Compare Holiday Money Logo

Travelex reviews

Poor 2.2 / 5

Based on 108 reviews Write Review

Tony

8th December 2018

We were told there were ‘no fees’ but this was a lie. A lot of Purse Currency Conversion Fees even when you have correct currency already loaded on the card. Wasted so much money. Do not use.

  • I ordered £1 worth of Thai Baht
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

M Hara

27th November 2018

I brought a Trevelex Prepaid Mastercard overseas. I was denied at 4 different merchants. When I called Travelex to inquire, they informed me that the merchant has to have a certain machine to complete transaction. Not acceptable.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Ian

17th October 2018

Do not recommend using their Money Card as pre-authorisations can result in not being able to access large amounts of your cash for anything up to 30 days. I pre-loaded a Money Card with CAD for a Canadian road trip. On a stop to fill up the car with fuel I initiated a card transaction at the pump, removed the hose then realised I had parked against a diesel only pump when I needed unleaded fuel. Without drawing any fuel I immediately replaced the hose, cancelling the transaction, moved to the correct pump and used the card again to fill up with unleaded. I later checked my transactions and found I had been correctly charged 40CAD for the fuel I withdrew but also had a pending transaction of 278CAD for the cancelled transaction. After 3 days of this 278CAD block on my credit I called customer services to say I needed access to this money that was wrongly being withheld. I was told it would take 7 days to clear but they would raise an urgent request for it to clear within 24-48hrs. After 48hrs and still blocked from accessing this amount I called customer services again to complain and was told it could take up to 30 days to clear the errant transaction. The block was eventually cleared after 8 days, by which time I was back in the UK. I have therefore cashed out my card, for which I was charged a £6 fee and given a very poor exchange rate to convert to sterling and unload the balance on my card. There are plenty of zero fee foreign transaction credit cards and other pre-load debit cards to choose from so I will not be using this company again.

Disneylandchris

8th October 2018

Needed to top up card ,but the system just simply wouldn't allow it. We needed an Australian working phone number whilst abroad. Just not a travellers card at all !!!! Made 5 calls to customer service . No help at all . Then the phone app went down . Will never use again

  • I ordered £10000 worth of Hong Kong Dollars
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Andrea Mac

6th September 2018

Stay away from this card. I wish I had read all these reviews before getting this card for our holiday. We believed them when they said there were no fee's to access your money from an ATM in Europe. It simply isn't true. There are fee's- they just get you in a round about way. We were charged a 'currency conversion fee' of 100 euro the first time we used the card in an ATM to withdraw money and every other time we used the card we were charged this same fee. When we realised we emailed them urgently asking for an explanation and some help. 4 days later we got an automated response saying they couldn't help us. It was cheaper for us in the end just to use our normal Australian bank card!

  • I ordered £4000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My currency did not arrived on time
  • I did not received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Mary P

31st August 2018

Appalling customer service. Lost my card. Made 6 phonecalls with follow up each time to block and replace it. Directed to various numbers and services. Call backs promised-never happened. Eventually, after 3 days of calls they said they would replace it but it would take 7-10 days and I needed a fixed address- hardly adapted to the needs of travellers. Would NEVER recommend this service.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Dave Mearns

28th August 2018

Withdrew €800 on my Travelex Money card in a Dutch ATM last week and lost 13%. Paid Travelex to create a Euro card for me. Then Dutch bank charged me for my €800 withdrawal. Then Travelex debited my card not in Euros but in £sterling. Then Travelex charged me to change my euros to Sterling. So, I paid Travelex to change my £ to euros then back to pounds and paid the Dutch bank to then change the pounds back into euros. Also the Dutch bank charged a commission of 3.25%. I had thought that I was safe having only euros in the account - didn't know that Travelex would change them back. The final indignity was paying Travelex yet another fee to close my account.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

P Reinhard

12th August 2018

Changed £ 500 at Heathrow Airport into Euro. Not only did they give a very bad exchange rate, but on top of that, they then charged me £ 5 in Commission and £ 15 in 'Fees', so a total of £ 20 on top of a very bad rate. Please try and avoid them, change your money at a Bank, you will get a much better exchange rate [and probably a friendlier service]

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Gavin

30th July 2018

Used a travelex ATM to get GBP in glasgow airport - machine tricks you into confirming amount to be taken in EUR rather than GBP, adding a 10.49% markup!!! A complete ripoff of a rate - reflects badly on airports to allow these scammers to operate.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

ANNIE

16th July 2018

Struggling to reset my pin!

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Makeba

9th July 2018

Wish I could give 0 stars. This is the worst company and card. The app is useless outside of showing you your balance. That is the ONLY thing that works. DO NOT BUT THIS CARD!! They told me I had to wait 24 hours to reload my card due to my attempts on the app that didn’t work. Now I’m stuck in italy with this waste of card. DON’T DO IT!

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Larry

9th July 2018

Tried to withdraw money at Airport ATM and didn’t receive my cash. Been waiting three weeks for them to credit my account to no avail. Saw many other customers not get their cash.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Mark

28th June 2018

I'm having trouble registering my new Travelcard which is painful enough. What is just awful is the fact that nobody in either the call centre or the messaging team could care less and don't want to get involved. They won't give me the chief execs contact details and have reluctantly raised a complaint for me. They say someone will contact me within 3 days and I go away tomorrow Thanks very much

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

randy

18th June 2018

bought card for daughter traveling. Didn't know you couldn't buy this for someone else. Its only mentioned under FAQ. Also bought everything in wife's name because the person ordering has to sign so that became a nightmare. Couldn't login to website after registering card password error? No customer service. Atm in Spain ate the card. Now trying to get leftover money off of card. Not holding my breath. I'm writing formal complaint. Contacting BBB and telling my bank if you keep endorsing this company I'll leave the bank.

Kenny Somerset

29th May 2018

Ordered money online for delivery on a specific day. Money did not turn up and when I phoned them they told me that they had had an " update error on the system" . They then gave me three options. 1. Have the money delivered on a different day, ( I suggested the following day but they told me that that was impossible as their vault was closed ) I phoned at 4 p.m. 2. Go and collect the money from a store. I ordered online and paid for it to be delivered as I did not want to nor had the time to go and collect it. 3. Refund me my money. They apologised but I believe that it's too easy to just say sorry. I suggested to them that when they have a system problem they need to have it programmed to produce a report that shows any unfulfilled orders to enable them to contact the customer with a plan of action rather than the customer having to contact them. Had I not phoned, I probably would not have heard anything from them!

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Anon

28th May 2018

Terrible. Absolutely much worse than MoneyCorp - with them you can order money online right up to the last minute! But with Travelex it is nooo.

  • I ordered £90 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Catherine

1st April 2018

No stars. Charleroi airport. Needed pocket money for taxi in Croatia. Asked for 300 euros worth of Croatian kuna. Was duped by second teller (who had been reading a magazine up to that point, ignoring customers) telling me there was a special offer if 500 Euro spent blah blah blah. No rates were on display, so was shocked when I checked the mid market rate c.7.4, Travelex gave me 6.9. c. 3300 kuna. By my calculation I was ripped off to the tune of c. 60-80 Euro. As I was leaving the counter, I saw the ‘ladies’ giggling to themselves. Job done, customer swindled. Never again!

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Kate

10th March 2018

Disgusting customer service at Manchester airport terminal 1. I would say a lady called Claire served us but she was no lady, more a rude, sarcastic, unhelpful, unprofessional joke of a customer service advisor. Face on her was misery as soon as we walked over. She just looked like someone had offended her and she hated the human race. We were excited for our holiday. She put a downer on it before we even boarded the plane. Asked for money to be changed €300 and asked for it in 20's and 10's, her response was rudely telling us no you cn have 20's but I don't have any 10's. Oh ok do any of your colleagues have any 20's you could swap please? Rudely she barks at us, is it a problem not having 20's? No we say but we would prefer them that's why we asked for them. She them very rudely and like a chat barks at her colleague to her left can o have some 20s no please no thanks just so so rude. My partner then said why are you being so rude and she said she would not serve us in a minute. We hadn't done anything wrong even the male colleague to her right was shaking his head at her in disbelief. I was so shocked by her lack of professionalism that I just stood there with my mouth wide open and my partner was speaking to me about what bad customer service this was and she said she was going to call security. Absolute joke of a woman never mind a customer service rep. She needs to go giving the company a really bad image will never go to the company again. Have put in a formal complaint to head office and waiting on response. Hope she loses her job as she is obviously no good at it.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Phil Davies

27th February 2018

I only got a Travelex money card due to issues with my existing Cash Passport. Despite assurances that I could transfer money across, this was not the case. As I was in a rush, I didn't check the full T+Cs which would have made it obvious that this card is totally unfit for purpose if travelling for anything but business. Minimum top-up via app is £100, online it's £50 so useless if you only need 10 Euros to see you through the last day of your holiday. The App is just dreadful, you can't swap between currencies, check transactions or anything like that offered by Cash Passport. Avoid.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Gary

23rd January 2018

I got 200 euros from a Travelex cash point at Manchester airport and not only was I charged the £4.99 commission that was displayed on the screen, but I was also given an exchange rate that was so bad, that there was a £26 difference between what they advertised online and what the ATM delivered..That's £31 in total!... I contacted Travelex only to be told that they have overheads and they hope that I feel I can use their service again in the future!...

  • I ordered £213 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

CC

6th December 2017

This is the most stupid card I have ever seen. I spend hours trying to check my balance. All the messages were my password was invalid. Will never recommend this rubbish card to anyone.

Caroline Rudd

4th December 2017

It is constantly failing cant see balance, can't see what you've spent or you can't reload, the card service phone line is appalling and last time I used it they put me back n hold then cut me off. It had improved slightly when they changed the APP but it's stopped working again it's stress you don't need when travelling.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

robin hood

29th November 2017

Terrible. I left 2 detailed messages and both phone returned calls had no idea why i was calling. One returned my call 4 hours after they opened. I placed my order on line for delivery in 2 business days. 3 business days later the charge is still pending on my credit card. I never received notification that my information was wrong, that's why my order was never placed. I dont understand how the information was wrong since it was all auto fill in. And no one spoke English, they all had heavy accents, even when I called the local Scottsdale location

  • I ordered £150 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Mattias Andersson

27th November 2017

This is a warning to not exchange money with this company. I had some extra pounds I needed to change to euro's in Brussels airport. For 170 british pounds they wanted to give me 160 euro(today's rate is 190 euro). Be aware they are taking HUGE fee's for everything they do. Use another company for your currency exchange.

  • I ordered £170 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

David Harvey

23rd November 2017

Customer service is shocking will never use them again after money went astray all they do is hide behind their T&Cs

  • I ordered £996 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Travelex

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No

Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

Visit Website

Travel planning in the future

Posted by Sam Stone on 11th December 2018

The notion of using an assistant to plan travel itineraries, hotels, flights, car hire, even currency exchange, has been around for decades. It’s such a popular solution that a few of the big travel ... read more

Middle East currencies and travel tips

Posted by Graham Morley on 30th November 2018

It’s fair to say that some parts of the middle east for instance Syria, are troubled by conflict at the moment so you may not have it high on your bucket list of places to visit. However, many places i... read more

Your holiday money can make a difference

How to spend your holiday money responsibly was high on the agenda at a World Travel conference in London recently. Responsible Tourism was the buzzword coming from many of the stands. And it was evident... read more

Post Office travel money rates compared

Post Office travel money rates compared with the best and the worst rates available on Compare Holiday Money. I think it’s fair to say that the Post Office has more places to exchange your pound sterling f... read more

How to be a Responsible Tourist

Thanks to social media, people are exploring other sides of the world more than ever. It is wonderful because earth has so much to offer. It becomes bad only when people really treat places and cultures... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

As aggregators and publishers of exchange rate data we do not endorse or recommend any foreign exchange bureaux that appear on our website. Although we carry out stringent checks on the companies that feature in our comparisons, we cannot guarantee their solvency. Please conduct your own research before transacting with a company.

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682
Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.