Sainsbury's Bank reviews

Sainsbury's Bank are rated Average in 176 reviews

https://www.sainsburysbank.co.uk/

Nectar members get better exchange rates (excludes travel money card home delivery orders and online reloads). Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of our bureaux in Sainsbury's stores across the UK at no extra cost, or have it delivered to your home with free delivery on orders over £500. Please note, exchange rates will vary depending on whether you buy in store, online or by phone.

Last reviewed 2 months ago

39% of reviews are positive

Does not reply to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 66 reviews are rated 5 stars 38%
Great 2 reviews are rated 4 stars 1%
Average 4 reviews are rated 3 stars 2%
Poor 11 reviews are rated 2 stars 6%
Bad 93 reviews are rated 1 star 53%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarPrepaid CardTravel InsuranceTravel MoneyEurosTurkish liraAustralian dollars
LW

Leslie Wright

1 Stars
1 Stars

3 May 2022

Website is rubbish. Asks for Nectar number twice then doesn’t accept it. Won’t take payment. Doesn’t always list stores for pick up. Gave up in the end

HO

Howard

1 Stars
1 Stars

14 February 2022

Sainsburys travel passport.

Complete joke. Ordered £500 of euros for delivery following day. After paying, it said 5 to 8 days delivery time. Received no confirmation emails from them. Phoned up to see what was happening. Call centre is in Malaysia and they had no clue about my order. Eventually they offered to 'cash out" my euro balance and refund to my bank account at loss of £55 to me. My advice is DO NOT BOTHER with Sainsburys Travel Passport. It seems to be some sort of scam.

CL

Carole Lockwood

1 Stars
1 Stars

24 November 2021

Put £300 on the card but lost £100 of it through non-usage charges! What a rip-off! Never again.

JH

Joe H

2 Stars
2 Stars

12 November 2021

The card has worked fine for me when abroad so no complaints however the app is unreliable and so is the website - both difficult to access on occasions. Wasn't aware of the changes pointed out by others so maybe time for a change.

MG

Michael G

2 Stars
2 Stars

6 September 2021

In Spain with Sainsbury’s cash passport card.

Tried several ATMs two days ago and cancelled transaction due to hefty fees from individual banks.

Although not received any cash two ( cancelled) transactions are showing‘ pending’ on my account.

Called customer services and have been informed that the money that has been deducted will probably show in my account in one week.

Probably?

I never took the money so it should never have been taken out of my account in the first place.

My part to play? Thinking I was doing the right now hing and choosing Sainsbury’s cash passport.

My advice - do your research and plan carefully.

DM

Donna McCausland

1 Stars
1 Stars

12 August 2021

Took out this card and loaded cash for a holiday I was unable to go on due to covid. Have been unable to use the card in the last 18 months due to travel restrictions and found that a monthly fee has been taken from my account. I tried to cash out at my local Sainburys to be told I could only have Sterling and not euros. This is very poor customer service. I rang the helpline on the back of the card, totally useless and unable to hear half of what she said. This is a scam of a card.

RO

Roxana

1 Stars
1 Stars

27 March 2021

I am sorry, i rarely do this but this is appalling. Charging people a non usage fee during covid times is just wrong. If you withdraw money, there is a charge. If you transfer there is a charge. I will gladly change my review if you put in the minimum effort in to fix this for your customers.

OE

Oliver Evans

1 Stars
1 Stars

18 February 2021

Do not purchase this card. Rarely works at ATMs, does not allow online purchases, gives poor conversion rates, and to top it all off charges £6 to withdraw your remaining balance. A complete waste of time!

CA

Chris Adams

1 Stars
1 Stars

10 November 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

10 November 2020

Avoid this card or cash out if you already have one. We've cancelled 3 holidays this year because of Covid 19 & forgot about the card loaded with Euros. It's cost us a charge each month for inactivity. We tried to cash out at an ATM but the card was rejected even though the requested amount was less than the displayed balance. A prolonged phone call to 'card services' eventually resulted in a bank transfer of the 'full' balance in GBP but no refund of charges. We were

assured that there were no charges for cashing out but the amount received was approx £6 less than calculated using the published daily exchange rate. Coincidentally, Sainsbury Bank usual rate for cashing out is £6. This can be done FREE at Sainsbury Travel Money bureau....... but they are all closed !

Appalling customer service, especially when so many other businesses are making extra efforts to help people in these difficult times.

JA

Jim Atwell

1 Stars
1 Stars

29 October 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

29 October 2020

Did not realise that after a period of no transactions , they start eroding your money with monthly fees . After 5 months of them ,basically, stealing my money I went to atm and the balance was £106.37 , so I withdrew £100 leaving balance of £6.37 , went into store to spend the balance but transaction was rejected. Went back to atm and balance was zero . Yes they had stolen the £6.37 . Never again . Avoid .

Write a review of Sainsbury's Bank

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?