Travelex reviews

143 Reviews Poor | 2.0

Travelex

https://www.travelex.co.uk/

Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

Write a review

Naushad

4 November 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

4 November 2020

I got this card from London Heathrow lady on counter told me i will not get any charges if I transfer money into Turkish lira I withdraw twice both time I got charges and it was very high charges rang them there customers service was very rude and put my phone down will never use there card better to use my bank card the this rubbish card

Kat

18 October 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

18 October 2020

My card worked whilst away. On return to uk I have not used my card. My balance has multiple transactions-I’ve reported this to travelex support, my card is frozen. I’m concerned how if I have the card and only set this up on my mobile how I’ve been hacked. Reported as fraud and two weeks on travelex don’t appear to have done anything to investigate hacking and fraudulent activities or refund lost money. If it were a bank this would have been investigated and whoever made transactions and device used traced.

So right now I’d strongly advice against a service that has yet to explain how my details for a card never used in the uk could be hacked and spent here. If they can hack one card and no safety has been evidently put in place, I’d guess all cards are unsafe.

Will update if travelex feel fraud is worth investigation! If they don’t then I’ll be checking who I report them to for investigation, in case the failure to investigate is an attempt to cover an internal Issue? Who knows with poor communications and lack of action from a financial company. This is abysmal.

Dean

14 September 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

14 September 2020

These guys have been taking £2.50 a month off my card balance as I cannot use the card because it’s expired. Been on the phone to them (somewhere in India) for over an hour and all they can do is tell me to cancel my existing card (which has expired so how am I supposed to do that ) and request a new card and they will transfer the balance. They won’t do this for me!!! Asked to speak to someone more senior and got fobbed off with they are busy and will call me back in a couple of hours!! Now been 6 hours and no call. If you take one of these cards and only use it once a year make sure you don’t leave any balance cos these guys will take it from you with no shame.

Linda Lippens

12 September 2020

Bought travel money

12 September 2020

It shouldn’t be hard to load up your card ... should it?

I’ve emailed a message to travelex but no response I’m down to my last $5.

Why am I not able to use the app to upload funds into my account.

Michael W

20 February 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

20 February 2020

I have had a card for a couple of years. We are about to go abroad and on checking I found the card would expire while we away. I rang but there is no automatic renewal of the card. You have to buy another one at a branch and then call them to arrange a transfer. I asked how much a new card was and they couldn't tell me. Very transparent! Very unsympathetic. Stay away!

Mark G

3 February 2020

Bought £214 worth of US dollars

3 February 2020

Withdrawal from Travelec ATM, machine empty but they took the money out of my account, no cash dispensed. Rang number 15 times no answer, went to travelex desk got given the same number that didn't answer. Told the reversal would be 24hours, which was a big fat lie.

Craig

28 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

28 January 2020

I have the corporate cash passport. You cannot call them directly you have to go via another number.

They don't have an app only a very dated website with zero features.

Wish my company would choose someone else to supply our cards.

JM

26 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

26 January 2020

SO SO unhappy with this card. My daughter is studying abroad and I have not been able to load more money or access account information. Called locally-- zero help. It is incredible that a company affiliated with Mastercard can just shut down (they say a virus) and not get it remedied quickly. This was our main means to sending her money for the next 3-4 months and it has been nothing but stress. Poor business, poor customer service, poor communication.

Alex P

9 January 2020

Bought £1,500 worth of South African rand

9 January 2020

Stay well away from this service.

Dreadful communication, non-existent customer care and incorrect information continually given by different supervisors and managers. Poor, poor poor!

Told to continually ring from abroad to check balance - ridiculous!

Carol Davis

4 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

4 January 2020

I bought a travelex card before travelling to the UK and bought some UK pounds with Australian dollars. When I got to the UK I tried to top up my card, but have found the top up facility has not been working now for a week. I received no notification from Travelex that the service was unavailable. Customer Service have no idea of when this will be available again but can charge me for organising currency on my card when the idea of this card is to transfer currency from my bank account FOC. Is this a rort? it seems very suspect that the service is suddenly unavailable over the new year period but they can transfer money over the phone at a cost!!!. Travelex have possibly left people high and dry. I will not use this service again when travelling.

Write a review of Travelex

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?