Compare Holiday Money Logo

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.1 / 5

Based on 380 reviews Write Review

Mr very cheesed off

13th October 2018

Warning! If you get one of these cards you will instantly lose 10% of you money the minute you purchase it.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Dave Bailey

13th October 2018

Purchased travel money card prior to travelling for £800. Asked about charges etc before purchasing and was told that the card had no hidden cost. Well guess what total bull. The costs are a rip off, the cards could not be activated using the text option (card did not exist apparently). Once the card was activated eventually using the annoying press for options menu. I then checked the card at the ATM and found that the card was now only worth £720. Not used the card yet and lost £80 already. Spoke to the PO where purchased they really could not explain and clearly did not understand the products they are selling. I was just told the ring the number on the back of the card. When I phoned them they explained the euros purchased remain the same as on day of purchase however due the exchange rates my card value in £s would go up or down. I understand stand rates go up and down but did not expect to lose £80 sterling in 2 days. Plus the costs attached to withdrawals, unused card and closing the account. Mr Post Office is win win, were as a customer it's lose lose. I would not recommend buying a PO travel money card, just get the cash in the currency you want. At least if you get mugged they will ask for you money or you will be able to fight back.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Lauren

10th October 2018

If I could rate zero stars I would. Got a card in branch and activated the card the next day. I got my pin provided over the phone and wrote it down. As I went to use the pin it was fine. Used it again and it was declined due to incorrect pin. I checked my account and it said I had no money in my account which of course very stressful. I had not spent all my money. I checked again a few moments money had appeared in my account again which apprently is the apps fault. So I had no access to my money till I got home so had to use my English card. This was the most pointless stressful option never ever do not use one of these cards it just causes issues. Not to mention you will be charged a fortune to use it for withdrawals so really is the biggest pointless option you could ever choose. Tried to speak to customer service who clearly didn’t care that I racked up a £90 phone bill to try and get help to my money. Awful awful awful.

  • I ordered £1200 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Terry Ross

6th October 2018

Absolute rip off. I bought 60 euros just to try this method of taking spending money abroad. I got a shocking rare of exchange - 1.01. I tried to draw money from an ATM in Lanzarote and the most I could draw was 40 euros. Not enough funds for more than that apparently. Once home from holiday I took the card to the Post Office to withdraw the balance and got the princely sum of £6.60. So it cost me over £58 for 40 euros plus £6.60. What a rip off. Never again. A costly lesson learnt.

  • I ordered £58 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Jane S

5th October 2018

The Post Office Travel Money Card has been a terrible experience. The card and app registered fine but shortly before the end of our holiday the app stopped working. I have been in touch with the Post Office telephone staff and technical team numerous times. They never know what the problem is and say they will get back to me but never do. In the mean time I cannot use the card because I can't see how much is on it, I can't see anything on the app which always says 'Service Unavailable' (since early August and through to Oct). I'm told I have to go to a Post Office to withdraw the funds but I will be charged a fee for doing so (even though it is the PO who can't provide the service promised). I then have to ring again to close the account which they would also charge me for if I don't remove the funds beforehand. This is one of the worst financial products I have ever had. Buck up PO - this is not acceptable.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Robert Patterson

30th September 2018

This is a con, extra charges at atm when taking euros out,,give you a good rate when loading card,but when taking out euros promised they give you a another terrible rat,you will lose about €50 per £500 loaders onto card,stay away

  • I ordered £550 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

ian

27th September 2018

Beware of buying over the Post Office counter as the exchange rate is much poorer that the advertised 'order on line' rate! It cost me £27 extra to buy 400euros!

  • I ordered £4 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Jackie Hivgins

23rd September 2018

Do not get one of these cards! We were encouraged by local post office to get this card as much safer and get a better rate. As we were travelling next day, we loaded €550 onto it there and then. Although information was given to us to read through, we had already purchased so was already too late! Basically we have lost €60 by using this card which has spoiled our holiday.... I would rather have given it away to someone! Twice I rang customer services who kept apologising but it really didn't help with our predicament! I will never do this again and to add insult to injury it apparently costs £5 to close the account and if you don't close it they will charge for not using it! Diabolical!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Patrick

22nd September 2018

Lots of people using the PO Moneycard and not realising it's the banks applying the charges on ATMs but Post Office needs to do more to raise awareness.......When using your card abroad, whether at an ATM or directly with a retailer, your withdrawal or spend amount may be presented in sterling, as well as the local currency (e.g. euros or dollars). If this happens, always opt to withdraw or spend in the local currency. So for example, if you are in Spain, choose euros, in the United States select dollars or in Thailand work in baht. When an ATM or retailer offers you the option to pay in sterling, they are using something known as Dynamic Currency Conversion or DCC. By using DCC, the provider is able to use its own exchange rate to convert the amount of local currency you wish to withdraw into sterling. The screen you see will vary from one ATM or retailer to another, but typically you will be shown a sterling amount for your withdrawal or payment and be asked if you would like to “continue with conversion”, “accept conversion”, “charge my account in GBP”, “withdraw in GBP” or “ withdraw in sterling”. In almost all cases, choosing any of these options will be unfavourable and will cost you money, especially if you have already loaded the local currency on to your Post Office Travel Money Card. You may come across DCC in many countries around the world, but be particularly careful if you are using ATMs in either Spain, Greece, Portugal, Croatia or Thailand. So remember, if you’re using an ATM or spending on your card abroad, always choose to withdraw or spend in the local currency.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Nigel

19th September 2018

Bought my turkish lira at 2oclock thursday afternoon picked which post office i wanted to pick it up from and it was there the next afternoon couldnt fault it and i got a good rate ????

  • I ordered £500 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Joan

18th September 2018

I left it a bit late to order my Hungarian forints for a recent trip, and found the Post Office collection service seemed the best one to use, although I had to buy twice as many as I wanted (minimum £400 worth). I thought the 'commission free' buy-back service would resolve that problem, but was horrified to find that the exchange rate used for the buy-back was about 20% worse than the one used to buy the forints, so it cost me £55 to get less than £200 back. Next time I'll go elsewhere!

  • I sold 85500 Hungarian Forints
  • I received the amount I was quoted
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Lynne

17th September 2018

The currency arrived as arranged and I collected it from the local post office, where staff were very helpful.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Sara

16th September 2018

Very bad customer services me and my other half got a postoffice holiday card when we went to newyork last year which was very good would of given 5 stars then we both kept our left over money on our cards for this year's holiday but a week before going on holiday in July my boyfriend had a phone message on his mobile which was not clear to here but you could make out them saying postoffice card a couple of days later he saw that over £50 been taken off his card so he phoned up and was told 5 atmepts been made to take money this was made in China we never been to China we live in the UK they cancelled his card a sent another one out cause we was going on holiday they also refunded the money back when we got back off holiday he had a claim form in the post it was passed the 10 days so emailed and was told to send it anyway then a few weeks later got another claim for cause they said they didn't receive the last one he sent it again then about a month later they sent a letter saying because he ain't sent the claim form which he sent 2 I can believe 1 going missing in the post but 2 no way they would take the money back off his card which they did he phoned them up to say he had sent the claim form back which he was told they would send another one again he still not received a new claim form or his money back and this was 2 weeks ago RIP OFF I have a card and I would give you 5 stars cause I ain't had a problem but how my other half been treated I wouldnt give you 1 star when ive spent my remaining balance you can stick the card where the sun dont shine.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Mike

14th September 2018

Absolutely disgusted with this card, stay well away. Saw a sale online for Euro's ordering cash they were offering 1.1026 when I tried to order on my travel card the rate had dropped to 1.7 something. Enquired at the post office about this and the staff couldn't understand why this was. So basically you're being charged to top the card up as well as when you withdraw cash at an ATM. I will be cancelling it and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy

Maurice

13th September 2018

Let me start by saying if I could have given less star ratings, I would have. This Post Office card is a rip off and a waste of time. Myself and some friends were going to Cyprus and was told that this would be a good way to save money and time...wrong! When you initially order the PO card with money to go on, you will only get the better rate if the minimum you put on it is £500. any top ups are given at a much lower rate. When you are in europe and need to withdraw any money you will be charged a rate of around €2.95 per transaction plus you are charged another rate (worst than the one the PO gave you when purchasing the card), meaning you end up being charged an exchange rate twice, once when you purchased your money from the Post Office and second every time you withdraw any money abroad. I lost out on nearly £100 of my spending money! Please do not use abroad.

  • I ordered £650 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Kate

3rd September 2018

We were pursuaded to get a travel money card by the post offoce staff when changing euros for our holiday. We found it a challeenge to actually activate the card to start with and then were horrified to find that each cash withdrawl we made incurred an massive charge - €9.50 for €100 euros!! This was very different to the €2 charge quoted in the information booklet sent with the card - ironically under the page titled " a great value travel companion" Would not recommend this card and won't use it again. We also discovered that there is a £2 monthly fee if you have credit left on the card after a certain period.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Geoff Easeman

31st August 2018

Loaded a post office travel money card with euros as I was sold it as being safer than carrying cash. What I was not told that when you use it in an ATM abroad to withdraw cash you will be charged an extortionate amount. For me 8 euros to withdraw 100 euros. When I queried this with the post office they refused to take any responsibility. My advice: use a credit card that doesn’t charge commission for purchases - eg in the UK the Nationwide Select card - and take enough cash to use in places that won’t take cards - eg in Italy most museums - but do not take this post office card as an alternative to cash.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Alberto Martinez

31st August 2018

After having too many problems with the App and then confusion from their staff I decide to transfer back the money back to my account and they charged £21 for next day transfer and it’s been 3 day about 30 phone calls ,and my money is no in the bank and got stuck on holiday with very little money and relying of the mercy of friends back in the UK ????????.Thanks post office !worst ever experience !!!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Wolfy

28th August 2018

Got pushed into having this card by the post office, saying it would be more safer than carrying cash around. But I thought yes it probably would be safer however the exchange rate on this is absolutely terrible I topped up my card in dollars haven't used it yet but will be soon I ended up getting the rest of my money changed into Dollars elsewhere with a better exchange rate I will never bother with this card again. Do not waste your time with this card you'll be better off carrying cash around with you or going elsewhere to find a travel card

  • I ordered £3000.00 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Mark richardson

25th August 2018

I was told I could draw 500 dollars a day with a charge of$2.50 which isn't to bad I thought. This might be the case at a bank cash machine which are very hard to find in Las Vegas, so i haven't used one yet to try this. Most are ATM cash machines which charge you 8 dollars to draw only $300 out????????????.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Kelly

25th August 2018

Worst travel money card I’ve ever used and will never use again. App never worked, charges rubbish and rate. On telling my local post office I was told simply that they never had a issue with it when they had one. Lovely service NOT

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Steve Reilly

24th August 2018

exchange rate advertised on Post Office website 1.85/£1. My wife bought over the counter and was given 1.01 with no receipt. Nothing short of scandalous.I have always seen the post office as the worst site for foreign exchange so steered clear but on this occasion was passing and simply required a top up. Take my advice and check every other site first. I suspect you will always gain more

  • I ordered £110 worth of Euros
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Stephen Bailey

23rd August 2018

With reference to my prevoius review i wish to withdraw/revise my comments made under item 3. My reason for this is that following a phone call I made to the Post Office helpline in order to express my frustraton my case was reviewed by a Supervisor who subsequently advised me that the promotional offer message I received was not as a result of my making a purchase but simply a matter of unfortunate coincidental timing (It was sent out moments after i had made my purchase). In view of the circumstances and as a gesture of goodwill the Supervisor arranged for my account to be credited the difference. Thank you Post Office my faith in you is restored.

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Stephen Bailey

23rd August 2018

Based upon my experiance i would not recommend purchasing a Post Office travel card for the following reasons 1. Exchange rate is lower than Post Office Cash 2. Exchange rate is far lower than BEST rates available elsewhere 3. Immidiatley after I purchased/topped up my card I received a message via my app offering me a so called "SALE" exchange rate that was far higher than any prevoius rate available to me through their website over the previous 10 days. (1.264 from 1.235 a difference in value of over $44). It is my opinion that this message is automaticly generated as soon as you make a purchase in an attempt to encourage you to buy more. Had the rate changed as a result of normal fluctuations in the exchange rate i could accept this but for the Post Office to offer you a higher rate immidiatley after your purchase i consider to be immorale especially for a British Institution such as the Post Office who you would like to think you can trust to treat you with honesty and integrity!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • I would not recommend Post Office to others

Phil

22nd August 2018

My experience was excellent. I telephoned Kirkham post office for £400 worth of Turkish lira they have them in stock so I got in my car and went and collected them no problem what great service. I rate Kirkham post office in Lancashire the best place to get your Turkish lira.

Load More Reviews

Write a review of Post Office

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Fancy a European road trip?

Posted by Sam Stone on 9th October 2018

A road trip is the ultimate way to explore the bewildering beauty of any country. However, after toll charges and rental car fees, petrol costs can be one of the biggest holiday expenses. No one wants... read more

Paying for your Travel Money

Posted by Compare Holiday Money on 8th October 2018

Most UK travel money suppliers allow you to pay for your currency in a number of different ways. The payment method you choose is important because it affects whether or not you pay any extra fees during... read more

How to get better currency rates?

Have you ever bought currency exchange money and think… this is so terrible! Well we’re about to tell you how to get better currency rates and how to not feel like you’ve been ripped... read more

Pawnbrokers and travel money

Pawnbrokers and travel money don’t necessarily fit together on first thoughts, but certainly Ramsdens, H & T Pawnbrokers, Albermarle Bond and The Money Shop are big, well established companies that w... read more

Budget-stretching toll roads

Risking life and limb on foreign high-speed toll roads isn’t the best way to start a relaxing well-earned holiday. It is also an expensive way to burn through your hard-earned budget. In an ideal world, rea... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.