Compare Holiday Money Logo

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.0 / 5

Based on 416 reviews Write Review

John

17th April 2019

Ordered some currency at local branch. On collection saw the exchange rate significantly lower then that advertised on-line. Told I would have been much better to order online and then collect. Of course I wasn't informed this beforehand. Effectively, a rip-off. Recommend going elsewhere.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

dawn kirk

14th April 2019

pre paid travel card, the rates are the poorest compared to exchange rates from other prepaid card companys.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

John

8th April 2019

I used the card and it worked OK but the exchange rate is poor. It doesn't work out any cheaper than using a VISA card as despite the 2.75% their exchange rates are much better. Some debit cards also don't charge when you use some cashpoints abroad and give a better rate. I looked at other cards which do offer much better rates but left it too late to order them - you need to allow 5 working days. So post office cards are a waste of money.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Alan

2nd April 2019

Never buy currency from the post office. They charge an extra 6% " to encourage our customers to buy online" but do not warn you if you just go to the counter. Ok I should have checked but this is a rip off.

  • I ordered £450 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Scatty1

29th March 2019

No issues had card for 2 years now. Make sure you read terms & conditions. I only use my card to make purchases abroad, and always take sufficient cash to avoid 'hidden' charges.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

colin

14th March 2019

Have always ordered euro online for collection at local branch,no problems,don't know about cards ,I'm old fashioned I like cash in my pocket Probably could get slightly better rates elsewhere,don't want hassle waiting for delivery,post office online rates are better than walking in of the street.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Daniel Elliott

9th March 2019

Card has worked fine but fees are excessive- fee to purchase the card, poor exchange rates and ATM fees even when abroad. Seriously what do they think u want to use the card for? There’s gonna be times where u want cash and why should you have to pay for it?

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Shaun

2nd March 2019

The card only worked in some outlets & has hidden fees attached to it for example using it in ATMs. Possibly the worse fee is if it expires they'll empty the account one year after the expiry date by charging you a 2.5 Euro maintenance fee per month, till it's empty, or you redeem it. The maintenance charge is to stop money laundering, so beware you Colombian drug barons. Mastercard who run this also charge you a £5 close the account fee too. All in all a rip off. I always you to think that post offices got robbed, but I now see they are doing the robbing. Steer clear.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Cameron

2nd March 2019

Absolutely terrible service. Lost my card abroad. Made things very difficult to get money out my card and did not follow the rules and regulations of the company and the staff would all tell me different. Manager I spoke with also had a very bad attitude and was not willing to help with the situation again making things very hard for me to get my money back. All in all terrible customer service highly recommend not to use. Charges on the cards each time use also hidden and dear.

David Harwood

21st February 2019

The card was excellent, no problems with the app. I haven't talked to customer services as there has been no need to.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

John

13th February 2019

I wish I had read these reviews before I got this rip-off Travel Money Card. Having loaded the card with euros, and the card balance being shown in euros, whenever I used it I was charged the conversion rate again, just as if I was using my sterling based credit card, in conjunction with a very high conversion fee. Complaints to "Customer Service" got me nowhere at all, with calls not returned etc. A very expensive way of taking money abroad!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Judy Williams

12th February 2019

I used my card in the US and it was fine. Now I am going to Norway but can not load the currency. The advice is to load with GBP but there is no option to select GBP. Also, looking on the T&C's, they will charge £2 per month maintenance if the card is not used for 12 months and £5 to cancel.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Robert Edwards

4th February 2019

Terrible, we are about to go on a weeks holiday to Spain and want to take some euros my wife went to a local Post Office she purchased £250 worth of euros and returned with 260 euros, which equates to 1.04, talk about robbery. Will never go there again./

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Rachel

1st February 2019

Terrible experience last year. Somehow our card took a transaction that was certainly not ours. Thank goodness we had another card with us. Certainly not use another card from them.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Mary Roughley

31st January 2019

I haven't used my travel card for a while thought I would check my balance.they have locked my card.i did ring customer service twice each time given different information..my card is still locked so can't use it.i will try my post office but I really don't hold out much luck there, I really don't know what to do now...dreadful company.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • I did not received the notes I requested

ELIZABETH COOPER

26th January 2019

Disappointing. What's this about 2 hour collection for orders of dollars or euros? I unexpectedly needed to travel to Europe and needed cash. I placed an order in the early hours of FRIDAY morning for 2,810 euros (yes, I dumped my travel money card a while ago). I was informed I could not collect the money at either of my two local Post Offices till MONDAY after 11am. I have never previously had this problem. I try to support my local village Post Office and have always had excellent service from both local Post Offices. If I wanted the money before Monday I was able to nominate a Post Office in a nearby town which I did. The sevice at this office was unsatisfactory. The "cashier" seemed surprised and unsure about my online order. The highest value notes available were 20 euro notes. I was told that returning on a later day would not change the fact that they only had 20s and some lower denomination notes. There was nothing the assistant could do about it. I was obliged to accept a large bundle of 192 notes in total. How to undermine confidence in their service! There are other competative companies out there who are also convenient, who also can offer free home delivery. Plus I now also use a "clarity" card recommended on a certain money saving site which has proved very satisfactory for buying goods and payng in restaurants. (Not a good choice however for withdrawing cash). I am disappointed and discouraged from using my local Post Offices in future.

  • I ordered £2497 worth of Euros
  • I did not received the notes I requested

Frank

25th January 2019

How can such an organisation have an atrocious web site. Nothing worked fictitious codes, hidden charges and a total lack information. I purchased the travel insurance but left ordering the currency and travel cards due to the appalling lack of detail and hidden charges.

  • The policy did not cover everything I needed
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Grumpy

24th January 2019

My experience reflects many of the comments made above. Customer service on the telephone is execrable, but the most scandalous defficiency is when you find that the exchange rate for loading the card is so much less than that used for providing cash. You are not informed of this when offered the card. This is not straight business, and I intend to inform the Office of Fair Trading. I am bound to add that I have found the currency collection service at post offices to be perfectly saisfactory.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Angela

23rd January 2019

Dreadful customer service issues. When I bought the card I was told how good it would be, especially as the Travel Money App would be easy to use etc. etc. After many attempts of downloading and uninstalling the App at the request of Customer Services staff I could still not use the App. Eventually after 45 minutes on the phone I was put through to the Tech Team for mobile App. They advised that my Samsung S7 Edge is not compatible with the App, more news is that the Samsung S5 is exactly the same. Total Shambles!!! Why don't the staff promoting the card know this, I feel badly let down and that is before I withdraw any money whilst on holidays. Come on Post Office get it sorted!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Richard

22nd January 2019

The card worked perfectly throughout my Italian holiday. My gripe is concerning exchange rates. If buying cash from the Post Office, the rate for £1000 today is 1.111. If topping up the Travel Card the rate is only 1.083. This rate differential is not made clear in any Post Office documentation.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Patrick

22nd January 2019

Mis-sold the travel money card as I was not made aware before purchasing the card of the £5 account closure fee or the £2 per month account fee (applicable 12 months after the minimum term). When asked about it the person who sold the card to me was not aware of the account closure fee and advised I could close the account over the phone, where I was to be charged the fee. It was eventually waived however I now need to wait 10 working days to receive a letter to allow me to withdraw the remaining money from the account. In addition, the card did not work in a petrol station despite Mastercard being advertised as working there due to the prepaid nature of it. This is not what was promised by the provider.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Eric Loh

29th December 2018

I ordered some euros online to collect at my local post office. When I went to collect, the post office told me they had sold out, even though I had an email telling me to collect my order and they were supposed to keep my order behind. I asked what was I supposed to do and they told me to go to Croydon, which is a terrible journey on a Saturday afternoon. I asked then why did i receive an email saying my order was ready for collection and the incredibly unhelpful "customer service" advisor said "I don't know why you're talking, I told you we don't have any money". I went to Croydon Post office to be told that they couldn't fulfil my order without it being forwarded on the system and that Walkington should not have told me that. I then had to ring customer services who were able to forward the order and confirmed that they should have kept my money behind. The much more helpful advisor on the phone (Daniel) also said he would send a £10 cheque in the post, which will at least pay for my £4 parking and petrol. It doesn't get back my 2 hours on a Saturday afternoon for what was supposed to be a 15 minute errand

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Tucaliuc

27th December 2018

Everywhere i look ,in every reviews site 90% costumers are complaining about this card but people from the post office doesnt seems to care,it looks like they enjoying taking people money and provide a rubbish customer service

Tucaliuc

20th December 2018

The worst costumer service experience ever,after receiveing the card ,i use one of my other card to load it ,imediatlly after i deposit,the card was blocked for no reason beeing unable to use the funds.After talking to them beeing pro.ised that the issue will be resolved next day ,thing wich not received an answer even after ONE Week,after my repeated calls and emails.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Chas

18th December 2018

After I came back from holiday, I just feel how stupid I was to top up the multi-currency card again and again when I was abroad. The rate was so high and it just ate my money. I will buy currency next time from another company.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Post Office

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

Flash sale: Enhanced rates across EUR, USD, AUD, CAD and CHF until 1st May. Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Travel destinations where they speak English (Africa and Southern America)

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 24th April 2019

From our last post, we introduced you to countries around Europe and Asia where they speak practically perfect English nearly everywhere you go. Now, we’re going to explore Africa and Southern America... read more

Bank holiday favourites

Posted by Sam Stone on 19th April 2019

The four day Easter break is the biggest bank holiday weekend of the year for most office workers. An estimated 27 million cars in the UK alone are set to jam our motorways, and airports will be bursting... read more

Breathtaking motorcycle rides across Australia

Australia is one of the most unique places on earth, ranging from unique landscapes and wildlife, all the way to the climate that’s just ideal for motorcycle driving. This is why choosing the travel m... read more

Travel destinations where they speak English (Asia and Europe)

It’s understandable if you get tired of a language barrier on your trips. This is because adapting to new cultures is challenging enough, so don’t worry. There are plenty of countries around... read more

How to prepare for working abroad

Nowadays, living and working abroad appears to be an aspiration for many in their careers. Whether it’s to have a change of lifestyle or roles are in higher demand elsewhere, opting for an international j... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2019 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
For insurance booking, Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.