Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

HSBC reviews

Very Poor 1.8 / 5

Based on 10 reviews Write Review

2nd September 2015

I will not give these any star ratings, but you can't post the review without one showing! As others have said, they send out 100 euro notes and nobody wants to change them. Phoned them up and they didn't care. Went to my local branch, not thier problem, maybe i'll change banks!! Avoid . 1075 euros came as 7x100 6x50 3x20 1x10 1x5

  • I ordered £1075 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

18th August 2015

Ordered euros online from HSBC got a good rate and all went smoothly till I picked them up and most of euro were 100 euro notes they will not change for smaller notes and no one else will either. I have been a customer for over 30 years and was told by the branch tough luck. I have an official complaint just started today about the fact I got so many large notes and they will not change them, do not buy from here I know I wish I had not. I will not be a customer of HSBC for much longer and they don't care about that either, its the attitude we have your money tough luck its your problem. Wish I could give 0 stars

  • I ordered £1450 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th July 2015

Abysmal. I am very sorry I didn't see previous review before purchasing. HSBC sent 100 Euro notes and refused to change them. No one else will change them either (local bureaus all said they wouldn't take them as nobody would want them - shame HSBC think its ok!) Attitude of HSBC was 'tough luck'

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th July 2015

Avoid. Sent me most 100 Euro notes and refused to change them for lower denominations when I asked for more of a mix as I wasn't comfortable carrying large value notess

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

30th October 2013

I think HSBC is one of the top ranking banks in the world as they offer a very professional services and good customer support. :)

11th September 2013

A quick easy and pleasant experience buying our Euros this week. HSBC certainly gave us a good rate and prompt no charge delivery service. We shall certainly use them again.

19th October 2012

hsbc are bottom of the pile ,the lowest exchange rates ever on a daily basis out of britain ,also the worst bank going,scammers and con merchants

12th March 2012

After checking around for the best price for travel money we finally decided on HSBC as they offered free home delivery. After buying travel money from HSBC & checking my bank account it seems we have been charged an extra £4.50 for using a debit card to buy it! There was nowhere on the site that told us this (well certainly not that we saw easily) It wasn\'t stated on the purchase page that there would be an extra charge. Next time i\'ll draw the cash out & buy elsewhere.

5th January 2012

I agree it is a rip off but leave Britain out of it. Think what HSBC stands for ! Hong Kong and Shangai !

29th December 2011

THe ruppee(india )is approx 82 to the pound HSBC are giving you approx 72 ,thats is robbery leave well alone ,RIP OFF BRITAIN ,

Write a review of HSBC

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

HSBC are one of the world's largest banking and financial services organisations. They look after the needs of over 60 million customers, across 80 countries and territories, every major economy in Europe, Asia-Pacific, the Americas, the Middle East and Africa.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

Posted by Matthew Weston on 9th December 2016

After what has been a year of uncertainty for Britain and the pound, it is slowly making improvements in the markets. With this and the continued decline of the Euro, the exchange rate is looking better for Bri read more

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more