Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.4 / 5

Based on 258 reviews Write Review

Karen

22nd September 2017

Terrible rate over the counter and apparently the rate varies depending on location? ? How can they get away with this rip off Britain once again!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Lee

21st September 2017

Awful exchange rate, absolutely disgusting they can get away with paying 10% less than the mid market rate. Utter disgrace of a company !

  • I ordered £100 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Julia Davies

19th September 2017

Very poor exchange rate. Couldn't believe it when I had time to work out how poor it was. Luckily didn't buy a large amount but won't use the Post Office again. They used to be better, I am sure.

  • I ordered £155 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Andy

18th September 2017

Rarely able to use at shops and restaurants in north Cyprus, exchange rate offered at post office appalling at 4 Turkish lira to the £ rather than 4.4 Total rip off ! Never use the post office for holiday money, don't make the same mistake as we did !

  • I ordered £400 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Hila

13th September 2017

I purchased 200 Euro at the post office counter and paid £199 (rate of 1.01). 5 minutes later I found out that 50 meters down the road Barclays would have charged me only £190 (rate of 1.0486) and that the Western Union would charge me only £185 (rate of 1.08). I ended up returning the Euros to the post office and purchasing at Western Union. Why would anyone purchase travel money at the post office is beyond me.....

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

paul mcfarlane

10th September 2017

never use the new post office money card its a big con they told me it would cost me 80 bat a time too use a t m it costs 220 bat also when you use it in shops and restaurants you will be charged never again sent a letter too postoffice about card still heard Notting back from em

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Terri

8th September 2017

COMPLETE RIP OFF Do not get foreign currency at Post Office Counters They do not give you the amount displayed. How they can say that it is commission free is beyond me. They charge approx 10% more than on line, and more than other money changing companies AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

John

4th September 2017

I see this site is still littered with people who don't understand that you get a better rate by ORDERING online via PO (compare rates online) than looking online, then wandering into the PO unannounced.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Lisa brierley

1st September 2017

Worst decision I ever made to get one of these. Used it twice in cash machines the first time the machine wasn't working but the euros came off the card anyway. I rang them to be informed the money will go back on the card in 10 days....... I don't need the money once my holiday is over! The second time I was charged 26 euros to which I contacted them again to be fobbed off with a letter from them. DO NOT waste your time!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Maureen

1st September 2017

No complaints other that buying online does not give you a choice of denominations , i ordered 1000 euros and was given 900 in 50 euro notes the rest in smaller currency, we only go to a small resort and local restaurants and bars and they find it hard to accept 50 euro notes . This may be the last time i order via the PO online.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Mark

31st August 2017

Returned in spent euros €400 to receive £232 at a rate of 1.24 pound to euro when rate is at a 5 year low of 0.89 with boasts of 0% commission, daylight robbery, questioned with assistant and was smirked at with company policy

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

stephen wild

23rd August 2017

never again will i use post office for euros

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Richard

18th August 2017

Good, helpful at Thamesmead, Cannon Park Retail Centre. Staff member was kind enough to warn me that the rate of exchange was dreadful. He wasn't kidding! I got 1.01 euros per pound for £202. Am totally mystified by this.

  • I ordered £202 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Mrs E A Orton

14th August 2017

Excellent service from my local post office. Orders £1000 of euros got a good selection of notes. I ordered them on a Saturday and they were ready for me to collect on the Monday morning. I would recommend the post office.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Paul

11th August 2017

My wife just got ripped off to exactly the same amount. She exchanged £500 and got 515 euros, not the rate advertised online. It's a complete scam. Do not use the Post office for currency!!!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Helen jones

7th August 2017

Terrible rip off post office. -£500 pounds = €515 euros @ 1.0300 when it states online its. Giving 1.0851 per pound it should have paid 550€ How do they get away with it robbing people. If l robbed the PO l would be in JAIL.

  • I ordered £500.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Ken

4th August 2017

RIPOFF FOREIGN EXCHANGE + SURLY ASSISTANT I expected to get the advertised "We Buy At" rate on display in the PO window and adjacent to the foreign exchange counter for my excess dollars but realized too late I'd been screwed for nearly £30. As per usual in Bournemouth main PO the assistant had a long face, bad attitude and surly manner. She also told me it wasn't possible to pay me directly into my Yorkshire Bank account using my debit card when it is ~ couldn't be bothered / too much trouble. NEVER AGAIN!

  • I sold 652 US Dollars
  • I received the amount I was quoted
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

William Edwards

3rd August 2017

Wife bought Euros over the counter and received a rate of 1.02 to the pound, she was expecting1.09+. Was told rate had crashed overnight so she went ahead. On realising how bad the deal was she asked for a refund but was told Post Office would not. Lesson here is to not buy over the counter and do not expect a refund if you make a mistake. Always better rates elsewhere and online

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Mike

26th July 2017

The lady in Stourport Office was brilliant my wife blocked her pin on her money card the lady phoned and got her pin unblocked so we were able to use card above and beyond the call of duty as we were on way to airport

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

M Taylor

26th July 2017

Ordered currency online and it was delivered the next day which was a great service however ordering €600 and getting €500 in €50 denominations was not acceptable. I have never had a £50 in my purse at home so why do the Post Office think this high amount note is appropriate for taking abroad. Would have been good to have had more of a mixture of note denominations or to at least have the opportunity to choose. Won't use again.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Darryl

26th July 2017

I have used the pre- order system several times.The rate is within 1% of the best rates online.If you can't be bothered to read the small print ,ie pre-order .Thats your fault not the post office.At least you can be sure when you are getting the money.I used to use the top rated free delivery company.They didn't deliver when I was in and I cancelled .It cost me £85.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

mr kemp

20th July 2017

My father inlaw went to the post office to change cash to euros and he got 10% less than it showed online total rip off sray away from pist office.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Tom

17th July 2017

Payed £550 should have got €620 with current rate. Only got €590. Awful rates

  • I ordered £590 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Angela clarke

16th July 2017

Shocking exchange rate, again trusted the post office and to top it off the guy ripped me off for 10 euros. I paid 200 pound, my receipt says 210 euros but he only gave me 200. Never again ????

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

GM

15th July 2017

I had funds on the card but was not notified that the card was due to expire during my holiday. First I found out about it was when it was refused when I was abroad. PO kindly offered to transfer the funds back to my bank over night for £20 . . . . or FOC in 4 to 5 working days. Very handy when you don't have access to euro's and already abroad. I realise there must be some blame on me for not checking the expiry but, as with other cards, I stupidly relied on the PO to remind about the expiry as they would want to keep my business. I don't think so . . . never again for me and you should stay away from this poor customer care package.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Write a review of the Post Office

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Posted by Matthew Weston on 24th September 2017

The number of people going self-employed in the creative and business sectors is increasing at a faster rate than ever before. As a journalism student, I was told that nearly everybody in my class will have to read more

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

Posted by Holly Burgess on 23rd September 2017

When planning your travels, the most important thing to decide is where in the world you want to go. But wouldn’t it be great if you could select the specific room you wanted to stay in? Thomas Cook ha read more