Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.4 / 5

Based on 237 reviews Write Review

mr kemp

20th July 2017

My father inlaw went to the post office to change cash to euros and he got 10% less than it showed online total rip off sray away from pist office.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Tom

17th July 2017

Payed £550 should have got €620 with current rate. Only got €590. Awful rates

  • I ordered £590 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Angela clarke

16th July 2017

Shocking exchange rate, again trusted the post office and to top it off the guy ripped me off for 10 euros. I paid 200 pound, my receipt says 210 euros but he only gave me 200. Never again ????

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

GM

15th July 2017

I had funds on the card but was not notified that the card was due to expire during my holiday. First I found out about it was when it was refused when I was abroad. PO kindly offered to transfer the funds back to my bank over night for £20 . . . . or FOC in 4 to 5 working days. Very handy when you don't have access to euro's and already abroad. I realise there must be some blame on me for not checking the expiry but, as with other cards, I stupidly relied on the PO to remind about the expiry as they would want to keep my business. I don't think so . . . never again for me and you should stay away from this poor customer care package.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

BH

6th July 2017

I've used them a few times & they have been fairly OK. You have to be aware that the in shop exchange rate is way lower than the on line order / collect.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Ralph

4th July 2017

Counter service good but surprised and more than a little disappointed to find that greater than 10% penalty for going directly to local post office to exchange £ for Euros rather than order on line and then collect from the same Post Office/ counter staff. Can see little justification for the. Never again

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Graeme

3rd July 2017

Dreadful rate at the counter. I trusted the PO and didn't think to check but I've been thanked for that by being ripped-off. Never again.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Anna

1st July 2017

Shocking exchange rate. Hadn't thought to check as previously exchange had been ok. 310 Euros for £298. Never again, save your money and go to a supermarket

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Dennis

29th June 2017

Euro rate advertised at 1.11 only to find that does not actually apply unless you get a travel card. I got 1.07 on £500. No time to go elsewhere but how are the Post Office allowed to advertise rates that don't apply?

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

jackie

27th June 2017

Terrible don't get this travel card. Could not check balance while on holiday online, when contacted call center, where told they would get back to us in 5 days. NEVER AGAIN

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

peter mills

27th June 2017

Ordered £1006 in euros online, told could collect at local branch office after 2pm. I got there after 2pm only to be told the money hadn't arrived. Returned home and phoned Post Office currency, to be told my order was marked as branch fulfilment, that I should return and collect my money. I returned, explained to branch staff, only to be told they didn't have the required euros. I asked to cancel my order with Post Office currency, to be told will be 3-5 working days before get money refunded. Shocking service, will not use again.

  • I ordered £1006 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Thomas cox

23rd June 2017

To be honest its crap 500 GBP i got 535 euro Sainsbury's & asda do a better deal by as much as 20 euro never ever ever again .

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Shirley

17th June 2017

Firstly, I am aware that the post office has an appalling currency exchange rate. However I just wanted to treat my grandson for his hols, so purchased €25 at my local PO In chadderton & was charged £24.04, an exchange rate of £1.0400 is on the receipt, is this correct as online it states an exchange rate of €1.0993. I defo won't be using them in July when I go away ... ????

  • I ordered £25 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Philip Wall

11th June 2017

Ordered us dollars for holiday in a few weeks time.. Excellent online rate, easy order process. Money to be delivered to local branch for pick up on day to suit my work pattern. Arrived at local store to find order was not delivered, but set to be processed issued from store knowing store did not have the funds at branch to issue money. Waited 20 minutes for local branch to get through to service to be told I could hopefully pick money up from another branch 10 miles away... I explained that I ordered to local store for pick up and that was what I wanted Then told with no apology money would be delivered tomorrow by 1pm. Thankfully I was not travelling that day! Would not recommend this service. Improvements need to be made Local post office staff provided excellent assistance and service, left to apologies for Head office mistake.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Margaret copperwaite

8th June 2017

Exchange rate on the counter was shocking I didn't realise I took it back minutes later and complained but they said they would have to charge me to take it back. What a nerve I thought the post office was always a good place to change money never again I could have got an extra 20 euros at Asda and that pays for a couple of drinks

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Kenny

7th June 2017

Fantastic service Currency Ordered 2.30 pm Tuesday delivered 9am Wednesday Couldnt be happier and i will def use service again I dont normally write reviews but felt due to last minute issue the Post Office came to the rescue Brill

  • I ordered £500 worth of Czech Koruna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Beverley

5th June 2017

Terrible, terrible service and aftercare. I ordered over £1,000 of euros online to collect from my local branch in south London. When I arrived, the branch had no currency to fulfill my order. After three calls, it became apparent that their procedures hadn't been followed but that there was NO branch within striking distance that had the euros I needed! I asked for a refund so I could transact elsewhere. They told me it would take up to FIVE working days to get my money back. Despite my explicit instructions that I required an immediate refund, they triggered the five-day refund. I therefore had to spend three hours of my time on my travelling day chasing an alternative source of currency. I asked for compensation that reflected the cost of my professional time. WITHOUT my permission they triggered a £20 compensation cheque; which they increased to £50 after I complained. They are getting reported to every regulatory authority and online forum I can find. They have had my money for over a week and I STILL haven't had a refund. NEVER AGAIN.

  • I ordered £1003 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Bill

2nd June 2017

Thought post office travel card would be a safe and reliable way to buy £600 worth of euros and convenient over the counter. However at a rate of only 1.0790 I have realized the worst decision I have ever made. No wonder you are in the position you are. FEEL HARD DONE BY.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Adam

31st May 2017

Levemshulme post office. Poor advice ended up getting a rate of 1.07.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Michele

31st May 2017

If I could give no stars I would. I called customer services at the post office who told me they refused to discuss finance over the phone when I asked whether I could buy cypurrency with my credit card they said ' I'm sure you can go to and check on the website' I called the travel currency number who told me 9.8 kunas to the pound when it was 7.9! Unbelievably unhelpful, poor rate and wrong information

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

cas

18th May 2017

In store rate is terrible. i , with the best honesty, advised my sister that the post office was the best rate, i got 400 pounds to 425 euros, only realised when she told be she had got more elsewhere, and was quite annoyed at me! Post office you are supposed to be for the people, not ripping us off! Never again.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Sandra

15th May 2017

1.06 very low grrr at counter.

  • I ordered £203 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Patrick Nealon

8th May 2017

I have a Post Office Platinum Credit Card which I used to buy 350 euros the other day at my local PO. Terrible rate of exchange (cost me £324). Seems that if I had ordered online and collected from the same PO, I would have paid £308! No other transaction with a credit card in my experience costs hugely more if you are instore rather than online! The Platinum card boasts that they charge no transaction fee on purchases abroad nor on drawing cash, which is why I have it. In the past, the exchange rate was always fair. With such a shocking exchange rate policy now, it seems that having a different card (any bank card) that charges a transaction fee would be a better deal than the PO card! What's going on? Does the PO want all its Platinum card holders to ditch it for something else? It has no other special features, compared to the competition...

  • I ordered £324 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Linda murray

21st April 2017

Would be helpful if the P.O. made it clearer online that there is a large discrepancy between currency rates online and counter- bought. I'm of a generation that thinks (thought) going to the post office safer. Not after losing 30gbp!

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Pp

27th March 2017

Stupidly thought I would get an honest rate as in a rush (normally Pte order) . Even for £1000 7pc worse than normal provider for euros. Had no choice as kids off that evening but never again stay away until they do a honest job and don't just survive off the people who think they do a good deal or the ones like me who left it too late.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of the Post Office

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Thinking of travelling without insurance? Think again

Thinking of travelling without insurance? Think again

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 21st July 2017

Some people see travel insurance as a waste of money: Frequent traveller’s who complete their journeys without any disruption, or even those who’re going abroad for the first time, and are oblivious read more

Airbnb – How to prevent being scammed

Airbnb – How to prevent being scammed

Posted by Holly Burgess on 18th July 2017

  When it comes to booking accommodation abroad, Airbnb is renowned for its simplicity and personal service. When you have found the perfect room you will be directed to ‘contact the host’ in o read more