Post Office reviews

461 Reviews Poor | 2.0

The Post Office

https://www.postoffice.co.uk/

Rate sales on selected currencies including euros and US dollars throughout October. Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free.

Write a review

Cliff

19 October 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

19 October 2019

The name “Post Office” describes what they were originally designed to do and they are great at delivering mail. This travel money card is a classic example of companies trying to branch out into other fields and failing. Very disappointed with both the service and product. The customer service team are disorganised and inadequate.

Avoid this card.

Ben

15 October 2019

Bought £1 worth of Euros

15 October 2019

Post Office Money transfer card:

Terrible.

Awful awful awful experience. Was convinced to get this card by a staff member in the Post Office as being told it would be cheaper and easier for currency exchange and it has caused nothing but problems since getting it. Card not activated properly and spent a week without it being usable in Greece. Tried to use it for a second holiday and once activated, it then did not work in any of the stores it should have worked in and the customer service team were unresponsive in helping fix the problem. This alongside the app not loading properly has made this the worst currency exchange service I have ever used

Avoid at all costs

Ryan

5 October 2019

Bought £99 worth of Euros

5 October 2019

Shocked at post offices advertising tactics! The board advertises the lower rate at 1.09 for the euro on their board, you go to purchase and it ends up being a hidden rate of 1.01! They base the rate on you spending £1000! So went to another high street exchange which actually sold it at the advertised rate

Tim Rahill

5 October 2019

Bought £250 worth of Euros

5 October 2019

Dreadful. Terrible exchange rate. Just got 258 euros for 250gbp. Tesco would have given me 278 euros. Rip off.

Kerry

30 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

30 September 2019

Absolutely don’t get this card. Expensive fees and you have to pay to get your money back when you return.

Miriam

30 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

30 September 2019

What a terrible service my money seems to have disappeared from the card and when you call the customer service they are absolutely useless , just like the card , never buy one ever!!!

Richard Sheffield

29 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

29 September 2019

Useful when your away if you want to pay by card only. But when you get back trying to get your money back is impossible. If you want the remainder of your balance back, you have to close your account, they give you a terrible rate and then they send you a cheque. They are willing to take your money from a bank card but cannot give it back to you as a transfer. It’s 2019 not the 1980’s. So if you do get one only transfer minimum amounts. They basically charge you for trying to get your own money back. When you ring customer service your just told it’s in the T & C’s. No mention of it in the advertising. I wouldn’t bother with one.

B. Evans

27 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

27 September 2019

Got the travel card in 2018, it worked twice in numerous attempts. Tried to withdraw money in Germany this year from the original top up as it still holds €26 and my card true to form doesn't work because it won't let me withdraw cash at the ATM nor does it work contactless. Looked in the post office app for a contact number (03443350109) and called it. The number isn't recognised! Work that one out! So I called into my local branch and tried to withdraw it only to be told to call up instead. I tried to explain to no avail. This card is probably the worst item in its category I've ever encountered. Absolutely rubbish.Avoid it

Sue

27 September 2019

Bought £508 worth of US dollars

27 September 2019

We have used the online ordering before and it has been OK. This time we ordered dollars to take to Africa and had been advised notes no higher than 20. We ordered just over 600 USD and were given 8 @ 50 and the remainder mainly in 20 notes. Staff refused to exchange for lower value notes, even when I explained what the travel agent had said in their letter. Had to go elsewhere to change and pay a fee, which obviously effectively meant we lost out. Will never use post office travel money again

Sarah

24 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

24 September 2019

Order a card online; topped it up online. Funds left I wanted back. Only way to do this is either withdraw from cash machine (not easy with an odd £2.30) or from 'in branch'. Went into branch; unable to withdraw. Told to phone. Phoned and got told to either withdraw from cash machines, or go in branch to get money. When I asked if it could just be transferred back onto the card I used to top up in the first place got told that's not possible. So right now I have a card with over £60 on it that I cannot access back. If I can top up via a card online surely they can refund back to that same card?

Their exchange rate is also a lot less than most other multi travel card providers.

Write a review of the Post Office

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?