Travelex reviews

131 Reviews Poor | 2.1

Travelex

https://www.travelex.co.uk/

Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

Write a review

Charlotte

5 December 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

5 December 2019

it is a waste of time, they are useless and to transfer money to the card you need to spend 45 minutes on the phone so they know you approve of it, and the person on the phone are always rude. had nothing but absolute troubles and would not recommend at all.

Swe

24 November 2019

Bought £100 worth of Czech koruna

24 November 2019

I was in Prague and tried to take out 2000 Cz Korunas. The only thing that happened was that money disappeared from my account and I didn’t got my money from the ATM

RMKJ

2 November 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

2 November 2019

I have always rated Travelex quite highly for convenience, good airport location and easy of use. My recent transaction was currency from Pounds Sterling to Canadian. I bought at the airport. I thought the exchange rate was a bit low, but Assumed the English pound had dropped again.

When I got to Canada I checked and Travelex had given me an over the counter rate of nearly 40 cents less than the online and national exchange rate. I was not told that the rate would be different, let alone so significantly different buying over the counter as opposed to online. Later, in taking this up with the company, I was told “we always advise our clients to buy online to secure a better rate”. I was then told “we are not obliged to inform customers (at the point) when & where they purchase their travel money”. This is a complete contradiction of the earlier statement, really appalling practice, and on this transaction has cost me over $100 CA, which is a significant amount.

I will not be using Travelex again, and strongly advise anyone thinking of doing so to think twice.

Nancy

29 October 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

29 October 2019

I just lost $150 by using the Travelex prepaid debit card. I bought a card in August and loaded $699 USD prior to a trip to Europe. As it turned out I did not use any of the Euros on the card so last week, I sold the Euros back to Travelex -- for $549. A different source says the exchange rate was .89 to 1 that day so I should have received $611. When I asked Travelex about the rate they said that they have to recoup their costs. At the least, it is dishonest to claim there are no service charges or fees and then engage in price gouging when buying back money on the card. I will not use this service again.

Carl

16 October 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

16 October 2019

The prepaid card is a disaster. The advertise that it can be used for almost anything - car hire, shopping etc.

My first day in London it has been declined 5 times - first for a car hire (no car hire firm will take a prepay), then on two taxis, a restaurant which was very embarresing as I was on a date, finally my hotel room! I called services (not in UK) which took a while for hem to

Understand my problem. The wouldn’t clear me through security the first time, as they asked my mother maiden name which is information I never gave when picking up the card. They had to call me back, I finally passed security and they told me that the answer to mothers maiden name is ‘Not Applicable’ to be remembered for next time. My card will not function in 80% of cases.

David

5 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

5 September 2019

Loaded all my money on travelex cash card. Made a point of going to a travelex ATM in Brussels Rail station so that I wouldn't be charged fees. When I tried to make money out was informed there would be a Euro 3.80 transaction fee. Approached Travelex exchange desk and queried fee. Said there was nothinging they could do. It was what it was. Solution: use reputable company!!

Peter

5 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

5 September 2019

This card is rubbish. After reading a good review I thought it would work better than Air New Zealand Airpoints card. But First, the website, which is difficult to use, forced me to purchase the card with US dollars when I wanted Euros and the lady at the airport counter couldn't help me switch it over, Second, you have to wait days for a currency to load, unlike ANZ Airpoints, Third no ATM in Italy will let me withdraw any cash even though the card is activated and making other purchases and Fourthly, I have emailed Travelex New Zealand for help from Italy as I am not in a position to make expensive phone calls and after four days have received Zero response. Completely disappointed.

petsntravel

1 September 2019

Bought £100 worth of Euros

1 September 2019

Agree with other the ATM exchange rate at CDG airport terminal is horrible and they also charge a hefty fee. Changed 40euro there at 60euro at Credit Nord in central Paris. Really saw with my own eyes the difference. Will never change $$ at their ATMS again.

Richard Wood-Roe

30 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

30 August 2019

Travelex stole over 60 gbp from my account by deducting a low usage fee for 18 months until the balance went down to zero. Absolutely disgusting that they did not email me to advise this was happening.

Vittoparis

6 August 2019

Bought £2,000 worth of US dollars

6 August 2019

In Paris CDG airport it is a rip off !! The rate of exchange €/$ is just unacceptable and if you take $ from their ATM they even add another 3.99€ as commission . The worst you can find ...

Write a review of Travelex

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?