Compare Holiday Money Logo

Sainsburys reviews

Good 3.2 / 5

Based on 109 reviews Write Review

Trina

11th June 2018

I use Sainsbury's in Scarborough last year & this year & I have no negative views at all,i have picked up in store no problem last year, but this year i got it delivered & again no problems great service & i got nectar rates too ????????x

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Charlotte

10th June 2018

Had a problem registering the card as the shop assistant got my personal details wrong and absolute joke topping up! Have to wait 24hrs between top ups- my fault for not knowing this as I'm sure it will be in the FAQs somewhere but getting through on the phone was a joke- I had to go through a long security procedure to then get a staff member hang up as soon as I tell her what I needed help with. (I was very polite). So had to ring back and do it all again to then be told I had to wait till the evening to top up for the 24hr cap. So had to use bank card all day incurring my bank fees and worse exchange rate. The time came that I could top up and it still didn't work then I couldn't even sign in either. (Tried other phones incase mine had an issue but no luck) phoned them back again and was told the original person had given me the wrong time and I had to wait another 2 hours! I waited and then it STILL didn't work. Phoned again and was told to download the app & register the card then try topping up on there, I asked if I could do it over the phone instead so as not to waste more of my holiday messing about on my phone but they said I had to try the app first!?! Luckily the app worked but only after 2 failed attempts- it actually said 'failed payment' on the 3rd time also but thankfully I logged out and back in again to refresh and saw the added funds were there! We unexpectedly spent it all that evening so ended up having to use our bank cards again for our last day as it hadn't been 24hours. So left with my bank fees with the worse exchange rate also I'm not looking forwards to my phone bill as I called customer services multiple times from my mobile while abroad. Very unhappy customer. Would not recommended unless you want to put more then you need on card when you order it, but then you will get charged to convert it back to your money at the end. Easy to use in Malta and was happy with the exchange rate being a nectar card holder. Some of my payments are still

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

STAN

6th June 2018

Always use Sainsbury and their Nectar tare is always comparable. So handy to pop down the road to collect in store or collect whilst shopping.

  • I ordered £4000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Carl Pell

23rd May 2018

The cash passport is an absolute waste of time DO NOT get this card. Not only did I pay Sainsburys a conversion rate, I paid another rate every time I withdrew money ?? I opted for local currency but it still converts. So you pay twice. Not only that if you stop a transaction the banks in Spain still take the money so you’re funds are then “pending”. Now my funds can’t be spent till the end of out holiday ?? Disgusting

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

les elvin

24th April 2018

3rd time I've used Sainsburys bank & the the service was excellent again. Ordered mid morning & delivered @ 09.50 the next day. Good selection of notes & quite good rate with the Nectar boost..

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Julie

17th April 2018

Easy and hassle free, order in advance for the best rate

  • I ordered £250 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Alison

9th April 2018

Excellent service, easy ordering system, money at local branch when requested, friendly staff upon collection. Rates competative and bonus of getting discount for being nectar card holder. Have been using Sainsbury’s online ordering for 3 years.

  • I ordered £800.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Claire

6th April 2018

Dreadful, it has worked twice, it now doesn't allow me to load, even though the call centre assures me I can! Luckily I have taken a credit card with me too otherwise I would be stuck! It has failed me, Italy, US, Spain..... My advice, don't waste your time with the cash passport!

  • I received the rate I was quoted
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

H

31st March 2018

Could use fine to pay but couldnt top up!!! Fix the app! Pre paid card with 100 euros, to then top up on holiday as needed. Couldnt top up despite numerous tries. Luckily i found some euros in cash and decided to take it with me, glad i did . Otherwise we would have been very screwed!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Graham robertd

30th March 2018

Ordered for next day pick up Leeds Colton store whilst shopping in that store later the same day my email dropped confirming order I called at the desk to check opening times for tomorrow was told if I want to wait 5 mins could collect now very good service well done to the staff member saving me a journey

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

m strong

28th March 2018

Rubbish They do not make it clear that remaining funds on card have to be exchanged back ay sainsburys at a silly rate

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Steve

19th March 2018

Easy to order online and better rate when put in loyalty card number. Good mix of notes and friendly staff.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

GM

16th March 2018

Godalming branch excellent. No waiting, really friendly man behind the glass, good rates.

  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Bea Thompson

19th February 2018

I have always used Sainsbury because of the excellent service,I have never had any complaints.

  • I ordered £510 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Caroline

9th February 2018

Fantastic service and great staff in Sainsbury’s Didcot have used them many times

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Martin Joyner

3rd February 2018

A new travelmoney desk opened in my local Sainsbury's (Hornchurch). Easy to use website. Got a preferential rate with my nectar card. Picked up the currency with no problems. I normally use Travel FX (which are also excellent). But for anybody buying smaller amounts or who can't afford to wait in all day for a delivery I would highly Sainsbury's.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Trish

26th January 2018

Fantastic service. Started to order online and, as soon as I put in Nectar card number, I got an better rate! Collected $1400 US dollars (all in mixed notes from $5 to $50) quickly and efficiently from my friendly staff member at Hereford store. Will definitely be using again next month (slowly building up my spending money each month). A*

  • I ordered £1400 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Penny A

24th January 2018

Appalling product appalling customer service. Loaded a card up with New Zealand dollars then unable to access account. Called help centre they told me screen shot error message and send to an email address. Did they email response we can’t help you call the line. Cancelled the product and still waiting 7 days later for my refund. Never ever use them. Emails of compliant not responded too. No customer service whatsoever.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Cmb.

20th January 2018

Every time I tried to log onto the account it didn't recognise my password. Long phone calls to reset. Terrible customer service . Closed card account out of frustration. Add insult to injury very bad exchange rate and a £10 charge to process the refund to my bank account. Do not touch this product.

  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Christine Webb

4th January 2018

It was great when first used for Euros. However the website mentioned in the Welcome Booklet gives website for reloading but it does not allow you to log in never mind reload. Help Line suggests another website which is run by Mastercard therefore you do not get the better Nectar exchange rate nor Nectar points. I can go back to the original website though and order a new card and load it with NZ$ and A$ and get a Nectar rate. How many cards do I want or need - is it worth all this hassle - absolutely not.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Misty

23rd December 2017

Getting my euros from Sainsbury bank was so easy, - I rang the number, spoke to Carol, who was very friendly and efficient, and took me through the process, and answered any questions I had - not many, as she anticipated most of them. The next day, my euros were delivered, along with the normal mail, but did need a signature - the package was really bland an anonymous looking, and nobody would have guessed it held cash. I requested a mix of denominations and got a really good mixture, some 5 euro notes, 10, 20 and 50. I will definitely use this service again - and I got a slightly better deal because I have a Nectar card.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Derek Cook

22nd December 2017

I have used the Sainsbury's in branch bank several times for different currencies - Turkish Lira, Mexican Pesos, Euros and always receive an efficient and courteous service. Would recommend to anyone.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Dr K Beach

16th November 2017

What is the point of ordering and paying on line for euros 24 hours before collection and being told the order will be ready for collection from 9.30am the following day. On arrival I queued for 20 mins to be then told the order had not been prepared for collection and to stand and wait whilst they prepared it.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Jean Briggs

11th November 2017

We could nor find any way to find balance banks refused any knowledge. And although we loaded our card with euros we were charged an exchange rate this was in Menorca Spain I reckon our 1600 euros cost us £100 .oo never again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Longshanks

7th November 2017

Ordered £2500 online requested small denominations everything I asked for was there as expected great service from the cashier at the Crayford Sainsburies where I collected my Dollars

  • I ordered £2500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Write a review of Sainsburys

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No

Nectar card holders get better exchange rates online and can collect Nectar points on every order. Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 240 Sainsbury's Bank in-store Travel Money bureaux, there is a £1.99 admin fee for collection orders below £200. Or get it delivered to your door, with free delivery on orders over £500.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

  • A roundup of the latest exchange rates and currency deals
  • Hand-picked special offers on travel and holiday extras
  • Helpful and informative travel blogs written by our in-house team
Russian love-lock fever

Russian love-lock fever

Posted by Sam Stone on 14th June 2018

As a midsummer dream is played out on Russia’s football fields, echoes of Shakespeare’s themes of undying love are evident elsewhere in Moscow’s iron heart. On Luzhkov Bridge, love-lock fever read more

City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

City VS Rural: Which One is Better For You?

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 7th June 2018

Cities or country sides? I don’t know which one you like more but these are what you would notice if you’ve lived in both like myself. But for you all who have lived in only one of them then here ar read more