Marks & Spencer reviews

40 Reviews Average | 3.8

Marks & Spencer

http://www.marksandspencer.com/

Marks and Spencer are one of the most recognisable brand names in the UK high street and have been offering foreign currency services online and in their stores for many years. They launched their banking service in July 2012. All Marks and Spencer cardholders get even better rates.

Write a review

sumo

8 July 2019

Bought £598 worth of Barbados dollars

8 July 2019

i had exchanged barbadian dollars rate of 2.3394. low rate disappointed. in the same day i went to john lewis and the rate is 2.4476. what and awful rate. never ever gonna go to exchange again.

Beverley Decosemo

11 March 2019

Bought £550.00 worth of Euros

11 March 2019

The actual ordering process was fine however the delivery service was extremely poor. I requested home delivery (this was one of the reasons I chose M & S) on a specified date which was a Monday. I arrived home from work on the Saturday prior to this only to find Royal Mail had attempted to deliver the currency and I had to either collect or re-arrange, I didn't feel I should have had to do either. As Royal Mail were not available to contact by phone I rang M & S, I was informed they had re-arranged delivery with Royal Mail for my requested Monday. The day arrived but Royal Mail did not have the currency for delivery. I rang Marks and Spencer AGAIN. The customer service person was helpful and I was told depending on the order date Royal Mail don't always actually take notice of the requested date! I was left with the choice of cancelling the order or collecting or re-arranging ANOTHER delivery date with Royal Mail. I question why Royal Mail is even used as a delivery service by Marks and Spencer, I have had previous experience with them regarding delivery of parcels that has also been poor. Also why this potential issue is not highlighted on M & S website when placing the order so it is clear a requested delivery date may not be the actual date RM decide to put it on their schedule!

MM

25 August 2018

25 August 2018

Got an email from M&S telling me about a better rate offer for holders of a Sparks card. Went to the shop having already looked up the sterling to euro rate, it’s not good but M&S were offering a low rate, even with the offer! Went to Thomas Cook and they gave me a better rate. Come on M&S if you email your customers, please do make sure it’s worth our while.

Christine

23 June 2018

23 June 2018

Picked up Norwegian Krone on 1 June for trip to Norway. However when I tried to use 100 krone note on my first day in Norway was told that it was no longer valid currency since 31 May. Notified M&S bank about this 5 days ago have yet to get a response. Have had to withdraw further money here in Norway as, so far, can’t find a bank that will exchange. Not good enough M&S bank!

Adam

26 March 2018

26 March 2018

I went to pick up my travel money that I ordered and found that they didn’t have the currency in stock. A complete waste of a journey. It turns out that m&s are quite happy to send you confirmation that your money has arrived regardless as to whether they have it or not.

IT

6 June 2017

6 June 2017

very poor experience. They run a couple of checks on me if I am a resident here. I went to M&S Meadowhall branch on 20th the Sat in August. Asked me so many unnecessary questions before they told me what the exchange rate was. So annoying.

S Cowie

8 September 2016

8 September 2016

I tried 2 days in a row to buy US dollars but ended up giving up because I really could not understand the lady on the second day at all. I usually find the customer service here very good but not today!

Phil Demain

11 May 2016

11 May 2016

The 0800 operator had a very strong foreign accent, I could follow only with great difficulty, another reviewer said Philippines but I thought Latvian. She said the 24h delivery was not possible if you were travelling in next 3 days and gave me a Manchester number to ring. There are better rates for M&S bank customers, not sure which one this holidaymoney site quotes.

Ian

28 March 2016

28 March 2016

Online rate slightly better than that posted on Compareholidaymoney.com. Delivery efficient and they treat your payment from an M&S credit card as a purchase - so you get M&S vouchers plus a month to pay with no charge. DOWNSIDE - no email or communication confirming your order whatsover (really a disgrace nowadays when you've just committed £1,000), so I ended up having to phone them after 24 hours - and then still no email follow up!

Dave

9 February 2016

9 February 2016

I get euros every couple of months here, sometimes the rate is the best on the high st, sometimes its not. always friendly and give choice of note size. very pleased but just check if the rate is good before attending

Write a review of Marks & Spencer

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?