Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

RBS reviews

Poor 2.1 / 5

Based on 12 reviews Write Review

William kennedy

31st July 2017

I was a customer of RBS for over 40 years however moved to First Direct as I was too embarassed to be a customer. They are a total disgrace to Scotland and still continue to rip off their clients in every way they can. Lock at everything they offer and you will find them bottom in All departments. How they are allowed to continue beats me.

    MCM

    22nd June 2017

    £500 to RM. RBS best price and easy pick-up. Free delivery which works out better rate when you add delivery rates of other companies when totalled.

    • I ordered £500 worth of Malaysian Ringgits
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend RBS to others

    clive

    4th June 2017

    different rate given from advertised on homepage rip off

    • I ordered £750 worth of Turkish Lira
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I would recommend RBS to others

    Fred Mason

    18th April 2017

    RBS and NATWEST have the worse exchange rate I have ever seen, you can look up and compare exchange sites are these two are always bottom of the pile for rates, I have banked with these banks for over 40yrs but do not get anything for loyalty. They should close down their foreign exchange and stop ripping off customers and concentrate of giving better interest to their customers on their accounts

      Fred Mason

      10th March 2017

      I have been looking at changing 1000 pounds into Euros and have been checking the rates at various sites, RBS are the worse rates around, I am a Nat west cudtomer for over 40yrs, makes no difference, If you like being ripped off then change money at RBS or Nat West....Let those banks go under, it will save us all money and time wasted banking with them, you want to go on Holiday, you approach your bank and given the worse ever rate.....disgusting

        Special Service???

        19th April 2016

        I was "sold" the "no commission foreign exchange rates" as one of the benefits of the Nat West black card that costs me hundreds of pounds a year in charges. Having ordered the money I made the mistake of checking on line only to find that this supposedly premium service isn't even in the top 25 providers! I now have to wait 30 hours for my money and walk past numerous providers on the high street that can find far better rates on the way to the bank tomorrow. Appalling!

          Unhappy Customers

          15th October 2014

          Just been down the local RBS branch to wire-transfer Euros abroad. The quote I received was ridiculous. Compared to actual FX market, the first quote would have ripped me off by 300, upon challenging, they got a "live" quote which was still 200 Sterling away from where the market is trading. Reminds one of "The Sting" with Paul Newman, a movie about horse racing and bucket shops.

          Ray

          1st March 2012

          There is no point writing about your experience down at your local RBS on this site. These reviews should be for the web based service only. You get a better rate of exchange and most currency is held, including Malaysian currency! Instructions are easy to follow. I dont think that the rates are very good compared to other web based currency exchange sites and only give them 3 stars for that reason only.

          Michael Jones

          1st November 2011

          My elderly Father ordered £1000 worth of euros for a week long trip. He couldn\'t go because of ill health. When he went for his euros they had been sent to the wrong branch and when he asked how much it would cost to convert them back to UKP he was told around £100!!! We\'re already bailing the banks out through taxes, no pay rises etc and they still continue to rip the public off.By the way my Father\'s been a RBS customer for over 40 years.

          Shaun nolan

          4th October 2011

          Shame iv bin with RBS for 22 years but can walk in of the street to the post office and get a better rate ?!

          Christine Tulip

          4th May 2011

          Ordered and received 2 days later, RBS were best rate for Turkish Lira in april.

          peter taylor

          6th April 2011

          I tried to order Malaysian Ringits at my high street RBS and was told most firmly that i needed an account with RBS before they would order any currency not in stock. Don't waste your time going there.

          Write a review of RBS

          Your name

          Your rating

          Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
          1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

          Your review

          Optional questions

          • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
          • How much travel money did you purchase?
            worth of
          • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
          • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
          • Would you recommend RBS to others?Yes No
          • How much currency did you sell?
          • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
          • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
          • Would you recommend RBS to others?Yes No
          • What currency did you transfer?
            to
          • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
          • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
          • Would you recommend RBS to others?Yes No
          • What type of prepaid card did you order?
          • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
          • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
          • Would you recommend RBS to others?Yes No
          • What kind of policy did you purchase?
            policy for
          • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
          • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
          • Would you recommend RBS to others?Yes No

          The RBS group is a large international banking and financial services company. From its headquarters in Edinburgh, the Group serves over 30 million customers in the United Kingdom, Europe, the Middle East, the Americas and Asia.

          Visit Website

          Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

          Find out more

          Why sign up?

          • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
          • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
          • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
          Holiday Deals November 2017

          Holiday Deals November 2017

          Posted by Graham Morley on 14th November 2017

          Have you ever visited a Christmas market in Europe? It’s a fantastic experience; a chance to sample a different culture, different sights, wondeful smells from a variety of food sellers and not to mention the read more

          Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

          Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

          Posted by Matthew Weston on 13th November 2017

          It’s been a tough couple of months for the British women’s Bobsleigh and Skeleton team. British Bobsleigh announced it was going to withdraw funding for the team just five months before the Winter read more