Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.4 / 5

Based on 245 reviews Write Review

Mrs E A Orton

14th August 2017

Excellent service from my local post office. Orders £1000 of euros got a good selection of notes. I ordered them on a Saturday and they were ready for me to collect on the Monday morning. I would recommend the post office.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Paul

11th August 2017

My wife just got ripped off to exactly the same amount. She exchanged £500 and got 515 euros, not the rate advertised online. It's a complete scam. Do not use the Post office for currency!!!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Helen jones

7th August 2017

Terrible rip off post office. -£500 pounds = €515 euros @ 1.0300 when it states online its. Giving 1.0851 per pound it should have paid 550€ How do they get away with it robbing people. If l robbed the PO l would be in JAIL.

  • I ordered £500.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Ken

4th August 2017

RIPOFF FOREIGN EXCHANGE + SURLY ASSISTANT I expected to get the advertised "We Buy At" rate on display in the PO window and adjacent to the foreign exchange counter for my excess dollars but realized too late I'd been screwed for nearly £30. As per usual in Bournemouth main PO the assistant had a long face, bad attitude and surly manner. She also told me it wasn't possible to pay me directly into my Yorkshire Bank account using my debit card when it is ~ couldn't be bothered / too much trouble. NEVER AGAIN!

  • I sold 652 US Dollars
  • I received the amount I was quoted
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

William Edwards

3rd August 2017

Wife bought Euros over the counter and received a rate of 1.02 to the pound, she was expecting1.09+. Was told rate had crashed overnight so she went ahead. On realising how bad the deal was she asked for a refund but was told Post Office would not. Lesson here is to not buy over the counter and do not expect a refund if you make a mistake. Always better rates elsewhere and online

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Mike

26th July 2017

The lady in Stourport Office was brilliant my wife blocked her pin on her money card the lady phoned and got her pin unblocked so we were able to use card above and beyond the call of duty as we were on way to airport

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

M Taylor

26th July 2017

Ordered currency online and it was delivered the next day which was a great service however ordering €600 and getting €500 in €50 denominations was not acceptable. I have never had a £50 in my purse at home so why do the Post Office think this high amount note is appropriate for taking abroad. Would have been good to have had more of a mixture of note denominations or to at least have the opportunity to choose. Won't use again.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Darryl

26th July 2017

I have used the pre- order system several times.The rate is within 1% of the best rates online.If you can't be bothered to read the small print ,ie pre-order .Thats your fault not the post office.At least you can be sure when you are getting the money.I used to use the top rated free delivery company.They didn't deliver when I was in and I cancelled .It cost me £85.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

mr kemp

20th July 2017

My father inlaw went to the post office to change cash to euros and he got 10% less than it showed online total rip off sray away from pist office.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Tom

17th July 2017

Payed £550 should have got €620 with current rate. Only got €590. Awful rates

  • I ordered £590 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Angela clarke

16th July 2017

Shocking exchange rate, again trusted the post office and to top it off the guy ripped me off for 10 euros. I paid 200 pound, my receipt says 210 euros but he only gave me 200. Never again ????

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

GM

15th July 2017

I had funds on the card but was not notified that the card was due to expire during my holiday. First I found out about it was when it was refused when I was abroad. PO kindly offered to transfer the funds back to my bank over night for £20 . . . . or FOC in 4 to 5 working days. Very handy when you don't have access to euro's and already abroad. I realise there must be some blame on me for not checking the expiry but, as with other cards, I stupidly relied on the PO to remind about the expiry as they would want to keep my business. I don't think so . . . never again for me and you should stay away from this poor customer care package.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

BH

6th July 2017

I've used them a few times & they have been fairly OK. You have to be aware that the in shop exchange rate is way lower than the on line order / collect.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Ralph

4th July 2017

Counter service good but surprised and more than a little disappointed to find that greater than 10% penalty for going directly to local post office to exchange £ for Euros rather than order on line and then collect from the same Post Office/ counter staff. Can see little justification for the. Never again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Graeme

3rd July 2017

Dreadful rate at the counter. I trusted the PO and didn't think to check but I've been thanked for that by being ripped-off. Never again.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Anna

1st July 2017

Shocking exchange rate. Hadn't thought to check as previously exchange had been ok. 310 Euros for £298. Never again, save your money and go to a supermarket

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Dennis

29th June 2017

Euro rate advertised at 1.11 only to find that does not actually apply unless you get a travel card. I got 1.07 on £500. No time to go elsewhere but how are the Post Office allowed to advertise rates that don't apply?

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

jackie

27th June 2017

Terrible don't get this travel card. Could not check balance while on holiday online, when contacted call center, where told they would get back to us in 5 days. NEVER AGAIN

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

peter mills

27th June 2017

Ordered £1006 in euros online, told could collect at local branch office after 2pm. I got there after 2pm only to be told the money hadn't arrived. Returned home and phoned Post Office currency, to be told my order was marked as branch fulfilment, that I should return and collect my money. I returned, explained to branch staff, only to be told they didn't have the required euros. I asked to cancel my order with Post Office currency, to be told will be 3-5 working days before get money refunded. Shocking service, will not use again.

  • I ordered £1006 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Thomas cox

23rd June 2017

To be honest its crap 500 GBP i got 535 euro Sainsbury's & asda do a better deal by as much as 20 euro never ever ever again .

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Shirley

17th June 2017

Firstly, I am aware that the post office has an appalling currency exchange rate. However I just wanted to treat my grandson for his hols, so purchased €25 at my local PO In chadderton & was charged £24.04, an exchange rate of £1.0400 is on the receipt, is this correct as online it states an exchange rate of €1.0993. I defo won't be using them in July when I go away ... ????

  • I ordered £25 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Philip Wall

11th June 2017

Ordered us dollars for holiday in a few weeks time.. Excellent online rate, easy order process. Money to be delivered to local branch for pick up on day to suit my work pattern. Arrived at local store to find order was not delivered, but set to be processed issued from store knowing store did not have the funds at branch to issue money. Waited 20 minutes for local branch to get through to service to be told I could hopefully pick money up from another branch 10 miles away... I explained that I ordered to local store for pick up and that was what I wanted Then told with no apology money would be delivered tomorrow by 1pm. Thankfully I was not travelling that day! Would not recommend this service. Improvements need to be made Local post office staff provided excellent assistance and service, left to apologies for Head office mistake.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Margaret copperwaite

8th June 2017

Exchange rate on the counter was shocking I didn't realise I took it back minutes later and complained but they said they would have to charge me to take it back. What a nerve I thought the post office was always a good place to change money never again I could have got an extra 20 euros at Asda and that pays for a couple of drinks

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Kenny

7th June 2017

Fantastic service Currency Ordered 2.30 pm Tuesday delivered 9am Wednesday Couldnt be happier and i will def use service again I dont normally write reviews but felt due to last minute issue the Post Office came to the rescue Brill

  • I ordered £500 worth of Czech Koruna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Beverley

5th June 2017

Terrible, terrible service and aftercare. I ordered over £1,000 of euros online to collect from my local branch in south London. When I arrived, the branch had no currency to fulfill my order. After three calls, it became apparent that their procedures hadn't been followed but that there was NO branch within striking distance that had the euros I needed! I asked for a refund so I could transact elsewhere. They told me it would take up to FIVE working days to get my money back. Despite my explicit instructions that I required an immediate refund, they triggered the five-day refund. I therefore had to spend three hours of my time on my travelling day chasing an alternative source of currency. I asked for compensation that reflected the cost of my professional time. WITHOUT my permission they triggered a £20 compensation cheque; which they increased to £50 after I complained. They are getting reported to every regulatory authority and online forum I can find. They have had my money for over a week and I STILL haven't had a refund. NEVER AGAIN.

  • I ordered £1003 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Write a review of the Post Office

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Hotel WiFi – How to stay safe

Hotel WiFi – How to stay safe

Posted by Holly Burgess on 16th August 2017

Being on holiday is the ultimate break away from our busy working lives. Some people use this as an opportunity to take a break from their devices. Those who are abroad for a long term trip may use the internet read more

Overseas festival essentials

Overseas festival essentials

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 11th August 2017

The weather in the in the UK might be misleading, but summer isn’t over yet and we certainly haven’t seen the back of festival season. So before you get your wooly coat and thermal socks out, some o read more