Post Office reviews

468 Reviews Poor | 2.0

The Post Office

https://www.postoffice.co.uk/

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. If you order more than £1000 of currency you will get an even better enhanced rate.

Write a review

David

11 January 2020

Bought US dollars

11 January 2020

Website virtually unusable

Dave

4 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

4 January 2020

This product the Travel Money Card is extremely poor as is the service offered when it does not perform. On a trip to the USA the card was declined in a major retail store despite it having more than sufficient funds credited to it. The Post Office help desk refused to accept there was a problem saying it was the retailers fault. On returning to the UK the card was again declined when attempting to draw money with the card, the help desk again said it was the retailers fault , funny as I was at the Post Office using their facilities. A poor product which following my complaints to them

Is now being closed and the money refunded to my account but I have to wait four days for them to transfer the funds

Lily Morrow

27 December 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

27 December 2019

Tried to apply online, and it told me to go into the post office. When I applied in the post office it failed. I applied with both my passport, and Driving licence neither worked. the staff were lovely and just as confused as me. Would not recommend

Hdg

17 December 2019

Bought £2,400 worth of Euros

17 December 2019

I ordered €2400 worth through Post Office Travel Money online for collection from a local Office.

On opening the pack even the staff couldn’t believe what I’d been sent. They had sent 47 €50 notes.

As most people know these are harder to spend especially where you are dealing with small retailers abroad.

I went to the main Post Office in Morecambe and explained what had happened.

As usual at this branch the staff are rude, unhelpful and off hand.

They said it’s just the way it is and if I wanted smaller value notes they could buy the notes back and resell them to me but at the lower price due to commission!!

Needless to say I will never use the post office again for travel money and will use my local travel agent who very kindly changed €700 into smaller notes even though they didn’t need to.

Avoid the Post Office!!

Tim

6 December 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

6 December 2019

Will not use again, Just been to Thailand and because it has the MasterCard logo on it had to pay 3% extra every time I used it, along with a poor rate back at my local post office a very expensive experience.

Margaret

30 November 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

30 November 2019

Ordered my euro online to pick up at local Post Office. No problem at all and were there when they said they would be

Musket

18 November 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

18 November 2019

Resident at current address > 3 years ?

Car finance approved same day while resident at current address ?

Mortgage add-on approved same day while resident at current address ?

Credit card application approved while resident at current address ?

Required travel money card at relatively short notice ?

Applied for Post Office Travel Money Card in person at local post office ?

Produced valid photo ID in the form of driver's licence showing current address ?

Left post office without an activated travel money card due failure to verify personal details ? ????

Came home and called the post office as advised by the teller ?

Provided all information and answered security questions during call ?

Redirected and told to send additional proof of identification via email ?

Ended call with issue unresolved and travel money card not activated or usable ? ????

Additional documentation emailed as requested (valid and current passport + drivers licence displaying current address) ?

Additional documentation resent due to recipient advising they are unable to open attachments ?

Received acknowledgement that attachments in original mail had now been opened along with a message advising it can take a further 72 hours to verify personal details ?

3 Days after initial visit to the post office, the issue remains unresolved and time has run out to have this sorted before my trip ? ????

Web searched 'Post Office Travel Money Card' reviews (highly recommended for anyone considering this card !) ?

Accept this was a bad choice and abandon all efforts to activate Post Office Travel Money Card ?

Bought foreign currency at a high street travel agent and will use bank cards on this trip ?

Surely something is wrong when one is able to get a credit card, personal loan or car finance at the click of a button, yet not have the required 'credentials’ to own a Post Office prepaid cash card ? ? ????

I do not recommend this card but please be guided by the reviews of others as I might now be slightly biased.

Cliff

19 October 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

19 October 2019

The name “Post Office” describes what they were originally designed to do and they are great at delivering mail. This travel money card is a classic example of companies trying to branch out into other fields and failing. Very disappointed with both the service and product. The customer service team are disorganised and inadequate.

Avoid this card.

Ben

15 October 2019

Bought £1 worth of Euros

15 October 2019

Post Office Money transfer card:

Terrible.

Awful awful awful experience. Was convinced to get this card by a staff member in the Post Office as being told it would be cheaper and easier for currency exchange and it has caused nothing but problems since getting it. Card not activated properly and spent a week without it being usable in Greece. Tried to use it for a second holiday and once activated, it then did not work in any of the stores it should have worked in and the customer service team were unresponsive in helping fix the problem. This alongside the app not loading properly has made this the worst currency exchange service I have ever used

Avoid at all costs

Ryan

5 October 2019

Bought £99 worth of Euros

5 October 2019

Shocked at post offices advertising tactics! The board advertises the lower rate at 1.09 for the euro on their board, you go to purchase and it ends up being a hidden rate of 1.01! They base the rate on you spending £1000! So went to another high street exchange which actually sold it at the advertised rate

Write a review of the Post Office

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?