Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

FairFX reviews

Very Good 4.5 / 5

Based on 12 reviews Write Review

20th April 2017

Have had a FairFX card for a few years with the same PIN. Loaded card for a recent holiday in the USA and on the first use it was declined. Had to contact customer services from the hotel at great expense. Was told that we had changed our PIN, which we had not as we had kept the same PIN since having the card. Customer services advised us to set a new PIN whilst on the phone which we did. I contacted them on our return home but was informed that the PIN could only be changed by the customer which I disagreed with. They would not accept that our PIN could have been changed without our knowledge. Not impressed. I am reluctant to use this card for this year's holiday.

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

15th February 2017

Fantastic card, accepted everywhere in Europe and US. Use just like a bank card. Great rates too. I have had both euro and dollar cards for 10 years and found them the best compared to other cards. Use FairFX code foq1z to save the £10 reg fee

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

16th March 2016

Brillant. Have used the Euro card for several years. Top has been great, no glitches so far. When new card was needed as old one was due to expire they contacted not the other way round. Would certainly recommend it.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

24th February 2016

Have all three Fairfx cards and have done for a number of years as I travel almost continuously. Generally I would say a good card to use. Occasional glitches with loading but works itself out normally... but can be frustrating if it happens at the weekend. Customer Services could be a little bit more user friendly. Tend not to solve problems, more providing reasons for problem or state a procedure. However, I would recommend for sure. Tried an actual travel company card as a standby and found loading was a nightmare, in fact was unable to get into website - so waste of time completely.

  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

21st February 2016

Fairfax was a general in the army of Oliver Cromwell. Apart from that I've found nothing to dislike about FairFX.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

8th January 2016

I've been a FairFX Eurocard holder for years, now. I've been very happy with the service, the ease of use, the excellent website and, up till lately, the Rates. I will need to buy Euros soon, and have been comparing rates - just to gloat over how good my card is; I was wrong. The rates now are far less competitive than they have been. Today, for example, there are at least 12 eurocards offering better rates. I've e-mailed FairFX Customer Services about this over a week ago - and had no reply, not even an acknowledgement. So I am considering a change.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th December 2015

When you register use the code foq1z to save the registration fee. I have used these cards both in Europe and USA. They are hassle free and easy to budget a holiday and check account online.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th November 2015

Use this code 02kdvies and they wave the £9.95 fee..! :-) Was going to use a competitor card but after reading their poor reviews I decided to use this card. The rate was much much better then my bank, post office etc. €1.3727 at the time of signup. The card take around five days to arrive. I front loaded £1,000 onto mine at sign up and the process went very smoothly, no problems at all. I can't recommend you get this card enough :-) Update.. I have now usd this card in europe. No problems at all and at the time of posting the conversion rate is back up to €1.40..! :-)

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

31st March 2015

Promo code foq1z for £9.95 saving on registration. Excellent card.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

12th September 2014

I have both a euro card and dollar card. I am now on my 2nd euro card and would recommend this card to anyone who holidays abroad. Top up is via the internet straight from bank account and with conveinent app you can keep uptodate with the exchange rate. Would not go abroad without one.

26th April 2014

This is my 3rd year with Fair fx and I'm about to go on holiday with it for the second time. They have given me some good exchange rates and are very competitive. Reloading the card is so easy, I did it in America via their website with no issues.

13th February 2013

This is my third year with the FairFX card, and I\'m very satisfied. Operating costs are minimal, no problem reloading it online, and, as it has the MasterCard symbol, it is accepted everywhere. I have another card for emergency use (from another High Street travel company) and, by comparison, that\'s a real pain to top-up and the exchange rate is poor.

Write a review of FairFX

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend [supplier_name] to others?Yes No

FairFX is an international payment services provider that has been offering services to customers in the UK since 2007. Their revolutionary approach to the foreign currency market cuts out the middle men and uses state of the art technology to get your money to you at the best rate possible.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Europe Music Festivals in Summer 2017

Europe Music Festivals in Summer 2017

Posted by Matthew Weston on 30th April 2017

We are incredibly lucky in Britain to have such a vibrant festival line-up over the course of a summer. From Glastonbury to T in the Park, there are renowned festivals taking place right across the isles. But f read more

Istanbul’s Must-See Attractions of 2017

Istanbul’s Must-See Attractions of 2017

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 28th April 2017

More and more of us are travelling to Turkey this year, and what better way to spend your time than in the country’s cultural hub – Istanbul. If you’d rather spend your holiday on your feet, s read more