Compare Holiday Money Logo

Post Office reviews

Average 2.2 / 5

Based on 319 reviews Write Review

doug

8th June 2018

poor value the travel card is a rip off never again

    Kun

    7th June 2018

    It's joking when your card expired ... they don't replace your card but take 2.5 euros each month without inform you. My card expired since 10/2016 and this is only what I can found online. There's no way to search more transaction history. Date Reference Number Description Money In Money Out 01/06/2018 3:37:59 37155325(EUR) Fee: Expired Card Maintenance €0 €2.5 03/05/2018 5:37:12 7152525(EUR) Fee: Expired Card Maintenance €0 €2.5 01/04/2018 3:29:42 2120177350(EUR) Fee: Expired Card Maintenance €0 €2.5 01/03/2018 3:20:57 2089478345(EUR) Fee: Expired Card Maintenance €0 €2.5 01/02/2018 3:23:10 2059645600(EUR) Fee: Expired Card Maintenance €0 €2.5 01/01/2018 3:26:36 2019118030(EUR) Fee: Expired Card Maintenance €0 €2.5

    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Martin holbeck

    5th June 2018

    I used this card last year whilst visiting Holland , I found it extremely difficult to load money onto it online so went to post office to load money onto it in cash, I was asked alot of questions, felt like an interrogation, where are you going, when ect is it a holiday, I didn't like this but went ahead with it anyway. When I arrived in Holland my hotel needed a €150 Deposit and the receptionist told me they didn't accept prepaid cards. I thought with it having MasterCard on it was good enough, so I had to give her the deposit in cash, this left me short for my trip so I used this post office card to draw cash out to use for my 4 day stay. Then I went to a supermarket got quite alot of things and was told they didn't accept this card for some reason, this was extremely stressful as the girl didn't speak much English and a large line of people was behind me waiting .another customer had to tell her I would return with cash, so I had to go back to my hotel and return with what cash I had left, I felt such a fool. After this I didn't trust the card to be accepted, so I had no choice but to draw the cash out of it from the wall. I was charged both times for the withdrawals and loading on. I dared to use the card one more time in a department store and it was accepted. Then there was a small amount left wasted on card when I came home. HUGELY DISAPPOINTING. Also a warning in Holland a 2 other supermarkets I went to told me they didn't take cash very Orwellian, it is much easier just to change the money in the country you are visiting or draw from the wall than all this hassle. I would never bother with this again.

    • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    June Ward

    4th June 2018

    Shocking service, I would advise everyone to avoid the Post Office like the plague. The online rate is deliberately misleading and does not explain the in-store price is apparently at the discretion of the Post Office you choose to visit. I was offered 1.04 when online the rate was 1.11. I declined to go ahead with the transaction and said I could get far more than that at the airport on the day of travel. The answer from the shop manager was "good luck with that then", in front of other customers waiting behind me. I have since complained to Royal Mail about both the misleading online advertisement and also the attitude of the shop manager.

    • I ordered £550 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Jonathan Whitaker

    3rd June 2018

    Travel Money Card is a complete rip-off. They tell you the TMC reduces risk, it actually increases it. They tell you to load Euros to your Euro wallet account, but when you need cash abroad, the ATMs convert the so-called Euros to GBP (at a dreadful exchange rate), then convert the GBP back to Euros at another dreadful exchange rate. We took out 300 Euros and it cost over 330 of the Euros in the wallet. There was no opportunity to choose local currency at the ATM.Post Office do not make you aware of this when selling the card. Why would they when it defeats the purpose of the card i.e. not carrying cash. I won't be falling for this again. I complained to the PO but they haven't bothered to reply, it's beyond their 10 day response time so doesn't look like they are going to.

    • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Rans Wanasin

    2nd June 2018

    Terrible. Thought could trust the local post office to give a decent exchange rate but when I got home realised I had been given 20 euros less than their online rate which is about 8 percent less than the going rate. Wrote a complaint only to receive a reply which basically said if you weren't happy you shouldn't have gone through with the purchase! They've suggested if I like I could complain to the financial ombudsmen which I will do on moral grounds as I feel the Post Office intentionally misleads its customers. At no point was I told that online I would get a better rate. I found out that even Barclays offered a much better rate which meant I would have got between 10 - 15 Euros more. Never trust a financial product issued by the Post Office. They are worse than the banks. I will be complaining to the financial ombudsmen as well as contacting Which. Hope others would do the same so there would be more pressure put on the Post Office to prevent misselling financial products to trusting customers specially since their attitude isn't the greatest either.

    • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Mark P

    31st May 2018

    Got a Po money card and loaded £3000 to THB, just registered online and the difference from advertided rate to whsts in my account is 6000 Thb, ripped off about £150!! Stay away from this card in future!!!!

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Nathan

    30th May 2018

    Bad rate lower at branch totally robbed. Never again

    • I ordered £350 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Nicola

    29th May 2018

    Awful - I received €25 less euros than at other high street locations for my £352 - I used the local post office to support it - NEVER AGAIN!

    • I ordered £352 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    David

    28th May 2018

    I don't understand the negative reviews on here. I always use Post Office for currency as I travel up to 12 weeks a year to many locations. The rate advertised is the rate given fact! Everyone looks at the higher rate for over £1000 and the n acts surprised when the change £100 or less...attention to detail I say! Only high street beating the rate is Tesco at a couple of hundredths different which is nothing and not worth the hassle.

    • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Anthea

    24th May 2018

    Absolute rip off. 1.04 euros to pound today at local post office counter, never again

    • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Nelson

    21st May 2018

    1.04 Euros to the pound at the counter today -that's taught me not to rely on what I'd always considered to be a fair organisation - They're as bad as the Airport money launderers - never again

    • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Janet

    20th May 2018

    Very happy got a good rate for dollars

    • I ordered £530 worth of US Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Chris Emery

    16th May 2018

    Bad. Checked rate on line for £300 worth of euros it was 1.1077. Decided to check out over the counter was told 1.104 so I bought them on the spot. It was only when I got home that night that I realised they had given me a rate of 1.04. Thought they had made a mistake so popped in the next day to get it sorted but was told that was the rate. My word against theirs so can't do anything about it but will not use them again. Must be one of the worst rates anywhere. Cannot put no stars so 1 ithe is.

    • I ordered £315 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    david

    4th May 2018

    ordered money on line did not get email confirmation, went to pick up cash was told I needed the transaction number , went back home and rang post office for the number, having got the number I returned to the shop to be told they didn't have sufficient funds to meet the order. what a farce

    • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Keran

    4th May 2018

    Tried to get a travel money card. It's absolutely awful they just kept fobbing me off with all these so called security issues. Am due to go away tomorrow and they leave it till today to tell me they can't activate my card because the letter I emailed is not acceptable. The one star rating is yo high in my opinion

    • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Chris Carey

    3rd May 2018

    Wanted to change £1300 for 3 European trips this year and was advised that the Travel Money Card would be a good idea to avoid taking large amounts of cash. It wasn't explained to me, however that there is a €2 fee levied by the card in addition to a handling fee at the ATM. As most people use cash when abroad - this may as well be daylight robbery. I lost around €10 when withdrawing €500. I now have €1000 left on the card, but can't take it out as cash at a post office as they have to give me a "buy back" rate and convert it to £. So I'm not able to have the Euros that I have already bought and paid for!! The card was accepted where I used it, but you get fleeced at ATMs. For card purchases it is useful - but you would still be better off just using your normal debit card! I would not recommend this card to anyone at all.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Barbara

    1st May 2018

    We ordered €1120. Out of the total amount, 950 was in €50 notes which is totally impractical for day to day expenditures. Also, my husband tried to collect it 15 minutes before the pickup time. “Computer says no!” The online order service is quick enough but ruined by lack of flexibility and common sense.

    • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Becks

    28th April 2018

    rip off rates 1.21 us doller to 1 pound sterling be wary of these robbers

    • I ordered £400 worth of US Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Peter

    20th April 2018

    I ordered 400 Euro's to be delivered to my local Post Office which arrived on time, but 300 of these were made up of 50 Euro notes, if you don't mind high value notes then you will be ok, I would recommend though that you visit Post Office in person then you can pick what value notes you want.

    • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Christine

    9th April 2018

    Had leftover zloty on my card from a trip to Poland. Transferred to dollars easily online for my next trip. Was easy to use and contactless was useful. Was accepted everywhere in Poland so I only had to withdraw cash once which incurred a fee of about £2. Small price to pay for the security of not carrying large amounts of cash about. Today i changed £150 into dollars using the app to top up with my debit card. Got 1.35 rate which is the same as in branch. So I can top up small amounts between now and when I go rather than try to buy it all at one time. Very happy with this very convenient card.

    • I ordered £150 worth of US Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Jeremy

    6th April 2018

    I used to use the Post Office for holiday money and thought I would try them again. I saw the online rate for euros today at 1.12 for £400 or more. I didn't want that much - just £250 so thought it wouldn't be much different. Ended up with 1.04!! Lost €20. I went back to try to return the 'goods', but to no avail. If the holiday had been cancelled they would. How is it that these transactions don't come under consumer rights law? Never use them again.

    • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Sarah

    19th March 2018

    I changed £100 into euros today at the post office, I checked the exchange rate before going. But only got €105 instead of €113.70, either their exchange rate is much lower or they take a higher commison than other providers.

    • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Tania

    17th March 2018

    I got the Post Office Travel Money Card for a trip to Thailand and put Thai Baht on it. Yet every time I did a transaction, the card reconverted from GBP despite only having Thai Baht and no GBP on my card. Basically I paid the currency conversion rate twice every time (and the PO conversion rates are bad compared to any rates in Thailand). So no point in adding foreign currency to this card as the currency conversion happens automatically even when non prompted. Moreover, there's no clarity on the fees applied. In addition to 80 Baht fee for every ATM withdrawal as specified in the PO leaflets I got charged an extra 250 Baht (not specified in PO leaflets!). I don't recommend this card.

    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    William Thompson

    14th March 2018

    Cant seem to give less than 1 star. Couldnt believe that the post office where taking 10 cents of every pound spent to buy Euros. Never again will i buy holiday money at post office. Absolute crooks.

    • I ordered £210 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Post Office to others

    Write a review of the Post Office

    Your name

    Your rating

    Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
    1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

    Your review

    Optional questions

    • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
    • How much travel money did you purchase?
      worth of
    • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
    • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
    • How much currency did you sell?
    • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
    • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
    • What currency did you transfer?
      to
    • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
    • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
    • What type of prepaid card did you order?
    • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
    • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
    • What kind of policy did you purchase?
      policy for
    • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
    • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

    Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

    Visit Website

    Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

    • A roundup of the latest exchange rates and currency deals
    • Hand-picked special offers on travel and holiday extras
    • Helpful and informative travel blogs written by our in-house team
    Russian love-lock fever

    Russian love-lock fever

    Posted by Sam Stone on 14th June 2018

    As a midsummer dream is played out on Russia’s football fields, echoes of Shakespeare’s themes of undying love are evident elsewhere in Moscow’s iron heart. On Luzhkov Bridge, love-lock fever read more

    City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

    City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

    Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 7th June 2018

    Cities or country sides? I don’t know which one you like more but these are what you would notice if you’ve lived in both like myself. But for you all who have lived in only one of them then here ar read more