Sainsburys reviews

153 Reviews Poor | 2.9

Sainsburys

http://www.sainsburys.co.uk/

Nectar members get better exchange rates online and can collect Nectar points on every order. Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 260 Sainsbury's Bank In-store Travel Money Bureaux at no extra cost, or have it delivered to your home with free delivery on orders over £500.

Write a review

Philip

Yesterday

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

Yesterday

Have had a Sainsbury Cash Passport (Mastercard) for a few years. No where near as straightforward as Visa prepaid. Far more hurdles to go through to access account. On one occasion my hotel was not recognised by Mastercard so had to resort to other methods of payment. Most recently, like another reviewer, had an issue with password. What the online login procedure DOES NOT EXPLAIN is that each time you log in with your Password, they will also send you an OTP (One Time Passcode). Without leaving the Cash Passport sight, you have to open a new tab and retrieve the Passcode which only "lives" for 15 minutes.

Wends

6 December 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

6 December 2019

Biggest pile of crap ever, even when u know ur password is correct it gives u an error message, even after phoning for help n managing to get online n top up now getting error mssg, I'm going instore to get my 820euro in cash then binning this useless account.....thanks for absolutely nothing, I gave 1 star cos no option for 0 star

Phil

5 November 2019

Bought Euros

5 November 2019

Ordered money on Tuesday for friday delivery, Didnt happen, came on Saturday had to change my plans for the day to sign for it. Let me down.

Jackie

30 October 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

30 October 2019

Similar to others I have used the Sainsburys travel money card up to now with few problems but the exchange rate has plummeted to 1.06 to top up where it is showing over 1.13 for new applicants. The discrepancy between top-up and the current market rate has never been so bad. I'll be using up the residual currency on my card and taking my custom elsewhere if Sainsbury's do not sort this out soon.

Angie

28 October 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

28 October 2019

Went to top up cash passport in Euros and the rate was only 1.06. Bank rate of GBP to Euro is 1.16. But if you purchase a new card on website they give 1.13

So card is not worth having for continual us. Far better off with the cash, which is something you try to avoid for ease of use.

Angela

26 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

26 September 2019

Horrific experience. They refused me access to my funds when on holiday. Informed me they'd refund 10 days AFTER I returned. They blamed a bank for taking the funds without authorisation and told me to fix it if I wanted my funds back. Further investigation proved it was actually them who had unlawfully withheld my funds leaving me and my family vulnerable in a foreign country spoiling our holiday. My husband and son are both disabled but they didn't care. Despite proving they were at fault, they failed to release my funds until AFTER I returned from holiday. Dispicable!

Jazz12

12 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

12 September 2019

I was charged £4 for topping up my cash passport card only to find that you can’t choose Croatian Kuna. When I telephoned customer service they told me that it wouldn’t be a problem and to just use my card as usual in Croatia which wouldn’t incur charges. However every time I used the card I was charged further fees to convert £ to Kuna. £15 in total!! I’m cancelling the card

Lesley Roberts

6 September 2019

Bought £1,000 worth of Euros

6 September 2019

Do not order Euros online from Sainsbury’s travel money unless you want the majority of your money in large notes of 100s and 50s!!! Almost impossible to spend if you are travelling round Europe in a motorhome stopping in small towns and villages. No sympathy from Sainsbury’s who refuse to change it into smaller denominations and won’t let you specify what you want when you order the money. Rubbish service.

Kathy

1 September 2019

Bought £500 worth of Euros

1 September 2019

Our local sainsburys opened currency kiosk brilliant, ordered online went in next day and got my euros at a good rate such as it is these days, but every little helps. Lovely staff too. They do normally say to order online as it is a better rate and also helps if you have a nectar card.

Jane Kerley

31 August 2019

Bought Turkish lira

31 August 2019

Ordered currency on line and went specially to pick up today as my email instructed. Waited in a long queue for well over half an hour (not good as I am not young)while the single staff member coped with just one transaction at the front of the line. A second member of staff appeared but totally ignored the queue and just shuffled bank notes. Eventually I was served but was then refused my ordered money which I could see in a packet beside her as I didn't have the right identity document. This was despite the fact that I showed the email, the correct debit card and a travel pass with my photo and name on it. Sainsbury's has already taken money from my account. I realise now I should have had my passport but I was not impressed with the slowness of service and uncaring attitude. It was an unpleasant experience and in future I will change money elsewhere.

Write a review of Sainsburys

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?