Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Sainsburys reviews

Good 3.5 / 5

Based on 32 reviews Write Review

7th December 2016

Iturned up to pick up my money and had cleared off on a lunch break so was unable to get cash, was not able to go back till they had gone so asked my mum to pick it up with passport, would not let my mum pick it up and she had to ended up with a worse exchange rate and having to revisit several times to sort it out. Will never use again and annoyed me so much am changing supermarkets.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th October 2016

Have only ever used Sainsburys for on line exchange. Nectar rate is above high street rates and mine was available at my local store (Broadcut Fareham) 1/2 hr before quoted on the day required. The cashier changed down the bigger notes as requested without any trouble. Quick, efficient and a credit to the company thank you. Will certainly use again and will recommend to others.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th October 2016

Placed my order for larger denomination notes about 2 weeks before I was due to fly. The notes never appeared as originally ordered, all low denomination notes so I had to take a large bundle with me.... Requested a call back from a manger, this never happened... They also took my contact number down incorrectly.. No apology offered or did I feel at any stage that they would resolve my query.. Escalated this complaint and requested a call back from their Area Manager, not received... This was my first experience with Sainsbury, would not recommend to others.. I'll be back at The Post Office again next time.. Rubbish, rubbish, rubbish...

  • I ordered £2500 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th October 2016

First time ever ordered on line. Given one rate then when I completed deal and was asked if I had a nectar card number, they recalculated and I got more than originally quoted. Asked for delivery on 14th October, arrived first thing and good selection of different values. Well pleased

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

8th October 2016

Ordered euros for collection, nobody at kiosk. I called Sainsbury's as I couldn't come back and they agreed to post! They posted for next day delivery. I received dollars! Had to call and they said they would post out correct currency, next day nothing arrived. Called them again and at this point I had 2 days until my holiday. They sent a private courier to deliver my euros but still had to take back dollars. Wouldn't use again

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th September 2016

brought euros in store, very helpful and friendly staff. gave me a selection of notes no big ones.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th September 2016

I ordered my currency and was to collect it today after 2pm. I arrived at 2.30 there was a sign on the Travel kiosk saying the assistant would be back at 2.45, I went back at 2.45 and the sign said 3pm, I found the assistant to complain and he explained he had to change the signs(about rates) on the store door. I went back at 3 it had been changed to 3.15!!!!!!!!! I went to M&S they were wonderful.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Barbados Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th September 2016

ordered currency online and collected same day !

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

23rd August 2016

Went to Exchange in Swansea Store while shopping, good rate, mixed notes. excellent service. Thank you.

  • I ordered £750.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th July 2016

Absolute disaster. I have tried three times to order currency through them and each time it has been rejected with an instruction to speak to my bank. Both are blaming the other but Sainsburys is now sat on over £1000 of my money that I cannot use to buy currency through another vendor. I have been told they have cancelled the transaction but my bank tells me that is not the case. AVOID unless you want to spend your evening making phone calls between your bank and provider (currently on hold for call number 6)

  • I ordered £1100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

18th July 2016

Excellent service arrived on day specified a good rate on line - considering the poor rates offered on the high street. Would recommend to a friend

  • I transferred British Pounds to Portugal
  • The transfer was completed within three working days
  • I received a good exchange rate
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis
  • I would recommend this broker to others

10th July 2016

I didn't order my Euros in advance I only decided to get them after I completed my shopping in Sainsbury's. The girl who served me was very helpful, polite and efficient. I would definitely get them from Sainsbury's again.

  • I ordered £200.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd July 2016

Ordered euros to collect in store had to wait 25 mins in queue and there was only 1 customer being served the longest I have ever had to wait for pre ordered currency even longer than the post office !!

  • I ordered £700 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

27th June 2016

I ordered dollars for our trip to Florida. Picked them up from local store. Friendly helpful staff. Good selection of notes. Would use again.

  • I ordered £2500.00 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th June 2016

I ordered euros and received confirmation that they would be delivered by 1pm the following day. I waited in , no euros. I rang to find out where they were to be told they would not be delivered until 3 days later , one day after the holiday began.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

26th May 2016

Went for 500 pounds worth of euros on may 25 had five pound off vouchor i was told not to use because of the deal of the day which i didnot get anyway so dissatisfied

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th May 2016

Ordered 150000yen. Service good. Currency there on time. BUT...currency was all in 1000 yen notes which is rudiculous

  • I ordered £150000 worth of Japanese Yen
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th May 2016

Used about 12 times. Helpful staff and prompt service. Only issue being that price on website is always greater than price offered in store.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th March 2016

Never used Sainsbury's before and although a slightly better rate offered by some unknown sites chose Sainsbury's because they are near, easy to collect, trustworthy and no worries that they would arrive on time. I didn't request specific denominations of notes but I was pleased with the variety of values that I received, not all high value notes as some banks give. Will use again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th February 2016

No hassle, good delivery, good rate

  • I ordered £505 worth of US Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

11th January 2016

easy to order and local pick up , yes slightly better rate ordering with some other dodgy sounding company , not worth the hassle for $5 , will def use again

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

21st October 2015

I have used Sainsburys travel money before on several occasions, I've always done the collect in store which has been 100%. This time I went for the next day home delivery due to ordering mixed currencies US dollars & Costa Rican colons. What do you say! the whole transaction was 101% and the money was delivered the next day as arranged. Cannot fault their service and will use again without a doubt.

  • I ordered £400 worth of US Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th September 2015

Excellent service, ordered on line and picked up in local store two days later. Will certainly use this service again

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

1st July 2015

I ordered some euros from them but then had a query over the collection date (I wanted to amend it slightly) I called their customer support 5 times Each time, after being told that 'an advisor' would be with me shortly there was no reply and the call automatically disconnected after 3-4 mins. I then emailed the 'customer support team' only to get an automated reply saying that someone would get back to me within 48 hrs. 24 hrs later nothing and its now probably too late to amend the order. This is NOT customer support its a complete disregard of customers.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

24th June 2015

Good exchange rate and delivered to home address on agreed date and free of charge Excellent service.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Sainsburys

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Sainsbury's Bank offers over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 220 Sainsbury's Bank instore Travel Money bureaux, there is a £1.99 admin fee for collection orders below £100. Or get it delivered to your door, with free delivery on orders over £500. You can purchase your Travel Money with a debit card or Sainsbury's Bank Credit card with no added fee. All other credit cards will be subject to a 1.5% fee (min £4, max £15).

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

Posted by Matthew Weston on 9th December 2016

After what has been a year of uncertainty for Britain and the pound, it is slowly making improvements in the markets. With this and the continued decline of the Euro, the exchange rate is looking better for Bri read more

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more