Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Travelex reviews

Poor 2.7 / 5

Based on 79 reviews Write Review

Andrea A

13th September 2017

I wanted to give no stars but this was not an option. Retrieved my previous card from the drawer in advance of my next trip to check the balance online and found it had gone down by €30 since I last used it. When I checked my account online I could only go back 12 months and only look at one month at a time which was a nuisance in itself. It turns out that they charge £2 per month for non-use per month starting 12 months after your last use. Yes, this is in the in T&Cs but I read these quite a few years ago and it would not have registered in the same way at the time. I have recommended to them that they should notify people before they start charging so customers can take an action to prevent these fees but they just hide behind the fact that this fee is in their Ts&Cs so therefore it's OK to do this. These fees have wiped out any advantage that this card could possibly have and make it a very poor product indeed. Don't touch this product with a barge pole.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Travelex to others

Sue brown

6th September 2017

No stars. Bought at Heathrow. Was told we could top us sons card whilst studying abroad. He is currently unable to top up and we called travelex to be told no third party can. I advised we were told at Heathrow by their desk we could. Apparently we can't. He cannot get to a bank and this is horrendous. Steer well clear. They are a total rip off and clueless staff. They say they will only speak to son which will cost him a fortune to speak to them. Told him to close the account. Horrendous. Steer clear!!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Travelex to others

Linda Hamilton-Evans

31st August 2017

I wouldn't touch this company with a 10-foot pole!!!! I used their ATM machine at THEIR booth at Gare du Nord where SEVEN of us in a row got our cards back - but NOT the cash we withdrew. They REFUSED to put an 'out of order' on the machine and 2 weeks later they have done NOTHING to get me MY 400euros that THEIR machine (thus THEY) stole from me. They have lied from the start and I have had ZERO customer service

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travelex to others

Darren W

7th August 2017

Charged for exchanging euros to euros at ATMs even though this was the loaded currency it worked out I was charged at 20% costing me €100 euros to use euros. Absolutely awful & apparently my fault as I was in Cyprus & their is also the Cypriot £ yes this is correct if you time travel 15 years backward? I used the card in the US no problems so clearly again the customer is wrong!!!

  • I ordered £850 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travelex to others

Mark

1st August 2017

Horrendous, avoid at all costs. Customer Service shocking, consistent issues with reloading where the money moves from your bank and never appears in the card. Call customer services who make it appear like your fault. They say there is an error but won't tell you what it is as they aren't given that information!!! You then have to wait for the money to move back to your account after a few days. Steer clear

  • I ordered a prepaid card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Travelex to others

Penelope Millard

11th July 2017

I accidently ordered a travel card instead of cash. I rang immediately to change order. Was told they couldn't change it to cash (although only 2 minutes had past) and my money would be put back on my card in 2-10 days. That was on 3 July and I am still waiting (11th July). I have had to draw money from another account (losing interest) to cover my holiday cash. Will not be using Travelex again)

  • I ordered £1107 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travelex to others

Merlyn C

19th June 2017

Complete rip off on Travelex Card purchased at Newcastle Airport - £300 cash given to them became £259.78 on the card before I even used it then suffered a pathetic exchange rate and transaction charges when withdrawing from atm in Spain. Don't even consider using this company for currency.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Travelex to others

Lisa

7th June 2017

There exchange rate is a ribbed off. They treated customer unfairly and their staff are very manipulative. Services are lousy with long queue.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travelex to others

Karole Cheek

27th April 2017

Would not honour the rate I purchased even though I received a confirmation of order which according to their terms and conditions is a binding contract !! Just sent an email to tell me they are cancelling my order. Not happy and still awaiting the return of my money !!!!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Laura

27th April 2017

Very disappointed with their service. I was charged an extra 13 cents for every US dollar I exchanged. Will not be using them again.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Steven, Glasgow

26th April 2017

TRAVELEX CANCELS AFTER AGREEING IF RATE CHANGES!!!! Avoid!!! I would avoid this company at all costs, they take orders and payment and when arrive to collect the currency they claim the wrong rate has been published and drop the rate dramatically... Claim to contact you with cancellation which was not received! Then tell you refund of the payment takes 3-5 days!! Basically forcing you to buy at the lower rate or wait 5 days for refund.. Don't buy last minute!! 100% unprofessional.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

mark Long

26th April 2017

I will never use Travelex again - didn't honour a rate on their website and I didn't get the money I exchanged. Avoid them

  • I ordered £4000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Nancy

27th March 2017

I bought insurance from Travelex before but this is the first time I'm bringing two kids, age 15 and 18. Where where on the website I read: ---Travel Select Details--- A family friendly plan, Travel Select provides travel protection coverage for children under 21 at no additional cost when accompanied by a covered adult family member. Enhance your family protection by customizing with the "Active Family Pak" upgrade. This Lifestyle Pak makes traveling with a family easier with coverage for child-care cancellation, movie rental reimbursement for overnight delays, medical protection for traveling pets and more....... "children under 21 at no additional cost when accompanied by a covered adult family member" was debated with the customer service, as it's not the policy and I still have to pay for the 18 year old and since the form has been filled out electronically, without providing a credit card number yet, there is nothing they can do. Also because somewhere else on the website, a tiny print probably says differently. I just wanted the statement above to be honored, children under 21...

  • The insurance policy was good value for money
  • Claiming was simple and straightforward
  • Customer services were friendly and helpful
  • My claim was settled to my satisfaction
  • I would recommend this insurer to others

Kath

16th March 2017

Loading Cashpassport card whilst on holiday resulted in them taking the funds from UK Bank account but failing to credit Cashpassport card! Online messages either not replied to, or said that I must ring them. Usual entering of numbers on phone keypad, eventually ggetting a real person. Only problem is that they can never hear me and hang up! I can hear them. Very worried about missing money.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

T M Butcher

3rd March 2017

Used Travelex for many years but only for cash. I order online for home delivery (unless desperate,never buy currency at airport via any supplier ) well in advance. Currency has always arrived on or before specified date in a good range of notes. Cannot understand comments re ordering, it's straightforward for cash.

  • I ordered £700.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Phil

22nd February 2017

Excellent service. Ordered money, confirmation came through. Had money in a couple of days well ahead of requested date. Would absolutely use again and recommend.

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of Bulgarian Lev
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Stephen Harding

28th December 2016

This is the worst website that I've ever used. There are two different sites to look at your account and top up the card. The account site does't give you a rolling balance. It's the worst experience you could imagine.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Diane

23rd November 2016

I had the best experience in Boulder, Colorado. I was getting a bit confused at the whole loading of the card etc, but the staff was very helpful! It was explained to me in easy to understand terms. When I have an awesome experience like this I shout it out to the world! Being a huge net-worker, I would recommend this to anyone traveling out of the country. I never had a problem using the card and I believe the incredible assistance from Karen saved my vacation. Online was so easy to reload and The rates may be elevated a small bit, but it equaled out when comparing it to using my credit card or exchanging us at a bank in a foreign country. The time I saved on this trip was amaizing! As I use to wait and exchange when I arrived at my vacation destination, that was a nightmare.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Kev

1st November 2016

We got a Cash Passport for holiday to USA, loaded initial amount on and received card in post a few days later. Once on holiday we were unable to reload anything without calling the UK, their internet site wouldn't reload, mobile app wouldn't reload and local Travelex shops were unable to help either. Had to call UK (taking into account 8 hour time difference) and wait in a queue. People on the phones didn't seem to be very well trained as any simple request (ie "Can I put some money on my card") forced them to put us on hold so they could get advice. I researched our options ahead and this card appeared to tick all the boxes, sadly it failed to live up to half its promises and caused unnecessary stress

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Sara backhouse

17th October 2016

Ridiculous 4 hour delay in same day pick up of money . I hadn't noticed this restriction on the order in line so when I arrived to collect the money I was told I needed another hour before I could collect it . It obviously wasn't clear in the website as I didn't know anything about it . They have my money but had this bizarre restriction quoting ' making sure they had the payment ' a joke when you can get money out of their own travelex ATM s right opposite the desk . As I had to pick someone up from school I had to leave it and go back . Lots of extra cost in time petrol and parking charges . Tried talking to them on the phone but they are robots who just quote company policy . . An extremely poor customer service , will use the post office next time

  • I ordered £759 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Jon K

17th June 2016

Purchased without checking all the detail and was absolutely ripped off by buying currency at Manchester Airport. Bought 900 Euros which cost me nearly £90 more than a bank transfer for the same amount! The ridiculous exchange rate only dawned on me when checking my receipt and they wouldn't refund. To add insult to injury I was short-changed by 50 Euros! My fault for not checking but doesn't excuse their conduct. Will never use Travelex or buy currency at the airport again.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Richard

14th June 2016

Didn't arrive on before 12 'guaranteed' delivery. Too late for holiday! Rang to complain, not their problem. Poor! avoid!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Simon Misiewicz

20th May 2016

35 minutes to get through their customer services and still in a queue. Their exchange rates are a rip off be aware!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Sheryl Anderson

3rd May 2016

I was not at all happy with my recent travelex experience I usually order online and pick up at the airport but on this occasion I am going by bus so called into my local airport to get euros a big mistake whilst online the rate is 1.24 I only got 1.12 at the airport. I usually recommend travelex to my friends saying "I always use them and get good rates"but not anymore! very disappointing I work full time so could not get delivered to home from internet ordering why such adifference in the rate?

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Patrick

9th April 2016

I was at travelex Heathrow counter and in a hurry to catch my flight so I bought £79.6 worth of Turkish lira, paid and googled the rates for the day and found I'd been ripped off £11 worth. I promptly returned the money and the guy shamefacedly said it would take 5-working days to get a refund while he processed it. 4-working days later, I called travelex and the agent I spoke with confirmed I would get a refund in 5-working days, so I checked on day 6 and hadn't got a refund. I called back and an agent said actually it would take 10-days and whoever said 5 days don't know what they're talking about. I was confused. How could two different agents not know what they're talking about? I'll wait 10 days. Does anyone know if there's an ongoing scam at travelex? I mean, if you get ripped off £11 on a £79 transaction by a company that you expect would have a standardised rate and the same company's agents give differing info on refund, what would you think?

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Travelex

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No

Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Coworking retreats – The new business holiday

Posted by Matthew Weston on 24th September 2017

The number of people going self-employed in the creative and business sectors is increasing at a faster rate than ever before. As a journalism student, I was told that nearly everybody in my class will have to read more

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

You can now choose your room with Thomas Cook

Posted by Holly Burgess on 23rd September 2017

When planning your travels, the most important thing to decide is where in the world you want to go. But wouldn’t it be great if you could select the specific room you wanted to stay in? Thomas Cook ha read more