Sainsburys reviews

168 Reviews Poor | 2.7

Sainsburys

http://www.sainsburys.co.uk/

Nectar members get better exchange rates online and can collect Nectar points on every order. Sainsbury's Bank offer over 50 foreign currencies. Order online with the option to collect your travel money from one of over 260 Sainsbury's Bank In-store Travel Money Bureaux at no extra cost, or have it delivered to your home with free delivery on orders over £500.

Write a review

Chris Adams

10 November 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

10 November 2020

Avoid this card or cash out if you already have one. We've cancelled 3 holidays this year because of Covid 19 & forgot about the card loaded with Euros. It's cost us a charge each month for inactivity. We tried to cash out at an ATM but the card was rejected even though the requested amount was less than the displayed balance. A prolonged phone call to 'card services' eventually resulted in a bank transfer of the 'full' balance in GBP but no refund of charges. We were

assured that there were no charges for cashing out but the amount received was approx £6 less than calculated using the published daily exchange rate. Coincidentally, Sainsbury Bank usual rate for cashing out is £6. This can be done FREE at Sainsbury Travel Money bureau....... but they are all closed !

Appalling customer service, especially when so many other businesses are making extra efforts to help people in these difficult times.

Jim Atwell

29 October 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

29 October 2020

Did not realise that after a period of no transactions , they start eroding your money with monthly fees . After 5 months of them ,basically, stealing my money I went to atm and the balance was £106.37 , so I withdrew £100 leaving balance of £6.37 , went into store to spend the balance but transaction was rejected. Went back to atm and balance was zero . Yes they had stolen the £6.37 . Never again . Avoid .

Denise Donovan

11 September 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

11 September 2020

Avoid this card. I got one in 2016 when I was going to Australia for 3 weeks. The extortionate fees were not explained. I forgot I still had it but 6 months ago I started to get emails to say to check recent transactions. I hadn't realised that there is a monthly inactivity charge. I managed to withdraw £10 but then realised I had £8.62 left. I rang to cash this out to my bank account as the card provider is changing and I was emailed yo say that cancellation charges would be waived. I was on the phone ages to a female customer service assistant who didn't seem to know thus and had to ask a manager etc. Finally I was told yes I could cash it out. Just gad an email 4 days later to say my card been topped up!! What is going on here. I will be writing a formal complaint letter!!

Bob Grundy

24 August 2020

Bought £1,000 worth of Euros

24 August 2020

Be very aware of small print on currency cashcard -after 18 months they start charging £2 a month if you havent used the card. After 12 months they send you the first email asking you to review transactions, What Transaction I havent used the card. When you review you find they have already taken £24+. Bloody annoyed.

You then try to close the account, I am now on my 4th phone call and have not managed to have them shut the account. Dire service!!

Andrew Parry

19 August 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

19 August 2020

Card was great when I first used it in 2017 and the next year. Proved troublesome in 2019. Now with Covid I am unable to go abroad and it has been a nightmare trying to find out how I avoid charges (after 18 months inactivity Sainsbury start to charge you each month). The kiosk in store is closed. The telephone help lines kept cutting me off. No reply to an email I sent. I will now write a formal complaint to Sainsburys with a copy to the Martin Lewis programme. My advice to you readers? Avoid this card!

Wenzhe Chen

28 April 2020

Purchased an annual multi-trip travel insurance policy covering worldwide travel

28 April 2020

We took out annual global travel insurance In February then cancelled it the next day. It has however so far taken 2 months to process the refund. It's been 5 phone calls, 3 emails, 3 tweets and each time they apologise, say they made a mistake and they'll process it. I'm now having to take them to a Small Claims Court. AVOID AVOID AVOID.

James Charlesworth

27 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

27 February 2020

Got a card to use in spain. Loading the car does not always work. Used the card in Spain would not work in all shops. The ATM in spain eat my card so could not use it used either means of funding. Got back to the UK spoke to Sainsbury's who told me the card is nothing to do with them spoke to Mastercard told them I wanted to get the money off the card sent to my bank was told it was ok to do and offered me .70 for each euro I had loaded on the car even know when I brought them the rate was 1.18 per £. This card is no good and if you want your money into your bank from the card thay pay less than half the amount you buy them for. Avoid Avoid

Gwyn Llewellyn.

1 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

1 February 2020

Tried to load my card only to be told it failed and asked me to re-submit and in doing so I ended up paying twice and only getting credit once.

This card has been nothing but trouble from day one.

JR

16 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

16 January 2020

I have a cash passport, There were transactions that I did not recognise and called straight away. I spent 3 hours on the phone and the trganactions were cancelled and was told to pick up a new card as the money exchange at my local Sainsburys, Been twice and bth times they have reqported that the system is down. I travel to EU every week and have had to resort to cash. I still have around 200 Euros on the card that I am unabe to access.

Jon Wedge

10 January 2020

Bought £1,000 worth of Australian dollars

10 January 2020

Ordered card and currency online, not available to collect on given date due to 2 day-old system failure, no attempt to warn me, luckily some cash (Australian dollars) available in Branch, but given New Zealand dollars by mistake and had to go back. Never did get travel card. Simply dreadful service in every single respect.

Write a review of Sainsburys

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?