Sainsburys reviews

148 Reviews Poor | 2.9

Sainsburys

http://www.sainsburys.co.uk/

Nectar card holders get better exchange rates online and can collect Nectar points on every order. Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 250 Sainsbury's Bank in-store Travel Money bureaux at no extra cost, or have it delivered to your home with free delivery on orders over £500.

Write a review

Angela

26 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

26 September 2019

Horrific experience. They refused me access to my funds when on holiday. Informed me they'd refund 10 days AFTER I returned. They blamed a bank for taking the funds without authorisation and told me to fix it if I wanted my funds back. Further investigation proved it was actually them who had unlawfully withheld my funds leaving me and my family vulnerable in a foreign country spoiling our holiday. My husband and son are both disabled but they didn't care. Despite proving they were at fault, they failed to release my funds until AFTER I returned from holiday. Dispicable!

Jazz12

12 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

12 September 2019

I was charged £4 for topping up my cash passport card only to find that you can’t choose Croatian Kuna. When I telephoned customer service they told me that it wouldn’t be a problem and to just use my card as usual in Croatia which wouldn’t incur charges. However every time I used the card I was charged further fees to convert £ to Kuna. £15 in total!! I’m cancelling the card

Lesley Roberts

6 September 2019

Bought £1,000 worth of Euros

6 September 2019

Do not order Euros online from Sainsbury’s travel money unless you want the majority of your money in large notes of 100s and 50s!!! Almost impossible to spend if you are travelling round Europe in a motorhome stopping in small towns and villages. No sympathy from Sainsbury’s who refuse to change it into smaller denominations and won’t let you specify what you want when you order the money. Rubbish service.

Kathy

1 September 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

1 September 2019

Our local sainsburys opened currency kiosk brilliant, ordered online went in next day and got my euros at a good rate such as it is these days, but every little helps. Lovely staff too. They do normally say to order online as it is a better rate and also helps if you have a nectar card.

Jane Kerley

31 August 2019

Bought Turkish lira

31 August 2019

Ordered currency on line and went specially to pick up today as my email instructed. Waited in a long queue for well over half an hour (not good as I am not young)while the single staff member coped with just one transaction at the front of the line. A second member of staff appeared but totally ignored the queue and just shuffled bank notes. Eventually I was served but was then refused my ordered money which I could see in a packet beside her as I didn't have the right identity document. This was despite the fact that I showed the email, the correct debit card and a travel pass with my photo and name on it. Sainsbury's has already taken money from my account. I realise now I should have had my passport but I was not impressed with the slowness of service and uncaring attitude. It was an unpleasant experience and in future I will change money elsewhere.

john leonard

27 August 2019

Bought £2,000 worth of Euros

27 August 2019

ordered £2000 wort of euros they sent me 10 100euro notes plus 10 50 euro note & others up to the value. But it is almost impossible to spend 100 euro notes. tried at sainsbury bank in store to change them they said it was stupid to be sent them but there was nothing they could do. will never use again

ACA

23 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

23 August 2019

I had no complaints about using my Travel Card but I'm really unhappy about the process for cashing out the money that was remaining on it. I was unable to see how to transfer this into my bank account via the internet so I rang customer services who did this on my behalf. On the call the agent failed to inform me that it would take up to 5 working days for it to be credited to my bank account and that there would be a £6.00 charge. If I'd known this I would simply have withdrawn the cash. It's now 6 working days later and the money is still not in my bank account. I'm not impressed- Mastercard have my money and I can't access it. I won't be using Sainsbury's travel card again.

Sainsbury’s Travel Card

22 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

22 August 2019

Loaded money onto my Travel card a week ago whilst on holiday. Money never got loaded onto my card. Numerous complaints later (and they have admitted that they took the money) I still haven’t got the money back. I will never use again

Peter Bailey

18 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

18 August 2019

Normally always very happy with sainsbury’s products not cash passport though!

Does not work in most atm’s

Can’t get a balance at atm’s

Tried to download app that does not work.

When it does eventually work at an atm it cost me 4 euro to withdraw my cash.

Would not bother next

Ginny Combstock

7 August 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

7 August 2019

Always get my Euro's from Sainsbury, never been a problem. It seems it's best to avoid getting their travel card though, going by the reviews it's a huge no no. Those poor people on holiday and having all that hassle. Come on Sainsburys, sort it out as nobody should be out of pocket through your inept system. As for me, I'll just get my Euro's from Sainsbury, in cash as always, without any problem.

Write a review of Sainsburys

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?