Compare Holiday Money Logo

Tesco Bank reviews

Good 3.7 / 5

Based on 109 reviews Write Review

Brian Thurgood

Today

Tesco Bank first class.Book lira on line collected from local store. Got the correct amount at a great rate

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Andrea Deacon

17th August 2018

Poor contact service.rang Ilkeston Tesco for info on availability of Swedish Krona ..no travel staff in at 9.10 am! Looked online...no info there! Rang travel office central no. No answer. Rang store again ...cut off! Rang again...directed to Tesco mobile! Rang 3x more. Finally got through to lady at Ilkeston travel shop...no Swedish Krona! Took 55mins to get this info!!! Local post office answered right away and have currency in stock. Exchange rate is a bit higher but their communication is worth every extra Krona!!

W walker

12th August 2018

Bought currency 10 x 1000 Icelandic krona notes and only used 6 so on return decided to return unused notes, was made to feel like a criminal, notes were apparently not on their system ( remember they supplied these in the first place) so how does this work, on checking with Icelandic bank found these notes to be perfectly legal so why does Tesco now question legality of what they passed on to me in the first place?

  • I ordered £75 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Elizabeth Lewis

29th July 2018

They don't charge a fee, but gave 1 kroner in the pound less than they said, so I'm unhappy. Having checked before and after, both exchange rates were still 8.something but they gave 7. Not going back. Once bitten....

  • I ordered £200 worth of Danish Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Rebekah

19th July 2018

From ordering my money to going and collecting it was very easy I had a gear experience with them.

  • I ordered £225 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Alexander

15th July 2018

Bought Barbadian dollars online to collect from Tesco New Malden and the collection booth was closed all day - a Saturday before I was travelling

  • I ordered £250 worth of Barbados Dollars
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Graham

20th June 2018

web site doesnt work cant select any store apart from london

Keith

12th June 2018

Excellent every thing went well spot on

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Aaron

29th May 2018

Really good service and would defiantly recommend to anyone.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Sean stevens

25th May 2018

I ordered 200€ which arrived when stated no problems at all would use them again providing the rates are good

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Bryan Brown

20th May 2018

I ordered euros click and collect. I went to collect the euros I ordered and they had not been delivered at that time. I returned later to be told they still had not been delivered. Tesco gave me the phone to speak to an advisor from travlex who said there would be a 24 hour delay. I explained I was flying out in the morning. The advisor said sorry there was nothing they could do. Also I would not be refunded in time to purchase euros from the airport (7-14 days). I was on the phone for an hour and kept getting put on hold but still said sorry and that was it. It cost me a lot more money to get euros from the airport and left me penniless on holiday. It really ruined my family holiday. I will never use them again for travel money and I would urge people not to either. I have written to the managing director from Tesco and have a meeting with my local MP because this is disgusting how theses companies can treat consumers when they get it wrong.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Rach

19th May 2018

5* service. Best online rate for Peruvian currency. No card charge either. Nothing to complain about. I actually went earlier than my time slot for collection and there was no problem. Definitely will use again. If you follow the instuctions for collection.. ID and card used to buy then it should be a smooth transaction all round.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Nicola

16th May 2018

Great service, ordered Qatar Riyal notes on Monday night, arrived before 1pm on Wednesday by special delivery. Would have no hesitation in using again

  • I ordered £160 worth of Qatar Riyals
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Paul Watts

15th May 2018

Currency delivered via Special Delivery on the designated day. Good denomination of notes. Tesco were the best deal on my day of ordering.Happy to recommend.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Rob Grant

6th May 2018

Total waste of time, poor service, even worse customer care. We ordered euros, I had pre-paid using my wifes debit card. When we went to the store they refused to give us the Euros as it was two different people that had purchased them. We explained to the cashier that it’s a debit card we we both hold a card to the same account, we provided both debit cards showing they were linked with same sort code & account number and photo ID to prove that we were married and lived at the same address, the cashier refused. He was arrogant and rude to say the least! I asked to cancel the transaction and he then treated us as we had asked him to perform a miracle. After 20 minuets of him being on the phone he informed us that the transaction had been cancelled and we would receive the refund in 10 days! It took them 10 mins to get the money out of account but it takes 10 days to put it back. The service was less than poor and the customer service from the employee was way below the level expected fro this size of organisation. I will never use them again

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Neil Jenkins

1st May 2018

Shocking service with Tesco Bank. I ordered Singapore dollars to arrive next day which failed to arrive. Tesco claim that if the money is ordered before 2pm it is guaranteed to arrive next day. I ordered the money at 10am and received an e mail shortly after to say it had been dispatched. After waiting in all day the money failed to arrive and after contacting the bank I have now been told there is a delay. I now have to travel without the cash so save youreself the hassle and buy elsewhere.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Singapore Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Jane

27th April 2018

Always arrive for collection at my local store on the correct day. A variety of notes received. Helpful staff and will definately order again.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Shelley

25th April 2018

No hassle.came day requested.will definately use again for lira

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Ryster

22nd April 2018

Tesco bank are useless. Currency took nearly a week longer than was stated to arrive, barely arrived in time.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Julie

17th April 2018

Never again. I ordered Norwegian Krone on Thursday online which wasnt ready until Monday afternoon, the day before I was due to travel. I took my passport as ID but I was unable to collect the money that was already paid for. This was because I couldn't remember the pin to verify card. So despite having passport photo ID I had no choice but to cancel the order that now wont be refunded for 8 days. I went to Sainsbury's, hassle and stress free.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Andrew dunn

7th April 2018

Ordered 1000 money in Mexican peso on a Saturday told be ready for collection on a Friday 8 days later to days before got a phone call saying didn't have money or all the money till following Monday 11 days when I collect terrible service so far Ile update monday

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Mexican Pesos
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Chris L-H

4th April 2018

Every time I have ordered Euros through Tesco Bank, I was advised that they were unable to process my order which was then "put in review". This will certainly be the very last time I ever waste my time ordering foreign money via Tesco Bank.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Mikaela Walker

29th March 2018

If I could give 0 I would. Ordered £450 worth of euros on Monday and was told it would be ready after 3pm on Wednesday. I drive to the store at about 6pm only to find three very frazzled women behind the counter who just tell me my Euro’s aren’t here. Yet £450 has come out of my account. No explanation a part from that this has happened to 4 other people that day. I spend about half an hour ringing customer service and travel X (which charges my phone bill) for them to simply say it MIGHT be there the following day but no guarantees and there’s nothing they can do?! No explanation or anything. Terrible customer service and could be going on holiday with no money.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Jamesinashby

28th March 2018

I am not the best at dealing on line. I bought £100 worth this afternoon and managed fairly easily. I liked their security checks through the process as I worry about doing things like this on line. I think this is a good service and I shall pick up the kunas from my local Tesco store. I. Like that I have to collect myself with my passport or driving licence plus my card pin. This appears to be a very safe way to order currency on line.

  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Bob

20th March 2018

Frustrating experience. Following the time-consuming process of selecting which service to use, and then filling in all the details on the Tesco website for delivery of 400 CAD within two days, a box came on the screen showing that the order could not be verified at that time and that further verification would be needed (even though I'd filled in the 'verified by visa' box after submitting my card details). I decided to cancel and immediately tried, without success, to speak to customer services by phone in order to cancel the transaction. I then sent a message to the contact email address asking how I could cancel. No response to this request at all after two days.

  • I ordered £220.00 worth of Canadian Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Tesco Bank

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No

Tesco Bank provide a convenient and secure online ordering system where you can order your currency online for home delivery or pick it up from one of hundreds of dedicated Click & Collect stores around the UK. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

How to take a good Selfie when travelling

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 17th August 2018

How to take a good Selfie when travelling? One great thing about having a companion with you when you travel is that you can get someone to take photos for you, whether it be just generic tourist photos... read more

Asda Travel Money Rates Compared

Posted by Graham Morley on 7th August 2018

Asda, like all the major supermarkets will sell you travel money with your baked beans and fish fingers. So how do Asda travel money rates compare to other brands? We know them and trust them and it’s f... read more

Self-catered holiday vs Hotel

A hotel based inclusive deal can make as much financial sense as a self-catered holiday. So how can you choose between them? For some travellers, there is an obvious choice. Total immersion in hotel life... read more

Is It Worth It To Hire A Car On Your Trips?

This thought probably comes across your mind a lot… “Should I hire a car or should I go with public transport?” Someone who’s got a small budget like me probably would not even... read more

The Falmouth Falcons Quidditch Update: Summer 2018

With the 2017-18 QuidditchUK season coming to a close, all in all it’s been a good year for the Falmouth Falcons, Cornwall’s finest quidditch team. Early success in October at the Highlander Cup in Edi... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.