Compare Holiday Money Logo

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.1 / 5

Based on 354 reviews Write Review

Janet

Yesterday

Not easy to use website. However managed to complete order

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

David

14th August 2018

Walked into local post office asked for£100 in euros teller said it would get 98 euro I asked him to round it up to 105 euro and he asked me for another£2 96 pence . NEVER AGAIN .

Cheza

14th August 2018

Ordered on Monday and arrived in my branch the next day (1 day early) I understand that now they are now out of stock if Turkish lira , due to high demand. Would be handy if they put a banner across the website letting people know this.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

lance

14th August 2018

Turkish Lira completely different rate to the one shown

  • I ordered £ worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Comparepop.com

14th August 2018

Absolute shambles, cannot even buy Turkish Lira tried to buy so many times.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Phil

14th August 2018

Rate shown on compare page was almost 15% less when you clicked on the link, waste of time

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Joanne

14th August 2018

Tried to order Turkish Lira Would not allow me to order cash - kept changing it to a travel card . Awful site Annoying Best rates but not much good if you can’t order ! Going elsewhere

David

13th August 2018

Awful, Tried to get onto their site to order Holiday cash delivered to local Post office, their street branch, got through to the final bit, and it refused to let me go to the paying in part as I didn't have a code???? What code! nothing there. tried again, and this time it would not let me do anything but Home delivery 4-6 days (On Holiday in three days) So in the end, got a worse rate from Halifax, but was able to go into the branch and get it sorted, which cannot be said from the Post ofiice. Your site is awful to navigate, you tap to go down, then it takes you back to the beginning, so you have to scroll down again to the part you were trying to fill. never again will I use them, wasted my time.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Jon

11th August 2018

They makenm you jump through hoops to get your own money back. Card utility was poor, post office customer services was terrible. Steer well clear.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Julie

10th August 2018

Never buy your foreign currency from the post office, we were talked into getting a card,which we are yet to use,and looking at these reviews,I am not looking forward to the experience,but we also changed up £400 into euros. The board said 1.06 but after we had changed it up and after the lady,who spoke very quietly and with an accent which was hard to understand,we only got 1.01. When we got home we realized and we could have ordered on line and picked it up the next day at a rate of 1.08 !!! We could have gone to Tesco and had the same deal !!. Why didn't the lady at the post office tell us about the disgusting exchange rate at the counter. I always trusted the post office but NEVER AGAIN. Do Not change your money up with them. I will never go there again, and I will certainly spread the word. We even went in today to ask the reason and we were spoken to very rudely. You have 24 hour cooling off periods with any purchase,so why not with this purchase? Awful service.

Oliver

4th August 2018

I was pushed into signing up to the Travel card which is a total waste of time. You have to wait to activate it, be careful how you use it, download an app to check your balance, all of this takes time and really isn't convenient at all. I would 100% prefer to run the risk of carrying 800 euros in cash and have the peace of mind to know I can spend it anywhere at anytime and not have to bother wasting my time checking the balance on an app and whether I had been charged in pounds or euros. Stick to cash and avoid travel cards.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Stev Watts

31st July 2018

I thought that everyone knows that it's always cheaper online than in the shop. This practice is the same everywhere. Above average rates and I picked it up the next day from the Post Office mid afternoon from a a very friendly chap. No problems.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Alan

27th July 2018

Con artists. Checked the price online one afternoon and it seemed about average. Went into the post office next day for £100 worth and was quoted a much less favourable rate because I hadn't ordered in advance. Didn't really have much option as I needed that cash that day. This really is SHARP PRACTICE!!!

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Pam

27th July 2018

I asked for £750 worth of Euros. Wanted £500 worth on a travellers card and £250 worth in cash. Got a lower rate for the £250 even though it was all the same transaction. And the bill came to £808.65 altogether, so £50.65 more than I requested. I guess I could have asked her to get it nearer to £750 but the place was heaving. Ripped off on both accounts!

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Senthil Kumar

24th July 2018

I had a post office card a few years ago and had problems with in when I wanted to use them in USA, I was told that you could only use it a few times a day. I promised myself that I will never use them again in my life. but I did this time as I looked at some of the good reviews and so got myself and my wife a pre paid card. when I went to USA, I topped up my card with 1000£. After 2 days it was not loaded and I spoke to the post office customer service. After a lot of security check and waiting s long time I was answered only to say that they needed a authorisation code from the bank to top up my card. The bank said that they have already released my funds to post office and that they did not have any authorisation code. When I spoke to the post office again after a long wait, I was told the same again, the they will not release my funds until the authorisation code was given to them. It took them 3 days to upload my card, although the funds have been sitting in the post office account all the time. Very angry as I could not pay fro things in a foreign land and have to use my credit card and debit card, which incurred charges. It is a complete waste of time to have this card as it is such a stress to make it work for you. I will never use it again.

  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Richard

22nd July 2018

Don't use the travel card if you go to corfu.i transferred pounds to euros onto the travel card but then still got charged a conversion rate at the atm's from £ to euro so paid twice.they make it hard in Corfu to use ur card cos they want hard cash in Greece so they don't pay taxes.i would never use the post office card again, I should have used my own banks debit card.it was better and cheaper

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros

Craig Pearson

21st July 2018

Don’t attend in branch to order your foreign currently!! I recently went on the Post Office’s webside to check the exchange rate for £1500 worth of South African Rand. The exchange rate was 16.724 which wasn’t the best but ok and the fact a Post Office is at the top of my street. Rather than placing the order online my wife decided to attend in the Post Office in person as we needed bread and milk (it’s also a shop). She placed the order for the currency which would be available the following day for collection. On my return from work I looked at the receipt and was shocked the rate given was only 16.1931. This was a difference of 900 Rand - over £50. I went back into the Post Office and asked why was it different from the advertised rate on there Website. It appears I didn’t read the pages and pages of small print which says that branch rates can be different. I made attempts to cancel the order however I was unable to get my £1500 back onto my debit card as it can take several days and we were going on holiday. In short - the post office charged me an extra £50 to attend in person and order over the counter rather than ordering online and picking up from the same Post Office. I feel I have been ripped off - never again will I exchange money at the Post Office!!????????????????

  • I ordered £1500 worth of South African Rand
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Joe

19th July 2018

Rate in post office less than if I ordered in lost 25 euros

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Mery

15th July 2018

Ordered 2500 euros. Confirmed by email. Ready to collect my order next day just to find that it has been cancelled. Explanation - only 10 k per 3 months is allowed. Though it was not mentioned anywhere in the terms and conditions. Careful if you travelling often. They still charged me, so all my money has gone from my account. Then the customer service said it would be refunded within 3-5 working days. I was going on holiday next day and needed money straight away. After kicking off and speaking to manager, I was promised the money to be refunded next day. Which was not very helpful as I was leaving. I had to borrow money from a friend, while waiting for refund. Lots of inconvenience and embarrassment

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Galofi

14th July 2018

Opened this card on the advice of a friend, firstly four d out when trying to deposit £20, that I had to pay £3.00 administration charge as well for anything less than £50.00. I also found out I had to another £3.00 to withdraw les xxx than £50.00 out. Closed my account immediately ????

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Farhaan Khan

12th July 2018

I reported my card lost on July 4th That was my first day on a much needed holiday with my mum. I opted on taking their offer for £21 for 24 hours for full transfer of funds to my UK account. Today is the 12th of July and I am calling 3 times daily and all I am getting is grief! I get excuses after excuses that the story is different every time. TIME & TIME AGAIN The Post Office Travel Money Card keeps promises to call me with an update and this never happens. I have till today not received a phone call from them despite being promised that someone will call. Spoke to a manager today by the name of Lauren in Customer Services and was told that the money has gone into my account & not been returned to their finance department and they have been investigating. Well how long can they investigate for, its been over a week?????? SO WHERE IS MY MONEY???? NO MONEY HAS YET REACHED MY ACCOUNT!!!!!! Believe you me, I am checking every hour & calling my bank to see if there are any pending transactions. It is Natwest Bank & I have great trust in them. WHERE IS MY MONEY????????? I am disabled and with my aging Mum in a foreign city and living on her Overdraft which means paying interest!!! My dream holiday has been shattered.

  • I ordered £1025 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Jethro goldsmith

12th July 2018

I visited the post office for euros before a short trip to Europe and was missold the card - advised there would be no fees and charges for using this abroad and it would be easy to top up when needed. The initial load did not credit and I couldn’t understand why my card was consistently declined. It turns out the woman at branch at not credited my initial amount and it left me in financial distress on holiday as the app and website were going through technical difficulties and not allowing me to top up the card. After numerous attempts and many hours I finally topped up the card - but to no surprise by this point, I was charged for using it and left with an uneven amount of euros in the card that I couldn’t withdraw. I raised a complaint and provided receipts of the initial load and what happened and was advised I’d be contacted the next day. This has not happened and every time I phone up they tell me they are still investigating. Do not use this card and just get euros.

  • I ordered £60 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Maria Somers

10th July 2018

If you have the post office pre paid card use it as a credit card it works I load mine with either Euros or dollars depending where I am I can also switch currencies- could not be easier I have had 100% success and would highly recommend having one Carry a small amount of local cash with you as you will be charged to withdraw money You can load top up while abroad would never be without mine

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Byron

10th July 2018

Complete rip off at ATM withdrew 200euros but over 230 taken out of account lost 10% of total money on the card

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Christopher

10th July 2018

My experience with a travel money card was shocking. I purchased my card on a Saturday morning and left the post office knowing I had to activate it and it was ready to use. However, I was not made aware that I had to wait until 10.30am the following day to activate my card. I accepted that I would have to wait and I tried to activate my card at 10.30am the next day. I text "TMC start 141892 8605" to activate my card and get my PIN number. I waited and waited for a text back with my PIN number until I got sick waiting. I rung a helpline and they told me to ring back in a couple of hours to get my PIN number. I started to get really annoyed. The fact the they couldn't text me my PIN number they expected me to ring them back. I rung at 11am, 2pm,5pm,7pm and I finally got my PIN number at 11.30pm that night. I was on holiday all day without any euros. Then I discovered it cost 2 euros everytime I made a withdraw. I tried to lift all my money out at once when I discovered this and I was not allowed. I would strongly not recommend these to anyone. I had problem after problem with them and ended up losing around 40 euros

  • I ordered £215 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Post Office

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Asda Travel Money Rates Compared

Posted by Graham Morley on 7th August 2018

Asda, like all the major supermarkets will sell you travel money with your baked beans and fish fingers. So how do Asda travel money rates compare to other brands? We know them and trust them and it’s f... read more

Self-catered holiday vs Hotel

Posted by Sam Stone on 6th August 2018

A hotel based inclusive deal can make as much financial sense as a self-catered holiday. So how can you choose between them? For some travellers, there is an obvious choice. Total immersion in hotel life... read more

Is It Worth It To Hire A Car On Your Trips?

This thought probably comes across your mind a lot… “Should I hire a car or should I go with public transport?” Someone who’s got a small budget like me probably would not even... read more

The Falmouth Falcons Quidditch Update: Summer 2018

With the 2017-18 QuidditchUK season coming to a close, all in all it’s been a good year for the Falmouth Falcons, Cornwall’s finest quidditch team. Early success in October at the Highlander Cup in Edi... read more

Thomas Cook Travel Money Rates Compared

Thomas Cook, Thomson and First Choice like all travel agents and holiday companies have a captive market when it comes to selling currency. You know them and trust them, you get a great deal on your holiday... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.