John Lewis reviews

John Lewis are rated Great in 35 reviews

We make travel money easy. Enjoy fast service, rates on over 50 currencies and a buy back guarantee if your holiday is cancelled. Choose to have your money delivered to your door or click & collect at Waitrose or John Lewis.

  • Last reviewed a month ago
  • 57% of reviews are positive
  • Replies to reviews
Reviews by rating
Excellent 54.29% of reviews are rated 5 stars 54%
Great 2.86% of reviews are rated 4 stars 3%
Average 8.57% of reviews are rated 3 stars 9%
Poor 11.43% of reviews are rated 2 stars 11%
Bad 22.86% of reviews are rated 1 stars 23%
Reviews by day

Showing reviews 1-15 of 35

JK
John Kierans

3 May 2024

Bought US dollars

Ordered £505 US dollars. Got $620 US dollars. $450 in $50 dollar bills delivered. Rang customer service who told me to go to my local John Lewis which is in Liverpool. They did not want too know. Rang John Lewis customer service. About 4 more times who bent over backwards to try to help me.who rang John Lewis in Liverpool multiple times with out any luck no reply.then offered a refund. But it’s too late I am going away in 2 days. The staff at John Lewis currency’ was first class. Why does John Lewis persist in giving you large denominations which you can not spend at your destination & then it’s at the discretion of their local exchange to change it

JP
J Pleass

9 February 2024

Bought £500 worth of US dollars

Don’t bother unless you want high denominations. Most of order for US Dollars in $50 bills - not much use as holiday money. Took them in to John Lewis Bureau de Change in Cambridge and they refused to exchange them for lower denomination notes - they would, however, happily buy them from us and sell us new notes - disgraceful way to conduct business. Never again.

AB
A Bailey

20 January 2024

Bought US dollars

Really easy to order and collect from local Waitrose.

HOWEVER like so many others far too many high denomination notes. $630 ordered and given $450 in $50 notes, $160 in $20 and only 4 $5 notes. Quite rediculous and completely useless to use - there is no way you can use $50 for taxis etc, and $20 is also useless for tipping. We have basically got $20 worth of useful notes.

If you went to a cash point here in UK and got 9 x £50 notes I challenge anyone to not have issues spending them.

GS
Geoffrey Simms

15 January 2024

Bought travel money

Tried to order click and collect, but only got 'an unexpected error' has occurred on more than one occasion. My wife spoke to a member of staff, who was friendly and tried to be helpful, but we were both still unable to get anywhere. Very disappointing.

MA
Martyn

30 August 2023

Bought £1,000 worth of Euros

Fast but only use if you want nearly all 50 euro notes!

GL
Graham L

15 July 2023

Bought travel money

I can echo complaints re denominations . I did complain to JL but got a garbage reply re automation and note availability based on the order value . Ordered 1000 in euros and got about 900 in bloody 50 euro notes . Try spending a £50 note here and see how you go on . Go elsewhere

KM
Kevin McEntee

24 May 2023

Bought £500 worth of Euros

JL Currency Sale does not advertise pre sale rate. There were 7 better rates in the market place. The ‘Sale” has no apparent substance or benefit. Triple reward points are not available to existing card holders.

CM
Colin meader

21 April 2023

Bought £1,209 worth of Euros

Ordered 1200 pounds worth of euros

The currency was collected by us from John Lewis,Southampton.So great service all round..

Bonus. Good exchange rate...

JP
JP

14 March 2023

Bought US dollars

I was very disappointed to receive currency almost entirely in large denominations when ordering online. Received $600 as 8 x $50, 9 x $20, 4 x $5. Unfortunately $50 notes are almost impossible to spend in some countries (as are £50 in the UK).

I won’t be ordering online again even though the rate is higher than in store.

RO
Rob

25 August 2022

Bought £500 worth of Euros

Could not buy travel money using two different bank cards, so their website must be either broken or very unreliable. Frustrating to say the least.

It's never a good sign when a shops website has a warning that you should not refresh the page after you confirm all your details. Why would I need to refresh the page, unless the page is permanently frozen and not working correctly.

DC
Dave Cash

29 July 2022

Bought £650 worth of US dollars

Tried to order money but was unable to due to the address finder not working.

OM
Oswald McClure

20 May 2022

Bought £1,000 worth of US dollars

Used on two occasions recently and can only use one word to describe experience. “EXCELLENT”

TH
Thandy

25 December 2020

Bought £1,100 worth of US dollars

I bought £1100 worth of US dollars for my holiday. They did not come when they said they would. I had to leave for my holiday and so l requested a refund, it’s a week of waiting. I am away on holiday, l am having to spend Christmas without any money. Very very disappointed

ES
Elisabeth Spence

14 March 2020

Sold 19 Vietnamese dongs

Our trip was cancelled 12 hours before departure due to Coronavirus.

As there is no John Lewis Bureau de change where we live ( I purchased foreign currency using click and collect). I went to Marks and Spencer where I was advised to contact John Lewis as M&S were buying back currently purchased from them at sell rates where trip was cancelled due to Coronavirus.

I contacted John Lewis where were informed they were not matching anyone else’s exchange arrangements and told me their buy back rates which would mean I lost some £140!!!!!!!

My advice don’t use John Lewis for foreign currency I certainly never will again. M and S here I come at they genuinely care about their customers

CL
Clare

25 July 2019

Bought Euros

Everything went great delivered to my local waitrose but on checking my Euros 90% of it was in 50s it says you get mixed notes I got only 100 in 20s

John Lewis

Write a review of John Lewis

Rate your experience

Click or tap a star to rate

Write your review

0 / 4000

What product or service are you reviewing?