Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

RBS reviews

Very Poor 1.9 / 5

Based on 7 reviews Write Review

19th April 2016

I was "sold" the "no commission foreign exchange rates" as one of the benefits of the Nat West black card that costs me hundreds of pounds a year in charges. Having ordered the money I made the mistake of checking on line only to find that this supposedly premium service isn't even in the top 25 providers! I now have to wait 30 hours for my money and walk past numerous providers on the high street that can find far better rates on the way to the bank tomorrow. Appalling!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

15th October 2014

Just been down the local RBS branch to wire-transfer Euros abroad. The quote I received was ridiculous. Compared to actual FX market, the first quote would have ripped me off by 300, upon challenging, they got a "live" quote which was still 200 Sterling away from where the market is trading. Reminds one of "The Sting" with Paul Newman, a movie about horse racing and bucket shops.

1st March 2012

There is no point writing about your experience down at your local RBS on this site. These reviews should be for the web based service only. You get a better rate of exchange and most currency is held, including Malaysian currency! Instructions are easy to follow. I dont think that the rates are very good compared to other web based currency exchange sites and only give them 3 stars for that reason only.

1st November 2011

My elderly Father ordered £1000 worth of euros for a week long trip. He couldn\'t go because of ill health. When he went for his euros they had been sent to the wrong branch and when he asked how much it would cost to convert them back to UKP he was told around £100!!! We\'re already bailing the banks out through taxes, no pay rises etc and they still continue to rip the public off.By the way my Father\'s been a RBS customer for over 40 years.

4th October 2011

Shame iv bin with RBS for 22 years but can walk in of the street to the post office and get a better rate ?!

4th May 2011

Ordered and received 2 days later, RBS were best rate for Turkish Lira in april.

6th April 2011

I tried to order Malaysian Ringits at my high street RBS and was told most firmly that i needed an account with RBS before they would order any currency not in stock. Don't waste your time going there.

Write a review of RBS

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

The RBS group is a large international banking and financial services company. From its headquarters in Edinburgh, the Group serves over 30 million customers in the United Kingdom, Europe, the Middle East, the Americas and Asia.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Pound Stable against the Euro

Pound Stable against the Euro

Posted by Peter Rudin-Burgess on 30th November 2016

For the past two weeks the Pound has been relatively stable against the Euro at around £1 = €1.147 to $1.157. These are still not good rates but the stories we heard about the Pound being at or below parity. read more

Best European City Breaks after the New Year

Best European City Breaks after the New Year

Posted by Matthew Weston on 27th November 2016

  If you were anything like myself you would’ve avoided the internet for most of the weekend to stay away from Black Friday deals. The sales extended more than ever over to the travel industry, with airl read more