Compare Holiday Money Logo

Sainsburys reviews

Good 3.0 / 5

Based on 129 reviews Write Review

Kit

15th October 2018

Pick up of the card great , using it great as long as you don't want to charge it up whilst abroad. Tried to do a money transfer which kept failing, was told it was my banks fault but i had already called them and they informed me it was the sainsbury side that was stopping it. The support stuff did not listen to what I was saying and finally told me the address on the account was wrong, considering the address was chosen via postcode I have no idea how this could happened. I was told to mail a utility bill to them once the lady actually understood I was miles away from home and could not go into a store. it would get fixed in 24 hours ,t's still not fixed and I will have to use my normal bank card. I will be cutting this card up, won't be using sainsbury for anything but my food shop in future.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Bob Davis

4th October 2018

Have used next day delivery numerous times now and have always received correct order.Have used top up cards with many companies and had bad experiences so always take cash and credit card specialised for abroad.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Mark Jenks

1st October 2018

RUBBISH always hard work to reload keeps saying payment failed given up with it will spend what I have on the card then close it Webiste is not that good either , impossible to get through on phone just a recorded message blar blar gave up , shame on Sainsburys for such a dreadfull service

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

SIMON DRURY

29th September 2018

I'VE USED THE PICK UP DESK AT MY NEAREST SAINSBURYS IN DERBY CITY CENTRE TWICE IN THE LAST YEAR & I'VE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM, SO I ORDERED & PAID ONLINE & I'VE COLLECTED IT THE NEXT DAY IN CASH WITH NECTOR POINTS INCLUDED & I GOT A PRETTY GOOD RATE, I'M AWAY NEXT MONTH & A LOCAL SAINSBURYS WHICH IS ONLY 5MINS AWAY HAS PUT A TRAVEL MONEY DESK IN THE STORE SO I'M A HAPPY GUY

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Felicity

17th September 2018

Wont do again, Daughter got charged on her account as they said it didnt go through the first time, she called the number on the back of the card who said it was ok she had only been charged once but would have to wait ten days for it to go back on the card. which meant she couldn't spend the dollars on her card on holidays and had to wait until she came home to have it changed back to sterling, so she lost out. It really wasn't worth doing next time I will just take cash and echange when I need or use my credit card

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

KEITH

17th September 2018

EASY-----FAULTLESS----good exchange rate----RECOMMENDED.

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Christine Lord

14th September 2018

So Sainsburys only rounds down to the nearest euro when giving you your currency. So they kept .48 of a Euro on my £158 it doesn’t sound a lot but on all their customers they are sitting well !! This review even asks me if I received all the notes I expected showing it is company policy not to give coins and to retain the customers money To me this is at best unethical

  • I ordered £158 worth of Euros
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

MICHAEL

31st August 2018

As I go to Sainsburys store frequently I thought this would be the easiest option, order currency online and collect in store. Wrong. Decent Euro rate, ordered online, didn't receive a confirming e-mail but had booked a collection day so went to store, no record of my order, was advised to re-order online as I'd get a better rate. Was told if the order had gone through I'd get an e-mail within minutes. So I re-ordered, received no e-mail so assumed it had failed like the first order. So I re-ordered again, this time got an e-mail, went to the store, guess what? 2 orders waiting for me, so my bank account was overdrawn. Store said they would "request" a cancellation of the first order but would be charged £10. 2 days later the money has not been repaid. I then discovered that the e-mail for one of the orders had gone straight to the spam folder, whereas the other one (identical) didn't, thanks Gmail. This has been a complete lash-up and I'll never use Sainsburys for travel money again, especially now I know that they subcontract it to Travelex who are notoriously useless, especially for pre-loadable cards (see other reviews). Avoid.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Stephen

26th August 2018

Used these dozens of times and have had excellent customer service and rates every time. Yes the rates are slightly behind the very best but the nectar points more than make up for it .

  • I ordered £1200.00 worth of Danish Krone
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Peter

24th August 2018

What ever you do don’t waste your time & stress with this. All seemed to easy at the in store exchange. Put cash on & managed to use a number of times. So far so good. Part way through the holiday need to top the card up. Used the app & attempted to transfer about 330€. Error messages kept on coming up unexpected errors , tried again another 4 times similar error message timed out etc. So checked the app no money credited. So out tonight for a meal as the restaurants internet was down had to go and get some cash out. I would have paid using the cash passport. Tried a number of attempts to draw money out of my bank account to no avail. Left with no money, thanks Sainsbury’s! Had to withdraw using credit card extra costs again thanks Sainsbury’s! When return to where we are staying check the cash passport app still the same amount prior to the initial attempt to transfer cash. Check with the bank where there are funds. So ring my bank, confirm that Sainsbury’s have taken this 5 times thus causing my bank account to be frozen. Thanks again Sainsbury’s! The bank where helpful & told me to contact Sainsbury’s. Sainsbury’s had no idea. Couldn’t confirm anything. Explained that I have no money. Said would deal with ASAP. What does that mean? They have left the four of us now with the small amount left on the cash passport. Looks like bread may be in order for the next few days. This is a disgrace. This is all true do not use.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Margaret

24th August 2018

THERES NO AN OPTION FOR NO STARS. Used this card in Australia on holiday. I had used all the money on it and didnt top it up. Then Sainsbury let the car company put over 950 GB pounds on my card and there was NO money on it. Plus they did NOT notify me until over a year later that car company had done this. Then i was called and made to pay the money or i would have been taken to court. I had an insurance with the car hire and could have made them pay if i had known about this it was to late by then. I done everything to sort this out but couldnt by then it was to late. TERRIBLE im now 1000 pounds out of pocket because of them. NEVER WILL I USE THIS CARD AGAIN. I advise you NOT to.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Matthew

5th August 2018

Terrible. Initially set up fine and no problems using it abroad... until I needed to reload it. Couldn’t register the card to reload it as the Sainsbury’s cashier had put my details in the system incorrectly. Phoned them up and they needed me to send them utility bills to change the incorrect address. Now stuck facing debit card charges abroad, cheers Sainsburys.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

David

28th July 2018

Topped this card up before holiday fine at local store, got on holiday and just about used the money on the card so decided to top it up and had nothing but problems doing this it kept refusing to top up and it then took the money from our bank but never showed up on the card it’s supposed to easy and quick well it’s been 2 days now and still it has not gone into the card but has debited from my bank account avoid this card as there are better and quicker ones on the market

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Pabs

19th July 2018

Godalming store excellent Ordered online and pu next day. Kiosk open before advertised times, money waiting Excellent customer service from young woman there Would def use again and recommend to others

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Kate

19th July 2018

I am never able to reload online, despite having the correct details. Am forced to telephone and then they offer me a worse rate, and are unable to tell me the online rates or even offer them to me (are they not the same company?!). They are programmed to say a few simple things, and just go round in circles repeating themselves. I have now been left holding, having spent 40 minutes on the phone just this morning alone. Totally frustrated with them.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

m

18th July 2018

currency ordered online for collection at st albans. arrive at 9am, sign says opens 9.15. go for coffee, come back at 9.30 still closed. told "computer not working come back later". no guarantee of opening or apology. I am on holiday tomorrow and the store is a mile form my workplace. thank you sainsburys I got to to work late and now I have to give up my lunch break in the hope that you will be ready to give me my aplready paid for cash. I am furious

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

David Withey

8th July 2018

Deilghted. I was alerted by text that my credit limit was 80% full and reminding me of the consequences should I exceed limit. As I am still in a zero interest period, without trying to be cynical I think Sainsburys bank were surprisingly fair and should be commended for customer service.

Abhishek Chopra

6th July 2018

!!!!Avoid!!!! and if cant definitely avoid the postal delivery!!!!! What a pain i am having to go through 3 days before my travel, forex ordered via Sainsburys Bank, they delivered me $100 short (delta between the actual currency and printed out letter that came with is that the envelope was short x2 $50 notes. Called Sainsbury bank now 4th time and they are having the investigation on! Its like these guys dont care. They have delivered $100 less and I have to call them everytime be on call waiting and the agents once got through had to put me on hold as much longer. Never ever again will go to them!!!!!!!!!

  • I ordered £800 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

F Cunningham

23rd June 2018

Changed our address they refused to change on there system so unable to reload as address didn't match bank address. Total waste of time. Put the phone down on us refused to answer email.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Nikki

21st June 2018

I’ve always ordered my travel money online for next day delivery. This time to my horror I only received half of the euros I was expected to receive. I rang the helpline which they told me I had to wait for an investigation to take place before I would receive my money (Which means my money won’t come in time for my travels). I now have to go to my local post office in the morning to exchange yet more money at a crap exchange rate. Very disappointing Sainsbury’s!

  • I ordered £2200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

Trina

11th June 2018

I use Sainsbury's in Scarborough last year & this year & I have no negative views at all,i have picked up in store no problem last year, but this year i got it delivered & again no problems great service & i got nectar rates too ????????x

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Charlotte

10th June 2018

Had a problem registering the card as the shop assistant got my personal details wrong and absolute joke topping up! Have to wait 24hrs between top ups- my fault for not knowing this as I'm sure it will be in the FAQs somewhere but getting through on the phone was a joke- I had to go through a long security procedure to then get a staff member hang up as soon as I tell her what I needed help with. (I was very polite). So had to ring back and do it all again to then be told I had to wait till the evening to top up for the 24hr cap. So had to use bank card all day incurring my bank fees and worse exchange rate. The time came that I could top up and it still didn't work then I couldn't even sign in either. (Tried other phones incase mine had an issue but no luck) phoned them back again and was told the original person had given me the wrong time and I had to wait another 2 hours! I waited and then it STILL didn't work. Phoned again and was told to download the app & register the card then try topping up on there, I asked if I could do it over the phone instead so as not to waste more of my holiday messing about on my phone but they said I had to try the app first!?! Luckily the app worked but only after 2 failed attempts- it actually said 'failed payment' on the 3rd time also but thankfully I logged out and back in again to refresh and saw the added funds were there! We unexpectedly spent it all that evening so ended up having to use our bank cards again for our last day as it hadn't been 24hours. So left with my bank fees with the worse exchange rate also I'm not looking forwards to my phone bill as I called customer services multiple times from my mobile while abroad. Very unhappy customer. Would not recommended unless you want to put more then you need on card when you order it, but then you will get charged to convert it back to your money at the end. Easy to use in Malta and was happy with the exchange rate being a nectar card holder. Some of my payments are still

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

STAN

6th June 2018

Always use Sainsbury and their Nectar tare is always comparable. So handy to pop down the road to collect in store or collect whilst shopping.

  • I ordered £4000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Carl Pell

23rd May 2018

The cash passport is an absolute waste of time DO NOT get this card. Not only did I pay Sainsburys a conversion rate, I paid another rate every time I withdrew money ?? I opted for local currency but it still converts. So you pay twice. Not only that if you stop a transaction the banks in Spain still take the money so you’re funds are then “pending”. Now my funds can’t be spent till the end of out holiday ?? Disgusting

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Sainsburys to others

les elvin

24th April 2018

3rd time I've used Sainsburys bank & the the service was excellent again. Ordered mid morning & delivered @ 09.50 the next day. Good selection of notes & quite good rate with the Nectar boost..

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Sainsburys

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No

Nectar card holders get better exchange rates online and can collect Nectar points on every order. Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 250 Sainsbury's Bank in-store Travel Money bureaux at no extra cost, or have it delivered to your home with free delivery on orders over £500.

Visit Website

Fancy a European road trip?

Posted by Sam Stone on 9th October 2018

A road trip is the ultimate way to explore the bewildering beauty of any country. However, after toll charges and rental car fees, petrol costs can be one of the biggest holiday expenses. No one wants... read more

Paying for your Travel Money

Posted by Compare Holiday Money on 8th October 2018

Most UK travel money suppliers allow you to pay for your currency in a number of different ways. The payment method you choose is important because it affects whether or not you pay any extra fees during... read more

How to get better currency rates?

Have you ever bought currency exchange money and think… this is so terrible! Well we’re about to tell you how to get better currency rates and how to not feel like you’ve been ripped... read more

Pawnbrokers and travel money

Pawnbrokers and travel money don’t necessarily fit together on first thoughts, but certainly Ramsdens, H & T Pawnbrokers, Albermarle Bond and The Money Shop are big, well established companies that w... read more

Budget-stretching toll roads

Risking life and limb on foreign high-speed toll roads isn’t the best way to start a relaxing well-earned holiday. It is also an expensive way to burn through your hard-earned budget. In an ideal world, rea... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.