Compare Holiday Money Logo

Post Office reviews

Average 2.2 / 5

Based on 300 reviews Write Review

Peter

Yesterday

I ordered 400 Euro's to be delivered to my local Post Office which arrived on time, but 300 of these were made up of 50 Euro notes, if you don't mind high value notes then you will be ok, I would recommend though that you visit Post Office in person then you can pick what value notes you want.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Christine

9th April 2018

Had leftover zloty on my card from a trip to Poland. Transferred to dollars easily online for my next trip. Was easy to use and contactless was useful. Was accepted everywhere in Poland so I only had to withdraw cash once which incurred a fee of about £2. Small price to pay for the security of not carrying large amounts of cash about. Today i changed £150 into dollars using the app to top up with my debit card. Got 1.35 rate which is the same as in branch. So I can top up small amounts between now and when I go rather than try to buy it all at one time. Very happy with this very convenient card.

  • I ordered £150 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Jeremy

6th April 2018

I used to use the Post Office for holiday money and thought I would try them again. I saw the online rate for euros today at 1.12 for £400 or more. I didn't want that much - just £250 so thought it wouldn't be much different. Ended up with 1.04!! Lost €20. I went back to try to return the 'goods', but to no avail. If the holiday had been cancelled they would. How is it that these transactions don't come under consumer rights law? Never use them again.

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Sarah

19th March 2018

I changed £100 into euros today at the post office, I checked the exchange rate before going. But only got €105 instead of €113.70, either their exchange rate is much lower or they take a higher commison than other providers.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Tania

17th March 2018

I got the Post Office Travel Money Card for a trip to Thailand and put Thai Baht on it. Yet every time I did a transaction, the card reconverted from GBP despite only having Thai Baht and no GBP on my card. Basically I paid the currency conversion rate twice every time (and the PO conversion rates are bad compared to any rates in Thailand). So no point in adding foreign currency to this card as the currency conversion happens automatically even when non prompted. Moreover, there's no clarity on the fees applied. In addition to 80 Baht fee for every ATM withdrawal as specified in the PO leaflets I got charged an extra 250 Baht (not specified in PO leaflets!). I don't recommend this card.

  • I would recommend Post Office to others

William Thompson

14th March 2018

Cant seem to give less than 1 star. Couldnt believe that the post office where taking 10 cents of every pound spent to buy Euros. Never again will i buy holiday money at post office. Absolute crooks.

  • I ordered £210 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Peter

12th March 2018

RIP off rates in branch !!

  • I ordered £200 worth of US Dollars
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Mark simmons

12th March 2018

Absolutely scandalous exchange rate when I went to my local Post office branch ....rip off Pounds to baht

  • I ordered £200 worth of Thai Baht
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Alan Peck

26th February 2018

Bought euros with a credit card & was charged 3% "cash fee" in addition to a lower exchange rate in comparison with other providers. Won't be caught again!!!!!

  • I ordered £560.75 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Claire Counsill

23rd February 2018

Do not use the travel money post office card. Everytime I go to the post office to exchange currency I am alway hassled about getting one of these cards so I decided to get one on this occasion as I was going to Thailand for a few weeks and thought it would be a more convenient option - big mistake. I ordered the card online and it was quick to arrive. Uploaded my currency and was given a less exchange rate to online and in store so from the start lost 200 baht (only £12 but not the point) queried this via email and the person responding couldn't even spell, so was sent a complaints form a week later and they wanted to see proof of the currency difference in the form of a screen shot - clearly daint have this. They advertise that you can use it in so many million stores around the globe - this is false to an extent. In Thailand you can only use it if you spend over 400 baht in most shops like the 7/11 it's pretty difficult to do this when I only use the 7/11 for water or crisp amounting to 29 baht. You couldn't spend over 400 even if you tried. Even restaurants won't accept card and the hotel charge 5% fee for each transaction- post office claim these transactions are free. So I was forced to use the ATM machine which charged 250baht per transaction and you was only allowed to withdraw 4000 baht each time. I had over 30,000 baht on the card so 8 transactions later and 2000 baht down. Aswell as this they then charge you £1.50 for each transaction so that's another £12 down. So in total I lost around £75 because of this card that they more a less force you to get everytime you go to the post office to exchange money - absolute waste of space this card. Then you can't even check your balance at ATMs followed by it taking 3days for the transaction to appear on your mobile app so that's another disappointing factor to this card. Luckily I had thai baht in cash aside from this but it's still not the point

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Tommy

22nd February 2018

1.03 to the pound today. They used to have a good reputation for sales on the High Street. No longer. Site says 1.11. Wish I asked for rate in the store now. Relaying on reputation. Won't use again.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Peter Fogg

19th February 2018

Just been to post office for 300 euros, prior to this had checked exchange rate which informed me that this would cost £264.00. Post Office charged me £291.26. Complete con, won't be doing that again.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Graham Harper

9th February 2018

Got Travel Money Card and loaded it with $7000NZ. Plan was to withdraw the 700 maximum daily amount so as to keep the $3.50 fees to the minimum. First 2 transactions fine then ATM on 3rd transaction would only let me have 400 stating that I had exceeded my daily limit. Contacted Post Office who told me that 'daily limit' is actually 24 hours between withdrawals. Not true as I had numerous occasions of over 24 hours between visits to ATM but always was only allowed max of $400. With some ATMs also charging a $3 fee I paid over $50 more than I should have to withdraw cash. ONLY use to pay for serviced, such as petrol, meals etc.. .

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Marie Oddy

5th February 2018

Awful euros arrived and it was 25.00 Euro short I called customer service to resolve issue was as good as called a liar a manger suggested I made a claim for list euros even though it was staff incompetence. I was told it would take 6 weeks. What a joke so now they have my money and I’m 25.euro worse off. The manager was less than helpful I would warn anyone going to use their service to think twice in hind site I should have used a more reputable company like John Lewis. Lesson learned , crooks the lot of them

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Mike

1st February 2018

Terrible exchange rate for euros - no need for it especially as a valued customer of the post office, with substantial savings with them, and that savings rate has gone right down so I will not only avoid the post office for foreign currency in future, I will also be taking my money elsewhere.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Andree

1st February 2018

I am angry at myself for not checking out the in-store euro exchange rate. On the site it said 1.11 euros to the £ and when I got home, realised I had been given 1.07 to the £ because I had not pre-ordered. Absolute rip off and I will NOT be using the post office again for money to go abroad.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

T West

31st January 2018

1.03 rate - terrible..... hadn't researched enough and went for a 'trusted' brand for currency - never again.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Jean MacKenzie

30th January 2018

Cost me £78 and got 100 dollars .Rate 1.27.what a disgrace.No more post office money exchange for me.10 dollars less per £1than rate reported in papers today.A right rip off.

  • I received the amount I was quoted
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Neal

18th January 2018

Walked into the post office expecting a slightly lower rate as i hadn't pre-ordered. Got €200 and it cost £194.17! the rate was £1 = €1.03. If I had pre-ordered it would have been £1 = €1.103. Basically they are ripping you off 7 cents in every pound sterling. NEVER EVER doing that again!

  • I ordered £194 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

jane

16th January 2018

Just changed £150 to euros and received 155 euros, seems I have lost out on about £10. Glad it was a small amount. Terrible exchange rate.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Charlotte Anstey

16th January 2018

Worst exchange rate I have ever had, DO NOT exchange your money with the Post Office. I exchanged £200 into USD and lost out on £20. Just awful.

  • I ordered £200 worth of US Dollars
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Marilyn Pirabakaran

11th January 2018

An amazing and a friendly service, felt so loved. The service was brilliant. I posted a letter and it arrived on time as they said. I would definitely be using the post office again.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Angela

9th January 2018

Appalling exchange rate on £250 worth of US dollars over the counter. I’ll never use the Post Office again for travel money

  • I ordered £250 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Karen J

3rd January 2018

We used the Post Office Travel Money Card for the first time this year. Sold as being safe, easy to use by the staff in the local post office. Although it does tell you in the application form that there will be a nominal fee for each transaction, it doesn't tell you that you then have to pay a mastercard conversion fee. Each time we took money out, it cost us almost £40 in transaction fees. The ridiculous thing being, that the card is loaded in your chosen currency at the currency rate of the day you load money. Yet when you withdraw cash, the card converts the money back to GBP's so you have to pay a conversion fee! On Christmas eve, we had 11,900 Thai Bahts left on the card, we went to withdraw 10,000 Bahts, only to be told we could not have any money as we did not have enough money to pay fee's, meaning the fee's would have been over £45. We then couldn't take a smaller amount as the bank had actually taken off the 10,000 Bahts from the card but did not issue the cash due to fee charges. We called the Post Office from Thailand, to be told they couldn't do anything to help and that the bank would refund the money back to the card within 7 working days. Therefore we had 2 days left of our holiday, over Christmas, with 2 children and no money. It therefore ruined our Christmas and last couple of days on holiday. Do not use, it is a total rip off.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Stu Sharrock

28th December 2017

Horrendous rate. Can’t believe how much they charge. Last time I ever use the post office. JUST DISGRACEFUL

  • I ordered £512 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Write a review of the Post Office

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

  • Latest exchange rates delivered monthly to your inbox
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
  • Travel money and holiday articles and information
Travelling light?

Travelling light?

Posted by Sam Stone on 13th April 2018

Travelling light is not just about being careful with your money. Speed and weight are an attractive factor for minimising your luggage. However, the goal posts constantly sift and some airline weight restricti read more

The Things To Do When Traveling

The Things To Do When Traveling

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 9th April 2018

Traveling can be so much fun because you get to try new and tasty food, take photos in each country’s famous spots, and just have fun and be free. But besides all those cool things you get to do, there are a read more