Post Office reviews

The Post Office are rated Poor in 489 reviews

https://www.postoffice.co.uk/

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. If you order more than £1000 of currency you will get an even better enhanced rate. The Post Office have a currency refund guarantee if your holiday is cancelled. Full terms and conditions available on the Post Office Travel Money website.

Last reviewed 3 weeks ago

22% of reviews are positive

Replies to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 87 reviews are rated 5 stars 18%
Great 21 reviews are rated 4 stars 4%
Average 16 reviews are rated 3 stars 3%
Poor 29 reviews are rated 2 stars 6%
Bad 336 reviews are rated 1 star 69%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarCurrency BuybackPrepaid CardTravel MoneyAustralian dollarsRomanian leuEurosUS dollars
CN

Clive Norton

1 Stars
1 Stars

8 July 2021

Bought travel money

8 July 2021

Click and collect order. Staff in PO had no idea what to do. Handed over passport, bank card, the order number and other ID, but still they refused to hand over my special delivery item. Half an hour later, and two telephone calls, they were none the wiser, then asked for a specimen signature, but refused to allow me to check the contents beforehand! Shambles from start to finish. Tried to complain by phone. Operative refused to put me through to the complaint team and insisted I sent an email to an address which is not available online.

The Post Office replied

Sorry to hear of your experience using this service as it certainly doesn't sound like what we would expect for our travel money customers. We will share this feedback internally

TE

Teresa

1 Stars
1 Stars

23 June 2021

Terrible experience, impossible to get the app .

The Post Office replied

Hi Teresa, thank you for choosing us to purchase your currency and sorry to hear you have had issues with the app. We will share this internally and if you require any further help you can contact 0345 8500 900

SH

S Hodges

1 Stars
1 Stars

25 May 2021

Beware! Post Office advertises exchange rate of $1.39 in their shop window but will only pay $1.35 when you eventually get to the counter. It’s a con.

The Post Office replied

Thanks for choosing us to buy your travel money, we hope you have a pleasant trip. The rate charged at the counter does vary according to the amount you eventually purchase. The advertised rate in the window is based on an assumed purchase amount. We're sorry it hasn't been a good experience for you though. Your experience has been noted, as we're always listening and striving to find ways to improve.

ME

Mike Edwards

1 Stars
1 Stars

31 January 2021

Purchased 2000 Nuevo Sol in February 2020 at cost of £497. Holiday cancelled due to COVID. Exchanged currency back in September 2020 and only received £367. Have since tried unsuccessfully to obtain the difference under Buy Back Guarantee. Failed as the Post Office refuse to accept their own receipts as proof of purchase. Avoid them like the plague. Currently using Financial Ombudsman to obtain redress.

DO

Do

2 Stars
2 Stars

19 August 2020

Staff great, always friendly and helpful. But exchange rate awful. Lost $60 on £700 changed to $861 when afterwards I saw post office website for $921. What's going on? The money was to help destitute friends in Beirut, THANKS!!! Not...

EL

Ellie

1 Stars
1 Stars

10 August 2020

I travelled around Europe for a month with this card and it gets declined all the time even if I have money in the right currency in the card. Very frustrating and embarrassing. It has been declined more than once in every city I’ve been to thank god I’m not on my own as I might have had to miss food that day if I hadn’t had someone with a proper working card. Also when I had HUF (Croatian currency) on my card every time I clicked the balance the money would go down which is really strange meaning for some reason I’m loosing money. It’s very hard to keep track of your money too. It’s not easy to understand. I also had a massive issue in Budapest where I was charged in 2 currencies at one shop. The card said it was declined but actually just charged the wrong currency. I then paid again which it did this time in the correct currency. Meaning I was charged twice!! I did not get the money back as the staff were not very reasonable. Very Disappointed

AN

Andrew

1 Stars
1 Stars

18 July 2020

Bought Euros

18 July 2020

Shocking!! Booked Euros on Friday, picked a post office to collect from on Saturday, arrived at the post office to find it closed!! Sign on front stating closed on Saturday. Apparently it’s an independent one, no excuse!!! Royal Mail need to sort it out.

ML

Mark Lacey

1 Stars
1 Stars

25 March 2020

I put £750 in to a travel card in NZ$. As a result of Coronavirus the trip was cancelled. I transferred the money into Sterling to find there was now £700 left. I then went to an ATM to take cash out but was warned about charges. I went to the post office and they also wanted to charge me. This product is supposed to make it easy to use currency abroad. In fact this product makes it easy for organisations to hold your money to ransom, including the erstwhile trustworthy Post Office. AVOID AVOID AVOID!

BL

Bill Leeds

1 Stars
1 Stars

27 February 2020

Sold 50 Euros

27 February 2020

Was sent 50 Euros as a present and went to post office to exchange it for pounds. Was given £37.04.

Checked the exchange rate when I got home and found it was worth £42.60. Absolute rip off!

Advice - avoid the post office for exchange.

AL

Allison

3 Stars
3 Stars

27 February 2020

Bought a travel card from the post office without much thought of exchange rates just assumed they would be fair. Realised that lower than everywhere else to exchange into euro's, additionally to exchange back to pounds again a much lower rate. Didn't expect the post office to try ripping me off so much. Will exchange, ditch and not return in future.

Write a review of the Post Office

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?