Compare Holiday Money Logo

Sainsburys reviews

Good 3.1 / 5

Based on 118 reviews Write Review

Matthew

5th August 2018

Terrible. Initially set up fine and no problems using it abroad... until I needed to reload it. Couldn’t register the card to reload it as the Sainsbury’s cashier had put my details in the system incorrectly. Phoned them up and they needed me to send them utility bills to change the incorrect address. Now stuck facing debit card charges abroad, cheers Sainsburys.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

David

28th July 2018

Topped this card up before holiday fine at local store, got on holiday and just about used the money on the card so decided to top it up and had nothing but problems doing this it kept refusing to top up and it then took the money from our bank but never showed up on the card it’s supposed to easy and quick well it’s been 2 days now and still it has not gone into the card but has debited from my bank account avoid this card as there are better and quicker ones on the market

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Pabs

19th July 2018

Godalming store excellent Ordered online and pu next day. Kiosk open before advertised times, money waiting Excellent customer service from young woman there Would def use again and recommend to others

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Kate

19th July 2018

I am never able to reload online, despite having the correct details. Am forced to telephone and then they offer me a worse rate, and are unable to tell me the online rates or even offer them to me (are they not the same company?!). They are programmed to say a few simple things, and just go round in circles repeating themselves. I have now been left holding, having spent 40 minutes on the phone just this morning alone. Totally frustrated with them.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

m

18th July 2018

currency ordered online for collection at st albans. arrive at 9am, sign says opens 9.15. go for coffee, come back at 9.30 still closed. told "computer not working come back later". no guarantee of opening or apology. I am on holiday tomorrow and the store is a mile form my workplace. thank you sainsburys I got to to work late and now I have to give up my lunch break in the hope that you will be ready to give me my aplready paid for cash. I am furious

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

David Withey

8th July 2018

Deilghted. I was alerted by text that my credit limit was 80% full and reminding me of the consequences should I exceed limit. As I am still in a zero interest period, without trying to be cynical I think Sainsburys bank were surprisingly fair and should be commended for customer service.

Abhishek Chopra

6th July 2018

!!!!Avoid!!!! and if cant definitely avoid the postal delivery!!!!! What a pain i am having to go through 3 days before my travel, forex ordered via Sainsburys Bank, they delivered me $100 short (delta between the actual currency and printed out letter that came with is that the envelope was short x2 $50 notes. Called Sainsbury bank now 4th time and they are having the investigation on! Its like these guys dont care. They have delivered $100 less and I have to call them everytime be on call waiting and the agents once got through had to put me on hold as much longer. Never ever again will go to them!!!!!!!!!

  • I ordered £800 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

F Cunningham

23rd June 2018

Changed our address they refused to change on there system so unable to reload as address didn't match bank address. Total waste of time. Put the phone down on us refused to answer email.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Nikki

21st June 2018

I’ve always ordered my travel money online for next day delivery. This time to my horror I only received half of the euros I was expected to receive. I rang the helpline which they told me I had to wait for an investigation to take place before I would receive my money (Which means my money won’t come in time for my travels). I now have to go to my local post office in the morning to exchange yet more money at a crap exchange rate. Very disappointing Sainsbury’s!

  • I ordered £2200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Trina

11th June 2018

I use Sainsbury's in Scarborough last year & this year & I have no negative views at all,i have picked up in store no problem last year, but this year i got it delivered & again no problems great service & i got nectar rates too ????????x

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Charlotte

10th June 2018

Had a problem registering the card as the shop assistant got my personal details wrong and absolute joke topping up! Have to wait 24hrs between top ups- my fault for not knowing this as I'm sure it will be in the FAQs somewhere but getting through on the phone was a joke- I had to go through a long security procedure to then get a staff member hang up as soon as I tell her what I needed help with. (I was very polite). So had to ring back and do it all again to then be told I had to wait till the evening to top up for the 24hr cap. So had to use bank card all day incurring my bank fees and worse exchange rate. The time came that I could top up and it still didn't work then I couldn't even sign in either. (Tried other phones incase mine had an issue but no luck) phoned them back again and was told the original person had given me the wrong time and I had to wait another 2 hours! I waited and then it STILL didn't work. Phoned again and was told to download the app & register the card then try topping up on there, I asked if I could do it over the phone instead so as not to waste more of my holiday messing about on my phone but they said I had to try the app first!?! Luckily the app worked but only after 2 failed attempts- it actually said 'failed payment' on the 3rd time also but thankfully I logged out and back in again to refresh and saw the added funds were there! We unexpectedly spent it all that evening so ended up having to use our bank cards again for our last day as it hadn't been 24hours. So left with my bank fees with the worse exchange rate also I'm not looking forwards to my phone bill as I called customer services multiple times from my mobile while abroad. Very unhappy customer. Would not recommended unless you want to put more then you need on card when you order it, but then you will get charged to convert it back to your money at the end. Easy to use in Malta and was happy with the exchange rate being a nectar card holder. Some of my payments are still

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

STAN

6th June 2018

Always use Sainsbury and their Nectar tare is always comparable. So handy to pop down the road to collect in store or collect whilst shopping.

  • I ordered £4000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Carl Pell

23rd May 2018

The cash passport is an absolute waste of time DO NOT get this card. Not only did I pay Sainsburys a conversion rate, I paid another rate every time I withdrew money ?? I opted for local currency but it still converts. So you pay twice. Not only that if you stop a transaction the banks in Spain still take the money so you’re funds are then “pending”. Now my funds can’t be spent till the end of out holiday ?? Disgusting

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

les elvin

24th April 2018

3rd time I've used Sainsburys bank & the the service was excellent again. Ordered mid morning & delivered @ 09.50 the next day. Good selection of notes & quite good rate with the Nectar boost..

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Julie

17th April 2018

Easy and hassle free, order in advance for the best rate

  • I ordered £250 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Alison

9th April 2018

Excellent service, easy ordering system, money at local branch when requested, friendly staff upon collection. Rates competative and bonus of getting discount for being nectar card holder. Have been using Sainsbury’s online ordering for 3 years.

  • I ordered £800.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Claire

6th April 2018

Dreadful, it has worked twice, it now doesn't allow me to load, even though the call centre assures me I can! Luckily I have taken a credit card with me too otherwise I would be stuck! It has failed me, Italy, US, Spain..... My advice, don't waste your time with the cash passport!

  • I did not receive the rate I was quoted
  • The transfer was not completed within three working days
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

H

31st March 2018

Could use fine to pay but couldnt top up!!! Fix the app! Pre paid card with 100 euros, to then top up on holiday as needed. Couldnt top up despite numerous tries. Luckily i found some euros in cash and decided to take it with me, glad i did . Otherwise we would have been very screwed!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Graham robertd

30th March 2018

Ordered for next day pick up Leeds Colton store whilst shopping in that store later the same day my email dropped confirming order I called at the desk to check opening times for tomorrow was told if I want to wait 5 mins could collect now very good service well done to the staff member saving me a journey

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

m strong

28th March 2018

Rubbish They do not make it clear that remaining funds on card have to be exchanged back ay sainsburys at a silly rate

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Steve

19th March 2018

Easy to order online and better rate when put in loyalty card number. Good mix of notes and friendly staff.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

GM

16th March 2018

Godalming branch excellent. No waiting, really friendly man behind the glass, good rates.

  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Bea Thompson

19th February 2018

I have always used Sainsbury because of the excellent service,I have never had any complaints.

  • I ordered £510 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Caroline

9th February 2018

Fantastic service and great staff in Sainsbury’s Didcot have used them many times

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Martin Joyner

3rd February 2018

A new travelmoney desk opened in my local Sainsbury's (Hornchurch). Easy to use website. Got a preferential rate with my nectar card. Picked up the currency with no problems. I normally use Travel FX (which are also excellent). But for anybody buying smaller amounts or who can't afford to wait in all day for a delivery I would highly Sainsbury's.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Sainsburys

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No

Nectar card holders get better exchange rates online and can collect Nectar points on every order. Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 240 Sainsbury's Bank in-store Travel Money bureaux, there is a £1.99 admin fee for collection orders below £200. Or get it delivered to your door, with free delivery on orders over £500.

Visit Website

How to take a good Selfie when travelling

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 17th August 2018

How to take a good Selfie when travelling? One great thing about having a companion with you when you travel is that you can get someone to take photos for you, whether it be just generic tourist photos... read more

Asda Travel Money Rates Compared

Posted by Graham Morley on 7th August 2018

Asda, like all the major supermarkets will sell you travel money with your baked beans and fish fingers. So how do Asda travel money rates compare to other brands? We know them and trust them and it’s f... read more

Self-catered holiday vs Hotel

A hotel based inclusive deal can make as much financial sense as a self-catered holiday. So how can you choose between them? For some travellers, there is an obvious choice. Total immersion in hotel life... read more

Is It Worth It To Hire A Car On Your Trips?

This thought probably comes across your mind a lot… “Should I hire a car or should I go with public transport?” Someone who’s got a small budget like me probably would not even... read more

The Falmouth Falcons Quidditch Update: Summer 2018

With the 2017-18 QuidditchUK season coming to a close, all in all it’s been a good year for the Falmouth Falcons, Cornwall’s finest quidditch team. Early success in October at the Highlander Cup in Edi... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.