Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.3 / 5

Based on 268 reviews Write Review

Joe

18th November 2017

Shocking Rate Something needs to be done about this ,Talked into getting a Travel card . The Royal Mail is a right Royal RIP OFF!

  • I would recommend Post Office to others

George

17th November 2017

Awful exchange rates... I am never going to use it again.

    M McLachlan

    15th November 2017

    I am on holiday in Madeira at the moment and out of four shops so far my card has only been accepted in one. Really annoyed as I went on a shopping trip and had to use my friends credit card!!!!!!

      Pat Brickhill

      12th November 2017

      Ripped off with the exchange rate. I believe it was deliberate as I ordered money and when I collected on the day they said it was super low exchange rate

      • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Sarah

      7th November 2017

      I ordered a pre paid card of €1000 which was split between 2 cards as the limit was €700 on one, ok not a big deal. I was then emailed by the post office 2 days before my holiday asking me to provide photo ID so I could use my cards even though I did this at the post office. Apparently having 2 cards isnt the norm ???. Wasn't happy at having this stress just before my hols and I had to actually scan my passport to them what a joke. Wouldn't recommend

      • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Helen

      3rd November 2017

      Rip off exchange rate over the counter at the Post Office, got a much better rate at M&S or couldl have used Thompsons Travel for a better rate. Will never use Post Office again and it has made me think about using Post Office for any other of my business requirements in future and that includes parcels or anything else. HATE GETTING RIPPED OFF

      • I ordered £154 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Martin

      19th October 2017

      Rip off exchange rate. Won't use ever again. Visted the local post office thought I would support the local high street. Still feeling like I have been mugged. The staff said it wasn't a good rate I should have listened to them and gone elsewhere.

      • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Anna Fox

      10th October 2017

      Low rates unhelpful staff at northfield won't but again total rip off

      • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Paul

      9th October 2017

      Thought I would accept a lower exchange rate ( dollars) in order to offset the convenience of picking the currency up from my local post office at my chosen time. When I arrived at the stated date and time the order was not ready and the staff appeared clueless asking me how many dollars I was expecting! Took and age to sort and will not be repeating the experience.

      • I ordered £400 worth of US Dollars
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Paul

      29th September 2017

      Purchased £200 worth of euros and got an exchange approximately 10% less than than travel rate. It seems to get the best rate you have to purchase at least £400 worth of foreign currency. This is not advertised and the staff did not inform us of the extortionate business dealings. Before ordering foreign currency from this establishment check that you are not getting ripped off.

      • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Karen

      22nd September 2017

      Terrible rate over the counter and apparently the rate varies depending on location? ? How can they get away with this rip off Britain once again!

      • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Lee

      21st September 2017

      Awful exchange rate, absolutely disgusting they can get away with paying 10% less than the mid market rate. Utter disgrace of a company !

      • I ordered £100 worth of US Dollars
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Julia Davies

      19th September 2017

      Very poor exchange rate. Couldn't believe it when I had time to work out how poor it was. Luckily didn't buy a large amount but won't use the Post Office again. They used to be better, I am sure.

      • I ordered £155 worth of Euros
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Andy

      18th September 2017

      Rarely able to use at shops and restaurants in north Cyprus, exchange rate offered at post office appalling at 4 Turkish lira to the £ rather than 4.4 Total rip off ! Never use the post office for holiday money, don't make the same mistake as we did !

      • I ordered £400 worth of Turkish Lira
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Hila

      13th September 2017

      I purchased 200 Euro at the post office counter and paid £199 (rate of 1.01). 5 minutes later I found out that 50 meters down the road Barclays would have charged me only £190 (rate of 1.0486) and that the Western Union would charge me only £185 (rate of 1.08). I ended up returning the Euros to the post office and purchasing at Western Union. Why would anyone purchase travel money at the post office is beyond me.....

      • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      paul mcfarlane

      10th September 2017

      never use the new post office money card its a big con they told me it would cost me 80 bat a time too use a t m it costs 220 bat also when you use it in shops and restaurants you will be charged never again sent a letter too postoffice about card still heard Notting back from em

      • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
      • Reloading the card was easy
      • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Terri

      8th September 2017

      COMPLETE RIP OFF Do not get foreign currency at Post Office Counters They do not give you the amount displayed. How they can say that it is commission free is beyond me. They charge approx 10% more than on line, and more than other money changing companies AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

      • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      John

      4th September 2017

      I see this site is still littered with people who don't understand that you get a better rate by ORDERING online via PO (compare rates online) than looking online, then wandering into the PO unannounced.

      • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Lisa brierley

      1st September 2017

      Worst decision I ever made to get one of these. Used it twice in cash machines the first time the machine wasn't working but the euros came off the card anyway. I rang them to be informed the money will go back on the card in 10 days....... I don't need the money once my holiday is over! The second time I was charged 26 euros to which I contacted them again to be fobbed off with a letter from them. DO NOT waste your time!!!

      • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
      • Reloading the card was easy
      • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Maureen

      1st September 2017

      No complaints other that buying online does not give you a choice of denominations , i ordered 1000 euros and was given 900 in 50 euro notes the rest in smaller currency, we only go to a small resort and local restaurants and bars and they find it hard to accept 50 euro notes . This may be the last time i order via the PO online.

      • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested

      Mark

      31st August 2017

      Returned in spent euros €400 to receive £232 at a rate of 1.24 pound to euro when rate is at a 5 year low of 0.89 with boasts of 0% commission, daylight robbery, questioned with assistant and was smirked at with company policy

      • I ordered £400 worth of Euros

      stephen wild

      23rd August 2017

      never again will i use post office for euros

      • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Richard

      18th August 2017

      Good, helpful at Thamesmead, Cannon Park Retail Centre. Staff member was kind enough to warn me that the rate of exchange was dreadful. He wasn't kidding! I got 1.01 euros per pound for £202. Am totally mystified by this.

      • I ordered £202 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Mrs E A Orton

      14th August 2017

      Excellent service from my local post office. Orders £1000 of euros got a good selection of notes. I ordered them on a Saturday and they were ready for me to collect on the Monday morning. I would recommend the post office.

      • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Paul

      11th August 2017

      My wife just got ripped off to exactly the same amount. She exchanged £500 and got 515 euros, not the rate advertised online. It's a complete scam. Do not use the Post office for currency!!!

      • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Write a review of the Post Office

      Your name

      Your rating

      Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
      1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

      Your review

      Optional questions

      • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
      • How much travel money did you purchase?
        worth of
      • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
      • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
      • How much currency did you sell?
      • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
      • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
      • What currency did you transfer?
        to
      • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
      • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
      • What type of prepaid card did you order?
      • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
      • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
      • What kind of policy did you purchase?
        policy for
      • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
      • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

      Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

      Visit Website

      Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

      Find out more

      Why sign up?

      • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
      • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
      • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
      Holiday Deals November 2017

      Holiday Deals November 2017

      Posted by Graham Morley on 14th November 2017

      Have you ever visited a Christmas market in Europe? It’s a fantastic experience; a chance to sample a different culture, different sights, wondeful smells from a variety of food sellers and not to mention the read more

      Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

      Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

      Posted by Matthew Weston on 13th November 2017

      It’s been a tough couple of months for the British women’s Bobsleigh and Skeleton team. British Bobsleigh announced it was going to withdraw funding for the team just five months before the Winter read more