Compare Holiday Money Logo

Tesco Bank reviews

Good 3.6 / 5

Based on 118 reviews Write Review

Alan whittam

15th October 2018

Excellent service .ordered on net which gave me better exchange rate than shopping on high street. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Thumbs up.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Mrs Watson

22nd September 2018

Whilst the logistics of ordering money online and collecting was very straightforward as I expected, the customer service at the Ilkeston travel money bureau was poor. As a customer that never makes complaints, I have to say the two female staff were unpleasant, with an attitude of really could not be bothered to serve you. One made a sarcastic remark about ordering online, whilst the other worker served. There was not one smile or greeting, and when finished the transaction and money was handed over with no acknowledgement just stared at. Made to feel very uncomfortable and just down right rude. Staff letting down what are being very straightforward procedure.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Kirky

15th September 2018

Placed an order online, order confirmed and money taken, 2 days before travel they called to advise they could not get the currency, so why confirm the order? When asked about a refund they said 2 weeks !!! Managed to get a payment earlier but begrudgingly by them. Then guess what they refunded again!! Now they are trying to get money back over the phone when they have a No ID Caller and can’t verify who they are. There are much better currency firms to deal with and better rates, steer clear

  • I ordered £100 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Jayjay

12th September 2018

Dreadful experience, big mistake made by customer assistant at Tesco Travel Money, Hibel Rd, Macclesfield. I complained to Tesco Travel Money (Travelex deal with their complaints) who would not take any responsibility or compensate so I ended up seriously out of pocket. I will not be using Tesco Travel Money or Travelex again !

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Denys

8th September 2018

Great experience. Ordered online and collected from local store the next day. The exchange rate was perhaps not quite as good as other online services but was wary of having to pay by bank transfer, so used Tesco and paid by debit card - easy!!!

  • I ordered £1800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Gillian

6th September 2018

Tesco, Stockton on Tees. I am a very, frequent and experienced, world traveller, living in Australia, visiting Europe. I asked numerous times about price match before ordering Bulgarian Lev. I was assured price match was promised if anywhere local provided a better rate on the day of collection. Half an hour before I collected my money I found a better rate in Stockton High Street with cash available. As I'd ordered the money from Tesco I did the right thing and went to collect it, presuming the price-match promise stood. How wrong I was. The assistant told me she could not match that particular shop....no explanation given, anywhere else but this one place! I have found nothing in the rules and regulations of Tesco's currency exchange to explain this. The difference was minimal. On the whim of this assistant I was given a lower rate ( had to have the cash as was leaving soon). Very disappointing! Be aware!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Bulgarian Lev
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Gordon E

25th August 2018

Ordered at 11 am Friday before a bank holiday; received at home on an island by noon on Saturday with nice mix of denominations in both currencies ordered. Flawless service, very easy to use.

  • I ordered £220 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Pauline

25th August 2018

Checked all rates online, tried to find instore rate but wasn't easily available (I could not find it) decided to go to the store as not always home for delivery, only when I arrived home and checked the in-store rate was appallingly less than the on-line rate. On-line rate.......1.0884 In-store rate......1.0610 Absolutely appalled there can be such a vast difference.

  • I ordered £603 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Alex

24th August 2018

Exchange rates in store and online are different without any explanation. Online when you check does not show the exchange rates in store.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Brian Thurgood

20th August 2018

Tesco Bank first class.Book lira on line collected from local store. Got the correct amount at a great rate

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Andrea Deacon

17th August 2018

Poor contact service.rang Ilkeston Tesco for info on availability of Swedish Krona ..no travel staff in at 9.10 am! Looked online...no info there! Rang travel office central no. No answer. Rang store again ...cut off! Rang again...directed to Tesco mobile! Rang 3x more. Finally got through to lady at Ilkeston travel shop...no Swedish Krona! Took 55mins to get this info!!! Local post office answered right away and have currency in stock. Exchange rate is a bit higher but their communication is worth every extra Krona!!

W walker

12th August 2018

Bought currency 10 x 1000 Icelandic krona notes and only used 6 so on return decided to return unused notes, was made to feel like a criminal, notes were apparently not on their system ( remember they supplied these in the first place) so how does this work, on checking with Icelandic bank found these notes to be perfectly legal so why does Tesco now question legality of what they passed on to me in the first place?

  • I ordered £75 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Elizabeth Lewis

29th July 2018

They don't charge a fee, but gave 1 kroner in the pound less than they said, so I'm unhappy. Having checked before and after, both exchange rates were still 8.something but they gave 7. Not going back. Once bitten....

  • I ordered £200 worth of Danish Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Rebekah

19th July 2018

From ordering my money to going and collecting it was very easy I had a gear experience with them.

  • I ordered £225 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Alexander

15th July 2018

Bought Barbadian dollars online to collect from Tesco New Malden and the collection booth was closed all day - a Saturday before I was travelling

  • I ordered £250 worth of Barbados Dollars
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Graham

20th June 2018

web site doesnt work cant select any store apart from london

Keith

12th June 2018

Excellent every thing went well spot on

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Aaron

29th May 2018

Really good service and would defiantly recommend to anyone.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Sean stevens

25th May 2018

I ordered 200€ which arrived when stated no problems at all would use them again providing the rates are good

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Bryan Brown

20th May 2018

I ordered euros click and collect. I went to collect the euros I ordered and they had not been delivered at that time. I returned later to be told they still had not been delivered. Tesco gave me the phone to speak to an advisor from travlex who said there would be a 24 hour delay. I explained I was flying out in the morning. The advisor said sorry there was nothing they could do. Also I would not be refunded in time to purchase euros from the airport (7-14 days). I was on the phone for an hour and kept getting put on hold but still said sorry and that was it. It cost me a lot more money to get euros from the airport and left me penniless on holiday. It really ruined my family holiday. I will never use them again for travel money and I would urge people not to either. I have written to the managing director from Tesco and have a meeting with my local MP because this is disgusting how theses companies can treat consumers when they get it wrong.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Rach

19th May 2018

5* service. Best online rate for Peruvian currency. No card charge either. Nothing to complain about. I actually went earlier than my time slot for collection and there was no problem. Definitely will use again. If you follow the instuctions for collection.. ID and card used to buy then it should be a smooth transaction all round.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Nicola

16th May 2018

Great service, ordered Qatar Riyal notes on Monday night, arrived before 1pm on Wednesday by special delivery. Would have no hesitation in using again

  • I ordered £160 worth of Qatar Riyals
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Paul Watts

15th May 2018

Currency delivered via Special Delivery on the designated day. Good denomination of notes. Tesco were the best deal on my day of ordering.Happy to recommend.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Rob Grant

6th May 2018

Total waste of time, poor service, even worse customer care. We ordered euros, I had pre-paid using my wifes debit card. When we went to the store they refused to give us the Euros as it was two different people that had purchased them. We explained to the cashier that it’s a debit card we we both hold a card to the same account, we provided both debit cards showing they were linked with same sort code & account number and photo ID to prove that we were married and lived at the same address, the cashier refused. He was arrogant and rude to say the least! I asked to cancel the transaction and he then treated us as we had asked him to perform a miracle. After 20 minuets of him being on the phone he informed us that the transaction had been cancelled and we would receive the refund in 10 days! It took them 10 mins to get the money out of account but it takes 10 days to put it back. The service was less than poor and the customer service from the employee was way below the level expected fro this size of organisation. I will never use them again

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Neil Jenkins

1st May 2018

Shocking service with Tesco Bank. I ordered Singapore dollars to arrive next day which failed to arrive. Tesco claim that if the money is ordered before 2pm it is guaranteed to arrive next day. I ordered the money at 10am and received an e mail shortly after to say it had been dispatched. After waiting in all day the money failed to arrive and after contacting the bank I have now been told there is a delay. I now have to travel without the cash so save youreself the hassle and buy elsewhere.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Singapore Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Tesco Bank

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No

Tesco Bank provide a convenient and secure online ordering system where you can order your currency online for home delivery or pick it up from one of hundreds of dedicated Click & Collect stores around the UK. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Fancy a European road trip?

Posted by Sam Stone on 9th October 2018

A road trip is the ultimate way to explore the bewildering beauty of any country. However, after toll charges and rental car fees, petrol costs can be one of the biggest holiday expenses. No one wants... read more

Paying for your Travel Money

Posted by Compare Holiday Money on 8th October 2018

Most UK travel money suppliers allow you to pay for your currency in a number of different ways. The payment method you choose is important because it affects whether or not you pay any extra fees during... read more

How to get better currency rates?

Have you ever bought currency exchange money and think… this is so terrible! Well we’re about to tell you how to get better currency rates and how to not feel like you’ve been ripped... read more

Pawnbrokers and travel money

Pawnbrokers and travel money don’t necessarily fit together on first thoughts, but certainly Ramsdens, H & T Pawnbrokers, Albermarle Bond and The Money Shop are big, well established companies that w... read more

Budget-stretching toll roads

Risking life and limb on foreign high-speed toll roads isn’t the best way to start a relaxing well-earned holiday. It is also an expensive way to burn through your hard-earned budget. In an ideal world, rea... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.