Compare Holiday Money Logo

Tesco Bank reviews

Good 3.8 / 5

Based on 89 reviews Write Review

Julie

17th April 2018

Never again. I ordered Norwegian Krone on Thursday online which wasnt ready until Monday afternoon, the day before I was due to travel. I took my passport as ID but I was unable to collect the money that was already paid for. This was because I couldn't remember the pin to verify card. So despite having passport photo ID I had no choice but to cancel the order that now wont be refunded for 8 days. I went to Sainsbury's, hassle and stress free.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Andrew dunn

7th April 2018

Ordered 1000 money in Mexican peso on a Saturday told be ready for collection on a Friday 8 days later to days before got a phone call saying didn't have money or all the money till following Monday 11 days when I collect terrible service so far Ile update monday

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Mexican Pesos
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Chris L-H

4th April 2018

Every time I have ordered Euros through Tesco Bank, I was advised that they were unable to process my order which was then "put in review". This will certainly be the very last time I ever waste my time ordering foreign money via Tesco Bank.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Mikaela Walker

29th March 2018

If I could give 0 I would. Ordered £450 worth of euros on Monday and was told it would be ready after 3pm on Wednesday. I drive to the store at about 6pm only to find three very frazzled women behind the counter who just tell me my Euro’s aren’t here. Yet £450 has come out of my account. No explanation a part from that this has happened to 4 other people that day. I spend about half an hour ringing customer service and travel X (which charges my phone bill) for them to simply say it MIGHT be there the following day but no guarantees and there’s nothing they can do?! No explanation or anything. Terrible customer service and could be going on holiday with no money.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Jamesinashby

28th March 2018

I am not the best at dealing on line. I bought £100 worth this afternoon and managed fairly easily. I liked their security checks through the process as I worry about doing things like this on line. I think this is a good service and I shall pick up the kunas from my local Tesco store. I. Like that I have to collect myself with my passport or driving licence plus my card pin. This appears to be a very safe way to order currency on line.

  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Bob

20th March 2018

Frustrating experience. Following the time-consuming process of selecting which service to use, and then filling in all the details on the Tesco website for delivery of 400 CAD within two days, a box came on the screen showing that the order could not be verified at that time and that further verification would be needed (even though I'd filled in the 'verified by visa' box after submitting my card details). I decided to cancel and immediately tried, without success, to speak to customer services by phone in order to cancel the transaction. I then sent a message to the contact email address asking how I could cancel. No response to this request at all after two days.

  • I ordered £220.00 worth of Canadian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Martin

14th March 2018

Unfortunately only one star as I couldn't leave 0. Ordered money online for next day guaranteed delivery by 3pm. After a 30 mile drive to store the next day I was told there was a delay, after a 20 minute phone call by Tesco staff it turned out it was delivered to the wrong store ? I was refused a refund and promised it by 1pm the next day. following several calls the next day I was told it had been returned to the delivery depot ? following several more phone calls I asked for a refund I was promised it by the end of the day ? this never arrived. following more phone calls I was told there was a system failure and would be refunded the following day ? (day 3) I will wait and see. Tesco have a policy of 4 days to collect your money but it seems they do not have a policy for how long it takes to give it to you or how long it takes to get your money back. Be aware that every one you speak to will tell you a different story (excuse), as you have guessed I will not be using or recommending this service and we will no longer be using Tesco as our preferred store.

  • I ordered £503 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

R Taylor

13th March 2018

Service was very good on order and receipt of currency. But now informed 2 months later that there was a data breech and all my personal info stolen

  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Eugene Clarke

10th March 2018

Very smooth and best rate without having to use bank transfer.

  • I ordered £500 worth of South Korean Won
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Julie

26th February 2018

Ordered US dollars they were delivered 2days later free of charge. They were also the best rate that day. Fast and hassle free.

  • I ordered £500 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Alison Donald

17th February 2018

Placed an order online, was asked to choose when I would like to collect my currency. I chose 2 days ahead and within minutes of placing and paying my order I received an email with a time to collect. When I arrived at collection booth the girl on duty could not have been more pleasant and helpful. She thanked me for using Tesco and I told her that as I was not away on holiday until April, I would probably be back for more currency. She told that if I found it a better rate anywhere else in the area to come back and Tesco would match it. Great service could not fault.

  • I ordered £200 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Gillian Morse

12th February 2018

Waste of time ordered on line went to store to collect and booth was closed. Rate was different - not recommended

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Paige

8th February 2018

I ordered online to pick up, but they told me there that they couldn't accept my card as payment as it was a gift card! I'd been given money on a prepaid mastercard but Tesco refused to accept it! Was forced to accept a refund which takes up to 10 days to receive, meaning I'm left unable to buy from another place as Tesco are holding onto my money!

  • I ordered £100 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Charles Warnock

4th February 2018

Absolute rubbish service,was tol it was ready for collection at store,checked on stores website for opening times said 10:30-4:00,went along at 11 to be told that,”dunno think they get here at twelve ah maybe”,they call that customer service total joke,never again

  • I ordered £350 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Rebecca Williamson

3rd February 2018

Rate lower when I got to store that was after they opened the booth, difference was 20 euros so i did not bother waste of my time.

    P Day

    29th January 2018

    Have used Tesco on a number of occasions for Travel Money and todays service was just as good as previous times. Yes, you do need to make sure the online price is competitive but given the opportunity to book cash and Tesco will hold the rate at the price quoted means customers can wait for the best time to buy.

    • I ordered £750 worth of US Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

    brian

    7th January 2018

    cannot fault the service got my order next day with all the money i need with mixed notes also the best rate on market

    • I ordered £500 worth of Philippine Pesos
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

    Susie

    5th January 2018

    Was great! I ordered my Romanian Leu and was advised to collect 3 days later. I received an email within 24 hours to say it was ready to collect. The service and staff were 10 out of 10. Unfortunately the exchange rate has changed and I need more but will use Tesco again :)

    • I sold 300 Romanian Leu
    • I received the amount I was quoted
    • I was paid within three working days
    • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

    Mr Cole

    4th January 2018

    Ordered on Wednesday for Monday collection and it was ready on Thursday. A good mix of low and high denominations of notes NZ dollars. First class service and a good rate

    • I ordered £1000 worth of New Zealand Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

    Russ

    12th December 2017

    Went online but it came back as unable to complete, gave me a phone number to call. Call centre staff are excellent and helpful they located my online order and processed it there and then. Received my money less than 36 hours later delivered to my door

    • I ordered £1500 worth of Australian Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

    T.Arthur

    3rd December 2017

    went in to tesco princess road chelmsford this morning to pick up some australian dollars,not a big amount but the guy in the booth was an absolute pleasure to deal with will use the service again thank you

    • I ordered £23 worth of Australian Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

    Mohabub

    27th November 2017

    excellent service from the lady instore in rotherham tesco

    • I ordered £2000 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

    Pavel

    10th November 2017

    I ordered 600 Euros online and picked them up the following day at my local Tesco branch. Excellent service

    • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

    John

    31st October 2017

    Ordered online this morning and entered all info correctly(carefully checked twice)and used a Tesco credit card to pay but on the final leg the payment was not processed and requested me to go through process again which was really annoying and time consuming due to a disability in my hands. Rang the help no provided who was unable to explain why this had happened but passed me to sales who entered everything exactly the same and surprise surprise it went through without any problem but also was unable to explain why it had mysteriously bounced in the first place. i would haved rated this experience as one star but have raised to three stars due to the excellent customer service skills from both persons i spoke to resolve my problems. TESCO must properly review and update their online system to prevent this type of thing from happening with no ability to explain why is CLEARLY NOT ACCEPTABLE as it just needs some simple reprogramming without effecting security.

      KJS

      3rd October 2017

      Went in to Tesco in Castle Lane on several occasions only to find the kiosk closed during lunch time and after work.....which is when the majority of customers are more likely to have the chance to collect? I was unsuccessful at lunchtime so thought I'd try again after work.....the lady behind the kiosk refused to open (even though she recognised me from popping in previously at lunchtime). She was impolite, did not look like she wanted to be there, not very helpful.

      • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
      • My order was delivered on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

      Write a review of Tesco Bank

      Your name

      Your rating

      Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
      1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

      Your review

      Optional questions

      • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
      • How much travel money did you purchase?
        worth of
      • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
      • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
      • How much currency did you sell?
      • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
      • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
      • What currency did you transfer?
        to
      • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
      • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
      • What type of prepaid card did you order?
      • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
      • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
      • What kind of policy did you purchase?
        policy for
      • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
      • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No

      Tesco Bank provide a convenient and secure online ordering system where you can order your currency online for home delivery or pick it up from one of hundreds of dedicated Click & Collect stores around the UK. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

      Visit Website

      Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

      • Latest exchange rates delivered monthly to your inbox
      • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
      • Travel money and holiday articles and information
      Travelling light?

      Travelling light?

      Posted by Sam Stone on 13th April 2018

      Travelling light is not just about being careful with your money. Speed and weight are an attractive factor for minimising your luggage. However, the goal posts constantly sift and some airline weight restricti read more

      The Things To Do When Traveling

      The Things To Do When Traveling

      Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 9th April 2018

      Traveling can be so much fun because you get to try new and tasty food, take photos in each country’s famous spots, and just have fun and be free. But besides all those cool things you get to do, there are a read more