Post Office reviews

The Post Office are rated Poor in 597 reviews

https://www.postoffice.co.uk/

As well as offering 0% commission on all our currencies and having hundreds of eligible branches all over the UK, we also offer delivery or collection options most convenient to you. We’ll buy back any money you don’t spend, and offer a 100% refund guarantee if your holiday is cancelled (T&Cs apply).

Last reviewed 3 days ago

20% of reviews are positive

Replies to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 96 reviews are rated 5 stars 16%
Great 21 reviews are rated 4 stars 4%
Average 22 reviews are rated 3 stars 4%
Poor 39 reviews are rated 2 stars 7%
Bad 419 reviews are rated 1 star 70%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarCurrency BuybackPrepaid CardTravel MoneyPeruvian nuevo solCroatian kunaBrazilian realsUS dollars
PA

Pauline

1 Stars
1 Stars

28 November 2022

I travelled to Spain and used my Post Office travel card, however, I did not use all the euros and had some left over (first for everything!). So, I tried to withdraw the remaining balance from one of the ATMs listed on the app to no avail. I then went into the post office and the two women behind the counter were clueless and were not able to help; advised I ring up customer service.

After contacting CS I was then advised that I had to wait on an email with a code and take it to my local branch to withdraw the remaining balance and it could take up to ten working days. Ten working days later - nothing. I wait a few days later and ring them back up, lady was extremely nice however, no answers as to why I hadn’t received the code with my money. I asked if this could be escalated and she said it could delay the process (??) so, she had to put it back through and it could take up to ANOTHER ten working days. I questioned why it takes so long to send a digital code via email and she again, did not know and could only apologise. Still waiting on the email with the code. Terrible service, especially so close to Christmas.

The Post Office replied

We're really sorry to hear this. Would you be able to email us at info@postoffice.travelmoneycard.co.uk with your full name, and last four of your card and we can look into this for you?

AN

Andy

1 Stars
1 Stars

7 November 2022

Bought Euros

7 November 2022

On my hols and trying to get cash from ATMs. Transactions are all getting denied for no obvious reason. Rang the help desk and was told that the card is not accepted on all ATMs which was news to me! Told to look at the ATM Finder for ATMs that I could use. Most of the ATMs listed don't actually exist. Now having to use my bank debit card with all the added costs that entails. Very unhappy.

The Post Office replied

Sorry to hear that and for any inconvenience caused, I will ensure this is fed back to the relevant team so we can continue to improve the services we offer.

SL

Sandra Larsen

1 Stars
1 Stars

7 November 2022

I ordered some Danish Kroner on 25 September. When we tried to use the money in Copenhagen it was refused because it was Norwegian Kroner which cannot be used in Denmark. When I emailed you I was told this couldn't happen. I replied it HAD happenedmm and I wanted my money back. After a lot of chasing by me we eventually received an envelope to return the Norwegian Kroner which I did. Then silence. I emailed once again asking what was happening and received an email saying the refund had been sent on 26 October. I emailed on 3 November saying I hadn't received the money but only received a email confirming receipt of my email. Then nothing. I telephoned again today to advise non receipt to be told again that the money had been sent to which I replied I had just checked but the money had not arrived. The young lady said she would investigate and call me back which she did. Apparently the money had gone to a wrong number despite your being given the correct number . I have now been assured the money will be with me tomorrow or latest Wednesday. It has taken from 5 October until now to sort out your mistake and the 30 pound compensation has been eaten up with credit card expenses and 0345 telephone calls. I am more than disappointed with the service or lack there of.

The Post Office replied

Sorry to hear that and for any inconvenience caused, I will ensure this is fed back to the relevant team so we can continue to improve the services we offer.

MK

Maria knowles

2 Stars
2 Stars

30 October 2022

They sent me old nominations and would not exchange them for better ones or give me a refund. If you order foreign currency from them, please ask them to open the envelop to check the notes before signing the receipt. Your signature is your acceptance. Once that is done you are in trouble because they will not do anything to help if you are not happe with the condition of the notes as it happened to me lately.

The Post Office replied

Sorry to hear that and for any inconvenience caused, I will ensure this is fed back to the relevant team so we can continue to improve the services we offer.

LM

Lynne Mason

1 Stars
1 Stars

27 October 2022

Bought £600 worth of Euros

27 October 2022

I tried to put £200 into euros on my card. I kept getting error try again. I tried 3 times and gave up. Checked my bank and £600 had been taken. Rang Post Office Travel Money and requested £400 back into my bank. They took the money off the card straight away. I still have not received money back in my account 8 days later. Have made 5 phone calls and a manager I spoke to last was rude. Don't know what to do.

The Post Office replied

We are very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with your Travel Money Card. Please give us a call on 0344 335 0109 and one of our advisors will help further

PA

Paul

1 Stars
1 Stars

22 October 2022

Prepaid card is never available to load new currency. Message "System down error code 6004" the system appears to be down more than it's ever up and available.

Really disappointed with this card. Definitely wouldn't recommend. If you require to top up abroad, or even at home for that matter good luck as the system is rarely available due to maintenance. Plenty of other options on the market, I would suggest you look else ware.

WA

Wayne

1 Stars
1 Stars

11 October 2022

Bought Euros

11 October 2022

Post office rate in store is better than the card rate for euros?

AS

alexis smith

1 Stars
1 Stars

7 October 2022

Local post office staff always very helpful and were in this case - problem was, when I went to post office with my passport etc (everything I needed) and counter assistant did application for me, I was told that my details weren't recognised when inputted but that card had at least been registered and I would be contacted by email so things could be sorted. Still waiting - going on hols in two weeks. Verdict - rubbish online service and no human to assist.

CH

Christianne

1 Stars
1 Stars

5 October 2022

Bought US dollars

5 October 2022

Ordered dollars online, confirmation email said would be ready at chosen post office by 4pm same day, but I went to collect them the next day and they were not there. Postmistress very embarrassed, but is not her fault, the online people are to blame. Very disappointing

L

L

1 Stars
1 Stars

2 October 2022

Terrible service. The app would not let me top up my card and declined multiple attempts to load more money to it even using two different cards. I checked with my bank and had sufficient funds. Contacted the post office and they said their IT department would take 72 hours to look into it leaving me with no ability to top up whilst I am abroad and the card is now useless. The only suggestion was to reinstall the app which didn’t work. Leaving customers with no access to funds is a very poor service and won’t bother with a card again. Fortunately I have access to other funds. Very disappointing!

Write a review of the Post Office

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?