Compare Holiday Money Logo

No1 Currency reviews

Very Good 4.2 / 5

Based on 103 reviews Write Review

Larry Evans

14th September 2018

Ordered a considerable amount of Hong among Dollars on Line to be collected from their Barnstaple Branch. On arrival I asked if I could round the amount up to a larger amount. No problem ,increased balance at on line rate. First class service from start to finish. Highest rates in my area.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Bob

13th September 2018

AJ at stratford was a very helpful person and gave us very good rates. He gave a friendly service... . GIVE THIS GUY A PAY RISE! Would highly recommend!

Patricia

12th September 2018

Excellent service, was delivered to skelmersdale branch in 2 days.

  • I ordered £560 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

leigh

18th August 2018

Ordered Euros to collect in Cash Generator store on Park Road, Liverpool. Received details stating Euros ready to collect and the exchange rate would only be valid for two days. Went to the store to collect and was told the gentleman who deals with Euro exchange was not in today and as there were no other staff trained to exchange my money I could not have my Euros. No Euros and no apology, terrible customer services and very disappointing experience!!

  • I ordered £320 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

John

11th August 2018

I purchased a currency card for use in the USA. It was totally impossible to track spending and know the up to date balance available to spend the card. Several times the card was presented for payment and declined saying there were insufficient funds. I knew this was incorrect and even No1 Currency’s own online system showed an available balance. I have now returned home with unspent dollars still on the card, while out of pocket as I had to use another credit card which used a significantly worse exchange rate and also levied foreign currency charges-exactly the situation I was trying to avoid. On my return home I have emailed the company but received no reply. I have also called my local branch to no avail. I will now report the company to the ombudsman. I will never use this currency card again.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

Clare

10th August 2018

Excellent service. I ordered Australian dollars online and received them by registered post the next day. Very happy!

  • I ordered £750 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Jo

21st July 2018

Opted for the clock and collect option online to collect at my local cash converters. I received no email to say my currency had been delivered on the date specified so the following day I rang to see where it was. They said there was a shortage of Columbian peso so they just hadn’t been delivered. Nobody rang me or emailed me to say this would be the case and therefore left with no time to arrange getting my currency elsewhere and no alternative offered.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

Martin Dawson

6th July 2018

Called in Wakefield. Did not even know about the shop until one of lads told me. Grand lass behind counter, smiling and having some chat with me. Gave me a nice variation of euros and I can say this I'll be back because of how she spoke to me. She told me to tell me friends and then I saw this review thing. So here you go. Thanks lass.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Chris houghton

4th July 2018

Gave my £1.700 pound sterling and she put five €200 notes in without even telling me how how wanted it then refused to exchange them as I still had receipt in hand Staff was rude and just grinned, feel conned never use again had to use buy back at another exchange to loose money on them and they even said they would never give them out as holiday money disgusting service and staff

  • I ordered £1700 worth of Euros
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

Giles

18th May 2018

Go to collect currency virtually every month. Scottish Manager always polite, helpful and knowledgeable. Willing to chat when shop quiet and treats all customers (several are friends who I have recommended) as friends. Cannot fault

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested

Sara Mills-Harrison

1st May 2018

website gives incorrect information and emails are always bounced back very inefficient service had to give 1 star because you are not allowed to ignore this field

  • I sold 500.00 US Dollars
  • I did not receive the amount I was quoted
  • I was not paid within three working days
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

Lea Engst

23rd April 2018

They gave me a counterfeit $100 bill and then insisted they did not give it to me. VERY SCARY!

  • I ordered £900 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

Jenny

21st April 2018

Ordered €720 Euro online to click & collect. 1st time customer. Happy with service overall but notes & coins desired in change as small denominations were not available. Needed 3 way split which they were happy to bag up. Was offered more euros at online rate (reserved rate) not the lower in-store rate.

  • I ordered £620 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Glen Bennett

3rd April 2018

Well you can't go wrong. I ordered my Turkish lira on the Internet got a text and an email two days later to tell me it was at the store that I asked for and even though the rate had gone down I still got the amount that it was when I had ordered it. Can't ask for better.

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Sonny

19th March 2018

Great rate of exchange,fast collection time,easy to order ,good range of notes ,only criticism is that they have moved and address advertised isn’t correct but they have only moved down the road so no big deal.

  • I ordered £550 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Said

3rd March 2018

Always the best rates for me.

  • I ordered £2300 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

paul

2nd March 2018

Ordered Canada dollars at my local cash generator shop. (No1 Currency) deliver to cash generator. When i went to pick up the dollars the rate had gone down but they said I get the rate at when I ordered not when you pick up. Also if the rates go up you get that rate.

  • I ordered £1521 worth of Canadian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Emma

14th February 2018

I have seen some bad reviews of this company but I honestly cannot pick a fault with them. They offered a great rate and my money was delievered on the date I had selected. Great service, thankyou.

  • I ordered £450 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Barbara Moore

9th February 2018

Great rates, excellent delivery, would highly recommend and will defiantly use again

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Steve

8th December 2017

Ordered online at 10:50 am, email to say that the currency was ready and could be collected less than half an hour later. Money collected from a local store (Rotherham) the same day as described. Extremely quick and easy process.

  • I ordered £2300 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Graham

10th November 2017

I have used the Morningside branch in Edinburgh several times and they are consistently good. I always order online to collect at the branch. Order placed one day and collected the next. Remember, as with all providers, you get a better rate if you order online first rather than just walking in off the streeet. Their rates are around the best you can get. I note that this site quotes a £4.95 delivery charge but if you collect and dont need to pay this then it is even better value.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Australian Dollars
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Jin

18th October 2017

I ordered £1,500 worth of Bulgarian Lev online with a confirmed rate of 2.144 yesterday. I opted for 'click and collect' at their St. Paul Churchyard branch as it is closer to my work. However I was contacted this morning by their St. Paul branch that they only have about 1,500 Lev and that I can get the balance from their other branch in Euston road at the agreed rate 2.144. The lady at St. Paul branch was very nice; I agreed to this arrangement as it was not a problem for me. However when I arrived at their Euston Road branch, the Manager Mr Venu refused to honour the agreed the rate as he claimed this is a different branch and the going rate is 2.130. As far as I know my contract is with No 1 Currency regardless of the branch. I am angry as I wasted my time for the journey and also No1 Currency has breached its contract for not selling £1,500 for the agreed rate. I didn't accept the new rate not because I'm worried about the extra few pounds, it is the principle behind this is wrong. No1 Currency has broken its fundamental agreement with its customer. I am not going to take them to court over this however the company has lost a good customer. In short the rate you secured online is not necessary guaranteed with No 1 Currency so be careful!

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Bulgarian Lev
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

Lynn Wilde

9th October 2017

Excellent rates & money arrived day after ordering. I chose click and collect and staff at shop were friendly & efficient.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Greg

11th August 2017

Terrible. Card didn't arrive and customer service was unbelievably rude.

No1 Currency replied

11th August 2017

Thank you for providing No.1 Currency with feedback about your recent transaction. Customer service is very important to us and we are very are sorry to hear about your experience. We wish to investigate this further and would appreciate if you could provide us with contact details to cams@no1currency.com to discuss this further. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Deborah Young

15th July 2017

I was totally wary buying Travel Money online but you know what! it had to be done as you get a better exchange rate. Very impressed with No1 Currency as you get a good mix of notes and it was sent special delivery within 2 days. I will defo always buy my currency from them again. Thank you.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Bulgarian Lev
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of No1 Currency

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend No1 Currency to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend No1 Currency to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend No1 Currency to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend No1 Currency to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend No1 Currency to others?Yes No

No1 Currency buy and sell currency at over 270 stores across the UK, so no more waiting in for the postman! We also offer a home delivery service and great exchange rates. Please note: Payment methods vary by branch, please check the No1 Currency website for more information on your chosen collection point.

Visit Website

Budget-stretching toll roads

Posted by Sam Stone on 18th September 2018

Risking life and limb on foreign high-speed toll roads isn’t the best way to start a relaxing well-earned holiday. It is also an expensive way to burn through your hard-earned budget. In an ideal world, rea... read more

Best currency exchange rate improvements

Posted by Graham Morley on 12th September 2018

Currency rates fluctuate all the time depending on many factors, but which are the best currency exchange rate improvements over the last year? Compare Holiday Money logs the exchange rates for all our... read more

Good travel accommodation on a budget

Why are we writing a post about how to find a good travel accommodation on a budget? Because the things that cost so much on every trip that you can’t avoid are transport and accommodation. The travelling... read more

Head spinning currency exchange rates

As a British national, I’ve got used to the ease of travelling in Europe and the simple exchange rate conversion it brings with it. I’ve happily adopted the one currency that now fits a range of c... read more

Holiday packing list essentials

Besides packing up and not forgetting some travel essentials, there are so many things you must do before packing up for an international trip. It can be quite stressful since there’s so many of... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.