Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.4 / 5

Based on 226 reviews Write Review

Thomas cox

Yesterday

To be honest its crap 500 GBP i got 535 euro Sainsbury's & asda do a better deal by as much as 20 euro never ever ever again .

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Shirley

17th June 2017

Firstly, I am aware that the post office has an appalling currency exchange rate. However I just wanted to treat my grandson for his hols, so purchased €25 at my local PO In chadderton & was charged £24.04, an exchange rate of £1.0400 is on the receipt, is this correct as online it states an exchange rate of €1.0993. I defo won't be using them in July when I go away ... ????

  • I ordered £25 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Philip Wall

11th June 2017

Ordered us dollars for holiday in a few weeks time.. Excellent online rate, easy order process. Money to be delivered to local branch for pick up on day to suit my work pattern. Arrived at local store to find order was not delivered, but set to be processed issued from store knowing store did not have the funds at branch to issue money. Waited 20 minutes for local branch to get through to service to be told I could hopefully pick money up from another branch 10 miles away... I explained that I ordered to local store for pick up and that was what I wanted Then told with no apology money would be delivered tomorrow by 1pm. Thankfully I was not travelling that day! Would not recommend this service. Improvements need to be made Local post office staff provided excellent assistance and service, left to apologies for Head office mistake.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Margaret copperwaite

8th June 2017

Exchange rate on the counter was shocking I didn't realise I took it back minutes later and complained but they said they would have to charge me to take it back. What a nerve I thought the post office was always a good place to change money never again I could have got an extra 20 euros at Asda and that pays for a couple of drinks

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Kenny

7th June 2017

Fantastic service Currency Ordered 2.30 pm Tuesday delivered 9am Wednesday Couldnt be happier and i will def use service again I dont normally write reviews but felt due to last minute issue the Post Office came to the rescue Brill

  • I ordered £500 worth of Czech Koruna
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Beverley

5th June 2017

Terrible, terrible service and aftercare. I ordered over £1,000 of euros online to collect from my local branch in south London. When I arrived, the branch had no currency to fulfill my order. After three calls, it became apparent that their procedures hadn't been followed but that there was NO branch within striking distance that had the euros I needed! I asked for a refund so I could transact elsewhere. They told me it would take up to FIVE working days to get my money back. Despite my explicit instructions that I required an immediate refund, they triggered the five-day refund. I therefore had to spend three hours of my time on my travelling day chasing an alternative source of currency. I asked for compensation that reflected the cost of my professional time. WITHOUT my permission they triggered a £20 compensation cheque; which they increased to £50 after I complained. They are getting reported to every regulatory authority and online forum I can find. They have had my money for over a week and I STILL haven't had a refund. NEVER AGAIN.

  • I ordered £1003 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Bill

2nd June 2017

Thought post office travel card would be a safe and reliable way to buy £600 worth of euros and convenient over the counter. However at a rate of only 1.0790 I have realized the worst decision I have ever made. No wonder you are in the position you are. FEEL HARD DONE BY.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Adam

31st May 2017

Levemshulme post office. Poor advice ended up getting a rate of 1.07.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Michele

31st May 2017

If I could give no stars I would. I called customer services at the post office who told me they refused to discuss finance over the phone when I asked whether I could buy cypurrency with my credit card they said ' I'm sure you can go to and check on the website' I called the travel currency number who told me 9.8 kunas to the pound when it was 7.9! Unbelievably unhelpful, poor rate and wrong information

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

cas

18th May 2017

In store rate is terrible. i , with the best honesty, advised my sister that the post office was the best rate, i got 400 pounds to 425 euros, only realised when she told be she had got more elsewhere, and was quite annoyed at me! Post office you are supposed to be for the people, not ripping us off! Never again.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Sandra

15th May 2017

1.06 very low grrr at counter.

  • I ordered £203 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Patrick Nealon

8th May 2017

I have a Post Office Platinum Credit Card which I used to buy 350 euros the other day at my local PO. Terrible rate of exchange (cost me £324). Seems that if I had ordered online and collected from the same PO, I would have paid £308! No other transaction with a credit card in my experience costs hugely more if you are instore rather than online! The Platinum card boasts that they charge no transaction fee on purchases abroad nor on drawing cash, which is why I have it. In the past, the exchange rate was always fair. With such a shocking exchange rate policy now, it seems that having a different card (any bank card) that charges a transaction fee would be a better deal than the PO card! What's going on? Does the PO want all its Platinum card holders to ditch it for something else? It has no other special features, compared to the competition...

  • I ordered £324 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Linda murray

21st April 2017

Would be helpful if the P.O. made it clearer online that there is a large discrepancy between currency rates online and counter- bought. I'm of a generation that thinks (thought) going to the post office safer. Not after losing 30gbp!

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Pp

27th March 2017

Stupidly thought I would get an honest rate as in a rush (normally Pte order) . Even for £1000 7pc worse than normal provider for euros. Had no choice as kids off that evening but never again stay away until they do a honest job and don't just survive off the people who think they do a good deal or the ones like me who left it too late.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

David

15th March 2017

Tried to cash in some unused euros froma holiday. Read the website that States on demand post offices can cash in without a receipt. I was delighted that my local office was one. Suprise suprise, they do NOT do this without the original receipt and said that the website was completely wrong. NEVER use this service is my advice

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Barry Johnson

10th March 2017

Too much hard sell, tried to upsell the amount too. I think I received a really bad deal as I changed £200 and all I got was 210 Euros. The exchange rate says the Post Office will give you the BEST deal, rubbish I think I was conned, I should have received 230 Euros. My experience is very long queues, staff who have all day to serve you and try to earn some sort of commission [ sounds of PPI all over again]. Kept pressing for me to have a Travel Money Card. Back to Lloyds for me from now on.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

BigG

8th March 2017

Hopeless customer service if you try and reset your access details on the card. Rude call centre staff who are obviously understaffed. Poor rates, sometimes misleading and an app that is awful. Go elsewhere. I know I am.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Tim Perry

25th February 2017

I ordered 1500 USD to collect next day at local branch after 11 am. Called in to collect at midday and they only had two fifty dollar notes for me, when I complained that I did not want to take wads of lower denominations they said that it was not unusual for them to have so few and it would take another 2 days to get them.They did not think that this was poor customer service so I told them I would never use them again.I asked the Weymouth manager to report my dissatisfaction but I doubt that h

  • I ordered £1280 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

V B

13th February 2017

FEEL ROBBED!! Do not buy any travel money from your local branch!! Rate was advertised at a lot higher than I got! I exchanged £420 and got £450 euros rate of 1.07 when I said I thought that seemed not a good deal the counter assistant explained if I had changed £500 I would have got a better deal but it was now too late to go back on the transaction and there was nothing he could do ! I not only would have got a better rate at the airport but at the cash point when away too !! I will not be going to the post office again!!!

  • I ordered £420 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Ian McMahonr

2nd February 2017

I would like to apologise to Sainsbury's for making the mistake of using the Post Office on this (the last) ocassion I will avail myself of its counter currency services. Usually I book online with Sainsbury's which invariably has a better rate than any other high street supplier. This time I happened to be in town and was sucked in by the seemingly better rate than M&S, so decided to go with it to save me doing it online as I was not planning a supermarket shop soon. I made the mistake of not reading the small print on the Post Office's electronic rate sign at the counter. To get those rates you have to exchanging over £1000 otherwise the rate is worse. I suspect few people exhange over £1000, so the headline rate on the board is only a 'tease'. BEWARE. (As if they weren't making enough money on the spread between buying and selling rates, the want to nickle and dime you for even more. Anyway, if you are looking for a beter rate, book online via Sainsbury's and if you have a Nectar card you even get a slightly better rate.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

sally

2nd February 2017

I only wanted £50 of Euros so couldn't take advantage of online ordering (message kept coming up 'minimum of £400'). I visited local branch where a poster on the counter showed the exchange rate to be 1.11, however when I checked my receipt later at home, I'd only got 1.06. I'm aware of the differences between online rates and counter rates, but to have a difference like that whilst standing under a poster advertising todays rate is unbelievable. I am still awaiting a response from Post Office Customer Relations about this and will be paying an inconvenient second trip to the branch today for an explanation.

  • I ordered £50 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

joanne flannelly

29th November 2016

Paid £507 for 2500 malaysian ringgits, forgot to take them on holiday (left them on kitchen table) offered £387 to buy them back. Absolutely disgusted, total rip off

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Malaysian Ringgits
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

J c

28th November 2016

Ordered Egypt pounds online and telephoned the customer service team to check that there was not any issues due to the high rate. This was checked for me and the currency rate was confirmed and checked to make sure it was in stock. It arrived on a Saturday but was due till Monday.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Egyptian Pounds
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

ANN HEMINGWAY

24th November 2016

Under NO circumstances whatsoever carry out any buy back transactions on foreign currency exchange at the Post Office. Their buy back rate is nothing short of scandalous and a total rip off. They have the worse rates going - even Debenhams is better! On 500 euros, I only received £370 and did not realise until the transaction had gone through. Eventually, I got through to the customer services at the Post Office who took up my complaint but everyone else I spoke with were not interested and tried to fob me off, telling me there was nothing they could do. To give an example, I bought the Euros for £0.84 but had to pay £1.35 to exchange them into Sterling. Scandalous, absolutely scandalous. I feel as if I have been mugged. Modern day highway robbery. Beware.

  • I sold 500 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Julie

16th November 2016

I purchased €80 from my local post office a month ago and was charged almost £80 for it. When I expressed horror at the counter, the guy assured me it was a better rate than I would get at the airport. so I made the purchase. not only did I discover that virtually all money exchangers were giving a far better rate than this, but the post office itself were advertising a much better one on their website. however, since making an official complaint, I have been told 'every Travel Money provider sets their own rate'. ie. your local post office can rip you off if they feel like it, though you may be unaware that they do not use the official post office rate advertised on websites. How ridiculous and how sneaky. I will NEVER change money at the post office again. I thought they were the most reliable place to do this, but now I would rather take a chance on a dodgy booth on the high street!!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of the Post Office

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Lviv: the historic city of Ukraine

Lviv: the historic city of Ukraine

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 23rd June 2017

Lviv (also spelled L’viv and Lvov) is a city with a lively history, and a well-preserved historic centre that is an UNESCO World Heritage site. Located in western Ukraine, around 70 kilometers from the borde read more

What you should add to your next holiday packing list

What you should add to your next holiday packing list

Posted by Matthew Weston on 19th June 2017

I’m one of those people that usually leaves packing right until the last minute. It doesn’t matter whether the trip is for one day or three weeks, something always gets in the way; whether that be w read more