Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Sainsburys reviews

Good 3.0 / 5

Based on 87 reviews Write Review

Dr K Beach

16th November 2017

What is the point of ordering and paying on line for euros 24 hours before collection and being told the order will be ready for collection from 9.30am the following day. On arrival I queued for 20 mins to be then told the order had not been prepared for collection and to stand and wait whilst they prepared it.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Jean Briggs

11th November 2017

We could nor find any way to find balance banks refused any knowledge. And although we loaded our card with euros we were charged an exchange rate this was in Menorca Spain I reckon our 1600 euros cost us £100 .oo never again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Longshanks

7th November 2017

Ordered £2500 online requested small denominations everything I asked for was there as expected great service from the cashier at the Crayford Sainsburies where I collected my Dollars

  • I ordered £2500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Shaun Madill

6th November 2017

The cash passport is useless. The login page doesn’t even work, so can’t add money to it. Decided to use my debit card instead.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

les elvin

26th October 2017

have used twice & no problems, next day delivery on time.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

Graham

25th October 2017

Well done Sainsbury's Godalming, first class service.

    Mark

    21st October 2017

    Complete rip off when withdrawing money from ATM's, do yourself a favour and get a FAIRFX card.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    MRS M NOAKES

    20th October 2017

    We had our money "set aside" by Maestro when using a French self-service petrol pump. More was set aside than the amount for the petrol. We got no petrol, but our money was not released. Had to use a credit card to draw out money from an ATM. It took until after we got home to get our money back. What a shambles - I will never use the card again.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Lyn Micklewright

    9th October 2017

    Could use it for all transactions in restaurants but not in ATM's? The website is ridiculously complex. I forgot my password and there is no way to reset it online. Spent 10 minutes trying to get through to someone who could help because there is no direct number shown on the website. I was told that a temporary password would be emailed to me. It's been 24 hours since that promise was made. I'm just going to take the remainder of the cash off the card, cut it up and get a card from the the Post Office. Sort your website out Sainsbury's.

    • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Warren

    2nd October 2017

    Always used Sainsbury's for our Euro's. NEVER had any problems at all, ordered on line collect few days later, also get nectar points added for buying via Nectar. Ordered twice this year and both problem free. Rates are fair and up to date.

    • I ordered £1500 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Jay OSullivan

    29th September 2017

    So far so good.

    • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Susan

    26th September 2017

    Good rate of exchange with the added bonus of nectar points. Money arrived in the post the next morning - the plain packaging did not give any indication it contained money. I was concerned that I might receive a few high denomination notes, but it contained a good mixture of notes from €5 - €50.

    • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    D HOBBS

    19th September 2017

    GREAT SERVICE USED 4 TIMES ALLWAYS GOOD

    • I ordered £3000 worth of US Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    John Oakley

    17th September 2017

    Took 30 minutes to set up,in store. Then Inreceived the wrong(lower) rate even though I had put £1500 on the card. Took more time phoning supervisor who had to authorise cash difference as their system wouldn't allow a correction. Tried topping up whilst abroad but forgot password. They sent new password by email but web site wouldn't accept it and locked me out. Don't know if card will work now. Could it be anymore difficult?

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Sammieb121

    14th September 2017

    I wouldn't use Sainsburys ever again for currency, even if you paid me!! They sold Euros to me at a pretty average rate but their buy back is an absolute rip off!!! The best rate i found elsewhere was £1.11, the worst rate was £1.18. Sainsburys is extortionate at £1.26!!! Go elsewhere if you can and definitely don't use Sainsburys!! Very disappointed :(

    • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Sandy R

    3rd September 2017

    Dreadful card for withdrawing cash. Impossible to use at airport ATMs without incurring massive fees. Not clear in info pack about these pitfalls resulting in charges of over 65 EUR to withdraw 400 EUR. Only had EUR loaded on card but told by help desk that the card defaults to GBP unless it is changed. This resulted in EUR being converted first to GBP and then back again tomEUR and then a purse fee. What is this about Sainsbury's? I'm a shareholder and i am ashamed of you! In process of trying to reclaim the charges, and copied the case to the financial ombudsman. DO NOT USE THIS CARD for withdrawing cash at ATMs

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Joanne

    22nd August 2017

    So annoyed that I got this card, topped up whilst I was in USA still waiting two days later for money to show rang them twice - useless. Still waiting....

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    nigel

    22nd August 2017

    Terrible , ordered and paid by debit card for 1070 euro to be told I had failed Sainsbury security and yorkshire bank had released funds however Sainsburys would only release funds back after 2-10 days . Then phoned and asked if I could order and collect in store at the agreed rate and pay by chip and pin I was told only at the reduced store rate Great customer service NOT

    • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Patricia Porter

    22nd August 2017

    Ordered online midday Monday arrived in the post on Tuesday morning. Really happy with the service, and much better exchange rate than other places I tried. Nice selection of note denominations. Would definitely use again.

    • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Paul

    18th August 2017

    Amazed at some of these comments, we had two cards , one each opened by myself and one opened by my wife, we put on so much on each card, more than we needed to avoid topping up, and took some cash, no extra charges at all as long as you use common sense where you use it, avoid a corner shop or local chain( thats what the cash is for) and be careful on the type of atm, we had a perfect experience with the cash passports as common sense was used

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    James Bance

    13th August 2017

    I will never get the multi-currency cash passport again. There are seious failures with the marketing and communication of features. Nowhere in the marketing or online purchase of the card was it revealed that the 'additional card' is not a joint card, but a back-up card. I only learnt this when I went to pick the cards up at the store. So, two adults travelling as a family with three children are not entrusted to each have a card. I contacted the helpline (presumably run by Mastercard) to query this and was told it was not recommended, but that there were 'options' at card registration, to do this. I registered the card, there are no such options. Having put a £1,000 on the card I was very unhappy, so went back to the Sainsbury's in South Ruislip to ask for £500 to be taken off the card, as it clearly doesn't provide the flexibility we were looking for. The final insult from Sainsbury's - the £500 could not be repaid to the card I had used to pay for it, instead I had to have it as cash, for 'anti-money laundering' reasons, which is clearly spurious, as what could be easier to launder than cash? I am disgusted - with Mastercard, but particularly with Sainsbury's, for selling such a badly designed and poorly communicated product.

    • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Sarah Marchant

    11th August 2017

    I cannot tell you how awful this card is. The card is sold as an easy fix.... no problems easy to load, easy to get help while abroad. None of this has proved to be true. The uploads regularly fail and although they tell you they have failed there is no info on why and what can be done to remedy the failure. We were very specific about the fact that I would top up the card for my son, as I made the first upload. This is not possible. Just do not ever get this product. It introduces you to a world of pain and worry.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    S Hod

    4th August 2017

    Dreadful in all respects. Online website (or mobile app) is abysmal. Account gets locked out all too frequently - if you can get the card validated in the first place. When resolved, I still can't top-up the card - no indication of what the issue is. To cap it all - there is an Inactivity Fee charged monthly if you don't use the card for 12 months (eg annual holidays?!). Avoid.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Stefanie

    2nd August 2017

    Ordered online midday Tuesday, arrived in the post on Wednesday morning. Really happy with the service, and much better exchange rate than in store. Nice selection of note denominations.

    • I ordered £1250 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Sainsburys to others

    Leslie Hamilton

    1st August 2017

    The passort card was not very good at all. Charged fees in Spain all the time. I am sure it is another case of mis selling.

      Write a review of Sainsburys

      Your name

      Your rating

      Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
      1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

      Your review

      Optional questions

      • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
      • How much travel money did you purchase?
        worth of
      • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
      • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
      • How much currency did you sell?
      • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
      • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
      • What currency did you transfer?
        to
      • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
      • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
      • What type of prepaid card did you order?
      • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
      • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No
      • What kind of policy did you purchase?
        policy for
      • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
      • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Sainsburys to others?Yes No

      <b>Nectar card holders get better exchange rates online and can collect Nectar points on every order.</b> Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 230 Sainsbury's Bank instore Travel Money bureaux, there is a £1.99 admin fee for collection orders below £100. Or get it delivered to your door, with free delivery on orders over £500. You can purchase your Travel Money with a debit card or Sainsbury's Bank Credit card with no added fee. All other credit cards will be subject to a 1.5% fee (min £4, max £15).

      Visit Website

      Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

      Find out more

      Why sign up?

      • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
      • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
      • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
      Holiday Deals November 2017

      Holiday Deals November 2017

      Posted by Graham Morley on 14th November 2017

      Have you ever visited a Christmas market in Europe? It’s a fantastic experience; a chance to sample a different culture, different sights, wondeful smells from a variety of food sellers and not to mention the read more

      Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

      Female Bobsleigh team granted Winter Olympics funding from donations

      Posted by Matthew Weston on 13th November 2017

      It’s been a tough couple of months for the British women’s Bobsleigh and Skeleton team. British Bobsleigh announced it was going to withdraw funding for the team just five months before the Winter read more