What currency is used in Australia?

The Australian dollar is the official currency and legal tender in Australia

Dan Morley

Updated: 16 May 2022

The official currency of Australia is the Australian dollar. Not to be confused with US dollars; these colourful, plastic-polymer notes are also accepted as legal tender on Christmas Island, the Cocos Keeling Islands, Norfolk Island and the Pacific Island states of Kiribati, Nauru and Tuvalu.

Australian dollar currency denominations

The Reserve Bank of Australia are responsible for issuing Australia dollars. Banknotes are issued in five denominations: $5, $10, $20, $50 and $100. Coins are issued in denominations of 5, 10, 20 and 50 cent, and 1 and 2 dollars.

Where is the best place to buy Australian dollars?

Online suppliers such as The Currency Club, Currency Online Group and Sterling always have the best Australian dollar exchange rates in the UK. You can compare their rates now on our Australian dollar comparisons page.

If you would rather collect your currency in person, supermarkets offer the next best choice for Australian dollars, followed by the Post Office.

Make sure you reserve your currency online first before you buy; that way you'll benefit from the supermarket's online exchange rate which is often better than the rate they advertise in store.

Avoid your bank if you need Australian dollars unless you have no choice as banks do not offer competitive exchange rates.

No comments

Nobody has commented on this post yet. Would you like to be the first?

Leave a comment

Write your comment

0 / 4000

Do you want to receive a notification email if someone replies to your comment?