Sainsbury's Bank reviews

Sainsbury's Bank are rated Poor in 207 reviews

Nectar members get better exchange rates (excludes travel money card home delivery orders and online reloads). Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of our bureaux in Sainsbury's stores across the UK at no extra cost, or have it delivered to your home with free delivery on orders of £400 and above. Please note, exchange rates will vary depending on whether you buy in store, online or by phone.

  • Last reviewed 3 weeks ago
  • 34% of reviews are positive
  • Replies to reviews
Reviews by rating
Excellent 32.37% of reviews are rated 5 stars 32%
Great 1.45% of reviews are rated 4 stars 1%
Average 2.42% of reviews are rated 3 stars 2%
Poor 7.73% of reviews are rated 2 stars 8%
Bad 56.04% of reviews are rated 1 stars 56%
Reviews by day

Showing reviews 1-15 of 207

PH
Phillip

2 May 2024

Bought Euros

Although originally told I wouldn't be charged for withdrawing money from the cash point,I found that I was charged, also I have been charged a fee for non-use of the card over a certain period which was also not told ,I would avoid the Sainsbury's passport holiday card altogether

PM
Patrick mc donnell

16 April 2024

Ordered a currency card

Went to collect notes,Had a travel money card from a previous transaction asked about adding funds to card ( downloaded and tried to use app, can't use to add funds)told bring it in and will receive online rate,called in two days later to add funds only noticed later given a rate of1.10 not 1.14 went back following day told they could do nothing,sent online complaint still not dealt with! Dreadful service!!!

NI
Nick

4 April 2024

Bought Euros

Awful company for travel cards - DO NOT USE EVER. App is trash, website is trash. Can't even withdraw money. They charge an inactive fee after a year or so. I was on hold for ages just to cancel my card and withdraw my remaining funds because there is no option to do this yourself. GO WITH ANYONE ELSE

JA
Jay

12 March 2024

Ordered a currency card

The app is a total glitchy mess and leaves you stranded unable to carry out simple functions. I’m taking this back to the supermarket and getting cabbages instead - they clearly know nothing about how to operate this kind of service.

BF
B Fox

7 March 2024

Ordered a currency card

Absolutely useless. Always errors topping up the balance using the app. When you phone to make a change you are told it takes 7 days for the change to take affect. -What use is that when you are away and need to use the card!

AN
Anon

5 March 2024

Bought travel money

Ordered a travel card to use in US. Loaded with USD. Payment took from a credit card by error and so charged huge transfer fees. Removed my CC from site and tried to add another but it is not possible via online. Spoke with CS (difficulty understanding each other) and they informed me that you can not do this action online and need to have the App or go into a Sainsburys store. I did not want the app. Having logged in to my account several times on instructions from CS I was then blocked. CS unable to unblock! Nightmare and wished I had read the reviews before ordering. I will transfer the US balance if I can use my card. Avoid totally unreliable and difficult to use.

PA
Pamela

23 February 2024

Bought £314 worth of Euros

I had received a Nectar voucher at Sainsburys, which offered £3 off a travel money purchase costing £300 or more. The small print said the whole transaction must take place at a Sainsburys bureau de change, not online or by telephone. So I went into a Sainsburys and bought 350 euros, but the rate was poor (1.10479 compared with the advertised Nectar rate of over 1.14). I did get the £3 discount so the net rate worked out at 1.1153 which is still not good. (Strangely it appears on the receipt as commission of minus £3!) So my advice is, if you get a voucher offering £3 off travel money at Sainsburys, just bin it.

And 24 hours later there's no sign of the Nectar points which I should have received from the purchase.

JR
Joseph Rogerson

23 February 2024

Ordered a currency card

Tried to top up card while in Croatia but funds wouldn't transfer, tried calling Sainsbury's money for nearly 1 hour, and was told " you will just have to use your visa debit card". Makes you wonder why I got a travel card in the first place!

KJ
Katrina J

10 February 2024

Bought £200 worth of Euros

Almost 3 months ago now, while I was abroad in Italy my Sainsbury’s travel money card was eaten by a ATM machine not only leaving me without a card but also not distributing the cash I was trying to take out leaving me without my €20 plus a €4 charge for the transaction that didn’t happen. I’m not sure if this is because the card is not compatible with certain atms or just doesn’t work as it should abroad. However after this happened I ended up seeing if I was able to use my normal UK hsbc debit card and this worked amazing and wasn’t eaten by a machine and didn’t lose me any money.

Since this stressful trip I’ve been in contact with Sainsbury’s travel money card help team multiple times across these months, emailing multiple times, calling multiple times, even going in store to seek for help, just to get my money back. The first lie I was sold was, if I never got the money from the atm machine, that the money will automatically appear back into my account (this never happened). After this I was told it takes 30 days for a dispute form to go through but it’s been almost 90 days and nothing. I have followed every advice and instruction given to me, filling out the dispute form sending it multiple times, (as I kept being told they haven’t received it, even though over the phone they would contradict this by telling me they can see I’ve sent it multiple times). Leading me on to all the other empty promises I was consistently told: such as “we’ll contact you with an update very soon” (this never happened), “we’ll make this an urgent case” (I’m pretty sure they’ve completely forgotten I even exist. I’m not sure if they’re just ignoring my emails at this rate. But I’ve never received worse customer service in my life. I know €24 isn’t a great deal of money to lose but as my bank I would think it’s their responsibility for their customer to not lose out on their money that we trust to store with them. At this rate I don’t even care, it’s just the principle and I would like to my close account immediately with this bank as I don’t wish to ever rely on this card abroad again.

RI
Richard

8 February 2024

Ordered a currency card

I switched over to a Sainsbury’s travel card , as my previous card company were very limited in the currencies you could use, we took it away with us this year for the first time when we went to Prague, had no issues what so ever, well chuffed with it

MC
mike chapman

17 November 2023

Bought £250 worth of US dollars

ordered 250 dollars for travel who thought sending me 100 and 50 dollar bills was a good idea, virtually impossible to use at location, just thoughtless

KA
Kay

16 November 2023

Ordered a currency card

Sainsburys travel money card always declining despite having enough funds on the card .. absolutely disgusting when you are relying on it

II
Instore is very bad rate

15 November 2023

Bought £266 worth of Euros

Exchange rate on line was1.12 online,but the rate instore was 1.08,staff didn’t explain why I am very disappointed I lost about 9£ for 290 euros ☹️☹️☹️ Do not buy Instore

DT
Dan T

13 November 2023

Bought £138 worth of Euros

I bought 150 Euros at a Sainsbury's store currency bureau on Saturday, 11th November. Unfortunately I didn't check the rate online beforehand, which was 1.12 Euro to the Pound. In store I was only offered a paltry 1.08.

My saving grace is that I didn't make a bigger purchase of Euros but frankly still feel short-changed by Sainsbury's. My advice to anyone purchasing foreign currency from Sainsbury's is DO NOT buy currency in store. Only purchase online.

SA
Sam

3 November 2023

Ordered a currency card

Do not use this travel card card or service, so temperamental. Sometimes it works, others it just refuses. We’ve now been abroad 5 times using this and the card hasn’t worked 3 out of those 5. Customer service have no idea what they’re doing either and just blame your bank for blocking it, despite us trying on multiple debit and credit cards to top up… Then when you contact your bank and make sure everything is ok and the transaction isn’t blocked, Sainsbury’s say you’ve ran out of attempts to top it up!! Won’t be making the mistake and using again.

Sainsbury's Bank

Write a review of Sainsbury's Bank

Rate your experience

Click or tap a star to rate

Write your review

0 / 4000

What product or service are you reviewing?