Sainsburys reviews

160 Reviews Poor | 2.8

Sainsburys

http://www.sainsburys.co.uk/

Nectar members get better exchange rates online and can collect Nectar points on every order. Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 260 Sainsbury's Bank In-store Travel Money Bureaux at no extra cost, or have it delivered to your home with free delivery on orders over £500.

Write a review

JR

16 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

16 January 2020

I have a cash passport, There were transactions that I did not recognise and called straight away. I spent 3 hours on the phone and the trganactions were cancelled and was told to pick up a new card as the money exchange at my local Sainsburys, Been twice and bth times they have reqported that the system is down. I travel to EU every week and have had to resort to cash. I still have around 200 Euros on the card that I am unabe to access.

Jon Wedge

10 January 2020

Bought £1,000 worth of Australian dollars

10 January 2020

Ordered card and currency online, not available to collect on given date due to 2 day-old system failure, no attempt to warn me, luckily some cash (Australian dollars) available in Branch, but given New Zealand dollars by mistake and had to go back. Never did get travel card. Simply dreadful service in every single respect.

Adam Hall

28 December 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

28 December 2019

The first time in all the years I’ve had trouble with money abroad. My card was not only cloned I reported immediately and was told the transaction was cancelled but they hadn’t cancelled and my money was taken. I wouldn’t ever have one of these cards again

Celine Bridge

23 December 2019

Bought £252 worth of Euros

23 December 2019

Ordered euros online using my nectar card, didn't count the euros the cashier put in envelope when collected. When I put euros in card for daughter realised am 100 euros short. Have been told it will be investigated and they will contact me after xmas. Has left my daughter short for holiday and a sour note for Xmas. Will leave a further review post investigation.

TelBoy

16 December 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

16 December 2019

Friday Morning after general election, rates on Euro went to 1.20 Sainsbury's Travel money site was unavailable, The rates fell back over the weekend and the site was up and running, this morning, Euro is trading at 1.20 and once again the site is not available. As of now the post office are offering good rates as are Tesco (€590 for £500). both with free delivery.

J Joshi

15 December 2019

Bought £200 worth of Euros

15 December 2019

Brought euros in store the rate was much lower than available just about anywhere.Had my nectar card and told I would get a better rate. Do not trust

jj

12 December 2019

Bought £1,000 worth of Euros

12 December 2019

Queued for 20minutes to buy currency, because Selling rate for Nectar card holders looked good. However at counter told currency not available, even though it was advertised on for sale on the board at the counter.

Staff unhelpful - told I needed to order it. They were unable or unwilling to check whether it was in stock at another Sainsbury's foreign exchange store.

Philip

10 December 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

10 December 2019

Have had a Sainsbury Cash Passport (Mastercard) for a few years. No where near as straightforward as Visa prepaid. Far more hurdles to go through to access account. On one occasion my hotel was not recognised by Mastercard so had to resort to other methods of payment. Most recently, like another reviewer, had an issue with password. What the online login procedure DOES NOT EXPLAIN is that each time you log in with your Password, they will also send you an OTP (One Time Passcode). Without leaving the Cash Passport sight, you have to open a new tab and retrieve the Passcode which only "lives" for 15 minutes.

Wends

6 December 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

6 December 2019

Biggest pile of crap ever, even when u know ur password is correct it gives u an error message, even after phoning for help n managing to get online n top up now getting error mssg, I'm going instore to get my 820euro in cash then binning this useless account.....thanks for absolutely nothing, I gave 1 star cos no option for 0 star

Phil

5 November 2019

Bought Euros

5 November 2019

Ordered money on Tuesday for friday delivery, Didnt happen, came on Saturday had to change my plans for the day to sign for it. Let me down.

Write a review of Sainsburys

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?