Compare Holiday Money Logo
UK Flag Ireland Flag

Travelex reviews

Poor 2.8 / 5

Based on 73 reviews Write Review

Merlyn C

19th June 2017

Complete rip off on Travelex Card purchased at Newcastle Airport - £300 cash given to them became £259.78 on the card before I even used it then suffered a pathetic exchange rate and transaction charges when withdrawing from atm in Spain. Don't even consider using this company for currency.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would recommend Travelex to others

Lisa

7th June 2017

There exchange rate is a ribbed off. They treated customer unfairly and their staff are very manipulative. Services are lousy with long queue.

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would recommend Travelex to others

Karole Cheek

27th April 2017

Would not honour the rate I purchased even though I received a confirmation of order which according to their terms and conditions is a binding contract !! Just sent an email to tell me they are cancelling my order. Not happy and still awaiting the return of my money !!!!

  • I ordered £1000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Laura

27th April 2017

Very disappointed with their service. I was charged an extra 13 cents for every US dollar I exchanged. Will not be using them again.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Steven, Glasgow

26th April 2017

TRAVELEX CANCELS AFTER AGREEING IF RATE CHANGES!!!! Avoid!!! I would avoid this company at all costs, they take orders and payment and when arrive to collect the currency they claim the wrong rate has been published and drop the rate dramatically... Claim to contact you with cancellation which was not received! Then tell you refund of the payment takes 3-5 days!! Basically forcing you to buy at the lower rate or wait 5 days for refund.. Don't buy last minute!! 100% unprofessional.

  • I ordered £2000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

mark Long

26th April 2017

I will never use Travelex again - didn't honour a rate on their website and I didn't get the money I exchanged. Avoid them

  • I ordered £4000 worth of US Dollars
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Nancy

27th March 2017

I bought insurance from Travelex before but this is the first time I'm bringing two kids, age 15 and 18. Where where on the website I read: ---Travel Select Details--- A family friendly plan, Travel Select provides travel protection coverage for children under 21 at no additional cost when accompanied by a covered adult family member. Enhance your family protection by customizing with the "Active Family Pak" upgrade. This Lifestyle Pak makes traveling with a family easier with coverage for child-care cancellation, movie rental reimbursement for overnight delays, medical protection for traveling pets and more....... "children under 21 at no additional cost when accompanied by a covered adult family member" was debated with the customer service, as it's not the policy and I still have to pay for the 18 year old and since the form has been filled out electronically, without providing a credit card number yet, there is nothing they can do. Also because somewhere else on the website, a tiny print probably says differently. I just wanted the statement above to be honored, children under 21...

  • The insurance policy was good value for money
  • Claiming was simple and straightforward
  • Customer services were friendly and helpful
  • My claim was settled to my satisfaction
  • I would recommend this insurer to others

Kath

16th March 2017

Loading Cashpassport card whilst on holiday resulted in them taking the funds from UK Bank account but failing to credit Cashpassport card! Online messages either not replied to, or said that I must ring them. Usual entering of numbers on phone keypad, eventually ggetting a real person. Only problem is that they can never hear me and hang up! I can hear them. Very worried about missing money.

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

T M Butcher

3rd March 2017

Used Travelex for many years but only for cash. I order online for home delivery (unless desperate,never buy currency at airport via any supplier ) well in advance. Currency has always arrived on or before specified date in a good range of notes. Cannot understand comments re ordering, it's straightforward for cash.

  • I ordered £700.00 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Phil

22nd February 2017

Excellent service. Ordered money, confirmation came through. Had money in a couple of days well ahead of requested date. Would absolutely use again and recommend.

  • I ordered £1000.00 worth of Bulgarian Lev
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Stephen Harding

28th December 2016

This is the worst website that I've ever used. There are two different sites to look at your account and top up the card. The account site does't give you a rolling balance. It's the worst experience you could imagine.

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Diane

23rd November 2016

I had the best experience in Boulder, Colorado. I was getting a bit confused at the whole loading of the card etc, but the staff was very helpful! It was explained to me in easy to understand terms. When I have an awesome experience like this I shout it out to the world! Being a huge net-worker, I would recommend this to anyone traveling out of the country. I never had a problem using the card and I believe the incredible assistance from Karen saved my vacation. Online was so easy to reload and The rates may be elevated a small bit, but it equaled out when comparing it to using my credit card or exchanging us at a bank in a foreign country. The time I saved on this trip was amaizing! As I use to wait and exchange when I arrived at my vacation destination, that was a nightmare.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Kev

1st November 2016

We got a Cash Passport for holiday to USA, loaded initial amount on and received card in post a few days later. Once on holiday we were unable to reload anything without calling the UK, their internet site wouldn't reload, mobile app wouldn't reload and local Travelex shops were unable to help either. Had to call UK (taking into account 8 hour time difference) and wait in a queue. People on the phones didn't seem to be very well trained as any simple request (ie "Can I put some money on my card") forced them to put us on hold so they could get advice. I researched our options ahead and this card appeared to tick all the boxes, sadly it failed to live up to half its promises and caused unnecessary stress

  • I ordered a prepaid usd card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Sara backhouse

17th October 2016

Ridiculous 4 hour delay in same day pick up of money . I hadn't noticed this restriction on the order in line so when I arrived to collect the money I was told I needed another hour before I could collect it . It obviously wasn't clear in the website as I didn't know anything about it . They have my money but had this bizarre restriction quoting ' making sure they had the payment ' a joke when you can get money out of their own travelex ATM s right opposite the desk . As I had to pick someone up from school I had to leave it and go back . Lots of extra cost in time petrol and parking charges . Tried talking to them on the phone but they are robots who just quote company policy . . An extremely poor customer service , will use the post office next time

  • I ordered £759 worth of United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Jon K

17th June 2016

Purchased without checking all the detail and was absolutely ripped off by buying currency at Manchester Airport. Bought 900 Euros which cost me nearly £90 more than a bank transfer for the same amount! The ridiculous exchange rate only dawned on me when checking my receipt and they wouldn't refund. To add insult to injury I was short-changed by 50 Euros! My fault for not checking but doesn't excuse their conduct. Will never use Travelex or buy currency at the airport again.

  • I ordered £800 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Richard

14th June 2016

Didn't arrive on before 12 'guaranteed' delivery. Too late for holiday! Rang to complain, not their problem. Poor! avoid!

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Simon Misiewicz

20th May 2016

35 minutes to get through their customer services and still in a queue. Their exchange rates are a rip off be aware!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid eur card
  • Topping up was easy and straightforward
  • The exchange rates and fees were clear
  • The card was accepted everywhere
  • I would recommend this card to others

Sheryl Anderson

3rd May 2016

I was not at all happy with my recent travelex experience I usually order online and pick up at the airport but on this occasion I am going by bus so called into my local airport to get euros a big mistake whilst online the rate is 1.24 I only got 1.12 at the airport. I usually recommend travelex to my friends saying "I always use them and get good rates"but not anymore! very disappointing I work full time so could not get delivered to home from internet ordering why such adifference in the rate?

  • I ordered £1000 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Patrick

9th April 2016

I was at travelex Heathrow counter and in a hurry to catch my flight so I bought £79.6 worth of Turkish lira, paid and googled the rates for the day and found I'd been ripped off £11 worth. I promptly returned the money and the guy shamefacedly said it would take 5-working days to get a refund while he processed it. 4-working days later, I called travelex and the agent I spoke with confirmed I would get a refund in 5-working days, so I checked on day 6 and hadn't got a refund. I called back and an agent said actually it would take 10-days and whoever said 5 days don't know what they're talking about. I was confused. How could two different agents not know what they're talking about? I'll wait 10 days. Does anyone know if there's an ongoing scam at travelex? I mean, if you get ripped off £11 on a £79 transaction by a company that you expect would have a standardised rate and the same company's agents give differing info on refund, what would you think?

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Izzy

14th March 2016

I had no major problems with the money - the exchange rate wasn't brilliant - so for my order of $100 I got maybe $4 less than a competitive rate, so chalk that up to a fee. Reloading my cash passport was relatively easy - the first time I did it I had forgotten all the relevant details and had to call customer services. They were friendly and helpful and got the card up and running again. This time I reloaded online - I wouldn't recommend this as the online form is awful. They didn't have my full address and you can't enter an address manually or amend the address it selects for you. It also insists on a landline as a main home phone number which I don't have - I put in my parents number as leaving it blank is not an option. This seriously needs updating as its unacceptable the way it is.

Maryjane

10th March 2016

The buy back guaruntee is so easy, and simple to use. Saved me money and time in exchanging back my foreign noted. Staff were pleasant and I received everything on time.

  • I ordered £176 worth of Norwegian Krone
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

ShaunL

7th March 2016

I ordered some Euros at Manchester airport. Thankfully I had already calculated how much I would need to pay in sterling. When it was out by £9, I questioned it. Then I was told it would need to be recalculated, but this time it was still £5 out. It turned out that they were trying to add a 'buy back' product as to which I had already declined. for £100 worth of Euro, which I could save the unused amount for another European holiday, it is hardly worth it. I'm appalled that they tried to sell this product underhandedly and I consider this illegal as I said 'no'. Great if you need cash last minute, but I'll be getting it from the high street looking at some of these comments.

  • I ordered £100 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Patty L

5th March 2016

OMG...the worst most awful experience with these jerks. I purchased travel insurance from them as I was flying from Boston to Tampa to get a cruise(silly me planning a vacation from Boston in February...that is why I got the insurance)I planned my travel to leave Boston the day before the cruise(plane supposed to leave at 1:30pm on Friday and cruise leaving from Tampa at 3 pm on Saturday)Weather in Boston awful..my plane kept getting delayed and long story short with all the delays due to weather I missed the cruise....I would have just skipped it (which would have been cheaper for me) but my sister and I were taking the cruise to celebrate her birthday and she was onboard (we live in different states) so I had to get there and had to book separate passage to Honduras to get the ship. I called the company's hotline which has a pretend 24 hour number and was told unless I was having a medical emergency then I had to call "during business hours". Are you kidding me? I can file a car insurance claim 24/7 but not a travel claim in the midst of an emergency. Anyway finally got cruise after an extra $1,000 in expenses and even emailed my travel agent with details who told me I was covered but this company DENIED my claim even though I paid for trip interruption and trip delayed. My trip was interrupted/delayed due to weather which according to their policy is covered but I was denied. DO NOT GET THEIR INSURANCE. I did everything in my power to get to the ship(left the day before, contacted their company when there were problems only to be told to "call during business hours", contacted my travel agent and finally booked my own transit to get to ship). What a waste of money and effort this company is . Do not use them. I am appealing their decision and working with my travel agent but I should be reimbursed as my trip was delayed by a blizzard

  • The insurance policy was good value for money
  • Claiming was simple and straightforward
  • Customer services were friendly and helpful
  • My claim was settled to my satisfaction
  • I would recommend this insurer to others

Catherine

3rd March 2016

I tried to purchase travel currency online from this website but got the message Order Not Processed - and so knowing I had the funds I thought it was a glitch so tried a further couple of times, still no joy. After investigating it turned out my address didn't match. Woke up the next day to find I couldn't use my debit card as Travelex had withheld the funds for each attempt made - totally £2200 - and it would take 10 days for them to be released! I spent the whole day on the phone going between them and my bank with finally written assurance it was sorted and funds released - 24 hours later Still pending from my account!

  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • Ordering was easy and straightforward
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Tartan Giant

2nd February 2016

They are money-grabbing bandids. Bought (using UK Pounds) a load of AUS dollars and wanted to cancel as my holiday had to be cancelled at short notice. They did not have a "cancel" option on their computers, only LOST/STOLEN. The money was not even out of their door yet, and into the hands of G4S for delivery to my bank. So I had to wait till the money arrived at my bank. So I went through the crap procedure "Buy Back" with HALIFAX Bank and lost nearly £200 for the pleasure of TravelEx doing the deal. Halifax were apologetic, but TravelEx were PATHETIC. DO NOT even think of buying off these people, as they will poison you with the outrageous fees/exchange rate on the buy-back arm twister. AVOID this company like the Black Death.

  • I ordered £3000 worth of Australian Dollars
  • This was my first time using this supplier
  • I received my currency on or before the expected date
  • I received a good mix of notes
  • I would recommend this supplier to others

Write a review of Travelex

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No

Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

Visit Website

Compare Holiday Money Newsletter

Find out more

Why sign up?

  • Latest exchange rates delivered weekly to your inbox
  • Analysis of the latest currency news and our market predictions
  • Exclusive special offers and currency sales
Wedding Abroad Insurance

Wedding Abroad Insurance

Posted by Holly Burgess on 25th June 2017

Planning a wedding abroad often means you don’t get to meet with every single company that you hire for the day. This leaves you with no choice but to trust that your wedding abroad will run smoothly. It read more

Lviv: the historic city of Ukraine

Lviv: the historic city of Ukraine

Posted by Jade Taylorson on 23rd June 2017

Lviv (also spelled L’viv and Lvov) is a city with a lively history, and a well-preserved historic centre that is an UNESCO World Heritage site. Located in western Ukraine, around 70 kilometers from the borde read more