Compare Holiday Money Logo

Travelex reviews

Poor 2.3 / 5

Based on 101 reviews Write Review

P Reinhard

12th August 2018

Changed £ 500 at Heathrow Airport into Euro. Not only did they give a very bad exchange rate, but on top of that, they then charged me £ 5 in Commission and £ 15 in 'Fees', so a total of £ 20 on top of a very bad rate. Please try and avoid them, change your money at a Bank, you will get a much better exchange rate [and probably a friendlier service]

  • I ordered £500 worth of Euros
  • My currency arrived on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Gavin

30th July 2018

Used a travelex ATM to get GBP in glasgow airport - machine tricks you into confirming amount to be taken in EUR rather than GBP, adding a 10.49% markup!!! A complete ripoff of a rate - reflects badly on airports to allow these scammers to operate.

  • I ordered £200 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

ANNIE

16th July 2018

Struggling to reset my pin!

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Makeba

9th July 2018

Wish I could give 0 stars. This is the worst company and card. The app is useless outside of showing you your balance. That is the ONLY thing that works. DO NOT BUT THIS CARD!! They told me I had to wait 24 hours to reload my card due to my attempts on the app that didn’t work. Now I’m stuck in italy with this waste of card. DON’T DO IT!

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Larry

9th July 2018

Tried to withdraw money at Airport ATM and didn’t receive my cash. Been waiting three weeks for them to credit my account to no avail. Saw many other customers not get their cash.

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Mark

28th June 2018

I'm having trouble registering my new Travelcard which is painful enough. What is just awful is the fact that nobody in either the call centre or the messaging team could care less and don't want to get involved. They won't give me the chief execs contact details and have reluctantly raised a complaint for me. They say someone will contact me within 3 days and I go away tomorrow Thanks very much

  • I ordered a prepaid US Dollar card
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

randy

18th June 2018

bought card for daughter traveling. Didn't know you couldn't buy this for someone else. Its only mentioned under FAQ. Also bought everything in wife's name because the person ordering has to sign so that became a nightmare. Couldn't login to website after registering card password error? No customer service. Atm in Spain ate the card. Now trying to get leftover money off of card. Not holding my breath. I'm writing formal complaint. Contacting BBB and telling my bank if you keep endorsing this company I'll leave the bank.

Kenny Somerset

29th May 2018

Ordered money online for delivery on a specific day. Money did not turn up and when I phoned them they told me that they had had an " update error on the system" . They then gave me three options. 1. Have the money delivered on a different day, ( I suggested the following day but they told me that that was impossible as their vault was closed ) I phoned at 4 p.m. 2. Go and collect the money from a store. I ordered online and paid for it to be delivered as I did not want to nor had the time to go and collect it. 3. Refund me my money. They apologised but I believe that it's too easy to just say sorry. I suggested to them that when they have a system problem they need to have it programmed to produce a report that shows any unfulfilled orders to enable them to contact the customer with a plan of action rather than the customer having to contact them. Had I not phoned, I probably would not have heard anything from them!

  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Anon

28th May 2018

Terrible. Absolutely much worse than MoneyCorp - with them you can order money online right up to the last minute! But with Travelex it is nooo.

  • I ordered £90 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Catherine

1st April 2018

No stars. Charleroi airport. Needed pocket money for taxi in Croatia. Asked for 300 euros worth of Croatian kuna. Was duped by second teller (who had been reading a magazine up to that point, ignoring customers) telling me there was a special offer if 500 Euro spent blah blah blah. No rates were on display, so was shocked when I checked the mid market rate c.7.4, Travelex gave me 6.9. c. 3300 kuna. By my calculation I was ripped off to the tune of c. 60-80 Euro. As I was leaving the counter, I saw the ‘ladies’ giggling to themselves. Job done, customer swindled. Never again!

  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Kate

10th March 2018

Disgusting customer service at Manchester airport terminal 1. I would say a lady called Claire served us but she was no lady, more a rude, sarcastic, unhelpful, unprofessional joke of a customer service advisor. Face on her was misery as soon as we walked over. She just looked like someone had offended her and she hated the human race. We were excited for our holiday. She put a downer on it before we even boarded the plane. Asked for money to be changed €300 and asked for it in 20's and 10's, her response was rudely telling us no you cn have 20's but I don't have any 10's. Oh ok do any of your colleagues have any 20's you could swap please? Rudely she barks at us, is it a problem not having 20's? No we say but we would prefer them that's why we asked for them. She them very rudely and like a chat barks at her colleague to her left can o have some 20s no please no thanks just so so rude. My partner then said why are you being so rude and she said she would not serve us in a minute. We hadn't done anything wrong even the male colleague to her right was shaking his head at her in disbelief. I was so shocked by her lack of professionalism that I just stood there with my mouth wide open and my partner was speaking to me about what bad customer service this was and she said she was going to call security. Absolute joke of a woman never mind a customer service rep. She needs to go giving the company a really bad image will never go to the company again. Have put in a formal complaint to head office and waiting on response. Hope she loses her job as she is obviously no good at it.

  • I ordered £300 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Phil Davies

27th February 2018

I only got a Travelex money card due to issues with my existing Cash Passport. Despite assurances that I could transfer money across, this was not the case. As I was in a rush, I didn't check the full T+Cs which would have made it obvious that this card is totally unfit for purpose if travelling for anything but business. Minimum top-up via app is £100, online it's £50 so useless if you only need 10 Euros to see you through the last day of your holiday. The App is just dreadful, you can't swap between currencies, check transactions or anything like that offered by Cash Passport. Avoid.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Gary

23rd January 2018

I got 200 euros from a Travelex cash point at Manchester airport and not only was I charged the £4.99 commission that was displayed on the screen, but I was also given an exchange rate that was so bad, that there was a £26 difference between what they advertised online and what the ATM delivered..That's £31 in total!... I contacted Travelex only to be told that they have overheads and they hope that I feel I can use their service again in the future!...

  • I ordered £213 worth of Euros
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

CC

6th December 2017

This is the most stupid card I have ever seen. I spend hours trying to check my balance. All the messages were my password was invalid. Will never recommend this rubbish card to anyone.

Caroline Rudd

4th December 2017

It is constantly failing cant see balance, can't see what you've spent or you can't reload, the card service phone line is appalling and last time I used it they put me back n hold then cut me off. It had improved slightly when they changed the APP but it's stopped working again it's stress you don't need when travelling.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

robin hood

29th November 2017

Terrible. I left 2 detailed messages and both phone returned calls had no idea why i was calling. One returned my call 4 hours after they opened. I placed my order on line for delivery in 2 business days. 3 business days later the charge is still pending on my credit card. I never received notification that my information was wrong, that's why my order was never placed. I dont understand how the information was wrong since it was all auto fill in. And no one spoke English, they all had heavy accents, even when I called the local Scottsdale location

  • I ordered £150 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Mattias Andersson

27th November 2017

This is a warning to not exchange money with this company. I had some extra pounds I needed to change to euro's in Brussels airport. For 170 british pounds they wanted to give me 160 euro(today's rate is 190 euro). Be aware they are taking HUGE fee's for everything they do. Use another company for your currency exchange.

  • I ordered £170 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

David Harvey

23rd November 2017

Customer service is shocking will never use them again after money went astray all they do is hide behind their T&Cs

  • I ordered £996 worth of Australian Dollars
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Richard

15th November 2017

Every time I try to top-up my card online I get the same old garbage - it doesn't recognise my password. I spend so much time on the phone to this company that it is just not worth using them. They have a flawed system and hopefully they will go bust.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Peedoff

13th November 2017

Terrible...Total rip off in charges having to use ATM as advised by Heathrow airport staff as they didnt know how to refund what we had left on the card. Loads of charges, out of pocket by over £50 even without the currency conversion. Never again.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Diana

31st October 2017

Lost my card while traveling in Italy. Have spent two weeks trying to get the funds back into my US bank. Still not in my account and each time I call (this will be call #7) they assure me they'll call or email to confirm the $ have been transferred. Never again.

  • I ordered a prepaid Euro card
  • Reloading the card was not easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

David J

30th September 2017

Travelex used to provide a convenient service if you pre-ordered your currency. However now unless you order over £500 (which I can't imagine many people do) they have a fee for collecting your currency which is at least £2.49. Given if all you want is around £100 of foreign currency this is a complete rip off and makes them very uncompetitive. No idea why they introduced this fee - never used to be there. But given that they have I won't be using them again.

  • I ordered £150 worth of Swedish Krona
  • My order was delivered on time
  • I received the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Andrea A

13th September 2017

I wanted to give no stars but this was not an option. Retrieved my previous card from the drawer in advance of my next trip to check the balance online and found it had gone down by €30 since I last used it. When I checked my account online I could only go back 12 months and only look at one month at a time which was a nuisance in itself. It turns out that they charge £2 per month for non-use per month starting 12 months after your last use. Yes, this is in the in T&Cs but I read these quite a few years ago and it would not have registered in the same way at the time. I have recommended to them that they should notify people before they start charging so customers can take an action to prevent these fees but they just hide behind the fact that this fee is in their Ts&Cs so therefore it's OK to do this. These fees have wiped out any advantage that this card could possibly have and make it a very poor product indeed. Don't touch this product with a barge pole.

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was accepted everywhere that I used it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Sue brown

6th September 2017

No stars. Bought at Heathrow. Was told we could top us sons card whilst studying abroad. He is currently unable to top up and we called travelex to be told no third party can. I advised we were told at Heathrow by their desk we could. Apparently we can't. He cannot get to a bank and this is horrendous. Steer well clear. They are a total rip off and clueless staff. They say they will only speak to son which will cost him a fortune to speak to them. Told him to close the account. Horrendous. Steer clear!!!!

  • I ordered a prepaid multi-currency card
  • Reloading the card was easy
  • The card was not accepted everywhere that I wanted to use it
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others

Linda Hamilton-Evans

31st August 2017

I wouldn't touch this company with a 10-foot pole!!!! I used their ATM machine at THEIR booth at Gare du Nord where SEVEN of us in a row got our cards back - but NOT the cash we withdrew. They REFUSED to put an 'out of order' on the machine and 2 weeks later they have done NOTHING to get me MY 400euros that THEIR machine (thus THEY) stole from me. They have lied from the start and I have had ZERO customer service

  • I ordered £400 worth of Euros
  • My order was not delivered on time
  • I did not receive the notes I requested
  • I would not recommend Travelex to others
Load More Reviews

Write a review of Travelex

Your name

Your rating

Choose a rating Click or tap to rate
1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars

Your review

Optional questions

  • Please tell us which product or service you are reviewing:
  • How much travel money did you purchase?
    worth of
  • Was your package delivered on time?Yes No
  • Did you receive the notes you requested?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • How much currency did you sell?
  • Did you receive the amount you were quoted?Yes No
  • Did you get paid within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What currency did you transfer?
    to
  • Did you receive the rate you were quoted?Yes No
  • Was the transfer completed within three working days?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What type of prepaid card did you order?
  • Was it easy to load funds onto the card?Yes No
  • Was the card accepted everywhere you used it?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No
  • What kind of policy did you purchase?
    policy for
  • Did the policy cover everything you needed?Yes No
  • If you made a claim, was it simple and straightforward?Yes No
  • Would you recommend Travelex to others?Yes No

Travelex was founded in 1976 and has since grown to become one of the most recognised brands in the Travel Money sector with over 1,100 branches worldwide. As well as providing currency services for many banks and supermarkets, Travelex also operate 900 ATMs around the world.

Visit Website

How to take a good Selfie when travelling

Posted by Mink Borwornsenee on 17th August 2018

How to take a good Selfie when travelling? One great thing about having a companion with you when you travel is that you can get someone to take photos for you, whether it be just generic tourist photos... read more

Asda Travel Money Rates Compared

Posted by Graham Morley on 7th August 2018

Asda, like all the major supermarkets will sell you travel money with your baked beans and fish fingers. So how do Asda travel money rates compare to other brands? We know them and trust them and it’s f... read more

Self-catered holiday vs Hotel

A hotel based inclusive deal can make as much financial sense as a self-catered holiday. So how can you choose between them? For some travellers, there is an obvious choice. Total immersion in hotel life... read more

Is It Worth It To Hire A Car On Your Trips?

This thought probably comes across your mind a lot… “Should I hire a car or should I go with public transport?” Someone who’s got a small budget like me probably would not even... read more

The Falmouth Falcons Quidditch Update: Summer 2018

With the 2017-18 QuidditchUK season coming to a close, all in all it’s been a good year for the Falmouth Falcons, Cornwall’s finest quidditch team. Early success in October at the Highlander Cup in Edi... read more

Join our monthly newsletter

Latest exchange rates • Special offers & holiday extras • Click here for more details

© 2018 Viridian Media Limited, International House, 142 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4EF | Company Registration Number: 10021682

Viridian Media Limited is an appointed representative of Financial Compliance Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.