Compare Holiday Money Logo

Tesco Bank reviews

Good 3.5 / 5

Based on 123 reviews Write Review

Gerry Lewis

10th December 2018

I have just realised Ive got 1.2236 exchange rate yesterday Sunday (non working day) and the rate today and online is generally 1.2556 and above so I have lost around £20 on my £1000 transaction. The bonus was I could pay with my Tesco credit card with no interest until statement date but otherwise if I had checked the rates I wouldn't have used them. Maybe I should have ordered beforehand. They saw me coming. Feel a bit ripped off.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Hichem Mohammedi

7th December 2018

I had to give them one star to send my review even though they don't deserve it, I used that service and I was supposed to collect the foreign currency from one of their stores one day before I travel, they couldn't deliver on time so I had to cancel and get the money from somewhere else, and yet I traveled and came back and still waiting for my money to be refunded, it's been more the 11 day's, If I look for only one word to describe that service it would be theft. They don't deliver on time, when you cancel they take cancellation fee and hold your money 10 day's in their account so they get interest charges in their favour. Using your money!!

  • I ordered £1700 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Felix

2nd December 2018

Rang them up to change date of collection, quick answering and nice woman called Julia quickly dealt with it

  • I ordered £200 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Steve Taylor

24th November 2018

Getting the travel money was poor. Tesco bank contacted me and explained that whilst they had taken the money from my account they'd had a glitch and would sort it out. It would require a different collection code which would be forwarded in within 24 hours but I wouldn't be able to collect it on the day originally stated. Code wasn't forwarded until later than promised! Collected money ok. Tried to return surplus today. After 20 minutes with the clerk trying to a ring a number that didn't answer for her I lost patience and walked away to try another exchange Utterly shambolic with no service whatsoever. Finally one could complain if you are prepared to pay a premium rate phone charge!!!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Vietnamese Dongs
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

G W

17th November 2018

Beware of their buy back rate !

Alan whittam

15th October 2018

Excellent service .ordered on net which gave me better exchange rate than shopping on high street. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Thumbs up.

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Mrs Watson

22nd September 2018

Whilst the logistics of ordering money online and collecting was very straightforward as I expected, the customer service at the Ilkeston travel money bureau was poor. As a customer that never makes complaints, I have to say the two female staff were unpleasant, with an attitude of really could not be bothered to serve you. One made a sarcastic remark about ordering online, whilst the other worker served. There was not one smile or greeting, and when finished the transaction and money was handed over with no acknowledgement just stared at. Made to feel very uncomfortable and just down right rude. Staff letting down what are being very straightforward procedure.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Kirky

15th September 2018

Placed an order online, order confirmed and money taken, 2 days before travel they called to advise they could not get the currency, so why confirm the order? When asked about a refund they said 2 weeks !!! Managed to get a payment earlier but begrudgingly by them. Then guess what they refunded again!! Now they are trying to get money back over the phone when they have a No ID Caller and can’t verify who they are. There are much better currency firms to deal with and better rates, steer clear

  • I ordered £100 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Jayjay

12th September 2018

Dreadful experience, big mistake made by customer assistant at Tesco Travel Money, Hibel Rd, Macclesfield. I complained to Tesco Travel Money (Travelex deal with their complaints) who would not take any responsibility or compensate so I ended up seriously out of pocket. I will not be using Tesco Travel Money or Travelex again !

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Denys

8th September 2018

Great experience. Ordered online and collected from local store the next day. The exchange rate was perhaps not quite as good as other online services but was wary of having to pay by bank transfer, so used Tesco and paid by debit card - easy!!!

  • I ordered £1800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Gillian

6th September 2018

Tesco, Stockton on Tees. I am a very, frequent and experienced, world traveller, living in Australia, visiting Europe. I asked numerous times about price match before ordering Bulgarian Lev. I was assured price match was promised if anywhere local provided a better rate on the day of collection. Half an hour before I collected my money I found a better rate in Stockton High Street with cash available. As I'd ordered the money from Tesco I did the right thing and went to collect it, presuming the price-match promise stood. How wrong I was. The assistant told me she could not match that particular shop....no explanation given, anywhere else but this one place! I have found nothing in the rules and regulations of Tesco's currency exchange to explain this. The difference was minimal. On the whim of this assistant I was given a lower rate ( had to have the cash as was leaving soon). Very disappointing! Be aware!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Bulgarian Lev
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Gordon E

25th August 2018

Ordered at 11 am Friday before a bank holiday; received at home on an island by noon on Saturday with nice mix of denominations in both currencies ordered. Flawless service, very easy to use.

  • I ordered £220 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Pauline

25th August 2018

Checked all rates online, tried to find instore rate but wasn't easily available (I could not find it) decided to go to the store as not always home for delivery, only when I arrived home and checked the in-store rate was appallingly less than the on-line rate. On-line rate.......1.0884 In-store rate......1.0610 Absolutely appalled there can be such a vast difference.

  • I ordered £603 worth of Euros
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Alex

24th August 2018

Exchange rates in store and online are different without any explanation. Online when you check does not show the exchange rates in store.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Brian Thurgood

20th August 2018

Tesco Bank first class.Book lira on line collected from local store. Got the correct amount at a great rate

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Andrea Deacon

17th August 2018

Poor contact service.rang Ilkeston Tesco for info on availability of Swedish Krona ..no travel staff in at 9.10 am! Looked online...no info there! Rang travel office central no. No answer. Rang store again ...cut off! Rang again...directed to Tesco mobile! Rang 3x more. Finally got through to lady at Ilkeston travel shop...no Swedish Krona! Took 55mins to get this info!!! Local post office answered right away and have currency in stock. Exchange rate is a bit higher but their communication is worth every extra Krona!!

W walker

12th August 2018

Bought currency 10 x 1000 Icelandic krona notes and only used 6 so on return decided to return unused notes, was made to feel like a criminal, notes were apparently not on their system ( remember they supplied these in the first place) so how does this work, on checking with Icelandic bank found these notes to be perfectly legal so why does Tesco now question legality of what they passed on to me in the first place?

  • I ordered £75 worth of Icelandic Krona
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Elizabeth Lewis

29th July 2018

They don't charge a fee, but gave 1 kroner in the pound less than they said, so I'm unhappy. Having checked before and after, both exchange rates were still 8.something but they gave 7. Not going back. Once bitten....

  • I ordered £200 worth of Danish Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Rebekah

19th July 2018

From ordering my money to going and collecting it was very easy I had a gear experience with them.

  • I ordered £225 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Alexander

15th July 2018

Bought Barbadian dollars online to collect from Tesco New Malden and the collection booth was closed all day - a Saturday before I was travelling

  • I ordered £250 worth of Barbados Dollars
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others

Graham

20th June 2018

web site doesnt work cant select any store apart from london

Keith

12th June 2018

Excellent every thing went well spot on

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Aaron

29th May 2018

Really good service and would defiantly recommend to anyone.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Sean stevens

25th May 2018

I ordered 200€ which arrived when stated no problems at all would use them again providing the rates are good

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Bryan Brown

20th May 2018

I ordered euros click and collect. I went to collect the euros I ordered and they had not been delivered at that time. I returned later to be told they still had not been delivered. Tesco gave me the phone to speak to an advisor from travlex who said there would be a 24 hour delay. I explained I was flying out in the morning. The advisor said sorry there was nothing they could do. Also I would not be refunded in time to purchase euros from the airport (7-14 days). I was on the phone for an hour and kept getting put on hold but still said sorry and that was it. It cost me a lot more money to get euros from the airport and left me penniless on holiday. It really ruined my family holiday. I will never use them again for travel money and I would urge people not to either. I have written to the managing director from Tesco and have a meeting with my local MP because this is disgusting how theses companies can treat consumers when they get it wrong.

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Tesco Bank to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Tesco Bank

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No

Tesco Bank provide a convenient and secure online ordering system where you can order your currency online for home delivery or pick it up from one of hundreds of dedicated Click & Collect stores around the UK. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Travel planning in the future

Posted by Sam Stone on 11th December 2018

The notion of using an assistant to plan travel itineraries, hotels, flights, car hire, even currency exchange, has been around for decades. It’s such a popular solution that a few of the big travel ... read more

Middle East currencies and travel tips

Posted by Graham Morley on 30th November 2018

It’s fair to say that some parts of the middle east for instance Syria, are troubled by conflict at the moment so you may not have it high on your bucket list of places to visit. However, many places i... read more

Your holiday money can make a difference

How to spend your holiday money responsibly was high on the agenda at a World Travel conference in London recently. Responsible Tourism was the buzzword coming from many of the stands. And it was evident... read more

Post Office travel money rates compared

Post Office travel money rates compared with the best and the worst rates available on Compare Holiday Money. I think it’s fair to say that the Post Office has more places to exchange your pound sterling f... read more

How to be a Responsible Tourist

Thanks to social media, people are exploring other sides of the world more than ever. It is wonderful because earth has so much to offer. It becomes bad only when people really treat places and cultures... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.