Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.5 / 5

Based on 209 reviews Write Review

25th February 2017

I ordered 1500 USD to collect next day at local branch after 11 am. Called in to collect at midday and they only had two fifty dollar notes for me, when I complained that I did not want to take wads of lower denominations they said that it was not unusual for them to have so few and it would take another 2 days to get them.They did not think that this was poor customer service so I told them I would never use them again.I asked the Weymouth manager to report my dissatisfaction but I doubt that h

  • I ordered £1280 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th February 2017

FEEL ROBBED!! Do not buy any travel money from your local branch!! Rate was advertised at a lot higher than I got! I exchanged £420 and got £450 euros rate of 1.07 when I said I thought that seemed not a good deal the counter assistant explained if I had changed £500 I would have got a better deal but it was now too late to go back on the transaction and there was nothing he could do ! I not only would have got a better rate at the airport but at the cash point when away too !! I will not be going to the post office again!!!

  • I ordered £420 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd February 2017

I would like to apologise to Sainsbury's for making the mistake of using the Post Office on this (the last) ocassion I will avail myself of its counter currency services. Usually I book online with Sainsbury's which invariably has a better rate than any other high street supplier. This time I happened to be in town and was sucked in by the seemingly better rate than M&S, so decided to go with it to save me doing it online as I was not planning a supermarket shop soon. I made the mistake of not reading the small print on the Post Office's electronic rate sign at the counter. To get those rates you have to exchanging over £1000 otherwise the rate is worse. I suspect few people exhange over £1000, so the headline rate on the board is only a 'tease'. BEWARE. (As if they weren't making enough money on the spread between buying and selling rates, the want to nickle and dime you for even more. Anyway, if you are looking for a beter rate, book online via Sainsbury's and if you have a Nectar card you even get a slightly better rate.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd February 2017

I only wanted £50 of Euros so couldn't take advantage of online ordering (message kept coming up 'minimum of £400'). I visited local branch where a poster on the counter showed the exchange rate to be 1.11, however when I checked my receipt later at home, I'd only got 1.06. I'm aware of the differences between online rates and counter rates, but to have a difference like that whilst standing under a poster advertising todays rate is unbelievable. I am still awaiting a response from Post Office Customer Relations about this and will be paying an inconvenient second trip to the branch today for an explanation.

  • I ordered £50 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th November 2016

Paid £507 for 2500 malaysian ringgits, forgot to take them on holiday (left them on kitchen table) offered £387 to buy them back. Absolutely disgusted, total rip off

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Malaysian Ringgits
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th November 2016

Ordered Egypt pounds online and telephoned the customer service team to check that there was not any issues due to the high rate. This was checked for me and the currency rate was confirmed and checked to make sure it was in stock. It arrived on a Saturday but was due till Monday.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Egyptian Pounds
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th November 2016

Under NO circumstances whatsoever carry out any buy back transactions on foreign currency exchange at the Post Office. Their buy back rate is nothing short of scandalous and a total rip off. They have the worse rates going - even Debenhams is better! On 500 euros, I only received £370 and did not realise until the transaction had gone through. Eventually, I got through to the customer services at the Post Office who took up my complaint but everyone else I spoke with were not interested and tried to fob me off, telling me there was nothing they could do. To give an example, I bought the Euros for £0.84 but had to pay £1.35 to exchange them into Sterling. Scandalous, absolutely scandalous. I feel as if I have been mugged. Modern day highway robbery. Beware.

  • I sold 500 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th November 2016

I purchased €80 from my local post office a month ago and was charged almost £80 for it. When I expressed horror at the counter, the guy assured me it was a better rate than I would get at the airport. so I made the purchase. not only did I discover that virtually all money exchangers were giving a far better rate than this, but the post office itself were advertising a much better one on their website. however, since making an official complaint, I have been told 'every Travel Money provider sets their own rate'. ie. your local post office can rip you off if they feel like it, though you may be unaware that they do not use the official post office rate advertised on websites. How ridiculous and how sneaky. I will NEVER change money at the post office again. I thought they were the most reliable place to do this, but now I would rather take a chance on a dodgy booth on the high street!!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

10th November 2016

Extremely poor service! Courtesy email about money being delivered to the branch, and actual business hours (not the mickey mouse internet ones, which are inaccurate only by two hours) would be helpful, I was your customer and DID paid for the poor service provided. Will tray not to use, or at least not to let you have any easy currency exchange money. Avoid at any costs!

  • I ordered £400 worth of Egyptian Pounds
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th September 2016

I thought the PO was supposed to offer a decent rate? 1.17 online and got 1.06 at local branch. Will not use again.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st September 2016

I bought a cash card and lived to regret it deeply. The rate was bad enough but the best they could offer so I tried it. It stopped working, failed to record transactions, took a month to cash in and cost £5 for the privilege to release my own funds. NEVER AGAIN!

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

1st September 2016

Have always used PO because it is handy and I am not currency comparison savvy. I am now. I received 317 HUF for my pound sterling which I can now see as worse than awful. One regular customer - and their family - lost for good.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Hungarian Forints
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th August 2016

Have always used post office because I have their credit card so no charges which compensates for slightly lower rates than some others. I always requested next day delivery but last time requested post office pick up. Won't do that again it was far too much hassle with all the checking of documentation,credit card,utility bill,passport etc. Unsure this time as,rates a bit lower than some,still searching rates. Also they gave me mostly large notes which was abit of a pain.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th August 2016

So easy - and a good rate. I have used this service three times. Order online and pick up the next day at the local post office. The rate offered this time is better than Thomas Cook, and to use Thomas Cook would entail a thirty mile round journey.

  • I ordered £2,000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th August 2016

Branch rate is complete rip off. I was give1.05 and the Post Office on line rate is 1.311. Not explained when ordering in branch. Lost 32 euros on £400. Day light robbery! Will not use again.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th August 2016

Panic bought £250 worth of euros from the local post office believing it to be reliable and a trusted institution; WRONG! Got totally shafted. Ended up paying £252 in exchange for €254! Won't be stung a second time. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th August 2016

Excelent service, as anywhere, you get a better price ordering goods and services online rather than the walk-in price. I only had to wait one day for it to be delivered to the PO and then 5 minutes, no hassle collection. Simple and efficient. OK, I could have got €4 more at Debenhams, but the fuel costs alone for the round trip would have been more, never mind the parking and time wasted. If you don't check rates on-line before you buy then don't be surprised if you miss the best rates.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

10th August 2016

I shared the same experience of rushing in to get £300 worth of Euros, thinking that's not a great rate but assuming it was the same everywhere to discover it was a complete rip off. My calculation was that the PO must have made nearly £50 on the transaction! They don't need to earn commission at these rates.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th August 2016

why is it you buy on line ,go to get your money in the north street branch and you have to wait 20 mins to be seen .always easy to buy on line hard to pick up .

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th August 2016

Ordered on line in the morning as offered best rates. Have ordered from different sources on line and been simple both ordering and to collect. Offered choice of Post Offices choice of P/O to choose from. Some listed same day after 11am, others next day. Selected one for same day and paid, printed conirmation etc that was needed. Went to selected branch approx 12pm. Post lady seemed very confused and asked all sorts of questions.Even said could not give as not enough Euros`s. Questions like, Have you paid? When did you pay and even suggested paying again! I explained everything she needed to know to give our Euro`s was clearly explained on the printed confirmation. To cut this review short, in the end and after a queue had gathered behind us somehow found wads of Euro`s and gave us what we had ordered.. Question you are all asking is, Would I use the P/O again? Yes, if they offer the best rate on the day as we all want the best deal. Be prepared and make sure you print the confirmation, have the card you paid on, I/D, persevere and allow that possibly, the P/O cashier may not be familiar with on line ordering and in the end you will be happy.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd August 2016

Good rate shown online - miserable rate in store - also rate not displayed, a dreadful 1.07 compared to 1.15 at Thomas Cook (€) I lost out on 40€ - will not use post office again

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd August 2016

Absolute Rip Off. Very disappointed went for my euros yesterday after looking online at post office rates which was 1.16 only to come away with 1.07. Will wise up next time and not just go the the local post office. I think the post office will be a thing of the past soon will use online delivery services next time.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd August 2016

No issues ordering online. Research had made me aware that you get a better rate when ordering in advance. Money available the next day. No queue in Post Office when collecting and quick process to show ID etc. Very pleased with service.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Hungarian Forints
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th July 2016

exchanged £600 for euro, excange rate in the next village was 1.15 over £500 but I got 1.12 how can there be such a difference when the post offices are only 2miles apart and its the same organisation.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th July 2016

The antiquated system called the Post Office is at the bottom end of the commercial spectrum by enforcing a "let's rip off our customers by providing poor service and terrible Currency rates". 1.170 online and a shocking 1.081 in store. On £400 that's 35€ difference! As long as I can I will resist using this awful place!

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of the Post Office

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
5 Days In Dublin…

5 Days In Dublin…

Posted by James Clark on 26th February 2017

Touch-down in Dublin for five days, you’ve all seen the likes on the Instagram feeds from across the years, but let’s flip the camera around and see what it means to really be in Dublin – work read more

Thinking of Using your Credit Card to Exchange Currency?

Thinking of Using your Credit Card to Exchange Currency?

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 24th February 2017

This is the third of my four part blog post series, where I’ve been looking at different payment methods to exchange currency. In my previous posts, I’ve looked at cash and debit card payments. Toda read more