Travelex reviews

135 Reviews Poor | 2.0

Travelex

https://www.travelex.co.uk/

Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

Write a review

Alex P

9 January 2020

Bought £1,500 worth of South African rand

9 January 2020

Stay well away from this service.

Dreadful communication, non-existent customer care and incorrect information continually given by different supervisors and managers. Poor, poor poor!

Told to continually ring from abroad to check balance - ridiculous!

Carol Davis

4 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

4 January 2020

I bought a travelex card before travelling to the UK and bought some UK pounds with Australian dollars. When I got to the UK I tried to top up my card, but have found the top up facility has not been working now for a week. I received no notification from Travelex that the service was unavailable. Customer Service have no idea of when this will be available again but can charge me for organising currency on my card when the idea of this card is to transfer currency from my bank account FOC. Is this a rort? it seems very suspect that the service is suddenly unavailable over the new year period but they can transfer money over the phone at a cost!!!. Travelex have possibly left people high and dry. I will not use this service again when travelling.

John

2 January 2020

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

2 January 2020

Absolute garbage, not been able to get a balance for about a week now, stay well clearly of this card

Star

30 December 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

30 December 2019

The transactions don't show up on my account. I left about 300 euros in August and found only 50 in December! They deduct money for nothing!. Sheer fraud!

Charlotte

5 December 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

5 December 2019

it is a waste of time, they are useless and to transfer money to the card you need to spend 45 minutes on the phone so they know you approve of it, and the person on the phone are always rude. had nothing but absolute troubles and would not recommend at all.

Swe

24 November 2019

Bought £100 worth of Czech koruna

24 November 2019

I was in Prague and tried to take out 2000 Cz Korunas. The only thing that happened was that money disappeared from my account and I didn’t got my money from the ATM

RMKJ

2 November 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

2 November 2019

I have always rated Travelex quite highly for convenience, good airport location and easy of use. My recent transaction was currency from Pounds Sterling to Canadian. I bought at the airport. I thought the exchange rate was a bit low, but Assumed the English pound had dropped again.

When I got to Canada I checked and Travelex had given me an over the counter rate of nearly 40 cents less than the online and national exchange rate. I was not told that the rate would be different, let alone so significantly different buying over the counter as opposed to online. Later, in taking this up with the company, I was told “we always advise our clients to buy online to secure a better rate”. I was then told “we are not obliged to inform customers (at the point) when & where they purchase their travel money”. This is a complete contradiction of the earlier statement, really appalling practice, and on this transaction has cost me over $100 CA, which is a significant amount.

I will not be using Travelex again, and strongly advise anyone thinking of doing so to think twice.

Nancy

29 October 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

29 October 2019

I just lost $150 by using the Travelex prepaid debit card. I bought a card in August and loaded $699 USD prior to a trip to Europe. As it turned out I did not use any of the Euros on the card so last week, I sold the Euros back to Travelex -- for $549. A different source says the exchange rate was .89 to 1 that day so I should have received $611. When I asked Travelex about the rate they said that they have to recoup their costs. At the least, it is dishonest to claim there are no service charges or fees and then engage in price gouging when buying back money on the card. I will not use this service again.

Carl

16 October 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

16 October 2019

The prepaid card is a disaster. The advertise that it can be used for almost anything - car hire, shopping etc.

My first day in London it has been declined 5 times - first for a car hire (no car hire firm will take a prepay), then on two taxis, a restaurant which was very embarresing as I was on a date, finally my hotel room! I called services (not in UK) which took a while for hem to

Understand my problem. The wouldn’t clear me through security the first time, as they asked my mother maiden name which is information I never gave when picking up the card. They had to call me back, I finally passed security and they told me that the answer to mothers maiden name is ‘Not Applicable’ to be remembered for next time. My card will not function in 80% of cases.

David

5 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

5 September 2019

Loaded all my money on travelex cash card. Made a point of going to a travelex ATM in Brussels Rail station so that I wouldn't be charged fees. When I tried to make money out was informed there would be a Euro 3.80 transaction fee. Approached Travelex exchange desk and queried fee. Said there was nothinging they could do. It was what it was. Solution: use reputable company!!

Write a review of Travelex

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?