Tesco Bank reviews

163 Reviews Average | 3.3

Tesco Bank

http://www.tescobank.com/travel-money/

Get a better exchange rate if you choose to purchase any single currency online from £800 to £2500. Order and collect your cash from over 500 Tesco stores. Free home delivery on orders of £500 or more.

Write a review

Jennie

9 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

9 January 2020

I will never use a Tesco cash passport again. It has been declined several times and the app to reload it from my bank account onto the cash passport states error code all the time.

If it hadn't been for my brother living there I would have been completely stuck.!!!!

Liam higgins

6 January 2020

Bought Swiss francs

6 January 2020

Ordered Swiss francs mid December.

When I went to collect them they had spelt my name wrong and refused to give me the Swiss francs. My account had been debited. I was told my money would be refunded. It hasn’t yet.

When I telephoned on Friday 3rd January 2020 I was told there computer systems were down for the last 3 days and they could not help me. Think twice before using Tesco.

Scott

24 December 2019

Bought £1,274 worth of United Arab Emirates dirham

24 December 2019

I ordered £1274 worth of emirates dirham’s. The money was taking from my bank immediately and I was meant to receive my money 2 days before my holiday. I never received the money and now I am having difficulty getting a refund from tesco, who wont reply to my e mails

M M

15 December 2019

Bought Euros

15 December 2019

I have ordered Euros on line and collected from Tesco's Wokingham branch several times and never had a problem.

M M

15 December 2019

Bought Euros

15 December 2019

I have ordered Euros on line and collected from Tesco's Wokingham branch several times and never had a problem.

Tony Bence

5 November 2019

Bought £200 worth of Turkish lira

5 November 2019

OK, the online order process was fine BUT when the Turkish Lira arrived I was shocked to find simply 280 of 10 Lira notes, worth about 71p each! That bundle was about 30mm thick and would hardly fit in any wallet. Just consider, for a one week holiday, that means passing over over 40 notes each day! That's hardly very practical and very inconvenient. It was not even possible to try changing any notes for larger denominations as the nearest bank was a 40 minutes drive away - not wasting that time/effort!

The bank's agents did not understand that their actions caused any inconvenience and only investigated further after pressure. The reward was a £10 Tesco Voucher as compensation. They should have warned of the situation before dispatch and then an alternative supplier would have been used. Not going to trust Tesco Travel Money again.

J

18 October 2019

Bought £270 worth of US dollars

18 October 2019

I have twice bought US dollars from click and collect. They arrived when they said both times. But both times I was given large bills $100 and $50. Not many places in the US accept these due to the chances of forgery, much like our higher value notes here. There is no option to select the denomination you want. Until this is an option or I know I will get $20 bills or less I will no longer use this service. This time I’ve come back with $200 in notes I couldn’t spend so I’ll see if they’ll let me change back to pounds like they say they do.

Bruce

15 October 2019

Bought £1,500 worth of US dollars

15 October 2019

Great service. This is the 5th time I've used Tesco bank for currency. Free next day delivery to the Outer Hebrides; arriving on time, exactly as ordered and in a good spread of denominations. Cannot be faulted.

Rose Harrison

7 October 2019

Bought Mexican pesos

7 October 2019

Terrible customer service from the management.

Went in to pick up some pre-ordered travel money.

There was some problem with a form which should have been filled in and kept with the money, but hadn't been fully completed.

Don't know the details because it was entirely an internal Tesco's procedure.

The upshot was that they had to phone a manager, and I had to wait for her.

Nearly 15 minutes later she appeared, and had a chat with some management colleagues, then called over to the ladies on the customer service desk about some litter that had been left (while they were serving other customers). Then when they reminded her that I was waiting she said she knew, and carried on talking to one of the cashiers.

At this point I left having not been acknowledged by the manager once.

So will expect a refund in the fullness of time, though will be charged £10 for not picking up the cash, but I could not put up with being treated with such contempt for another minute.

Having worked in customer focused jobs I am appalled that someone with such disdain for customers would be working in a managerial position for a reputable company.

Mazzamor

20 September 2019

Bought £600 worth of Euros

20 September 2019

Shocking service, never again. Ordered currency 2 weeks in advance and the money was taken from my debit card immediately. A week later (so still more than a week before the collection date) I cancelled the order. 10 days later I am still awaiting a refund for something I never had. Customer service are useless just sending out ‘stock’ replies to emails that don’t answer your query.

NEVER again

Write a review of Tesco Bank

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?