Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Tesco Bank reviews

Very Good 4.1 / 5

Based on 63 reviews Write Review

Cheryl hurst

22nd September 2017

Looked on line,went into local store was given same rate Excellent service wigan branch

  • I ordered £550 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

D. Munro

4th September 2017

I ordered £203 of Euros online on Tuesday, delivered to my local Long Eaton branch on Wednesday... excellent I thought. Checked my bank statement on Friday - they'd deducted £203 twice from my account, so it was now overdrawn... Went to the branch, woman on counter hopeless, she said she wanted proof that the money had indeed been withdrawn from my account, tried to get my mobile to work but unsuccessful, then she gave me number of Travelex and asked me to contact them... When I said I felt like I was being blamed for something not my fault she told me not to raise my voice to her! I hadn't. Clearly unprepared to help further, so left; fortunately my bank sorted things and has contacted Tesco for an explanation. No explanation, no apology. I have written to the store manager. Avoid!

  • I ordered £203 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Susan Bryan

30th August 2017

I ordered my Euros to be picked up from my local store next day and then recieved a call to say due to sickness they could not give me my money until a later date as no staff to open the desk. I could have a refund in 3-10 days!! RUBBISH SERVICE

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Michael Bolton

28th August 2017

I ordered 1500 Euros online and picked them up the following day at my local Tesco store. Excellent service!!!

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Christine Davies

25th August 2017

Ordered euros on line Thursday and received them at 10.30am the next day cannot fault them in anyway

  • I ordered £1400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Midge

13th August 2017

Drove 30 miles to collect money. Desk closed as single person allocated to the task was off sick. No backup. Unclear if the person would be back the following day. I did get notification after midday, long after I had already been to the store. The next day I phoned the store many times and just got put on hold each time. Finally I phoned Tesco bank directly and got though at which time I was do fed up that I cancelled the order and decided to buy from Asda instead, which had a slightly better rate as well. How did Tesco get an award for this atrocious service?

  • I ordered £500 worth of Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

M.Richards

2nd August 2017

Terrible Went twice to the store and both times the desk was closed. had to wait for the guy to come back off lunch. Wouldnt have minded if they had made their opening time known on their web site

  • I ordered £600 worth of Canadian Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Eleanor Tyagi

20th July 2017

I bought some Swedish krona from Tesco about 2 weeks before going on holiday. I tried to spend a 100 krona note whilst in Sweden but they said it had been discontinued 2 weeks previously. I took it back to Tesco today but they couldn't buy it back because it had been discontinued! Make sure the notes they give you are all new.

  • I ordered £50 worth of Swedish Krona
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Peter Aitken

13th July 2017

Very unhelpful. You cannot specify the note denominations or cancel your order once placed.

  • I ordered £250 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Mrs J

12th July 2017

Tesco kept their word and did not charge extra for credit card but my bank said that they could not claim to use credit cards for free.lf l had not seen this in print l would not have used Visa Credit.l was charged an extra £12.95 with more next month.!!!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

waynee

4th July 2017

used yesterday and ordered at 1.30pm.Currency arrived at 8:50am next day. Great service

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

G.Gauntlett

28th June 2017

Purchased £600 of Euros , shown on line as 1.11+ to the pound but only received 1.09 and charged £5 for the transaction.

  • I ordered £600 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Dean C

22nd June 2017

Checked on line and their rate was at 1.1098, so I went to my local branch. At the branch it was 1.08, quite a difference. I mentioned this to them and they matched the rate they had on line.

  • I ordered £550 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Heron

16th June 2017

Tesco rate is not accurate , exchange £1000 today in shop rate given1.0995,rate online £1.1209 ! Checking with contact advised that is can vary from shop to shop ! Tesco are offering £5 reduction for every £500 exchanged .this is effectively zero if lower rate given ! My mistake will not use Tesco again , their true rate is one of the worst available today !

  • I ordered £1115 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Rick Bowman

16th June 2017

Brilliant. Ordered just before 2.00 pm one day and received next day within 24hrs of ordering. First class communication as well. Will use again and fully recommend.

  • I ordered £500.00 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

Terry Roper

30th May 2017

First class. Easy to order and use Tesco Credit card if I chose. Advised by email when euros were ready to collect and no problem collecting them. Will definitely use again although the rates were a shade below some others I trust the Tesco organisation.

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Tesco Bank to others

David Morgan

20th June 2016

Went to collect money then offered 1.23 ,said it was higher then left Ely Store came back with price match then said it was not allowed ,Then asked for my £5.00p discount only to be told if i wanted better rate i.e 1.24 could not have it. Please avoid .

  • I ordered £502 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Gary Fletcher

14th June 2016

Competitive rate and superb delivery . Added benefit of being able to pay with my tesco credit card without incurring fee. One downside and hence not 5 stars is fact that you cannot request preferred note domination. Out of my 1000 euros , 650 were made up of large notes 50/100, pretty certain I will have problem spending my x4 100 euro notes. As such, may not use Tesco again if they typically supply large notes

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

paul

12th June 2016

very easy process placed order on a Sunday and had a Email euros were ready too pick up earlier than i was expected ....and tesco hold the money for 3 days just in case you cant get there...Will use again...

  • I ordered £750 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Chris Howard

8th June 2016

Rung the help line as I am not keen on internet transactions. All dealt with over the phone.Got the online rate.Really happy. Nice service when I collected the money from our local branch.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Claire

27th May 2016

Ordered online had a problem with my Visa Debit, couldn't input my details rung up and did on the phone, very helpful got good online rate, better than instore.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Getcarter

16th May 2016

Simple online ordering and payment, prompt e mails confirming, no dramas on collection

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Carolyn

15th May 2016

I ordered the euros in the morning expecting them to be in the following day, had a call to see they were in the same afternoon. Excellent customer services will definitely use again, best of all because I have a Tesco Credit card I do not have to pay an additional fee whilst ordering on line

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Bee Brown

11th May 2016

So easy to order and collect from my local large Tesco. I always manage to pick up before the stated time and the staff are very polite. I like the way Tesco offer the same rate whether you buy £100 or £1000!

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Helen

29th April 2016

First time I've ordered currency online. Arrived day after order placed - will do this again!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Tesco Bank

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Tesco Bank to others?Yes No

Tesco Bank provide a convenient and secure online ordering system where you can order your currency online and pick it up from one of hundreds of dedicated Click & Collect stores around the UK. Note: these are ONLINE rates - you may get a lower rate in-store unless you order online in advance.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Posted by Matthew Weston on 24th September 2017

The number of people going self-employed in the creative and business sectors is increasing at a faster rate than ever before. As a journalism student, I was told that nearly everybody in my class will have to read more

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

Posted by Holly Burgess on 23rd September 2017

When planning your travels, the most important thing to decide is where in the world you want to go. But wouldn’t it be great if you could select the specific room you wanted to stay in? Thomas Cook ha read more