Tesco Bank reviews

Tesco Bank are rated Average in 188 reviews

http://www.tescobank.com/travel-money/

Get a better exchange rate if you choose to purchase any single currency online from £800 to £2500. We offer competitive exchange rates and 0% commission on foreign currency. Order and collect your cash from selected Tesco stores. Free home delivery on orders of £500 or more. £3.95 delivery for orders under £500. Tesco Travel money ordered online or by telephone is provided by Travelex Currency Services Ltd.

Last reviewed 2 weeks ago

51% of reviews are positive

Does not reply to reviews

Write a review

Reviews by rating

Excellent 88 reviews are rated 5 stars 47%
Great 8 reviews are rated 4 stars 4%
Average 2 reviews are rated 3 stars 1%
Poor 12 reviews are rated 2 stars 6%
Bad 78 reviews are rated 1 star 41%

Reviews by day

Filter reviews

5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarCurrency BuybackPrepaid CardTravel MoneyCosta Rica colonsIcelandic kronaSwiss francsMexican pesos
DE

Debbie

1 Stars
1 Stars

17 June 2022

I ordered £300 worth of US dollars to pay for small items while on holiday. I was extremely disappointed to receive two x one hundred dollar and two x fifty dollar bills. Completely nonsensical! Who would want a small amount of cash in big bills? Spending these on small items is going to be near enough impossible. I mentioned when I picked them up that this was going to be a big problem but there was nothing that could be done. The assistant said she would buy elsewhere where you could ask for smaller denominations. I agree with her. I won't use this service again. Perhaps you could add a freeform box on the website where the customer can further detail their request ie large/small denomination bills.

SH

SH

5 Stars
5 Stars

17 June 2022

Bought Euros

17 June 2022

Ordered our money chose Tesco as they had a good rate and FSA approved.

No hassle, no extra fees applied.

Free delivery too (when you order over a certain amount)

Asked for a particular delivery date, all arrived no problem.

I would use again definitely.

JU

June

5 Stars
5 Stars

14 June 2022

I think people who are buying Lira need to realise that the only notes they sell are 200,100,50,20,10 and 5. Most places, such as Tesco, can not get anything bigger than 100 in so having lots of them will happen!

RJ

Robert Jacob

3 Stars
3 Stars

30 May 2022

Bought Euros

30 May 2022

Good euro exchange rate and nice staff. Website does not reflect accurately opening times or if closed all day due to staff problems hence a wasted journey.

RD

R Driver

1 Stars
1 Stars

27 May 2022

I really wish I had read these reviews before i ordered currency from Tesco! As most of the other reviews say... currency didn't arrive when it was supposed to. Quoted this was due to a courier delay. Lady in store got the currency dept on the phone and a very rude operator quoted a stupid disclaimer about deliveries aren't guaranteed on the day you request collection, they may take up to 2 further working days... pretty pointless offering collection on a certain day if its not going to arrive! Particularly when it involves travel money which is likely to be needed for a specific date.

Oh, yes and the best bit... refund takes between 2 - 10 working days.

The lady in store was very apologetic (obviously not her fault) and told me it happens all the time and something should be done by tesco currency to sort out the problem.

So I'd suggest avoiding ordering travel currency from Tesco if you'd actually like it to take on holiday with you!

JO

Jo

1 Stars
1 Stars

16 May 2022

Bought Turkish lira

16 May 2022

I ordered £2500 worth of Turkish Lira online. When I went to collect it I was shocked to see the highest denomination was 100 Turkish lira. I had over 500 notes ranging from 100 lira to 5 lira. 100 lira is worth around £5 while 5 lira is worth around 30p. I asked if this could changed and was told no. I emailed Tesco who said thank you for raising your concern and that was it. I then phoned Tesco and was told I could return it to branch and they would but it back at a lesser rate than I paid for it or I could return it by post at a cost to myself. All I wanted was for them to exchange the notes for a higher denomination but they refused. If we kept this morning we would have to carry a huge amount through customs and on the plane. If we wanted to go out while on holiday we would have to carry a large amount of money with us. Imagine carrying £2500 in £5 notes. I am extremely cross with Tesco’s response to this and they said by agreeing to the terms and conditions I agreed to accept any denomination. I find it hard to believe that they had no higher denomination and that anybody thinks it’s ok to give me this amount of notes. Tesco have made a big cock up here but I will end up being out of pocket because of their incompetence. Customer services couldn’t have cared less. Every little helps is their motto apart from when it comes to customer care it would appear. I will never use Tesco again to exchange money and will not recommend them to anyone. A total shambles.

JG

JG

1 Stars
1 Stars

11 May 2022

Bought Euros

11 May 2022

TERRIBLE!! I ordered £1000 and once I paid I was then informed I had to collect from a store 5 miles away and not my local store. Once I collected they had sent me 6 x €100 notes. I spent 30 minutes on the phone trying to return them to no avail. No other exchange company issue €100 notes as many places will not accept them. Therefore I am stuck with currency which I may not be able to change. DO NOT use Tesco exchange!!

GC

GC

1 Stars
1 Stars

8 May 2022

I’ve now been told that my currency which was ordered last Tuesday will not be in store until next Tuesday despite receiving an email to say to pick it up on Friday.

When I phoned, the agent was very unhelpful and said to read the small print!

Not very customer friendly!!!

Will def not be getting my holiday money from Tesco again.

PH

Peter Hurd

5 Stars
5 Stars

1 May 2022

deliverd on time no probs.Good service.

JC

JC

2 Stars
2 Stars

30 April 2022

Ordered on line, received confirmation and pick-up place date and time. went to pick-up, to be told, no money arrived, not got my name, nothing can be done. Phoned queries, to be told, yes the confirmation is correct but the money didn't get sent and i should have received a call to advise me of this, Sorry this didn't happen! here is the store number to phone to check if the money has arrived before you collect it next time, which is after the weekend and bank holiday.

Not at all organised or compensated for inconvenience.

Write a review of Tesco Bank

Rate your experience

Write your review

What product or service are you reviewing?