Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Sainsburys reviews

Good 3.0 / 5

Based on 75 reviews Write Review

D HOBBS

19th September 2017

GREAT SERVICE USED 4 TIMES ALLWAYS GOOD

  • I ordered £3000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

John Oakley

17th September 2017

Took 30 minutes to set up,in store. Then Inreceived the wrong(lower) rate even though I had put £1500 on the card. Took more time phoning supervisor who had to authorise cash difference as their system wouldn't allow a correction. Tried topping up whilst abroad but forgot password. They sent new password by email but web site wouldn't accept it and locked me out. Don't know if card will work now. Could it be anymore difficult?

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Sammieb121

14th September 2017

I wouldn't use Sainsburys ever again for currency, even if you paid me!! They sold Euros to me at a pretty average rate but their buy back is an absolute rip off!!! The best rate i found elsewhere was £1.11, the worst rate was £1.18. Sainsburys is extortionate at £1.26!!! Go elsewhere if you can and definitely don't use Sainsburys!! Very disappointed :(

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Sandy R

3rd September 2017

Dreadful card for withdrawing cash. Impossible to use at airport ATMs without incurring massive fees. Not clear in info pack about these pitfalls resulting in charges of over 65 EUR to withdraw 400 EUR. Only had EUR loaded on card but told by help desk that the card defaults to GBP unless it is changed. This resulted in EUR being converted first to GBP and then back again tomEUR and then a purse fee. What is this about Sainsbury's? I'm a shareholder and i am ashamed of you! In process of trying to reclaim the charges, and copied the case to the financial ombudsman. DO NOT USE THIS CARD for withdrawing cash at ATMs

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Joanne

22nd August 2017

So annoyed that I got this card, topped up whilst I was in USA still waiting two days later for money to show rang them twice - useless. Still waiting....

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

nigel

22nd August 2017

Terrible , ordered and paid by debit card for 1070 euro to be told I had failed Sainsbury security and yorkshire bank had released funds however Sainsburys would only release funds back after 2-10 days . Then phoned and asked if I could order and collect in store at the agreed rate and pay by chip and pin I was told only at the reduced store rate Great customer service NOT

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Patricia Porter

22nd August 2017

Ordered online midday Monday arrived in the post on Tuesday morning. Really happy with the service, and much better exchange rate than other places I tried. Nice selection of note denominations. Would definitely use again.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Paul

18th August 2017

Amazed at some of these comments, we had two cards , one each opened by myself and one opened by my wife, we put on so much on each card, more than we needed to avoid topping up, and took some cash, no extra charges at all as long as you use common sense where you use it, avoid a corner shop or local chain( thats what the cash is for) and be careful on the type of atm, we had a perfect experience with the cash passports as common sense was used

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

James Bance

13th August 2017

I will never get the multi-currency cash passport again. There are seious failures with the marketing and communication of features. Nowhere in the marketing or online purchase of the card was it revealed that the 'additional card' is not a joint card, but a back-up card. I only learnt this when I went to pick the cards up at the store. So, two adults travelling as a family with three children are not entrusted to each have a card. I contacted the helpline (presumably run by Mastercard) to query this and was told it was not recommended, but that there were 'options' at card registration, to do this. I registered the card, there are no such options. Having put a £1,000 on the card I was very unhappy, so went back to the Sainsbury's in South Ruislip to ask for £500 to be taken off the card, as it clearly doesn't provide the flexibility we were looking for. The final insult from Sainsbury's - the £500 could not be repaid to the card I had used to pay for it, instead I had to have it as cash, for 'anti-money laundering' reasons, which is clearly spurious, as what could be easier to launder than cash? I am disgusted - with Mastercard, but particularly with Sainsbury's, for selling such a badly designed and poorly communicated product.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Sarah Marchant

11th August 2017

I cannot tell you how awful this card is. The card is sold as an easy fix.... no problems easy to load, easy to get help while abroad. None of this has proved to be true. The uploads regularly fail and although they tell you they have failed there is no info on why and what can be done to remedy the failure. We were very specific about the fact that I would top up the card for my son, as I made the first upload. This is not possible. Just do not ever get this product. It introduces you to a world of pain and worry.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

S Hod

4th August 2017

Dreadful in all respects. Online website (or mobile app) is abysmal. Account gets locked out all too frequently - if you can get the card validated in the first place. When resolved, I still can't top-up the card - no indication of what the issue is. To cap it all - there is an Inactivity Fee charged monthly if you don't use the card for 12 months (eg annual holidays?!). Avoid.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Stefanie

2nd August 2017

Ordered online midday Tuesday, arrived in the post on Wednesday morning. Really happy with the service, and much better exchange rate than in store. Nice selection of note denominations.

  • I ordered £1250 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Leslie Hamilton

1st August 2017

The passort card was not very good at all. Charged fees in Spain all the time. I am sure it is another case of mis selling.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Tony Johnson

1st August 2017

Ordered $500 through the website, arrived a little earlier than advised (midday instead of 2pm) to find bureau was closed whilst the staff member was on break. Completely fair, I had arrived early after all. I returned 20 minutes later after doing some shopping and spoke to the colleague about the order, they had a look through their orders for the day and found it for me, completing the transaction at least 90 minutes before they were obligated to do so. Very happy they went out of their way instead of telling me to come back later. One thing I should point out to other people reviewing the store after discussing with the staff member In question - the travel bureaus aren't operated by the same staff as the store so when they need to take breaks (and let's be honest, we ALL want breaks as part of our work day) they have to close the whole bureau down. I can't count the number of times I've been at the kiosk just next to the bureau and heard other customers complaining about staff taking the breaks they're entitled to. Advice? Come in when you need to do some shopping as well, or collect when they wouldn't normally take a break (9-12, 1-5, 6-8).

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Sarah G

21st July 2017

Can't even order money online. kept making me go through the entire form and then at the last minute when it was verifying my card it said I had timed out and was too slow so they had stopped the transaction for my security. I repeated the process 3 more times with the same result - I honestly could not have typed any faster, and I am fast and accurate! It would seem that Sainsbury's just don't want to sell me any Euros!! Come on Sainsbury's get your act together, you are going downhill fast.

  • I ordered £200.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Richard fisher

19th July 2017

Terrible, tried to buy £1000 in euros online, went through the entire process only to have the transaction cancelled at the last minute, no reason given, why bother, plenty of others with websites that work!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

A.

17th July 2017

We have had nothing but hassle with our cash passport. Ordered one and prepaid Euros. Decided to try it out, so converted some back to GBP - we couldn't get it out of a cash point ... at all ... long story short, in the end wanted to just get my money back and close it. Over TWO hours on the phone and a chap who didn't seem to have a clue ... had to keep looking up everything I asked, and then informed me I would be charged £6 to get MY money back and that it would take up to five days. DON'T waste your time people. Good old fashioned cash for us from now on!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

R Card

13th July 2017

My partner got one for our holiday and it has caused nothing but problems. Charges for withdrawals are extortionate, the balance constantly changed - one time telling us we had lost 40 only to increase when we next checked despite adding no additional money - and it never works. We went to pay and was declined despite available funds. Also never use the ATM's to withdraw - the most available cash points yet charge you excessive amounts, far higher than that of what Saintsburys promotes. Overall its unreliable, inconsistent and unfairly and wrongly promoted. Do yourself a favour stick with cash. We wish we did.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Allyson

12th July 2017

Absolutely terrible and biggest mistake I've made getting this card. Customer service is very poor and one agents advice was totally incorrect. Fees charged when I had previously called to query these. I was told I would have a refund. This I STILL waiting for. On hols for over 30 minutes to get through. AVOID THIS CARD.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

John Martin

11th July 2017

Salisbury consistently in the leader board, just got my holiday money quick and easy.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Jack

29th June 2017

Do not use this card!! Thought I would try the cash passport card on recent trip to Ibiza but only loaded £200 (220 Euros) to see how it went. Glad I didn't do more. Every time I withdrew, I was being charged twice when using the commonly seen blue and yellow cash machines marked 'ATM'. 50 Euros cost me 5 Euros 77 plus a 'purse fee' of 3 Euros 19. This is far more than the suggested 5.75% in the welcome leaflet Sainsburys had given me. Telebanco machine charged nothing but I didn't find this out until the end. Of my 220 Euros, I subsequently only managed to withdraw 190, with a loss of 30 Euros even on my small 220 Euro starting point! Be warned, as using this card could cost you a small fortune and even pre-loading here at a good rate is totally worthless with these kind of charges. Don't expect to be able to spend what you load.-Rang Sainsburys and they have sent me a dispute form, but I'm not holding out much hope of any positive outcome regarding my 'loss'

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Helen Littleover

26th June 2017

Excellent service. Reserved Euros online and they were ready the next day. Also bought some Croatian Kuna online - was told they would take a few days but when I went to collect my Euros, theyverecakso ready. Very impressed with service and good rates of exchange - better than Post Office where I normally go. Will use Sainsburys again and would recommend.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Robyn

20th June 2017

I've had the worst experience possible with my cash passport. When I first bought the card with the money on it the lady who served me at my local Sainsbury's couldn't give me any useful information about the service and she didn't know what she was doing or how the card worked, also the information in the leaflets provided did not contain enough information given the lack of knowledge I was provided by the Sainsbury's employee. I loaded €560 onto the card and every time I've taken money out from cash machines it's converted it back to GBP and then back to EU even though when I log in to my account it states my balance in euros. All in all I've lost €75 ish just to withdraw money at free cash points. Furthermore, only one card machine from my whole stay has accepted the card, completely defeating the purpose of the card. I've contacted Sainsbury's to receive a refund but I'm not very optimistic about receiving my money back as they ask for receipts and only 20% of cash machines I've used could give me a receipt. Highly advise anyone to stay away from these cards and stick to cash. As a principle they could be a good service but in reality they simply don't work.

  • I ordered £560 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

sunita

9th June 2017

My money arrived 50 euros down! Then had to call an expensive number for them to "investigate". Go to the store instead

  • I ordered £900 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Richard

8th June 2017

I used a passport card during a recent trip to Spain and had no issues with it all. It was accepted everywhere it was offered and this included some quite rural, remote areas. Putting money on the card was no problem either. In some ways it was quite frightening just how easy it was! Will have no hesitation using it again.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Write a review of Sainsburys

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No

<b>Nectar card holders get better exchange rates online and can collect Nectar points on every order.</b> Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 230 Sainsbury's Bank instore Travel Money bureaux, there is a £1.99 admin fee for collection orders below £100. Or get it delivered to your door, with free delivery on orders over £500. You can purchase your Travel Money with a debit card or Sainsbury's Bank Credit card with no added fee. All other credit cards will be subject to a 1.5% fee (min £4, max £15).

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Posted by Matthew Weston on 24th September 2017

The number of people going self-employed in the creative and business sectors is increasing at a faster rate than ever before. As a journalism student, I was told that nearly everybody in my class will have to read more

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

Posted by Holly Burgess on 23rd September 2017

When planning your travels, the most important thing to decide is where in the world you want to go. But wouldn’t it be great if you could select the specific room you wanted to stay in? Thomas Cook ha read more