Compare Holiday Money Logo

Travel FX reviews

Very Good 4.9 / 5

Based on 1601 reviews Write Review

Richard Wiston

12th October 2018

Used them for the second time this month, very easy application form and best rates on the market. Cash delivered by Registered Post after notification by email of despatch. Very good all round service but can understand potential clients being put off by needing to pay by BACS transfer - they do not accept cards.

  • I ordered £1250 worth of New Zealand Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Joan

12th October 2018

All very good and the rate was the best at the time. Would use again.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

GTH

12th October 2018

Excellent. Got a fantastic rate for USD and good mix of notes delivered as promised. thanks TFX!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Hayley

11th October 2018

Disappointed. Didn't arrive the day I requested, so I had an hour round trip to collect from the royal mail delivery office. Asked for small denominations (I was changing up for the family rather than individually) as we're all inclusive and knew we wouldn't have large bills whilst on holiday, they said that for that I'd have to pay extra. Would have then made the rate change one of the lowest, so I took my chances thinking they'd at least try. Received €100's and €50's which are no good when you're only going to be buying bits and pieces. Will stick with the other online company I've used before going forward

  • I ordered £950 worth of Euros
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travel FX to others

Gary W

11th October 2018

Was a bit doubtful of sending money to a company I didn't know; the ratings were 5 star so I gave it a go. Communication was great, money arrived a day before I asked for it. They did exactly what they said they would do. Will be using them again soon.

  • I ordered £4490 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

happy

9th October 2018

Got a great rate for euros the best on the comprae site and arrived in good time.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Vinny

5th October 2018

4th time that I have used Travel FX and every time they have been fandabbydozy. I would not use anybody else for my foreign currency they have the best rates and without a doubt their service is second to none. In regards to the previous post, i also have a joint account and not once have I encountered any kind of problems whatsoever.

  • I ordered £3500 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Alison Perrett

3rd October 2018

I sold Australian dollars Amazing I posted the money off on Monday by teatime Tuesday the money was in my bank and got £170 more than the high street rate

  • I sold 3000 Australian Dollars
  • I received the amount I was quoted
  • I was paid within three working days
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Travel FX replied

4th October 2018

Hi Alison, that's a good saving. Thanks for using us. Regards The FX Co

Ruth

3rd October 2018

I bought online very easily, best rate I could find, my money arrived next day! Excellent service

  • I ordered £300 worth of Croatian Kuna
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Stuart Newton

30th September 2018

Excellent service all round, ordered US Dollars on Thursday delivered to me Saturday morning all in the smaller denominations which I asked for. Couldn’t of asked for any better. I would Travel FX again no question.

  • I ordered £1300 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Donna

28th September 2018

This was the 2nd time I’ve used Travel FX to change currency & both times have had excellent service Must admit I was a little nervous bank transferring such a large amount of money but no need to worry at all. Ordered Wednesday afternoon and money was delivered today(Friday). Had a good variety of denominations. Best rates on the net. Will definitely use again

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Sara Mills

28th September 2018

Must admit I was a little nervous bank transferring such a large amount of money but no need to worry at all. Processed early Thursday morning and money has just been delivered by royal mail (Friday 10.15am). All new notes with variety denominations. Best rates on the net. Will definitely use again.

  • I ordered £1300 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Angela

27th September 2018

Good communications and my money arrived on time. Tracking details were supplied so I knew when to expect it - excellent service and will certainly use again

  • I ordered £1650 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Travel FX replied

27th September 2018

Thanks Angela. Hope to see you again . Regards, Travel FX.

Christine

27th September 2018

Used travel fx lots of times.Never had a problem and always arrived on time. Highly recommend and will continue to order for best rates

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Travel FX replied

27th September 2018

Great to hear from you Christine and thanks for your kind words. See you soon. Regards, Travel FX

Alan

15th September 2018

Excellent service. Ordered currency 7 pm Thursday, currency delivered 1230 Saturday.

  • I ordered £1480 worth of Hong Kong Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Ruth Rendchen

14th September 2018

Before ordering my Dollars I Emailed the company to ask if it was possible to have smaller denomination notes, no bigger then $20 . I was told to order the money then they will attach a note to the order with my requirements. I repeated the request again when my receipt came through only to be told the next day it would depend on the day what notes they had. I asked for the order to be cancelled as the smaller notes were pivotal to the order. NO reply and today my money arrived with 14 $50 notes included. I am appalled with this this service

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travel FX to others

Harry

13th September 2018

There is no way of requesting certain notes. I ordered 1210 Euros and received 700 in 100 Euro notes and 400 in 50 Euro notes. Not much good for a family holiday. Also, in optional question no 4 it asks if you received the notes you requested but as this is not available when ordering the question is irrelevant.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travel FX to others

Julian

13th September 2018

Excellent in all respects, thankyou. Great rate & good communication. I ordered Turkish Lira 5 days before we needed it, to give plenty of time (as Turkish Lira still possibly a bit scarce) and it arrived after 2 days as a good mix of notes. Will undoubtedly use again in future.

  • I ordered £700 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Kenneth

8th September 2018

Used the web site to get US$ and Canadian$ and found that you needed separate orders as there was no 'basket' for multiple currencies. This meant that two separate payments were necessary and also, although I was spending over £1000 in total but one was less than £500 I had to pay a handling charge on that currency. They need to have a better website that allows for multiple currency orders. Furthermore they do not accept any 'plastic' payments which potentially leaves you with recourse if problems arise. Finally my currencies were not delivered on time with little help and no compensation from Travel FX. Will not be using them again.

  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travel FX to others

Tom

8th September 2018

I have used Travel FX a number of ties and am very happy with their service. This time I needed 1000 US$ and they arrived sooner than requested; a good mix of denominations and pristine notes! No hesitation in recommending them

  • I ordered £782 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Tony Tonkin

8th September 2018

I also have used this company before and had a fantastic service, but used Camden FX this year and lost all my money due to them closing there bank account. You have no come back on a direct transfer bank to bank.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

S Watters

7th September 2018

I have used Travel FX before, so I trusted them again. You need to be able to transfer your money to them direct from your own bank. They gave me a good rate in US Dollars. I gave them about a week for my delivery date to give them time to deal with my transaction and the money arrived within just a few days, and before the date I had given them. They email you with details of the transaction, when they have received your money and day they are going to deliver so you are available to sign for delivery. It is quick and safe. I would recommend them to a friend.

  • I ordered £1600 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Sam Strandt

6th September 2018

No problems whatsoever. Best rate on the market, delivered within 3 days! Great breakdown of notes, plenty of high value but also plenty smaller denominations.

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Turkish Lira
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Andy

4th September 2018

Similar to some other reviewers, I was a little uneasy with 'bank transfers only'. However, I gave Travel FX a go and was pleasantly surprised at the ease and speed of my transaction. I placed my order for 890 Euros at 09:47 (Monday), I had an E-mail confirmation of payment receipt at 15:12 and at 17:04 a confirmation of dispatch. This morning at 09:45 the cash arrived at my door - a 24 hour turnaround! I had a good 'spread' of note denominations and the best exchange rate of the day (before it started falling with the 'Brexit' effect I guess). I would not hesitate to use this company again and recommend them to others.

  • I ordered £809 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travel FX to others

Laura

3rd September 2018

Poor communication - don’t answer your messages. Sent me $2400 of $100 USD bills, which is highly inconvenient. Wanted smaller denominations but no communication from them at all.

  • I ordered £4460 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travel FX to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Travel FX

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travel FX to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travel FX to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travel FX to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travel FX to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travel FX to others?Yes No

Travel FX are specialist dealers in foreign currency, providing a leading alternative to Bureau de Changes for clients seeking the best exchange rates. Travel FX offer some of the best rates on the market, with free home delivery over £700 and no commission.

Visit Website

Fancy a European road trip?

Posted by Sam Stone on 9th October 2018

A road trip is the ultimate way to explore the bewildering beauty of any country. However, after toll charges and rental car fees, petrol costs can be one of the biggest holiday expenses. No one wants... read more

Paying for your Travel Money

Posted by Compare Holiday Money on 8th October 2018

Most UK travel money suppliers allow you to pay for your currency in a number of different ways. The payment method you choose is important because it affects whether or not you pay any extra fees during... read more

How to get better currency rates?

Have you ever bought currency exchange money and think… this is so terrible! Well we’re about to tell you how to get better currency rates and how to not feel like you’ve been ripped... read more

Pawnbrokers and travel money

Pawnbrokers and travel money don’t necessarily fit together on first thoughts, but certainly Ramsdens, H & T Pawnbrokers, Albermarle Bond and The Money Shop are big, well established companies that w... read more

Budget-stretching toll roads

Risking life and limb on foreign high-speed toll roads isn’t the best way to start a relaxing well-earned holiday. It is also an expensive way to burn through your hard-earned budget. In an ideal world, rea... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.