Compare Holiday Money Logo

Post Office reviews

Poor 2.3 / 5

Based on 280 reviews Write Review

Charlotte Anstey

Today

Worst exchange rate I have ever had, DO NOT exchange your money with the Post Office. I exchanged £200 into USD and lost out on £20. Just awful.

  • I ordered £200 worth of US Dollars
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Marilyn Pirabakaran

11th January 2018

An amazing and a friendly service, felt so loved. The service was brilliant. I posted a letter and it arrived on time as they said. I would definitely be using the post office again.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Angela

9th January 2018

Appalling exchange rate on £250 worth of US dollars over the counter. I’ll never use the Post Office again for travel money

  • I ordered £250 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Karen J

3rd January 2018

We used the Post Office Travel Money Card for the first time this year. Sold as being safe, easy to use by the staff in the local post office. Although it does tell you in the application form that there will be a nominal fee for each transaction, it doesn't tell you that you then have to pay a mastercard conversion fee. Each time we took money out, it cost us almost £40 in transaction fees. The ridiculous thing being, that the card is loaded in your chosen currency at the currency rate of the day you load money. Yet when you withdraw cash, the card converts the money back to GBP's so you have to pay a conversion fee! On Christmas eve, we had 11,900 Thai Bahts left on the card, we went to withdraw 10,000 Bahts, only to be told we could not have any money as we did not have enough money to pay fee's, meaning the fee's would have been over £45. We then couldn't take a smaller amount as the bank had actually taken off the 10,000 Bahts from the card but did not issue the cash due to fee charges. We called the Post Office from Thailand, to be told they couldn't do anything to help and that the bank would refund the money back to the card within 7 working days. Therefore we had 2 days left of our holiday, over Christmas, with 2 children and no money. It therefore ruined our Christmas and last couple of days on holiday. Do not use, it is a total rip off.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Stu Sharrock

28th December 2017

Horrendous rate. Can’t believe how much they charge. Last time I ever use the post office. JUST DISGRACEFUL

  • I ordered £512 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Patryk

17th December 2017

Daylight robbery. Stay clear or you will get severely punished for being stupid enough and walk in to exchange currency. 388£ =400 euros. Obviously I will never use them and advise anyone doing the same.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Caroline

14th December 2017

Appalling rip off in store cost an extra £23 on 600 Euros. Disgraceful. Do NOT use the Post Office.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Mick

13th December 2017

Only got a rate of 1.04 to£1 bank rate today for the Euro is 1:14 That's what you call a rip off. Go to M+S 1:10

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Sue

11th December 2017

Very poor, I was ripped off by £15 due to awful exchange rate compared to my friend who used Tesco to exchange £250.00 for Czech koruna. Didnt want to order online due to severe weather conditions & might not get koruna's on time. Will never use PO with its rip off rates again.

  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Christopher Terry

9th December 2017

My wife went to the Post Office on the King's Road in London to exchange a small amount of currency (£200) into Euros for a brief trip to Germany. She did so on the basis of finding out online that the Post Office's headline exchange rate is 1.1081 euros to the pound. This turned out to be not quite the truth. She got the rip-off rate of 1.04. I think the better rate only applies to transactions of £400+, which people actually need to explore the Post Office website to discover. This is cheating. Nor is there any justification for this awful rate on the High Street. I shall do my best to deter people from using this Post Office facility.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Gail

7th December 2017

I wish I had read this review site first regarding the rates, as have lost quite a bit transferring between currencies and back. The sales pitch is that you will not be charged for purchase transactions just as if the card was a debit card in the local currency. All of the major bills we paid, hotels, car hire etc. charged a transaction fee similar to if this had been a credit card. After returning home I tried for several days to get a statement and had to phone. I was told the site had faults, so out of action for days. Not being able to easily check a transaction statement throughout your holiday or on return could jeopardise your chances of acting against fraudulent use and is very frustrating. I was advised that as the system wasn't working I would be sent a copy of my statement by email but had to call again two days later (today) as it hadn't arrived. The agent is going to get on to admin. about it. When requesting the statement I also asked for the balance of money in all of my wallets to be transferred to my bank account. Two problems here, they only transferred my sterling so had to remind them at the second phone call to transfer the dollars. Also this transfer takes up to 5 days during which time you have no access to your funds and it should be instant. It isn't clear enough when signing up that the balance of your funds will be out of action for 5 days if you transfer it to another account.

  • I ordered £5000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Jeffery kenny

27th November 2017

The rate stayed in the window was 1 .079 but i paid £514.29 for €540 which is €.1.05 & i paid cash no small notes fives or tens the rate stayed on line this morning was €1.095 ithink a bit of a rip off wont be using the post office again

  • I ordered £540 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Post Office to others

Joe

18th November 2017

Shocking Rate Something needs to be done about this ,Talked into getting a Travel card . The Royal Mail is a right Royal RIP OFF!

  • I would recommend Post Office to others

George

17th November 2017

Awful exchange rates... I am never going to use it again.

    M McLachlan

    15th November 2017

    I am on holiday in Madeira at the moment and out of four shops so far my card has only been accepted in one. Really annoyed as I went on a shopping trip and had to use my friends credit card!!!!!!

      Pat Brickhill

      12th November 2017

      Ripped off with the exchange rate. I believe it was deliberate as I ordered money and when I collected on the day they said it was super low exchange rate

      • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Sarah

      7th November 2017

      I ordered a pre paid card of €1000 which was split between 2 cards as the limit was €700 on one, ok not a big deal. I was then emailed by the post office 2 days before my holiday asking me to provide photo ID so I could use my cards even though I did this at the post office. Apparently having 2 cards isnt the norm ???. Wasn't happy at having this stress just before my hols and I had to actually scan my passport to them what a joke. Wouldn't recommend

      • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Helen

      3rd November 2017

      Rip off exchange rate over the counter at the Post Office, got a much better rate at M&S or couldl have used Thompsons Travel for a better rate. Will never use Post Office again and it has made me think about using Post Office for any other of my business requirements in future and that includes parcels or anything else. HATE GETTING RIPPED OFF

      • I ordered £154 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Martin

      19th October 2017

      Rip off exchange rate. Won't use ever again. Visted the local post office thought I would support the local high street. Still feeling like I have been mugged. The staff said it wasn't a good rate I should have listened to them and gone elsewhere.

      • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Anna Fox

      10th October 2017

      Low rates unhelpful staff at northfield won't but again total rip off

      • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Paul

      9th October 2017

      Thought I would accept a lower exchange rate ( dollars) in order to offset the convenience of picking the currency up from my local post office at my chosen time. When I arrived at the stated date and time the order was not ready and the staff appeared clueless asking me how many dollars I was expecting! Took and age to sort and will not be repeating the experience.

      • I ordered £400 worth of US Dollars
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Paul

      29th September 2017

      Purchased £200 worth of euros and got an exchange approximately 10% less than than travel rate. It seems to get the best rate you have to purchase at least £400 worth of foreign currency. This is not advertised and the staff did not inform us of the extortionate business dealings. Before ordering foreign currency from this establishment check that you are not getting ripped off.

      • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Karen

      22nd September 2017

      Terrible rate over the counter and apparently the rate varies depending on location? ? How can they get away with this rip off Britain once again!

      • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Lee

      21st September 2017

      Awful exchange rate, absolutely disgusting they can get away with paying 10% less than the mid market rate. Utter disgrace of a company !

      • I ordered £100 worth of US Dollars
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Julia Davies

      19th September 2017

      Very poor exchange rate. Couldn't believe it when I had time to work out how poor it was. Luckily didn't buy a large amount but won't use the Post Office again. They used to be better, I am sure.

      • I ordered £155 worth of Euros
      • I would recommend Post Office to others

      Write a review of the Post Office

      Your name

      Your rating

      Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
      1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

      Your review

      Optional questions

      • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
      • How much travel money did you purchase?
        worth of
      • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
      • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
      • How much currency did you sell?
      • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
      • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
      • What currency did you transfer?
        to
      • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
      • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
      • What type of prepaid card did you order?
      • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
      • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No
      • What kind of policy did you purchase?
        policy for
      • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
      • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Post Office to others?Yes No

      Order your travel money online with the Post Office and collect it in any Post Office branch or get it delivered to your door for free. Multiples of 500 GBP attract better exchange rates. The more travel money you buy, the better the rate you will receive. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

      Visit Website

      Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

      Find out more

      Why sign up?

      • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
      • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
      • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
      Winter Olympics 2018 Sports Venues In South Korea Infographic

      Winter Olympics 2018 Sports Venues In South Korea Infographic

      Posted by Graham Morley on 16th January 2018

      If you are travelling to South Korea to see any of the winter Olympic events or even just watching at home, we have put together a little guide to the winter Olympic games locations to compliment the recent art read more

      How To Pack A Carry-On

      How To Pack A Carry-On

      Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 14th January 2018

        Have you ever been in a situation where you want to travel light but as soon as you look into your closet you just wonder how are you going to fit all of that in! Well last time we went to Germany for a read more