Travelex reviews

Travelex are rated Poor in 181 reviews

Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

  • Last reviewed 2 weeks ago
  • 19% of reviews are positive
  • Replies to reviews
Reviews by rating
Excellent 18.78% of reviews are rated 5 stars 19%
Great 0.55% of reviews are rated 4 stars <1%
Average 1.66% of reviews are rated 3 stars 2%
Poor 4.97% of reviews are rated 2 stars 5%
Bad 74.03% of reviews are rated 1 stars 74%
Reviews by day

Showing reviews 1-15 of 181

NA
Nada

31 May 2024

Bought £150 worth of Swedish kronor

Took out £150 worth of Swedish króna on thier travel card at airport. Was angry to see that they has taken almost £40 in fees.

Best to just go to your bank to exchange or areas out of the airport.

Crooks and thieves.

BE
Ben

5 April 2024

Ordered a currency card

The money card itself was ok - the exchange rate wasn't the best but also not the worst. The problem was trying to close the card. After 12 months inactivity they will start charging a £2 monthly fee on the card. If you want to transfer your remaining balance off the card over the phone there is a £6 fee for that too. The alternatives are to visit a branch in person to withdraw it, withdraw what's left on the card from an ATM (which in my case was not possible in my case because the remaining balance on the card was so low), try to spend exactly what's left (again, not possible in my case because the remaining balance on the card was so low), or donate it to their chosen charity. The predatory fees are completely unacceptable. Avoid the card at all costs.

GA
Gaetana

4 April 2024

Ordered a currency card

Avoid this card at all costs. Bought it to use in Taiwan. Lost most of my money in the exchange rate and halfway through my holiday the app locked me out and I could not access my own money. A nightmare to deal with and an added stress when you don’t have your resources to sort through the mess.

RA
Ramesh

27 February 2024

Ordered a currency card

There is no Option for 0 Star, otherwise I would have given it. They have the lowest currency conversion rate. I was travelling to Turkey on Fen 2024 and I exchanged £350 at the rate £1 to 26 Turkish Lira at Travelex plus £5 service charge. But when I landed in Istanbul airport, the exchange rate was £1 to 35 Turkish Lira and outside the Istanbul airport, the rate was £1 to 38.5 Turkish Lira on the same day. I feel I am cheated from Travelex. I will never use their service and will never recommend to anyone.

RG
Rajeev Goyal

6 February 2024

Sold Indian rupees

I would rare them zero star , but since there is no option below 1 srar, they are robbers and there staff are very rude and don’t listen to customer

I had to take refund my refund of vat at sharjah Airport , which was 5% , as per govt policy I should get 4.25%, but surprisingly they returned only 3.5%

they did this by manipulating the exchange rate

the prevailing Rate was 23-24 for aed to inr , but they gave us 19.5 inr for 1 aed

Earlier they were giving only 19 but when we argued they made it 19.5

to our surprise they were only offering £ and Inr no usd , when we said give us usd they said we don’t have.

so as a customer we feel cheated and itd appeal to dubai govt that pls don’t these type cheater conpany for such type , this will spoil country’s tourism image.

Its a request and advice to all pls don’t deal with travelex

DH
Daniel Haigh

6 February 2024

Ordered a currency card

I was offered a Travelex Money Card at a London airport in June 2022. This seemed a good alternative especially as they say to "travel abroad more safely without needing to carry all your cash." We invested £400 and on that holiday had one withdrawal of £200. We've travelled once since but this card was considered emergency funds so not needed. Subsequently Travelex started charging inactivity fees of £2 pcm. To my mind, stealing my money. Have just called them for justification for which they had none, except to say the fees are valid, in their T&C's, and non-refundable. This was not mentioned and who reads T&C's at an airport? I cashed out with a balance of £146. I consider this theft and an outrage. Who are Travelex to decide when I spend the money I have given them in safekeeping? What's the point of having an emergency fund that they are running down? I will never use Travelex again.

CH
Chloe

5 January 2024

Ordered a currency card

Be super wary of using this company, I loaded my card before leaving Australia for Bali, I get to Bali and card not working, they decided to cancel it, and not inform me called them up and for some reason they now want 3 months of bank statements, and they can’t tell me why or why no one even thought to inform me that it’s cancelled and they offer no solution so in Bali with no access to money

MI
Min

30 December 2023

Bought £100 worth of Euros

App doesn’t work properly I couldn’t register and no helpful staff. Customer service was awful.

I need use up money and will never top up.

EL
Ella

16 November 2023

Transferred funds overseas

Travelex has the worst app I've ever used. It doesn't work properly. I have to re-enter my card details every time I want to transfer money from my bank account to my Travelex card. Everything loads very slowly. Please fix your app because its very difficult to use.

NO
Niko Oliver

13 October 2023

Bought £661 worth of Euros

I used a Travelex ATM at the Hamburg baggage claim. At the time the exchange booth was unmanned. I visit Germany quite regularly and have never had an issue withdrawing money from an ATM. On Jul 11th when I arrived in Hamburg Germany I tried to withdraw 500 euros using my bankcard. The ATM had an error code and shut down mid transaction. I was able to retrieve my card but I didn't receive any funds. I waited around a few minutes to see of the ATM would reboot, and it did not. I proceeded to baggage claim to get my bags. As I exited the baggage claim I used another ATM (not Travelex) and withdrew 500 euro (my bank limits me to 500 a day). So fast forward two days later I see that an amount was debited from my account. I immediately call my bank suspecting fraud, only to learn that the funds were withdrawn from my account even though I never received any cash from Travelex. I contacted my bank who told me to get in touch with Travelex. I contacted Travelex, who then directed me back to my bank. I have been going in circles for 3 months now trying to get refunded. I have never experienced any issues with ATMs in Germany over a three year span. This is the first time I am having an issue and Travelex downright refuses to help.

ML
ml

2 October 2023

Bought £150 worth of Euros

Terrible experience. Tried topping up funds via payid while away and it's still sitting in the ether. Funds have left my bank account but haven't hit the travelex card - 4 days after transfer. I contacted travelex who have a 1 -2 day response time. Too late , the holiday will be over, and I've had to use alternatives. I can't shout from the rooftop enough for people to avoid this debacle.

JF
Jamie F

27 September 2023

Ordered a currency card

Would rate this under 1 star if I could. Card was rejected multiple times abroad, only managed to use it on a few payments and only in the airport. Turns out the payments I was trying to make WERE charged to the card but rejected at point of sale so I ended up paying on credit card and this card, and they are totally useless in resolving this.

CL
Claire

13 September 2023

Bought Euros

Awful exchange rate, card was randomly declined, and the app is so slow to update my balance I never knew how much money I had. Closed the card as soon as I came home after first trip.

CO
Courtenay

9 September 2023

Bought £2,000 worth of US dollars

I would rate this card 0 if I could! This card is a joke, do not recommend at all! 3 days for money to transfer when you’re overseas is ridiculous, cars still has plenty of money on it and just randomly declines (cannot be linked to a merchant buffer limit - there’s $200 on it for a $10 transaction declined as an example)! It’s left us high and fry several times in this day and age where many businesses don’t take cash which is our backup option! Tried to contact them, they just tried to pawn us off to MasterCard to deal with the issues, but clearly it’s the travel card that has the issues! Should’ve just used our bank, but you’d think a business that’s entire purpose is travel cards would get the job of travel cards right - no! We missed out on several experiences because the card wouldn’t work and cash wasn’t an option, absolutely ridiculous - do not use!!

JA
Joy Archer

23 August 2023

Bought £315 worth of Euros

I've just collected my currency at LBA at the desk after security as instructed on the reservation. It's meant to open at 4am. At 4.15 I had to contact customer service by phone as no one had appeared. The representative couldn't get hold of anyone but left a message for the area manager. At almost 4.30 a staff member appeared saying that she'd been at the entrance desk as they have to collect euros from there.

No printout of my reservation which she had to locate "on the system".

Really poor service. After years of using them I won't be giving them my custom again.

Travelex

Write a review of Travelex

Rate your experience

Click or tap a star to rate

Write your review

0 / 4000

What product or service are you reviewing?