Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.6 / 5

Based on 204 reviews Write Review

29th November 2016

Paid £507 for 2500 malaysian ringgits, forgot to take them on holiday (left them on kitchen table) offered £387 to buy them back. Absolutely disgusted, total rip off

  • I ordered £2500 worth of Malaysian Ringgits
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th November 2016

Ordered Egypt pounds online and telephoned the customer service team to check that there was not any issues due to the high rate. This was checked for me and the currency rate was confirmed and checked to make sure it was in stock. It arrived on a Saturday but was due till Monday.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Egyptian Pounds
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th November 2016

Under NO circumstances whatsoever carry out any buy back transactions on foreign currency exchange at the Post Office. Their buy back rate is nothing short of scandalous and a total rip off. They have the worse rates going - even Debenhams is better! On 500 euros, I only received £370 and did not realise until the transaction had gone through. Eventually, I got through to the customer services at the Post Office who took up my complaint but everyone else I spoke with were not interested and tried to fob me off, telling me there was nothing they could do. To give an example, I bought the Euros for £0.84 but had to pay £1.35 to exchange them into Sterling. Scandalous, absolutely scandalous. I feel as if I have been mugged. Modern day highway robbery. Beware.

  • I sold 500 Euros
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I received the rate quoted
  • Selling was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th November 2016

I purchased €80 from my local post office a month ago and was charged almost £80 for it. When I expressed horror at the counter, the guy assured me it was a better rate than I would get at the airport. so I made the purchase. not only did I discover that virtually all money exchangers were giving a far better rate than this, but the post office itself were advertising a much better one on their website. however, since making an official complaint, I have been told 'every Travel Money provider sets their own rate'. ie. your local post office can rip you off if they feel like it, though you may be unaware that they do not use the official post office rate advertised on websites. How ridiculous and how sneaky. I will NEVER change money at the post office again. I thought they were the most reliable place to do this, but now I would rather take a chance on a dodgy booth on the high street!!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

10th November 2016

Extremely poor service! Courtesy email about money being delivered to the branch, and actual business hours (not the mickey mouse internet ones, which are inaccurate only by two hours) would be helpful, I was your customer and DID paid for the poor service provided. Will tray not to use, or at least not to let you have any easy currency exchange money. Avoid at any costs!

  • I ordered £400 worth of Egyptian Pounds
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th September 2016

I thought the PO was supposed to offer a decent rate? 1.17 online and got 1.06 at local branch. Will not use again.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st September 2016

I bought a cash card and lived to regret it deeply. The rate was bad enough but the best they could offer so I tried it. It stopped working, failed to record transactions, took a month to cash in and cost £5 for the privilege to release my own funds. NEVER AGAIN!

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

1st September 2016

Have always used PO because it is handy and I am not currency comparison savvy. I am now. I received 317 HUF for my pound sterling which I can now see as worse than awful. One regular customer - and their family - lost for good.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Hungarian Forints
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th August 2016

Have always used post office because I have their credit card so no charges which compensates for slightly lower rates than some others. I always requested next day delivery but last time requested post office pick up. Won't do that again it was far too much hassle with all the checking of documentation,credit card,utility bill,passport etc. Unsure this time as,rates a bit lower than some,still searching rates. Also they gave me mostly large notes which was abit of a pain.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th August 2016

So easy - and a good rate. I have used this service three times. Order online and pick up the next day at the local post office. The rate offered this time is better than Thomas Cook, and to use Thomas Cook would entail a thirty mile round journey.

  • I ordered £2,000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th August 2016

Branch rate is complete rip off. I was give1.05 and the Post Office on line rate is 1.311. Not explained when ordering in branch. Lost 32 euros on £400. Day light robbery! Will not use again.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

13th August 2016

Panic bought £250 worth of euros from the local post office believing it to be reliable and a trusted institution; WRONG! Got totally shafted. Ended up paying £252 in exchange for €254! Won't be stung a second time. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th August 2016

Excelent service, as anywhere, you get a better price ordering goods and services online rather than the walk-in price. I only had to wait one day for it to be delivered to the PO and then 5 minutes, no hassle collection. Simple and efficient. OK, I could have got €4 more at Debenhams, but the fuel costs alone for the round trip would have been more, never mind the parking and time wasted. If you don't check rates on-line before you buy then don't be surprised if you miss the best rates.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

10th August 2016

I shared the same experience of rushing in to get £300 worth of Euros, thinking that's not a great rate but assuming it was the same everywhere to discover it was a complete rip off. My calculation was that the PO must have made nearly £50 on the transaction! They don't need to earn commission at these rates.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

4th August 2016

Ordered on line in the morning as offered best rates. Have ordered from different sources on line and been simple both ordering and to collect. Offered choice of Post Offices choice of P/O to choose from. Some listed same day after 11am, others next day. Selected one for same day and paid, printed conirmation etc that was needed. Went to selected branch approx 12pm. Post lady seemed very confused and asked all sorts of questions.Even said could not give as not enough Euros`s. Questions like, Have you paid? When did you pay and even suggested paying again! I explained everything she needed to know to give our Euro`s was clearly explained on the printed confirmation. To cut this review short, in the end and after a queue had gathered behind us somehow found wads of Euro`s and gave us what we had ordered.. Question you are all asking is, Would I use the P/O again? Yes, if they offer the best rate on the day as we all want the best deal. Be prepared and make sure you print the confirmation, have the card you paid on, I/D, persevere and allow that possibly, the P/O cashier may not be familiar with on line ordering and in the end you will be happy.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd August 2016

Good rate shown online - miserable rate in store - also rate not displayed, a dreadful 1.07 compared to 1.15 at Thomas Cook (€) I lost out on 40€ - will not use post office again

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd August 2016

Absolute Rip Off. Very disappointed went for my euros yesterday after looking online at post office rates which was 1.16 only to come away with 1.07. Will wise up next time and not just go the the local post office. I think the post office will be a thing of the past soon will use online delivery services next time.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd August 2016

No issues ordering online. Research had made me aware that you get a better rate when ordering in advance. Money available the next day. No queue in Post Office when collecting and quick process to show ID etc. Very pleased with service.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Hungarian Forints
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th July 2016

exchanged £600 for euro, excange rate in the next village was 1.15 over £500 but I got 1.12 how can there be such a difference when the post offices are only 2miles apart and its the same organisation.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th July 2016

The antiquated system called the Post Office is at the bottom end of the commercial spectrum by enforcing a "let's rip off our customers by providing poor service and terrible Currency rates". 1.170 online and a shocking 1.081 in store. On £400 that's 35€ difference! As long as I can I will resist using this awful place!

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th July 2016

i ordered euros online and went to collect at my nominated post office. when i arrived i had the card i had paid with, photographic id. my bus pass, several other bank cards and forms of id. but no they would not give them to me.ithad to be a passport or photographic driving licence, neither of which i possess. i said "how would i know where to collect them from and bring the card i paid with if they weren't mine but no the guy behind the desk said he would call them and i even heard the person on the other end of the phone say, well why does she want euros if she doesn't have a passport. well you can buy euros as a gift for somebody which i was doing. no, no euros for me. i said well what do i do now, i have paid online with all the money i have and i need the euros for my son and his family for two days time, he said he didn't know and that the order had nothing to do with the post office. i had to borrow money from a friend in order to buy more on the high street and had to wait four days for my money back. i then got a better rate on the high street anyway. the good old dependable post office is dead and buried - along with all common sense.

  • I ordered £711 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th July 2016

A fairly poor rate on line but said we could collect from our local branch in 2 hours. Not true. Had to drive to the next bigger town to be able to collect the same day. Otherwise we phoned the local branch and the rate for euros was 1.06!!!!!! As opposed to 1.145 on line. If you have one or two days max you can get much much better rates elsewhere delivered to the doorstep and ironically via Royal Mail. Not worth using again.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

18th July 2016

Great service in branch - my local branch has special rates so they nearly always match online rates. Not sure why people are getting annoyed at the rates in branch - it doesn't say online that they will be the same in branch! The ladies in branch nearly always have the Euros in stock and if not they will get me them in - in the notes I request. I did order online once, but you don't get a choice of notes, so I prefer the branch.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

16th July 2016

Pre ordered in store to get better rate as advised. Manager left Instructions for someone who had no clue. Didn't even get the rate the manager had written down. Rude staff took nearly 40 mins.

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th June 2016

appalling rates at post office in driffield last week 1.15 prior to brexit even debenhams and many others are 1.21 even after plunge today will never use post office again better rate in crete when i get there

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of the Post Office

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

Posted by Matthew Weston on 9th December 2016

After what has been a year of uncertainty for Britain and the pound, it is slowly making improvements in the markets. With this and the continued decline of the Euro, the exchange rate is looking better for Bri read more

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more