FairFX reviews

FairFX are rated Poor in 132 reviews

https://www.fairfx.com/

Spend less and see more with the new FairFX Currency Card that lets you lock in great rates for 15 major currencies and spend in over 190 countries around the world. Existing FairFX cardholders can upgrade to a multi-currency card and move any balances over from their old card in a flash.

Last reviewed 4 weeks ago

17% of reviews are positive

Replies to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 20 reviews are rated 5 stars 15%
Great 3 reviews are rated 4 stars 2%
Average 10 reviews are rated 3 stars 8%
Poor 13 reviews are rated 2 stars 10%
Bad 86 reviews are rated 1 star 65%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarMoney TransferPrepaid CardTravel MoneyUnited Arab Emirates dirhamEuros
GE

Geo.

1 Stars
1 Stars

1 November 2022

Impossible to top up while on holiday in Spain.

FairFX were always good, I loaded our shared cards with 2500 Euro to pay for the hotel and spending money and I also topped up a few days into our hols without an issue. With three days left of our hols, our funds were getting low so I tried to top up from my usual source, although I got a message that I'd added 300Euro to the account, no money appeared, I tried several more times with the same result. I tried two other cards to top up the currency cards also with no joy. It was an absolute waste of time having these currency cards as we just couldn't top them up. We ended up using our UK bank cards to finish our hol. Fair FX blamed my bank, but I went through all the usual security questions successfully with no issues. No more FairFX, will be looking for an alternative card for my next hol.

FairFX replied

Hello Geo,

I know our team are currently investigating how and why this happened. I'm sorry that you've had this difficult experience with our card. I'm sure this must have been frustrating on your holiday, and it's not the experience we want for our customers. We are working to ensure it does not happen again.

The FairFX Team

BO

Boz

3 Stars
3 Stars

6 October 2022

In general I've found the multi-currency card useful for budgeting particular purchases but it is becoming an increasing irritation that the app doesn't show daily balances. This means if I'm checking amounts I have to go back through the month to calculate everything up manually when daily balances would make things easier. Also, download monthly statements would be helpful too.

DE

Deborah

1 Stars
1 Stars

29 September 2022

Bought Euros

29 September 2022

Got this card to use on holidays, thankfully it worked very well with no issues, however tried using it today and the card was declined 6 times!!!! absolutely shocking and so embarrassing when there is clearly enough funds on the card, but still wouldn't work until i topped it up more! what is this about, can you not use the money that's already on the card or what? afraid to use again incase it declines !!!

FairFX replied

Hi Deborah,

I'm sorry that you had difficulty using your card. Please get in touch with us on help@fairfx.com as we will be able to investigate and explain any issues you've had.

Thanks,

Mary

AC

Alistair Chadwick

2 Stars
2 Stars

24 September 2022

Lost my currency card and the cards and pin page on the website wont open and just says "oops" " error code"

Prior to that I have emailed 6-7 times but I still have the issue

FairFX replied

Hello Alistair,

I'm sorry to hear you've lost your card. We've hadn't experienced any issues with our PIN page, however, we will get in touch with you as soon as possible to help resolve the issue.

Thanks,

The FairFX Team

GT

Gavin Taylor

2 Stars
2 Stars

25 August 2022

Started well, easy to load the card BUT....transactions started being declined on my card at various places and for various amounts (some as little as $1 with $500 still on the card). My wife has a seperate fairfx card that has now been declined in a fuel station, several bars and at Universal studios. Luckily we still have some cash but although my plan was to leave funds on the card, we will now be looking at good old cash and the normal credit cards in future. Sort yourselves out fairfx, my wifes card still has circa $1000 on it and we are actually scared to use it due to the embarassment of it failing time after time. Poor.

MA

Marc

1 Stars
1 Stars

17 August 2022

Won't give me my money back

After coming back from the US and still having money on my card i tried to call them to get a refund. The phone lines aren't taking calls. I messaged on their contact page, messaged on Twitter and emailed. 2.5 weeks and many promises someone would call to discuss and no call has come through. They're holding on to my money and won't give it back

FairFX replied

Hello Marc,

I'm extremely sorry you've had these issues getting in touch. Our lines have been very busy and we have not been able to reach people as quickly as we would like. We would not expect any of our customers to be waiting so long however, even while we're busy. Please do email again to ensure your email is reaching us.

Thanks,

The FairFX team

PA

Paul

1 Stars
1 Stars

22 July 2022

Terrible card. Do not even consider getting one. A majority of times transactions do not work. Nightmare while using in Spain.

FairFX replied

Hello Paul,

I'm sorry that some of your transactions in Spain did not go through. Please contact our team, who will be able to look at the transactions that have been declined on your card and explain the reasons for this.

Thanks,

The FairFX team

SB

Scott Buchan

1 Stars
1 Stars

20 July 2022

Bought Euros

20 July 2022

I orders some euro’s from them on a next day delivery. It is now 2 days on and the money still hasn’t turned up, I’ve tried emailing them and got no response, I’ve Alain tried phoning to be told their phones are temporarily down, I’ve also tried using live chat, not really sure how live it is as it says you have to wait an hour for a reply. I did get a reply giving me my RM tracking number nothing else. On checking the number RM haven’t even received the money yet. I’ve also tried replying to the live chat, it’s now 3 hours since I sent my reply and I’ve heard nothing. Now this really surprises me, I’ve used my FX card for 6 or 7 years without any issue. This now though has me thinking I won’t be using them again after this is resolved.

PA

Pamela

1 Stars
1 Stars

19 July 2022

This is a rubbish service. They state they are better than your bank but this is not the case. Yes you can add money to a card and use this in different countries but you can also do this with your bank card if you let them know. Fairfx do not respond to emails live chats or calls if you are having problems with the card. I spent half my holiday with the card not working and now have returned and can't take the money out or transfer. This is not a good service.!

LI

Linton

1 Stars
1 Stars

4 July 2022

Awful customer service. Tried for 3 days to get sensible help. Their phone lines are constantly down. Email just acknowledge and don't reply to help. Chat I contacted many times and told someone will call to help me, never did. I asked they call me, never did. Left me stuck overseas with no access to my money. Awful.

Write a review of FairFX

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?