Compare Holiday Money Logo

Tesco Bank reviews

Good 3.5 / 5

Based on 137 reviews Write Review

Colin

9th April 2019

I ordered Vietnamese Dong on the 4/4/19 for collection on the 7/4/19, i then received a phone call from Tesco to say could i now collect my money on the 8/4/19 which was OK. Monday morning i received another call from Tesco at 09.02hr to say that they could not supply me with my holiday money ,i explained to the lady on the phone ( Vanessa) that i was travelling on Tuesday morning and this was extremely unacceptable and i wanted a refund, the reply was that that would take a couple of days to be refunded to my card with which i had used to pay for the currency Informed Vanessa that i was on my way to the store to do some shopping and that i would see her to sort this mess out, on arrival at the store i was told that Tesco was unable to source any Dong from any of there suppliers and were very sorry, i then asked for a refund there and then,i was told that the only way they could refund my money straight away was via BACS , i was then given the telephone to speak to a lady in Tesco Bank who then asked me for my account number, sort code and Bank name i was told that my money would be back into my account by the end of business that day. I checked my bank account later that day and yes they had returned my money in full. After a very stressful situation i informed Tesco (Vanessa) that i would never use them again under any circumstances as the aggravation they caused me was totally unacceptable. If i could give zero stars i would because they deserve nothing more

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Derek m

7th April 2019

Ordered Turkish lira on line,one of the best rates at the time. Very easy and smooth transaction. Emails comfirming progress, money arrived on time , great service

  • I ordered £600 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Louise

5th April 2019

Very easy thank you

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Paul

31st March 2019

Annoyed, although the initial buy US Dollars online went OK, I bought $2000 in all and here is where the problem started. I went in store to pick up the money and got 2 x $100 bills, 2 x $50 bills and the rest in 20s & 10s. I asked if they could give me higher denominations but they refused. So I now have a massive wad of bills, great thanks Tesco, won't be using you again.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Mrs F

30th March 2019

Ordered and paid for click and collect euros online with my mastercard that i only use for online shopping. Transaction complete and money withdrawn from my account. All fine. Went with photo id, card and transaction confirmation - all ticked, then he asks me for me to put my mastercard in their machine - why???? Ive already paid, YOU HAVE MY MONEY! To verify me!!!!! So photo id is not enough, bank card is not enough, confirmation email not enough - they DEMAND your pin!!! Sorry i dont know it as i never use it!!! He then refused to hand over my order. Ive bought and paid, but they refuse to hand over because i dont have my pin for a transaction that MY bank has already sanctioned. Ironic thing is, and ive told them this - they are happy to hand over an order to an unidentified person on a doorstep who might put a fake name on the postys signing for form - totally absurd. Tesco - you are a disgrace. Nowhere else have i ever been asked to put my card in the machine with my pin to collect currency that i have bought online. I wont let this rest.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Mclellan

30th March 2019

Ordered to Tesco Abingdon to pick up Saturday, travelling Sunday. Arrived to collect and ‘staff off sick, sorry for inconvenience’ Absolutely no provision to deal with this except ‘I’ have to go to another branch 20 mins drive away to collect’. Massive inconvenience!! My time and my expense. Arrived in Oxford and not ready even though this was 40 mins later and have told would be ready and waiting. Apparently phoned home line to notify of problem at Abingdon - 6 people in the household and definitely not called. Not upset at staff sickness upset that only plan B imposes on me. Think out the box Tesco and about the customer - get in staff from another branch, transport that days orders in sealed packages to customer services - just couple of ideas!

  • I ordered £140 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Simon B

5th March 2019

Excellent service, Euros ordered well in advance of trip, multiple e-mails sent by Tesco with updates, money arrived in store on time as stated. Pleasant staff at store, no problem whatsoever. I assume all the one star reviews were last minute purchases... say no more!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Graham Keath

5th March 2019

*BRILLIANT ALL ROUND SERVICE - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! VERY GOOD EURO EXCHANGE RATE, QUICK DELIVERY AS PROMISED AND MY €575 CAME IN A WIDE VARIETY OF NOTES RANGING FROM €5 TO €50 SO NO FRETTING ABOUT BEING STUCK WITH JUST HIGH VALUE €50 NOTES!!! WILL DEFO USE AGAIN!!!

  • I ordered £502 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

D Gilham

20th February 2019

Very pleased with service. I picked my order up from my local branch during my weekly shop. The young woman in the kiosk was very helpful and cheerful. She dealt with my order efficiently and yet took the time to engage me in conversation. Also pleased with the rate.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Jenny Jones

1st February 2019

Very pleased with service received, issues, collected currency from local Tesco store. Only slight moan no confirmation email and no email to say it had arrived but it was there the date I asked to collect it so all good.

  • I ordered £50 worth of Czech Koruna
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Mike

30th January 2019

Superb service once you got past actually placing the order. Ordered before 2 pm delivered no charge the following morning ! Perfect

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Natasha

20th January 2019

EXTREMLEY POOR SERVICE. NEEDLESS TO SAY I'M LEFT WITH NO CURRENCY 2 DAYS BEFORE TRAVEL. IF I COULD GIVE NO STARS I WOULD. AVOID.

  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

crawford

10th January 2019

i ordered currency on the 27th december to be collected 4th january.. went 4th january and was told the money was not in but they would order it the next day!!! got it today on the 11th.. could have got it for the same exchange on the internet..!! DO NOT GO TO TESCO FOR FOREIGN CURRENCY..

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Bobo

21st December 2018

They can’t keep their promises to deliver on time. It’s a big fat sweet lie to deliver in 2 working days! I have to go on the on through different people long process to get the money from Tesco travel money desk, total spent 5 hours to go through. Not recommended at all.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Gerry Lewis

10th December 2018

I have just realised Ive got 1.2236 exchange rate yesterday Sunday (non working day) and the rate today and online is generally 1.2556 and above so I have lost around £20 on my £1000 transaction. The bonus was I could pay with my Tesco credit card with no interest until statement date but otherwise if I had checked the rates I wouldn't have used them. Maybe I should have ordered beforehand. They saw me coming. Feel a bit ripped off.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Hichem Mohammedi

7th December 2018

I had to give them one star to send my review even though they don't deserve it, I used that service and I was supposed to collect the foreign currency from one of their stores one day before I travel, they couldn't deliver on time so I had to cancel and get the money from somewhere else, and yet I traveled and came back and still waiting for my money to be refunded, it's been more the 11 day's, If I look for only one word to describe that service it would be theft. They don't deliver on time, when you cancel they take cancellation fee and hold your money 10 day's in their account so they get interest charges in their favour. Using your money!!

  • I ordered £1700 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Felix

2nd December 2018

Rang them up to change date of collection, quick answering and nice woman called Julia quickly dealt with it

  • I ordered £200 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Steve Taylor

24th November 2018

Getting the travel money was poor. Tesco bank contacted me and explained that whilst they had taken the money from my account they'd had a glitch and would sort it out. It would require a different collection code which would be forwarded in within 24 hours but I wouldn't be able to collect it on the day originally stated. Code wasn't forwarded until later than promised! Collected money ok. Tried to return surplus today. After 20 minutes with the clerk trying to a ring a number that didn't answer for her I lost patience and walked away to try another exchange Utterly shambolic with no service whatsoever. Finally one could complain if you are prepared to pay a premium rate phone charge!!!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Vietnamese Dongs
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

G W

17th November 2018

Beware of their buy back rate !

Alan whittam

15th October 2018

Excellent service .ordered on net which gave me better exchange rate than shopping on high street. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Thumbs up.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Mrs Watson

22nd September 2018

Whilst the logistics of ordering money online and collecting was very straightforward as I expected, the customer service at the Ilkeston travel money bureau was poor. As a customer that never makes complaints, I have to say the two female staff were unpleasant, with an attitude of really could not be bothered to serve you. One made a sarcastic remark about ordering online, whilst the other worker served. There was not one smile or greeting, and when finished the transaction and money was handed over with no acknowledgement just stared at. Made to feel very uncomfortable and just down right rude. Staff letting down what are being very straightforward procedure.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Kirky

15th September 2018

Placed an order online, order confirmed and money taken, 2 days before travel they called to advise they could not get the currency, so why confirm the order? When asked about a refund they said 2 weeks !!! Managed to get a payment earlier but begrudgingly by them. Then guess what they refunded again!! Now they are trying to get money back over the phone when they have a No ID Caller and can’t verify who they are. There are much better currency firms to deal with and better rates, steer clear

  • I ordered £100 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Jayjay

12th September 2018

Dreadful experience, big mistake made by customer assistant at Tesco Travel Money, Hibel Rd, Macclesfield. I complained to Tesco Travel Money (Travelex deal with their complaints) who would not take any responsibility or compensate so I ended up seriously out of pocket. I will not be using Tesco Travel Money or Travelex again !

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Denys

8th September 2018

Great experience. Ordered online and collected from local store the next day. The exchange rate was perhaps not quite as good as other online services but was wary of having to pay by bank transfer, so used Tesco and paid by debit card - easy!!!

  • I ordered £1800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Gillian

6th September 2018

Tesco, Stockton on Tees. I am a very, frequent and experienced, world traveller, living in Australia, visiting Europe. I asked numerous times about price match before ordering Bulgarian Lev. I was assured price match was promised if anywhere local provided a better rate on the day of collection. Half an hour before I collected my money I found a better rate in Stockton High Street with cash available. As I'd ordered the money from Tesco I did the right thing and went to collect it, presuming the price-match promise stood. How wrong I was. The assistant told me she could not match that particular shop....no explanation given, anywhere else but this one place! I have found nothing in the rules and regulations of Tesco's currency exchange to explain this. The difference was minimal. On the whim of this assistant I was given a lower rate ( had to have the cash as was leaving soon). Very disappointing! Be aware!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Bulgarian Lev
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Tesco Bank

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No

Tesco Bank provide a convenient and secure online ordering system where you can order your currency online for home delivery or pick it up from one of hundreds of dedicated Click & Collect stores around the UK. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Travel destinations where they speak English (Africa and Southern America)

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 24th April 2019

From our last post, we introduced you to countries around Europe and Asia where they speak practically perfect English nearly everywhere you go. Now, we’re going to explore Africa and Southern America... read more

Bank holiday favourites

Posted by Sam Stone on 19th April 2019

The four day Easter break is the biggest bank holiday weekend of the year for most office workers. An estimated 27 million cars in the UK alone are set to jam our motorways, and airports will be bursting... read more

Breathtaking motorcycle rides across Australia

Australia is one of the most unique places on earth, ranging from unique landscapes and wildlife, all the way to the climate that’s just ideal for motorcycle driving. This is why choosing the travel m... read more

Travel destinations where they speak English (Asia and Europe)

It’s understandable if you get tired of a language barrier on your trips. This is because adapting to new cultures is challenging enough, so don’t worry. There are plenty of countries around... read more

How to prepare for working abroad

Nowadays, living and working abroad appears to be an aspiration for many in their careers. Whether it’s to have a change of lifestyle or roles are in higher demand elsewhere, opting for an international j... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2019 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
For insurance booking, Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.