Compare Holiday Money Logo

Marks and Spencer reviews

Good 3.9 / 5

Based on 38 reviews Write Review

MM

25th August 2018

Got an email from M&S telling me about a better rate offer for holders of a Sparks card. Went to the shop having already looked up the sterling to euro rate, it’s not good but M&S were offering a low rate, even with the offer! Went to Thomas Cook and they gave me a better rate. Come on M&S if you email your customers, please do make sure it’s worth our while.

  • I would not recommend Marks and Spencer to others

Christine

23rd June 2018

Picked up Norwegian Krone on 1 June for trip to Norway. However when I tried to use 100 krone note on my first day in Norway was told that it was no longer valid currency since 31 May. Notified M&S bank about this 5 days ago have yet to get a response. Have had to withdraw further money here in Norway as, so far, can’t find a bank that will exchange. Not good enough M&S bank!

  • I ordered £300.00 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Marks and Spencer to others

Adam

26th March 2018

I went to pick up my travel money that I ordered and found that they didn’t have the currency in stock. A complete waste of a journey. It turns out that m&s are quite happy to send you confirmation that your money has arrived regardless as to whether they have it or not.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Vietnamese Dongs
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Marks and Spencer to others

IT

6th June 2017

very poor experience. They run a couple of checks on me if I am a resident here. I went to M&S Meadowhall branch on 20th the Sat in August. Asked me so many unnecessary questions before they told me what the exchange rate was. So annoying.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Marks and Spencer to others

S Cowie

8th September 2016

I tried 2 days in a row to buy US dollars but ended up giving up because I really could not understand the lady on the second day at all. I usually find the customer service here very good but not today!

Phil Demain

11th May 2016

The 0800 operator had a very strong foreign accent, I could follow only with great difficulty, another reviewer said Philippines but I thought Latvian. She said the 24h delivery was not possible if you were travelling in next 3 days and gave me a Manchester number to ring. There are better rates for M&S bank customers, not sure which one this holidaymoney site quotes.

  • I ordered £550 worth of Euros
  • Ordering was not easy and straightforward
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

Ian

28th March 2016

Online rate slightly better than that posted on Compareholidaymoney.com. Delivery efficient and they treat your payment from an M&S credit card as a purchase - so you get M&S vouchers plus a month to pay with no charge. DOWNSIDE - no email or communication confirming your order whatsover (really a disgrace nowadays when you've just committed £1,000), so I ended up having to phone them after 24 hours - and then still no email follow up!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested

Dave

9th February 2016

I get euros every couple of months here, sometimes the rate is the best on the high st, sometimes its not. always friendly and give choice of note size. very pleased but just check if the rate is good before attending

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

John

24th August 2015

Was going to order Euros week before @ 1.40 missed the opportunity and Euro started to slide each day saw the rate of 134 and went to my nearest branch to get £750 worth only got rate of 132.25 was told 134 was for M&S customers only. Worth watching out for Asda was 133.5

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

R W Henson

19th August 2015

Could not understand the operator! It seems that the call centre is in Manila, in the Phillipines??????????? Gave up trying

  • I ordered £0 worth of Euros
  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

Audrey Hill

13th August 2015

Ordered euros over the telephone. As I am a M&S card holder I was happy with the rate offered. I ordered £500.00 in euros for free home delivery and the helpful lady asked me what mix of notes I wanted. Euros arrived on the day stated and in the mix of notes I had requested. Very pleased with the transaction. Would use again if I was exchanging £500.00 or more.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Suzanne Roberts

27th July 2015

I am an M and S card holder. They offered a very competitive rate and the Euros were delivered on the day and within the time slot requested. I would recommend their service.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

DTH

22nd July 2015

Excellent service from beginning to end.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Tony Whale

21st July 2015

Very good service for home delivery especially if you have M&S credit card which you can order cash on without penalty.

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Lesley Goode

16th July 2015

Can't fault the service at Taunton. Greeted I. A friendly manner & very efficient! As for the non card holder RATE not being shown on the website - it's definitely not True! It's there for all to see! Keep it up M & S & thanks for being so kind! Credit where it's due!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Anna Amoroso

29th June 2015

10/10 for service. Money delivered before the stated date of delivery a rarity! will definitely use the online service again. one little observation the online web do not give customers the choice of requesting denominations of their choice. I got landed with a lot of 100 euro notes which are not readily accepted across Europe so have been asked to take them to M&S money shop and exchange them for smaller notes.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Nick

29th June 2015

Good rate, great service.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Karen

26th June 2015

Very good service first time would definitely use again good mix of notes

  • I ordered £700 worth of Turkish Lira
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Lolli

9th June 2015

Excellent rate. Ordered online, delivered in less than 24 hours as promised. No fee. Can't fault the service. Well done M&S! :)

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Donna Entwistle

4th May 2015

Bit disappointed after seeing the rate of 3.92 for lira was told this was only for marks and Spencer credit card customers. No sign of this anywhere on website and when I did go to buy them only had £144 worth so didn't get any have to go back but was disappointed not at the rate advertised.

  • I ordered £0 worth of Turkish Lira
  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I did not receive a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Anne Marie Blair

22nd April 2015

Have got my euros at M&S in the past was disappointed this time when they gave card holders only the better rate. This was not advertised on the Internet and also not visible in the store until staff pointed it out.I don't hold a card I do shop in M&S a lot which is discrimination to customers, I therefore went elsewhere and got my euros at the cardholders rate. Very disappointed with M&S. The difference was only 10 euros but it was down to principle.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I would not recommend this supplier to others

Louise

19th April 2015

Used Marks and Spencer card so got the higher rate. Staff in local metro centre store always friendly and efficient. Got a good mix of denominations in a handy little wallet. Have never ordered them for delivery though as local store only 5 minutes away. Always find Marksys competitve with their exchange rate and always find in the top 3. Recommend : )

  • I ordered £200 worth of Turkish Lira
  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Jolyn

11th April 2015

Good rate & delivered on agreed date.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Jolly Jambo

12th February 2015

Very efficient and friendly service in the Aberdeen store. Preferential rates for M & S cardholders is a membership benefit and non-members must surely expect to receive an inferior rate. Anyone looking for such membership benefits needs to join the relevant club/group.

  • This was not the first time I used this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

LIllian Chance

20th September 2014

Excellent service & competitive rate, very pleasant man who served me Friday evening 19/9 !! will always check M&S Merry Hill first.

Load More Reviews

Write a review of Marks and Spencer

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Marks and Spencer to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Marks and Spencer to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Marks and Spencer to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Marks and Spencer to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Marks and Spencer to others?Yes No

Marks and Spencer are one of the most recognisable brand names in the UK high street and have been offering foreign currency services online and in their stores for many years. Marks and Spencer launched their banking service in July 2012.

Visit Website

Mica McNeill bobsleigh team update

Posted by Graham Morley on 18th December 2018

Last year Mica McNeill and her bobsleigh team came to prominence after doing very well at the winter Olympics which was helped by raising a lot of their sponsorship through crowdfunding. At that time Compare... read more

Moving to another Country?

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 17th December 2018

There has been an increasing number of people moving to another country. One thing for sure is that it’s not easy and takes a lot of courage. Here are some things you will need to do when before... read more

Quidditch and Travel Money

Quidditch and travel money is not a combination you would necessarily put  together on first thoughts but among Compare Holiday Money’s sponsorships we are proud to support the Falmouth Falcons ... read more

Travel planning in the future

The notion of using an assistant to plan travel itineraries, hotels, flights, car hire, even currency exchange, has been around for decades. It’s such a popular solution that a few of the big travel ... read more

Middle East currencies and travel tips

It’s fair to say that some parts of the middle east for instance Syria, are troubled by conflict at the moment so you may not have it high on your bucket list of places to visit. However, many places i... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.