FairFX reviews

37 Reviews Poor | 2.9

FairFX

https://www.fairfx.com/

FairFX is an international payment services provider that has been offering services to customers in the UK since 2007. Their revolutionary approach to the foreign currency market cuts out the middle men and uses state of the art technology to get your money to you at the best rate possible.

Write a review

Barry

12 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

12 July 2019

Have used both dollar and euro cards for a number of years both worked brilliantly for me,the friends and family cards work well easy to top up and use.

Lyn Challands

6 July 2019

Transferred funds overseas

6 July 2019

I have used FairFx for five years to transfer money to my account in France. I have never had a problem. The transfers have always been fast and efficient with emails to keep me updated of the transfer process.

Robert

27 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

27 June 2019

Loaded card which was a pain. Went to a cash machine in Spain did not recognise my pin. Re entered no luck. Went to another machine entered pin no joy machine took card? Pin blocked.

Emailed customer services abroad. Told them the story. Got an email back next day leave your email address and number. So I did. Got an email back to say card is blocked.? I know! Rang them they ask some security questions I answered and they said my reply’s were wrong. Asked for my car reg and told me it’s wrong? Had same number for 15 years. Told me I used wrong pin I’ve never changed it. So I have closed accounts. Euro and dollar and it cost to do that and the exchange rate buying back (even though it was loaded same day and not able to draw on it no good will gesture no help) is extremely poor. No help with customer services Stick to cash or use your own bank cards as they charge fees at machines anyway and lots of places in Spain are cash not card. The company used to be ok no problems but recently complacent.

Andrew Brazier

19 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

19 June 2019

I have been waiting for five days to have funds uploaded to my euro card.

Customer service evasive unable to say when funds will be uploaded.

Something not right with this company.

David

7 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

7 June 2019

Adding a family account card was not easy. I entered details of my child and received a page of IT code ... scary. When I called customer services they suggested I wait a while as sometimes the system "flairs up". Not a great confidence boost.

Paula McCann

4 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

4 June 2019

Have had a card for years with no problems. However my son has had problems getting his own card as he is now 18. Despite several emails to them asking for help, they haven't replied. Useless customer service. Will try another company.

Bert

20 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

20 May 2019

If I could give a lower review I would!

As far as I’m concerned you should be able to do 2 things, load money on and spend your money! Neither of these are easy!

Had problems putting money on as I recently moved house, then got to the states and went to spend in Target it got declined so I was forced to use my credit card! They then put a stop on my card citing ‘Unusual usage’!!!

2 days later and a few snooty emails my card was unblocked where I went to my nearest supermarket another Target, again declined and some more emails! To be told ALL Target stores are blacklisted!

It was declined a few other places and basically I never knew if it was going to work!

Basically a bad card not for for purpose!!!

Tom Hayes

30 April 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

30 April 2019

Avoid this company at all costs. We used them for our trip to Bali and the card failed to work in a number of different locations. Eventually we had to use cash we had or other bank cards to pay for meals etc. We then checked our statement online and the transactions were showing as debiting our account even though they hadn’t gone through. FairFX customer service has been shocking since no help at all

Peter Goodey

13 March 2019

Bought a prepaid Euro card

13 March 2019

Be warned your account could be drained by admin charges if the card expires. You will receive no warning, but it is in the terms. We had three cards which all expired. Will never use FairFX again.

Charley Homs

13 March 2019

Bought a prepaid US Dollar card

13 March 2019

Be very careful your balance will be dripped away once your card expires. Perfectly legitimately it seems it’s in the terms. Avoid!

Write a review of FairFX

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?