Compare Holiday Money Logo

Travelex reviews

Poor 2.5 / 5

Based on 88 reviews Write Review

CC

6th December 2017

This is the most stupid card I have ever seen. I spend hours trying to check my balance. All the messages were my password was invalid. Will never recommend this rubbish card to anyone.

    Caroline Rudd

    4th December 2017

    It is constantly failing cant see balance, can't see what you've spent or you can't reload, the card service phone line is appalling and last time I used it they put me back n hold then cut me off. It had improved slightly when they changed the APP but it's stopped working again it's stress you don't need when travelling.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    robin hood

    29th November 2017

    Terrible. I left 2 detailed messages and both phone returned calls had no idea why i was calling. One returned my call 4 hours after they opened. I placed my order on line for delivery in 2 business days. 3 business days later the charge is still pending on my credit card. I never received notification that my information was wrong, that's why my order was never placed. I dont understand how the information was wrong since it was all auto fill in. And no one spoke English, they all had heavy accents, even when I called the local Scottsdale location

    • I ordered £150 worth of Australian Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Mattias Andersson

    27th November 2017

    This is a warning to not exchange money with this company. I had some extra pounds I needed to change to euro's in Brussels airport. For 170 british pounds they wanted to give me 160 euro(today's rate is 190 euro). Be aware they are taking HUGE fee's for everything they do. Use another company for your currency exchange.

    • I ordered £170 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    David Harvey

    23rd November 2017

    Customer service is shocking will never use them again after money went astray all they do is hide behind their T&Cs

    • I ordered £996 worth of Australian Dollars
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Richard

    15th November 2017

    Every time I try to top-up my card online I get the same old garbage - it doesn't recognise my password. I spend so much time on the phone to this company that it is just not worth using them. They have a flawed system and hopefully they will go bust.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Peedoff

    13th November 2017

    Terrible...Total rip off in charges having to use ATM as advised by Heathrow airport staff as they didnt know how to refund what we had left on the card. Loads of charges, out of pocket by over £50 even without the currency conversion. Never again.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Diana

    31st October 2017

    Lost my card while traveling in Italy. Have spent two weeks trying to get the funds back into my US bank. Still not in my account and each time I call (this will be call #7) they assure me they'll call or email to confirm the $ have been transferred. Never again.

    • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    David J

    30th September 2017

    Travelex used to provide a convenient service if you pre-ordered your currency. However now unless you order over £500 (which I can't imagine many people do) they have a fee for collecting your currency which is at least £2.49. Given if all you want is around £100 of foreign currency this is a complete rip off and makes them very uncompetitive. No idea why they introduced this fee - never used to be there. But given that they have I won't be using them again.

    • I ordered £150 worth of Swedish Krona
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Andrea A

    13th September 2017

    I wanted to give no stars but this was not an option. Retrieved my previous card from the drawer in advance of my next trip to check the balance online and found it had gone down by €30 since I last used it. When I checked my account online I could only go back 12 months and only look at one month at a time which was a nuisance in itself. It turns out that they charge £2 per month for non-use per month starting 12 months after your last use. Yes, this is in the in T&Cs but I read these quite a few years ago and it would not have registered in the same way at the time. I have recommended to them that they should notify people before they start charging so customers can take an action to prevent these fees but they just hide behind the fact that this fee is in their Ts&Cs so therefore it's OK to do this. These fees have wiped out any advantage that this card could possibly have and make it a very poor product indeed. Don't touch this product with a barge pole.

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Sue brown

    6th September 2017

    No stars. Bought at Heathrow. Was told we could top us sons card whilst studying abroad. He is currently unable to top up and we called travelex to be told no third party can. I advised we were told at Heathrow by their desk we could. Apparently we can't. He cannot get to a bank and this is horrendous. Steer well clear. They are a total rip off and clueless staff. They say they will only speak to son which will cost him a fortune to speak to them. Told him to close the account. Horrendous. Steer clear!!!!

    • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Linda Hamilton-Evans

    31st August 2017

    I wouldn't touch this company with a 10-foot pole!!!! I used their ATM machine at THEIR booth at Gare du Nord where SEVEN of us in a row got our cards back - but NOT the cash we withdrew. They REFUSED to put an 'out of order' on the machine and 2 weeks later they have done NOTHING to get me MY 400euros that THEIR machine (thus THEY) stole from me. They have lied from the start and I have had ZERO customer service

    • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Darren W

    7th August 2017

    Charged for exchanging euros to euros at ATMs even though this was the loaded currency it worked out I was charged at 20% costing me €100 euros to use euros. Absolutely awful & apparently my fault as I was in Cyprus & their is also the Cypriot £ yes this is correct if you time travel 15 years backward? I used the card in the US no problems so clearly again the customer is wrong!!!

    • I ordered £850 worth of Euros
    • My order was delivered on time
    • I received the notes I requested
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Mark

    1st August 2017

    Horrendous, avoid at all costs. Customer Service shocking, consistent issues with reloading where the money moves from your bank and never appears in the card. Call customer services who make it appear like your fault. They say there is an error but won't tell you what it is as they aren't given that information!!! You then have to wait for the money to move back to your account after a few days. Steer clear

    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Penelope Millard

    11th July 2017

    I accidently ordered a travel card instead of cash. I rang immediately to change order. Was told they couldn't change it to cash (although only 2 minutes had past) and my money would be put back on my card in 2-10 days. That was on 3 July and I am still waiting (11th July). I have had to draw money from another account (losing interest) to cover my holiday cash. Will not be using Travelex again)

    • I ordered £1107 worth of Euros
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Merlyn C

    19th June 2017

    Complete rip off on Travelex Card purchased at Newcastle Airport - £300 cash given to them became £259.78 on the card before I even used it then suffered a pathetic exchange rate and transaction charges when withdrawing from atm in Spain. Don't even consider using this company for currency.

    • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
    • Reloading the card was easy
    • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
    • I would recommend Travelex to others

    Lisa

    7th June 2017

    There exchange rate is a ribbed off. They treated customer unfairly and their staff are very manipulative. Services are lousy with long queue.

      Karole Cheek

      27th April 2017

      Would not honour the rate I purchased even though I received a confirmation of order which according to their terms and conditions is a binding contract !! Just sent an email to tell me they are cancelling my order. Not happy and still awaiting the return of my money !!!!

      • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
      • My currency arrived on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • Ordering was easy and straightforward
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Laura

      27th April 2017

      Very disappointed with their service. I was charged an extra 13 cents for every US dollar I exchanged. Will not be using them again.

      • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
      • My currency arrived on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • Ordering was easy and straightforward
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Steven, Glasgow

      26th April 2017

      TRAVELEX CANCELS AFTER AGREEING IF RATE CHANGES!!!! Avoid!!! I would avoid this company at all costs, they take orders and payment and when arrive to collect the currency they claim the wrong rate has been published and drop the rate dramatically... Claim to contact you with cancellation which was not received! Then tell you refund of the payment takes 3-5 days!! Basically forcing you to buy at the lower rate or wait 5 days for refund.. Don't buy last minute!! 100% unprofessional.

      • I ordered £2000 worth of US Dollars
      • My currency arrived on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • Ordering was easy and straightforward
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      mark Long

      26th April 2017

      I will never use Travelex again - didn't honour a rate on their website and I didn't get the money I exchanged. Avoid them

      • I ordered £4000 worth of US Dollars
      • My currency arrived on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • Ordering was easy and straightforward
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Nancy

      27th March 2017

      I bought insurance from Travelex before but this is the first time I'm bringing two kids, age 15 and 18. Where where on the website I read: ---Travel Select Details--- A family friendly plan, Travel Select provides travel protection coverage for children under 21 at no additional cost when accompanied by a covered adult family member. Enhance your family protection by customizing with the "Active Family Pak" upgrade. This Lifestyle Pak makes traveling with a family easier with coverage for child-care cancellation, movie rental reimbursement for overnight delays, medical protection for traveling pets and more....... "children under 21 at no additional cost when accompanied by a covered adult family member" was debated with the customer service, as it's not the policy and I still have to pay for the 18 year old and since the form has been filled out electronically, without providing a credit card number yet, there is nothing they can do. Also because somewhere else on the website, a tiny print probably says differently. I just wanted the statement above to be honored, children under 21...

      • Customer services were friendly and helpful

      Kath

      16th March 2017

      Loading Cashpassport card whilst on holiday resulted in them taking the funds from UK Bank account but failing to credit Cashpassport card! Online messages either not replied to, or said that I must ring them. Usual entering of numbers on phone keypad, eventually ggetting a real person. Only problem is that they can never hear me and hang up! I can hear them. Very worried about missing money.

      • I ordered a prepaid eur card
      • Topping up was easy and straightforward
      • The exchange rates and fees were clear
      • The card was accepted everywhere
      • I would recommend this card to others

      T M Butcher

      3rd March 2017

      Used Travelex for many years but only for cash. I order online for home delivery (unless desperate,never buy currency at airport via any supplier ) well in advance. Currency has always arrived on or before specified date in a good range of notes. Cannot understand comments re ordering, it's straightforward for cash.

      • I ordered £700.00 worth of Euros
      • My currency arrived on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • Ordering was easy and straightforward
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Phil

      22nd February 2017

      Excellent service. Ordered money, confirmation came through. Had money in a couple of days well ahead of requested date. Would absolutely use again and recommend.

      • I ordered £1000.00 worth of Bulgarian Lev
      • My currency arrived on time
      • I received the notes I requested
      • Ordering was easy and straightforward
      • I would recommend this supplier to others

      Write a review of Travelex

      Your name

      Your rating

      Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
      1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

      Your review

      Optional questions

      • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
      • How much travel money did you purchase?
        worth of
      • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
      • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
      • How much currency did you sell?
      • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
      • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
      • What currency did you transfer?
        to
      • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
      • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
      • What type of prepaid card did you order?
      • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
      • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
      • What kind of policy did you purchase?
        policy for
      • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
      • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
      • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No

      Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

      Visit Website

      Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

      Find out more

      Why sign up?

      • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
      • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
      • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
      Winter Olympics 2018 Sports Venues In South Korea Infographic

      Winter Olympics 2018 Sports Venues In South Korea Infographic

      Posted by Graham Morley on 16th January 2018

      If you are travelling to South Korea to see any of the winter Olympic events or even just watching at home, we have put together a little guide to the winter Olympic games locations to compliment the recent art read more

      How To Pack A Carry-On

      How To Pack A Carry-On

      Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 14th January 2018

        Have you ever been in a situation where you want to travel light but as soon as you look into your closet you just wonder how are you going to fit all of that in! Well last time we went to Germany for a read more