Compare Holiday Money Logo

Sainsburys reviews

Good 3.1 / 5

Based on 103 reviews Write Review

Julie

17th April 2018

Easy and hassle free, order in advance for the best rate

  • I ordered £250 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Alison

9th April 2018

Excellent service, easy ordering system, money at local branch when requested, friendly staff upon collection. Rates competative and bonus of getting discount for being nectar card holder. Have been using Sainsbury’s online ordering for 3 years.

  • I ordered £800.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Claire

6th April 2018

Dreadful, it has worked twice, it now doesn't allow me to load, even though the call centre assures me I can! Luckily I have taken a credit card with me too otherwise I would be stuck! It has failed me, Italy, US, Spain..... My advice, don't waste your time with the cash passport!

  • I received the rate I was quoted
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

H

31st March 2018

Could use fine to pay but couldnt top up!!! Fix the app! Pre paid card with 100 euros, to then top up on holiday as needed. Couldnt top up despite numerous tries. Luckily i found some euros in cash and decided to take it with me, glad i did . Otherwise we would have been very screwed!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Graham robertd

30th March 2018

Ordered for next day pick up Leeds Colton store whilst shopping in that store later the same day my email dropped confirming order I called at the desk to check opening times for tomorrow was told if I want to wait 5 mins could collect now very good service well done to the staff member saving me a journey

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

m strong

28th March 2018

Rubbish They do not make it clear that remaining funds on card have to be exchanged back ay sainsburys at a silly rate

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

GM

16th March 2018

Godalming branch excellent. No waiting, really friendly man behind the glass, good rates.

  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Bea Thompson

19th February 2018

I have always used Sainsbury because of the excellent service,I have never had any complaints.

  • I ordered £510 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Caroline

9th February 2018

Fantastic service and great staff in Sainsbury’s Didcot have used them many times

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Martin Joyner

3rd February 2018

A new travelmoney desk opened in my local Sainsbury's (Hornchurch). Easy to use website. Got a preferential rate with my nectar card. Picked up the currency with no problems. I normally use Travel FX (which are also excellent). But for anybody buying smaller amounts or who can't afford to wait in all day for a delivery I would highly Sainsbury's.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Trish

26th January 2018

Fantastic service. Started to order online and, as soon as I put in Nectar card number, I got an better rate! Collected $1400 US dollars (all in mixed notes from $5 to $50) quickly and efficiently from my friendly staff member at Hereford store. Will definitely be using again next month (slowly building up my spending money each month). A*

  • I ordered £1400 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Penny A

24th January 2018

Appalling product appalling customer service. Loaded a card up with New Zealand dollars then unable to access account. Called help centre they told me screen shot error message and send to an email address. Did they email response we can’t help you call the line. Cancelled the product and still waiting 7 days later for my refund. Never ever use them. Emails of compliant not responded too. No customer service whatsoever.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Cmb.

20th January 2018

Every time I tried to log onto the account it didn't recognise my password. Long phone calls to reset. Terrible customer service . Closed card account out of frustration. Add insult to injury very bad exchange rate and a £10 charge to process the refund to my bank account. Do not touch this product.

  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Christine Webb

4th January 2018

It was great when first used for Euros. However the website mentioned in the Welcome Booklet gives website for reloading but it does not allow you to log in never mind reload. Help Line suggests another website which is run by Mastercard therefore you do not get the better Nectar exchange rate nor Nectar points. I can go back to the original website though and order a new card and load it with NZ$ and A$ and get a Nectar rate. How many cards do I want or need - is it worth all this hassle - absolutely not.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Misty

23rd December 2017

Getting my euros from Sainsbury bank was so easy, - I rang the number, spoke to Carol, who was very friendly and efficient, and took me through the process, and answered any questions I had - not many, as she anticipated most of them. The next day, my euros were delivered, along with the normal mail, but did need a signature - the package was really bland an anonymous looking, and nobody would have guessed it held cash. I requested a mix of denominations and got a really good mixture, some 5 euro notes, 10, 20 and 50. I will definitely use this service again - and I got a slightly better deal because I have a Nectar card.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Derek Cook

22nd December 2017

I have used the Sainsbury's in branch bank several times for different currencies - Turkish Lira, Mexican Pesos, Euros and always receive an efficient and courteous service. Would recommend to anyone.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Dr K Beach

16th November 2017

What is the point of ordering and paying on line for euros 24 hours before collection and being told the order will be ready for collection from 9.30am the following day. On arrival I queued for 20 mins to be then told the order had not been prepared for collection and to stand and wait whilst they prepared it.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Jean Briggs

11th November 2017

We could nor find any way to find balance banks refused any knowledge. And although we loaded our card with euros we were charged an exchange rate this was in Menorca Spain I reckon our 1600 euros cost us £100 .oo never again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Longshanks

7th November 2017

Ordered £2500 online requested small denominations everything I asked for was there as expected great service from the cashier at the Crayford Sainsburies where I collected my Dollars

  • I ordered £2500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Shaun Madill

6th November 2017

The cash passport is useless. The login page doesn’t even work, so can’t add money to it. Decided to use my debit card instead.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

les elvin

26th October 2017

have used twice & no problems, next day delivery on time.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Graham

25th October 2017

Well done Sainsbury's Godalming, first class service.

    Mark

    21st October 2017

    Complete rip off when withdrawing money from ATM's, do yourself a favour and get a FAIRFX card.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    MRS M NOAKES

    20th October 2017

    We had our money "set aside" by Maestro when using a French self-service petrol pump. More was set aside than the amount for the petrol. We got no petrol, but our money was not released. Had to use a credit card to draw out money from an ATM. It took until after we got home to get our money back. What a shambles - I will never use the card again.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Lyn Micklewright

    9th October 2017

    Could use it for all transactions in restaurants but not in ATM's? The website is ridiculously complex. I forgot my password and there is no way to reset it online. Spent 10 minutes trying to get through to someone who could help because there is no direct number shown on the website. I was told that a temporary password would be emailed to me. It's been 24 hours since that promise was made. I'm just going to take the remainder of the cash off the card, cut it up and get a card from the the Post Office. Sort your website out Sainsbury's.

    • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Write a review of Sainsburys

    Your name

    Your rating

    Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
    1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

    Your review

    Optional questions

    • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
    • How much travel money did you purchase?
      worth of
    • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
    • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
    • How much currency did you sell?
    • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
    • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
    • What currency did you transfer?
      to
    • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
    • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
    • What type of prepaid card did you order?
    • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
    • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
    • What kind of policy did you purchase?
      policy for
    • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
    • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
    • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No

    <b>Nectar card holders get better exchange rates online and can collect Nectar points on every order.</b> Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 240 Sainsbury's Bank instore Travel Money bureaux, there is a £1.99 admin fee for collection orders below £200. Or get it delivered to your door, with free delivery on orders over £600.

    Visit Website

    Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

    • Latest exchange rates delivered monthly to your inbox
    • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
    • Travel money and holiday articles and information
    Travelling light?

    Travelling light?

    Posted by Sam Stone on 13th April 2018

    Travelling light is not just about being careful with your money. Speed and weight are an attractive factor for minimising your luggage. However, the goal posts constantly sift and some airline weight restricti read more

    The Things To Do When Traveling

    The Things To Do When Traveling

    Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 9th April 2018

    Traveling can be so much fun because you get to try new and tasty food, take photos in each country’s famous spots, and just have fun and be free. But besides all those cool things you get to do, there are a read more