Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

HSBC reviews

Very Poor 1.8 / 5

Based on 10 reviews Write Review

Keith williams

2nd September 2015

I will not give these any star ratings, but you can't post the review without one showing! As others have said, they send out 100 euro notes and nobody wants to change them. Phoned them up and they didn't care. Went to my local branch, not thier problem, maybe i'll change banks!! Avoid . 1075 euros came as 7x100 6x50 3x20 1x10 1x5

  • I ordered £1075 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Robert

18th August 2015

Ordered euros online from HSBC got a good rate and all went smoothly till I picked them up and most of euro were 100 euro notes they will not change for smaller notes and no one else will either. I have been a customer for over 30 years and was told by the branch tough luck. I have an official complaint just started today about the fact I got so many large notes and they will not change them, do not buy from here I know I wish I had not. I will not be a customer of HSBC for much longer and they don't care about that either, its the attitude we have your money tough luck its your problem. Wish I could give 0 stars

  • I ordered £1450 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Bernice

24th July 2015

Abysmal. I am very sorry I didn't see previous review before purchasing. HSBC sent 100 Euro notes and refused to change them. No one else will change them either (local bureaus all said they wouldn't take them as nobody would want them - shame HSBC think its ok!) Attitude of HSBC was 'tough luck'

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Chris

16th July 2015

Avoid. Sent me most 100 Euro notes and refused to change them for lower denominations when I asked for more of a mix as I wasn't comfortable carrying large value notess

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Ahmed Saad

30th October 2013

I think HSBC is one of the top ranking banks in the world as they offer a very professional services and good customer support. :)

J COWAN

11th September 2013

A quick easy and pleasant experience buying our Euros this week. HSBC certainly gave us a good rate and prompt no charge delivery service. We shall certainly use them again.

terry

19th October 2012

hsbc are bottom of the pile ,the lowest exchange rates ever on a daily basis out of britain ,also the worst bank going,scammers and con merchants

Ness Gorton

12th March 2012

After checking around for the best price for travel money we finally decided on HSBC as they offered free home delivery. After buying travel money from HSBC & checking my bank account it seems we have been charged an extra £4.50 for using a debit card to buy it! There was nowhere on the site that told us this (well certainly not that we saw easily) It wasn\'t stated on the purchase page that there would be an extra charge. Next time i\'ll draw the cash out & buy elsewhere.

P D Slingsby

5th January 2012

I agree it is a rip off but leave Britain out of it. Think what HSBC stands for ! Hong Kong and Shangai !

m harrison

29th December 2011

THe ruppee(india )is approx 82 to the pound HSBC are giving you approx 72 ,thats is robbery leave well alone ,RIP OFF BRITAIN ,

Write a review of HSBC

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend HSBC to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend HSBC to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend HSBC to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend HSBC to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend HSBC to others?Yes No

HSBC are one of the world's largest banking and financial services organisations. They look after the needs of over 60 million customers, across 80 countries and territories, every major economy in Europe, Asia-Pacific, the Americas, the Middle East and Africa.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Disabled access in the UK’s top airports

Disabled access in the UK’s top airports

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 20th August 2017

It’s important to know when going abroad whether the airports you travel from have the facilities you need to make your journey as comfortable and stress-free as possible. The number of UK holiday makers read more

Introducing WeSwap: A different currency card

Introducing WeSwap: A different currency card

Posted by Matthew Weston on 20th August 2017

Prepaid currency cards have become a brilliant way to save money whilst travelling to multiple destinations overseas. They have grown in popularity in recent years thanks to the number of ATM’s increasing read more