Post Office reviews

447 Reviews Poor | 2.0

The Post Office

https://www.postoffice.co.uk/

Rate sales on selected currencies including euros and US dollars across the summer period. Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free.

Write a review

Caroline Sussex

22 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

22 August 2019

Do not use their card to travel.nothing but problems with card. Requested money back before I travelled. Lie upon lie. You get a poor rate when you add sterling. Staff not helpful.tried to get money back before I went on holiday. Lie after lie. Went on holiday without my money. Kept lieing it will be in my account by the end of day. Customer service rubbish as is standard of service and ruined my holiday.

Eve

22 August 2019

Bought £4 worth of US dollars

22 August 2019

Terrible service.

I ordered US dollars online because the rate was good and selected free collection from my local branch for the next day after 11am.

I go to collect my money around 2pm the next day to just be told that they didn't get their delivery yet so they don't have any dollars. I advised that I've prepaid for this money and also been told it's ready by 11am. I was told to come back the next day.

It's a good job I wasn't flying out anytime soon!

Once again I turn up and the rude young woman at the counter told me the "travel money lady" is on lunch and I'll have to come back in 10mins time.

Fantastic! So I wonder off and do some shopping and coming back 20 mins later to a woman still eating half a sandwich.

She then got my money ready to count out but had to count it out 3 times because she lost count.

My patience is at the end of a tether at this point as this is now the third time I've attempted to get my money and it's turning into a right ordeal!

Lastly I ask to change up 1 of the 20 dollar notes into single 1 dollar notes, which she promptly just said no.

I had to clarify and asked her to confirm that in her till she does not have 20 1 dollar bills? Once again no.

I took my money and left with a great big sigh.

What a huge and unnecessary effort.

There are loads of places out there that do good deals on travel money, so just pick any one of them just not the post office.

Paul

21 August 2019

Bought £400 worth of Euros

21 August 2019

They ripped me off , advertising good rates

Paid in branch thought it wasn’t good

So I check on line

10% worse

And if I would of ordered in line then gone into the same branch I would of got 10% more

Christine groves

18 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

18 August 2019

Loaded £200 onto my travel money card using the app money is now lost. Telephoned them about and was told to phone my bank to get a 6 digit code. My bank said they cannot give me any code so now my £200 is sitting in the post office's bank. I have disputed payment with my bank and hopefully they will get my money back for me. Post office have been fobbing me off with stupid questions that I have already answered and getting nowhere with them. They are a bunch of crooks will never use them again. Considering going to the police as at the end of the day they have fraudulently stolen £200 from me.

Sandy Laird

18 August 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

18 August 2019

We always buy travel cash from the Post Office via their online service. It's worth getting a Post Office Platinum credit card as; 1) you don't pay any non-sterling transaction fee when you use it abroad (except from an ATM) and 2) when you use it to buy foreign currency from the Post Office, there's no additional charge. We've bought a variety of currencies including euros, US, Singapore and NZ dollars, having them delivered to our local Post Office branch (Baker Street Bo'ness). The service is excellent with the cash being available for collection when expected and the branch staff being extremely friendly and professional. I can't imagine going anywhere else for the sake of an extra 50cents! The review from "Ripped Off" above looks like a work of fiction, claiming as it does that the Post Office "exchange rate is 3 euros to the pound less...". With the euro almost being at parity with the pound, that's some drop!!

Traveller

17 August 2019

Bought £1,000 worth of Euros

17 August 2019

Horrendous experience at Roya Mail Post Office exchanging Pounds to Euros. Total rip off and disgusting service and rude. Ordered online - a lot) they then lied and claimed they called us on the phone prior to picking our euros up and when we go there they were not acknowledging our transaction saying we needed to do further security checks and required NEW information - this turned out to be untruthful and kept us waiting on bogus phonecall for half an hour missing our transport home - they then forced us to go through so called 'security checks' asking us personal information over a phone in the middle of a post office with no justification whatsoever - and finally we got our Euros!!!!! at a lowest rip off rate. DO NOT use Royal Mail nothing ''royal about them now' trading on what ''used to be a good service' never again will we be using them) boycott these rip offs all people in UK boycott refuse to let them take your hard earned cash)and make you go throw bogus emabarrasing so called fabricated security checks - there justrying to hang onto YOUR money! IF there was no stars it would be that!!! reporting them to ombudsman.

Allen jenkinson

14 August 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

14 August 2019

Used Post Office several times, never had a problem, better exchange rate on line though.

Dave

7 August 2019

Bought £1,000 worth of Euros

7 August 2019

Greeted by the staff member with "do you want currency?" rather than something more polite. I'd at this point already heard her telling a colleague she was planning to close as she had "lots to do" even though it was half hour before closing time. I then explain that unfortunately I didn't have the reference number as I'd inadvertently mis-typed the e-mail address in when ordering. Was told bluntly that in that case there was nothing she could do. I asked if they could search on address, or the card I'd paid for it on. No. I then explained that I had actually paid for the currency so they could not just keep it so what could I do. Although I had neither raised my voice or sworn, I was told to calm down. So I suggested if she was unable to help perhaps she could give me a phone number of someone who could. Well, would you not know it, I ordered through "online" and that's apparently nothing to do with them. Plus I was kindly reminded that "it's not me who put the wrong e-mail address in". Well many thanks for not only failing to offer any help or potential solution, but for also belittling your customer. An hour later I'm actually still seething and incredulous at the way I was spoken to. Needless to say I shall never set foot in the Folkestone branch of the Post Office again.

Karen B

6 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

6 August 2019

Got a post office travel money card and loaded £50 to start. When away took 50 euros from cash machine and charged 2.50 fee and 2 fee from post office, apparently that’s their fee every time you take cash so beware as not made very clear!

When tried to top up the app was not working and neither was their website for top ups, they have tried to blame my version of phone and not acknowledged their error messages. Left abroad for 3 days without access to funds as didn’t take a debit card with me. Still waiting for outcome of complaint a week after the event. Poor service and not what I would expect, disappointed!!

Adrian

3 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

3 August 2019

Great idea, but rubbish to use. I can't add money to it online because I can't set up an account. I phoned their help-line twice but they can't get me able to log on either, so I have to go to a Post Office to top it up. Then when you go abroad, it doesn't work in lots of places (it just gets declined).

Write a review of the Post Office

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?