Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Sainsburys reviews

Good 3.3 / 5

Based on 53 reviews Write Review

Robyn

20th June 2017

I've had the worst experience possible with my cash passport. When I first bought the card with the money on it the lady who served me at my local Sainsbury's couldn't give me any useful information about the service and she didn't know what she was doing or how the card worked, also the information in the leaflets provided did not contain enough information given the lack of knowledge I was provided by the Sainsbury's employee. I loaded €560 onto the card and every time I've taken money out from cash machines it's converted it back to GBP and then back to EU even though when I log in to my account it states my balance in euros. All in all I've lost €75 ish just to withdraw money at free cash points. Furthermore, only one card machine from my whole stay has accepted the card, completely defeating the purpose of the card. I've contacted Sainsbury's to receive a refund but I'm not very optimistic about receiving my money back as they ask for receipts and only 20% of cash machines I've used could give me a receipt. Highly advise anyone to stay away from these cards and stick to cash. As a principle they could be a good service but in reality they simply don't work.

  • I ordered £560 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

sunita

9th June 2017

My money arrived 50 euros down! Then had to call an expensive number for them to "investigate". Go to the store instead

  • I ordered £900 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Richard

8th June 2017

I used a passport card during a recent trip to Spain and had no issues with it all. It was accepted everywhere it was offered and this included some quite rural, remote areas. Putting money on the card was no problem either. In some ways it was quite frightening just how easy it was! Will have no hesitation using it again.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Steve

7th June 2017

Do not get sainsburys cash passport card. I had trouble using the app and the website to put money on my card, eventually managed this. Whilst on holiday, I tried the card in 3 different places (2 shops and a restaurant) and it would not work in any, ended up having to use my credit card. I called them whilst on holiday and they informed me they couldnt look into it as they were having system updates so wouldnt have access to the system for 24-48 hours.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Shirley Mayo

27th May 2017

Excellent, ordered by phone, had the online rate plus slightly higher for Nectar card. Chose to have them delivered to my home as no charge if you order over £500. Arrived the next day with a selection of large and small notes. Will certainly use Sainsbury' again.

  • I ordered £600.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

JOHN

24th May 2017

THIS IS THE BEST SERVICE WE HAVE USED. ORDERED MONDAY 2100 HRS( ON LINE )PICKED THEM UP 1500 WED FROM MY LOCAL SAINSBURYS. THE YOUNG LADY COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE HELPFUL. GOT THE BEST RATE WITH NECTER CARD.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Patricia

16th May 2017

I will never do this again! lost the card in with my purse in Spanish cab! 3 pages of questions to sort out, was on phone for over 1/2 hour young lady could not understand that I had only used it twice! hard work! I had to ask for the manager! could not phone to report the loss! did not put correct codes on number 0044 I had to get a safe in apartment as I had my own CC (thank god) plus someone used my travel card to get out Euro's plus got more charges! Wish I just got Euro's in the first place :( never again! waist of time & money!

  • I ordered £200.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

les elvin

26th April 2017

Ordered online 07.00 Monday, delivered 09.30 Tuesday. Excellent service with e-mail confirmation of order & dispatch. Only negative is the £5 delivery wipes out the better Nectar rate.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

frank somerville

24th April 2017

ordered on line and paid, went to collect toolk 15 minutes they took three copys of my driving licence? what with i, theft I am not happy then had to make a phone call, If I order and have it delivered by royal mail all I do is sign?, that was Friday today I go to have bereakfast and am told only one person working then what a suprise the oven is not working so I cant have hot food, Personally I find that hard to believe.Then on the way out I buy a few items and find only one till open in the whole store. customer service at Sainsburys is really bad will not use them again.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Abongo

23rd April 2017

Easy to order delivery or collection option and slightly better rates for nectar card holders, overall great service

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Jennifer Chesterman

21st April 2017

Absolutely fine. Ordered online and picked up as advised after 3 o'clock next day. Given mixture of denominations which was good. The web site provides a variety of Q&A which includes such info. as the Bureau might be closed for short time (as it happens 15 mins. tea break) and that another person cannot collect on your behalf. People should read the information provided then they wouldn't get it wrong! I have subsequently ordered more currency and as a Nectar card holder got a very competitive rate.

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Keith

23rd March 2017

Served by a lovely lady called Lynn. Bought a Travel Money Card on her advice. Very pleased with the service. She was very knowledgeable and friendly.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

John Wardley

21st March 2017

A good service. Ordered on line and ready for me to collect a day earlier than expected when I was passing by the local store and called in on the off chance. An excellent mix of denominations of notes without my having to request them. Maybe not the very best exchange rate but competetive and convenient and a small bonus by using my Nectar card.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

C W Taylor

19th March 2017

Avoid. I received confirmation of the order, and the funds were taken from my account only to turn up to collect and discover - after some 30 mins of waiting - that the order had been cancelled, though without advising me. I'll not be using Sainsbury again. There are plenty of other providers with comparable rates.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

E Seddon

8th March 2017

Email said I could collect my currency after 3pm. Arrived to find kiosk closed for 30 mins. Why have people take breaks at the exact time Sainsburys tell you to collect it makes no sense and is really poor management. First and last time I will ever use them

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Tony

25th February 2017

Best service I've ever had and I have been to a few different firms. This was my first time, I shall use them again. Sainsburys, Farlington, Nr Portsmouth.

  • I ordered £250 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Patrick Sing

9th February 2017

I ordered the 1720euro and collect it today at 5:00 in the Sainburys Blackhall store in EH4 Edinburgh. The staff he gave me the euro in the counter window, I collected it than counted all the money and requested him to change some 20euro to 50euro to reduce the quantity. It is so disappointing that he said he can't make the change to me, because I taken the money away from the window and also out of his sign!! What! Excuse me, the money is he gave me, what's that happen? I asked him why you can't change it to me. It terrible reply me that because the money was taken away from my sign and no guarantee the money will be changed to fake notes. I was really upset to reply him that I am standing in front of the counter with CCTV recorded. How can I do it? Why I do it? He suspected me is a theft? It is so shameful. I trusted he gave me the true note, but he suspected I changed back the fake note to him? Finally, I ran away with shame. I was really disappointed the company Sainburys how to provide the training and selection of the staff. It is so messed of the management system

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Thomas Graff

8th February 2017

Tried to buy US dollars from Sainsburys only to be told that my transaction was declined. However, the funds had exited my bank account and absolutely no one was able to give a comprehensible answer as to what happened to my money. Dreadful experience. Get your money elsewhere.

  • I ordered £795 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Al Terrance

6th February 2017

Sorry, but would discourage anyone from using sainsburys prepaid currency mastercard for a variety of reasons, including: -A non working link when we tried to activiate the card. -Significantly longer time spent at the sainsburys bureau de change waiting for the card agreement to be made up (15 minutes, rather than 5 minutes for getting currency) -Appalling customer service from mastercard. -You'll be charged (£6 in our case) just for the privilege of closing the account down. It's quite clear Mastercard relies on customers to leave travel money dormant in its accounts - this and an all round terrible experience with them means we'll never use them again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Peter

23rd January 2017

I rang my local Sainsbury's branch, spoke to the them and ordered the money over the phone. Having checked the ID I was requested to take, I handed over the £'s Sterling and was given the appropriate number of US Dollars. So simple if you listen to what is expected of you. I SHALL be using Sainsbury's again!

  • I ordered £200 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Hetty Shepherd

9th January 2017

Online ordered the money no issue at all. Over ordered the money, as I didn't want to use my credit card in Russia Came back, they refused to accept the notes I bought back as they didn't match what image they had on the system. they were ones they had given me. Various email exchanges showed that they have 2 different databases. I was told I had to give them the serial numbers and they would check them in the warehouse, if correct give me the correct money back. So if going to get strange currency from Sainsburys, get them to check the images on the notes are the same as on their database or get less than you need and you won't have this happen to you.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Russian Rubles
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Aimee

7th December 2016

Iturned up to pick up my money and had cleared off on a lunch break so was unable to get cash, was not able to go back till they had gone so asked my mum to pick it up with passport, would not let my mum pick it up and she had to ended up with a worse exchange rate and having to revisit several times to sort it out. Will never use again and annoyed me so much am changing supermarkets.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

mike

27th October 2016

Have only ever used Sainsburys for on line exchange. Nectar rate is above high street rates and mine was available at my local store (Broadcut Fareham) 1/2 hr before quoted on the day required. The cashier changed down the bigger notes as requested without any trouble. Quick, efficient and a credit to the company thank you. Will certainly use again and will recommend to others.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Steve Cahill

26th October 2016

Placed my order for larger denomination notes about 2 weeks before I was due to fly. The notes never appeared as originally ordered, all low denomination notes so I had to take a large bundle with me.... Requested a call back from a manger, this never happened... They also took my contact number down incorrectly.. No apology offered or did I feel at any stage that they would resolve my query.. Escalated this complaint and requested a call back from their Area Manager, not received... This was my first experience with Sainsbury, would not recommend to others.. I'll be back at The Post Office again next time.. Rubbish, rubbish, rubbish...

  • I ordered £2500 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Sharon

14th October 2016

First time ever ordered on line. Given one rate then when I completed deal and was asked if I had a nectar card number, they recalculated and I got more than originally quoted. Asked for delivery on 14th October, arrived first thing and good selection of different values. Well pleased

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Sainsburys

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No

Sainsbury's Bank offers over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 220 Sainsbury's Bank instore Travel Money bureaux, there is a £1.99 admin fee for collection orders below £100. Or get it delivered to your door, with free delivery on orders over £500. You can purchase your Travel Money with a debit card or Sainsbury's Bank Credit card with no added fee. All other credit cards will be subject to a 1.5% fee (min £4, max £15).

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Wedding Abroad Insurance

Wedding Abroad Insurance

Posted by Holly Burgess on 25th June 2017

Planning a wedding abroad often means you don’t get to meet with every single company that you hire for the day. This leaves you with no choice but to trust that your wedding abroad will run smoothly. It read more

Lviv: the historic city of Ukraine

Lviv: the historic city of Ukraine

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 23rd June 2017

Lviv (also spelled L’viv and Lvov) is a city with a lively history, and a well-preserved historic centre that is an UNESCO World Heritage site. Located in western Ukraine, around 70 kilometers from the borde read more