Post Office reviews

The Post Office are rated Poor in 510 reviews

https://www.postoffice.co.uk/

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. If you order more than £1000 of currency you will get an even better enhanced rate. The Post Office have a currency refund guarantee if your holiday is cancelled. Full terms and conditions available on the Post Office Travel Money website.

Last reviewed 5 days ago

21% of reviews are positive

Replies to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 88 reviews are rated 5 stars 17%
Great 21 reviews are rated 4 stars 4%
Average 16 reviews are rated 3 stars 3%
Poor 32 reviews are rated 2 stars 6%
Bad 353 reviews are rated 1 star 69%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarCurrency BuybackPrepaid CardTravel MoneyRomanian leuIcelandic kronaEurosJapanese yen
JT

JT

5 Stars
5 Stars

18 January 2022

Bought Euros

18 January 2022

Competitive rate and easy to collect

The Post Office replied

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive review

CH

Chris

1 Stars
1 Stars

30 December 2021

Bought £500 worth of Euros

30 December 2021

Bought over the counter and went back after holiday to exchange extra euros.

This worked out at a grand total of 22% exchange rate to change then change back. Horrendous rates, will never use again

The Post Office replied

Thank you for your review, and I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment with our rates. We value your feedback and have shared this internally.

JO

Jo

1 Stars
1 Stars

16 December 2021

The worst customer service and the most stupid website which allows you to make an order and pay with two different names but then you can't collect as there are two different names - my husband's on the order and my name on the payment. Complete waste of time and money !!!!

The Post Office replied

Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and have shared this internally.

AN

Anthony

1 Stars
1 Stars

26 November 2021

I bought the prepaid card want to use it for a trip to America. If I want to top up the card with more USD I actually get a worse exchange rate than if I buy cash from them. Almost £30 difference on £2000 of USD. The app is even telling me that it is a Black Friday Offer with better rates than normal.

I am disgusted by the poor rate the app offers to top up. I will be looking for a different card!

The Post Office replied

Thank you for sharing your experience about our Travel Money Card. We're sorry to hear your experience with us was not a more positive one due to the rates that were offered and we'll make sure this gets shared with the relevant team internally.

NG

Ngaire

1 Stars
1 Stars

15 November 2021

Be aware if you need to change your address! We have both had these cards for sometime and overall they are OK. But what a nightmare to change our address. You can't do this on the app or on the phone, you have to email something with you new address, for example a bank statement or council tax bill, showing all 4 corners and with no data redacted. None of this was advised until the third email in the chain. I am not sending you an email with any financial information and do not understand why I should. It is a prepaid card so you can only spend what is on the card! It was easier to change address with our bank and credit card! As there are now many other and better options on the market we will be closing these cards and using someone else.

The Post Office replied

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're sorry to hear your experience with us was not a more positive one and will share your comments internally.

PG

Penelope Graham

1 Stars
1 Stars

12 November 2021

Bought US dollars

12 November 2021

I had a very specific deadline for obtaining currency and having been unable to find out whether the usual supplier was open went all the way to Morecambe to find the Sainsbury Travel Bureau had been shut down until 2022! I had another appointment in Carnforth so decided to risk going to the Post Office - I was so pleased they were able to supply the full $500 cash I hurried off to catch my daughter as she left for the airport. Consequently I did not even think to enquire the rate and was not told anything by the counter staff! (having researched the rate before leaving home at $1.31 - $1.35 everywhere) rushed to deliver the currency and did not check my receipt until I got home. Imagine my utter horror when I realised I had just paid $1.21 for my $500 (thank goodness it didnt affect the amount I was able to give my daughters for their long awaited trip! one here and one in USA so no contact for 2 years and the birth of a baby!) this has cost me a huge amount and I am not alone and not impressed by the terrible reviews all over this site!! so disgusted that I did not feel threatened in the rush and not informed of the disgusting rate by the staff who must know how you are 'ripping off everyone'!! and I was obviously unable to check this before going in to the Post Office.

The Post Office replied

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're sorry to hear your visit was not a more positive experience and will share your comments internally.

SI

Simon

1 Stars
1 Stars

5 November 2021

Sold 6,997 Turkish lira

5 November 2021

PLEASE avoid this like the plaque! it is an absolute disaster. If you start with your money in one currency and have some left after your trip and then want to use it in another currency it is a very tedious process AND you get a terrible exchange rate. If you want ever to take the money back in sterling it is also a very bad rate (they have told me it is a lower rate than if you just change the currency). I got back £460 for 6997 Turksih lira, currency converter shows it should be £556. Their online account doesn't work. I opened it and used it, one day later I could not get in! It said i had put incorrect data in (I hadn't!). So I went thru the forgot password and forgot account processes. I tried this 6 times and each time it said it had sent an email to my email address to reset but no emails ever arrived. I could not set up again fron anew as it then said an account already existed for this card number! I had def had my email right as it had sent me an acknowledgment email when I set it up. The guys on the phone there are very nice and polite, BUT its a really bad, outdated and very onerous system with poor exchange and withdrawal rates and it has terrible terchnology. I was not surprised to see on here that 69% have given the worst rating. I just wish I had seen this before I started using it!

The Post Office replied

I'm really sorry to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We've taken your feedback onboard and shared this internally.

JH

Janice Hill

2 Stars
2 Stars

3 November 2021

Recently taken out one of these cards rather than taking cash abroad but didn't realise the rate was so low. If I bought 1200 euros on line, it would cost me £30 LESS than buying them on this card. Add on the £2 charge each time you withdraw the limit of £450 at the ATM and I am £36 worse off than if I had taken cash. Won't be using this card.

The Post Office replied

Thank you for sharing your review and I'm sorry to hear the Travel Money Card was of no benefit for you. I'll share this internally

FO

Fergus O'Dowd

1 Stars
1 Stars

28 October 2021

Bought Euros

28 October 2021

Ordered €3000 online, for pick up the following day after 11.00 am (Post Office Birmingham area). Attended next day, was told they didn't have enough euros (€500 short) and I could either take the €2500 and the remainder refunded in GB Pounds to my account or come back the following day for the total amount - no offer of it being delivered or another nearby Post Office using its currency funds to help - just make a second journey. There needs to be better liaison between the sub Post Offices and First Rate to ensure adequate minimum stock levels of currency.

Treating senior citizens like this (and no doubt many others) will erode public confidence in your ability to match your promises to be a 'leading travel money provider', as unhappy customers start to share their experiences with the media and internet forums.



'First Rate/Post Office' services! - it's more like First Rate disasters. What a way to do business? (Yes, I am angry!)

The Post Office replied

Sorry to hear that you experience with us was not a positive one. I'll share your experience using te service internally and thank you for for making us aware

AR

Andre Roberts

1 Stars
1 Stars

26 October 2021

Purchased £1000 of euro on the travel card at a reasonable rate, but you can never rely fully on the card working, having been refused numerous times meaning we've had to use our credit and debit cards anyway. Went to top up the card this week but the rate given on the web site is not the same rate offered for a card top up, with some 5cents on the euro different. Cheaper to just use the credit or debit card! but more importantly is the ethics behind what is clearly a bit of a scam. Come on post office this can't be right, where have your morrals dissapaired to, certainly not what I would have expected from a national treasure.

The Post Office replied

Thank you for sharing your review and sorry to hear this is was the case Andre. We will share your experience internally to see if we can impact this positively for future use.

Write a review of the Post Office

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?