Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Travelex reviews

Good 3.0 / 5

Based on 62 reviews Write Review

23rd November 2016

I had the best experience in Boulder, Colorado. I was getting a bit confused at the whole loading of the card etc, but the staff was very helpful! It was explained to me in easy to understand terms. When I have an awesome experience like this I shout it out to the world! Being a huge net-worker, I would recommend this to anyone traveling out of the country. I never had a problem using the card and I believe the incredible assistance from Karen saved my vacation. Online was so easy to reload and The rates may be elevated a small bit, but it equaled out when comparing it to using my credit card or exchanging us at a bank in a foreign country. The time I saved on this trip was amaizing! As I use to wait and exchange when I arrived at my vacation destination, that was a nightmare.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

1st November 2016

We got a Cash Passport for holiday to USA, loaded initial amount on and received card in post a few days later. Once on holiday we were unable to reload anything without calling the UK, their internet site wouldn't reload, mobile app wouldn't reload and local Travelex shops were unable to help either. Had to call UK (taking into account 8 hour time difference) and wait in a queue. People on the phones didn't seem to be very well trained as any simple request (ie "Can I put some money on my card") forced them to put us on hold so they could get advice. I researched our options ahead and this card appeared to tick all the boxes, sadly it failed to live up to half its promises and caused unnecessary stress

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

17th October 2016

Ridiculous 4 hour delay in same day pick up of money . I hadn't noticed this restriction on the order in line so when I arrived to collect the money I was told I needed another hour before I could collect it . It obviously wasn't clear in the website as I didn't know anything about it . They have my money but had this bizarre restriction quoting ' making sure they had the payment ' a joke when you can get money out of their own travelex ATM s right opposite the desk . As I had to pick someone up from school I had to leave it and go back . Lots of extra cost in time petrol and parking charges . Tried talking to them on the phone but they are robots who just quote company policy . . An extremely poor customer service , will use the post office next time

  • I ordered £759 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

17th June 2016

Purchased without checking all the detail and was absolutely ripped off by buying currency at Manchester Airport. Bought 900 Euros which cost me nearly £90 more than a bank transfer for the same amount! The ridiculous exchange rate only dawned on me when checking my receipt and they wouldn't refund. To add insult to injury I was short-changed by 50 Euros! My fault for not checking but doesn't excuse their conduct. Will never use Travelex or buy currency at the airport again.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th June 2016

Didn't arrive on before 12 'guaranteed' delivery. Too late for holiday! Rang to complain, not their problem. Poor! avoid!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

20th May 2016

35 minutes to get through their customer services and still in a queue. Their exchange rates are a rip off be aware!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

3rd May 2016

I was not at all happy with my recent travelex experience I usually order online and pick up at the airport but on this occasion I am going by bus so called into my local airport to get euros a big mistake whilst online the rate is 1.24 I only got 1.12 at the airport. I usually recommend travelex to my friends saying "I always use them and get good rates"but not anymore! very disappointing I work full time so could not get delivered to home from internet ordering why such adifference in the rate?

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

9th April 2016

I was at travelex Heathrow counter and in a hurry to catch my flight so I bought £79.6 worth of Turkish lira, paid and googled the rates for the day and found I'd been ripped off £11 worth. I promptly returned the money and the guy shamefacedly said it would take 5-working days to get a refund while he processed it. 4-working days later, I called travelex and the agent I spoke with confirmed I would get a refund in 5-working days, so I checked on day 6 and hadn't got a refund. I called back and an agent said actually it would take 10-days and whoever said 5 days don't know what they're talking about. I was confused. How could two different agents not know what they're talking about? I'll wait 10 days. Does anyone know if there's an ongoing scam at travelex? I mean, if you get ripped off £11 on a £79 transaction by a company that you expect would have a standardised rate and the same company's agents give differing info on refund, what would you think?

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

14th March 2016

I had no major problems with the money - the exchange rate wasn't brilliant - so for my order of $100 I got maybe $4 less than a competitive rate, so chalk that up to a fee. Reloading my cash passport was relatively easy - the first time I did it I had forgotten all the relevant details and had to call customer services. They were friendly and helpful and got the card up and running again. This time I reloaded online - I wouldn't recommend this as the online form is awful. They didn't have my full address and you can't enter an address manually or amend the address it selects for you. It also insists on a landline as a main home phone number which I don't have - I put in my parents number as leaving it blank is not an option. This seriously needs updating as its unacceptable the way it is.

10th March 2016

The buy back guaruntee is so easy, and simple to use. Saved me money and time in exchanging back my foreign noted. Staff were pleasant and I received everything on time.

  • I ordered £176 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

7th March 2016

I ordered some Euros at Manchester airport. Thankfully I had already calculated how much I would need to pay in sterling. When it was out by £9, I questioned it. Then I was told it would need to be recalculated, but this time it was still £5 out. It turned out that they were trying to add a 'buy back' product as to which I had already declined. for £100 worth of Euro, which I could save the unused amount for another European holiday, it is hardly worth it. I'm appalled that they tried to sell this product underhandedly and I consider this illegal as I said 'no'. Great if you need cash last minute, but I'll be getting it from the high street looking at some of these comments.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

5th March 2016

OMG...the worst most awful experience with these jerks. I purchased travel insurance from them as I was flying from Boston to Tampa to get a cruise(silly me planning a vacation from Boston in February...that is why I got the insurance)I planned my travel to leave Boston the day before the cruise(plane supposed to leave at 1:30pm on Friday and cruise leaving from Tampa at 3 pm on Saturday)Weather in Boston awful..my plane kept getting delayed and long story short with all the delays due to weather I missed the cruise....I would have just skipped it (which would have been cheaper for me) but my sister and I were taking the cruise to celebrate her birthday and she was onboard (we live in different states) so I had to get there and had to book separate passage to Honduras to get the ship. I called the company's hotline which has a pretend 24 hour number and was told unless I was having a medical emergency then I had to call "during business hours". Are you kidding me? I can file a car insurance claim 24/7 but not a travel claim in the midst of an emergency. Anyway finally got cruise after an extra $1,000 in expenses and even emailed my travel agent with details who told me I was covered but this company DENIED my claim even though I paid for trip interruption and trip delayed. My trip was interrupted/delayed due to weather which according to their policy is covered but I was denied. DO NOT GET THEIR INSURANCE. I did everything in my power to get to the ship(left the day before, contacted their company when there were problems only to be told to "call during business hours", contacted my travel agent and finally booked my own transit to get to ship). What a waste of money and effort this company is . Do not use them. I am appealing their decision and working with my travel agent but I should be reimbursed as my trip was delayed by a blizzard

  • The insurance policy was good value for money
  • Claiming was simple and straightforward
  • Customer services were friendly and helpful
  • My claim was settled to my satisfaction
  • I would recommend this insurer to others

3rd March 2016

I tried to purchase travel currency online from this website but got the message Order Not Processed - and so knowing I had the funds I thought it was a glitch so tried a further couple of times, still no joy. After investigating it turned out my address didn't match. Woke up the next day to find I couldn't use my debit card as Travelex had withheld the funds for each attempt made - totally £2200 - and it would take 10 days for them to be released! I spent the whole day on the phone going between them and my bank with finally written assurance it was sorted and funds released - 24 hours later Still pending from my account!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

2nd February 2016

They are money-grabbing bandids. Bought (using UK Pounds) a load of AUS dollars and wanted to cancel as my holiday had to be cancelled at short notice. They did not have a "cancel" option on their computers, only LOST/STOLEN. The money was not even out of their door yet, and into the hands of G4S for delivery to my bank. So I had to wait till the money arrived at my bank. So I went through the crap procedure "Buy Back" with HALIFAX Bank and lost nearly £200 for the pleasure of TravelEx doing the deal. Halifax were apologetic, but TravelEx were PATHETIC. DO NOT even think of buying off these people, as they will poison you with the outrageous fees/exchange rate on the buy-back arm twister. AVOID this company like the Black Death.

  • I ordered £3000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th December 2015

I always order online and pick up at Airport (Airside) I can say that I have never had any problems with this arrangement even though I have used this service a number of times. Rates are always competative (even more so if you buy during a "Happy Hour") and, are never more than a point or so below the top providers. Admittedly, I have never used the "Buy Back" as I tend to just keep any money left over for my next trip. Nor have I used the Delivery Service, so, can't comment on those items. Overall, I always found that the service provided for my needs has been efficient, and problem free!

  • I ordered £605 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th October 2015

Have always used Travelex. I collect my US currency once through airport security. Staff always helpful and friendly. I pay £3.99 buy back guarantee, which makes a huge difference when bringing currency back. Not sure why there are so many complaints on here. You should know the exchange rate before you commit to buy, if you are not happy, dont buy. Simple really. And if you think you will bring currency back, buy the buy back guarantee. I am going to the US again next week and have just ordered mine again. I get $12 less then the bext exchange rate offered by FX, but who cares. I am paying for the convenience of collecting at the airport, with buy back guarantee. I think Travelex are the best.

  • I ordered £1500 worth of US Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

6th October 2015

I purchased currency with a buy-back guarantee at Manchester airport, only to find that all Travelex desks were closed when we returned from holiday I paid extra for the buy-back guarantee and feel conned that the service was not available. I sold my currency to the post office - although exchange rate was not as good the cost of driving to Manchester airport & parking when they were open would have more than wiped out any benefit At no point was I informed that the desks would be closed

  • I ordered £212 worth of Egyptian Pounds
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes

13th September 2015

I have had an incredibly poor experience of using the Travelex Multi-Currency Cash passport and will never use them again, nor would I recommend them to anyone! I first ordered my money 6 days before I was due to go on holiday, which admittedly is last minute when currency is concerned, but I was assured that it would arrive in 3 working days. By the 5th day my card still had not arrived so I called their customer service helpline. I was informed that it was in the post and would be received by tomorrow at the latest, putting me outside of the 3 day guarantee I was assured, but that my order had been tracked and it would definitely arrive the following day. However, by day 6 it had still not arrived, and at 2 I was leaving for the airport. I called once more and spoke to a different member of staff, who told me that my delivery should be made that day by DHL delivery, but that she would transfer me to speak to them regarding this. Next thing I know is I am on the phone with Barclaycard! I do not have a card with them, nor are Travelex linked with them, so neither me nor the person who took the call understood why I had been transferred to them. I called once more and spoke to a further third member of staff, who told me that my delivery would take 5 working days, therefore would be another 2 day wait, despite what I had been told previously. I asked to speak to the manager, at which point the member of staff became incredibly rude, sighing and just repeating the same information to me whilst talking over me, not allowing me to voice why I wanted to speak in someone of a managerial position. When I spoke to the manager, I was then informed that I should never have been told it would arrive in 3 days, it is not possible for my order to have ever been tracked as it is not sent using a courier service, and he then confirmed that the transfer to Barclaycard was not connected to my case at all. When my card eventually arrived, I was out of the country, and was horrified t

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

29th August 2015

I exchanged £50 worth of Riyals and £150 worth of UAE dirhams and I enquired about the buy back guarantee but never did the staff mentioned a fee of £4.99 for it. When I got home I saw that was charged £9.98 for 2 lots of buy back gurantee fees!! I was disgusted and feel ripped off. Why would I pay £4.99 for a £50 purchase?? I would have done it for the £150 neither!! Thinking it was free service that they offer! Really feel stupid and ripped off now. Tomorrow I am going back to see whether I can get money back out of principle. If not, I will not use Travelex ever again!

  • I ordered £50 worth of Qatar Riyals
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

25th August 2015

Via "Tesco Bank" accepted an order for Icelandic Krona which they were unable to fulfil after about a week of trying. Wouldn't provide a cash refund on the spot, despite the fact they'd be quick enough to buy back your unused currency. Stated they would get a refund out within 10 working days (still too late for our holiday), which they then failed to do, resulting in my having to chase them for it. Net result was that I was out of pocket for approaching 1 month. Avoid these charlatans, go somewhere you get (a) a better rate, and (b) the currency you ordered.

  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

3rd August 2015

My partner and i are in the uk from NZ and yesterday we visited the travelex centre at Westfield Shepherds Bush. The young woman running the counter was knowledgeable and very helpful. Absoluntely brilliant customer service. Thank you so much. Leona Kenworthy & Kathryn Johnston

  • I ordered £359 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

28th May 2015

Have just got their cash passport card. Beware the rate they quote to initially load your card is not as good as the reload rate. I initially ordered the card with a small amount with the intention of reloading the card as and when needed. However, it turns out that once you are a customer you get a different lower rate to reload your card as opposed to the rate showed on their website. At the time of writing, I loaded £200 worth of euros at a rate of 1.37. On the same day, I get the card, register it online and then curiously try to reload to familiarise myself with the process. The rate is 1.35! I then google travelex euro rate only to find that the rate for reeling new customers in is still 1.37! So beware! If you do intend to use the travelex cash passport card, load all the cash you need when you apply for the card to get the best rate. I spent a lot of time researching which card to use and at no point in the terms and conditions does it state the reload rate is lower than their headline rate. I've not even used the damned thing yet and am already frustrated with the service.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

10th March 2015

To keep it short my Travelex Cash Passport wouldn't work in any ATM in Brussels so I had to use my own bank card incurring costs. I had loaded the Cash Passport with 500 euros which I had no access to. When I returned to England I asked if they could refund the money into my bank account at the same rate I purchased it for. They refused and offered to buy it back for around £300 which was almost £100 less than what I had bought it for just a few days earlier! After much haggling the best they could offer me was £370, still leaving me £30 out of pocket. I have since cut up my card and now use Ukash, much better. I will never use Travelex again.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

10th January 2015

Couldn't use the card for any purchases in airports pr Or India with traveled. Couldn't withdraw money from traveled machine. Got charged twice. Once for loading up and again for wothdrawel. Easy to top up but banls cheaper although I did feel money was safe and easy to use in multiple countries. Too expensive .

31st October 2014

Fantastic service. Ordered 1pm on Wednesday, received 10am Thursday. Package was vacuum sealed and contained a good mix of notes. Would definitely recommend and use again.

Write a review of Travelex

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating - Click to rate (required)
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing so that others visitors can get a better idea of your experience:

  • I ordered £ worth of
  • My currency arrived on timeYes No
  • I received the notes I requestedYes No
  • Ordering was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I sold
  • I was paid within three working daysYes No
  • I received the rate quotedYes No
  • Selling was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • I would recommend this supplier to othersYes No
  • I transferred to
  • The transfer was completed within three working daysYes No
  • I received a good exchange rateYes No
  • I was kept informed on a regular basis Yes No
  • I would recommend this broker to othersYes No
  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforwardYes No
  • The exchange rates and fees were clearYes No
  • The card was accepted everywhereYes No
  • I would recommend this card to othersYes No
  • The insurance policy was good value for moneyYes No
  • Claiming was simple and straightforwardYes No
  • Customer services were friendly and helpfulYes No
  • My claim was settled to my satisfactionYes No
  • I would recommend this insurer to othersYes No

Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

British Pound ranked worst performing currency of 2016

Posted by Matthew Weston on 9th December 2016

After what has been a year of uncertainty for Britain and the pound, it is slowly making improvements in the markets. With this and the continued decline of the Euro, the exchange rate is looking better for Bri read more

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

What currency is used in Dublin Ireland

Posted by Adam Silveston on 9th December 2016

Question: What currency is used in Dublin Ireland Answer: The currency used in Dublin Ireland is the Euro Currency. However, if you go to Northern Ireland the currency used is the British Pound. The History of read more