Post Office reviews

482 Reviews Poor | 2.0

The Post Office

https://www.postoffice.co.uk/

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. If you order more than £1000 of currency you will get an even better enhanced rate. The Post Office have a currency refund guarantee if your holiday is cancelled. Full terms and conditions available on the Post Office Travel Money website.

Write a review

Mark Lacey

25 March 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

25 March 2020

I put £750 in to a travel card in NZ$. As a result of Coronavirus the trip was cancelled. I transferred the money into Sterling to find there was now £700 left. I then went to an ATM to take cash out but was warned about charges. I went to the post office and they also wanted to charge me. This product is supposed to make it easy to use currency abroad. In fact this product makes it easy for organisations to hold your money to ransom, including the erstwhile trustworthy Post Office. AVOID AVOID AVOID!

Bill Leeds

27 February 2020

Sold 50 Euros

27 February 2020

Was sent 50 Euros as a present and went to post office to exchange it for pounds. Was given £37.04.

Checked the exchange rate when I got home and found it was worth £42.60. Absolute rip off!

Advice - avoid the post office for exchange.

Allison

27 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

27 February 2020

Bought a travel card from the post office without much thought of exchange rates just assumed they would be fair. Realised that lower than everywhere else to exchange into euro's, additionally to exchange back to pounds again a much lower rate. Didn't expect the post office to try ripping me off so much. Will exchange, ditch and not return in future.

Danny

22 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

22 February 2020

The rate offered today to top up is 1.14 . If you go for a new card application it is 1.17. This is is bit of a racket. Nowhere else today can I find exchange rate of 1.14. The Post Office itself is offering 1.17 ....except when you top up your card its 1.14. This card will be ditched pronto . YOU ARE BEING ROBBED.

Polly

21 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

21 February 2020

Trying to top up my card abroad- says Service unavailable.

The worst thing is having to rely on something that is unreliable- would have brought cash with me for 4 day trip. No apologies- no refunds for excess charges

Havelet

14 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

14 February 2020

I bought this to buy petrol in France. Each time the card was declined - once on the motorway and the other time at a supermarket. Apparently this was because the pumps are offline and I would have been able to pay at the kiosk. Neither option was available - and in any case by that time I had filled up and had said I would pay at the pump. Waste of time and effort getting this card.

Brian

8 February 2020

Bought £1,000 worth of Euros

8 February 2020

When I look to purchase eruo through the travel card the rate is 1.12 but online the rate is 1.16 so I think I will buy and pick in post office ditch this card nothing for loyalty in the uk

Martin

5 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

5 February 2020

Currently in N.Z. and need to top up money on my card, app not working, so tried web site. Message simply says isn’t working try again later. Thanks a lot, if this service cannot be made reliable then it shouldn’t be offered!! Avoid.

Iain

4 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

4 February 2020

Unreliable app, just stops working and won’t load up, means you can’t check balance on card. Tried to reload app and now keeps telling me they have emailed a verification code, but there is no email. Avoid using this post office travel money card, awful service that simply can’t be relied upon.

Peter henson.

4 February 2020

Bought £5,000 worth of Australian dollars

4 February 2020

Very unreliable app, doesn’t load so you can’t check your balance ..

I definitely don’t recommend using this card.

Write a review of the Post Office

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?