Compare Holiday Money Logo

No1 Currency reviews

Very Good 4.2 / 5

Based on 108 reviews Write Review

Lynda

21st March 2019

Ordered our Canadian dollars for click and collect late Monday and received text Thursday morning to say they were ready, great service and very good exchange rate very pleased with the service

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Canadian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

No1 Currency replied

22nd March 2019

Hi Lynda! Thanks for this great review, we hope to see you again soon. All the best for the upcoming trip, Kate

COLIN

19th December 2018

Best avoided .The cash card did not work . However much the machine was asked for it just replied insufficient funds . On calling the shop where it was purchased I was told that they do not sell these cards anymore and I must contact No1 currency . However several e mails sent to them have been returned as not possible to deliver . An e mail to the contact site failed to get a response . Eventually after more e mails and telephone calls they offered me a refund but this would cost £5 , not much ,but to be charged a fee for their product not working is surely wrong .I e mailed my thoughts to them and have had no refund or any other response .I am just glad that I was not on holiday with all my funds wrapped up in this useless bit of plastic .My thoughts are .....never again .

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

No1 Currency replied

21st December 2018

Thank you for providing No.1 Currency with feedback about your recent transaction.? Customer service is very important to us and we are very are sorry to hear about your experience with our prepaid card provider.? We wish to investigate this further and would appreciate if you could provide us with some further details (store location, transaction date, contact email or mobile) to cams@no1currency.com. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Raj

14th December 2018

Having checked the online rates I went to their store in Westfield Stratford. The guy wanted to charge a few quid more. Asked for a better deal, “I’ll try and do something” gave me the online rate like he’s doing me a favour. Charge people what your advertising, don’t rip people off. Everyone has access to the same information, it makes business sense to deal honestly. If you want to stay no1 for currencies as you will know most people shop around, you come up trumps on rates.

  • I ordered £300 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Stephen

2nd November 2018

Use Uxbridge shop always ,good staff excellent rates would always use

  • I ordered £44 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Emma

3rd October 2018

No1 Currency have by far the best high street rates so we opted for the click and collect syle service. Only issue we had was lack of communication. We ordered the currency but didn't get any confirmation email. I emailed and tweeted to confirm they'd received our order but heard nothing until a text received four days later to say the currency was in our chosen store ready to collect. A bit of a nuisance but still the best rate for Chinese Yuan by a mile. Collection was simple and we received a very good varity of denominations. Would use again.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Chinese Yuan
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Larry Evans

14th September 2018

Ordered a considerable amount of Hong among Dollars on Line to be collected from their Barnstaple Branch. On arrival I asked if I could round the amount up to a larger amount. No problem ,increased balance at on line rate. First class service from start to finish. Highest rates in my area.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Bob

13th September 2018

AJ at stratford was a very helpful person and gave us very good rates. He gave a friendly service... . GIVE THIS GUY A PAY RISE! Would highly recommend!

Patricia

12th September 2018

Excellent service, was delivered to skelmersdale branch in 2 days.

  • I ordered £560 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

leigh

18th August 2018

Ordered Euros to collect in Cash Generator store on Park Road, Liverpool. Received details stating Euros ready to collect and the exchange rate would only be valid for two days. Went to the store to collect and was told the gentleman who deals with Euro exchange was not in today and as there were no other staff trained to exchange my money I could not have my Euros. No Euros and no apology, terrible customer services and very disappointing experience!!

  • I ordered £320 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

John

11th August 2018

I purchased a currency card for use in the USA. It was totally impossible to track spending and know the up to date balance available to spend the card. Several times the card was presented for payment and declined saying there were insufficient funds. I knew this was incorrect and even No1 Currency’s own online system showed an available balance. I have now returned home with unspent dollars still on the card, while out of pocket as I had to use another credit card which used a significantly worse exchange rate and also levied foreign currency charges-exactly the situation I was trying to avoid. On my return home I have emailed the company but received no reply. I have also called my local branch to no avail. I will now report the company to the ombudsman. I will never use this currency card again.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

Clare

10th August 2018

Excellent service. I ordered Australian dollars online and received them by registered post the next day. Very happy!

  • I ordered £750 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Jo

21st July 2018

Opted for the clock and collect option online to collect at my local cash converters. I received no email to say my currency had been delivered on the date specified so the following day I rang to see where it was. They said there was a shortage of Columbian peso so they just hadn’t been delivered. Nobody rang me or emailed me to say this would be the case and therefore left with no time to arrange getting my currency elsewhere and no alternative offered.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

Martin Dawson

6th July 2018

Called in Wakefield. Did not even know about the shop until one of lads told me. Grand lass behind counter, smiling and having some chat with me. Gave me a nice variation of euros and I can say this I'll be back because of how she spoke to me. She told me to tell me friends and then I saw this review thing. So here you go. Thanks lass.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Chris houghton

4th July 2018

Gave my £1.700 pound sterling and she put five €200 notes in without even telling me how how wanted it then refused to exchange them as I still had receipt in hand Staff was rude and just grinned, feel conned never use again had to use buy back at another exchange to loose money on them and they even said they would never give them out as holiday money disgusting service and staff

  • I ordered £1700 worth of Euros
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

Giles

18th May 2018

Go to collect currency virtually every month. Scottish Manager always polite, helpful and knowledgeable. Willing to chat when shop quiet and treats all customers (several are friends who I have recommended) as friends. Cannot fault

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested

Sara Mills-Harrison

1st May 2018

website gives incorrect information and emails are always bounced back very inefficient service had to give 1 star because you are not allowed to ignore this field

  • I sold 500.00 US Dollars
  • I did not receive the amount I was quoted
  • I was not paid within three working days
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

Lea Engst

23rd April 2018

They gave me a counterfeit $100 bill and then insisted they did not give it to me. VERY SCARY!

  • I ordered £900 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend No1 Currency to others

Jenny

21st April 2018

Ordered €720 Euro online to click & collect. 1st time customer. Happy with service overall but notes & coins desired in change as small denominations were not available. Needed 3 way split which they were happy to bag up. Was offered more euros at online rate (reserved rate) not the lower in-store rate.

  • I ordered £620 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Glen Bennett

3rd April 2018

Well you can't go wrong. I ordered my Turkish lira on the Internet got a text and an email two days later to tell me it was at the store that I asked for and even though the rate had gone down I still got the amount that it was when I had ordered it. Can't ask for better.

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Sonny

19th March 2018

Great rate of exchange,fast collection time,easy to order ,good range of notes ,only criticism is that they have moved and address advertised isn’t correct but they have only moved down the road so no big deal.

  • I ordered £550 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Said

3rd March 2018

Always the best rates for me.

  • I ordered £2300 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

paul

2nd March 2018

Ordered Canada dollars at my local cash generator shop. (No1 Currency) deliver to cash generator. When i went to pick up the dollars the rate had gone down but they said I get the rate at when I ordered not when you pick up. Also if the rates go up you get that rate.

  • I ordered £1521 worth of Canadian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Emma

14th February 2018

I have seen some bad reviews of this company but I honestly cannot pick a fault with them. They offered a great rate and my money was delievered on the date I had selected. Great service, thankyou.

  • I ordered £450 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Barbara Moore

9th February 2018

Great rates, excellent delivery, would highly recommend and will defiantly use again

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others

Steve

8th December 2017

Ordered online at 10:50 am, email to say that the currency was ready and could be collected less than half an hour later. Money collected from a local store (Rotherham) the same day as described. Extremely quick and easy process.

  • I ordered £2300 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend No1 Currency to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of No1 Currency

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend No1 Currency to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend No1 Currency to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend No1 Currency to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend No1 Currency to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend No1 Currency to others?Yes No

No1 Currency buy and sell currency at over 270 stores across the UK, so no more waiting in for the postman! We also offer a home delivery service and great exchange rates. Please note: Payment methods vary by branch, please check the No1 Currency website for more information on your chosen collection point.

Visit Website

Prepare for EU Exit: Pet Travel and Equine Movement

Posted by Holly Burgess on 21st March 2019

As March 29th approaches, UK travellers need to be aware of the changes that will occur after the EU exit. According to the European Commission analysis, roughly 250,000 British cats and dogs are taken... read more

When Is The Best Time To Travel?

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 19th March 2019

This is a common problem all travelers will face at least once. You either get stuck in a snowstorm, end up having a heatstroke or have to stay in because it rains so much. It’s always one or another!... read more

Prepare for EU Exit: Travel Insurance and Passports

Europe is one of the most popular destinations for UK travellers. In 2017 there were roughly 58 million journeys made from the UK to European Union destinations. Brexit will have an affect on UK travellers;... read more

Travelling solo

With International Women’s day behind us and Mothers day looming, it seems an appropriate time to explore the opportunities available for women travelling solo in today’s holiday market. Why travel? T... read more

How to Help Your Family Settle into Life in New Zealand

Moving to a new country is a scary and challenging venture for most people. The stress of starting a new job, finding a good school for the kids, and moving into a new house is a lot to handle at once.... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2019 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.