to others

    David

    24th February 2016

    Have all three Fairfx cards and have done for a number of years as I travel almost continuously. Generally I would say a good card to use. Occasional glitches with loading but works itself out normally... but can be frustrating if it happens at the weekend. Customer Services could be a little bit more user friendly. Tend not to solve problems, more providing reasons for problem or state a procedure. However, I would recommend for sure. Tried an actual travel company card as a standby and found loading was a nightmare, in fact was unable to get into website - so waste of time completely.

      David

      21st February 2016

      Fairfax was a general in the army of Oliver Cromwell. Apart from that I've found nothing to dislike about FairFX.

      • I ordered a prepaid eur card
      • Topping up was easy and straightforward
      • The exchange rates and fees were clear
      • The card was accepted everywhere
      • I would recommend this card to others

      bill laidlaw

      8th January 2016

      I've been a FairFX Eurocard holder for years, now. I've been very happy with the service, the ease of use, the excellent website and, up till lately, the Rates. I will need to buy Euros soon, and have been comparing rates - just to gloat over how good my card is; I was wrong. The rates now are far less competitive than they have been. Today, for example, there are at least 12 eurocards offering better rates. I've e-mailed FairFX Customer Services about this over a week ago - and had no reply, not even an acknowledgement. So I am considering a change.

      • This was my first time using this supplier
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Bleddyn

      9th December 2015

      When you register use the code foq1z to save the registration fee. I have used these cards both in Europe and USA. They are hassle free and easy to budget a holiday and check account online.

      • This was my first time using this supplier
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Mark H

      12th November 2015

      Use this code 02kdvies and they wave the £9.95 fee..! :-) Was going to use a competitor card but after reading their poor reviews I decided to use this card. The rate was much much better then my bank, post office etc. €1.3727 at the time of signup. The card take around five days to arrive. I front loaded £1,000 onto mine at sign up and the process went very smoothly, no problems at all. I can't recommend you get this card enough :-) Update.. I have now usd this card in europe. No problems at all and at the time of posting the conversion rate is back up to €1.40..! :-)

      • This was my first time using this supplier
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Tomas

      31st March 2015

      Promo code foq1z for £9.95 saving on registration. Excellent card.

      • This was my first time using this supplier
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Andy W

      12th September 2014

      I have both a euro card and dollar card. I am now on my 2nd euro card and would recommend this card to anyone who holidays abroad. Top up is via the internet straight from bank account and with conveinent app you can keep uptodate with the exchange rate. Would not go abroad without one.

      Andy Lawson

      26th April 2014

      This is my 3rd year with Fair fx and I'm about to go on holiday with it for the second time. They have given me some good exchange rates and are very competitive. Reloading the card is so easy, I did it in America via their website with no issues.

      AlanE

      13th February 2013

      This is my third year with the FairFX card, and I\'m very satisfied. Operating costs are minimal, no problem reloading it online, and, as it has the MasterCard symbol, it is accepted everywhere. I have another card for emergency use (from another High Street travel company) and, by comparison, that\'s a real pain to top-up and the exchange rate is poor.

      Write a review of FairFX

      Your name

      Your rating

      Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
      1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

      Your review

      Optional questions

      • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
      • How much travel money did you purchase?
        worth of
      • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
      • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
      • Would you recommend FairFX to others?Yes No
      • How much currency did you sell?
      • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
      • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend FairFX to others?Yes No
      • What currency did you transfer?
        to
      • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
      • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend FairFX to others?Yes No
      • What type of prepaid card did you order?
      • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
      • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
      • Would you recommend FairFX to others?Yes No
      • What kind of policy did you purchase?
        policy for
      • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
      • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
      • Would you recommend FairFX to others?Yes No

      FairFX is an international payment services provider that has been offering services to customers in the UK since 2007. Their revolutionary approach to the foreign currency market cuts out the middle men and uses state of the art technology to get your money to you at the best rate possible.

      Visit Website

      Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

      Find out more

      Why sign up?

      • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
      • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
      • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
      Holiday Deals November 2017

      Holiday Deals November 2017

      Posted by Graham Morley on 14th November 2017

      Have you ever visited a Christmas market in Europe? It’s a fantastic experience; a chance to sample a different culture, different sights, wondeful smells from a variety of food sellers and not to mention the read more

      Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

      Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

      Posted by Matthew Weston on 13th November 2017

      It’s been a tough couple of months for the British women’s Bobsleigh and Skeleton team. British Bobsleigh announced it was going to withdraw funding for the team just five months before the Winter read more