Travelex reviews

127 Reviews Poor | 2.1

Travelex

https://www.travelex.co.uk/

Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

Write a review

Carl

16 October 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

16 October 2019

The prepaid card is a disaster. The advertise that it can be used for almost anything - car hire, shopping etc.

My first day in London it has been declined 5 times - first for a car hire (no car hire firm will take a prepay), then on two taxis, a restaurant which was very embarresing as I was on a date, finally my hotel room! I called services (not in UK) which took a while for hem to

Understand my problem. The wouldn’t clear me through security the first time, as they asked my mother maiden name which is information I never gave when picking up the card. They had to call me back, I finally passed security and they told me that the answer to mothers maiden name is ‘Not Applicable’ to be remembered for next time. My card will not function in 80% of cases.

David

5 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

5 September 2019

Loaded all my money on travelex cash card. Made a point of going to a travelex ATM in Brussels Rail station so that I wouldn't be charged fees. When I tried to make money out was informed there would be a Euro 3.80 transaction fee. Approached Travelex exchange desk and queried fee. Said there was nothinging they could do. It was what it was. Solution: use reputable company!!

Peter

5 September 2019

Ordered a prepaid US dollar card

5 September 2019

This card is rubbish. After reading a good review I thought it would work better than Air New Zealand Airpoints card. But First, the website, which is difficult to use, forced me to purchase the card with US dollars when I wanted Euros and the lady at the airport counter couldn't help me switch it over, Second, you have to wait days for a currency to load, unlike ANZ Airpoints, Third no ATM in Italy will let me withdraw any cash even though the card is activated and making other purchases and Fourthly, I have emailed Travelex New Zealand for help from Italy as I am not in a position to make expensive phone calls and after four days have received Zero response. Completely disappointed.

petsntravel

1 September 2019

Bought £100 worth of Euros

1 September 2019

Agree with other the ATM exchange rate at CDG airport terminal is horrible and they also charge a hefty fee. Changed 40euro there at 60euro at Credit Nord in central Paris. Really saw with my own eyes the difference. Will never change $$ at their ATMS again.

Richard Wood-Roe

30 August 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

30 August 2019

Travelex stole over 60 gbp from my account by deducting a low usage fee for 18 months until the balance went down to zero. Absolutely disgusting that they did not email me to advise this was happening.

Vittoparis

6 August 2019

Bought £2,000 worth of US dollars

6 August 2019

In Paris CDG airport it is a rip off !! The rate of exchange €/$ is just unacceptable and if you take $ from their ATM they even add another 3.99€ as commission . The worst you can find ...

Cheryl

26 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

26 July 2019

What. A. RIP. Off! No matter where I drew out cash, I got stung for heavy ATM fees (local, abroad and in different countries). Conversion rate was poor when I purchased Euros and Dollars. Here’s what recently tipped me over the edge: needed dollars in hand before getting on the flight to the USA. Requested $80, got a receipt back claiming almost £8 in fees (since I used a TRAVELEX ATM at the airport! Gets worse, I get to USA, and it says I withdrew $99.98 excl. fees! WTF. Thankfully kept the paper receipt and phoned them to contest the more than $30 discrepancy from a single transaction. At first they couldn’t explain it and said I’d be refunded. Six hours later, the same Travelex agent (who was very nice and just doing her job) phoned me up and said the following: I had requested Euro’s at the ATM instead of dollars, and because I didn’t have enough euros, got charged £5 for that, the transaction then tried to withdraw £, which obviously weren’t preloaded on the card and finally back to dollars. This, despite my paper receipt saying ‘requested: 80USD’, was the garbled explanation they gave me and weren’t interested in reviewing the ATM receipt I had of it. The numbers still don’t add up and I obviously did not request euros. Needless to say, I won’t be using Travelex again out of principle.

Deb

14 July 2019

Ordered a prepaid multi-currency card

14 July 2019

I needed money on my travels so loaded up my travelex card. Silly me, i forgot to add my travelex card number as reference. I  called customer service immediately and was told that they will not be able to confirm the transaction until 5 days after my payment even though the funds had left the debit account instantaneously. I sent  details of transaction by email and waited for 5 days.

Meanwhile, i used another card to reload the travelex card. Only managed to spend the card in 2 out of 4 shops!

Anyways, 5 days come and gone. More phone calls. Emails. And promised phone calls that havent been returned. My refund is still outstanding!!

Trevor Hayes

29 June 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

29 June 2019

Re the prepaid card and the various reviews complaining - at the atm there tends to be two options, check which one you click as with one you get euros no problem with no charges. If they are getting charged and it is converting they are clicking the wrong option. It is simply instead of carrying cash you hold it on a card just like a UK debit card and more safe.

Carol T

29 May 2019

Ordered a prepaid Euro card

29 May 2019

The old single currency card used to work well with no ATM charges but the new multi currency card incurs ATM charges abroad more often than not. I tried 7 different ATMs in Greece which all charged for each withdrawal. Wouldn't recommend unless you are happy to pay withdrawal fee.

Write a review of Travelex

Click or tap a star to rate.

Please tell what you ordered. This optional information will appear alongside your review to give it some context.

What currency did you buy?

How much did you spend?

What currency did you sell?

How much did you sell?

What type of prepaid card did you buy?

What type of policy did you buy?

What area did your policy cover?