FairFX reviews

78 Reviews Poor | 2.2

FairFX

https://www.fairfx.com/

Spend less and see more with the new FairFX Currency Card that lets you lock in great rates for 15 major currencies and spend in over 190 countries around the world. Existing FairFX cardholders can upgrade to a multi-currency card and move any balances over from their old card in a flash.

Write a review

Cristian Buzan

19 April 2021

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

19 April 2021

Waiting for the following options to be available into the FairFX app.

1.PDF Statements

2.Bank Account Details

3.Instantly Transaction Notification.

4.App profile pictures.

5.A better design theme to be available in the app to exchange balance screen,

6,Upgrade the card to a debit one, some of the retailers don't accepted prepaid cards.

7.The app at the moment is very basic with less option.

8.Give us the option to change personal details straight from the fairfx app.

9.I can't linked the card to a wallet tghey don't accept prepaid.

10.I wanted this app to be rich in options and design.

R. Rawlings

28 January 2021

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

28 January 2021

Used to be very good and i used them for a long time using my laptop.Recent changes mean that i was advised by Fairfx i would now need to load an app on my phone but i don't have a smart phone and was then advised that there is no schedule for when any changes to allow use by laptop/pc would be done, hence i can no longer use Fairfx . No problem with staff.

FairFX replied

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. You can use the website on a laptop for the majority of card management actions, everything you will need to do for the primary card you can do on the website. To transfer funds to Linked Cards however you will need our mobile app, I'm sorry that this has caused a problem for you. We are looking to bring out more functionality for Linked Cards on the website soon.

Thank you,

FairFX

Brian

8 December 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

8 December 2020

Like others posting reviews here I have been an FX customer for a long time, more than four years I think and the service was always reasonably good. But this new upgrade is a complete and utter disaster. Only being able to update a linked card via the app is totally stupid, the app isn't actually available at all in some places and if your phone goes down or gets lost you can't do anything at all. The bank fees appear to have increased massively, though these are not FX fees, I think £19.42 for a single transaction is daylight robbery. Also FX say the daily limit is £1500 in 3 transactions, but the local bank insists it's only £500! Previously is was possible to get at least €950 in a single transaction, so why that's changed is a mystery. Unless this is sorted out, using FX will not be viable and I too will close my account.

FairFX replied

Hi Brian
Thanks for your feedback, I’m sorry that you’ve run into problems with the new card. We’re certainly looking to bring more aspects of Linked Card management to the website over time, so I hope this will improve your experience if you prefer to use the website.
£19.42 for a single transaction doesn’t sound correct, please get in touch with us on help@fairfx.com so that we can look into this. You can withdraw up to £1500 a day on your card over 3 withdrawals of a maximum of £500. Please see our FAQs for more information on limits https://support.fairfx.com/support/solutions/articles/44002094569-what-are-the-balance-and-spending-limits-on-the-fairfx-card-.
Thank you, FairFX

Marianne

5 December 2020

Transferred funds overseas

5 December 2020

I too agree with James as I’ve used Fairfx for many years to regular transfer money to my Spanish bank account- no problems. But now all you can do is get a currency card, load it up, then transfer to your chosen beneficiary. Shot yourself in the foot there Fairfx, I’m too off to a different supplier who offer ‘transfer funds’ as a real option not click bait to get a currency card

FairFX replied

Hi Marianne,
It’s certainly still possible to transfer funds, it’s a separate service from our Currency Cards. I’ve just searched the account page and cannot find a button labelled ‘Transfer funds’ on the website that leads you to order a card. If there is an area that is unclear we would like to hear your feedback so that we can improve it, please contact us on help@fairfx.com.
Thank you,
FairFX

Martin Clark

26 November 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

26 November 2020

Previously had problems abroad when unable to withdraw cash.

More recently I tried to update when they reissued their card but just would not do so online.

Unable to log in in spite of correct details and chat line no help.

Received an email apology saying would refund card then 2 days later another email saying login - which is impossible to do.

Terrible company and I am telling friends .... and BBC ONE SHOW were interested in my comments

FairFX replied

Hi Martin,
I’m very sorry to hear that you had these problems. Please get in touch with us so that we can help, please contact help@fairfx.com from your registered email address so that we can look into this.
Thanks,
FairFX

David

23 November 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

23 November 2020

Second time in two months left unable to use my card, tried to top up, cash taken from my bank but not showing on my FX card... Transfer done just after 5pm on Friday cash not on my card till Monday 11am, tried to contact them over the weekend no reply till very late on Sunday night telling it would be sorted as soon as possible. What is wrong with the company, where is the weekend support, I was left having to use other card to get me through the weekend.

This company are a joke!

FairFX replied

Hi David,
Please get in touch with us so that we can look into this. Usually if an order is delayed for as long as a whole weekend its because payment was made by bank transfer Unfortunately we cannot receive or process bank transfers at the weekend, evenings or bank holidays. Therefore if funds were sent to us on Friday evening, they would not have reached us until Monday morning. We alert our customers to this during the order process, but I’m sorry if this was not clear. Please do get in touch with us on help@fairfx.com with any feedback you have to make this process better.
Thanks,
FairFX

Michael

23 November 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

23 November 2020

I have used FFx for many years now but can't wait to take out all my funds and close my cards .Since the upgrade it has been worse than useless ,can't use my i pad ,can't login with the app ,can't sign in with my password ,useless service ,its my money ffs .

FairFX replied

Hi Michael,
I’m really sorry to hear that you’ve had these problems. Although we don’t currently have an iPad specific app, you should still be able to log in using an iPad. Please get in touch with us on help@fairfx.com so that we can look into why you’re having problems logging in.
We’re just putting the finishing touches to work on an iPad app and we’re expecting to launch this very soon.
Thank you,
FairFX

lisa brine

21 November 2020

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

21 November 2020

Have had an avaerage experience with FairFx up until this year when they changed the card. App doesn't work and I can't login to my account at all despite entering the correct password and then resetting it. Appalling customer service that is not available at weekends and even during the week you can't get hold of them. My son at school in USA, he can't log into app, I can't log into app so no idea how much money is on his card and can't load any onto it. Can't wait for him to come home at xmas so I can destroy this card and go elsewhere for a currency card

FairFX replied

Hi Lisa
I’m sorry that you’ve had difficultly signing in. Please get in touch on help@fairfx.com so that we can look into this. Our customer services team are available on email 365 days a year.
Thank you,
FairFX

James

19 November 2020

Transferred funds overseas

19 November 2020

I have used FFX for several years since our daughter moved to NZ and to fund our annual visit the (plus other payments). The app on my iPad was changed ‘upgraded’ a month or two back. Initially I could only see History by website access to my account. Now that good iPad app shows as ‘Discontinued’... why the FFX?!!!

Today I can access my account history online but not see Payee History.

I downloaded the new FFX app on my iPad but find it must be ‘loaded’ when what I want to do is transfer UK bank to FFX to NZ bank .

After maybe 15 years of great service I have just deleted the new crap app and will now find another way to xfer funds abroad.

FFX used to be good but now it is FF sake!!

FairFX replied

Hi James,
We’re working on bringing out an iPad app, we expect it to be released very soon. I’m sorry that you haven’t had access to one for this period. You should find that you can sign in on the website and make international payments from there as normal.
Thank you,
FairFX

Steven Goodall

19 November 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

19 November 2020

Updated the app yesterday. Can no longer use it. Tried it on 3 different phones with the same sim card. Same issue everytime.

FairFX replied

Hi Steven,
I’m sorry that you’ve been having difficulty. Please get in touch on help@fairfx.com. As long you have your correct log in details you shouldn’t experience any issues.
Thank you,
FairFX

Write a review of FairFX

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?