Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Sainsburys reviews

Good 3.4 / 5

Based on 42 reviews Write Review

23rd March 2017

Served by a lovely lady called Lynn. Bought a Travel Money Card on her advice. Very pleased with the service. She was very knowledgeable and friendly.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

21st March 2017

A good service. Ordered on line and ready for me to collect a day earlier than expected when I was passing by the local store and called in on the off chance. An excellent mix of denominations of notes without my having to request them. Maybe not the very best exchange rate but competetive and convenient and a small bonus by using my Nectar card.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

19th March 2017

Avoid. I received confirmation of the order, and the funds were taken from my account only to turn up to collect and discover - after some 30 mins of waiting - that the order had been cancelled, though without advising me. I'll not be using Sainsbury again. There are plenty of other providers with comparable rates.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th March 2017

Email said I could collect my currency after 3pm. Arrived to find kiosk closed for 30 mins. Why have people take breaks at the exact time Sainsburys tell you to collect it makes no sense and is really poor management. First and last time I will ever use them

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th February 2017

Best service I've ever had and I have been to a few different firms. This was my first time, I shall use them again. Sainsburys, Farlington, Nr Portsmouth.

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th February 2017

I ordered the 1720euro and collect it today at 5:00 in the Sainburys Blackhall store in EH4 Edinburgh. The staff he gave me the euro in the counter window, I collected it than counted all the money and requested him to change some 20euro to 50euro to reduce the quantity. It is so disappointing that he said he can't make the change to me, because I taken the money away from the window and also out of his sign!! What! Excuse me, the money is he gave me, what's that happen? I asked him why you can't change it to me. It terrible reply me that because the money was taken away from my sign and no guarantee the money will be changed to fake notes. I was really upset to reply him that I am standing in front of the counter with CCTV recorded. How can I do it? Why I do it? He suspected me is a theft? It is so shameful. I trusted he gave me the true note, but he suspected I changed back the fake note to him? Finally, I ran away with shame. I was really disappointed the company Sainburys how to provide the training and selection of the staff. It is so messed of the management system

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th February 2017

Tried to buy US dollars from Sainsburys only to be told that my transaction was declined. However, the funds had exited my bank account and absolutely no one was able to give a comprehensible answer as to what happened to my money. Dreadful experience. Get your money elsewhere.

  • I ordered £795 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th February 2017

Sorry, but would discourage anyone from using sainsburys prepaid currency mastercard for a variety of reasons, including: -A non working link when we tried to activiate the card. -Significantly longer time spent at the sainsburys bureau de change waiting for the card agreement to be made up (15 minutes, rather than 5 minutes for getting currency) -Appalling customer service from mastercard. -You'll be charged (£6 in our case) just for the privilege of closing the account down. It's quite clear Mastercard relies on customers to leave travel money dormant in its accounts - this and an all round terrible experience with them means we'll never use them again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd January 2017

I rang my local Sainsbury's branch, spoke to the them and ordered the money over the phone. Having checked the ID I was requested to take, I handed over the £'s Sterling and was given the appropriate number of US Dollars. So simple if you listen to what is expected of you. I SHALL be using Sainsbury's again!

  • I ordered £200 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th January 2017

Online ordered the money no issue at all. Over ordered the money, as I didn't want to use my credit card in Russia Came back, they refused to accept the notes I bought back as they didn't match what image they had on the system. they were ones they had given me. Various email exchanges showed that they have 2 different databases. I was told I had to give them the serial numbers and they would check them in the warehouse, if correct give me the correct money back. So if going to get strange currency from Sainsburys, get them to check the images on the notes are the same as on their database or get less than you need and you won't have this happen to you.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Russian Rubles
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th December 2016

Iturned up to pick up my money and had cleared off on a lunch break so was unable to get cash, was not able to go back till they had gone so asked my mum to pick it up with passport, would not let my mum pick it up and she had to ended up with a worse exchange rate and having to revisit several times to sort it out. Will never use again and annoyed me so much am changing supermarkets.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th October 2016

Have only ever used Sainsburys for on line exchange. Nectar rate is above high street rates and mine was available at my local store (Broadcut Fareham) 1/2 hr before quoted on the day required. The cashier changed down the bigger notes as requested without any trouble. Quick, efficient and a credit to the company thank you. Will certainly use again and will recommend to others.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2016

Placed my order for larger denomination notes about 2 weeks before I was due to fly. The notes never appeared as originally ordered, all low denomination notes so I had to take a large bundle with me.... Requested a call back from a manger, this never happened... They also took my contact number down incorrectly.. No apology offered or did I feel at any stage that they would resolve my query.. Escalated this complaint and requested a call back from their Area Manager, not received... This was my first experience with Sainsbury, would not recommend to others.. I'll be back at The Post Office again next time.. Rubbish, rubbish, rubbish...

  • I ordered £2500 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th October 2016

First time ever ordered on line. Given one rate then when I completed deal and was asked if I had a nectar card number, they recalculated and I got more than originally quoted. Asked for delivery on 14th October, arrived first thing and good selection of different values. Well pleased

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th October 2016

Ordered euros for collection, nobody at kiosk. I called Sainsbury's as I couldn't come back and they agreed to post! They posted for next day delivery. I received dollars! Had to call and they said they would post out correct currency, next day nothing arrived. Called them again and at this point I had 2 days until my holiday. They sent a private courier to deliver my euros but still had to take back dollars. Wouldn't use again

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th September 2016

brought euros in store, very helpful and friendly staff. gave me a selection of notes no big ones.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th September 2016

I ordered my currency and was to collect it today after 2pm. I arrived at 2.30 there was a sign on the Travel kiosk saying the assistant would be back at 2.45, I went back at 2.45 and the sign said 3pm, I found the assistant to complain and he explained he had to change the signs(about rates) on the store door. I went back at 3 it had been changed to 3.15!!!!!!!!! I went to M&S they were wonderful.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Barbados Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th September 2016

ordered currency online and collected same day !

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd August 2016

Went to Exchange in Swansea Store while shopping, good rate, mixed notes. excellent service. Thank you.

  • I ordered £750.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th July 2016

Absolute disaster. I have tried three times to order currency through them and each time it has been rejected with an instruction to speak to my bank. Both are blaming the other but Sainsburys is now sat on over £1000 of my money that I cannot use to buy currency through another vendor. I have been told they have cancelled the transaction but my bank tells me that is not the case. AVOID unless you want to spend your evening making phone calls between your bank and provider (currently on hold for call number 6)

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

18th July 2016

Excellent service arrived on day specified a good rate on line - considering the poor rates offered on the high street. Would recommend to a friend

  • I transferred British Pounds to Portugal
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I received a good exchange rate
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

10th July 2016

I didn't order my Euros in advance I only decided to get them after I completed my shopping in Sainsbury's. The girl who served me was very helpful, polite and efficient. I would definitely get them from Sainsbury's again.

  • I ordered £200.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd July 2016

Ordered euros to collect in store had to wait 25 mins in queue and there was only 1 customer being served the longest I have ever had to wait for pre ordered currency even longer than the post office !!

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th June 2016

I ordered dollars for our trip to Florida. Picked them up from local store. Friendly helpful staff. Good selection of notes. Would use again.

  • I ordered £2500.00 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th June 2016

I ordered euros and received confirmation that they would be delivered by 1pm the following day. I waited in , no euros. I rang to find out where they were to be told they would not be delivered until 3 days later , one day after the holiday began.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Sainsburys

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Sainsbury's Bank offers over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 220 Sainsbury's Bank instore Travel Money bureaux, there is a £1.99 admin fee for collection orders below £100. Or get it delivered to your door, with free delivery on orders over £500. You can purchase your Travel Money with a debit card or Sainsbury's Bank Credit card with no added fee. All other credit cards will be subject to a 1.5% fee (min £4, max £15).

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
What does the future hold for Iceland’s tourism?

What does the future hold for Iceland’s tourism?

Posted by Matthew Weston on 24th March 2017

Iceland have finally relaxed their capital controls put in place after the financial crash. However, the ISK lost 3% of its value in minutes. What does this mean for Tourism this year and for Iceland going forw read more

Giraffe Manor // Across Africa….

Giraffe Manor // Across Africa….

Posted by James Clark on 24th March 2017

East Africa, Kenya.  Africa isn’t the typical attraction for a holiday, but if you’re a lover of animals that aren’t stuck in an enclosure and like to challenge your perceptions, then Giraff read more