Compare Holiday Money Logo

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.0 / 5

Based on 406 reviews Write Review

John

13th February 2019

I wish I had read these reviews before I got this rip-off Travel Money Card. Having loaded the card with euros, and the card balance being shown in euros, whenever I used it I was charged the conversion rate again, just as if I was using my sterling based credit card, in conjunction with a very high conversion fee. Complaints to "Customer Service" got me nowhere at all, with calls not returned etc. A very expensive way of taking money abroad!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Judy Williams

12th February 2019

I used my card in the US and it was fine. Now I am going to Norway but can not load the currency. The advice is to load with GBP but there is no option to select GBP. Also, looking on the T&C's, they will charge £2 per month maintenance if the card is not used for 12 months and £5 to cancel.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Robert Edwards

4th February 2019

Terrible, we are about to go on a weeks holiday to Spain and want to take some euros my wife went to a local Post Office she purchased £250 worth of euros and returned with 260 euros, which equates to 1.04, talk about robbery. Will never go there again./

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Rachel

1st February 2019

Terrible experience last year. Somehow our card took a transaction that was certainly not ours. Thank goodness we had another card with us. Certainly not use another card from them.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Mary Roughley

31st January 2019

I haven't used my travel card for a while thought I would check my balance.they have locked my card.i did ring customer service twice each time given different information..my card is still locked so can't use it.i will try my post office but I really don't hold out much luck there, I really don't know what to do now...dreadful company.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • I did not received the notes I requested

ELIZABETH COOPER

26th January 2019

Disappointing. What's this about 2 hour collection for orders of dollars or euros? I unexpectedly needed to travel to Europe and needed cash. I placed an order in the early hours of FRIDAY morning for 2,810 euros (yes, I dumped my travel money card a while ago). I was informed I could not collect the money at either of my two local Post Offices till MONDAY after 11am. I have never previously had this problem. I try to support my local village Post Office and have always had excellent service from both local Post Offices. If I wanted the money before Monday I was able to nominate a Post Office in a nearby town which I did. The sevice at this office was unsatisfactory. The "cashier" seemed surprised and unsure about my online order. The highest value notes available were 20 euro notes. I was told that returning on a later day would not change the fact that they only had 20s and some lower denomination notes. There was nothing the assistant could do about it. I was obliged to accept a large bundle of 192 notes in total. How to undermine confidence in their service! There are other competative companies out there who are also convenient, who also can offer free home delivery. Plus I now also use a "clarity" card recommended on a certain money saving site which has proved very satisfactory for buying goods and payng in restaurants. (Not a good choice however for withdrawing cash). I am disappointed and discouraged from using my local Post Offices in future.

  • I ordered £2497 worth of Euros
  • I did not received the notes I requested

Frank

25th January 2019

How can such an organisation have an atrocious web site. Nothing worked fictitious codes, hidden charges and a total lack information. I purchased the travel insurance but left ordering the currency and travel cards due to the appalling lack of detail and hidden charges.

  • The policy did not cover everything I needed
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Grumpy

24th January 2019

My experience reflects many of the comments made above. Customer service on the telephone is execrable, but the most scandalous defficiency is when you find that the exchange rate for loading the card is so much less than that used for providing cash. You are not informed of this when offered the card. This is not straight business, and I intend to inform the Office of Fair Trading. I am bound to add that I have found the currency collection service at post offices to be perfectly saisfactory.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Angela

23rd January 2019

Dreadful customer service issues. When I bought the card I was told how good it would be, especially as the Travel Money App would be easy to use etc. etc. After many attempts of downloading and uninstalling the App at the request of Customer Services staff I could still not use the App. Eventually after 45 minutes on the phone I was put through to the Tech Team for mobile App. They advised that my Samsung S7 Edge is not compatible with the App, more news is that the Samsung S5 is exactly the same. Total Shambles!!! Why don't the staff promoting the card know this, I feel badly let down and that is before I withdraw any money whilst on holidays. Come on Post Office get it sorted!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Richard

22nd January 2019

The card worked perfectly throughout my Italian holiday. My gripe is concerning exchange rates. If buying cash from the Post Office, the rate for £1000 today is 1.111. If topping up the Travel Card the rate is only 1.083. This rate differential is not made clear in any Post Office documentation.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Patrick

22nd January 2019

Mis-sold the travel money card as I was not made aware before purchasing the card of the £5 account closure fee or the £2 per month account fee (applicable 12 months after the minimum term). When asked about it the person who sold the card to me was not aware of the account closure fee and advised I could close the account over the phone, where I was to be charged the fee. It was eventually waived however I now need to wait 10 working days to receive a letter to allow me to withdraw the remaining money from the account. In addition, the card did not work in a petrol station despite Mastercard being advertised as working there due to the prepaid nature of it. This is not what was promised by the provider.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Eric Loh

29th December 2018

I ordered some euros online to collect at my local post office. When I went to collect, the post office told me they had sold out, even though I had an email telling me to collect my order and they were supposed to keep my order behind. I asked what was I supposed to do and they told me to go to Croydon, which is a terrible journey on a Saturday afternoon. I asked then why did i receive an email saying my order was ready for collection and the incredibly unhelpful "customer service" advisor said "I don't know why you're talking, I told you we don't have any money". I went to Croydon Post office to be told that they couldn't fulfil my order without it being forwarded on the system and that Walkington should not have told me that. I then had to ring customer services who were able to forward the order and confirmed that they should have kept my money behind. The much more helpful advisor on the phone (Daniel) also said he would send a £10 cheque in the post, which will at least pay for my £4 parking and petrol. It doesn't get back my 2 hours on a Saturday afternoon for what was supposed to be a 15 minute errand

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Tucaliuc

27th December 2018

Everywhere i look ,in every reviews site 90% costumers are complaining about this card but people from the post office doesnt seems to care,it looks like they enjoying taking people money and provide a rubbish customer service

Tucaliuc

20th December 2018

The worst costumer service experience ever,after receiveing the card ,i use one of my other card to load it ,imediatlly after i deposit,the card was blocked for no reason beeing unable to use the funds.After talking to them beeing pro.ised that the issue will be resolved next day ,thing wich not received an answer even after ONE Week,after my repeated calls and emails.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Chas

18th December 2018

After I came back from holiday, I just feel how stupid I was to top up the multi-currency card again and again when I was abroad. The rate was so high and it just ate my money. I will buy currency next time from another company.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

MH

18th December 2018

All went well for a few years as I learned how to use the app and juggle multiple currencies. But then an ATM provider in Greece ignored my request to not use the Dynamic Currency Conversion and did it anyway, ultimately costing me around £50 in fees to withdraw EU400. POTMC was of no help or support, just reiterating (unnecessarily) how DCC is a bad thing. I KNOW and I twice said no. So I decided to close the card and go back to my old method of buying currency in cash before a trip abroad...how easy is it to close the account??? Hah, not easy, and there's a fee. Calling customer services is a menu-after-menu, recorded message-after-recorded message ordeal. Rip off. Never again.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

David

12th December 2018

The card is fine but the new app won't let you check your balance unless you put in a security code on your phone which I won't do. I just tried to check my balance on my computor and am told I'm either putting the wrong password in or the card doesn't exist. Luckily I write down my transactions so I know how much I have on my card. I won't be using again once my balance is cleared.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Fiona

2nd December 2018

Having been forced to use the new app, I found myself in Spain with no means to top up and no way of checking my balance, and no help online. I managed to speak to a real person tonight who gave me a new access code (as the one I have had for years was no longer correct) but seemingly i was confused and unable to distinguish between the various numbers, but this still did not work. Anyway I will now be destroying this card, having lost money still on the card and from having had to use my credit card when away and will hopefully find a new, more reliable service. I was happy until I had to use the new app.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Nick

29th November 2018

Been waiting over a week for our travel card and it still hasn’t arrived. Doubt it’s going to arrive in time for our holiday now.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

GEOFFREY

26th November 2018

I got the Travel Money Card because they claim to have low charges. Quite simply, this is a lie. Even though you pay to load the card with euros in my case, and even though balances are shown in euros, when you come to use it, you're charged a conversion rate again, plus a huge transaction fee. Have nothing to do with it, do some research and get a card that genuinely only charges what they say. I wish I had.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

sohail

21st November 2018

PLEASE AVOID VERY BAD I HAD £500 IN LIRA NOT ONCE I GOT TO USE THE CARD EVERYTIME I USED IT IN TURKEY CASH MACHINE IT SAID I HAD WITHRAWN THE MONEY WHEN NO CASH ACTUALLY COME OUT WHEN I CONTACTED POST OFFICE THEY COULDNT DO ANYTHING I LOST ALL MY MONEY

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Unhappy Shopper

21st November 2018

Absolutely dreadful! Terrible exchange rates from app, around €9 per withdrawal to withdraw cash. Was told could take out €450 per day at ATM but this was impossible as they take their fee out of the €450! Got home to find out the app charges my credit card per top up! DO NOT TOUCH THIS CARD!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Amanda Levin

29th October 2018

This is a terrible system and a terrible service. As well as all the charges mentioned on this forum, if you want to redeem your balance after the card has run out - good luck. I've rung customer services now three times and am still waiting to get it sorted, for which I'll have to pay them a fee. To get my own money back. The post office travel money card actually makes high street banks look positively user friendly and efficient.

Nappyboss

26th October 2018

I used the PO for years as their credit card has no fee and the online rates look good. Fell foul when went abroad forgetting to pay the monthly fee (I'm getting old). They sent letters etc. but of course no email (even though you order online) then charged me a substantial fee for my trouble. Fair dos. On top of that they screw your credit rating. I am too old to bother with credit ratings and only wanted a credit card to save money, not to lend. The silver lining is that this obliged me to explore other avenues and there are far far better rates availble online with the cash delivered by royal mail. From other comments here looks like the PO goes in for sharp practice these days, not the cuddly organisation it once was.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Polish Zloty
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

John Rawcliffe

26th October 2018

Shocking,charged 76 euros for drawing out 500,lots of hidden charges.Do not use.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Post Office

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Sun and romance

Posted by Sam Stone on 15th February 2019

The climate in the UK in February is not ideal for romance, but there are a few destinations reachable within a few hours which are perfect for declaring your love in the sun. What are the options? With... read more

Travel money: Home or work delivery?

Posted by Graham Morley on 12th February 2019

Thanks to websites like Compare Holiday Money the UK has a booming travel money home delivery market. By offering foreign exchange companies the chance to advertise to a very large market means that as... read more

Donating leftover currency to charity

Have you ever been on a flight and they come down the aisles with a big bag  to collect your small change or unwanted currency for charity? Or you may have been on a flight and been offered ... read more

Mica McNeill bobsleigh team World Cup update

Alongside the main sponsor DHL, Compare Holiday Money is pleased to continue our sponsorship of Mica McNeill’s bobsleigh team which began with their amazing journey to the Olympics last year. They have b... read more

Half-term family ski tips

With so much snow falling recently, Austria seems to be the ideal half term destination for a family ski adventure. But there are a few more alternatives that might be worth exploring to make your money... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2019 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.